Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 349 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This quirky platformer stars a little white creature with a bright red fez. Gomez is a 2D being living in a 2D world. Or is he? When the existence of a mysterious 3rd dimension is unveiled, Gomez embarks on a journey that will usher him to the very end of time and space. Utilize your ability to navigate 3D structures from 4 distinct 2D perspectives. Explore an open-ended world full of secrets, puzzles and hidden treasures. Re-open the mysteries of the past and discover the truth about reality and perception. Alter your perspective and see the world in a different way. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. May 13, 2012
    100
    A masterpiece of a game that draws inspiration from many classic franchises in order to deliver a unique experience. Don't miss it!
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    100
    The simple joy of exploration is at the very heart of the appeal of video games. In Fez, it's absolutely unfettered.
  3. 95
    For an experience that could've drowned in an overreliance on using familiar signposts from what's come before it, Fez succeeds in celebrating the past in a smart, joyous way that has us incredibly excited for gaming's future.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    Although it's not exactly the indie revolution many expected, there's more talent in a couple of Fez's levels than in many entire triple A games published in recent years.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    90
    You travel through an engaging world full of secrets and hidden clues. You watch, you take notes, you ponder, you think about what is happening on the screen. This is a mysterious journey through time and space – charming, fascinating, unique.
  6. May 10, 2012
    80
    Unique atmosphere, lovely retro visuals and extremely enjoyable gameplay mechanics. The game could be a bit more friendly though, because it's easy to get confused in the intriguing world of Fez. [June 2012, p.84]
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Polytron has crafted an exceedingly gorgeous world, full of surprises, temples, and eye-melting cuteness. Switching perspectives holds up as a gameplay mechanic, deftly avoiding gimicky traps along the way...Still, technical missteps and a confusing, unintuitive map system, confusing branches and game crashes remind us that Fez isn't the indie hero we need right now, but the one we deserve.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 95
  2. Negative: 22 out of 95
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Fez is an amazing piece of work that shows meticulous attention to every little detail that it shows to the player. What makes Fez stand out, however, is all the little things that aren't directly obvious. There is an almost intimidating and uncountable amount of content that is hidden, secret or written in non-existent language. Fez presents itself through amazing art and animation, music and a careful tendency towards being a calm & peaceful place with a darker undertone. The lack of combat might make Fez feel somewhat slow or uninteresting to some that are more pre-disposed towards Call of Duty or more action-oriented games, but to me Fez stands out as the first real adventure game in a decade. It is a game I want to play without walkthrough or spoilers simply because it so subtly challenges me to figure it out myself through its elaborate world and fiction.

    Fez appeals to me in the nostalgic craving for a proper adventure game, yet stands out because it goes beyond just being a nostalgic throwback. Fez isn't scared to radically overthrow some notions about what games should be while being a truly interesting game first and foremost at all times.

    Fez is something remarkably special.
    Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    I've had an absolutely amazing time playing this. The amount of hype (at least that I've experienced) is fully justified. The soundtrack alone is worth your $10, let alone the huge world and atmosphere contained within this spectacular platform-puzzler. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    motiva que los creativos indie rescaten esa estética de lo pocos bits que es tan singular y veía perdida en la nostalgia... hacer cosas visualmente bellas retomando las "carencias" de la vieja escuela Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    I just picked this game up and was only going to play a little bit before bed and I ended up playing for an hour and a half. It's a fun addictive game. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    A very nice XBLA game, with retro 16 Bits graphics (that have some beautiful scenarios, colors and details in them by the way), and a gameplay that is a cross between platform and puzzle games... you're in a 2D world, but with RT / LT can rotate this world, creating a pseudo 3D world to explore, and reunite 32 cubes scattered in this world, that needs some thinking to solve the puzzles. One of the best creations in the last months - games are not only about graphics guys, they're about gameplay and originality too. My score: 8,6 / 10,0 . Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    Adorable characters in a wonderful environment. This was a platformer done right in my opinion. 8-bit 2D worlds that could be manipulated to 3D. Soundtrack is epic, like LoZ epic. Jump, twist, vine climb, fall... awesome! Smooth gameplay and a joy to play. Repitition comes into play but they try to mix it up with a deteriating screen. Good times. http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Loved the game for about 30 mins then my save file was corrupted. Started again and this time after about an hour the same thing happened. Third time it only took about 40 mins. Tried once more a few weeks ago and got about 45 mins into it. Great idea, gameplay and music but completely broken. Waste of money. Expand

See all 95 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.