User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 388 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    This is the worst FIFA since star players scored from 45 yards, but at least in that FIFA you had fun.

    I shall start with the positive, the game modes. FIFA's game modes are well thought out, nicely presented and very varied; they entice you to play the game in a variety of ways and will keep you entertained for hours. When you make a quality move the game looks great and you get a
    This is the worst FIFA since star players scored from 45 yards, but at least in that FIFA you had fun.

    I shall start with the positive, the game modes. FIFA's game modes are well thought out, nicely presented and very varied; they entice you to play the game in a variety of ways and will keep you entertained for hours.
    When you make a quality move the game looks great and you get a strong sense that you were solely responsible for the ball going in the back of the net; celebrations are plentiful too, if you enjoy waving your arms.

    The negative; unfortunately these game modes are blighted by awful gameplay and a quite terrible focus on pace. This is particularly noticeable on the Ultimate Team online mode where the one button to defend, long balls to attack, and constant CPU tackles can leave you very frustrated.
    Referee's are terrible, they get in the way, make terrible calls and make strange advantage decisions.; the first touch system is unusual and for defenders a real issue as bad touches combined with the push/pull system means the man mountain Samba would easily lose the ball to the diminutive Barry Bannan. Goal keepers are very inconsistent and due to the long shot exploit, where you shoot after any move/skill/knock on, are statues from distance.

    However this is just the start as when you learn these exploits the varied game modes also become a waste of your time, even on the highest difficulty all you need to do is recreate the Ultimate Team online ethos and add countering from corners/goal kicks to get you constant wins.
    The quality of your team is unimportant, as long as someone has pace you'll be fine. In manager mode this is very annoying as you don't feel like there is any point to progressing your players.

    This takes all fun out of the game, especially as when you decide to learn something different, for example skills, the computer AI will take the ball from you with ease...just run...the game is about little more.

    The extras; the game looks pretty, the largest names in football are there, though scouting/searches are awful, and you get to play your favourite sport virtually....just don't try and embrace the beautiful game; there is no room for your efforts in FIFA 13.

