Fight Night Round 4 Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 87
  2. Negative: 11 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. johnb
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Everything about this game puts you in the ring and feeling like you are fighting the other guy. Im not one to umderstand all that stuff about physics and all, but it really feels more lifelike than round three. i guess thats what its supposed to do, and it really delivers. I never really got into boxing until i downloaded the demo, and i really understand it now. the depth of play is Everything about this game puts you in the ring and feeling like you are fighting the other guy. Im not one to umderstand all that stuff about physics and all, but it really feels more lifelike than round three. i guess thats what its supposed to do, and it really delivers. I never really got into boxing until i downloaded the demo, and i really understand it now. the depth of play is just remarkable in this game! Expand
  2. helix-
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Improving on fight night four in many ways without losing any key points. They've monumentally improved on counter punching, and using it to control the flow of the fight while improving graphics, framerate, and online content.
  3. John
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    "The most anticipated sports game of the year," and safe to say, lived up to that title. The improved overall gameplay is light-years ahead the previous installment. I also was impressed with the newly polished physics fight system. In FNR4, there seemed to be a boundary or wall that was holding you back from getting in close and utilizing the body shots, and am glad to say, that has been "The most anticipated sports game of the year," and safe to say, lived up to that title. The improved overall gameplay is light-years ahead the previous installment. I also was impressed with the newly polished physics fight system. In FNR4, there seemed to be a boundary or wall that was holding you back from getting in close and utilizing the body shots, and am glad to say, that has been corrected. Another improvement: strategy. The reach, height, weight, speed, and power of your boxer all play realistic factors in the newly finished AI system. Although the legacy mode does appear to have some flaws, the online "Share a Boxer" system makes up for it. You can easily download/upload a boxer from fellow "Fight Night" fans and play with their very boxers. This aspect of the game was seriously lacking, and was very glad to see the overall depth of this game. The graphics on this game are incomprehensible. It is truly something special when you can watch boxers you grew up admiring reenact their very movements to the touch of your controller. I found myself pausing the gameplay in the middle of everyone of my fights just to admire the eye-dropping visuals this game has to offer, not to mention the "PhotoGameFace" option to create yourself in the game. All in all, the limitless customization, improved gameplay/physics engine, realistic punch control, and the overall "fun factor," make Fight Night nothing short of a must-have on every boxing fan or true-gamer's shelf. Expand
  4. RaashidA
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    How quickly you all forget. I know I'm not alone, but let me say this. The first game I saw on the 360, moving and working prior to the 360 even being on the market was Fight Night 3. And that one game cemented in my mind that I must get a next Gen. console. Now, several years later, Fight Night 4 is released, and all the critic can do is nit pick....I played it all last night and How quickly you all forget. I know I'm not alone, but let me say this. The first game I saw on the 360, moving and working prior to the 360 even being on the market was Fight Night 3. And that one game cemented in my mind that I must get a next Gen. console. Now, several years later, Fight Night 4 is released, and all the critic can do is nit pick....I played it all last night and let me tell ya it even better than the first on. The fun factor, graphics, physics, you name it....its all over the top. Its Easily a 9.5....Online,knock on wood, so far has zero lag....So yo, Critics shut up and take to the ring boy.....Its time to put up and shut up. Expand
  5. RodrigoL.
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Terrific game. Legacy mode is a little sluggish but is by far the best the series has produced yet. With the ability to choose which existing/created fighters you can include in your legacy you can hypothetically create a continuous timeline of boxing champions. Win the title with Apollo Creed, rank him #1 when you start up a legacy with Rocky Balboa. That is cool.
  6. BrandenH.
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    I love this game the graphics are amazing the fighting styles are great the physics of the game are crazy cool. The games just takes Skill to be good.
