FIFA Soccer 08 Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    BEST GAME EVR !0/10 The game is great. Graphics are above average. Game Modes are acceptable. The only problem with the game modes is that they should have added become a goalkeeper. Other than that, the game is one of the best soccer games I've ever played
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    The game is great. Graphics are above average. Game Modes are acceptable. The only problem with the game modes is that they should have added become a goalkeeper. Other than that, the game is one of the best soccer games I've ever played
  3. yuvalToren
    Jul 23, 2008
    1
    I find that the AI literally cheats. It will give itself possession after the ball clearly goes out off of one of its own players. It will call fouls on me indiscriminately while almost never calling a foul on itself, which is especially frustrating considering (a) that I have absolutely no way of controlling whether or not my tackle is a foul, and (b) the AI's tackles are oftenI find that the AI literally cheats. It will give itself possession after the ball clearly goes out off of one of its own players. It will call fouls on me indiscriminately while almost never calling a foul on itself, which is especially frustrating considering (a) that I have absolutely no way of controlling whether or not my tackle is a foul, and (b) the AI's tackles are often incredibly vicious with no ball contact and are (almost) never called. The Ai is also essentially impossible to tackle; your player just runs alongside the AI player until he decides to pass. I do not have XBOX Live, so I can't say anything about the online multiplayer, but the single player modes are extremely frustrating due to the terribly programmed AI. Expand
  4. DavidD
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Apocalypse B is one of the most stupid people that the world has ever had the misfortune to bear host to.FIFA 08 outstrips PES 2008 in gameplay,graphics,commentary and fun.And all the other categories.
    P.S(For you,Mr A B):You are an idiot.Go to another planet where you can do no harm and insults.
  5. ApocalypseB.
    Jan 9, 2008
    6
    Firstly I must say that Martin D needs a brain transplant if he seriously thinks this is better than PES2008! I know its about opinions, but sometimes you get stupid ones like his and GamesTm which need to be challenged. Ok this game isn't crap, it is rather good for a Fifa EA game. But when you have simply mechincs of gameplay absent, like players responding to where the ball is or Firstly I must say that Martin D needs a brain transplant if he seriously thinks this is better than PES2008! I know its about opinions, but sometimes you get stupid ones like his and GamesTm which need to be challenged. Ok this game isn't crap, it is rather good for a Fifa EA game. But when you have simply mechincs of gameplay absent, like players responding to where the ball is or tackling by actually making a tackle not players running into each other like lemmings, really isn't good enough. Overall you never feel in complete control of your team, and in tight situations you feel increasingly cheated and pissed off! But the difficulty and pace of the game is something PES2008 can look at and learn things from. And Konami can definitely learn how to conduct online matches from EA, as at least its seamless play in this game opposed to the ball skipping crap of PES2008 online. That is the only reason I brought this game, to play online. ARE YOU READING KONMAI, SORT IT OUT OR YOU COULD LOSE YOUR LOYAL FANS! This game is average at best, and when Konami sorts itself out I won't return to this as there isn't that much to authentic play to keep me. Expand
  6. BassamA.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I think it's the best football game released ever. It's more realistic than any other football games. Plus the graphics is amazing. Online features also excellent.
  7. MikeC.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Best soccer game iv played in a long time, Next-Gen for sure. Manager mode is a lot more challenging. i still have a problem with the free kick system. grr
  8. ChristopherH.
    Oct 25, 2007
    7
    This is a much improvment from Fifa 07. The commentary is great, graphics immense, Atmosphere and feel amazing but the game is still lacking that cutting edge. The players still never go towards the ball and that is just rubbish as it restricts the way you can pass the ball around. I have owned this and will now be switching to Pro Evo 08 as overall a better football game. Come on EA sort This is a much improvment from Fifa 07. The commentary is great, graphics immense, Atmosphere and feel amazing but the game is still lacking that cutting edge. The players still never go towards the ball and that is just rubbish as it restricts the way you can pass the ball around. I have owned this and will now be switching to Pro Evo 08 as overall a better football game. Come on EA sort the problems out that are needed. Expand
  9. DaveM.
    Oct 20, 2007
    8
    Good game. Online does have voice communication. Aaron B. is not correct.
