User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 88
  2. Negative: 11 out of 88
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2010
    3
    This is a boxing game for people that like Street Fighter, this is not a boxing game for fans of the Sweet Science. The problems here are far too numerous to mention, but I'll try:

    1) Tedious, extremely difficult minigames. Nobody in the world wants to play these, and if you auto-play them, you only get 50% training effectiveness, severely limiting your progress throughout your career.
    This is a boxing game for people that like Street Fighter, this is not a boxing game for fans of the Sweet Science. The problems here are far too numerous to mention, but I'll try:

    1) Tedious, extremely difficult minigames. Nobody in the world wants to play these, and if you auto-play them, you only get 50% training effectiveness, severely limiting your progress throughout your career. They're boring, frustrating, and psychotically difficult. I have never actually gotten Champion once on a couple of them.

    2) Bad movement and collision detection. A lot was made about this game having real physics but you'll be hard pressed to find them. Even the knockdowns are canned animations, each one appearing based on what position the fighter was when he was hit with the KO punch.

    3) Cheating AI. Oh boy, this is a maddening one. The AI cheats on every level starting around Pro but becoming much, much worse as you get to Champion and especially Greatest of All Time (GOAT). The computer can take dozens of KO punches and stay on his feet, get up as many times as you can knock him down, has godlike statistics compared to yours, can easily knock you down with 1 punch (often no "ringing blow" stun punch beforehand), and has limitless stamina, health, and regeneration. With a created boxer with very high stats (I had painfully trained by repeating training via reset over and over) was on a 24-0 rampage with 24 KO's playing on Champion difficulty, I had no problem at all until I fought Tommy Morrison and I then lost to him 38 straight times (reset and retried again). Once I knocked him down 4 times in the 3rd round but he still came back the next round to knock me out. Did I mention my boxer was 6'8 260lbs with a humongous reach? Even sticking the jab and dancing wouldn't work, as the tactic of "boxing" simply doesn't work in Fight Night 4. Slugging is -always- the most effective. I eventually gave up in frustration and decided to retire both my boxer and the game.

    4) Unrealistic AI behavior. I put the AI on Champion and GOAT and watched a bunch of classic fights to see how they played out (or would have played out). Dumb. Ridiculous. Toney over Jones in 60 seconds with a KO in the 1st. Ali over Tyson in 90 seconds with a KO in the first. I thought Ali/Tyson was a fluke so I watched it 3 more times, Ali KO'd Tyson in 1st 2nd and 1st again. Riiiiight.

    5) Bad menus. It's absurd how many things you have to click through and navigate to do -anything- in FNR4. 6) Mind numbing, repetitive, totally useless commentary. They got the real ringside guys and only got 10 pre-recorded, totally canned lines for each one? And to make it worse, they use the wrong lines at the wrong times. I knocked down Ricky Hatton 3 times in 1 round and he stuns me once and next round they talk about how I got my bell rung. Right.

    The graphics are great, there's a lot of famous fighters to choose from, and on the surface the prospects look bright. Still, this is a total failure as a boxing game, it does the sport no justice whatsoever and rewards button mashing, body punch spamming, and stupidity. It sucks in single player and it sucks online. I regret pre-ordering and purchasing it. If you are totally ignorant to boxing, you might like it, but for a hardcore boxing fan it's all flash and no heart.
    Expand
  2. johnb
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Everything about this game puts you in the ring and feeling like you are fighting the other guy. Im not one to umderstand all that stuff about physics and all, but it really feels more lifelike than round three. i guess thats what its supposed to do, and it really delivers. I never really got into boxing until i downloaded the demo, and i really understand it now. the depth of play is Everything about this game puts you in the ring and feeling like you are fighting the other guy. Im not one to umderstand all that stuff about physics and all, but it really feels more lifelike than round three. i guess thats what its supposed to do, and it really delivers. I never really got into boxing until i downloaded the demo, and i really understand it now. the depth of play is just remarkable in this game! Expand
  3. helix-
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Improving on fight night four in many ways without losing any key points. They've monumentally improved on counter punching, and using it to control the flow of the fight while improving graphics, framerate, and online content.
