User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    SCRIPTED everything I do is scripted. Even though they have added cool new features to normal gameplay and ultimate team i still think this is scripted.
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    2
    This is definitely the worst FIFA in history. It brings over all problems of FIFA13 and adds more. I'm talking about single player modes, as I'm not interested in multiplayer game at all. My score reflects only a single player experience

    I'm not expecting a game to be easy, I like challenge, especially in a football game, but the game has to be enjoyable. And F14 is far from that. It's
    This is definitely the worst FIFA in history. It brings over all problems of FIFA13 and adds more. I'm talking about single player modes, as I'm not interested in multiplayer game at all. My score reflects only a single player experience

    I'm not expecting a game to be easy, I like challenge, especially in a football game, but the game has to be enjoyable. And F14 is far from that. It's one of the most frustrating experiences in a game world ever. If I pick one of the biggest teams on the continent, with players valued millions of euros in real world, I'd like to feel that I'm indeed controlling a really strong team. That I have immediate advantages over a poor opponent. But there's no such feeling in this game. FIFA 'world' seems to be using some kind of level scaling, like Skyrim, because no matter how good team you pick, how close to level 99 your players are and how skiled you are in controlling a pad, you will struggle with likes of Stoke or Almeria or whatever. Your Piques, Ramoses and Luizs will be outrun by poor team's attackers, your Messis, Ronaldos and Robbens will be outrun by poor team's defenders. 60 level team will make pinpoint precision long passes and exchange ball better than Barca in their best years. And watch yourself in the last 15 minutes of the game if you're winning by 1 or 2 goals you will experience pressing like you've never seen on live TV, unless you watch ice hockey match and one team plays with a player advantage.

    Reaction your opponent AI presents is unhumanly they can react to your action a fraction of a second after you press the button. At the same time, your defenders AI is utterly stupid. There's barely any move on the pitch except the player you control. AI doesn't move your player towards the ball in the air, doesn't assist you in defence. You would imagine you could position a player manually, but auto switching doesn't work correctly and manual switching when ball is in the air is practically impossible. Your players also won't move towards a loose ball after eg a tackle (it sometimes looks like all players 'wait' until the tackle/collision animation is finished). Passing on assisted and semi modes don't work and at least 1/3 simple short passes (not to mention long through balls) end up bouncing of opponent's legs. Your attackers barely move off the ball. And even if they move and make a nice run, AI defenders will outrun them anyway, as mentioned earlier, or they will be caught offside as most often there's a huge delay between you pressing a button and AI making a pass (again, it has to do with animations)

    If that's not enough, imagine referees ending matches during your attacking move in opponent's penalty box. This however should be easily fixable in a patch. As to all other complaints, it seems like a broken engine so it would need a total revamp, which is impossible at this stage.

    If I bought the game on Origin, I would definitely apply for a refund. Waste of money. And since PES14, although significantly better than PES13, also suffers from unpolished engine and bugs, there's no football game to enjoy this year
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    3
    I don't know what people mean by saying this game is scripted but it sounds believable, FIFA 14 is a lot different than FIFA 13 in all the wrong ways super slow extremely hard to get passes in & for some reason extremely easier to get unrealistic crosses in ronaldo's boot's aren't even accurate this game pisses me off but i'll probably just buy it anyways cause no one will be playing 13
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win, when you lose, everything is scripted. And it's just the same thing of FIFA 13, just slower, I don't know why It's sad because I was a FIFA fan since FIFA 98, and this is the end of the line for this series for me. Another title that's a copy of
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win, when you lose, everything is scripted.

    And it's just the same thing of FIFA 13, just slower, I don't know why

    It's sad because I was a FIFA fan since FIFA 98, and this is the end of the line for this series for me. Another title that's a copy of the previous one and full of script.

    What I most like in videogaming was the fact that we can decide our destiny, we decide what happens in the screen. EA, since FIFA 12, destroyed this: you don't play a football videogame, you just follow the script the game definied for each match

