User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 123
  2. Negative: 17 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    This game is a blast. This a very co op oriented game. I'll start off with the online aspects. The online multiplayer does not have the typical competitive gametypes like deathmatch and team deathmatch. All the online multi is co op. This is one of those games where you and a few buddies can get online, and itll have you screaming, laughing, and having an overall exciting time.
    The
    campaign brings the stories of pointman, fettel, and alma full circle. While the gameplay remains much the same, the scare factor and atmosphere has changed from action- horror, to action- somewhat horror. It is a horror story with no scares. Being able to go through the campaign by yourself twice, with a freind in coop as each character, the addicting leveling system, and the stellar online multiplayer, this game should should have itself locked in your disc drive for quite some time. Way better game than the flop most were expecting Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game is actually a ton of fun... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE: This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    If a summer blockbuster and a Halloween fright fest had a baby, it would be called F3AR. The level of tension combined with some eye popping visual moments really make this game a treat. The summer is always pretty slow for new and good games, so this definitely fills the void. Though it's not perfect, you would be hard pressed to find a game with this much replay value during this time of year. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    8.5

    Definitely a little different than the F.E.A.R we;re used to. The point system and scores for each chapter gives a slight arcade like feel up front, but after the first 2 chapters or so it changes from a negative to a positive. The single player campaign comes off as a typical FPS to start off but the atmosphere and overall creepiness of the game starts to unfold in chapter 3 and is
    what makes this unique from you typical FPS. The cut scenes between chapters are done very well in my opinion, not so much in looks but in the feel, mainly from Paxton since we don't hear from point man. I am only halfway through but the way the single player is going this could be a superb ending to the F.E.A.R series (although I doubt it will be) I say it could be a good ending due to the slight revamp I feel the series has undergone. The scariness has been diminished slightly due to the fact this is the third time we're getting scared in this fashion, Sure it's a little disappointing when we think of how badly the first game scared us but this is by no means the creators faults, this is our own desensitization, but I feel they knew they couldn't scare us like they used to and worked with that idea to make other aspects better. For example the mulitplayer. The online modes of F.E.A.R 3 are a refreshing take on FPS online games. The modes are hectic, fast paced, and can be played strategically or lazily with no loss of the "fun factor".

    I will admit the graphics could be a little better and the campaign has some dull moments, but the ability to play as paxton and the option of co op gives an incentive to play the campaign at least a second time without making it feel like you're playing the campaign over again.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    In a sea of boring clones of the same FPS over and over, Fear 3 gives us something different. I like horror games and I've always been a fan of the FEAR franchise, this game does not disappoint. The multiplayer modes are fun but I bought the game for the single and co-op player.
  6. Jul 5, 2011
    2
    Greetings! right off the bat this game is not scary in the slightest, the story is patchy and doesn't really give you anything to play for, you start out in a jail, why? it's not really explained. story telling is an integral part of a game and if the story's crap then you aren't going to care about what your doing. aside from that i'm sick and tired of games just cloning COD!! why? i like call of duty but i also like other games as well!?!?! why am i playing the same crappy game over and over again? call of duty has done it, there's no need for anymore COD clones!!! (Home Front.... i'm looking at you.) basically Fear 3 is call of duty with a bit of paranormal stuff thrown in, but it's far from atmospheric and if you really want to get scared and have a good story, just play Dead Space 2 again. Also, i understand that multiplayer is important but making a game purely geared towards multiplayer is gonna cut your audience in half straight away. what about people that don't like multiplayer and would rather have a good single player campaign thats well though out and engrossing? whilst playing fear 3 most of the single player levels feel like and play like multiplayer maps. this might be cool to some people having a pure multiplayer feast but for a game like fear, there should have been far more effort put into the single player. the multiplayer scoring system is in the single player too and it gets in the way breaking up the supposedly scary atmosphere, its balls! if you want to see how scoring is done in shooters check out Bullet Storm! and Bullet Storm has an amazing story with very well rounded characters. Back to Fear 3, the enemies, oh lord how i got bored of shooting the same guy in a balaclava. they didn't even bother getting a different voice actor for the soldiers, it's laughable hearing this same guys voice over and over again screaming "HE'S BEHIND THAT BOX!" there are a lot of boxes in this game too. all in all the story is bad, the graphics aren't anything special, the weapons are dull. and the voice acting is more horrific than the scares. to sum it up bluntly it's Call of Duty with a slow mo button the only redeeming factor of why this gets a 2, is because theres co op multiplayer but thats about it..... oh and there's ghosts in it.... we think... Bye! Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    Unlike the two previous F.E.A.R. titles, the main draw for the third installment is the multiplayer. The single player campaign is pretty boring, even with Paxton Fettel's psychic powers at your side. The scares that drew me into the first game are long gone. The 'scares' are yawn-inducing and only mildly jolting at best. I expected better with names like Carpenter and Niles attached to the project. However, all of the faults and disappointments don't keep F.E.A.R. 3 from being a total blast. Contractions and **** Run are an absolute riot, especially when you have the right team. These are some of the most original and fun multiplayer modes I've seen in any game. They put Call of Duty's zombie mode to shame. All in all, F.E.A.R. 3 is a great multiplayer experience that more than makes up for the drab single player campaign. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    Hi All Fear / F3AR fans,

