User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 310

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    It's a reasonably good game, the Defensive AI has been definitely improved, and Tactical Defending and Precision Dribbling were very nice new features, as they improved the game's realism, since the defensive system and dribbling system in previous FIFA's was reminiscent of guided missiles ready to take the ball away from you, and there was little you could do about it unless you passedIt's a reasonably good game, the Defensive AI has been definitely improved, and Tactical Defending and Precision Dribbling were very nice new features, as they improved the game's realism, since the defensive system and dribbling system in previous FIFA's was reminiscent of guided missiles ready to take the ball away from you, and there was little you could do about it unless you passed the ball around. However it feels like they didn't apply those features very smoothly, and some problems exist. And there are a lot of problems with the impact engine.
    On the graphics department everything's good, it's not a reference in terms of graphics, but it's still pretty good.
    Online: the servers could be a bit better, and offline the Career Mode is still poor, probably because of the attention EA Sports gave to Ultimate Team, which hasn't improved at all, somehow.

    PS: Momentum still seems to be present within the game in the last minutes of each part, even though EAS denies it.
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2011
    7
    I have to admit that this is a beautiful game. It is a huge step compared to Fifa 11. Graphics are much much better. It all makes the game that much more realistic. But every game has its cons and Fifa 12 has several. The dribbling has been greatly improved, but they slightly overdid it. It has become far too realistic me is making it hard to keep control of the ball. The expression on theI have to admit that this is a beautiful game. It is a huge step compared to Fifa 11. Graphics are much much better. It all makes the game that much more realistic. But every game has its cons and Fifa 12 has several. The dribbling has been greatly improved, but they slightly overdid it. It has become far too realistic me is making it hard to keep control of the ball. The expression on the players' face is always as plain as ever. The umpire's speeches need to be more realistic. You an tell that it is fake simply because the words keep getting repeated. At first the words the umpire said were very exciting but after a while the excitement died off. There are some cons but hey, no game's perfect, right? There are far more pros than cons and I noticed that the ball's movements and bouncing are much more natural. There are added tricks in Fifa 12 as well such as the heel flick. Overall I think Fifa 12 is a fantastic game and don't forget that Fifa 13 is yet to come! Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    The new fifa earns the prize of the number 1 overrated game.Defense is broken and so is the offense.There are some very limited ways to score and opposed to the cpu AI,your teamates are completely useless and they make runs or cover in the defense whenever they feel like it .It is very slow and in terms of gameplay maybe it is worse than 11.The only reason for this game to exist is becauseThe new fifa earns the prize of the number 1 overrated game.Defense is broken and so is the offense.There are some very limited ways to score and opposed to the cpu AI,your teamates are completely useless and they make runs or cover in the defense whenever they feel like it .It is very slow and in terms of gameplay maybe it is worse than 11.The only reason for this game to exist is because it is a slightly better football game than pes but to me,it is the cyclops against the blind once again.Who knows?Maybe next year. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    Massive backwards step! I can see what they have tried to do with this game making it slower and more tactical but they failed. first off there is no point playing against the AI because it is unbeatable it knows what your going to do before you do. the online play system is great matching you with a equal leveled player and team, however online play gets boring as soon as you'veMassive backwards step! I can see what they have tried to do with this game making it slower and more tactical but they failed. first off there is no point playing against the AI because it is unbeatable it knows what your going to do before you do. the online play system is great matching you with a equal leveled player and team, however online play gets boring as soon as you've mastered the defending system. All you have to do is hold A put the pressure on and wait for the crap passing to do the defending for you! speaking of passing this is the problem with fifa 12 it feels like the players are passing the ball through treacle and nearly imposable to pass to the correct player. this leads to slow play and never getting the ball where you wanted it, very frustrating! If you want a plodding frustrating football game then this is it! Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    I was shocked to see a user score of 6.4! FIFA 12 is definitely the most difficult FIFA yet, but I don't want the same game every year. Career mode is fun again and the pro clubs AI players are actually useful. Don't be put off by the bad scores and steep learning curve.