    Run away from this crap
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    1
    Shocking game, been playing Fifa since the 95 edition and this is by far the worst of the series...My players are fouled throughout the game with no calls from the ref, I'll have a 5 star player receive the ball and look like someone smacked him over the head with a plank of wood, I'll have a 96 pace player be chased down by a 60 pace defender then have a 80 pace striker blitz past my 70Shocking game, been playing Fifa since the 95 edition and this is by far the worst of the series...My players are fouled throughout the game with no calls from the ref, I'll have a 5 star player receive the ball and look like someone smacked him over the head with a plank of wood, I'll have a 96 pace player be chased down by a 60 pace defender then have a 80 pace striker blitz past my 70 pace defender. The only way to win in UT is to constantly foul the other team and play balls over the top with the midfield passing being terrible, every second goal I concede is because of the ridiculous auto player switching which leaves me completely stranded....The game has destroyed my faith in EA and this will be the last time I purchase a Fifa, massive opportunity for PES to win my vote. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Game is scripted to help weaker players, one game you'll be popping in 5 the next you can't hit a barn door. Completely un-enjoyable experience, both losses and wins you don't deserve leave you unsatisfied, next to zero skill involved.
  7. Nov 29, 2013
    1
    Oh man! I created a Metacritic account just to review this horrid game! I have bought every Fifa title since 2006 and my Fifa playing days go back to around 1996! I'm pretty good at this game and used to play on Legendary in pretty much every title until Fifa 13. I used to have a system for playing defense that was unbeatable until they made tactical defending in last year's version. FineOh man! I created a Metacritic account just to review this horrid game! I have bought every Fifa title since 2006 and my Fifa playing days go back to around 1996! I'm pretty good at this game and used to play on Legendary in pretty much every title until Fifa 13. I used to have a system for playing defense that was unbeatable until they made tactical defending in last year's version. Fine with me. I'm all for more realistic tackling and ball physics....whatever. I still pretty much crushed in Fifa 13. The pace was awesome and the dribbling was spot on. If you can dribble, which I was good at, last year's version is fantastic. I can almost say that Fifa 13 for me was amazing on almost every level.....except......the career mode! I love the career mode and it's the main reason that I buy the game. Create a player with your own likeness and RPG the out of it. Absolutely love that fantasy. EA Canada just doesn't give a FLYING F*** that this mode is important to a lot of gamers! They just don't care. Last year's career mode was filled with sooo many glitches that it absolutely ruined it for me. Not to mention it fails miserably in comparison to the depth and quality of other career modes or my player modes in other sports titles. For example the NBA2K series' career mode is incredibly deep. It is pretty much what I would like to play for my favorite sport! Fifa 14 career mode is THE EXACT SAME thing as Fifa 13, just that they( for the most part) fixed the glitches that marred the previous installment. I actually don't mind Fifa 14's career mode. It's ok, but wtf is it offering that's cutting edge or even interesting to delve into? NOTHING I'm not interested in Ultimate team and playing online, because you have to PLAY ALL THE TIME to get ranked and it's not feasible for someone that is not a professional gamer. So that's just career mode. Disappointing and not worthwhile half-assed effort from EA Canada. They can give two ****s, I know. Now that's not the most upsetting thing about it, though. The most disappointing thing about FIFA14 is THE F***ING GAMEPLAY! They absolutely killed it. Killed the pace of the game, the dribbling, the passing.....they ruined pretty much everything!!!! When you take control of a player in Fifa14, it's like moving a bus or a tractor trailer. Every dribble move takes longer to pull off and the whole left trigger-to-shield-off-opponent bull**** is exactly that. BULL****! LOL you almost have to play lobbed through balls every time.....don't even try to thread the needle with a hard through ball......it will NEVER HAPPEN. Guess what happens when you time that lobbed through ball to perfection and are pretty much clear on goal with only the goalkeeper to beat......the slowest and I mean slowest of defenders will catch up to your striker and almost overtake him EVERY TIME. LOL I played the other day with my friend who plays on a high level just like me....I chipped a through ball to Lewandowski, sprinting on goal with ten yards between him and the last defender. It took I feel like less than a second for the defenders to make up the ground and almost steamroll on top of him like two locomotives lol. HE JUST GOT BOSSED OFF THE BALL IN A FLASH and I barely got a half shot off. I bring Walcott in as a sub in a different game.....his pace makes NO DIFFERENCE in this game. YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DRIBBLE PAST ANY DEFENDER.....that makes the game almost unplayable....OH OH and how bout the crossing......no matter if you are there first, or press the button to clear and are holding left trigger to try to hold off your opponent, they will beat you to the ball almost 85% of the time. The auto switching on air balls was bad last year, well this year forget trying to defend against a cross or a corner.....lol it's a crapshoot who will win the header.....Fifa 13 took skill to play, but this utter monstrosity that is called FIFA14 takes that skill and shoves it up your ass lol. Last year I could take a player like Ramsey who is rated 77 and score a Messi goal with him. This year, you'll be lucky to score with Messi bec. he will handle like a supercharged bus, but a bus is still a f***ing bus! EA, I think I am done with this franchise. It truly feels like you are now milking your cash cow and don't care about truly innovating and raising this game to the next level! Shame shame shame. I wasn't sure whether there was anything to the "scripted" gameplay ramblings, but there is some sense in it, bec. the airballs are consistently undefendable and the dribbling and the pace of the game is absolutely horrendous.......how on earth can Walcott not be able to make a move and sprint past a tired defender. Even the knock on move that EA created last year they went and ruined lol. This game in my opinion is the absolute worst of the franchise. It might seem polished since they own all the licenses, but they ruined the amazing fluidity of the game! FIFA 14 ABSOLUTE GARBAGE! Money back please Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2013
    0
    FIFA 14 definitely breaks my record for most smashed controllers lol. I'm a die hard FIFA fan and this FIFA 14 is just garbage. This is not f****** REAL futbal! EA Sports is just terrible at making futbal games. I'm so sick of my teammates running in front of me when I'm trying to score, blocking my shots! I'm so sick of my defenders running away from loose balls! I'm so sick ofFIFA 14 definitely breaks my record for most smashed controllers lol. I'm a die hard FIFA fan and this FIFA 14 is just garbage. This is not f****** REAL futbal! EA Sports is just terrible at making futbal games. I'm so sick of my teammates running in front of me when I'm trying to score, blocking my shots! I'm so sick of my defenders running away from loose balls! I'm so sick of goalkeepers blocking almost every shot that "should" be a goal in real life! I'm so sick of not having any control of my player chasing after a ball that will end up going out of bounds, while using a lot of stamina. I'm so sick of 1 star team strikers being able to pass 5 star team defenders! EA Sports, get your f****** s*** together! Watch some damn real World class futbal and understand the dynamics of futbal. Expand
  9. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    Worst FIFA release of the past 5 years.
    EA have amped up the scripting in this game to such levels that you have virtually no control over your players. Want to volley a first time shot? Forget it, the game will decide you need an extra touch...oops now you lost the ball. The game plays at breakneck speed, so there's no way to think and create anything interesting. You can only get rid of
    Worst FIFA release of the past 5 years.
    EA have amped up the scripting in this game to such levels that you have virtually no control over your players. Want to volley a first time shot? Forget it, the game will decide you need an extra touch...oops now you lost the ball. The game plays at breakneck speed, so there's no way to think and create anything interesting. You can only get rid of the ball as soon as you get it. Add the freezes and you have an absolute dogs dinner of a game. Avoid at all costs.
    Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    The demo looked quite good. On release it was OK, but had a few problems, such as overpowered crossing, through balls, corners, finesse shots. People abused these bugs. They said they would release a patch to correct these problems. The patch did not do this. IT DESTROYED THE GAME!! It basically became like a cheap version of FIFA 13 with zero gameplay. No fun. All scripted and set up forThe demo looked quite good. On release it was OK, but had a few problems, such as overpowered crossing, through balls, corners, finesse shots. People abused these bugs. They said they would release a patch to correct these problems. The patch did not do this. IT DESTROYED THE GAME!! It basically became like a cheap version of FIFA 13 with zero gameplay. No fun. All scripted and set up for pace abuse. It is an absolute disgrace they killed the game with these patches. Since then we have had no response from EA. It is shocking they do care about their customers. I will never buy an EA sports product again UNLESS THEY SORT THIS MESS OUT! Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    worst game ever u ever woke up in the morning and u cant sit down but u dont know why thats how i feel,, fifa14 is scripted i put vid on youtube a screen shot fifa14 scripting momentum ,,match intensity, fed up of havn 10 shot 8 on target ,second half starts opponents 1st shot of half 3rd all game what a surprise he scored, i scoed 2 goals opponet scored 2 golas 90th minute 4 goals in inworst game ever u ever woke up in the morning and u cant sit down but u dont know why thats how i feel,, fifa14 is scripted i put vid on youtube a screen shot fifa14 scripting momentum ,,match intensity, fed up of havn 10 shot 8 on target ,second half starts opponents 1st shot of half 3rd all game what a surprise he scored, i scoed 2 goals opponet scored 2 golas 90th minute 4 goals in in 90th minute,,if you do the math 1 minute in real lfe is 7.5 fifa minutes so if 4 goals go in 90th minute, 15 to 30 seconds to score each goal anywhere between 1 and 2 minutes whch in fifa time is 7.5 to 15 minutes extra time,,even fergie time didnt last 7.5 minutes never mind 15,,, game of football 90 minutesa fifa game 12 mnutes, 90 divided by 12 =7.5 Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2013
    1
    Paid for reviews is the only thing I can imagine has happened here, there is no way in hell that these game reviewers could honestly award it as high as they did.

