User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2014
    1
    “If you are a fan of FIFA games you tend to be quite philosophical, because they tend to build you up then let you down.” FIFA should be a benchmark-setting soccer game with great gameplay and years of thoughtful development & refinement. Currently, it is a husk of latent unfulfilled potential, and is a treated as a blatant cash cow for a lumbering shambles of a company. They also treat their customers with disgrace. If you go to EA Sports forums, they have “vent” treads and any criticism you voice about the game is considered heresy pending a banned account and confinement in the Tower of London. What EA Sports had achieved in the past 10 years would have been easily surpassed by any another studio with more ambition and commitment like Bethesda. When buying a Fifa-EA product, I find myself paying through the nose for their monopoly on licensing & copyright rather than for entertainment. They drip feed 1 or 2 untested “improvements” per year, most of which undermine smooth and consistent gameplay; their flagship features such as randomness, first touch passing and UFC style tackle/collision systems have totally lost the plot. This would be fine if it had been done correctly, but there is no consistency to the implementation here. The game lacks refinement and adding “randomness” to already poor gameplay makes for an extremely frustrating experience. The whole result seems like a rip-off of Madden or UFC. These professional “critical” reviews seem to glorify each FIFA game in isolation of the 10 previous iterations before it, marketing each release as some sort of ground breaking & innovative affair; when in fact there is much less to like. According to EA, “It doesn't matter if you call it soccer or football, in the end all you need to know is that FIFA is the only way to play” or so they hope! More work is done by EA Sports in each iteration of FIFA by patches & fixes, than the original game itself. IMHO the lack of innovation, absence of improvement and dreadful gameplay does not marry well with the high asking price. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    1
    Why the **** is EA allowed to get away with calling this pathetic piece of **** a game? I can't believe how incredibly bad the AI are, and yet I still play it... Why? Because there are no other football games that are better, so the lazy **** over at EA continue to make the same old **** every year and people buy it.
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    3
    game completely sucks, i dont know how it ended up getting a 6.0 score but its one of the worst games ever. as all fifa series. probably kids have rated it 10
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I have played FIFA 13 for a full year now and am a division 1 player in Seasons (as In had been in FIFA 12), so the following criticisms should be put in that context. They are not the ravings of a player that simply has not mastered the controls. By Season’s standards, I can play the game pretty well.

    - The new first touch feature is unrealistic when you have situations where an
    elegant move is destroyed by the ball bouncing of Messi or Ronaldo's shin it happens regularly in the game when it would not in real life. In effect, it ruins enjoyment of the game.
    - 'New' attacking AI is worse than FIFA 12 your players make wrong decisions regularly.
    - One of the few realistic introductions is that referees seem to be as error prone as in real life, which is obviously not a good thing.

    I loved the introduction of tactical defending in FIFA 12 (which is my fav FIFA to date). However, there are ZERO enjoyable advancements in FIFA 13 for me, only frustration and that is why I give it a ZERO score. It has been a waste of money, I really don’t know why I’ve kept playing it. It’s a testament to how frustrating this game is that I’ve gone back to playing FIFA 12. And judging from what I’ve read about FIFA 14 (from actual gamers, not EA butt-licking magazines and big FIFA Youtubers). I’ll be keeping my money in my pocket. EA, please make this game enjoyable to play again.
    Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    2
    Rubbish game, EA haven't made any changes to Pro Clubs, its still a big let down at times. Many many changes such as custom kits and logos can be done and have been done in FIFA 12 as well as FIFA street, they just don't wanna give it all away, EA sicken me with their lack of commitment to their fans
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    Same as the last one but with better graphics its still kicking a football and running around also you still kick a ball did i mention that yet? OH and spoilers its rubbish
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    1
    I'm sorry to say that Fifa 13 is incredibly surprising piece of crap. Firstly, besides updated team squads and licenses nothing really had changed. It is still the same game it was last year, which is unacceptable, bearing in mind price of 60$. Also, I can't stand all the dumbass decisions that referees make. Handballs every 5 seconds, penalties out of space. Incredibly huge piece of junk.
  8. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    SI TENEMOS QUE BUSCAR LA MEJOR SIMULACIÓN FUTBOLISTA EN VÍDEO JUEGOS, LA ENCONTRAMOS EN "FIFA", ES UNA GRAN SAGA CON GRAN MODALIDAD DE JUEGO ADEMAS DE SER MUY ENTRETENIDO.
  9. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Desde que yo recuerdo el ultima juego de futbol que compre fue el FIFA 09, para mi fue el mejor por las horas de diversion que me dio. Ahora 4 años despues me consegui el FIFA 2013 y bueno me senti igual de comodo que con FIFA 09, que es lo mismo todos los años tienen razon pero si lo compras cada 2 o 3 años o te esperas como yo (4 años) veras que hay ligeras mejoras en los movimientos, en las colisiones de los jugadores, etc, en mi caso el juego es muy bueno y cumple principalmente con lo que busco "DIVERSION".... Expand
  10. Aug 3, 2013
    2
    EA sports have gone back 5 years with this title, player movement reminds me of FIFA 08..game is just a disgrace. Only reason i gave this game 2 is because manager mode is quite good until it gets boring. Matches are fixed also for instance im dominating a game, the opposition has had 3 players sent off...easy win?? think again!! i hit the post 3 times, van persie misses 4 sitters that an old crow on a zimmer could finish and then out of the blue my defence splits letting the opposition through to score a 90th minute 1 nil win!!! Expand
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    This is the worst FIFA since star players scored from 45 yards, but at least in that FIFA you had fun.

    I shall start with the positive, the game modes. FIFA's game modes are well thought out, nicely presented and very varied; they entice you to play the game in a variety of ways and will keep you entertained for hours.
    When you make a quality move the game looks great and you get a
    strong sense that you were solely responsible for the ball going in the back of the net; celebrations are plentiful too, if you enjoy waving your arms.

    The negative; unfortunately these game modes are blighted by awful gameplay and a quite terrible focus on pace. This is particularly noticeable on the Ultimate Team online mode where the one button to defend, long balls to attack, and constant CPU tackles can leave you very frustrated.
    Referee's are terrible, they get in the way, make terrible calls and make strange advantage decisions.; the first touch system is unusual and for defenders a real issue as bad touches combined with the push/pull system means the man mountain Samba would easily lose the ball to the diminutive Barry Bannan. Goal keepers are very inconsistent and due to the long shot exploit, where you shoot after any move/skill/knock on, are statues from distance.

    However this is just the start as when you learn these exploits the varied game modes also become a waste of your time, even on the highest difficulty all you need to do is recreate the Ultimate Team online ethos and add countering from corners/goal kicks to get you constant wins.
    The quality of your team is unimportant, as long as someone has pace you'll be fine. In manager mode this is very annoying as you don't feel like there is any point to progressing your players.

    This takes all fun out of the game, especially as when you decide to learn something different, for example skills, the computer AI will take the ball from you with ease...just run...the game is about little more.

    The extras; the game looks pretty, the largest names in football are there, though scouting/searches are awful, and you get to play your favourite sport virtually....just don't try and embrace the beautiful game; there is no room for your efforts in FIFA 13.