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    The best FIFA yet, there's no doubt about that. A lot of controversy around the new Tactical Defending system for sure. (Love it or hate it - it's here to stay!). I find the updates from last years edition refreshing, but there are certain areas I feel EA should have spent more time polishing the game. Take celebrations as an example. They still look as unnatural as ever. But gameplay isThe best FIFA yet, there's no doubt about that. A lot of controversy around the new Tactical Defending system for sure. (Love it or hate it - it's here to stay!). I find the updates from last years edition refreshing, but there are certain areas I feel EA should have spent more time polishing the game. Take celebrations as an example. They still look as unnatural as ever. But gameplay is very solid, and with the addition of Precicion Dribbling it's even more intuitive. The Impact Engine is nice, even though it does have some minor bugs. The peer-to-peer online service seems a lot more stable than last year. I find the game more challenging on every difficulty from Pro and up than I did in earlier FIFAs. A good game and a "must have" for football fans, but still not "perfect", hence a score of "just" 7. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    As a long time player of FIFA 11, which I enjoyed immensly, I was very impressed at the start with FIFA 12's silky smooth handling on the ball and the crisp animations. As I only play offline, I realise that this year may not have been the best for me, as they have changed next-to nothing in the offline modes, but netherthess the game impressed me. However, one of the major concerns for meAs a long time player of FIFA 11, which I enjoyed immensly, I was very impressed at the start with FIFA 12's silky smooth handling on the ball and the crisp animations. As I only play offline, I realise that this year may not have been the best for me, as they have changed next-to nothing in the offline modes, but netherthess the game impressed me. However, one of the major concerns for me is the precision dribbling. The feel when you weave your way through a horde of defenders to score (which is not unheard of) is certainly satisfying, yet when it is done to you by the CPU is feels really frustrating. That makes me sound like a bad loser, but in FIFA 11 there was occaisonal frustration when I poked the ball too hard and possession was stripped, but there was a button to take it slowly (LT) which balanced out dribbling. Similarly, it made it easier for me to take the ball off the CPU, even when I was playing World Class (which was a perfect level of difficulty - yet the thing I liked is that it wasn't the hardest, so if I still wanted a real challange, I could upgrade the diffuvculty anbd still had a lot of fun.) Yet although when the difficulty was upgraded in 11, it didn't feel unfair, becuase it wasn't just one player cuttiong through your defenders like butter; it was the cohesiveness of the opposition - the main element was that I had the feeling THEY WERE HUMAN; they weren't invincible, and thats what made it fun for me. Yet in FIFA 12, the CPU manages (even when you put 5 guys in defence and keep jockeying and containing), it is extremely hard even in professional get just get a touch. I dread to think what the world class and legendary game modes will be like, but I'm defionetly not looking forward to them for a challange - it won't even be fun, running after the opposition with bad defenders. The player impact engine. This is a 'major' enahncement, but in a regular game you encounter its effects about 3/4 times a game. Sure it looks good, and I guess they had to do something, and it is improvement from 11 because sometimes in 11 you would tackel the guy, then your player would stand at the ball for a good second doing nothing - and I have no idea why. At least that was fixed. While the tactical defenending was certtainly ' groundbreaking', I think it was a little too groundbreaking. Its like having Whitlam after 20 years of liberals; it just feels like too much at once. I Think they should have made some minor adjustments to defending this year, and brought it in 13. Finally, this is a very minor gripe but I wish EA would fix it - it is really trivial. As an offline player, I enjoy creating my own world cup/ eurpoa champions league type tournaments from scratch, which means I have to select all the teams myself. Yet this procedure takes about 15 minutes. If I want to create a 'World Cup' style tournament, I have to select a team, press Y, then select another team and press A to enter that team. In my tournament. REpeated 32 times. I just wish they would make it, you select all 32 teams at once and then press A to put them all in at once. If you don't belive me - make a custom tournament will all your teams, of 32 or even just 16 and see how long it takes you. It is extremely frustraing, and it shouldn't be. So after all that I give it a 7. Crisp animations, smooth gameplay (though that sometimes works against you) and pretty good gameplay (not excellent, like fifa 11) make up the score for me. Decent Expand
  8. Oct 21, 2011
    7
    FIFA 12 is a huge step forwards towards simulation thanks to the new Impact Engine and Tactical Defending. Whilst many will struggle at first or even refuse to use the new defending it adds a whole new depth to defending and more importantly it opens up space on the field whilst eliminating the plague of over aggressive pressuring. FIFA 12's Career Mode is also a great step in the rightFIFA 12 is a huge step forwards towards simulation thanks to the new Impact Engine and Tactical Defending. Whilst many will struggle at first or even refuse to use the new defending it adds a whole new depth to defending and more importantly it opens up space on the field whilst eliminating the plague of over aggressive pressuring. FIFA 12's Career Mode is also a great step in the right direction compared to the previous few years attempts with a lot more depth. A revamp of the H2H system has also increased the fun and skill involved in online 1vs1 matches, especially since the H2H GK abuse has been patched over.