  4. CrayM.
    Jun 30, 2009
    3
    Now, I admit, it's early to say this. And I may come back and change this. But this is, without a doubt, the worst sequel I have ever seen in a game. And I played FN3 a lot; like every week since it's release. These knuckleheads took everything that made FN3 rule and tossed it out. Then! They took everything that blew about FN3 and made it worse. Yes. WORSE! If you like playing Now, I admit, it's early to say this. And I may come back and change this. But this is, without a doubt, the worst sequel I have ever seen in a game. And I played FN3 a lot; like every week since it's release. These knuckleheads took everything that made FN3 rule and tossed it out. Then! They took everything that blew about FN3 and made it worse. Yes. WORSE! If you like playing a twitchy fighting game where "button mashers" rule; this is for your. If you like spending as much time waiting for menus to transition as you do looking for an online game; this is the game for you. The mobility system took a nose dive. In FN3 more faster more agile players could move around the ring and pick apart opponents w/ quick hands. Now! Button mashers playing as Tyson force you into a corner and work your body until your insides turn to goo. If you have this have this game but have not opened it...STOP! Play the demo; you'll probably end up taking it back. If you've already opened it drop it off on a sucker on EBay, now! Before word gets around. Expand
  5. SuperGaz27
    Jun 30, 2009
    6
    Although the game offers improvements on the combat system and a much better structured multiplayer system, the game doesnt give you anything new. Its basically FN3 but with a slight bit of polish. Lack of variety, combination punching and unlockables which leaves the game feeling a little rushed. Once again EA have led us to believe that they have created a monlith of a game but instead Although the game offers improvements on the combat system and a much better structured multiplayer system, the game doesnt give you anything new. Its basically FN3 but with a slight bit of polish. Lack of variety, combination punching and unlockables which leaves the game feeling a little rushed. Once again EA have led us to believe that they have created a monlith of a game but instead its more like Fight Night Round 3.5 than 4, a great boxing sim it is but fans of beat em ups should steer clear as the lack of depth will begin to show after a few rounds if not 4. Expand
  6. jdog
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    The new fight night does have more depth as so many people are crowing about, but the punch control has become sluggish and terrible. I can't seem to throw a right uppercut anymore even though it was not a problem for me in the previous two titles. Personally, I feel that the punch control has become far too sluggish. Also, the training minigames are unnecessarily difficult. I like The new fight night does have more depth as so many people are crowing about, but the punch control has become sluggish and terrible. I can't seem to throw a right uppercut anymore even though it was not a problem for me in the previous two titles. Personally, I feel that the punch control has become far too sluggish. Also, the training minigames are unnecessarily difficult. I like seeing realism in the virtual ring, but I don't need to see it in a training mode that makes Legacy Mode training crazy difficult. I also don't understand why sometimes when I try putting some movement into my boxing, occasionally I just switch to southpaw instead of throwing the punch I just dialed in on the tpc. Expand
  7. John
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    "The most anticipated sports game of the year," and safe to say, lived up to that title. The improved overall gameplay is light-years ahead the previous installment. I also was impressed with the newly polished physics fight system. In FNR4, there seemed to be a boundary or wall that was holding you back from getting in close and utilizing the body shots, and am glad to say, that has been "The most anticipated sports game of the year," and safe to say, lived up to that title. The improved overall gameplay is light-years ahead the previous installment. I also was impressed with the newly polished physics fight system. In FNR4, there seemed to be a boundary or wall that was holding you back from getting in close and utilizing the body shots, and am glad to say, that has been corrected. Another improvement: strategy. The reach, height, weight, speed, and power of your boxer all play realistic factors in the newly finished AI system. Although the legacy mode does appear to have some flaws, the online "Share a Boxer" system makes up for it. You can easily download/upload a boxer from fellow "Fight Night" fans and play with their very boxers. This aspect of the game was seriously lacking, and was very glad to see the overall depth of this game. The graphics on this game are incomprehensible. It is truly something special when you can watch boxers you grew up admiring reenact their very movements to the touch of your controller. I found myself pausing the gameplay in the middle of everyone of my fights just to admire the eye-dropping visuals this game has to offer, not to mention the "PhotoGameFace" option to create yourself in the game. All in all, the limitless customization, improved gameplay/physics engine, realistic punch control, and the overall "fun factor," make Fight Night nothing short of a must-have on every boxing fan or true-gamer's shelf. Expand