    All in all I simply can't rate this game higher than a 6, and I feel that is almost generous; having been disappointed by games such as Duke Nukem Forever I can at least say they have a modicum of entertainment whereas this edition of FIFA has been a real let down, as had EA's appalling community service and interaction.
    Expand
  12. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Decent game that offers what I am looking for in a sports game, the only recurring issue I keep coming across is going on loan. Did it the first year and performed above and beyond what was expected of my pro, 9.7 rating 70 some odd goals so on and so forth. I come back from loan haven't even played a game and already I am getting notifications that I will be getting shipped off to another team. Fix that and the game would get a higher rating. Expand
  13. Jul 8, 2013
    4
    Have you ever tried playing Ultimate Team mode? It's the greatest example of what evevyone's being complaining about. You play it against CPU and it's a fantastic gameplay. You play it online and it's terrible. It is very frustrating as your defense seems to be useless in some matches. I say 'some matches' because sometimes your GK seems to be invincible. Very weird. It is a very unstable online gameplay, so I'll rate it 4, 'cause I believe FIFA is 60% online gameplaying, which just sucks in this game. Expand
  14. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    The graphic are absolutely amazing and the faces look very real. But FIFA hasn't changed its look for ages ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  15. Jun 15, 2013
    2
    I decided to rewrite my review. I dislike this game for plenty of reasons, some of them being unbalanced game play, unrealistic game mechanics, awful career and online modes, COUNTLESS game braking glitches, scripted matches and performances designed to make you lose no matter what. Only on Fifa can you have 70 percent possession, 20 shots on target, hit the post 6 times only to concede a fluke goal in the last second and lose the game. The amount of times this has happened to me is incredible. Only on Fifa can you be winning a game, press start to manage your team and it completely lock up your console forcing you to turn it off and losing all your progress. Be a pro mode? It's designed so your team doesn't have any possession, making it incredibly frustrating because you can't get in to a game and it lowers your rating, yet another waste of time mode. Ultimate team? Designed to bleed every single penny out of you, nothing more, nothing less. The game is so incredibly broken that I find myself turning it off prematurely out of frustration every time I try and play it... I'll be spending my money on Pro Evo next thank you very much EA. Expand
  16. Jun 13, 2013
    3
    Would be better if it wasnt the same bloody game every year. Theres a reason why EA is hated. Im not dishing out 50 odd quid for the same game every year
  17. May 19, 2013
    4
    Positives: Great graphics, a great game to play with friends as it always is. Decent online community, couple of new features.

    Negatives: It's pretty much exactly the same game as FIFA 11/12 etc, only a really buggy version, there're bugs everywhere in-game (personal experience; I was about to cross a ball into the box, when suddenly my player on-the-ball teleported into the box, and
    sending my cross off the pitch for a throw-in to the opposition.). The only main difference with the new FIFA is the new team line-ups, which is essentially all we're paying for every year. This game to me suggests that EA wanted to see how bad they could make the game and still watch people purchase it (in terms of the sheer amount of bugs, with an even more annoying ref giving the most ridiculous decisions). Not a big fan of FIFA 13, I can play 11 or 12 and have just as much fun.

    4/10 because of the bugs, lack of new content, and the price of the game for what is essentially the same game repeating itself every year, with the exception of a little bit of a graphic boost and more annoying ref's with each one that comes around.
    Expand
  18. May 2, 2013
    10
    this game is wonderful to play if you are into football. the graphics are fantastic and it has an overall very smooth game play. i would recomend you buy this game and play it with your friends especially if you are a compettative player.
  19. May 1, 2013
    8
    I suppose that when you have done something many times you get good at it. EA have been making these games since year 2000 I think. All the new great game modes is nly the icing in the cake. The game always updates players and teams pretending on how good they have been lately. This makes you feel like you`re playig with the real players, it gives more depth into an otherwise bland game. The game play is awesome and it takes alot of practising to get good. You can strategically, chose formation, speed, players and other sweet strategies. The game is though still quite repetitive and the fact that they will make a new identical next year when could just have been DLC takes it down to a strong 8. Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2013
    5
    This Game is sooooo good, and yet sooooo bad. Its by far the best when you first start playing it. But the more you play it the more you will start to loath it. There are so many in game mechanics that i can only think are designed to make the game more fun and fair, Yet they do exactly the opposite. There is scripting in the game so that if your a high rated team and you play a low rated one you cant just smash them, your players will not play as well to try and combat the difference in stats. 45th and 90th minute goals are as rampant as ever and the foul system is also completely flawed at times. For example when taking a shot and the defending player obstructs by just blocking your leg from hitting the ball and you just fall over. Theres a lot more to it than i can be bothered to type but without the scripting mechanics it would get a 9 and without the silly foul system it would get a 10. Expand
  21. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    This game does not have a story as it simply just a football games, but EA can’t even do that right. Let’s start with the flow of the game. The passing and the movement of the players is actually alright, but the goalkeepers on the other hand are simply diabolical. The keeper seem to have this amazing ability to move from onside of the goal to the other in half a second from a shot from Messi which is simply unrealistic seeing that they said FIFA 13 is the most ‘realistic’ football game to date is really just embarrassing. This game is generally brought for the online play and was the second most bought game of 2012 so you would expect the servers to be to the best of its ability but no! They are constantly crashing and cannot cope with the millions of people that play online each day. Now let’s move on to the actual game play. We have covered the goal keeping so let’s move on to the tackling. To be far to EA the tackling is actually alright BUT how Messi can out jump Rio Ferdinand isn’t right in the slightest. The slide tackling can be incredible late causing you to foal them or it can make the cleanest slide tackles so it’s very inconsistent. The shooting again is very inconsistent. Cristiano Ronaldo could score a blinder from 40 yards but them miss a sitter from the 6ft yard box...It just doesn’t make any sense. Now for the worst thing about the game and that’s the passing. It so, so, so bad! You’d tell it to pass it one way and it will end up going to a completely different person, the direction of where you put the ball never really goes to actually where you want it.