    FIFA 12 is an all around upgrade from FIFA 11 but will frustrate those who do not welcome change and whilst many of these upgrades are great as a whole there are still some AI issues, bugs and glitches that need to be ironed out, hence an 7 instead of an 8.
    FIFA 12 is a step in the right direction with a lot of potential for FIFA 13 and plenty of enjoyment, and on occasion frustration, to be had.
    Expand
  9. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Fifa 11 but worse... ruined any good defensive player as well as slow game play. Computer AI is awesome while human AI is retarded. 7 as opposed to last years 10. Downgrade for me.
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    It is football simulator is very sstrange game/ Nice graphics, great physics engine - best in this game. Mixed gameplay, boring some mods - the worst in FIFA 12. Waiting for PES 2012.
  11. Oct 13, 2011
    6
    FIFA 12 is arguably the biggest swerve in the franchise's history, completely scrapping the old 'easy to play, difficult to master' defensive system for one that, or at least so the developers claim, is much more rewarding and realistic. While this is a major change, and one that can be optionally disabled in single-player mode, it's no-doubt a separating point between fans. What FIFA 12FIFA 12 is arguably the biggest swerve in the franchise's history, completely scrapping the old 'easy to play, difficult to master' defensive system for one that, or at least so the developers claim, is much more rewarding and realistic. While this is a major change, and one that can be optionally disabled in single-player mode, it's no-doubt a separating point between fans. What FIFA 12 has in terms of fluidity and realism that raises it above other football/soccer games is only available because of the sacrifices made to the old 'pick up and play' attitude that previous installments had -- and this is not a crowd-pleasing move. You'll spend days, maybe even weeks, trying to master a system that didn't need changes so drastic -- and even worse, the ever-so-popular multiplayer mode forces you to switch to this new system, so think again if you thought you could just revert back to the old controls just to play your mates on release day. Anyone looking for a fun and simplistic football/soccer game just to play occasionally with friends will be much better off buying FIFA 11. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    FIFA 11 was the buggiest game i have ever played so i expected improvements for FIFA12 & they delivered, it is the 2nd buggiest game i have played. How a big company like EA can continue to take advantage of its fans by releasing unfinished games i dont know but what confuses me more is that none of the reviews mention how broken the game is - EA must be spending a lot of money on theseFIFA 11 was the buggiest game i have ever played so i expected improvements for FIFA12 & they delivered, it is the 2nd buggiest game i have played. How a big company like EA can continue to take advantage of its fans by releasing unfinished games i dont know but what confuses me more is that none of the reviews mention how broken the game is - EA must be spending a lot of money on these reviews... compare them to the user score.

