User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 123
  2. Negative: 16 out of 123

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NathanH
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    Extremely buggy, especially in Manager Mode, which ruins the experience and completely outweighs the marginal improvements over 09. A shoddy product that disrespects its customers with the poor quality of workmanship.
  2. Aug 22, 2010
    5
    Do not buy this game. The entire QA staff should be chased from the industry. Go look up the glitch reports for this game, a long list of seemingly unmissable horrors makes the Manager Mode, the core of the single player game, unplayable. I have no doubt that if a game of this level of polish were made by a smaller studio, the studio would not exist today. Here's to hoping that FIFA 11Do not buy this game. The entire QA staff should be chased from the industry. Go look up the glitch reports for this game, a long list of seemingly unmissable horrors makes the Manager Mode, the core of the single player game, unplayable. I have no doubt that if a game of this level of polish were made by a smaller studio, the studio would not exist today. Here's to hoping that FIFA 11 addresses the 52 documented terminal glitches and numerous other lapses in quality that render the game, well, bad. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    1
    Minor improvements from FIFA 09, the Ultimate Team feature which you even had to pay for in this game which is outrageous, just EA Sports trying to make some more money from the fortune which they already make. One bad thing about this game is that in FIFA 09 the achievements kept you playing the game which was quite good as at least you got your money's worth. However in FIFA 10 theMinor improvements from FIFA 09, the Ultimate Team feature which you even had to pay for in this game which is outrageous, just EA Sports trying to make some more money from the fortune which they already make. One bad thing about this game is that in FIFA 09 the achievements kept you playing the game which was quite good as at least you got your money's worth. However in FIFA 10 the achievements are unappealing and whereas in FIFA 09 it was to win a match with 10 men, it is now to win a match with 10 men on legendary or higher, what about the players who are not so experienced at FIFA? Overall I think this game was worse than FIFA 09 in all areas (features, graphics, music) and that is unacceptable. Expand
  4. DanielG.
    Jan 26, 2010
    4
    Multiplayer is fun but manager mode is near unplayable after a couple of seasons due to obscene number of bugs. At the moment in premier league on manager mode playing against a Hull City in 6th and a Hull city in 18th both with the same record and number of points while the real Hull City is in the championship.
  5. MartinG
    Dec 29, 2009
    6
    most has been said already: manager mode is full of bugs, even after the update. Scoring goals is also very unrealistic, chipping and free kicks far to easy. They seem unnessary and unbelievable faults, considering the amounts of money EA Fifa is dealing with. Dissapointing, Fifa09 is the better deal.
  6. JakeP
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    This is easily the best soccer game ever made! First off, the gameplay is magnificent. There is now 360 degrees dribbling as opposed to the old eight direction dribbling systerm. The graphics are great but could be a little better. The celebrations are great and very realistic. Second of all, the arena mode is fantastic! It allows you to work on your skills and just have a little fun with This is easily the best soccer game ever made! First off, the gameplay is magnificent. There is now 360 degrees dribbling as opposed to the old eight direction dribbling systerm. The graphics are great but could be a little better. The celebrations are great and very realistic. Second of all, the arena mode is fantastic! It allows you to work on your skills and just have a little fun with 1v1, free kick practice, practice match, and set piece creator. The manager mode is not amazing but it is definitely worth a few seasons. Finally, the virtual pro is very fun although uploading the gameface is much too difficult. EA could have made it a lot simpler. Overall, this is the best soccer game out there right now and is definitely worth the money! Expand
  7. BrandonS
    Dec 24, 2009
    6
