User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 119
  2. Negative: 17 out of 119

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarisA.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    It's very rare to get a game that actually tries to scare you psychologically. Most titles just have monsters jump out like a Doom 3 clone. Kudos to FEAR for creating a game with an interesting storyline and for making you jump in your seat!
  2. ItsKapuder
    Nov 3, 2006
    6
    Definately not worth the $60 I paid for the game. Gets old quickly and it campaign is short, maybe thats a good thing. I would recommend Doom 3 for regular xbox for equivalent graphics, 3 times the game play length, and you will save $30. Or buy it, get bored, and return to Halo the next day.
  3. UziE.
    Jul 22, 2007
    4
    I cant believe this game has got decent reviews. I rented it and played for two hours, took it back and rented Lost Planet instead. totally crap graphics and gameplay that isnt much better. lame story also.
  4. Jonathan
    Sep 15, 2007
    1
    Would have been 0, but the slow-mo was a cute little novelty. Otherwise, the level design/graphics were HORRIBLE! I mean, this very much looked like Half Life 1 to me, which was great... BACK THEN. Sure, it had some super lighting, but otherwise... CRAP! Gameplay... can you say repition? B-O-R-I-N-G! Plus, I'm tired of games that can't create a decent atmosphere with the game Would have been 0, but the slow-mo was a cute little novelty. Otherwise, the level design/graphics were HORRIBLE! I mean, this very much looked like Half Life 1 to me, which was great... BACK THEN. Sure, it had some super lighting, but otherwise... CRAP! Gameplay... can you say repition? B-O-R-I-N-G! Plus, I'm tired of games that can't create a decent atmosphere with the game alone, so they add stupid little stunts to try to make it scary... they way over did it... they should see BioShock for an example of how to do that right. I bought this game thinking I would like it... then I tried hard to like it... and couldn't. There is no way this deserves anything close to an 85. May be the most over-rated game I've ever played. Expand
  5. MarkW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    4
    Yawn zzzzzzzz....... Incredibly boring.
  6. RichardS
    Jul 30, 2007
    4
    Okay, it's not as massively over-rated as the all-time most over-rated crocks: Gears of War and Halo2. Fear is probably division 2 over-rated rubbish. There is probably one cool thing about this game: it comes close to replicating the fight scenes in The Matrix with plaster flying everywhere and dust filling the air. And that's it. There are a few creepy chills, though they tend Okay, it's not as massively over-rated as the all-time most over-rated crocks: Gears of War and Halo2. Fear is probably division 2 over-rated rubbish. There is probably one cool thing about this game: it comes close to replicating the fight scenes in The Matrix with plaster flying everywhere and dust filling the air. And that's it. There are a few creepy chills, though they tend to all come at once. And I don't care for horror games anyway. The enemy AI is clever, but the rest of the game is so average and boring it doesn't matter. The fights are repetitive, the weapons all very similar and as usual there are a couple of weapons you want and many that are rubbish. Why is no one since Halo has learnt that half a dozen varied weapons each of which is cool in its own right is the way to go? The levels are on tracks - totally linear and stunningly repetitive - it's like replaying the same level again and again. The storyline is horrid - I gave up listening to the phone messages and PC messages - I just didn't care about the story or my character at all - just like Gears of W*** - a fatal flaw. By turns dull and duller, this is yet another massively over-rated FPS. Expand
  7. KP
    May 5, 2009
    3
    I lasted about 45 minutes playing this game, and then decided I'd have more fun writing a review of it. My biggest complaint is the game play. It just feels a little clunky for a FPS. The targeting is weak, and movement feels choppy unless in slo mo. The plot is a nice try but misses the mark. Simply not interesting or engaging enough to hold my interest. I'd rather re-play a I lasted about 45 minutes playing this game, and then decided I'd have more fun writing a review of it. My biggest complaint is the game play. It just feels a little clunky for a FPS. The targeting is weak, and movement feels choppy unless in slo mo. The plot is a nice try but misses the mark. Simply not interesting or engaging enough to hold my interest. I'd rather re-play a classic favorite like COD or R6V. Graphics are xbox like. And the score is lame. Problem with metacrtic system is that it doesn't factor in year. For example F.E.A.R. rating 85. Resident Evil 5 rating 85. Even if you hate RE5, it'd be hard not to admit that it blows FEAR out of the water in every way. Expand
  8. Matt
    Aug 15, 2009
    1
    I'd say it's the worst game I've ever played, and sits right next to Prey and Condemned. I hated every second of it, from the clunky moving mechanism, constantly dark atmosphere for "effect", the fact that every weapon looks and fires the same....