    little curious why all of the past 3 Fear titles have had a average score of 80? IMO F3AR at least deserves a A- (90) from each website. I understand there only critics but I beg to ask are they even Horror / Syfy fans? I honestly bet if you lined up gamers who love horror movies and then have a non FPS person review the games the reviews would be drastically
    different. Please respond if you agree or disagree and explain your opinion.

    also im looking for some co-op / multilayer buddies. add me- XBL - ZombieFan281 Forum Reply from Zekiran: on FearFans.com

    When dealing with critical reviewers for websites, you have to remember a lot of things:

    They're paid to review. That means one of two things, generally speaking - one, that they are paid to play and *enjoy* it, or that they're paid to *crush* it. Each of em is going to look at a game differently, obviously, but there's very little middle ground.

    Once you know the reviewer in question, and their likes and dislikes based on prior reviews, you can easily see how they're going to interpret certain things.

    Number scores are ridiculous, in any case. They're an abstraction that can't really take into account personality, individual game design needs or specialties, controls, etc all at once. They're still just opinions by people who are paid to play and critique games.

    I have to agree with you, though, that this is an "A" game through and through. I'll be posting a review eventually but I want to get through more of both the SP and then the co-op modes before doing so.

    And I'm on Steam, so no xbl code for me, sorry
    Expand
  9. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    A very average game imo. I picked it up for single player, though I am guessing its supposed to be more enjoyable in coop. Not a lot of longevity or re-playability with this one. It does have a decent cover mode and shooting game-play, but not enough weapons or other things to do other than shoot bad guys. Its pretty much a straight shooter, with a bit of a horror vibe. The story probably wont make a deal of sense to anyone but a fan of the previous titles. Personally I'll be trading this one in come the weekend. Just not enough interesting game-play or single player longevity / re-playablity to keep this one hanging around. Expand
  10. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    Not feeling quite as generous as many of the reviews I've seen here. Playing through the first few chapters in single player I got pretty bored. Let's boil this game down a bit. At least for single player the game is a generic shooter that we've all played a hundred times. There is no innovation here, well I guess there is "bullet time" as the super soldier dude, but I'm not sure that qualifies. The graphics don't look live they've improved any from the last game. There is very little explanation in the game's campaign about what is actually going on in the story (see Dead Space for an example of how this is done correctly). The game is supposed to be a "horror" game but it is a pathetic attempt at best. The attempted scares are predictable and laughable sometimes. My hope is that co-op and multiplayer saves this game, the campaign is poor to mediocre so far. May want to save your $$ until this goes on sale. Expand
  11. Jul 13, 2011
    7
    Three minus points are getting discounting, why? well my big complain in the second was that it focused a little bit more in action and forgot a ( not to much, but still) the fear. This time they went to far, is a big risk forgetting about something so important, doesn't the tittle say Fear? well you may ask if the game really show you that, because it really don't do it too much. Also being said, solid shooter,tho, is very smooth ( and similar by any means compared too, ehh you know what FPS game is) anyway, so by any standard , do not play because of the horror genre , play by the solid mechanics. The online , use filters, so you need to pick already in progress competition , also there's a mode similar to the Zombies from Call of Duty Black Ops, only thing that pissed off me, is that ,it doesn't progress you get stuck in the same place fighting hordes and more hordes of creatures, yeah you don't progress but they do, sending more stronger enemies while you're already in the same place. Maybe Fear made good efforts in feeding the fans, but also left fans wanting more scares rather than running and shooting. Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    F.E.A.R. 3 has finally arrived. This game diverges from the basic structure of it's predecessors, with significant changes to the gunplay, atmosphere, graphics, and multiplayer. This isn't terribly surprising, as F.E.A.R. 3 was developed by Day 1 Studios outside of Monolith, the creators of the first two games. It uses a new engine, adopts several modern game mechanics (such as regenerative health, COD like ranking system, cover system), and, perhaps most dramatically, seems to focus more on cooperative play instead of the typical solo nature of the original F.E.A.Rs. I won't lie, my first hour of playtime with this game left me very disappointed. The most immediate flaw in the game is the new engine, which is obviously graphically inferior to Monolith's engine. The crazy bullet effects of the first two games are gone (no more spinning ricochets), and the textures can be downright ugly at times. No, this is a clear departure from the graphically impressive Monolith games, and the gunplay suffers because of it. Everything is more accurate in this game, with unremarkable bullet effects, making the guns feel a little more like COD than FEAR. However... the gunplay still manages to be great fun, with better amputation effects than FEAR 2. The melee system is also different, with a knife attack as your basic melee, instead of the butt of your weapon. The jump kick has been altered as well. No more kung fu flying double jump kicks, more like a boot in the chest. This isn't as bad as it sounds, however. The jump kicks in FEAR 2, while pretty, were almost never used, terribly inaccurate, and just didn't feel like it had much of an impact on the enemies, which isn't the case in FEAR 3. The melee is, well.. better, much better. It's easy to land all of the moves (knife, jump kick, slide kick), and new, melee oriented enemies allow you to actually use these awesome moves quite a bit. Enemies react realistically, flying back, ect. Throw in some bullets, and the FEAR 3 combat system easily excels FEAR 2 in variety and fluidity. It's genuine FUN. Not to mention the fantastic coop and Fettel. 8.5. Expand
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a FEAR fan but I think there were so many things gone worse. I will only start with the single-player aspects, and it is fun I admit, however the campaign is way too short... And the campaign wasn't that scary, it will shock you something with sound effects after then you will confuse on what has happened, which is kind of disappointing. Overall, I feel it was normal but a bit disappointing, F.E.A.R game deserves a longer campaign and more horrifying aspects. ( It seems there is only one level which created for scaring people-.-) Expand
  14. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This game was very solid and fun. The story of it was average, if not somewhat above average. It wasn't particularly mind blowing, but the fun game-play and multiple character selection does make up for it. The multi-player is incredibly fun. Modes such as Contradictions, f***ing run and Soul King put a new spin on multi-player gaming. If you're a FEAR fan this is a must buy. If you're a FPS/Horror fan give it a rent. Expand
  15. Jul 3, 2011
    3
    FEAR 3 sadly has all been done before. The game combines a mediocre shooter with mediocre graphics and a haphazard storyline and tries to produce an epic, the results are not so. The combat system has a very generic call of duty feel and some of the games mechanics also add to this (The slow motion breach scenes, the knife as the new melee weapon). The single player is not anywhere near as atmospheric as the previous in the series and most of the scares are predictable, unbalanced and ultimately has been done before. FEAR 3 will not offer fans to the series the single player experience they are looking for, it is ultimately an arcade version of FEAR with few scares and familiar mechanics. FEAR 3 is however strong in its multiplayer aspect offering coop play modes and various, Innovative online features. Fans of online and coop play will definitely get more from this game than the rest. After completely this game I found myself googling it to find out why it didnâ Expand
  16. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Let me start off by saying that if you are planning to get F3AR because you think its scary, dont. Im not a huge fan of horror games and this game is far from it. That aside, the game is very well done for a fairly lesser known developer. The hit detection rivals C.O.D which is a huge achievement and makes the game a lot better than one would think. The story is good enough to keep you wondering what will happen and isnt very predictable. The only snag, if you could call it that, was that me and my friend had some problems connecting online but that was soon solved by finding that we had our settings to closed in the options which we never set. All in all, the game is worth the money and has alot to do with ranking up and challenges to get. I would wait to get fear 3 until its cheaper however, if you dont have friends to play with, as it is very co-op heavy, in that the online is all co-op oriented. Expand
