Fight Night Round 3 Xbox 360

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 262
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KoolioS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This is one of my favorite game$. It is awesome the graphics are great!You also can not beat the punch control or the first person part.
  2. ChrisP.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best boxing games. Good graphics, good gameplay.
  3. KillWIll
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Amazing Game. Any reviewer that gave this game below a 90 needs to get there creditials checked. Or maybe that need to get over there hate for EA. If you ever wanted to know what it is like to be a pro boxer, pick this game up.
  4. KenN.
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Wow. I am not a boxing fan, but I saw this and it instantly is on my must have list. Finally, a real next-gen game I can sink my teeth into.
  5. RichardS.
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Best Fighting Game I have played.
  6. DC
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Best boxing game ever.
  7. MikeK.
    Feb 23, 2006
    9
    Awesome. As a big fan of the series, I am thrilled with this new addition. The career mode is limited, but it's still decent fun to play. Advice: Turn off the ability for the ref to stop the fight. I was having trouble getting the CPU to last more than one round, it was pretty frustrating. I love that haymakers are much more limited now, and I find the slowdown in gameply to be more Awesome. As a big fan of the series, I am thrilled with this new addition. The career mode is limited, but it's still decent fun to play. Advice: Turn off the ability for the ref to stop the fight. I was having trouble getting the CPU to last more than one round, it was pretty frustrating. I love that haymakers are much more limited now, and I find the slowdown in gameply to be more realistic than previous versions. Good stuff. Can't wait for the bell to sound and Round 4 to begin. Expand
  8. BillS.
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    killer game. Those guys from gamespot must have it out for the EA crew. It's understandable with some of their latest releases like NBA and Madden but come on! Give credit where credits due or you'll lose all of yours...
  9. JayB.
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    great game. Next year better a.i. with an improved single player career mode and there is no greater boxing game on the market.
  10. RanglahF.
    Feb 25, 2006
    10
    Best game for the 360 period.
  11. JeffA.
    Feb 26, 2006
    8
    Pros: Truly next gen graphics. Excellent control options. Good commentary during fights. Cons: Madden eyes (look dull. EA has never gotten this right). No ripping music into the game. Generic fighter entrances. Made up fighters faces don't look natural. At least in comparison to real fighters. I listed more negative than positive but what EA did well they really did well so the Pros: Truly next gen graphics. Excellent control options. Good commentary during fights. Cons: Madden eyes (look dull. EA has never gotten this right). No ripping music into the game. Generic fighter entrances. Made up fighters faces don't look natural. At least in comparison to real fighters. I listed more negative than positive but what EA did well they really did well so the negatives aren't as glaring as they could be. A solid effort by EA. Expand
  12. RyanL.
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    it is so real and more challenging i loved it.
  13. ALee
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    This is the first game that actually convinced me PS2 and XBOX are obselete... The next generation of gaming consoles have arrived!
  14. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2006
    8
    The only 360 game so far to really suck me in from the get-go (but that's not saying a whole lot). I'm completely hooked...I think about it all day at work. This is definitely the best 360 game out and it's gotten me extra thirsty for the games of March...worth checking out.
  15. ChrisD.
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    finally next-gen gaming is here! I have never in my life seen a game with graphics as intense as this!
  16. GaryE.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    As a boxing fan this game is fantastic. The career made is a little weak but still great. The 360 had truely come into its own.
  17. JamesL.
    Mar 16, 2006
    9
    I loved this game. its awesome. Before this the last boxing game I played was like Knockout Kings 2001. Obviuosly ive missed out because I havent played Round 1 or 2.
  18. MatC.
    Mar 21, 2006
    7
    Why must every boxing game be oriented towards early round KO's? If you want short bouts, do an Olympic style. Otherwise, if you want real, pro bouts, expect them to average 8 rounds!
  19. JobA.
    Apr 27, 2006
    9
    All I have to say is that this title is absolutley awsome.I've played just about every boxing game for every system as long as they have made them and none come close or even compare to this one.The third installment is by far the best and the only reason I didn't give it a ten is because the career mode could of been just a little bit stronger but I give it a 9.5.
  20. TimH.
    May 5, 2006
    10
    The best fighting game ever made period, no other game comes close to this with regard to online play, your heart pounds your hands sweat amazing stuff. Only prob is if you loose it is the worst game ever!
  21. DavidS.
    May 8, 2006
    9
    So the graphics are amazing... if you use one of their characters (ex: Muhamuad Ali...) but in the career the graphics stumble... dont get me wrong stillnext gen but not as nice.. all in all buy it.
  22. AnthonyV.
    Jun 9, 2006
    6
    An flawed, overglorified tech demo with some of the most intrusive videogame advertisements in history. For $60 I can buy a week's worth of food at Burger King and I'd rather not see their stupid mascot gallavanting around while I'm trying to play a game.
  23. DavidB.
    Jul 14, 2006
    7
