Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. To put it simply, Fight Night Round 3 kicks our ass. [Apr 2006, p.74]
  2. When your opponent leans into that haymaker, it's a bone-crunching delight: Sweat sprays from his head, bloody spittle shoots from his mouthpiece, and his legs turn to Jell-O. Now that's the sweet science.
  3. 94
    Fight Night is a far bigger improvement on Round 2 than Round 2 was on the original. I'd have bought it for the changes in punching and style options alone, much less the vastly improved graphics, sound, and other fringe benefits.
  4. A fantastic boxing title that really delivers the action in a realistic way for fight fans, and those discovering the sweet science for the first time on their home console.
  5. Fight Night round 3 doesn’t radically change the series but the gameplay is so incredibly solid that the game is still heavily recommended.
  6. Unless boxing disgusts you, you do have to own this, and I’ll take anyone on in the ring if despite the single player frustrations (if anyone suggests turning down the difficulty I’ll slug them) they can’t see the beauty and polish that has gone into the gameplay.
  7. With online play that is surprisingly smooth and lag free, an offline career mode that is surprisingly fun to play and graphics to die for, Fight Night Round 3 is a superb all-around title.
  8. Boxing games tend to get a bit dry after a while, but I've been playing this non-stop since I got it. I've become at one with my fighter and have really immersed myself in the tactics involved in a boxing match.
  9. This complexity demands your total concentration, resulting in an all-consuming gaming experience. You're gonna lose hours to this game.
  10. Graphically sumptuous, deceptively deep and utterly essential. [Issue#5, p.96]
  11. We look forward to the day when mo-cap boxers move like they do in real-life. [Issue #6]
  12. Fight Night Round 3 should be considered the first real sports game to grace the Xbox 360. EA’s other efforts were fine in areas, but it Fight Night Round 3 is the most complete next-gen sports game of the whole lot.
  13. Round 3 certainly doesn't shirk in the gameplay department one bit, as it has everything Round 2 offered and more. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  14. Fight Night Round 3 takes the sweet science of boxing to bloody new levels, and he results are certainly impressive. [Mar 2006, p.40]
  15. 90
    It's far more than just a really, really good-looking boxing game; it's a little glimpse into the future, and a remarkably good yardstick for ongoing reference.
  16. Overall, despite a few low blows - like the massive quantities of in game ads - FNR3 is a fantastic boxing game and really shines as a next generation gaming experience.
  17. 90
    The best boxing game in the business keeps getting better.
  18. Everything is photo realistic and EA have really delivered the goods here, when you see it in motion it looks amazing.
  19. 90
    Fight Night: Round 3 has graphics that are reminiscent of a Square Enix film, sound that is rich and realistic, and gameplay that is intuitive and painfully addictive.
  20. A pretty-looking, competent boxing-simulator. Besides graphics, there are not any other major improvements over Round 2. [May 2006]
  21. But if you want a staggering multiplayer fight game that looks better than anything else on Xbox 360, get this.
  22. While the career mode's lack of difficulty is disappointing, those looking for a challenge will still have plenty of that from the well-made online modes. Fight Night Round 3 is most definitely a winner.
  23. 90
    Head-and-shoulders above other EA Sports Xbox 360 launch games, and is the first game in the sports genre to evolve beyond the current generation, and is worth a splurge, even if just for a few hard hits.
  24. Between the supreme visual polish and deep, excellent play, this is the uncontested champ.
  25. 90
    One of the first absolutely must-own titles for Xbox 360. The controls have been greatly improved over last year's game, with much-abused control schemes getting reined in a bit.
  26. Fight Night Round 3 is an amazing leaps-and-bounds production that puts the excellent Round 2 to shame, if that's even possible.
  27. Boxers look exactly like their real-life counterparts. Their faces are perfect, and their body styles are equally impressive. While you're taking punches, you'll see the damage done on the boxer's faces, including swelling and blood.
  28. The graphics are brilliant, especially in High Definition, and the sound is rock solid, and even more so in Dolby Digital 5.1.
  29. It, much like Oscar De La Hoya, not only looks really good but also puts up quite a memorable fight well worth your time and money.
  30. Thankfully the talented folks at EA Chicago weren't relying solely on visual beauty to sell this beast; FNR3 plays as good as she looks, but there are some changes from last years FNR2 that might not sit well with fans of last years game.
  31. The AI is admittedly lacking making this a game that is best played with friends, either online or off. However you play, Fight Night Round 3 is the best recreation of boxing ever made.
  32. Sure, FNR3 has some small elements such as an abundance of advertising in the arenas and some ever-so-minor clipping issues, but it is really hard to deny the clarity and quality presented in these fights.
  33. While the lack of modes and a some weak AI (Career Mode tends to be fairly easy) keeps Fight Night Round 3 from being a system seller, multiplayer is a blast and with millions of opponents online waiting to fight in the ring, the replay value of FNR3 is pretty high.
  34. The visuals are beyond amazing, doubly so for the Xbox 360 version, and the presentation alone makes this game worth playing, if only to watch a devastating knockout in slow motion. However, the lack of solid A.I. can lead to the game growing boring quickly.
  35. Fight Night 3 is loaded with replay since you can retire a fighter and change weight classes and create a new boxer.
  36. This game could literally be re-released in mere months with sliders, higher difficulty modes and more options, ala Ninja Gaiden Black, and sell like hotcakes.