  17. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    I really wasn't expecting much from this title. In fact, after reading the reviews for its precursor, FEAR 2, I almost passed on it. I'm glad I didn't as it has been one of the gaming highlights of my year. Make no mistake, FEAR 3 is decidedly more FPS than horror survival. If you're looking for scares, best look elsewhere. This is no Dead Space. Suspense requires a well-paced storyline and characters that you can invest in. By the end of FEAR 3, I still had no idea what was going on, and neither did I care. Indeed, I would be hard-pressed to find a less engaging protagonist or more convoluted narrative. In this respect, the FEAR 3 is an unmitigated disaster. But who plays a game for the plot? That's what films (and LA Noire) are for. The real star of the show here is the excellent AI. Rather than blowing themselves up, enemies use their grenades to flush you out, before coming in for the kill. As they flank, circle and rush you, your choice of weapon and the tactical use of cover are all that stand between you and certain death. Once you trow in a satisfying arsenal of weapons and some well-designed maps, you have a surprisingly solid shooter. But, it is the ability to play as Fettel (either alone or co-operatively with Point Man) that sets this game apart from the usual FPS fodder. Whereas Point Man plays out as one would expect (guns, melee, grenades), Fettel is unable to use physical weapons unless he first possesses an enemy host. Subsequently, he can either extend his 'stay' by killing enemies or, alternatively, vacate the body, thereby killing the host. This mechanic is a stroke of genius and gives the campaign some much-needed replay value. The gameplay was so different playing through as Fettel that it felt like a whole new campaign. At its worst, FEAR 3, is a familiar pastiche of what has gone before (Bioshock, Crysis, Dead Space, Bulletstorm) but, at its best, it subsumes these influences and stands on its own two feet as a rethink of the genre. When so many of its competitors over-promise and under-deliver, FEAR 3 surprises by doing the opposite. Roll on FEAR 4! Expand
  18. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    F.E.A.R. was always one of my favorite games of all time - over the years I kept up with all the expansion packs and the sequel, Origin, and loved every minute of those games. The combination of high-tech sci-fi weaponry and horror-based first-person shooting is still the core gameplay in the third installment, and the game is just as fun as the ones that came before it. Sure, the scares aren't what they once were (although if you play this game alone at night with all the lights off it should still freak you out), but the shooting is still the highlight here, with enough weapon/enemy/environment changes to make the action always feel new and exciting. The solo mode is a tad on the short side (6 hours or so) but definitely worth playing and replaying, as are the mostly team-based multiplayer modes. Throw in co-op as a bonus and you have a game that delivers on all fronts. Expand
  19. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    The game sets up as a horror based game, though I find it more of a thriller at best, (just like the previous installments). The majority of the levels have intense settings that make it feel like your in a nightmare, yet it lacks in excellent graphics. Though not a big issue considering how enjoyable the game is! If your a fan of the franchise, then I would recommend this. If your not a fan, then I would rent before purchasing! Though if your just looking for a good fun game, then I recommend this game to everyone, fan or no fan! Expand
  20. Jun 26, 2011
    8
    Enjoyable, a bit scary, bloody and solid FPS. SP's worth a play. In terms of special and light effects F.E.A.R. graphics engine deserves a medal. In terms of textures it does not. There could have been less of that funky console stuff. You know... collectibles etc. Horror game is not a good place to put such fireworks in. They could have applied some weapon upgrade model to it instead.
  21. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Being a fan of the series I knew for a fact that Fear 3 would not disappoint me.
    When I loaded up the first level and start playing it felt foreign to me, and to be honest I didn't think I would enjoy the game at all.