    I ought to file for damages considering the amount of times I threw my pad on the floor
  9. JamesPiles
    Nov 8, 2008
    2
    Terrible. I'm not talking about the graphics. If it's a good game i'll keep playing it regardless of how old it is ( like Half life 1). I'm talking about the level design. You'll see the same boring pipes and textures again and again. If I took a screenshot in half life 1 - I'll now what level was being played, this game you can't tell, it all looks theTerrible. I'm not talking about the graphics. If it's a good game i'll keep playing it regardless of how old it is ( like Half life 1). I'm talking about the level design. You'll see the same boring pipes and textures again and again. If I took a screenshot in half life 1 - I'll now what level was being played, this game you can't tell, it all looks the same. Dissapointed, they should have called this game W.A.R.E.H.O.U.S.E Expand
  10. DarinM
    Jan 21, 2009
    4
    I kmow this is a couple of years old now but i got this for a tenner and have to say i have never played such a boring Fps as this before.Every level looks the same,the graphics are dull,.the gameplay repetitive,no variety in enemies.and scary? maybe for a 5 year old.
    I really wanted to like this but its so average in every respect and boring as hell.I think the reviewers were playing a
    I kmow this is a couple of years old now but i got this for a tenner and have to say i have never played such a boring Fps as this before.Every level looks the same,the graphics are dull,.the gameplay repetitive,no variety in enemies.and scary? maybe for a 5 year old.
    I really wanted to like this but its so average in every respect and boring as hell.I think the reviewers were playing a different game.
    85?? yeah right
    Expand
  11. GeorgeS.
    Feb 26, 2009
    2
    I'm going to give it a 2 because the well-made environment and the slo-mo gimmick actually works pretty well. The game is extremely slow and I find myself wishing that it would simply get ON with it. I wouldn't call it a horror game, though it does have a supernatural element to it. I feel obligated to finish the game, though the more I play it, the more I just want it to be I'm going to give it a 2 because the well-made environment and the slo-mo gimmick actually works pretty well. The game is extremely slow and I find myself wishing that it would simply get ON with it. I wouldn't call it a horror game, though it does have a supernatural element to it. I feel obligated to finish the game, though the more I play it, the more I just want it to be done. I don't know who said the AI was smart. I think it would lose a battle of wits against a stuffed iguana. So I give it a 2 because the production values were so high, but they didn't seem to bother putting any thought into it. Expand
  12. JaceN.
    Nov 14, 2006
    6
    Very ordinary! This game tries so hard to be this scary jumpfest through creepy setpieces and timed events...I have to say every one of them felt cheap...from the spooky person walking past your field of vision up ahead and the "zing WOOOOOOO" musical spike to the fact that you can't use an elevator without the lights blinking off and yet more predictable surprises bursting out...can Very ordinary! This game tries so hard to be this scary jumpfest through creepy setpieces and timed events...I have to say every one of them felt cheap...from the spooky person walking past your field of vision up ahead and the "zing WOOOOOOO" musical spike to the fact that you can't use an elevator without the lights blinking off and yet more predictable surprises bursting out...can we have something that hasnt been done to death please. The weapons feel too generic and innacurate, their sound effects seem to have suffered in the translation from NTSC to PAL as theres a huge rift between "firing" and "stopped firing with ejecting brass" sound files, you shoot-stop-realise hes not dead-shoot-shoot-stop-realise hes not dead-shoot in a near endless loop...particularly on tougher enemies and the voice track is so quiet I just gave up paying any attenton to the weak plot. Save your money and go buy Doom 3 and Half Life 2 for your 360s backwards compatibilty feature instead of this bland "Rainbow Six visits the scare factory/office/back alley" wannabe! Expand
  13. RickD.
    Dec 22, 2007
    0
    Thiss game is horrible. Absolutely the worst gameplay and graphical design I've ever seen. Every weapon looks the same and the environments look exactly the same as the last one. This game is terrible and I don't recommend it to anyone.