    Suitability: Age 3+
    Addictiveness: This game can be VERY addictive so be careful.
    Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    This game is appalling. EA are selling what can only be described as a broken product. First touch control? Broken. Passing? Broken. Intelligent A.I.? Broken. This game takes last year's quite frankly unfinished FIFA12 and makes it more broken. The career mode, for example, can be quite fun... when it works. Matches will often crash upon pause, causing you to lose progress up to that point. Same with Ultimate Team, games will often disconnect or crash, causing you to lose the match. Simply put, do not buy this game. You will regret it. Expand
  23. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    If there was ever a love hate relationship this game would be it. I love playing FIFA13. I stopped playing online because 2 things infuriate me. One is the blatant way the game favors one online gamer or the other. I mean you're playing your best and the other gamer takes a stupid shot from 40 yards and your goalie somehow just happens to not be able to stop it. Second is when you're playing and you accidently press a button and the stupid black notice totally blocks your game stating "you cannot do whatever as you don't have possesion of the ball" ....it makes me livid. why can't you place that notice on the corner of the screen since you're trying to maintain possesion of the ball. Expand
  24. Feb 26, 2013
    1
    The first touch system is an insult to anyone who has played football at any level. Apparently while running on to a ball 9/10 you will miskick it smash it 10 yards in front of you or balloon it up in the air. I watch championship standard football week in, week out and never see this more than 5 times a game from both teams. On previous FIFAs skill usually won you the game, not anymore. People just pick fast players and sprint at you and you cannot stop them. Countless goals are conceded with someone sprinting after your defenders tapping the tackle button. Have the developers even played/watched football? Expand
  25. Feb 4, 2013
    3
    The last Fifa game I owned prior to this was FIFA 10 and it's actually amazing how little they have improved it. The AI in this game is incredibly stupid with some very annoying habits that have evidently not been ironed out in three generations. For example when you pass the ball sometimes your player will root himself and wait for the ball to arrive leaving you unable to control his movement and mostly ending up in an opposition player getting an interception. A lot of the times too players will attempt a through ball when you press the pass button. There is a dedicated through ball button which I would use if I wanted a through ball played, when I press a different button it's because I didn't want a through ball. Likewise with the goalkeepers, sometimes they will rush out of the goals even when you're not holding down Y to tell them to come out and this mostly ends in an easy goal for the opposition. A lot of neat features in the game modes but the gameplay still needs a lot of tightening up. Expand
  26. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    This game is garbage, i say this having bought every single fifa game since 08. I can explain how massively disappointing the game is. I don't by all means wish to be saying these things about the game, FIFA is one of my favorite hobbies but this years game is an unbearable experience. It just feels like they've taken control away from the user and replaced it with unrealistic animations, super human defenders (when you stab at the ball and miss when i'm at a full sprint and then catch up to me, thats superhuman). In their quest to recreate the sport exactly they are losing all of what makes people play the game, it's fun. Every year it gets harder for people who know the game and easier for newbies. Even watching the gameplay reminds me of watching a coed pickup game. And why is one of the worst soccer nations in the world developing this game, eh? Expand
  27. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Soundtrack: 8/10 Enjoyment: 7/10 = 7.75 (Great)
    For a football game it deserves high reviews. Higher then PES should be getting and higher then Football Superstars. This is the ultimate football simulator.