    But my fears soon vanished as I started to have fun blasting my way through the prison and eventually the slums. Never had I had so much fun shooting up some bad guys.


    I eventually decided to jump into some multiplayer and my fun continued.
    I first played some f***ing run and was excited as my game loaded.
    The match started, my hands sweating I got ready to run and when that door opened I f***ing ran for my life and enjoyed every second of the match.

    After the match I fell in love with the game.
    This is a game I will never put down
    Expand
  22. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a blast. This a very co op oriented game. I'll start off with the online aspects. The online multiplayer does not have the typical competitive gametypes like deathmatch and team deathmatch. All the online multi is co op. (RetroLancerLOL) Expand
  23. Jul 10, 2011
    7
    I've always liked the FEAR games, they always had a creepy atmospheres, plenty of scares and a decent story for a horror game. FEAR 3 follows kinda after the story of the second but with you returning to the role of "point man", i thought they would have given him a name now, but i guess not. The story is pretty straightforward,kill Alma. Nothing really shocking happens here and that really isn't surprising since this is supposed to be then end of the FEAR trilogy. The game play is standard shooter stuff, pick up a gun, shoot dudes, not really revolutionary there. However the shooting feels really solid and you enemies explode in geysers of blood and dying gurgles which makes for some really satisfying kills.The "unique: thing about fear is that in between combat there are some really tense sections where ghosts and Alma haunt you from where you would least expect it. This broke up the combat nicely and kept it from just being another shooter. I suppose the more unique thing about FEAR 3 is that once you complete a level as Point Man, you can play through it again as Paxton Fettle, who plays vastly different than Point Man and makes for some really cool Single-Player and co-op moments. The multiplayer is solid and provides lots of chills and action in every mode. Thing is though, the multiplayer, while cool, really wont keep you from better multiplayer games such as Halo or Call Of Duty.

    Overall FEAR 3 is good, not really something you will keep around for years though. The story was predictable and the criminal thing is that I saw some plot points that could have been made into really cool twists. The game-play is not really revolutionary or new, and the scoring system just seems out of place in a horror FPS. I believe ditching Point Man or making it an option to play him in place of Fettle would have been unique and different than the standard run and gun FPS. And the Multiplayer is just well, ok, good but not really a reason to ditch the better multi-player games out there. The thing is these additions would have made this a must play, but as the current package, its just an "ok" rental.
    Expand
  24. Jul 20, 2011
    7
    + Points - Good co-op, decent graphics, some nice levels, interesting campaign, well thought out scoring system - Points - No deathmatch in multiplayer, campaign can be beaten in 6 hours on easy, some bland level design, does'nt really feel like a F.E.A.R game Expand
  25. Jul 20, 2011
    7
    Where to begin. Well first of all, it didn't scare me once. I really like the fear series for it's times where it surprises you but this game doesn't really try to scare you. In fact it feels more like an action game that just so happens to happen in the Monolith timeline, if your a F.E.A.R. fan you should know what I'm talking about.

    Now lets talk about the campaign. In terms of story,
    the campaign somewhat overstays it's welcome. Like Bulletstorm, the story just keeps going and going. By the point it ended I wanted to stop playing this half an hour ago. The ending is also really stupid? I can understand why killing Harlen Wade, aka. your past, should be a major plot element but it doesn't really understand why it should be the final battle. I was expecting the whole time to be either battling Fettel or Alma or even both of them as the final battle. But there isn't JUST faults with the game's campaign, there are good points. I like the fact that they finally gave Alma a sense of emotion. They did show some in past games but never until now, at least in the Monolith timeline. I also really like the co-op's "your working together but your also competing against each other" idea and that who ever does better will effect the ending. It's also nice to finally see what the hell the Point Man looks like.

    Now for the multiplayer. It's just great. That's all I can really to describe it. While Soul King isn't my cup of tea, it's none the less a good gamemode idea. F***ing Run is especially one of my most favorite gamemode ideas I've seen in quite a while. Soul Survivor is slightly confusing to me but it's still okay. And Contractions is a nice addition to the Horde style gametype family.