    The graphics in this game are outstanding considering it is a very early release for the 360 and the controls are smooth, very quick and responsive. However the game lacks depth especially in the career mode. In previous fight night titles players were able to change most aspects of there fighter including ring girls, ring entrance and entrance music but FNR3 does not let you do any of The graphics in this game are outstanding considering it is a very early release for the 360 and the controls are smooth, very quick and responsive. However the game lacks depth especially in the career mode. In previous fight night titles players were able to change most aspects of there fighter including ring girls, ring entrance and entrance music but FNR3 does not let you do any of this. Also in previous fight night titles you were able to view this list of fighters rankings but this is not possible in FNR3. Now you must select and fight who the computer tells you. Also once you master the punch controls this game is very easy even on hard. I enjoyed this game but it seems very unfinished and could have been an absolute hit with a bit more time and thought. Expand
  24. RedXIII
    Oct 16, 2006
    8
    I had this game for PS2 before I upgraded to the 360 and I must say that this game blows the PS2s version out of the water. The graphics are just amazing, the voice over is the same but still good sometimes mildly annoying, The gameplay is just great, the online is good, though the achievements are a little too easy to attain, but hey its a quick 1000 points to your score. Great boxing I had this game for PS2 before I upgraded to the 360 and I must say that this game blows the PS2s version out of the water. The graphics are just amazing, the voice over is the same but still good sometimes mildly annoying, The gameplay is just great, the online is good, though the achievements are a little too easy to attain, but hey its a quick 1000 points to your score. Great boxing game for fans of the sport or if you just like beating the snot out of someone till every part of their face is swollen and bloody. Recommended. Expand
  25. StefanP.
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    This game is the second game I bought. I got it used for $40 but I would have paid 100$. Thats how fun it is. The game play is like you are right next to the fighters.
  26. HectorT.
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    I think this is one of the best games i've played, but my question is this, why haven't they made another one, they keep making a bunch of the same games, but you have to wait yrs. for another boxing game , any body who has played the game has enjoyed it ,I now the sales where there. so why isn't there any info on a new boxing game release, please send me a answer if your I think this is one of the best games i've played, but my question is this, why haven't they made another one, they keep making a bunch of the same games, but you have to wait yrs. for another boxing game , any body who has played the game has enjoyed it ,I now the sales where there. so why isn't there any info on a new boxing game release, please send me a answer if your even planning to make another one , cause if your not your leaving a wide part of the consumer wants open for grab , if you don't have any idea on how to go by making the new boxing game , give me a call or drop me an e-mail I have so many different directions to go with the next one, it could be your best and most profitable one jet. Expand
  27. RonnieS.
    Jun 3, 2007
    8
    Graphic wise, I think the game is excellent. But I also think the champ isn't acknowledged enough (when entering the ring). If this was my project, I would make it more realistic; like having negotiations by managers, being able to select a top trainer when the boxer breaks in the top 15th rank, having at least two to three color commentators at ringside, three to four major Graphic wise, I think the game is excellent. But I also think the champ isn't acknowledged enough (when entering the ring). If this was my project, I would make it more realistic; like having negotiations by managers, being able to select a top trainer when the boxer breaks in the top 15th rank, having at least two to three color commentators at ringside, three to four major sanctioning belts and three to four minor belts that the boxer can wear in the ring. Pay per view events for the elite boxers, along with some undercard boxing, have boxing venues from around the world that boxers can agree on (location),Wearing apparell (robes,name brand gloves, custom trunks, shoes, etc) a period in a boxer's career when he is challenged in another weight class (and not being force to fight in another weight class/hence negoiate for big money pay days). old time boxers I would have as unlockables in the exhibition mode only(in career mode, only fight the current boxers). having a variety of ring walk music (from rap to hip hop to gospel to mexican/puerto rican, etc). two to three corner men(trainer/cutman/asst.coach). Acknowledgment of the boxer's height,weight,fight record, and city he fights from during the introductions. and finally referee instructions. Please don't take this as being too critical, but I've talked to several people, and they have all said, it would be nice to see it more realistic! Thank you, for letting me share my thoughts, Ronnie. Expand
  28. LiefS.
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    Being ranked in the top 400 in the world i can say that the gameplay is as amazing as the graphics, my one and only complaint is the roster, there are just too many boxers in the game that either nobody on live pick, or they are just irrelevant in todays boxing, in the next game im hoping to see more pernell whitakers and less jeff lacys.
  29. DarrenD.
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Brilliant boxing game only let down by the shortness of the career mode and easy achievements.
  30. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Fight Night round 3 is a boxing game developed by EA Chicago and published by
    ea sports, is this one worth picking up? or should you leave it in the bargain bin
    Gameplay Their are only a few game modes some being Career, Fight Now, and ESPN Classics In career mode you fight your way to the big title, train in between and try to make it big, fight now is what you would expect it to be
    Fight Night round 3 is a boxing game developed by EA Chicago and published by
    ea sports, is this one worth picking up? or should you leave it in the bargain bin