    As far as the content of FIFA 12 goes, Manager mode is still pretty poor & playing the AI is no fun at all. The new seasons mode in online is a good idea but has reintroduced so many of the problems from previous years like playing the same teams every game, i really get the feeling whoever makes these decisions doesnt play much online. Clubs, my favourite mode last year (after it was patched, it didnt work for the 1st month!) is the same as FIFA 11 but has some new bugs, thanks! Lastly new defending has made the game less fun as you are afraid to tackle when defending & feel like you dont need to pass on attack as its so easy to dribble past people... can only play so many 5-4 games before it gets boring. Poor effort from EA, i''m going back to PES just to stop giving them money to cheat me.
    Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    Fifa 12 Is a Dissapointment just like fifa 10 and 11 Fifa 9 Was A classic But This Game is Good in some ways with its cool graphics and cool new modes but for Players who arent Particularly good or quite rusty and These sort Of Games Will Not Find it addictive at all This game has its good times though the single player is great aswell as the multiplayer but the controls suck all i can sayFifa 12 Is a Dissapointment just like fifa 10 and 11 Fifa 9 Was A classic But This Game is Good in some ways with its cool graphics and cool new modes but for Players who arent Particularly good or quite rusty and These sort Of Games Will Not Find it addictive at all This game has its good times though the single player is great aswell as the multiplayer but the controls suck all i can say is Football is for Wii 6/10 C- 60% Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    Este juego la mera verdad tiene muchisimos fallos con esa nueva IA se me hacen muy estupidos sus movimientos y ademas el portero de cualquier manera le puedes anotar gol muchas veces porque hasta chocan los jugadores es gol son mamadas la mera verdad
  15. Sep 22, 2012
    7
    Fifa 12 is a fun game but a 90 metascore is shocking. I play this game regularly and have fun while doing so but it is so similar to the previous games. they only added a few new features and that's it. Also the game has many small but frustrating bugs and mentally challenged referees. This installment of the fifa series deserves around a 70-75 and overall not enough new content to beFifa 12 is a fun game but a 90 metascore is shocking. I play this game regularly and have fun while doing so but it is so similar to the previous games. they only added a few new features and that's it. Also the game has many small but frustrating bugs and mentally challenged referees. This installment of the fifa series deserves around a 70-75 and overall not enough new content to be called a new game its more of an upgraded fifa 11 in my opinion. Expand
  16. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    This is a dull experience... too easy on world class and the com just cheats on legendary overall you have to ask yourself do you enjoy this because its fun? No theres no fun left as all you do is chase the ball and and give it away at the drop of a hat then chase the ball some more..
  17. May 8, 2012
    5
    This game is absolute **** I regret spending my money on it every time I get the chance to play it because of all the RETARDED things that happen during gameplay. First of all, lets mention the only good things about this game: Career mode and head to head. Career is fun building teams and head to head is great long as you dont get paired up with some band wagoner that only uses Madrid,This game is absolute **** I regret spending my money on it every time I get the chance to play it because of all the RETARDED things that happen during gameplay. First of all, lets mention the only good things about this game: Career mode and head to head. Career is fun building teams and head to head is great long as you dont get paired up with some band wagoner that only uses Madrid, Barcelona, Chelsea, Man City, etc. Now on the BAD, and there a lot of BAD. Despite my overall enjoyment over career mode, am I the only one that noticed the most ABSURD transfers that occur during career? Its as if not a single player has loyalty, and does who do have loyalty arent any specific number of players, its at random (im refering those who deny contract offers). Example: Sergio Aguero joined Man City this season, and in more than one of the career modes I play he ALWAYS goes to Madrid or to AC Milan by the 2nd half of the 1st season. I mean, if you know about football, THIS **** MAKES NO SENSE AT ALL. Another example, Juan Mata, recently bought by Chelsea, in more than one career mode he gets unsettled after just one season and gets sold always to Inter or Milan. Lets apply the logic of the game here, If you constantly play a player in your starting squad he gets