  14. MarshallS.
    Sep 14, 2007
    3
    Fun shooter for a couple of hours then the sheer drudgery of yet-another-derivative-uninspired-run-of-the-mill FPS sets in. Boring weapons, repetitive and linear level design, massively irregular difficulty spikes and a plotline that somebody wrote on the back of a cigarette pack whilst on the bus to work the day before the game shipped do NOT make a good game.
  15. JayR.
    Sep 18, 2007
    1
    This game has the worst graphics ive seen on the x box 360, the weapon design looks like it was made for playstation 1 or nintendo 64, thers games on the x box and ps2 that look much better then this so called nex gen fps horrible game.
  16. Giobos
    Nov 16, 2006
    4
    FEAR offers nothing new to the FPS world. It is Half-Life 2 without the plot, Doom without the scares. Fortunately, my store has a 7 day no-hassle return policy. $60 should buy a new gaming experience, however slight.
  17. Jay
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    EXCELLENT game just too short (Like Black) Word of advice - play it on Harcore and not Casual of you will be disappointed when its all over. I completed it in 1 week.
  18. Pizack
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    The games mechanics are nice, but nothing special. I didn't notice any glitches on my single play through the game. Repetitiveness is an issue, but it's something I can live with. The graphics left a bit to be desired, but were good enough not to draw from the over-all experience. The story was genuinely interesting but there was a lot left to be answered at the end of the game. The games mechanics are nice, but nothing special. I didn't notice any glitches on my single play through the game. Repetitiveness is an issue, but it's something I can live with. The graphics left a bit to be desired, but were good enough not to draw from the over-all experience. The story was genuinely interesting but there was a lot left to be answered at the end of the game. Good, but could have been much better. Take my advice and rent it, play it in the dark, but don't buy it. Expand
  19. Nyteowl
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    f.e.a.r on the 360 is just as good as the pc. if you haven't played it on the pc or have specs for it. as 360 owner here's your second chance at it. visuals are are great despite rendering only buildings and it's interiors. the character models are detailed also. this is all because of the hardware avaliable. besides that the havok engine is the only thing that's f.e.a.r on the 360 is just as good as the pc. if you haven't played it on the pc or have specs for it. as 360 owner here's your second chance at it. visuals are are great despite rendering only buildings and it's interiors. the character models are detailed also. this is all because of the hardware avaliable. besides that the havok engine is the only thing that's laughable, rag doll effect. if you've plaid anytype of fps or driving sims, you'll know what i mean. i know it's asking for too much and it is. game physics have come along way, but i'm not going to knock it. ayway the a.i. can be tough as they say it is. there are times, when you'll just shake your head and say, "that was stupid". it doesn't often make your typical a.i. mistakes of going, duh. as for what fps master said, i don't think he even played it (f.e.a.r). it's just another sony fanboy, sigh. why can't we all get along. Expand
  20. TomG.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    This is definately worth the 60 dollars. The graphics are equivelant to that of the PC running on maximum: a feat thst take a good $2000 to do on windows. It's almost like a sale at a store: $300 for a 360, and another $60 for F.E.A.R. Now, for PC, it's $2000 for the PC itself, and $30 for the game. sure theres a price difference in the games, but the systems they run on make This is definately worth the 60 dollars. The graphics are equivelant to that of the PC running on maximum: a feat thst take a good $2000 to do on windows. It's almost like a sale at a store: $300 for a 360, and another $60 for F.E.A.R. Now, for PC, it's $2000 for the PC itself, and $30 for the game. sure theres a price difference in the games, but the systems they run on make the choice obvious: get F.E.A.R. on the Xbox 360. Expand