    All in all I simply can't rate this game higher than a 6, and I feel that is almost generous; having been disappointed by games such as Duke Nukem Forever I can at least say they have a modicum of entertainment whereas this edition of FIFA has been a real let down, as had EA's appalling community service and interaction.
    Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    This Game is sooooo good, and yet sooooo bad. Its by far the best when you first start playing it. But the more you play it the more you will start to loath it. There are so many in game mechanics that i can only think are designed to make the game more fun and fair, Yet they do exactly the opposite. There is scripting in the game so that if your a high rated team and you play a low ratedThis Game is sooooo good, and yet sooooo bad. Its by far the best when you first start playing it. But the more you play it the more you will start to loath it. There are so many in game mechanics that i can only think are designed to make the game more fun and fair, Yet they do exactly the opposite. There is scripting in the game so that if your a high rated team and you play a low rated one you cant just smash them, your players will not play as well to try and combat the difference in stats. 45th and 90th minute goals are as rampant as ever and the foul system is also completely flawed at times. For example when taking a shot and the defending player obstructs by just blocking your leg from hitting the ball and you just fall over. Theres a lot more to it than i can be bothered to type but without the scripting mechanics it would get a 9 and without the silly foul system it would get a 10. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    If there was ever a love hate relationship this game would be it. I love playing FIFA13. I stopped playing online because 2 things infuriate me. One is the blatant way the game favors one online gamer or the other. I mean you're playing your best and the other gamer takes a stupid shot from 40 yards and your goalie somehow just happens to not be able to stop it. Second is when you'reIf there was ever a love hate relationship this game would be it. I love playing FIFA13. I stopped playing online because 2 things infuriate me. One is the blatant way the game favors one online gamer or the other. I mean you're playing your best and the other gamer takes a stupid shot from 40 yards and your goalie somehow just happens to not be able to stop it. Second is when you're playing and you accidently press a button and the stupid black notice totally blocks your game stating "you cannot do whatever as you don't have possesion of the ball" ....it makes me livid. why can't you place that notice on the corner of the screen since you're trying to maintain possesion of the ball. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    This game really feels rushed. Playing on any level above professional basically means you will never keep a clean sheet, as defender AI is horrendous. If you aren't literally making the tackle or positioning the defender yourself, your team will basically watch as your passed to death. I gave up trying to play online, as I would sit and wait for a few minutes to find a player, and once IThis game really feels rushed. Playing on any level above professional basically means you will never keep a clean sheet, as defender AI is horrendous. If you aren't literally making the tackle or positioning the defender yourself, your team will basically watch as your passed to death. I gave up trying to play online, as I would sit and wait for a few minutes to find a player, and once I find a player, the game will never connect. There seems to be times during the career mode where the game gets sick if you winning and will do everything in its power to frustrate the hell out of you. The first touch is a joke, making gameplay with any team below 3 stars a bloody nightmare. Just give the AI some I and I will be happy Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    Disappointing, career mode is great but everything else very average. A lot of the gameplay is ridiculous. The first touch system is laughable the massive touches they do when a simple ball is played into a professional footballer are pathetic. Obstruction seems to play a key part in defending when in real life it is classed as a foul. Yet again the A.I are terrible in pro clubs theyDisappointing, career mode is great but everything else very average. A lot of the gameplay is ridiculous. The first touch system is laughable the massive touches they do when a simple ball is played into a professional footballer are pathetic. Obstruction seems to play a key part in defending when in real life it is classed as a foul. Yet again the A.I are terrible in pro clubs they struggle to pass a ball more than five yards and constantly stand off players when defending allowing easy opportunities to shoot on the edge of the area. Goalkeepers are stupidly good in pro clubs again creating a completely different game in pro clubs when playing against a virtual pro goalkeeper Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    I love this game. However there are so many things that need fixing that, whilst most of them are not major things they do drag the game down slightly. The main issue is the first touch engine. Anybody who isn't Messi or Ronaldo can struggle to control the easiest pass at times, however, it should improve with time, like the Direct impact engine has, only in its second year it is muchI love this game. However there are so many things that need fixing that, whilst most of them are not major things they do drag the game down slightly. The main issue is the first touch engine. Anybody who isn't Messi or Ronaldo can struggle to control the easiest pass at times, however, it should improve with time, like the Direct impact engine has, only in its second year it is much better than the first one, however still has a long way to go to be realistic and decent. The AI is improved, in particular attacking with realistic chemistry between players (don't expect Lampard and Gerrard to understand where each other is moving and wants the ball for example). Overall, improved graphics, career and FUT make it a worthwhile purchase but is still some way off changing football games like PES 09 did before it turned **** Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    Its just ok. I was urged to get into the hype, and what I got was a very similar FIFA game. Good graphics, announcing, player models, but it is still not much of an improvement over the other FIFA games I've played on the 360. Buy if you're new to FIFA, don't buy if you have FIFA 12.