    Let's imagine scripting and momentum isn't anything for this review. The Defending AI is worse than every, constantly cutting back for a fraction of a second when a through ball in the air is played. Fumbling into each
    Paid for reviews is the only thing I can imagine has happened here, there is no way in hell that these game reviewers could honestly award it as high as they did.

    Let's imagine scripting and momentum isn't anything for this review.

    The Defending AI is worse than every, constantly cutting back for a fraction of a second when a through ball in the air is played. Fumbling into each other, over each other and into your keeper. The AI controlled defenders will ignore your defender choice at times and still mark the same player you are even when you don't call for assistance.

    The attacking AI is either rarely making a move or moving so far off side is just disgusting, The game even after numerous patches is still dominated by long lobbed through balls and crosses which just remove any sort of challenge. Player a tall striker like Benteke upfront on ultimate teams and just watch the goals pour in.

    First touch is now non existent, players like messi at times have the first touch akin to the fat guy who plays five a side and only got invited because you were seriously desperate for players. One moment you can turn on the ball immediately after receiving and the next if you dare turn within 2 seconds of receiving the ball they WILL lose possession. The sprint button has now become a combination of knock on and sprint making the game a much slower pace unless you're bursting down the wings... but don't really expect much to happen as the game seems to make the defending team 10% quicker as soon as their opponent gains possession. This sort of gameplay makes Emile Heskey look good.