  21. Gingerman
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    I don't care much about the scare factor, and there are some scary moments that make you jump...which I respect and asume hard to pull off in a videogame. the main thing here is that fear is a decent shooter. Its fun and you can just jump right into it. i actually love the office levels, bring them on...more offices the better. because architecturaly speaking, there are stairs, I don't care much about the scare factor, and there are some scary moments that make you jump...which I respect and asume hard to pull off in a videogame. the main thing here is that fear is a decent shooter. Its fun and you can just jump right into it. i actually love the office levels, bring them on...more offices the better. because architecturaly speaking, there are stairs, glass, doors, curtains, chairs and tables and everything you need to shoot up, havoc engine style, having your enemies fly out of windows and fall ragdoll like from stairs. this game would have sucked, lets say...if it was placed in a jungle. the whole pacgake could have been made less "supernatural" and more real-life I think, because the creepy moments kind of confuse and take away from the game rather than add to it. max payne series suffered from same the garbage. anyway...there is a cool gun which turns people into skeletons and another one to nail people on walls...so yeah, its great. graphics are decent, but a far cry from what the 360 monster can handle...just look at rainbowsix vegas!, if that is what 360 can do...then fear just downright looks flat. Expand
  22. LionelE.
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    A mildly derivative but well-made shooter with nice atmospheric elements. A few aspects, like the slow-motion capability and fair enemy AI make it worth playing despite it being a bit outdated by the platform's recent standards.
  23. MichaelS.
    Sep 29, 2009
    8
    For the people giving this game really low scores, don't believe them right off the back. These people don't even understand the purpose of this game. They want another mindless shooter with endless gore and violence and insanely unrealistic weapons to create epic holes in the walls. While FEAR does have some pretty cool weaponry, the main positive about this game is that For the people giving this game really low scores, don't believe them right off the back. These people don't even understand the purpose of this game. They want another mindless shooter with endless gore and violence and insanely unrealistic weapons to create epic holes in the walls. While FEAR does have some pretty cool weaponry, the main positive about this game is that it's more meant to be a psychological kind of scary rather then a jump-out-of-every-vent scary. In this, it largely succeeds (the girl is one scary little bitch), and although the graphics may not be up to par with games such as COD4, there's a reason: it;s an older game and they can't completely change the engine to improve the graphics. Overall, if you're looking for a game that has enough punch to cause you to jump as well as give u a ton of fun, then this is for you. Otherwise if you want another endlessly chaotic shooter then go buy Unreal Tournament 3(which by the way is amazing). Expand
  24. MatthewW.
    May 18, 2010
    9
    A truly excellent game. Great gameplay and a terrifying atmosphere. The AI was decent, but really, being able to explore spooky environments and piece together the storyline from hidden clues is what sets this game apart. Highly recommended.