happier, right? Now how THE **** does a starting LW for EVERY single Chelsea game unless he gets injured becomes unsettled and ends up leaving his RECENTLY JOINED (KEY WORD, RECENTLY JOINED) team after ONE year? That makes NO **** SENSE. These are just examples of **** that happens, and there are much more but I bet the users know what I mean (Robinho selling himself to **** teams like Wolverhampton or Catania, Man City and Inter always selling their starts after only one season, etc etc) Now onto the GAMEPLAY. Let me just start off by saying that the AI is retarded, as in, there are moments in game where you make a pass to a totally open forward/midfielder that isnt offside yet mid pass he decides to go back and the pass lands beyond him. Also, whats the point of having a goalkeeper? Unless youre really good with him when you control him by hitting the back button, theres no point in having a keeper because ANY PLAYER that gets passed your defenders scores the most absurd/****tiest goals. Example : 90 minutes into extra time, enemy team gets a free kick. My keeper is an overall 90 (professional game using lyon against PSG) and Nene takes up to take the free kick. HE SLAMS A PERFECT **** KICK THAT CURVES SO FAST INTO THE NET MY KEEPER CANT REACT. Now, when it comes to tactical defending, if you just make ONE mistake or let a certain, ANY person beyond your defensive line is going to score no matter what. Moving on, lets talk about offense. oh this pisses me the **** off. Has anyone noticed that if you play on professional or higher, you spend more time chasing defenders and defending than actually attacking ? It's as if every defender channeled the 1990 World Cup Winning Germany's defense combined with todays Borussia Dortmunds defense for every single game above professional. EVERY CROSS IS BLOCKED, EVERY PASS IS INTERCEPTED, EVERY THROUGH BALL IS AN OFFSIDE, EVERY SHOT ON GOAL, NO MATTER WHAT RATING THE KEEPER HAS, IS BLOCKED, EVERY TACKLE STOPS YOU AND NOT ONLY DOES IT STOP YOU, THE BALL DIRECTLY GOES TO AN ENEMY PLAYER AFTER THE TACKLE. Also, the AI of teams you play against make PERFECT passes from RIDICULOUS angles, score ABSURD free kicks using a shot power that if you had used it it would not have turned out like the AIS kick and EVERY single shot on goal within the box is never with power and looks like a **** tap in. Also, am I the only one that noticed that EVERY SINGLE **** TEAM IN THE GAME PLAYS THE SAME **** WAY WHEN ITS PROFESSIONAL OR HIGHER? This is basically the strategy. Defenders and back midfield pass the ball between themselves, they pass it to a forward on the wing and he runs up the whole pitch hugging the sideline, once he gets closed to goal he either shoots from a retarded angle or makes a cross that ALWAYS guarantees a goal because the one making a header never misses. The only times enemy forwards pass you without this strategy is when you make a mistake or the enemy team makes ridiculous through passes and spends a lot of time trying to evade you when youre defending (by a lot of time I mean a CAM running all the way back near his teams penalty box only to kick the ball away.) Speaking of kicking the ball away, I feel defenders block my shots more than the keepers. If its not blocking the shot with 3 people covering it with their bodies, they kick it away ALWAYS and keep this process up until they have possession all they way up to the midfield. TL;DR This game had potential to be the best Fifa game ever made, and just ****ed it up with its **** AI and the absurd tactics enemy teams use in higher difficulties (they only ones that actually make the game challenging, cause amateur and semi-pro: too easy.) Expand
  18. May 16, 2012
    6
    Seeing what is coming up in FIFA13, I feel that certain new features could of been added / implicated with patches / DLC for FIFA12. I believe there were only 2-3 major updated for this game and sadly they did fix some issues but major issues were skipped. The game is still great and is fun to play, but for more of the hardcore players it's sad when a game doesn't have some of the mostSeeing what is coming up in FIFA13, I feel that certain new features could of been added / implicated with patches / DLC for FIFA12. I believe there were only 2-3 major updated for this game and sadly they did fix some issues but major issues were skipped. The game is still great and is fun to play, but for more of the hardcore players it's sad when a game doesn't have some of the most simple rules implemented for soccer and when a semi complete player engine is release without any major tweaks along they way, it leaves me saying this game could of been a lot better. Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2012
    7
    It's ok, but like most people said the CPU will just be passing the ball around and takes a long time to get it back. They also tend to score last minute goals.