    Passing and switching is the worst I've seen in any fifa, the passing is so... well it ignores what you tell it. Want to pass left? How about as soon as I receive the ball I do a quick 180, quicker than you could actually do by choice due to the awful first touch but when I do turn, I'll kick it in the complete opposite direction and then to make it more fun, I will force you to watch your uncontrollable player to chase it down. I mean... don't even consider bringing your keeper out of the box, you might have 2 miles of space but 9/10 the keeper will kick the immediately leaving your goal open straight after. Player switching is Auto by default and the options are Full Auto, Air Balls only AKA Full Auto and Manual which actually surprise surprise... appears to be a combination of Manual, Air Balls Only and Full Auto, I can let go of my controller and see my player switch rather rapidly.

    Silly 'bugs' like being unable to receive a throw-in make this game absolutely infuriating, how could EA possibly this up. My player will remain stuck to the ground but as soon as I make the throw-in he will charge towards the ball and either watch it sail over his head, or duck out the way! Sometimes you feel like you get stuck in a perpetual game of piggy in the middle when tackling. It doesn't matter how you approach it the ball will always rebound into the opponent and this can go on for 10+ tackles perfectly landing at their feet each time. Players constantly bump into each other (AI (your team) into your player). This is especially noticeable on kick off, sometimes the AI will literally barge me off the ball within 0.1s of the ball being kicked.

    Actual AI gameplay is probably worse than Fifa 12/13, it was never that good to be honest as there were always ways of winning reliably, Fifa 13 was a case of curling the shot from the edge of the box and putting it in that way.

    When people think I've given this game a 1/10 review because I'm butthurt, think for a moment. I'm not giving it because I'm butthurt, I'm actually not. I bought the game full price, played a few games online, two full seasons (Manager) and a handful of nights with friends versus. I realised my mistake almost immediately after the game presented me with a dribbling skill challenge, at that point I realised what they had done.

    Though the reason why I have given it such a low score and is the absolute fundamental problem, EA have once again somehow managed to copy and paste a game, slightly alter the GUI and along with carrying issues from previous titles have systematically completely ****ed up features that are imperative to a football game, the worst offender being throw-ins immediately putting you at a disadvantage.

    Fifa reminds me of the war between Intel and AMD, the only competitor is pretty much always considered as the lesser of the two. Being the dominant game they can do what they want and we'll still accept the crap that gets churned out.

    Games like this and Battlefield 4 prove to me, that game review sites are indeed paid for by publishers. Even my girlfriend (who doesn't play any games at all) spotted immediate flaws in Fifa gameplay within mere moments of playing. How a reviewer couldn't spot them? Well, all that delicious 'free' goodies from EA must of got in their way.
    Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2013
    1
    This is probably the worst game i have ever played. Yes, not only the worst FIFA i have ever played (and i played FIFA since 2005) but also the worst game overall.

    - The game is scripted and decides when opposition will score a goal. Especially in 45th and 90th minute. - You can have 20 shots on target and goalkeeper will save everything. Opposition's team will have one shot on target
    This is probably the worst game i have ever played. Yes, not only the worst FIFA i have ever played (and i played FIFA since 2005) but also the worst game overall.

    - The game is scripted and decides when opposition will score a goal. Especially in 45th and 90th minute.
    - You can have 20 shots on target and goalkeeper will save everything. Opposition's team will have one shot on target and will win. I know it happens in real life but in FIFA its happening too often (i am talking about World Class and Legendary here).
    - Even the team with worst passers in the team can play like Barca. Sometimes they definitely keep the ball too long on their own half if they winning (even in first half).
    - Strength is overpowered in this game. Not only overpowered but players who are lean and not muscular at all can push your defenders like wind.
    - It feels like every goal is the same. Over the time i played. maybe 40% of goals were scored after rebound when keeper saved it in front of him.
    + many,many bugs that were in FIFA 13 are back. I guess this game is fine when you play on low difficulty. On legendary, even if im winning, it dont feel satisfied because of all the bugs im getting pissed about during the match.

    All i want from FIFA is to be like World Cup 2010 with updated squads. That was a perfect football game.
    Expand
  14. Oct 24, 2013
    2
    Somewhere here, there is a great game struggling to show itself under a fog of over-dominant AI, lack of control and lack of responsiveness.

    EA have the right idea introducing realistic inertia/momentum, but the execution is terrible in this game. 1) The effects of inertia are too inconsistent. When a player gets the ball, he feels heavier and slower to turn than without it. Even
    Somewhere here, there is a great game struggling to show itself under a fog of over-dominant AI, lack of control and lack of responsiveness.

    EA have the right idea introducing realistic inertia/momentum, but the execution is terrible in this game.

    1) The effects of inertia are too inconsistent.

    When a player gets the ball, he feels heavier and slower to turn than without it. Even nimble, quick-footed players like Robben and Messi struggle to make 2 quick turns in succession. And remember. These guys are world class players not village players.