    Imagine the best painting in the world. Now imagine that, to spice things up, the creator decided that every few seconds the painting would release tear gas sending viewing the painting into the agony of inflamed eyeballs. Then as they lay there trying to enjoy the painting with their vision blurred from toxic gas. The painting then starts swinging around the room to make the viewing Imagine the best painting in the world. Now imagine that, to spice things up, the creator decided that every few seconds the painting would release tear gas sending viewing the painting into the agony of inflamed eyeballs. Then as they lay there trying to enjoy the painting with their vision blurred from toxic gas. The painting then starts swinging around the room to make the viewing experience dynamic and exciting. THATS Fifa 10. The best sports game available. However it's marred by horrible design decisions made to make the game "challenging". Everything thats great about it can and will altered to insure that theres another obstacle in your way so the CPU can keep the game "exciting". You will play 4 games overcoming the common problems but on that 5th game the controls will mysteriously turn to mush. It's like a brand new game. It's that last and greatest level of desperate AI cheating. It will destroy your ability to enjoy the game. They take the core mechanics of the game and make it all unresponsive on purpose. Just think about that. And while you're at it, avoid this game. Expand
  8. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Fifa 10 is a very good game but the problem is that you can't curl when you shoot also the players don't go down and it doesn't say substitute player Fifa 10 is a cool game but just needs little tweeks to make it special
  9. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Addicting and fun, especially on the multiplayer side. The singleplayer campaign could have used some polish. As of now the ai isn`t up to scratch while the entire campaign feels a bit uninspiring. The gameplay on the other hand is very solid, and if you are into soccer this is worth checking out. Expand
  10. ZeeM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    An Absolute must buy for any soccer fan. FIFA 10 Is taken to a whole new level and EA has done an absolute wonderful Job in putting the Worlds best sports game together like this. I bought FIFA 10 on opening day and ever since I still don't regret paying the Full price for it. What I really love Is that they've made Manager Mode even more challenging and fun than In FIFA 09. The An Absolute must buy for any soccer fan. FIFA 10 Is taken to a whole new level and EA has done an absolute wonderful Job in putting the Worlds best sports game together like this. I bought FIFA 10 on opening day and ever since I still don't regret paying the Full price for it. What I really love Is that they've made Manager Mode even more challenging and fun than In FIFA 09. The past years of Manager mode was just to easy and when things get easy, you get bored easily too. The AI In FIFA 10 Is Incredible, and every aspect of the game Is just perfect. The game play Is near from absolute perfection with the help of 360 Dribbling. I am amazed by how realistic this game is. E.A have worked a lot on the little parts of the game which makes every game more fun and enjoyable like bringing back Kit Numbers and Practicing In the Arena. The Virtual Pro feature is really an amazing addition to FIFA 10. It's hard customizing my player to look like me In the previous FIFA's but now I can save a ton of time with the help of Virtual Pro. FIFA 10 has Improved in every way and E.A sports have done an Incredible job with this masterpiece. I definitely recommend this game to any Soccer fan and even non-soccer fans to give this game a try and I guarantee you that you'll be pleased without a doubt. A game near perfection. Best sports game ever made, Hands Down, Period. Lets FIFA 10. Expand
  11. Daniel
    Nov 6, 2009
    9
    Simply one of the best soccer games I have played in years. I have not experienced any of the bugs that some people have mentioned. It is without doubt a definite improvement over an already good FIFA09. Improvement responsiveness, 360 degree dribbling, in depth manager mode, great animations and full licensing for all the big leagues and some smaller ones too. The shooting mechanics work Simply one of the best soccer games I have played in years. I have not experienced any of the bugs that some people have mentioned. It is without doubt a definite improvement over an already good FIFA09. Improvement responsiveness, 360 degree dribbling, in depth manager mode, great animations and full licensing for all the big leagues and some smaller ones too. The shooting mechanics work fine for me, the keeper AI is quite good, you can't do the same shot every time and expect to score, the keeper will read it. Do yourself a favor and buy it. Expand