    All in all, it's good but it's not a masterpiece like it's predecessors.
    Expand
  26. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    this may not be THE biggest shooter of the year but it's enjoyable, consistent and supports co-op. The 'boo!' elements don't work unless you're looking exactly where the creators hoped you would but F3ar's shooter mechanics are rock solid. The story is forgettable but enemy AI, robust weapons and fun-oriented levels make this a good investment.
  27. Dec 17, 2011
    4
    This is my big game disappointment for 2011. The original FEAR was one of my all time favorite games. Right up there with Silent Hill1, MW1, Postal2 and the rest. FEAR2 was good(ish). I was really, really really looking forward to FEAR 3. I played the first level and really had to push myself to continue onto the second. On the upside, the enemy AI is good, the graphics are OK, the audio is good but. its. just. not. scary or engaging any more. If FEAR were a film, the FEAR1 was 'Ring', FEAR2 was 'The Grudge' and FEAR3 is some instantly forgettable Tarantino flick.â Expand
  28. Mar 15, 2012
    3
    I loved the first two games in the F.E.A.R. franchise. I loved the insane action, slow-motion roundhouse kicks and bodies exploding into Jell-O(tm) when you pumped a shell into them. I loved the freaky-deaky story, the mysterious protagonist(s) and the occasional flirt with enigmatic storytelling, the screeching, violin-falling-down-the-stairs soundtrack that worked in all its beautiful discordance and hair-raising abruptness. The scripted scares wove ladders, hallways, doors and windows into shockingly intricate little spookouts that contrasted with the bombastic shootouts that framed them, and it all just worked out so WELL. Hell, even the ending of the second game was pretty good in my eyes.

    And then this thing came out.

    I hardly know what to say about it, and I hardly have the energy- even now- to summon a full-blown rant on this marvelous marvelous deconstruction of a once-great shooter franchise. The scares? Gone. The lonesome eeriness? Gone. Hope you like playing co-operatively with your psychic **** brother who has lost all of his charm now that you can see how he works and he's always trotting along beside you like a goddamn doberman. The Half-Life-esque presentation that kept you in the protagonist's perspective constantly and almost never thrust you into immersion-punching cutscenes? Hope you didn't like them, because apparently neither did WB. Did I mention that this game isn't scary?
    It gets most of the action from previous titles right, but it's more than lacking in the horror department.
    You know.
    The game called... CALLED... 'Fear'?
    It doesn't even try to be scary.
    At all.