  37. Overall Fight Night Round 3 is a great game on its own merits, bringing with it some of the best commentary in any game, which is extremely informative and can really help during bouts.
  38. 85
    A fantastic sports title, but negligible improvements in the career mode and idiotic computer AI hold the game back from true greatness.
  39. Put simply, this title is also amazing to look at. The graphical candy of this title will hold you for a while. My suggestion would be to just turn off the sound if you intend to show the game off.
  40. While Fight Night Round 3 was delayed from being a launch title, I can't help but feel that some aspects were skipped or omitted due to time constraints, mainly because there are portions of this game that are flawless.
  41. 85
    While the online modes stand out as superb, the career mode can’t be overlooked and ends up being a great deal of fun. Put simply, this title is also amazing to look at.
  42. EA could have put in so much more to provide an ultimate boxing experience yet what they have offered is a bare bones fighter that simply looks good and plays well but after extensive play becomes rather underwhelming.
  43. 85
    I recommend picking it up, if only for the awesome multiplayer, deep Create a Boxer system, and smooth control. Even with the AI problems, this title is sure to give fans of the Sweet Science plenty of jaw breaking, rib crunching fun.
  44. I was not totally disappointed with Fight Night Round 3, but I did walk away feeling like something was missing.
  45. Fight Night is a fantastic game that even after the short career mode, will keep you going with it’s hard hitting and intense multiplayer.
  46. Admittedly, most of the improvements and updates found in Round 3 are merely incremental, but they're still enough to warrant stepping into the ring for another bout.
  47. Round 3 addresses the imbalances of the previous games for a more realistic but still gripping experience. [Apr 2006, p.88]
  48. Fight Night Round 3 may not have a spotless career, but with such hard hitting graphics and intense Vs. action, we're willing to forgive its foibles and trumpet its unparalleled successes.
  49. Sure, it is not perfect, takes a step back on the career mode, but does provide many satisfying hours of boxing action.
  50. Plagued by imbalance, the Round 3 career can serve up over 50 bouts before one goes the distance. The new stun punch – a thunderclap of a haymaker – helps to ensure first to third round knockouts for the vast majority of fights. [Apr 2006, p.82]
  51. The 360 version of Fight Night Round 3 is by far the most impressive boxing title ever released, even if the gameplay differences between this and previous versions are fairly incremental.
  52. With a mostly competent online mode, and a lengthy and fun career, this really is the best (not to mention, only) boxing game for the Xbox 360.
  53. It may well be beautiful to look at, but the fighting engine, although improved, is so similar to that of Fight Night Round 2 that series veterans may feel somewhat aggrieved when faced with essentially the same videogame. [Apr 2006, p.112]
  54. EA pumps up their premier boxing franchise with genuinely jaw-dropping visuals, realistic back-and-forth action and superb Xbox Live support.
  55. The visuals play more of an important role than just eye-candy.
  56. It's a shame that the actual design of the game can't make the most of the action, and so it's questionable whether Round 3 will sustain any longterm interest beyond impressing your mates on a Friday night.
  57. It’s the best looking Xbox 360 game to date and the in-ring action is the Fight Night series' best ever.
  58. EA have delivered a superb-looking game but unfortunately the gooey, cumbersome controls have let the game down badly.
  59. 80
    While there could have been more to advance the series in its first trip to the Xbox 360, the violent visuals more than make it worth a few rounds for any fight fans.
  60. Victories are initially too simple and training dull but professional bouts hugely engaging. Patient defence, careful countering, well-timed combinations and conserving stamina are crucial.
  61. The third and arguably best Fight Night game is a fantastic fighter, but also stands out as the most flawed in the series, and reprehensible in its commercialism.
  62. Having just paid 40 to 60 dollars for this game, you shouldn't have to be bombarded by advertisements. What's worse, all of the Xbox 360 Achievements are all related to these sponsors.
  63. This overall spectacle sometimes approaches realism, like watching a bout on television. But it’s only a fleeting effect, like those newspaper puzzles where if you stare at the dots long enough in just the right way, a three-dimensional image appears.
  64. Like a fierce haymaker to the jaw, the visuals of Fight Night Round 3 will knock you on your rear end.
  65. 70
    A fundamentally good, yet rather disappointing experience. Players looking for the real next generation boxing title are just going to have to wait until next year; while Fight Night: Round 3 looks great, it moves like a set of rusty gears, and has far too many balance issues to be an enjoyable experience online.
  66. If EA Sports wants Fight Night to capture the attention of boxing fans, it needs to dramatically improve the single player game. Online play only goes so far.
  67. 60
    Other than the graphics, Fight Night Round 3 does very little to progress the boxing game series over its predecessors. It isn’t a total K.O. but does show that the series will have to work a little bit harder on newer features and glitches the next time around if it’s to avoid becoming stale.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. ChrisP.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best boxing games. Good graphics, good gameplay.
  2. KoolioS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite game$. It is awesome the graphics are great!You also can not beat the punch control or the first person part.
  3. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    Of the bunch, this is the only one I played, but I liked it a lot. Made my boxer and commenced to laying waste to the AI on my way toOf the bunch, this is the only one I played, but I liked it a lot. Made my boxer and commenced to laying waste to the AI on my way to obtaining belts in multiple weight classes. I didn't play online or anything because I don't like you and I'd probably get my ass whooped anyway, so I can't comment on that portion of it. If you are into going through people's stuff they don't want anymore while they are watching, you can probably get this for about 25 cents at a garage sale. Full Review »