  8. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    uma coisa que eu percebi nesse fifa é que quando você começa a jogar o modo carreira o jopgo tem uma velocidade de não boa mais razoavel mas depois de alguns jogos vai ficando cada vez mais lento
  9. Oct 23, 2012
    7
    I am astonished at users who complain about the previous years release and then decide to purchase FIFA in the following year and complain about the same things again. They're obviously making money off you morons, so if you really don't like it - stop buying it! In saying that though, it is pretty much the same game every year with a few new (irrelevant) additions. I'm giving this a 7I am astonished at users who complain about the previous years release and then decide to purchase FIFA in the following year and complain about the same things again. They're obviously making money off you morons, so if you really don't like it - stop buying it! In saying that though, it is pretty much the same game every year with a few new (irrelevant) additions. I'm giving this a 7 based on enjoyability. Yes, there are glitches that piss me off from time to time, but I'm not going to throw my control and the TV and give it a 1 for that. Expand
  10. Oct 19, 2012
    5
    Why a 5 score? Well...No innovation at all, impact engine is still broken, EAS FC is always down, I get a feeling that i'm always playing on ice, it's almost impossible to dribble, 1st touch doens't work properly. I've had this game since launch and I tried really hard to like it but that moment when you say "ohh I love this" never came. I'm not a PES fanboy don't get me wrong, to beWhy a 5 score? Well...No innovation at all, impact engine is still broken, EAS FC is always down, I get a feeling that i'm always playing on ice, it's almost impossible to dribble, 1st touch doens't work properly. I've had this game since launch and I tried really hard to like it but that moment when you say "ohh I love this" never came. I'm not a PES fanboy don't get me wrong, to be honest i've never played a PES game I think I might trade this crap game for PES to give it a shot. Expand
  11. Oct 16, 2012
    6
    If you are a massive football fan and you don't have a football game i would recommend FIFA 13 over PES 13. This game is solid but as a hardcore FIFA fan i was pissed off because this game is exactly the same as FIFA 12 but with the new rosters and the new box art.
  12. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    It's good. It's not great. The ideas behind first touch and other simple gameplay tweaks are admirable but, they haven't been perfected yet. I have no doubt these will be fixed next year but. Fifa 13 feels like a work in progress. I'll keep playing it but, at the moment it's because I have to.
  13. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    There are a lot of people who love FIFA 13 and a lot of trolls writing reviews on this site. Mine sits in the middle. I like to think it's a genuine review from a video game player with no ties to any franchise or software house. FIFA 13 is a fun game, in fact with your mates it's hard to beat but it is not a good football game.
    The ball is one of those cheap plastic balls you buy when on
    There are a lot of people who love FIFA 13 and a lot of trolls writing reviews on this site. Mine sits in the middle. I like to think it's a genuine review from a video game player with no ties to any franchise or software house. FIFA 13 is a fun game, in fact with your mates it's hard to beat but it is not a good football game.
    The ball is one of those cheap plastic balls you buy when on holiday to use on the beach or in the pool. It floats, bounces too high and rebounds all over the place. The first touch idea is a good one but not in practice. It needs turning down a couple of notches. It doesn't play a game of footy as well as PES does. I find a lot of my goals coming from rebounds or the ball bouncing around the area. The other thing that lets it down as well is the lack of player id. Unlike PES the players are all about the same skill wise. I love all the presentation and content but it's not a good game of footy. If you love Footy more than licences, game modes and all the extras EA offer you, then you need to buy PES 2013 and work at it. I wanted to love FIFA but it's just a good game with a few glitches and freezes. Nothing more. Fun FIFA 13 or Footy PES 2013. You decide but for me this year belongs to PES 2013.
    Expand
  14. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Remember 2007? Everybody has there own memory of that year but for me that was the year Pro Evolution woes became so bad that for the first time I picked up Fifa 08 and fell out of love with Konami game, now it's 2012 and that same feeling I had about Pro then I am currently having about Fifa 13 now! My grievance with Fifa has always been it's target audience, ie adolescent children andRemember 2007? Everybody has there own memory of that year but for me that was the year Pro Evolution woes became so bad that for the first time I picked up Fifa 08 and fell out of love with Konami game, now it's 2012 and that same feeling I had about Pro then I am currently having about Fifa 13 now! My grievance with Fifa has always been it's target audience, ie adolescent children and American 'soccer' wanna be's. That's fine EA as long as the game is generally worth playing and for last 4 years it has been, however this year is an unadulterated mess! The game mechanics are frankly broken, I welcome realism but not at the cost of game-play! Player touches are generally harder to control yet most players can smash the ball in the net from 25 yards or more, which is ridiculous considering most of their first touches are poor. Then you have the A.I, either playing the computer or the decisions it makes for you when you play an human opponent. This year the AI is appalling when controlling your players, yet are super human against you. No bad touches or ping pong deflections in their box, but almost 90% of the time in your own penalty area against the computer. That, and the supposedly intelligent runs forwards make which makes defending virtually impossible, even with high pressing. The career and and F2F seasons are much improved, very high quality but then FUT is extremely frustrating! NOOBS consistently play 5-2-1-2 or -4-5-1 and spam lofted through balls over your defence where their 90+ pace striker, regardless if he is 5ft 2, out paces and out muscles your 6ft+ defenders and scores! EA, that is utter BS! Again going back to EA target audience, there has only been 4 players I honestly can say have handed me a footballing lesson. However the rest of my opponents are complete NOOBS, yet win because of through ball spamming or ping pong sweaty goals or because they are so young they understand the broken mechanics where the rest of the adult world struggle. If EA continue this madness and pro continues to rise from the ashes, simply bye bye EA and your extortionate industry! Expand