    The game should be called A.P.A.T.H.Y.
    Expand
  29. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    I would really give this game an 8.75, so rounding here makes sense. For those of you who have never played any of the FEAR games, you will most likely have no idea what is going on in the single player campaign. It does a very poor job of explaining everything that has happened in the previous games, and is essentially targetted towards fans. This is debatable, however, since the game's campaign can hardly be called frightening, (which is something that fans such as myself have come to love about the series), being geared more towards an intense shooter rather than a horror game. The problem with this is that it's either a hit or miss with most people. Either you despise the developers for moving more towards modern shooters, or you love the idea. I'm personally in the middle, giving due credit to the insanely tight shooting mechanics and incredible gameplay elements of the multiplayer, but I also am a little disappointed that the campaign is plain and simple not scary. FEAR 3's shooting is top notch, and I would go so far as to say that it rivals Call of Duty's tight gunplay. The hit markers on this game are spot on, and it is never a chore to hit enemies far away. The melee is excellent as well, being quite useful in many situations, despite it not killing in one blow (unless from behind). Grenades are a little bit on the sketchy side, but generally go towards where you want them to go. Every gun is extremely satisfying to use, and they're all well-balanced so that no gun feels inadequete, not even the standard pistol. The story of this game is a little on the stale side. There's no real arc to the plot nor is there any branching. It's essentially one primary goal throughout the entire campaign that never seems to become any more desirable than from the very beginning. There's no twists at all and the plot certainly never thickens. The game's story is basically Point Man and Fettel attempting to reach Alma before she has her baby. That literally sums up the entire campaign storyline. There are some impressive sequences and intense firefights throughout the game, and the slow-mo mechanic with Point Man never gets old. Being able to go through the campaign as Fettel (who can possess and explode enemies from the inside) also adds a new dimension and plenty of replayability along with many campaign-oriented achievements. The mech sequences are also a blast and they feel as powerful as ever. Voice acting is expertly done, especially for Fettel, who stands out amongst the rest. The enemy AI is extremely brutal, constantly looking to flank you and maintaing near 100% weapon accuracy no matter how far. The game's graphics are much better than the preview videos give them credit for, but they're still no Crysis 2 or Killzone. There are indeed a few moments that are slightly creepy, but most end up feeling like a recycled scene from a cliche horror flick meant to scare teenage girls. I think the part about this game that most impressed me was by far the fantastic multiplayer. Offering a variety of great modes, the multiplayer revolved mainly around co-op and is an absolute blast, no matter how many games you play. Since you're constantly leveling up during the campaign and from online, you will max out your rank within 2 weeks, granting you additional useful perks such as increased health regen or more magazines for your weapons. The star of all of the game modes in my opinion in Contractions, which is an amped up Nazi Zombies that may as well be one roids. It's insanely addicting, and becomes very intense often. Soul Survivor is a fun mode as well, which is essentially a form of Dark Deeds from Warcraft 3's online custom games. F**king Run is an absolute blast as well, but can grind your nerves when you're not playing with friends and wind up with a team that is low when it comes to player skill. This game mode is definitely targetted towards more skilled players, since it involves a lot of running and ACCURATE gunning. Soul King is somewhat fun, being the only competitive mode, but the small amount of players in a game keeps it from standing out. Overall, I'm a fan of the series, and am not disappointed by the next addition. A great purchase with plenty of replay value, but I only recommend it if you have at least one friend to play with, since the game seems to revolve around co-op. Not scary, but if you're looking for an intense shooter with paranormal elements as well as great co-op multiplayer, than look no further. Expand
  30. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    This game is severely flawed but once you get used to the cheesy aspects, it starts to get a little fun. It's not really fun or really boring. It's something you'd put on when you've finished all your good games and you're out of gas. Forgettable
  31. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    the original f.e.a.r. is one of my all time favorite games so I was really looking forward to this one, first the graphics aren't particularly impressive but they get the job done, the sound is very good with the ambiance really unnerving at times, gameplay wise the game is a blast, you'll really feel the power of your weapons, watching your enemy torn apart in slow motion never gets old, you'll also get a score after each chapter and this adds to the longevity and replay value, another interesting thing is the possibility to play as Fettel in single or co-op, this gives the game a totally different feel and grants a second playthrough, I've played with friends in the campaign and I must tell that I really enjoyed the experience, the fact that the two characters have so different powers and can cooperate in many different ways makes it stand out from the competition. Buy it if you are a f.e.a.r. fan or you're simply in search for a different fps with some original content Expand
  32. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Awsome game its an epic action packed thrill ride the whole way through and delivers some creepy and scary moments and atmousphere plus this game packs hours of replay value because of its coop features and multiplayer aspects then buy this game you wont be disapointed
  33. Jul 3, 2011
    2
    This is one of the worst first-person-shooter games ever, and I've played them all, since Doom. The graphics is hazy and washed out, the action is more like wave upon wave of spawning zombie-flooding enemies than actual structural gameplay. I loved Fear1, Fear2 was passable, but this is rubbish.
  34. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    In the lineage of the FEAR games, this game does not disappoint. The points I found very appealing about this game included a strong plot device (tying in with the previous two games), very good co-op work, and a GREAT weapon handling. The weapons feel very responsive to control, and performs very strong in the game. The few times I played through, the game was found to perform well and be glitch free. The leveling system also lends itself to replay-ability, and the multiplayer was pretty entertaining.