  28. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    I have been buying FIFA since 2002 and more regularly since 2008. The games gets more scripted online than before. I am not a guy who is complaining because I lose a lot because I am already division 1 in UT and division 6 . Does EA pay reviewers to rate the game simply? Because FIFA 13 is a piece of **** game online especially. On top of that, EA does not like it if you discuss this on the EA forums. They threaten you with bans. Is this some kind of a dictatorship? Oh and yes there are some handicaps with certain teams like for example, Barcelona. Try getting to division 1 with Barcelona or playing online with them. You will see that the opponent players will just run through Puyol and Pique even after a tackle has been made. Strength is the key factor here and though Puyol and Pique have good body strength, it does not matter. I had a game where I hit the post twice and my player missed an open net where all he had to do was tap it in but he lobbed the ball. Is this realistic? Oh and all of this happened in ten minutes of the game. Then, my opponent scores because the ball bounces back to him twice. Of course I came back in the game but it was a draw. Basically, EA ensures that bad players have a chance. They want to make all the newbies happy. Otherwise, who would buy the game. The game is not about who is the better player. Sure, better and experienced players win more but you can easily notice that newbies and or bad players can defend better because the auto tackling and auto blocking in the box has gotten better. The game is a joke. PES 2014 what I will buy in 2014. Stop lying EA Collapse
  29. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    As you'd expect, this game is pretty much the same. There isn't really much that even makes you think this game is a different game - wan't even worth going over to a friends house to play.
  30. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    This game really feels rushed. Playing on any level above professional basically means you will never keep a clean sheet, as defender AI is horrendous. If you aren't literally making the tackle or positioning the defender yourself, your team will basically watch as your passed to death. I gave up trying to play online, as I would sit and wait for a few minutes to find a player, and once I find a player, the game will never connect. There seems to be times during the career mode where the game gets sick if you winning and will do everything in its power to frustrate the hell out of you. The first touch is a joke, making gameplay with any team below 3 stars a bloody nightmare. Just give the AI some I and I will be happy Expand
  31. Jan 13, 2013
    0
    I have been buying FIFA since 2002 and more regularly since 2008. The games gets more scripted online than before. I am not a guy who is complaining because I lose a lot because I am already division 1 in UT and division 6 . Does EA pay reviewers to rate the game simply? Because FIFA 13 is a piece of **** game online especially. On top of that, EA does not like it if you discuss this on the EA forums. They threaten you with bans. Is this some kind of a dictatorship? Oh and yes there are some handicaps with certain teams like for example, Barcelona. Try getting to division 1 with Barcelona or playing online with them. You will see that the opponent players will just run through Puyol and Pique even after a tackle has been made. Strength is the key factor here and though Puyol and Pique have good body strength, it does not matter. I had a game where I hit the post twice and my player missed an open net where all he had to do was tap it in but he lobbed the ball. Is this realistic? Oh and all of this happened in ten minutes of the game. Then, my opponent scores because the ball bounces back to him twice. Of course I came back in the game but it was a draw. Basically, EA ensures that bad players have a chance. They want to make all the newbies happy. Otherwise, who would buy the game. The game is not about who is the better player. Sure, better and experienced players win more but you can easily notice that newbies and or bad players can defend better because the auto tackling and auto blocking in the box has gotten better. The game is a joke. PES 2014 what I will buy in 2014. Stop lying EA Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    FIFA '13 provides some great AI, a fair challenge if you go for a difficulty beyond Amateur, and a lot of content if you're willing to delve into the various modes.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    The fluidity and speed of FIFA makes it pure joy to play, an area where it reigns supreme over its rival Pro Evo.
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    80
    This year's installment of FIFA has increasingly improved from its previous release.