  12. SimonJ.
    Oct 21, 2009
    5
    Disappointed with many aspects of this game. Leaving the unacceptable amount of bugs aside....the game has not improved from 09 gameplay wise and and in some aspects has got worse. The shooting system incorporated in FIFA is terrible. The ball always seems to go straight at the keeper. If you do manage to direct it to some corner the keeper will nearly always get a hand to it. One on ones Disappointed with many aspects of this game. Leaving the unacceptable amount of bugs aside....the game has not improved from 09 gameplay wise and and in some aspects has got worse. The shooting system incorporated in FIFA is terrible. The ball always seems to go straight at the keeper. If you do manage to direct it to some corner the keeper will nearly always get a hand to it. One on ones are almost impossible to score with the finesse shooting.......whereas last year it was far too easy. EA cannot seem to find a realistic medium. Don't worry if your in need of a goal though......it is very easy to simply chip the keeper when one on one. In real life a far more difficult skill than side footing to either side.......not in FIFA. Free kicks are also far too easy to score from. Something is wrong when it's far easier to curl one from 30 yards around a wall of players than side foot from 8 yards. So , shooting feels far too automated and predictable. You never really feel in control of your shot direction. Hit and hope really. The game does look great. Graphics are slick and commentary well done. I do however struggle to understand where all the amazing reviews come from for FIFA based on it's "gameplay". We all know it looks great. We all know that the licemse's are all there. It is not however , "the perfect simulation of football". There is alot to be desired in it's gameplay. So much inconsistency. Needless to say I will be trading my copy of FIFA for it's less shiney , rough round the edges , more fun forgotten uncle. Expand
  13. leet
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    this is the first time i have bought a fifa game in the past ive always gone for pes and im happy to say im glad i made the switch fifa 10 is the best footie game ive ever played and its so additive to play ..i have played it now for a week and i really cant find any fault with it ..the perfect football game in my eyes just buy it and enjoy it
  14. juanc
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    EXCELLENT GAME! that all i can say, its the most beautiful game of soccer, if u wanna play real "futbol" u have to play FIFA SOCCER 10 the others cant be in the leve of FIFA. Gameplay, Moves, everthing is great, the commentary, the graphics. Excellent Game
  15. Sean
    Jan 6, 2010
    9
    This is just a blast to play with friends though I get my ass whooped all the time. I did wish the passing was a little tighter as I found the game doing the opposite of what I told it to do, but maybe thats just my suckiness coming through.
  16. AndyK
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    I played this game on the Nintendo Wii and I thought oh no what have they done to Fifa, it was truly awful and I mean awful. Then I went to across to the rather expensive world of Xbox 360 and bought this with some reservations after the Wii outing but then when I turned it on and started playing, WOW. This is what Fifa is all about. The closest you'll get to playing in real life. I played this game on the Nintendo Wii and I thought oh no what have they done to Fifa, it was truly awful and I mean awful. Then I went to across to the rather expensive world of Xbox 360 and bought this with some reservations after the Wii outing but then when I turned it on and started playing, WOW. This is what Fifa is all about. The closest you'll get to playing in real life. Perfect in every area. Well done EA Sports. Collapse
  17. FB
    Nov 5, 2009
    8
    Probably the best playing football game yet, despite a few niggling faults with the AI and gameplay. However, it's launch was plagued by dozens of befuddling glitches, most of which have not been fixed and probably will not be until Fifa 11. The offline game modes (manager mode and Be-A-Pro) are especially uninspired and/or bug-ridden. To truly enjoy what this game has to offer in Probably the best playing football game yet, despite a few niggling faults with the AI and gameplay. However, it's launch was plagued by dozens of befuddling glitches, most of which have not been fixed and probably will not be until Fifa 11. The offline game modes (manager mode and Be-A-Pro) are especially uninspired and/or bug-ridden. To truly enjoy what this game has to offer in terms of amazing gameplay, it's important to use the manual or semi-manual controls, and the slow speed setting. The gameplay can also be greatly improved by editing the tactics of all the teams to more realistically depict the beautiful game, though this effort may be well beyond what the average casual football gamer is willing to put in. Once again and to sum it up, FIFA 10 is a fantastic-playing game, but unfortunately one that is marred by boring, run-of-the-mill offline game modes, and a ridiculous amount of bugs and glitches that should have been fixed well before release. Expand
  18. TomL
    Oct 25, 2009
    4