  10. MartinD.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Very polished and smooth, much better than PES 2007. It's a different type of game though, very realistic and slow paced. I kind of feel scoring is a little bit too difficult though.
  11. DarrenM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    6
    Frustrating, to use a word on this years effort. Why does the other team only have to run next to you to steal the ball off you, almost effortless on their part, damn frustrating, even on amateur. 07 just seems a whole lot more polished, easy to pick up and have a kick around. 08 is going to frustrate a lot of AMATEUR gamers.
  12. ThePhantom
    Oct 7, 2007
    8
    This years Fifa is a big improvement on what EA have previously dished out. They have made great strides to make the game far more playable and realistic. The graphics are also neat with every stripe looking very sharp. One issue is with the overal presentation of the game. The commentary really needs improving. Overall a big improvement, however EA still have work to do.
  13. SimonG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    9
    Well what can i say apart from ea you have finally made the football game we've been waiting for.all the leaues and players are just awesome.. there is just two things i can say i dont like, (1) is the computer seems to score to many freekicks. (2) the players dont seem to move towards a pass somtimes. but them you can put aside as there not that bad and dont happen to often if your Well what can i say apart from ea you have finally made the football game we've been waiting for.all the leaues and players are just awesome.. there is just two things i can say i dont like, (1) is the computer seems to score to many freekicks. (2) the players dont seem to move towards a pass somtimes. but them you can put aside as there not that bad and dont happen to often if your careful. the good,well be a pro is just awesome wish it was more then one game, a whole season would be nice.manager mode is great a whole 15 seasons you can play through.. the gameplay is just spot on really and the commentators are the best ive heard in any football game, they are just up with the whole of the game and the way they go on about certain players (fabregas)etc and certain fixtures ie arsenal v man utd is just great.. the reason i dont give this a 10 is because of the 2 things i commented on earlier.. but hey ea i love this game, and any football fan trust me this will keep you going till fifa 09 easy... overall 9.5/10. Expand
  14. AaronB.
    Sep 28, 2007
    5
    Fifa has been a joke on xbox. No voice communication whatsever. Didn't think they'd do it again in 08. Its horrible that in this day and age EA thinks its ok to release a game with no voice communication. Its seems like a little thing but for God's sake, It's football- why on earth wouldn't you at least have voice in the lobbies (you can only type messages that EA Fifa has been a joke on xbox. No voice communication whatsever. Didn't think they'd do it again in 08. Its horrible that in this day and age EA thinks its ok to release a game with no voice communication. Its seems like a little thing but for God's sake, It's football- why on earth wouldn't you at least have voice in the lobbies (you can only type messages that EA censored because I said, wait for it....'balls' ,and what about trash talking during the game. REALLY SAD EA. It was bad enough not having the Scottish league last season. Quite like the new Pro mode though; its still going back to the shop I bought it from. Come on Microsoft- this is one of your main features- how can you let this happen (no voice). No more EA games for me (Medal of Honor single player was ok but really laggy online. NOT GOOD ENOUGH EA . Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The game is great. Graphics are above average. Game Modes are acceptable. The only problem with the game modes is that they should have added become a goalkeeper. Other than that, the game is one of the best soccer games I've ever played
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. FIFA 08 is the most playable version of the series yet in the next-gen era--including a cool Superstar-like mode--but ghosts of old gameplay still haunt this release. [Oct 2007, p.110]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    87
    While the on-field action feels sluggish and unresponsive at first, you soon learn to work with the pace of the game and play it like you would the sport, rather than just the videogame. [Nov 2007, p.107]
  3. The infrastructure is definitely in place for a corker of a kickabout but the important thing - that intangible soul - is still frustratingly missing.