    Gameplay
    Their are only a few game modes some being Career, Fight Now, and ESPN Classics In career mode you fight your way to the big title, train in between and try to
    make it big, fight now is what you would expect it to be you can just go fight
    espn classics, is where you attempt to relive classic boxing matches. From personal experience you will be spending most of your time in the career mode
    for that's where its at. The actual boxing mechanics in this game are impeccable
    you use the right stick to punch and the left stick to move while the face buttons do other things. How it works is you motion the right stick how you want
    to punch, for example if you want to throw a right jab you push the stick up towards the right side, its very deep and rewarding. 9/10 Presentation

    Fight Nigh round 3 looks beautiful even though its close to 6 years old now
    the fighters have great depth and you truly feel like you at a boxing event.
    The music fits well with everything and when you get hit hard, you can tell. The one complaint I have about the presentation is the announcers they don't have very many lines and can get very repetitive but it never gets to
    the point where you want to mute your tv. Other than that though its very nice
    7/10

    replayability

    Will you be playing fight night over again? well, I would like to think so I have
    had this game for a long time and I'm still coming back to it, the depth in the
    fighting is something fantastic and the career mode will have you coming back.
    8/10

    So in short this game is a great buy, if you haven't picked it up you can from
    your local game store for under 5 dollars usually and is most assuredly worth it

    overall rating 8/10 "Great"
    Expand
  31. Aug 22, 2014
    8
    Of the bunch, this is the only one I played, but I liked it a lot. Made my boxer and commenced to laying waste to the AI on my way to obtaining belts in multiple weight classes. I didn't play online or anything because I don't like you and I'd probably get my ass whooped anyway, so I can't comment on that portion of it. If you are into going through people's stuff they don't wantOf the bunch, this is the only one I played, but I liked it a lot. Made my boxer and commenced to laying waste to the AI on my way to obtaining belts in multiple weight classes. I didn't play online or anything because I don't like you and I'd probably get my ass whooped anyway, so I can't comment on that portion of it. If you are into going through people's stuff they don't want anymore while they are watching, you can probably get this for about 25 cents at a garage sale. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 85
    A fantastic sports title, but negligible improvements in the career mode and idiotic computer AI hold the game back from true greatness.
  2. 90
    Between the supreme visual polish and deep, excellent play, this is the uncontested champ.
  3. 90
    Head-and-shoulders above other EA Sports Xbox 360 launch games, and is the first game in the sports genre to evolve beyond the current generation, and is worth a splurge, even if just for a few hard hits.