Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 363 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The way players control the ball has been transformed, eliminating near-perfect touch for every player on the pitch, and creating more opportunities for defenders to win back possession. Poor passes are harder to control, enabling defenders to capitalize on errant balls and poor touches. Factors such as defensive pressure, trajectory of the ball, and velocity of the pass all factor into a player’s success. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    100
    The best change is an interesting contradiction that gives you more control, while taking some away.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    95
    With absolute minimal issues with gameplay, the deepest roster in any title to date, updated career and pro modes, and some of the most accurate player models, FIFA 13 is the best soccer game to date. If this were the World Cup, FIFA 13 would be hoisting the trophy.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    If you want 100mph exciting football, FIFA 13 won't let you down. It's got all the crash, bang, wallop excitement of the Premier League...with goal line clearances, overly physical tackles, barn-busting supershots, refereeing controversy, spawny deflections, comedy defending and more. [Nov 2012, p.74]
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    The new offensive AI, in particular, with its new pathing routines makes FIFA 13 worth buying. Additionally, the other new features like First-Touch-Control and tactical free-kicks enhance the franchise's playability. Add the large variety of game modes and licenses and you get one of the best sports games on the market.
  5. Sep 26, 2012
    90
    I couldn't wish for more. The faster pace really does wonders for FIFA 13. It might take a while until you get used to it, but that's a couple of hours well invested as you get much more dynamic, tense and unpredictable game of football.
  6. 89
    Retaining its position at the top of the league, FIFA 13 shows us yet again that EA Sports is the daddy of iterative improvements. It may not be a huge leap over FIFA 12, but it remains the very best football game available on consoles. An easy recommendation.
  7. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    There are some annoyances--the physics engine feels like it's been overly tinkered, and the shortcomings of career mode's become apparent when you step out of Europe's top leagues. However, it succeeds at one key task that it sets out to do: render FIFA 12 obsolete. You can wear last year's jersey, but you won't want to play last year's game any longer.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 98
  2. Negative: 48 out of 98
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why this game has so many negative reviews, because it is awesome. There is no need to make big changes to the game every year, because unlike last PES games, FIFA is already great, why would you make profound changes to it? It just needs a little tweaking in some features. After playing FIFA 13 for a few days, I went to play FIFA 12 online against a friend of mine who hasn't got the new one yet, and guess what: FIFA 12 IS OFFICIALLY OBSOLETE!! Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    not a massive change but the game does feel a lot different, and those who think the game is bad, its not but the career mode is super fun, and the gameplay feels amazing , first touch control is a pain, but overall the game is very good Collapse
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    When I played the demo I immediately told myself that I wouldn't buy the game, however temptation got the better of me and I haven't looked back since. EA has done it again with FIFA, the online play is excellent again and career mode is full of little tweaks which make it a better game. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2012
    5
    Why a 5 score? Well...No innovation at all, impact engine is still broken, EAS FC is always down, I get a feeling that i'm always playing on ice, it's almost impossible to dribble, 1st touch doens't work properly. I've had this game since launch and I tried really hard to like it but that moment when you say "ohh I love this" never came. I'm not a PES fanboy don't get me wrong, to be honest i've never played a PES game I think I might trade this crap game for PES to give it a shot. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2013
    3
    game completely sucks, i dont know how it ended up getting a 6.0 score but its one of the worst games ever. as all fifa series. probably kids have rated it 10 Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    1
    Massively disappointed! The 'first touch' feature provides a 'touch' that seems somewhat overkill. The AI is lacking the 'intelligence', as the game is so riddled with misplaced passes, through balls when no through ball was pressed, etc etc. You would never see a premier league football team **** and misplace as often as they do throughout this version of Fifa. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    0
    Truly the WORST next-gen Fifa by far. Don't believe the hype, don't go with the professional reviewers' opinion, who clearly get paid or otherwise benefited directly by EA. The game has countless issues, both online and offline, it has tons of bugs (that will probably never be fixed because EA has proved beyond all doubts that they don't care).

    The gameplay is so broken, the game speed is laughable and ridiculously high, the passing system sucks, the UT servers are down very often, the new first touch controls are a joke. Everything about this game sucks. EVERYTHING.

    And EA simply don't care because they sold their 7 million copies. A zero is perhaps too much for this game, I wish I could give it a negative review number.

    I want my money back. Just go see what's happening in the EA's official forum, 90% of the people writing there are just mad an the game and EA.

    Worst.Fifa.ever.
    Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.