    However, defenders charging in at full speed are capable of producing perfect tackles, regardless of their angle of approach and speed, seemingly immune to momentum or inertia. This makes charging a far more effective tactic than it should be, because the risk attached is so low.

    Defenders seem to only be affected by inertia if you move them from a standing start, or if you don't point the player accurately enough at the ball carrier and overrun it. Inertia can't be a random variable surely?

    2) Pass weight is so slow. Every pass seems under hit and the ball is almost at a virtual stop by the time it reaches the recipient. The game doesn't let you take control of the receiving player until the pass reaches a certain distance from him, so you're left standing waiting.

    This is just as frustrating for the defending team, because you can see the pass and are within reach of intercepting it, but the game doesn't let you, so you have to watch it roll by.

    So, combine points 1 and 2 and you get;

    3) the ball carrier constantly has 2 or 3 players on top of him. He is within their 'tackling radius' (or 'influence radius') and you lose responsiveness.

    When trying to pass under pressure, far too often the ball goes magnet-like to the charging player to intercept, who despite running at full pelt and having the ball just knocked off him is capable of controlling and running off with the ball.

    Give the same player a 5 yard pass to feet however and he'll take 4 touches, or even better still, just stand there as the ball bounces off him.

    4) This is magnified yet again, because when you turn your back on the player and use the 'protect the ball' function, it barely works. More often than not, the more aggressive player will grapple the ball carrier off the ball or just run clean into him and knock him off the ball. The shoddy refereeing programming means that you rarely (if ever) receive a foul.

    5) The AI is automated to aggressively pressure in groups. A new addition, probably because EA developers saw the success of Bayern & Dortmund and thought their game should replicate this style. FOR ALL TEAMS. AT ALL TIMES.

    So you protect the ball from the first challenge, only for 3 or 4 other players to hound you down in milliseconds.

    6) Acceleration of quick players since patch is non-existent and pretty much every defender can catch up having been skinned, even outperforming their stats when the contain button is held. Mertesacker catching up to Neymar having been beaten, to perform an inch perfect slide tackle, for example.

    It means the incentive to be careful about your defensive decisions is minimal, because the AI will recover for you.

    Worse still, if you press shoot to get a shot away before the defender has caught up, the game delays you until they have. The shot is blocked, it looks realistic, but the player who pressed shoot 2 seconds ago is wondering why it took Neymar 2 seconds to shoot!

    Another manufactured/scripted scenario.

    The key to being good at this game comes NOT down to making thoughtful football decisions, but being able to aim well and press the right button at the OPTIMUM time. If you get your button presses right in this game, it disables the other player's button press and plays out an animation almost like a micro-cutscene.

    Anyone good at the game how doesn't agree (I'm in Div 1 having lost only 2 games so far) is in denial.

    The game is 75% CPU-controlled, if not more. It feels like your decisions are successful when (and only when) the game has decided to allow it. It throws in an AI howler, or opens you a clear path to goal, or sends a rebound to your feet, or directs all of your opponent's tackles bouncing straight back to your feet.

    There are long spells of reduced control and nerfing that happen in periods of matches where you are "under pressure" whether you like it or not. You know the one, right? Passes won't go where you aim, inertia physics suddenly feel like players are trudging through mud and have the strength and reaction times of a poorly tortoise. Scripted micro-events that EA refuse to acknowledge, but are as obvious as the nose on my face.

    This is a football game designed to be played with build up play, but with glaring oversights rendering it over-complicated to achieve the simple things, yet very easy to pull off things that would be considered the most difficult skills to achieve in real life.

