Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    100
    The game looks the part, sounds the part, and certainly plays the part. Topped off with a wealth of options that will keep you playing for hours on end, and an addictive online mode, Fight Night is just what the game's subtitle suggest...it's a Champion.
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    100
    We are finally beginning to see innovation within sports video games and Fight Night Champion truly is step forward not only for boxing but sports video games in general. It not only proves that stories can be an integral part of a sports video game but can be one of it's best. Fight Night Champion is the best boxing game out and in the conversation of best sports game of this generation.
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    100
    Champion mode is so good, in fact, that the more traditional Legacy mode feels hopelessly archaic and soulless by comparison.
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    95
    One of the most complete sports simulations I've played and by far the best in the series. If you're after the quintessential boxing experience, you've found it.
  5. Feb 25, 2011
    93
    Fight Night Champion for the Xbox 360 stands as the best installment of the franchise to date.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    92
    Did we really need Fight Night Champion? The answer is a mighty "Yes". EA got a better control scheme and achieved true techical excellence.
  7. Mar 12, 2011
    92
    A massive game, highly refined with many modes and a perfectly balanced gameplay and with a very high longevity: undoubtedly the best title in the series and best boxing game out there. Great in singleplayer, addicting in multiplayer.
  8. Apr 14, 2011
    91
    Boxing may be more of a niche market than it used to be but Fight Night Champion is still a glistening jewel in EA Sport's championship belt.
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    91
    As it stands, Fight Night Champion is the best in the series to date for me, making the sweet science all the sweeter.
  10. Mar 7, 2011
    91
    All this doesn't just add up to one hell of a robust videogame package; Fight Night Champion is also the best thing to happen to boxing since 1997.
  11. Mar 1, 2011
    91
    EA has taken its time to make another Fight Night game, but it has given a new twist to the game, making it one of the best boxing games ever.
  12. Feb 23, 2011
    91
    One of the biggest, and most appreciated, changes is the toning down of the training mini-games. In story mode, you hit the bag every great once in a while but you aren't required to lift weights and run laps in twitch-reaction style as you might expect.
  13. May 24, 2011
    90
    Stunning visuals and a great champion mode make Fight Night Champion the best game in the series.
  14. Apr 28, 2011
    90
    With a great new single-player mode, the addictive and engrossing Legacy gameplay, online Xbox Live matches, the usual collection of boxing's best fighters in history and the further enhancement of great gameplay and boxing physics, Fight Night Champion packs a punch of excellence as an undisputed champion of gaming greatness.
  15. Mar 27, 2011
    90
    Champion mode pulls inspiration from the likes of Rocky and Raging Bull to craft a narrative around the sport that people still find engrossing. It's the perfect path for the series to take and we can only hope the next Fight Night builds on this promise, telling more tales from the world of boxing.
  16. Mar 23, 2011
    90
    As beautiful as it is barbaric, and as technical as the player wants it to be. [Issue#107, p.90]
  17. Mar 17, 2011
    90
    Finish with the option to inflict pain online to friends and random contenders and you're looking at the most definitely Fight Night yet.
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    90
    If you missed out on Fight Night Round 4, then EA's latest release with Champion is most certainly the heavyweight contender in the battle for your Xbox 360 disc tray. If you're after more of the same with the Legacy mode, and want some new talent to compete with online, then Champion will no doubt prove a worthy purchase, though if it's purely the entertaining, yet short-lived Champion mode that is of interest for you, then a rental is perhaps best advised.
  19. Mar 15, 2011
    90
    The best boxing game of all time. History and legacy modes are great, and technically is really impressive.
  20. 90
    Champion Mode's story makes you care more about the fights. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  21. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    For fans of Fight Night, everything they know and love about the series is still here, looking and controlling even better. For everyone else, the Champion mode is the game-changer, and it's hard to imagine anyone who is a fan of good storytelling not getting pulled in deep. Clich├ęs or not, Fight Night Champion scores a KO.
  22. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    Definitely an improvement over its already incredible lineage. The Champion mode is fantastic, and nearly worth the price of admission on its own. Couple that with the rock-solid gameplay and suite of great online modes, and you have a game that's fit for not only huge boxing fans, but anyone that likes to beat up on their friends a bit.
  23. Feb 24, 2011
    90
    Minor niggles aside, Champion stands alone as the most polished and playable boxing simulation ever released, with the new adjustments and additions easily prolonging Fight Night's relatively uncontested reign over the genre.
  24. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Some areas shine brighter than others, but the developer's inspired Champion mode is the star feature that must be experienced.
  25. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    The story mode adds an entire new aspect to EA's boxing masterpiece, at the same time polishing the physics simulation and overall gameplay of the career. If you like the sport, it's again a must buy.
  26. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Fight Night Champion floats like a butterfly and stings like a bee, times two. A solid knock-out!
  27. Feb 24, 2011
    88
    Champion is a fantastic boxing game that really delivers the sport in a realistic way for fight fans. Additions like the Champion mode makes this iteration shine even more.
  28. Feb 25, 2011
    87
    Fight Night fans and fighting game veterans will stand-up and applaud at the stunning visuals and solid mechanics that Fight Night Champion brings to the table.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 8 out of 36
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    I couldn't be more disappointed in this game. I had very high hopes, considering their last installment was good. All I found was a clone ofI couldn't be more disappointed in this game. I had very high hopes, considering their last installment was good. All I found was a clone of Fight Night 4, including Legacy mode which was a complete debacle, not to mention the horribly difficult training games. Online mode has many exploits and crashes constantly, and in offline mode the game crashes constantly as well. I sold it the same week, on ebay. Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Now i'm not a boxing fan but picked up the last night Fight Night Round 4 when I purchased a new console. I downloaded the demo of ChampionNow i'm not a boxing fan but picked up the last night Fight Night Round 4 when I purchased a new console. I downloaded the demo of Champion and it just felt different. Much more snappy and responsive. I pre-ordered and received Champion a day before release and played it for about 3 hours. I am totally blown away with this release. Everything feels just right. Much quicker response wise and the graphics do feel much more polished. The deformation of the characters are brilliant and with the blood effects included for good measure things are clear cut :). I've not played it online just yet but the concept of Gyms are a welcome edition. I am around 2 hours through the Champion story mode which is a great edition. Maybe not being an avid fight fan helps me enjoy this game more than others who have left a review on meta. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    A Truly Great Sequel. Improved Graphics, Gameplay And Physics. The New Champion Mode May Feel Shallow At Times, But It's A Great New AdditionA Truly Great Sequel. Improved Graphics, Gameplay And Physics. The New Champion Mode May Feel Shallow At Times, But It's A Great New Addition To The Series. This Game Is A Must Buy For Every Fan Of The Series. Full Review »