  25. FPSMaster
    Nov 2, 2006
    6
    This game is ok for a couple of days but then gets old and feels old really fast. First off, the story is rubbish thrown together to try and mimmick much better games like Half Life 2 but it doesn't succeed. It just feels like a cheap rip-off of HL2 in just about every possible way in the story mode from weapons, to puzzles to the actual story. But it just doesn't come close This game is ok for a couple of days but then gets old and feels old really fast. First off, the story is rubbish thrown together to try and mimmick much better games like Half Life 2 but it doesn't succeed. It just feels like a cheap rip-off of HL2 in just about every possible way in the story mode from weapons, to puzzles to the actual story. But it just doesn't come close with lame puzzles, half-done graphics and little to no incentive to keep moving forward. It's like going back and playing a FPS on Dreamcast from about 6 years ago. The A.I. is the only saving grace of the story mode as it is actually the only decent part of that mode. The multiplayer is fun for about the same period of time as the story, so maybe 2 days of fun but then it gets old. It's imbalanced weapons and PS2 graphics make it hard to enjoy after playing the Rainbow Six Vegas demo and seeing Gears of War in motion. The controls are fine in both modes but since both modes are so forgettable it doesn't matter. The graphics were supposed to look a lot like Condemned or better since this is the same team and engine and a year extra to improve upon that game but it fails miserably. The textures look like a first gen PS2 game , which means very low res and blocky, and the lighting and environs remind me of games like Soldier of Fortune on Xbox. The envrions also look really cheaply thrown together without a care for anti-aliasing. All in all, the game looks almost exactly like Area 51 on PS2 and plays about the same, ie...cheap. The shadows are the only saving grace graphically of this last gen game being sported as next gen. The bullet holes and destruction also disappear in both modes very rapidly which is a shame seeing as this console has more than enough RAM to leave them there since the game is not doing anything graphically to make them have to disappear. And it looks strange when online there was just a huge battle with crap lying all over the place and bullet holes everywhere just to come back 30 seconds later and everythiing looks new all over again. Or even worse, it disappears right in front of you like this is PS1 or something. The blood disappears in the exact same manner. Couple all that with the fact that you will make it through the story in less than 2 days and people playing the 360 version online must have been playing the PC version for the last year because only 2 days after release people are already making you feel like you're a level 10 at Halo 2 playing against level 35 players. Just rent it and wait for the real games to come out starting next week with Gears of War, Call of Duty 3 and Rainbow Six Vegas. I don't know if the reviewers of this game have ben playing first gen PS2 games or what, but someone should be fired for saying this game looks anything close to next gen. And PC gamers must never have anything good come out if this pile of crap was GOTY last year. Just about every other game on 360 looks easily better than this game in every possible graphical category and most of them play better too. Including the horrid Perfect Dark Zero. Yeah, this game IS that bad all around. GOTY my ***! Expand
  26. ROBBMAC
    Nov 3, 2006
    6
    Not scary, Not a graphical masterpiece, AI not smart. I'm underwhelmed by this game. It's not terrible but it doesn't feel like I played the same game as the magazine reviewers. And the footstep sounds made by your character are annoyingly unnatural!
  27. BruinsFan247
    Nov 3, 2006
    8
    FPS Master...Did you even play this game? I dont know exactly what it is you were on when you played this game, but your review is way off. PS2 graphics? You didnt play the same game. Granted the story isnt as good as it could have been. Nothing in the story line really ties anything together. As far as action and fun goes, its all here. I have to say there isnt one thing about your FPS Master...Did you even play this game? I dont know exactly what it is you were on when you played this game, but your review is way off. PS2 graphics? You didnt play the same game. Granted the story isnt as good as it could have been. Nothing in the story line really ties anything together. As far as action and fun goes, its all here. I have to say there isnt one thing about your review I agree with. This is one of the smoothest FPS games ive played online for one. the whole game doesnt get dumbed down just to play online. The controls are spot on, the frame rate has no hiccups. Calling the lighting and environments first gen quality proves you havent played this game or are just bashing it for no reason. the lighting affects are some of the best on any console. Sorry but that was the worst review ive ever read simply because its almost entirely unfounded and untrue. Expand
  28. JG
    Nov 3, 2006
    9
    Awesome game, single player and multiplayer is great. The instant action modes are a great installment into the game.
  29. Matt
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    Not an amazing game, but as far as FPS games go, this game is solid. The fusion of kinetic gunplay and J-Horror is an interesting mesh of concepts. The graphics are not quite up to par in terms of "next gen" quality. However, this game is interesting and more importantly, fun. That's what's most important isn't it?
  30. FredB.
    Mar 17, 2007
    9
    I give the creators a hug if I ever see them. I've played many first person shooters in my day and sense the Halo's thay have left me more then disappointed. But this game delivers good controls, great plot, and thrilling action from beginning to end.
  31. matt
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    this game is not over rated at all it was so god ive purchased it twice once on the pc and once on the 360it's by far my favorite fps campaign any one complaining about the graphics clearly doesn't remember when it was made it was made before the 360 was even available it was much scarier then bioshock (which was a terrible game) and most other games iv'e played if you hadthis game is not over rated at all it was so god ive purchased it twice once on the pc and once on the 360it's by far my favorite fps campaign any one complaining about the graphics clearly doesn't remember when it was made it was made before the 360 was even available it was much scarier then bioshock (which was a terrible game) and most other games iv'e played if you had played the pc version you wold realize how great of a game this is on the 360 Expand
  32. SYC
    Nov 13, 2006
    5
    Yet another shooter with uninspiring level design and loads of warehouses. The visuals are techically pretty but lack artistic originality and the much touted horror element is laughable. There are loads of games out there that are actually 'scary' and while the combat itself is relatively solid and well done, it's nothing you haven't seen before.
  33. RandyM.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    A direct port of the instant PC classic and it's expansion. F.E.A.R. on Xbox 360 is just as good, nothing more, nothing less. Buy it if you don't have the computer to run this monster on PC.
  34. [Anonymous]
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Really intense shooter, its really feels like shooting with this one.. great.
  35. DennisS.
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    The action had me jumping out of my chair. The programmers did a great job with having things jump out at you. Scary at times, yet holds your interest.
  36. TimL.
    Jan 22, 2007
    7
    Does anyone else feel like they have played this game about 3 years back? Just after picking up the sticky-remote grenades for the first time and going down the stairs I had a severe case of deja-vu as I was bolting dudes to the wall immediately following their dramating jump and roll from the office window. I may have had a (future of gaming) dream but I think it was just another case of Does anyone else feel like they have played this game about 3 years back? Just after picking up the sticky-remote grenades for the first time and going down the stairs I had a severe case of deja-vu as I was bolting dudes to the wall immediately following their dramating jump and roll from the office window. I may have had a (future of gaming) dream but I think it was just another case of un-original gameplay. Don't get me wrong. It's a fun game. It just seems like for all the next gen graphics there is a ton of stuff that was drug up from 5 years ago. Same old super square environments. Paper thin walls and the slightly off scale feel of early pc shooters bummed me out a bit. kudos for the slow motion sparks and dust flying everywhere. I did actually hit a guy in the leg and chase him as he tried to hobble away. Expand
  37. ShawnC.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    In my opinion the game is a great first person shooter with great AI. I could not follow the story well but the overall game was fun the graphics was fun the characters were well made it was full of interactive things the online play was very fast paced but easy to get hooked on.
  38. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 26, 2006
    8
    This is a far superior game to Doom 3, which i think is the worst FPS EVER! I never had the pleasure of playing the PC version but from what i saw there and what i've seen on the 360, there isn't much difference graphically or gameplay wise. This game sports an awesome arsenal of weapons, highly smart enemies and a 'reflex' neo-like mode. All of these add excitement This is a far superior game to Doom 3, which i think is the worst FPS EVER! I never had the pleasure of playing the PC version but from what i saw there and what i've seen on the 360, there isn't much difference graphically or gameplay wise. This game sports an awesome arsenal of weapons, highly smart enemies and a 'reflex' neo-like mode. All of these add excitement and makes this way above a lot of fps. But the only sticky point is the consant dark corridors and the annoying (and very unscary) girl! This is fps heaven for all who love the genre. Expand
  39. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    FEAR is a great idea for a game .Take the FPS and Horror and combine the 2 and i remember seeing the adds for it on tv when it was coming out for the PC and wishing i had a PC powerful enough to play it . when i found out it was coming out to the xbox 360 i couldnt wait to play it and when the demo was released it looked great. problem was that in the demo you get all the best parts theyFEAR is a great idea for a game .Take the FPS and Horror and combine the 2 and i remember seeing the adds for it on tv when it was coming out for the PC and wishing i had a PC powerful enough to play it . when i found out it was coming out to the xbox 360 i couldnt wait to play it and when the demo was released it looked great. problem was that in the demo you get all the best parts they take every scarry moment in the game and combine it into a 10-15 min demo . then in the actaul game they stretch it all out. fear's horror element is actaully kinda dull and is more focused on shooting which does work good and i like the slow mo shooting but in the end what i wanted is what the demo was showing us and unfortunitly what we got was a decent shooter but not what this game ultimately could have been. Expand
  40. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    This review is a fair bit late and is based on when the game was released and not by todays standards. However if a game could do with a HD reboot to make it damn near perfect this is the one.