  8. GuyT.
    Jul 3, 2009
    6
    The main game is an improvment on FN3 with better physics and more polished graphics. Unfortunatley for these improvements there are things that have suffered - the 'mini game' inbetween rounds is boring and pointless compared to FN3. The customisation is abismal. Prize money to earn and equipment to improve stats has been removed. Training is no longer an enjoyable part of the The main game is an improvment on FN3 with better physics and more polished graphics. Unfortunatley for these improvements there are things that have suffered - the 'mini game' inbetween rounds is boring and pointless compared to FN3. The customisation is abismal. Prize money to earn and equipment to improve stats has been removed. Training is no longer an enjoyable part of the game and the new training games are annoying and tedious compared to FN3 and I don't want to start the whole 'Button Bashing' debate again but EA's decision to alienate some of it's customers by removing the option to use Face buttons is a terrible mistake and shows the companies total disregard for it's fans. Overall a pretty good game - but not quite the Fantastic game it could've been - Shame! Expand
  9. CTucker
    Sep 1, 2009
    3
    Johns review looked like he's a developer from fight night or something. Graphics are better yes, but more time fighting and less time training or better yet re-vamp how to better your fighter. Boxing games can be soo much more fun, but this is the set bar for now. Rent b4 you buy.
  10. KurtM.
    Sep 9, 2009
    6
    This is closer to Ready 2 Rumble than the serious boxing game people wanted. It's far too fast, but you can slow it down using sliders in the settings. The training is terrible and you'll end up using auto-train all the time. None of the training techniques are real apart from spar. Getting up after a knock-down is awful too. If you swing past the middle to the other side by This is closer to Ready 2 Rumble than the serious boxing game people wanted. It's far too fast, but you can slow it down using sliders in the settings. The training is terrible and you'll end up using auto-train all the time. None of the training techniques are real apart from spar. Getting up after a knock-down is awful too. If you swing past the middle to the other side by mistake you can't get back up no matter what. Apparently they think fighters get up sideways. On any difficulty setting over "Pro", fighters will counter every other jab you punch which makes for a frustrating game. Expand
  11. RaashidA
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    How quickly you all forget. I know I'm not alone, but let me say this. The first game I saw on the 360, moving and working prior to the 360 even being on the market was Fight Night 3. And that one game cemented in my mind that I must get a next Gen. console. Now, several years later, Fight Night 4 is released, and all the critic can do is nit pick....I played it all last night and How quickly you all forget. I know I'm not alone, but let me say this. The first game I saw on the 360, moving and working prior to the 360 even being on the market was Fight Night 3. And that one game cemented in my mind that I must get a next Gen. console. Now, several years later, Fight Night 4 is released, and all the critic can do is nit pick....I played it all last night and let me tell ya it even better than the first on. The fun factor, graphics, physics, you name it....its all over the top. Its Easily a 9.5....Online,knock on wood, so far has zero lag....So yo, Critics shut up and take to the ring boy.....Its time to put up and shut up. Expand
  12. RodrigoL.
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Terrific game. Legacy mode is a little sluggish but is by far the best the series has produced yet. With the ability to choose which existing/created fighters you can include in your legacy you can hypothetically create a continuous timeline of boxing champions. Win the title with Apollo Creed, rank him #1 when you start up a legacy with Rocky Balboa. That is cool.
  13. BrandenH.
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    I love this game the graphics are amazing the fighting styles are great the physics of the game are crazy cool. The games just takes Skill to be good.
  14. ErikR
    Jul 7, 2009
    4
    People need to stop using the term realistic when it comes to this game. The graphics are realistic, the game play is not. While this game is fun from time to time, the physics of multi-player is retarded in it's lack of actual strategy, making it useless to play anything but a knock out artist, and the computer randomly switches from brutally impossible to beat to never even guards People need to stop using the term realistic when it comes to this game. The graphics are realistic, the game play is not. While this game is fun from time to time, the physics of multi-player is retarded in it's lack of actual strategy, making it useless to play anything but a knock out artist, and the computer randomly switches from brutally impossible to beat to never even guards against a punch (on the same settings). The movement in the games is especially ridiculous, as both players are bound to one another so you can't properly move your character around the ring. Expand
  15. chrisb
    Aug 8, 2009
    7
    Not the best but there is nothing out there like this, major complaint is the sluggish controls, cant do most of the combos in the training because the controls dont respond to the input, throw a jab and u might get a hook. same issue im the harder fights, i find myself throwing punches when i want to block. sadly they have not fixed any of this so far.
