Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On the pitch, critical gameplay fundamentals have been enhanced to ensure that FIFA Soccer 10 mirrors real-world soccer, providing more sophisticated ball control, and physical interaction between players. In addition, players now move, behave and position themselves more realistically. On attack, players analyze space more effectively, curve their runs in an attempt to stay onside, create passing lanes naturally, and drive for more variety in attacking options. On defense, new concepts like position priority enable defenders to multitask so dangerous spaces left open by teammates out of position are covered. Plus, slide tackle targeting, press marking, and better-urgency clearance logic provide new options that make defending a tactical skill in FIFA Soccer 10. In goal, a myriad of improvements and refinements to goalkeeper intelligence result in a more responsive and powerful rushing system and ultra-realistic saves. Better balance on lofted through balls, improved goalkeeper intelligence, more realistic shooting mechanics with less shots hitting the goal posts, a practice arena to perfect skills, and a more immersive soccer experience through continuous play and quick free kicks are just a few of the issues raised by fans and addressed in FIFA Soccer 10. Three new innovations revealed today at E3 have been developed to change the player control experience in FIFA Soccer 10. The first-ever true 360 degree dribbling system gives players finer control of the ball, enabling them to find spaces between defenders that previously were not possible. Using an all-new animation technology, skilled dribblers now have the ability to face the defender and use highly responsive lateral dribbling to skip past him. An innovative concept called Freedom in Physical Play enables players to perform wider dribble touches and new collision sharing creates a varied, less predictable, and extended fight for possession between the dribbler and a defender.
    FIFA Soccer 10 also features a deeper iteration of the ever-popular Manager Mode with more than 50 major improvements, including new match realism, realistic player transfers based on multiple decision points, and true-to-life player growth curves. [Electronic Arts]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. FIFA 10 is all the best a football fan could imagine, you simply have to have it. The score is the right prize for a nearly perfect game that deserves the right prize for the work done in the last years that brought the average arcade game of the past, to the nearest thing to real football actually available. You'll stop playing FIFA 10 only when FIFA 11 will be on shelves. Great job EA, great job Moore, great job Rutter. You have to play it!
  2. The series still has some room to improve, and that alone should be a scary piece of info for all the haters and the competition overall. Perfection might be impossible, but FIFA 10 is as close as it gets.
  3. 93
    One of the most refined, polished and compelling takes on the beautiful game – and arguably of any given sport. While this year’s improvements might seem slight on paper, each one is perfectly pitched and works together to create an experience that’s an improvement on last year’s game in every conceivable way.
  4. Not only is FIFA 10 the best EA has ever produced, it’s also one of the best football games we’ve played, period. It’s not without its niggles, but setting these aside, FIFA 10 does just about everything else exactly right.
  5. A host of new refinements makes this the best FIFA yet and probably the best football game ever.
  6. FIFA 10 is untouchable for its gameplay, presentation, audio and feature set and although there is still room for improvement, there is no doubt in my mind that EA Sports have again created a spectacular addition to the long running series.
  7. An overall improvement on the pitch but a game ruined by faults off of it.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Fifa 10 is a very good game but the problem is that you can't curl when you shoot also the players don't go down and it doesn't say substitute player Fifa 10 is a cool game but just needs little tweeks to make it special Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    It may be super easy, but this is by far one of the best sports game ever invented. It made me feel like I was playing an actual game. However, manager mode is full of bugs. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    Fifa soccer games has always had the distinction of being technically solid, and true to the world of soccer or 'football' and Fifa 10 carries on that just as well as it's predecessors. I played most of my time in Manager Mode and I found it be extremely exciting and playing through multiple seasons to be rewarding. I played as Chelsea and had great pleasure crushing Manchester United over and over again! However, those who play soccer in real life might notice the unbelievable goals that you can have in this game, but I looked past that because I really like the animations of the players and the sounds when you're in the middle of the game and score goals it just really powerful. The crowd animations aren't that good, but luckily you don't have to look at them all that much. This is a really good soccer game, in fact it is one of the best. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    6
    The football is really enjoyable and a great step up from the previous version and emphasises the shift in power at the top of the football game simulators, from Pro Evo to FIFA in recent years. The simulator is good, simple football, multiplayer is enjoyable and the new dribbling and skill system is quite realistic. However, the manager mode, which I would have enjoyed most of all, is terrible. The players, clubs and money are nowhere near life-like. I found teams in League 2 winning the UEFA Cup, having somehow ended up in Europe! The transfer fees are nothing like real life, the worlds best players can be bought for 4-5million. Player development is also ridiculous and the mode itself is very buggy, after a couple of seasons with various teams I consistently found that my data was completely deleted and it is for this reason that I can't mark this game higher than an average score. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2010
    5
    Do not buy this game. The entire QA staff should be chased from the industry. Go look up the glitch reports for this game, a long list of seemingly unmissable horrors makes the Manager Mode, the core of the single player game, unplayable. I have no doubt that if a game of this level of polish were made by a smaller studio, the studio would not exist today. Here's to hoping that FIFA 11 addresses the 52 documented terminal glitches and numerous other lapses in quality that render the game, well, bad. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    I'm reviewing my first sports game rather than the game itself so bare with me. FIFA 10 is very accessible and on the pitch, a decent game. With logical controls, fluent movement of players and ability to customise the level of assistance you want for each action, you can easily tweak the settings to how precise you want to be. Graphics suck like they've always done but that doesn't matter since it's a football game. Framerate is consistent so that's all that matters. On the pitch, FIFA 10 is a fine game. I don't have any interest in the sport and the gameplay is pretty much chasing a ball round a green field for (x) minutes. But even stil, I can respect FIFA 10's efforts. It's everything off the pitch that lets it down. Manager mode is useless unless you want achievements, and very boring as well. Be A Pro is just an RPG kind of thing but really unwarranted in a football game. Oh and EA shut down the servers now so you can't play online or get some of the really easy achievements requiring you to connect to EA servers. Another problem is that, due to the nature of using real life teams, there are balancing "issues" (even though they are intentional). Teams are split into tiers and I can imagine that in online play picking your favourite team is not possible, so you're limited to the best teams if you want to win. For me that wouldn't matter but for someone who supports a team I can imagine it to be annoying. If all these silly things like Be A Pro, Manager Mode and all that "This team is better than this and you will lose because your stats are worse" was removed- infact if all statistics of players and teams were ommitted, or they were made balanced so teams have certain advantages and disadvantages, it would be fine. But in its attempt to be an all-inclusive game they've put a lot of clutter in that needn't be there. Practice mode is useful, and obviously you can play online or with up to 3 other people on the same console, but everything else is just a waste of space in my opinion. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    1
    Minor improvements from FIFA 09, the Ultimate Team feature which you even had to pay for in this game which is outrageous, just EA Sports trying to make some more money from the fortune which they already make. One bad thing about this game is that in FIFA 09 the achievements kept you playing the game which was quite good as at least you got your money's worth. However in FIFA 10 the achievements are unappealing and whereas in FIFA 09 it was to win a match with 10 men, it is now to win a match with 10 men on legendary or higher, what about the players who are not so experienced at FIFA? Overall I think this game was worse than FIFA 09 in all areas (features, graphics, music) and that is unacceptable. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.