    Such a disappointment.
    Expand
  15. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    ive noticed the MAtch script on fifa 13 even on online games when they want u to lose u will lose but now the algorithme is exposed too dump that ull feel it from the 1st match...
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Worst Fifa ever!! I never felt so angry playing a football game in my life..Fifa is going backwards with this new game..:(.
    I bought Fifa 14 two weeks ago and can't play it more than four games without turning it off, never had this problem before... Bad defending, bad player stats, stupid bugs in the game that really get to you when playing..like come on EA with the throw ins, whats
    Worst Fifa ever!! I never felt so angry playing a football game in my life..Fifa is going backwards with this new game..:(.
    I bought Fifa 14 two weeks ago and can't play it more than four games without turning it off, never had this problem before... Bad defending, bad player stats, stupid bugs in the game that really get to you when playing..like come on EA with the throw ins, whats with the players chasing the ball all the way up the pitch, then to bring it all the way back down to where he should be taking it, then changing it onto another player to take the throw in..whats the point??. A few hours ago I was playing it and someone crossed the ball into my box, I had two defenders standing right beside each other and the ball was perfect for them to head away, not one of them (DANTE & BOATENG Champions League winning team like..) made any attempt to head it away..My Nanny would of heading this away and imagine what Fifa stats she'd have.. I never post comments about games but I had to with this Fifa, really head wrecking..do another update EA and give us buyers a football game. 0/10
    Expand
  17. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Instead of moving forwards and improving upon FIFA 13, EA have managed to create one of the worst FIFA's ever made. Despite claiming that the new slower form of play is more realistic, it is most certainly not. It takes far too long to pass/shoot/turn/tackle and it feels as though you are playing with a constant lag. Instead of making the game more realistic it simply causes the midfieldInstead of moving forwards and improving upon FIFA 13, EA have managed to create one of the worst FIFA's ever made. Despite claiming that the new slower form of play is more realistic, it is most certainly not. It takes far too long to pass/shoot/turn/tackle and it feels as though you are playing with a constant lag. Instead of making the game more realistic it simply causes the midfield the clog up sue to the slow play and makes it appear as though you are watching an U9's game down at the local park where all the players run towards to ball and group together in 10 yard radius. Utter rubbish, and glad that I've only had to play on my mates and didn't actually buy the game myself! Expand
  18. Nov 13, 2013
    1
    Inconsistent. Frustrating. If you like possession and build up, you will be disappointed. Slowed down gameplay is a great theory. Works offline, but online is a completely different beast. Gamespeed varies wildly. Rewards mindless tactics. The shooting feels more realistic. Feels like your fighting the player switching and passing more often than not. Feels like another EA game that gotInconsistent. Frustrating. If you like possession and build up, you will be disappointed. Slowed down gameplay is a great theory. Works offline, but online is a completely different beast. Gamespeed varies wildly. Rewards mindless tactics. The shooting feels more realistic. Feels like your fighting the player switching and passing more often than not. Feels like another EA game that got pushed to meet the deadline. Some matches are completely unplayable. Players stand around. Ball physics closer to a rubber beachball than a soccer ball. Save your Expand
  19. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    This is quite honestly the biggest tragedy I've ever seen on a TV screen other then grown ups 2. I don't know how you could bring yourself to even convince yourself it's a good game. The passing is god awful, it does the exact opposite of what you want. The dribbling and the first touch of this game takes the cake. Oh my even Messi makes the most disgusting mistakes ever. The playerThis is quite honestly the biggest tragedy I've ever seen on a TV screen other then grown ups 2. I don't know how you could bring yourself to even convince yourself it's a good game. The passing is god awful, it does the exact opposite of what you want. The dribbling and the first touch of this game takes the cake. Oh my even Messi makes the most disgusting mistakes ever. The player response to controls is terrible (I tried multiple controllers too). You'll find yourself hitting buttons and see your players not responding and you just wonder why. All the FIFA's previous to this were fun ad at least worthy of a 7 but this is the worst soccer game I have ever played. Oh yeah, I already sold it. Expand
  20. Nov 14, 2013
    3
    For me the game feels largely unfinished and seems as though EA have put all their time and effort into the Next Gen version. Time will tell I suppose. Personally I didn't enjoy it and I have been playing FIFA since the very first version in 93'
  21. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    Why is there no offline mode??? No one gives a f**k about ultimate team its boring as f**k. DO NOT BUY THIS CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!! You spend more time f***ing around in menus than playing!!! GUTTED JUST GUTTED!!! EA F**ked us again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  22. Dec 9, 2013
    0
    AWFUL, going backwards, even worse & more scripted then FIFA 13. Every year a false hopes that it will be better and only gets worse.. SCRIPTED to worthlessness, it just doesn't let you play against your opponent... ALL PEOPLE WANT, IS TO BE ABLE TO PLAY AGAINST OPPONENTS & LET THE BEST PLAYER WIN, NOT EA DECIDING WHO WINS.. So obvious that the bias engine clearly throws the game in onlyAWFUL, going backwards, even worse & more scripted then FIFA 13. Every year a false hopes that it will be better and only gets worse.. SCRIPTED to worthlessness, it just doesn't let you play against your opponent... ALL PEOPLE WANT, IS TO BE ABLE TO PLAY AGAINST OPPONENTS & LET THE BEST PLAYER WIN, NOT EA DECIDING WHO WINS.. So obvious that the bias engine clearly throws the game in only 1 direction. This is not momentum it's cheating, worse of all is that there is nothing you can do about it... Its like EA thought people wouldn't notice when they dismantled ones ability to control the players.. They also made it where trapping the ball is impossible sometimes, not matter if you push button to trap, strait ignores it (this is for offense, defenders have no trouble trapping anything, including shots) just shameless shameless, this is real people the play and at some point loved this game, for some reason EA has not figured out that people are not going to eat EA $hit. Expand
  23. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    the game sucks seriously reality increased but the game horrible how am I supposed to dribble the game requires extreme specifications and the price isn't worth paying for
  24. Oct 6, 2013
    1
    They could not have created a worse game. The first touch system is awful, as is the on ball control of players, and the sprinting in the game is atrocious. I find myself wondering very often what the hell just happened. If you are planning on buying this game don't. I'm serious it is my biggest regret in the history of buying games and I have bought some stinkers. Just buy the FIFA 13They could not have created a worse game. The first touch system is awful, as is the on ball control of players, and the sprinting in the game is atrocious. I find myself wondering very often what the hell just happened. If you are planning on buying this game don't. I'm serious it is my biggest regret in the history of buying games and I have bought some stinkers. Just buy the FIFA 13 version and update the rosters yourself because that game was the It is a way way way better option than spending 60 dollars on this crap. I feel so strongly about this that I went out of my way to create this account to let you know how horrible this game is. DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF POOP GAME. Expand
  25. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    Never been so disappointed with a FIFA game. Game forces you to play one way and punishes you if you try to play differently. Player ratings are absurd. Marketing and game reviews cover the fiasco this game really is. Don´t waste your money this year on FIFA 14. If you do, you will find yourself feeling frustrated instead of having fun. I always loved FIFA and this is my honest opinion onNever been so disappointed with a FIFA game. Game forces you to play one way and punishes you if you try to play differently. Player ratings are absurd. Marketing and game reviews cover the fiasco this game really is. Don´t waste your money this year on FIFA 14. If you do, you will find yourself feeling frustrated instead of having fun. I always loved FIFA and this is my honest opinion on this game. If you don´t believe me check the FIFA forums and see what everyone else who owns the game is saying about it. Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    Following the recent line of flops from the franchise, Fifa 14 continues to define the word "recycle". There is no reason to spend 60$ on something that releases every year with no improvements other than the main menu.
  27. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    I only opened an account to write a review on this game! Previously a die hard fifa fan! Loved almost all the series, eventhough they had their flaws they were fun to play! This time the flaws are ever so present and the funness has gone. This game has tried to be so realistic that it succeeds in being as realistic as amateur 14 year olds playing in the park. It takes forever to get theI only opened an account to write a review on this game! Previously a die hard fifa fan! Loved almost all the series, eventhough they had their flaws they were fun to play! This time the flaws are ever so present and the funness has gone. This game has tried to be so realistic that it succeeds in being as realistic as amateur 14 year olds playing in the park. It takes forever to get the ball out of a players feet either to pass or shoot! Skills are now not even worth attempting, turning... forget it! Defenders always find their way to the ball first regardless of who the attacker is a defender will be able to outmuscle any attacker.