    It is not possible to play fifa 10 against a good, human opponent, and still give it a 9. It is ridicolous. EA said that it was too hard to score in last years game, and that this has become more balanced this year. Well, first of all, scoring in FIFA 09 was not hard at all, and this year it has just become ridicolously easy. The defenders act like a bunch of unorganized sheep. The bugs It is not possible to play fifa 10 against a good, human opponent, and still give it a 9. It is ridicolous. EA said that it was too hard to score in last years game, and that this has become more balanced this year. Well, first of all, scoring in FIFA 09 was not hard at all, and this year it has just become ridicolously easy. The defenders act like a bunch of unorganized sheep. The bugs and possible exploits in defence play are countless. And needless to say, it provides a lot of frustration for players that understand the game tacticly to see your defenders act like clowns in situations that normally would be second thought, creating completely unneccesary chances for your opponent. They don't follow runs, they turn far too slow and the offside "line" closely resembles a square. Aside from defensive play, the game is good, however the chip is FAR too easy to execute. If you think this game is good, then you're probably not that good either. Against the CPU, its fine, because the CPU does not execute the exploits that skilled user-controlled players will. Graphics are good, online play is laggy and exploits with custom tactics need to be fixed. To me, it seemes that this game is unfinished and untested. The CPU has not adopted to the new functions such as skilled and 360' degree dribbling. A good game overall, but some gamebrakers that completely ruined the experience for me. I cross my fingers for FFA 11. Expand
  19. Ronans
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    A perfect depiction of the beautiful game.I think the shooting is an art that can be mastered. amongst the rather large legion of my friends who adore this game I have noticed their are vast differences between people in both footballing style and quality. You really can play the way you want. For instance if you fail to score goals by approaching a match with the verve of Brazil, Arsenal A perfect depiction of the beautiful game.I think the shooting is an art that can be mastered. amongst the rather large legion of my friends who adore this game I have noticed their are vast differences between people in both footballing style and quality. You really can play the way you want. For instance if you fail to score goals by approaching a match with the verve of Brazil, Arsenal or Barcelona or you can shut up shot and hope to mug a superior opponent with a set-piece you've created earlier by choosing the exact runs your team ates make. Expand
  20. GiorgosA
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    It's a huge improvement over FIFA 09 and in many aspects, FIFA10 reflects real football. For me there are only two things remaining to obtain FIFA series a solid 10: More editing options and another touch of...football soul. Meaning? Some times it feels too scripted and samey. Still in current gen you cant go wrong with FIFA10 and wander how the next instalment will push the envelope It's a huge improvement over FIFA 09 and in many aspects, FIFA10 reflects real football. For me there are only two things remaining to obtain FIFA series a solid 10: More editing options and another touch of...football soul. Meaning? Some times it feels too scripted and samey. Still in current gen you cant go wrong with FIFA10 and wander how the next instalment will push the envelope even further. Expand
  21. MichaelB
    Oct 28, 2009
    2
    The game is nothing compared to fifa 09. It is not smooth. It is just a roster update. I do not have fun playing it, and I am enraged that people think this is a good game. I don't get it
  22. GeneM
    Dec 18, 2009
    2
    Defensive AI will play like a U11 team unless you are on World Class, and then the CPU offense is too good for all but the most serious FIFA player. Physics still has a way to go to match PES. CPU teammates will ignore the ball if not from a pass or cross (shot deflection will roll right by a CPU player and they will show no interest). Still no resolution to the auto-switch problem. Too Defensive AI will play like a U11 team unless you are on World Class, and then the CPU offense is too good for all but the most serious FIFA player. Physics still has a way to go to match PES. CPU teammates will ignore the ball if not from a pass or cross (shot deflection will roll right by a CPU player and they will show no interest). Still no resolution to the auto-switch problem. Too many bugs to count, especially in Manager Mode. Lounge Mode is still not hooked into the player sign-ons. At least they added a training mode (try to find it though!) and fixed the throw-ins and most goal keeper issues. It's amazing to me that game reviewers write glowing reviews of this game year after year seemingly without digging deeper than a single match and no knowledge of the Beautiful Game. Expand
  23. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    It may be super easy, but this is by far one of the best sports game ever invented. It made me feel like I was playing an actual game. However, manager mode is full of bugs.
  24. Mar 7, 2011
    5
    This game in a nutshell: the more you watch actual football, the less you'll enjoy this game. While it can be enjoyable, the AI is horrible (doesn't attempt runs, doesn't follow the ball and makes no effort to defend) and most of the time it feels like the other team bought off the ref so they can play like the Netherlands in last year's World Cup.
