Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    In this year's installment FIFA doesn’t take any larger leaps forward. It is still a polished football game for the dedicated fan base. And for the player who doesn’t want to play alone Ultimate Team is probably better than ever. But it is still too bad that EA hasn’t worked more on improving the core mechanics of the game.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    I think EA needs to go back to the drawing board on its interpretation of unpredictability's role in sports games, because while it might make the game look more realistic to watch, it makes it feel frustrating to play.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    70
    Everything’s there, just like last year. Hardcore fans will enjoy the revisited physics engine, but we were expecting some larger changes.
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    Despite the improvements in graphical fidelity and presentation, which are sure to be even more amazing on Xbox One and PlayStation 4, FIFA 14 is essentially the same game from last year.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    FIFA 14 requires more patience than most of its predecessors, and even when your patience is rewarded, it often feels like it's flattering to deceive. Slow and stodgy in midfield but dynamic and physical at either end of the pitch, it's possible that some might think this the best FIFA ever--but you'd be splitting hairs, not defences.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win,
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win, when you lose, everything is scripted.

    And it's just the same thing of FIFA 13, just slower, I don't know why

    It's sad because I was a FIFA fan since FIFA 98, and this is the end of the line for this series for me. Another title that's a copy of the previous one and full of script.

    What I most like in videogaming was the fact that we can decide our destiny, we decide what happens in the screen. EA, since FIFA 12, destroyed this: you don't play a football videogame, you just follow the script the game definied for each match

    Run away from this crap
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    SCRIPTED everything I do is scripted. Even though they have added cool new features to normal gameplay and ultimate team i still think this isSCRIPTED everything I do is scripted. Even though they have added cool new features to normal gameplay and ultimate team i still think this is scripted. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    2
    This is definitely the worst FIFA in history. It brings over all problems of FIFA13 and adds more. I'm talking about single player modes, asThis is definitely the worst FIFA in history. It brings over all problems of FIFA13 and adds more. I'm talking about single player modes, as I'm not interested in multiplayer game at all. My score reflects only a single player experience

    I'm not expecting a game to be easy, I like challenge, especially in a football game, but the game has to be enjoyable. And F14 is far from that. It's one of the most frustrating experiences in a game world ever. If I pick one of the biggest teams on the continent, with players valued millions of euros in real world, I'd like to feel that I'm indeed controlling a really strong team. That I have immediate advantages over a poor opponent. But there's no such feeling in this game. FIFA 'world' seems to be using some kind of level scaling, like Skyrim, because no matter how good team you pick, how close to level 99 your players are and how skiled you are in controlling a pad, you will struggle with likes of Stoke or Almeria or whatever. Your Piques, Ramoses and Luizs will be outrun by poor team's attackers, your Messis, Ronaldos and Robbens will be outrun by poor team's defenders. 60 level team will make pinpoint precision long passes and exchange ball better than Barca in their best years. And watch yourself in the last 15 minutes of the game if you're winning by 1 or 2 goals you will experience pressing like you've never seen on live TV, unless you watch ice hockey match and one team plays with a player advantage.

    Reaction your opponent AI presents is unhumanly they can react to your action a fraction of a second after you press the button. At the same time, your defenders AI is utterly stupid. There's barely any move on the pitch except the player you control. AI doesn't move your player towards the ball in the air, doesn't assist you in defence. You would imagine you could position a player manually, but auto switching doesn't work correctly and manual switching when ball is in the air is practically impossible. Your players also won't move towards a loose ball after eg a tackle (it sometimes looks like all players 'wait' until the tackle/collision animation is finished). Passing on assisted and semi modes don't work and at least 1/3 simple short passes (not to mention long through balls) end up bouncing of opponent's legs. Your attackers barely move off the ball. And even if they move and make a nice run, AI defenders will outrun them anyway, as mentioned earlier, or they will be caught offside as most often there's a huge delay between you pressing a button and AI making a pass (again, it has to do with animations)

    If that's not enough, imagine referees ending matches during your attacking move in opponent's penalty box. This however should be easily fixable in a patch. As to all other complaints, it seems like a broken engine so it would need a total revamp, which is impossible at this stage.

    If I bought the game on Origin, I would definitely apply for a refund. Waste of money. And since PES14, although significantly better than PES13, also suffers from unpolished engine and bugs, there's no football game to enjoy this year
    Full Review »