    To add to this EA horrible customer service on the phone, they are as helpful as a bag of rotten potatoes!

    All in all my game is on Ebay as i type hoping to cut my loses and I might revisit FIFA in a few years after they lose out on lots of gamers and then they will have to change this horrible formula!

    WORST GAME I HAVE PLAYED... in a looong time, also its very funny how the reviewers have it as 84 and the actual gamers at 4.5... goes to show how reliable reviewers actually are, and the conspiracy of them being payed of to review in favour of certain games seems to be a reality....
    Expand
  28. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    A game that you could not describe as "Fifa 13.5" It's vastly different and some of it for the better.

    Dribbling Dribbling and ball control can be a little frustrating with people Involuntarily going into the "Precision dribbling" mode when you haven't pressed the button to do so and players just flat out forgetting to trap the ball and letting it roll by them. Besides that
    A game that you could not describe as "Fifa 13.5" It's vastly different and some of it for the better.

    Dribbling

    Dribbling and ball control can be a little frustrating with people Involuntarily going into the "Precision dribbling" mode when you haven't pressed the button to do so and players just flat out forgetting to trap the ball and letting it roll by them. Besides that dribbling is more realistic, unlike it's predecessor you can't run at full pelt and retain such a high level of control and it's a welcomed feature although I feel that even when you're not sprinting even a player with good control will make a uncharacteristic bad touch and that can be frustrating especially when you're in a good attacking area.

    Shooting

    In it's entirety is a lot better and feels a lot realistic and you can easily distinguish a good shooter from a bad one but there is moments where you look and say to yourself "How did that go in?" with shots where a players body position is facing a corner flag yet can strike a ball sweetly enough to make it swerve inside the far corner, heading post and pre patch is probably the most consistent method of goalscoring, Mandzukic, Klose among other strikers proving rather infamous and they can single handedly put you ahead of your opponents (See what I did there? heh)

    AI and other miscellaneous Gameplay thoughts

    On the whole it's probably better than 13 but there is moments where you simply facepalm and leaves you looking for some thing to impale with your controller, switching can be a frustrating ordeal with heading being a rather popular method of acquiring goals and players not bothering to contest a shot can leave you feeling hard done by.

    Goalkeepers are considered by stereotype to be "Crazy" and it seems Fifa are sticking to that with some flat out insane moments where by coming out to punch the ball away seemingly miss the ball and end up breaking the strikers lower jaw or so you think as he gets up with out much as a scratch. There also appears to be a delay between a shot aiming for goal and the keeper actually diving to save it and It can lead to some really tame shots trickling into the bottom corner which can frustrate even the calmest of gamers.

    Overall

    Whilst I think the game is a improvement, the main problem I feel is that you never feel like you have lost genuinely to a player who has bested you this time around due to some irrational action the AI has done instead of what you wanted to do. I think as gamers we want a fair game where as we can play a game and win based on our skills and abilities rather than on something that is beyond our control although I know we cannot control every player on the pitch at the same time but surely it's not a taxing request to have the AI competent enough to not do irrational actions right?