    Looking forward to a FEAR 4!
    Collapse
  35. Aug 14, 2011
    6
    This game does NOT deserve the ratings people are giving it. In terms of story, its basically trying to make sense of the madness of F.E.A.R 2 and in terms of visuals its dated as hell. The game is fun and the core mechanics are as strong as they always were but its almost like the series has nothing to show for itself! The co-op is surprisingly good fun but ultimately false. The reason this is the case is because the game tries to fool you into thinking that the two players have COMPLETELY different styles when ultimately there is no difference. The point scoring system was as I said fun and gives decent replay value, especially for both endings. But as a game that's meant to be a finale of a horror FPS series its shoddy, did everyone just forget what it was all about? If that's the case, fine, give it 8 out of 10 but don't come running to me when you see it hasn't changed since 2004 Expand
  36. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    F.E.A.R 3 lost what F.E.A.R and F.E.A.R. 2 where all about. The story and ending where a let down, however co-op is what saved the game. Without a buddy to co-op with I would pass on this game. Nothing special here rent it and finish the series other wise save that money.
  37. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    F.E.A.R 3,or F.3.A.R if you wish, is the weakest entry in the FEAR series. I am going to look at this game from 2 different points of view. Here is my honest opinion on the game.

    Alright, let's think of this game as a horror game. It fails, horribly even. This is one of the most...no...THE most disappointing games in the genre. The scares in this game are dull, and are far and few
    between. This game managed to make me jump ONCE, and that was one of those cheap scares. Yeah one of those. Alma is now a joke. I can't believe they could screw her up so bad. Also, the story blows. What was wrong with the original story. They took the original story, got high on heroine, and then rewrote it into a pile of garbage. They story may be in fact the reason why the game is not scary. Remember back in 2005, when Alma was scary? You would crap your pants at the very sight of her, and all the freaky hallucinations that came with it. Now, she's your mom, and that awesome, freaky guy Fettel is now your lame ass brother. With few scares and a retarded story, I can confidently say that this is the weakest in the franchise.

    However, when you look at it as a FPS, it's a pretty good game. Damn good. The gunplay is awesome, and the action almost never stops. Hiding behind cover then tactically taking out enemies is a real blast. The weapons all look awesome, my favorite being the sniper rifle. The levels seem to be build primarily for gunfights as well, hinting at the fact that FEAR 3 was more intended to be a FPS.

    When you think about it, the game, standing alone, is a pretty good FPS. However, as a part of the FEAR series, it just isn't that great. I was so so excited to hear that a new FEAR was coming out! I wanted a better game than FEAR 2. After playing FEAR 3, like many of you felt, I realized that FEAR 2 was actually pretty good. It was long for one thing. FEAR 3 barely lasted 4 hours.

    That is my review of FEAR 3. I wish they would had taken the time to make a better, more frightening game. Here's hoping for a better FEAR game in the future.
    Expand
  38. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Haven't had this much fun playing a game in ages, it might have a short campaign but it's fully charged with electrifying gameplay, a great scoring challenge system & a ton of replay value, I picked mine up for £12.99 & having played it would have willingly paid double that or more. Awesome!
  39. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Very underrated game! i thought the other two FEAR games was descent, nothing to remember in my book. this however is excellent, brilliant co-op campaign with tons of challanges to complete and a level up system that really rewards a second playthrough. i played this with a friend that hated the fear series and after we played through this game for the second time he said that this is one of the best games in 2011. a must buy for all you co-op shooter fans, solid 9/10 Expand
  40. Jul 4, 2011
    0
    In the lineage of the FEAR games, this game does not disappoint. The points I found very appealing about this game included a strong plot device (tying in with the previous two games), very good co-op work, and a GREAT weapon handling. The weapons feel very responsive to control, and performs very strong in the game. The few times I played through, the game was found to perform well and be glitch free. The leveling system also lends itself to replay-ability, and the multiplayer was pretty entertaining.

    Looking forward to a FEAR 4!
    Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 71
  2. Negative: 2 out of 71
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    80
    What FEAR 3 lacks as a horror game it makes up for as a solid shooter. [Issue#75, p.80]
  2. Workmanlike design scuppers rock solid shooting. Not great FEAR, but not all awful. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    68
    While I enjoyed FEAR 3 because I'm a fan of the series, I don't think the average person picking this up will know all the missing tidbits of knowledge the game doesn't give you to piece it all together.