    Okay the basic plot: You play a member of the First Encounter Assault Recon unit (Sounds rubbish but spells FEAR which is the point) and you are sent in to a building to capture an escaped lunatic.
    This review is a fair bit late and is based on when the game was released and not by todays standards. However if a game could do with a HD reboot to make it damn near perfect this is the one.
    Okay the basic plot: You play a member of the First Encounter Assault Recon unit (Sounds rubbish but spells FEAR which is the point) and you are sent in to a building to capture an escaped lunatic. Not all is what it seems and it all gets very grim!
    Through the game you encounter many different enemies which do have a good range and also work very differenly on how you have to approach them. The AI is a bit of a mixed bag. Sometimes the enemies will try to flank you and this makes it a good challenge. Other times they can just stand there and its a bit annoying (This was a very early game on the console and at the time the AI was pretty good). Even today this is not terrible and is certainly playable. The graphics are also dated by today's standards but then again they don't improve with time on a disc do they!.
    The punch this game has though comes through design. Some moments are very well staged and atmospheric and actually had me tense. I found the game absorbing and taxing in a good manner and the game time flew by. I would honestly say this is a must play game even due to its age. Today you will need to look past its age but it still feels better than alot of the current crop of titles.
    This game would be right at the top with just a few tweeks in areas listed but unfortunately the developers never really moved forward enough with the sequels (Hopefully some other developer will get the rights to publish a HD version and will nail it)
    The campaign is around 6 8 hours long and multiplayer wise was pretty good at the time of release. Think you would find it hard to find players online today.
    I really enjoyed this game and have recommended it several times and got good feedback from it. Shame that the franchise has kind of died because it has not had financial support of some of the big players.
    Expand
  41. Aug 29, 2012
    7
    I finally got a hold of this game after 6 years of wanting to try it out, and I got what I expected. It's a six year-old game, so I expected some glitches, outdated mechanics, and repetitive gameplay. That being said, it's pretty fun for short periods of time. I do enjoy the psychological horror aspect rather than strictly quick scares. The atmosphere is creepy, but I've seen better. TheI finally got a hold of this game after 6 years of wanting to try it out, and I got what I expected. It's a six year-old game, so I expected some glitches, outdated mechanics, and repetitive gameplay. That being said, it's pretty fun for short periods of time. I do enjoy the psychological horror aspect rather than strictly quick scares. The atmosphere is creepy, but I've seen better. The ability to slow down time was pretty original, so kudos for that. I managed to get this game for free, so I believe I got my "money's worth." Expand
  42. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    FEAR is the best first person shooter I've played since DOOM 3. The story has you playing as mute Point Man, trying to stop a man named Paxton Fettel from killing everyone in a massive, haunted, corporate building called Armacham. I'm not going to reveal much more about the story, see that's the fun part, the way that you unravel this story is the best part. You listen to phone messages,FEAR is the best first person shooter I've played since DOOM 3. The story has you playing as mute Point Man, trying to stop a man named Paxton Fettel from killing everyone in a massive, haunted, corporate building called Armacham. I'm not going to reveal much more about the story, see that's the fun part, the way that you unravel this story is the best part. You listen to phone messages, read doccuments, and read emails. That might seem familiar, but it is done really well here. The voice acting is top notch, especially from the man who voices Fettel, damn was he creepy. The music is also really creepy, right on par to the Silent Hill games. The campaign isn't short, but it isn't really long. I beat it in around 6 hours. The graphics are slick and smooth, even if every hall in this building looks the same to me. Seriously, you will think you're going in circles. The gameplay is top notch as well.Your main character has the ability to slow down time, which is very helpful in combat. But beware, you can only go slow-mo for a limited time. You get a arsenal of kickass weaponry to back this up,ou got your typical guns:the shotguns,machineguns, and pistols. However, they also throw in a bunch of sci-fi weaponry to mix it up. The game controls are very responsive, and the combat is a blast to play. Another thing that is done really well here is the horror, I crapped my pants several times during this game. FEAR is one of the most polished horror shooters on the market, if you aren't too chicken, go check it out. It is worth every single cent of its retail price. Expand