  25. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Good game play and really fun. It was my first soccer game on the XBox 360 after the move from PC (where I played every version since 1998).

    I liked the dribbling capabilities for the game along with control over the player but at the end of the day, our favourite mode (manager) disappointed us with the ton of bugs :(
  26. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    I'm reviewing my first sports game rather than the game itself so bare with me. FIFA 10 is very accessible and on the pitch, a decent game. With logical controls, fluent movement of players and ability to customise the level of assistance you want for each action, you can easily tweak the settings to how precise you want to be. Graphics suck like they've always done but that doesn't matterI'm reviewing my first sports game rather than the game itself so bare with me. FIFA 10 is very accessible and on the pitch, a decent game. With logical controls, fluent movement of players and ability to customise the level of assistance you want for each action, you can easily tweak the settings to how precise you want to be. Graphics suck like they've always done but that doesn't matter since it's a football game. Framerate is consistent so that's all that matters. On the pitch, FIFA 10 is a fine game. I don't have any interest in the sport and the gameplay is pretty much chasing a ball round a green field for (x) minutes. But even stil, I can respect FIFA 10's efforts. It's everything off the pitch that lets it down. Manager mode is useless unless you want achievements, and very boring as well. Be A Pro is just an RPG kind of thing but really unwarranted in a football game. Oh and EA shut down the servers now so you can't play online or get some of the really easy achievements requiring you to connect to EA servers. Another problem is that, due to the nature of using real life teams, there are balancing "issues" (even though they are intentional). Teams are split into tiers and I can imagine that in online play picking your favourite team is not possible, so you're limited to the best teams if you want to win. For me that wouldn't matter but for someone who supports a team I can imagine it to be annoying. If all these silly things like Be A Pro, Manager Mode and all that "This team is better than this and you will lose because your stats are worse" was removed- infact if all statistics of players and teams were ommitted, or they were made balanced so teams have certain advantages and disadvantages, it would be fine. But in its attempt to be an all-inclusive game they've put a lot of clutter in that needn't be there. Practice mode is useful, and obviously you can play online or with up to 3 other people on the same console, but everything else is just a waste of space in my opinion. Expand
  27. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    Fifa soccer games has always had the distinction of being technically solid, and true to the world of soccer or 'football' and Fifa 10 carries on that just as well as it's predecessors. I played most of my time in Manager Mode and I found it be extremely exciting and playing through multiple seasons to be rewarding. I played as Chelsea and had great pleasure crushing Manchester United overFifa soccer games has always had the distinction of being technically solid, and true to the world of soccer or 'football' and Fifa 10 carries on that just as well as it's predecessors. I played most of my time in Manager Mode and I found it be extremely exciting and playing through multiple seasons to be rewarding. I played as Chelsea and had great pleasure crushing Manchester United over and over again! However, those who play soccer in real life might notice the unbelievable goals that you can have in this game, but I looked past that because I really like the animations of the players and the sounds when you're in the middle of the game and score goals it just really powerful. The crowd animations aren't that good, but luckily you don't have to look at them all that much. This is a really good soccer game, in fact it is one of the best. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Having convincingly overtaken its main rival last year, FIFA 10 nevertheless consolidates its lead with great authority. Last year, I said FIFA feels like football, rewards football, and punishes football for football reasons. The difference between FIFA 09 and FIFA 10 is that the latter knows exactly where the former fell short of that, and makes up the distance in almost every case.
  2. 93
    One of the most refined, polished and compelling takes on the beautiful game – and arguably of any given sport. While this year’s improvements might seem slight on paper, each one is perfectly pitched and works together to create an experience that’s an improvement on last year’s game in every conceivable way.
  3. FIFA 10 is all the best a football fan could imagine, you simply have to have it. The score is the right prize for a nearly perfect game that deserves the right prize for the work done in the last years that brought the average arcade game of the past, to the nearest thing to real football actually available. You'll stop playing FIFA 10 only when FIFA 11 will be on shelves. Great job EA, great job Moore, great job Rutter. You have to play it!