  16. bryanb
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    The first boxing game with real time physics gameplay. A first and innovative step in the fighting and boxing franchise; it certainly makes an impact with extreme variety and range of options, as well as strategy, which will be needed in order to adapt to the learning A.I. which is probably the most advanced i've ever seen in a fighting game. Very strong gameplay and replayability, The first boxing game with real time physics gameplay. A first and innovative step in the fighting and boxing franchise; it certainly makes an impact with extreme variety and range of options, as well as strategy, which will be needed in order to adapt to the learning A.I. which is probably the most advanced i've ever seen in a fighting game. Very strong gameplay and replayability, and to put the icing on the cake, the online is way better than ufc 2009, being less laggy, more competitive, and with more game modes like the championship mode, it is a complete thrill. A must buy for anyone, whether you follow boxing or are new to it, this game will knock your socks off. Literally. Expand
  17. gregb
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    The most realistic boxing game out on the market. From this point forward, every fighting game withOUT physics based fighting is automatically bargain bin material! Oh and don't listen to the FN3 whiners about how the controls suck and there's no buttons. The analog stick is a lot easier to remember what kind of punches you want to throw, and is overall just great. Must buy- The most realistic boxing game out on the market. From this point forward, every fighting game withOUT physics based fighting is automatically bargain bin material! Oh and don't listen to the FN3 whiners about how the controls suck and there's no buttons. The analog stick is a lot easier to remember what kind of punches you want to throw, and is overall just great. Must buy- sports game of the year. Expand
  18. RyanS
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Unbelievably organic and fluid. Most realistic boxing game yet. say goodbye to scripts, fnr3 fans! physics are in the house! Lovin the new control scheme by the way, fnr3 made it feel like street fighter but this, my friends, is how boxing should be made. Buy it now, and i garuntee you will be fired from your job from absence!
  19. JimG
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This game is stupid goodness! I've been waiting forever for round 4 to come out and its pure awesomeness. Nuff said... it could do with some more blood though and maybe a cheat code for biting when Ali headbutts Tyson! The boxers look out of this world amazing - best ever!
  20. Lethal
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Fight Night Round 4 is not only the best Fight Night game, it's also the BEST BOXING GAME EVER MADE. No kidding. I'm a die-hard button user and after about 20 fights the Total Punch Control feels silky smooth; I love it now! It's perfect and the combinations are faster, more accurate, and easier to pull off than ever before. Here's a hint: make sure you set the "boxer Fight Night Round 4 is not only the best Fight Night game, it's also the BEST BOXING GAME EVER MADE. No kidding. I'm a die-hard button user and after about 20 fights the Total Punch Control feels silky smooth; I love it now! It's perfect and the combinations are faster, more accurate, and easier to pull off than ever before. Here's a hint: make sure you set the "boxer power" up 2 clicks in the settings menu--it really makes a world of difference in regard to the brutality of the blows with the new physics engine . Buy this game people! The TPC will grow on you with a few hours of practice. Expand
  21. DonM
    Jun 26, 2009
    8
    This is an excellent addition to the franchise, with added features like being able to use your own portait for your boxer's face, as well as vastly improved graphics and physics. The career mode is also much improved from FNR3. HOWEVER, and I don't think I'm alone here, the total punch control is actually less responsive than FNR3, as I found my boxer throwing three or This is an excellent addition to the franchise, with added features like being able to use your own portait for your boxer's face, as well as vastly improved graphics and physics. The career mode is also much improved from FNR3. HOWEVER, and I don't think I'm alone here, the total punch control is actually less responsive than FNR3, as I found my boxer throwing three or four low punches long after I had been tapping the stick in the upper quadrants. The disconnect between the stick movements and how and when punches are thrown also makes it seem like some knockouts/knockdowns were accidental, even if they weren't. Overall, I personally liked the TPC in FNR3 more than FNR4, but every other aspect of the game is so far superior that it's a no-brainer. Oh, and the soundtrack is way better, too. Expand
  22. KevinD.
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    Great game. Can't give it a 10. Two gripes... 1. Training exercises are lacking in general. They have to come up with a better way to improve your fighter. 2. This is my first time really using stick control instead of buttons. It's pretty fluid, but I do throw the wrong punch pretty regularly. Would like to have the OPTION to use buttons. Beyond that, game is wonderful!