  15. Oct 6, 2012
    7
    no soul....boring gameplay....to much stuppid impact engine.....rebound goals are anoyng....looks like fifa street....bye bye..see you in next genaration....
  16. Oct 4, 2012
    5
    FIFA 13 might be the most fun, best FIFA in terms of gameplay. If you're playing offline against a friend. If you want to play online, good luck. If you are somehow able to find an opponent, the game simply feels slower and dumbed-down. The a.i. that make great runs offline? Not so much online. The first-touch that makes it look and feel more like real football? Not so much online when theFIFA 13 might be the most fun, best FIFA in terms of gameplay. If you're playing offline against a friend. If you want to play online, good luck. If you are somehow able to find an opponent, the game simply feels slower and dumbed-down. The a.i. that make great runs offline? Not so much online. The first-touch that makes it look and feel more like real football? Not so much online when the ball bounces randomly no matter how you gain possession of the ball. The fluid passing, and the crisp fast nature of the game offline? Replaced by a slower pace and misplaced passes online. You'll only be able to experience this if you can in fact get into a game online. The head-to-head seasons from FIFA 12 are back, now simply called 'Seasons.' You might be able to find an opponent after 6 or 7 attempts, each attempt taking anywhere from thirty seconds to three or four minutes. Once connected, they take you to the pregame arena, and you'll likely get stuck there for ... infinity. You'll need to go back to the Dashboard, and start up FIFA 13 again. OK, so forget 'Seasons.' Try out the custom games lobby instead. Unfortunately you'll find that it's difficult to select a lobby because each time a new lobby is made the whole list shifts randomly and rearranges, making your attempt to join a lobby a game of timing. This is the lobby system, not a minigame. This is unacceptable for a retail version of any game, let alone the most popular sports game franchise on the planet. EA should be ashamed of themselves. But it's OK! Pro ranked matches with your virtual pro make a return. But the lobby system is still as confusing and broken as it was the last couple of years. So you'll have a tough time getting into a match. And if you do, the 'captain' of your team will likely sub you out for an a.i. player, or at the very least switch you to another position. You got CF? You're now RB! And your teammate just scored his third own-goal ... God forbid you want to play any sort of team game (2v2, pro-ranked) with a friend, also. Just like years previous, there are still no options to have friends join you. This is to prevent boosting...thanks EA. You stopped boosting and all manner of playing with your friends on the same team. I'm starting to ramble, so I'll leave it at this: FIFA 13 is two different games. Offline, it's slick, fast and fun. It might be the best FIFA yet, even if it does sometimes feel a bit automatic. Online, it's a mess. You might boot up the game and spend 15 minutes or more before even getting into a game, and once you're in there you're treated to crappier version. EA has no excuse for this. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2012
    6
    Not a massive change or upgrade from Fifa 12, the minimum I expected for 13 was for EA to at least fix the bugs and experience for online multiplayer, but they didn't touch the online multiplayer at all, for me the games don't flow as well as Fifa 12 did, the new physics aren't a ground breaking upgrade.
  18. Sep 30, 2012
    5
    At first i loved this game but after a day i was not impressed, i like games i can level up and unlock new things and fifa has all of that but for some stupid reason has a daily cap of 2000xp. problem with this is to reach 2000xp is very easy play few good matches in career mode with your pro and you've maxed out the level up system already WHICH MEANS NO MORE XP TILL AFTER MIDNIGHT!!!At first i loved this game but after a day i was not impressed, i like games i can level up and unlock new things and fifa has all of that but for some stupid reason has a daily cap of 2000xp. problem with this is to reach 2000xp is very easy play few good matches in career mode with your pro and you've maxed out the level up system already WHICH MEANS NO MORE XP TILL AFTER MIDNIGHT!!! this is what ruined it for me personally if i pay £40.00 for a game why do you have the right to put a cap on anything especially something that is so simple to hit each day i could understand if the 2000xp took hours and hours of game play but it doesn't . please bear in mind this is purely my view a gamer who likes to level up, if your not in to a leveling system then fifa 13 is a great game the one touch system is the best feature as makes games more realistic. as i said this is my view on the game disagree or agree its just what i feel people like me should be aware of. Expand
  19. Aug 3, 2013
    0
    Desde que yo recuerdo el ultima juego de futbol que compre fue el FIFA 09, para mi fue el mejor por las horas de diversion que me dio. Ahora 4 años despues me consegui el FIFA 2013 y bueno me senti igual de comodo que con FIFA 09, que es lo mismo todos los años tienen razon pero si lo compras cada 2 o 3 años o te esperas como yo (4 años) veras que hay ligeras mejoras en los movimientos, enDesde que yo recuerdo el ultima juego de futbol que compre fue el FIFA 09, para mi fue el mejor por las horas de diversion que me dio. Ahora 4 años despues me consegui el FIFA 2013 y bueno me senti igual de comodo que con FIFA 09, que es lo mismo todos los años tienen razon pero si lo compras cada 2 o 3 años o te esperas como yo (4 años) veras que hay ligeras mejoras en los movimientos, en las colisiones de los jugadores, etc, en mi caso el juego es muy bueno y cumple principalmente con lo que busco "DIVERSION".... Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    FIFA '13 provides some great AI, a fair challenge if you go for a difficulty beyond Amateur, and a lot of content if you're willing to delve into the various modes.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    The fluidity and speed of FIFA makes it pure joy to play, an area where it reigns supreme over its rival Pro Evo.
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    This year's installment of FIFA has increasingly improved from its previous release.