  43. Feb 1, 2013
    5
    I had really gone into this game with high expectations, as reviews all acclaimed it to be scary and a first rate FPS. Boy was this a let down for me. I barely can call this a horror or a FPS. While it is certainly atmospheric, it really does not do a thing in the ways of scares. A few moment here and there that try real hard but ultimately fail. I really think this game was aimed atI had really gone into this game with high expectations, as reviews all acclaimed it to be scary and a first rate FPS. Boy was this a let down for me. I barely can call this a horror or a FPS. While it is certainly atmospheric, it really does not do a thing in the ways of scares. A few moment here and there that try real hard but ultimately fail. I really think this game was aimed at making little kids scared rather than seasoned gamers. As to the FPS aspect: From a technical standpoint it is decent enough, but really does little to the genre that hasn't been done before (and better.) Overall: A game that is all bark, but no bite. A really dull FPS, and slightly entertaining horror. BUT I will say that Alma is a rather creepy character, a shame there isn't more of her in the game. Expand
  44. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    The game itself is only good for a score of 6, a smidge above average, but it did lead to one of the best scare moments ever as a locker got thrown across a corridor as my friend launched his controller 10 foot into the air giving off a girly yelp. Yes the scares are good but the most memorable thing about this game were the scares from the creepy girl and was the only thing that kept meThe game itself is only good for a score of 6, a smidge above average, but it did lead to one of the best scare moments ever as a locker got thrown across a corridor as my friend launched his controller 10 foot into the air giving off a girly yelp. Yes the scares are good but the most memorable thing about this game were the scares from the creepy girl and was the only thing that kept me playing. The gameplay is mediocre, a pretty boring corridor shooter that has a few moments but the game is really let down by the bullet time mechanic which I don't really think works in games (apart from the innovator Max Payne and The Matrix games where it makes sense) and takes away the skill especially in first person shooters. Overall this game is generic for the generation and if you want to play a F.E.A.R game to see what its all about then I recommend this one but there is so much more that should take your time and money. Expand
  45. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    The review I'm about to write is a tad bit late but I just thought I would write one for the future gamers thinking about buying it. It is very rare to see a game that tries to scare psychologically, it always has you on the edge of your seat. I've seen previews of Silent Hill and I thought those games are probably the stupidest games in the history of gaming. The first thing I look for inThe review I'm about to write is a tad bit late but I just thought I would write one for the future gamers thinking about buying it. It is very rare to see a game that tries to scare psychologically, it always has you on the edge of your seat. I've seen previews of Silent Hill and I thought those games are probably the stupidest games in the history of gaming. The first thing I look for in a game like that is the graphics. For a game back in 2006, the graphics is really awesome.
    You really have to think strategically in the game because it isn't your normal first person shooter. And I like that it isn't your normal first person shooting game. Plus when you start unlocking achievements in the xbox 360 version, it's challenging. I also love the slow motion in the game that use your reflexes, it makes the more challenging enemies easier to kill. Even though, the weapons are your normal weapons, some of them really help out as you progress in the later game. You can go in different parts of the maps and find different boosts such as health boost and slow motion boost. Which is very helpful. A really good game for a cheap price these days!! I'd recommend buying it.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 91
    F.E.A.R. has made it from the PC to 360 with everything that made it an outstanding experience along with a few new additions including the fantastic Instant Action mode, making it hard to lodge any huge complaints against the game.
  2. F.E.A.R.'s downsides mean it's thrilling at first and much less absorbing later on, but its magnificent combat sequences still make it irresistible for serious FPS fans. [Dec. 2006, p.62]
  3. The level of destruction and the special effects are outstanding, and while the single player campaign is a bit short, the console exclusive Instant Action Mode is a great way to continuously relive battles against the intelligent AI.