    Should anyone at EA read this I want to say this. You are letting your ego and monopoly corrode a famous franchise. We don't expect a perfect game where everything is peachy but we at least expect a game where we as players can win on ability and not on things out of control effect the game as much as it does. We don't like what EA has become and not before long EA could very well be playing catch up to PES and I sincerely hope it does because then we might see EA look to do things right.
    Expand
  29. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    The whole game is pretty much broken and the graphics are the same and awful of course. As I said everything is broken and no I'm not just saying that.
  30. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    This is the end of the road for me. FIFA will not be getting bought again until I hear any sign of simple problems being fixed.

    I bought the game a couple of weeks ago (when the price had been reduced, a good 8 months after release) as I had refused to buy this FIFA at full price after my disappointment at FIFA 13. It was a terrible mistake and it won't be getting made again. I don't
    This is the end of the road for me. FIFA will not be getting bought again until I hear any sign of simple problems being fixed.

    I bought the game a couple of weeks ago (when the price had been reduced, a good 8 months after release) as I had refused to buy this FIFA at full price after my disappointment at FIFA 13. It was a terrible mistake and it won't be getting made again.

    I don't understand how a game 8 months after release can still feel like a half-finished product. The gameplay is essentially the same as the last few FIFAs except now the players (even the finest of the lot: Messi, Ronaldo etc.) feel like they are running through quicksand and their first touches are usually appalling.

    The game play wasn't the main issue though. I was expecting the same-old mediocre game play. I was also expecting the career mode to be terrible. My expectations were fully warranted. Career mode is as bad as it has ever been. The Global Transfer Network is an absolute shambles and far too slow and laborious to even bother. Every game is the same against the computer as well, the style of play doesn't change depending on who you're playing against. All the CPU do is defend until the last moments of the game when you are suddenly trapped in your own box. It just confuses me how a certain aspect of a game can be so much worse than it was 7 years ago...

    Despite the lethargic players and the boring gameplay in career mode, the last few FIFAs have at least provided me with some fun in the online modes. Ultimate Team is still a fantastic concept and, although the money-grabbing techniques of tempting idiots to buy player packs still infuriates me, I still enjoy the game mode and find it much more exciting and faster paced playing against another human being. However this FIFA is the worst yet in that the servers just seem so awful. I have times where I have been winning 4-0 in the last ten minutes of a match online and the message comes up on the screen "Your opponent has left the match". In every other FIFA this meant I got a win... HOWEVER, in this FIFA I have been awarded with a loss the majority of times this has happened. Just terrible... So even the smidgen of fun I had on previous FIFAs has been removed from this game by a simple error.

    Another error that has made me furious is the Creation Centre. I spent a lengthy period of time creating a few teams and a tournament to put them in... only for a few of the teams to vanish. This was annoying enough as I had wasted my time creating these teams to no avail. Anyway, I decided I'd use what I had and tried to play Career Mode swapping my created teams into the Premier League. Every thing was fine... until BAM the game freezes every time I try to play a match with these created teams in Career Mode. So my purchase of the add-ons to have extra slots for creation centre and use created teams in career mode was completely useless. The worst execution of an add-on I have ever seen.

    Unlike most of the reviews on here, my review is scathing not because I have been beaten once in a match, or felt like the game was scripted, or even because the gameplay is just the same as previous FIFAs with minor, albeit still awful, changes. No, I was expecting these things. The reason I have written this review is because I have had enough and I wish others who feel the same way would join me in abandoning this clearly sinking ship. I can understand that games upon release will have errors, will have criticisms, but EA simply do nothing about this.

    Clearly the general public can see EA are no good! The very fact they have been voted worst company two years in a row shows this! So why do we, as consumers, still eat up the manure they are feeding us and waste our money that could be better spent elsewhere? The supercilious attitude of Moore towards EA's customers and the very disregarding nature of EA and their "customer support" is too much to bear anymore for me.

    I will not lie. I am not going to buy PES. All I can say is that, as a huge football fan, it is very disappointing that I must miss out on enjoying myself on a football game because there is no competitive market to provide a decent alternative. My FIFA days are over and anybody out there with any sense will join me. Boycott the FIFA series until something is drastically changed. Otherwise, they win.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    In this year's installment FIFA doesn’t take any larger leaps forward. It is still a polished football game for the dedicated fan base. And for the player who doesn’t want to play alone Ultimate Team is probably better than ever. But it is still too bad that EA hasn’t worked more on improving the core mechanics of the game.
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 pushes the franchise forward in baby steps without providing any major surprises or new “wow” features, yet is still streets ahead of the competition and a must for any footie fan.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    86
    While I have mixed feelings about EA’s perch on this lucrative pedestal, it’s hard to to argue that the EA Canada team hasn’t earned it, and doesn’t continue to earn it, by delivering a game that really does feel better, really does feel different, every year, even if you have to be an avid player of the game to really appreciate how.