  20. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    This game has a lot of football teams- most I've heard of some I haven't, I like this because you get to be unique and have that freedom to like a different team than everyone else. This game has a couple of downsides; slow loading and mainly THIS GAME IS TOO EASY. I've tried to changed the difficulty to hardiest and it's still too easy I'll normally win a match 9-0 every time!!! Which isThis game has a lot of football teams- most I've heard of some I haven't, I like this because you get to be unique and have that freedom to like a different team than everyone else. This game has a couple of downsides; slow loading and mainly THIS GAME IS TOO EASY. I've tried to changed the difficulty to hardiest and it's still too easy I'll normally win a match 9-0 every time!!! Which is not realistic at all even they said it was more realistic than FIFA 11 which it isn't. Overall, I would only recommend this game to people if they really want to win. Expand
  21. Dec 6, 2014
    7
    A consistent football game that feels well polished and deserves to be well received. The ultimate team mode is even stronger here and makes for a game that has multiple game modes all of which have the ability to hold our attention, FIFA 12 is the year's best football simulation game.
  22. Jul 22, 2013
    5
    EA Sports tried to make a lot of improvements on FIFA 12. Some improvements they have made they have done a good job on. But there a few problems with this game though. First the songs are atrocious I mean did they even take these songs seriously, second the referee's are worse than on FIFA 11 I just think the referee's are not very consistent when playing against a weaker team, third theEA Sports tried to make a lot of improvements on FIFA 12. Some improvements they have made they have done a good job on. But there a few problems with this game though. First the songs are atrocious I mean did they even take these songs seriously, second the referee's are worse than on FIFA 11 I just think the referee's are not very consistent when playing against a weaker team, third the tackling style ok I give credit to EA of trying something new I just think to perform a tackle on the controls feels clunky, fourth the best overall rated goalkeepers don't perform as well as they should because every finesse shot seems to go in the back of the net and fifth the Ultimate edition on Ultimate Team is awful because the free packs you get every month are just regular gold packs I mean you have a 1 out of 12 chance of getting a rare gold player in a pack, I bought this version of FIFA 12 and I never got a rare gold player in so I wasted an extra £5 on it. However, there are few things that EA have done well. On Ultimate team for the first time released a new set of Ultimate Team Cards called Team of the Season cards from each league, this was very innovated for the time and best of all after one comes out and the next one comes out you can still get the TOTS players from the previous TOTS in packs, this made it easier for gamers to earn these players in packs. The shooting and passing seemed very choppy at first until I got us to the controls and now the shooting feels a little bit more accurate. There is no over powered free kicks and headers which is good because EA are trying to make the game a bit more realistic. Overall it's not a bad game, it has a few problems and the rest of the game modes, it is up to good standards. But if you're a fan of FIFA game, it is probably worth playing. Expand
  23. Oct 28, 2014
    5
    Fifa, Fifa, Fifa... what can i say...

    I think 2005 should of been the year that EA was considered a bad company instead of 2013 because they just kept MILKING and MILKING the Fifa series! its a good game, but you can get Fifa 10 and it would be nearly the same at Fifa 12.

    5/10
    -PandaGames
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    95
    It's by far the most realistic football title on the market and there are plenty of game modes to keep players entertained. FIFA 12 is a must own title for football fans who will no doubt be playing up until the next instalment.
  2. This year's game plays ultra-slick. [Dec 2011, p.104]
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    FIFA 12 takes realism to an all-time high in sports games. The innovative changes in gameplay mechanics, much needed changes to career mode, and additional online modes makes this one of the most complete FIFA packages to date. If you're a true football fan, you'd be remiss to pass up FIFA 12 - even if you own FIFA 11.