Fight Night Champion Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A new installment in EA Sports' boxing series will enter the ring in early 2011.
Buy On
  • Developer: EA Canada
  • Genre(s): Sports, Traditional, Individual, Boxing, Boxing, Combat, Boxing / Martial Arts
  • # of players: 2 Online
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fight Night Champion Characters Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    100
    The game looks the part, sounds the part, and certainly plays the part. Topped off with a wealth of options that will keep you playing for hours on end, and an addictive online mode, Fight Night is just what the game's subtitle suggest...it's a Champion.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    91
    Boxing may be more of a niche market than it used to be but Fight Night Champion is still a glistening jewel in EA Sport's championship belt.
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    90
    Champion mode pulls inspiration from the likes of Rocky and Raging Bull to craft a narrative around the sport that people still find engrossing. It's the perfect path for the series to take and we can only hope the next Fight Night builds on this promise, telling more tales from the world of boxing.
  4. Mar 11, 2011
    85
    The best Fight Night game so far. This title is absolutely a must buy because of all the new additions, and the new Champion mode is simply amazing!
  5. May 2, 2011
    83
    If you are a hardcore boxing fan and love grinding for stats and money and slowly rising up huge leaderboards then Fight Night Champion is probably the game for you, although from what I can tell, it doesn't really add anything to what you already had in Fight Night 4 other than the whole money thing. Sure, you can square off against 50+ licensed boxers, but for me, the big attraction was the cool story mode with enough blood and F-bombs to force a Mature rating. But even this gritty and realistic boxing story is only good for a few hours of violent fun, making Fight Night Champion a rental for casual boxers and a wait-for-budget-price upgrade for everyone else.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2011
    80
    The 'big' new mode is pointless and instantly forgettable, but the rest of the game is as solid and cocksure as ever. [Issue#70, p.84]
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    There's just not quite enough meat on Fight Night Champion's bones to recommend it to owners of previous games, however, and Champion mode itself is little more than a brief diversion you can bash through in an afternoon.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 9 out of 40
  1. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Now i'm not a boxing fan but picked up the last night Fight Night Round 4 when I purchased a new console. I downloaded the demo of ChampionNow i'm not a boxing fan but picked up the last night Fight Night Round 4 when I purchased a new console. I downloaded the demo of Champion and it just felt different. Much more snappy and responsive. I pre-ordered and received Champion a day before release and played it for about 3 hours. I am totally blown away with this release. Everything feels just right. Much quicker response wise and the graphics do feel much more polished. The deformation of the characters are brilliant and with the blood effects included for good measure things are clear cut :). I've not played it online just yet but the concept of Gyms are a welcome edition. I am around 2 hours through the Champion story mode which is a great edition. Maybe not being an avid fight fan helps me enjoy this game more than others who have left a review on meta. Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Best boxing game of all time, and the most well rounded simulation fighting experience on this generation of consoles. Champion mode sets aBest boxing game of all time, and the most well rounded simulation fighting experience on this generation of consoles. Champion mode sets a new direction for sports titles - tapping into the drama and emotion that we see in sports movies and combining that with world class simulation gameplay. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    Fight Night Champion is a good-ass game. Having not played Round 4, the leap from Round 3 to Champion is pretty damn crazy. The storyline modeFight Night Champion is a good-ass game. Having not played Round 4, the leap from Round 3 to Champion is pretty damn crazy. The storyline mode they added is a nice diversion, but the best part of the game is the actual boxing. The stick controls have been dramatically improved, and the game looks and flows much better now. The motion blur makes fights look mad cool. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think that Fight Night Champion is one of the best boxing games out there. Champion mode is really good, makes you want to play the whole thing without stopping, as for the legacy mode there's not much improvement from before, still i think this game is a must play. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    7
    Nice game. I started to play it then i was just bored. Then i watched The Fighter with Christian Bale and gained wish for playingNice game. I started to play it then i was just bored. Then i watched The Fighter with Christian Bale and gained wish for playing again...so...nice cinematic experience of intro campaign, hard AI. Expand
  6. May 20, 2011
    5
    the graphics are pretty good and the sound is top notch (whats with the swearing in games these days?) but the controls for this game stillthe graphics are pretty good and the sound is top notch (whats with the swearing in games these days?) but the controls for this game still feel a little sluggish, the fighters take forever to just move around the ring and using the analogue to punch just feels very random and you dont always feel in control of your fighters punches/moves. overall for me an average game. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2011
    0
    Sorry, forgot to score it along with my rant. Its terrible. Gets 2 marks for the visuals and -8 for a rubbish interpretation of boxing. EASorry, forgot to score it along with my rant. Its terrible. Gets 2 marks for the visuals and -8 for a rubbish interpretation of boxing. EA hang your head. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews