Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 372 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The way players control the ball has been transformed, eliminating near-perfect touch for every player on the pitch, and creating more opportunities for defenders to win back possession. Poor passes are harder to control, enabling defenders to capitalize on errant balls and poor touches. Factors such as defensive pressure, trajectory of the ball, and velocity of the pass all factor into a player’s success. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 48
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 48
  3. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    100
    The best change is an interesting contradiction that gives you more control, while taking some away.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    95
    With absolute minimal issues with gameplay, the deepest roster in any title to date, updated career and pro modes, and some of the most accurate player models, FIFA 13 is the best soccer game to date. If this were the World Cup, FIFA 13 would be hoisting the trophy.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    91
    If you want 100mph exciting football, FIFA 13 won't let you down. It's got all the crash, bang, wallop excitement of the Premier League...with goal line clearances, overly physical tackles, barn-busting supershots, refereeing controversy, spawny deflections, comedy defending and more. [Nov 2012, p.74]
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    The new offensive AI, in particular, with its new pathing routines makes FIFA 13 worth buying. Additionally, the other new features like First-Touch-Control and tactical free-kicks enhance the franchise's playability. Add the large variety of game modes and licenses and you get one of the best sports games on the market.
  5. Sep 26, 2012
    90
    I couldn't wish for more. The faster pace really does wonders for FIFA 13. It might take a while until you get used to it, but that's a couple of hours well invested as you get much more dynamic, tense and unpredictable game of football.
  6. 89
    Retaining its position at the top of the league, FIFA 13 shows us yet again that EA Sports is the daddy of iterative improvements. It may not be a huge leap over FIFA 12, but it remains the very best football game available on consoles. An easy recommendation.
  7. Sep 24, 2012
    80
    There are some annoyances--the physics engine feels like it's been overly tinkered, and the shortcomings of career mode's become apparent when you step out of Europe's top leagues. However, it succeeds at one key task that it sets out to do: render FIFA 12 obsolete. You can wear last year's jersey, but you won't want to play last year's game any longer.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 98
  2. Negative: 49 out of 98
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I don't understand why this game has so many negative reviews, because it is awesome. There is no need to make big changes to the game every year, because unlike last PES games, FIFA is already great, why would you make profound changes to it? It just needs a little tweaking in some features. After playing FIFA 13 for a few days, I went to play FIFA 12 online against a friend of mine who hasn't got the new one yet, and guess what: FIFA 12 IS OFFICIALLY OBSOLETE!! Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    An improvement over FIFA 12. Passing the ball and possession is much easier and players make better runs as well as getting into goal scoring positions. The AI still needs work as I have let in many goals due to my goalkeeping running out and missing an easy catch/punch and also I've missed many chances by my striker running into a defending then both of them falling over each other. There are many game modes, seasons is back and so is ultimate team and then there is career mode, be a pro and exhibition games where you can replay classic matches that have happened in the past week in the real world Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    When I played the demo I immediately told myself that I wouldn't buy the game, however temptation got the better of me and I haven't looked back since. EA has done it again with FIFA, the online play is excellent again and career mode is full of little tweaks which make it a better game. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    4
    Unfortunately FIFA 13 suffers from the same online play that it's predassor had before. It is like playing two completely different games online and offline. Offline is fun challenging and makes the game as good as it can be. Online however is a different story the game is slow the computers are less intelligent do not make runs and preform unnatural moves. The seasons mode is a nice change however the gameplay still is not right. Take call of duty for example the same gameplay feel offlline as it is online, FIFA just simply misses the mark.

    Offline 9/10
    Online 4/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    The graphic are absolutely amazing and the faces look very real. But FIFA hasn't changed its look for ages ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    1
    I wish this game had some competition because right now it has NONE and EA knows it. The first touch is BAD, It's a good idea and does change the way the game is played, but when you have players like Messi, Iniesta and Xavi mis-controlling first touches to the extent that you'd expect from players from League 1 teams such as Tranmere, It ruins the game. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    0
    Truly the WORST next-gen Fifa by far. Don't believe the hype, don't go with the professional reviewers' opinion, who clearly get paid or otherwise benefited directly by EA. The game has countless issues, both online and offline, it has tons of bugs (that will probably never be fixed because EA has proved beyond all doubts that they don't care).

    The gameplay is so broken, the game speed is laughable and ridiculously high, the passing system sucks, the UT servers are down very often, the new first touch controls are a joke. Everything about this game sucks. EVERYTHING.

    And EA simply don't care because they sold their 7 million copies. A zero is perhaps too much for this game, I wish I could give it a negative review number.

    I want my money back. Just go see what's happening in the EA's official forum, 90% of the people writing there are just mad an the game and EA.

    Worst.Fifa.ever.
    Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.