  23. andrewc
    Jul 24, 2009
    0
    Just want to even things out here. Graphics are an improvement. Otherwise, the game is of markedly lower quality than round 3 and, when originality is considered, round 2 also. I didn't think the creators could produce a game more unrealistic to the sport of boxing than it's predecessors. The differences in speed and power for the fighters seems negligible, and movement is Just want to even things out here. Graphics are an improvement. Otherwise, the game is of markedly lower quality than round 3 and, when originality is considered, round 2 also. I didn't think the creators could produce a game more unrealistic to the sport of boxing than it's predecessors. The differences in speed and power for the fighters seems negligible, and movement is constricted. The game is basically two men walking forward flailing their arms wildly with the grace of rock 'em sock 'em robots. Expand
  24. Mar 30, 2011
    1
    Truly an awful boxing game. When you come up against difficult opponents, it becomes a counter-punching spamfest. Almost every decent punch you throw gets blocked and then you get whacked. The game also runs at 200mph making it impossible to judge your own counters. It's an unrealistic, cartoon boxing game.
  25. Jun 2, 2011
    4
    What the heck happened?! After the on-line joy that was fight night 3 I was so psyched for this game, talk about a let down. The fact that the whole punch control stick flick setup was forced on us gamers before the patch was just absurd. I enjoyed the career mode but most of us play FN for the on-line challenge which is just gone now. They had a great control scheme in 3 but had toWhat the heck happened?! After the on-line joy that was fight night 3 I was so psyched for this game, talk about a let down. The fact that the whole punch control stick flick setup was forced on us gamers before the patch was just absurd. I enjoyed the career mode but most of us play FN for the on-line challenge which is just gone now. They had a great control scheme in 3 but had to go and mess with it and it really shows this time around on-line. Not only is the game clunky to play but the interface is awkward as well. The blocking has been completely ruined with it's instant timing or no dice counter method. How this game took such a giant leap backwards is beyond me, a text book example of "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." If you are looking for good on-line boxing FN3 is till the only game in town. Expand
  26. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    I sometimes had a hard time throwing the uppercut when I wanted the hook...but that's really a small complaint for so good a game. Once I adjusted to the control I found it to be loads of fun...addictive.
  27. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    This is one of the most addictive sports games ever, me and my mate where playing the demo for months before I actually picked the full game up and the legacy mode was amazing and made the game even more addictive beyond the satisfaction of knocking out your opponent. Boxer customisation is also fun with the ability to create stupid looking and absurdly named sluggers. Truth is I got ridThis is one of the most addictive sports games ever, me and my mate where playing the demo for months before I actually picked the full game up and the legacy mode was amazing and made the game even more addictive beyond the satisfaction of knocking out your opponent. Boxer customisation is also fun with the ability to create stupid looking and absurdly named sluggers. Truth is I got rid of this game because I was skint and still miss it to this day as, when I owned it, the game was played on a regular basis. Overall this is the only boxing game I've ever really got into and I would recommend it to anyone, it looks good, plays fantastic and has a strong collection of fighters to choose from, however, this being an EA release some boxers where held back for DLC......... **** that!!! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Most realistic sport game to date. From graphics to physics – you can see and feel every punch given or taken. Best game with half-naked men on the market! [June 2009]
  2. Ironically, Fight Night Round 4 may be the best argument for banning boxing yet. After all, when a game can get this close to the fluid, organic technicality of the real thing, why does anyone need to get hit in the face?... Solid, satisfying and totally revolutionary. [July 2009, p.81]
  3. 91
    Developed by an all-new team and re-built from the ground up Fight Night Round 4 is in good hands with the team at EA Canada; not only have they matched the quality of the original title, but in many ways they dramatically exceeded it.