  7. bryanb
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    The first boxing game with real time physics gameplay. A first and innovative step in the fighting and boxing franchise; it certainly makes an impact with extreme variety and range of options, as well as strategy, which will be needed in order to adapt to the learning A.I. which is probably the most advanced i've ever seen in a fighting game. Very strong gameplay and replayability, The first boxing game with real time physics gameplay. A first and innovative step in the fighting and boxing franchise; it certainly makes an impact with extreme variety and range of options, as well as strategy, which will be needed in order to adapt to the learning A.I. which is probably the most advanced i've ever seen in a fighting game. Very strong gameplay and replayability, and to put the icing on the cake, the online is way better than ufc 2009, being less laggy, more competitive, and with more game modes like the championship mode, it is a complete thrill. A must buy for anyone, whether you follow boxing or are new to it, this game will knock your socks off. Literally. Expand
  8. gregb
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    The most realistic boxing game out on the market. From this point forward, every fighting game withOUT physics based fighting is automatically bargain bin material! Oh and don't listen to the FN3 whiners about how the controls suck and there's no buttons. The analog stick is a lot easier to remember what kind of punches you want to throw, and is overall just great. Must buy- The most realistic boxing game out on the market. From this point forward, every fighting game withOUT physics based fighting is automatically bargain bin material! Oh and don't listen to the FN3 whiners about how the controls suck and there's no buttons. The analog stick is a lot easier to remember what kind of punches you want to throw, and is overall just great. Must buy- sports game of the year. Expand
  9. RyanS
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Unbelievably organic and fluid. Most realistic boxing game yet. say goodbye to scripts, fnr3 fans! physics are in the house! Lovin the new control scheme by the way, fnr3 made it feel like street fighter but this, my friends, is how boxing should be made. Buy it now, and i garuntee you will be fired from your job from absence!
  10. JimG
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This game is stupid goodness! I've been waiting forever for round 4 to come out and its pure awesomeness. Nuff said... it could do with some more blood though and maybe a cheat code for biting when Ali headbutts Tyson! The boxers look out of this world amazing - best ever!
  11. Lethal
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Fight Night Round 4 is not only the best Fight Night game, it's also the BEST BOXING GAME EVER MADE. No kidding. I'm a die-hard button user and after about 20 fights the Total Punch Control feels silky smooth; I love it now! It's perfect and the combinations are faster, more accurate, and easier to pull off than ever before. Here's a hint: make sure you set the "boxer Fight Night Round 4 is not only the best Fight Night game, it's also the BEST BOXING GAME EVER MADE. No kidding. I'm a die-hard button user and after about 20 fights the Total Punch Control feels silky smooth; I love it now! It's perfect and the combinations are faster, more accurate, and easier to pull off than ever before. Here's a hint: make sure you set the "boxer power" up 2 clicks in the settings menu--it really makes a world of difference in regard to the brutality of the blows with the new physics engine . Buy this game people! The TPC will grow on you with a few hours of practice. Expand
  12. DonM
    Jun 26, 2009
    8
    This is an excellent addition to the franchise, with added features like being able to use your own portait for your boxer's face, as well as vastly improved graphics and physics. The career mode is also much improved from FNR3. HOWEVER, and I don't think I'm alone here, the total punch control is actually less responsive than FNR3, as I found my boxer throwing three or This is an excellent addition to the franchise, with added features like being able to use your own portait for your boxer's face, as well as vastly improved graphics and physics. The career mode is also much improved from FNR3. HOWEVER, and I don't think I'm alone here, the total punch control is actually less responsive than FNR3, as I found my boxer throwing three or four low punches long after I had been tapping the stick in the upper quadrants. The disconnect between the stick movements and how and when punches are thrown also makes it seem like some knockouts/knockdowns were accidental, even if they weren't. Overall, I personally liked the TPC in FNR3 more than FNR4, but every other aspect of the game is so far superior that it's a no-brainer. Oh, and the soundtrack is way better, too. Expand
  13. KevinD.
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    Great game. Can't give it a 10. Two gripes... 1. Training exercises are lacking in general. They have to come up with a better way to improve your fighter. 2. This is my first time really using stick control instead of buttons. It's pretty fluid, but I do throw the wrong punch pretty regularly. Would like to have the OPTION to use buttons. Beyond that, game is wonderful!
  14. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    I sometimes had a hard time throwing the uppercut when I wanted the hook...but that's really a small complaint for so good a game. Once I adjusted to the control I found it to be loads of fun...addictive.
  15. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    This is one of the most addictive sports games ever, me and my mate where playing the demo for months before I actually picked the full game up and the legacy mode was amazing and made the game even more addictive beyond the satisfaction of knocking out your opponent. Boxer customisation is also fun with the ability to create stupid looking and absurdly named sluggers. Truth is I got ridThis is one of the most addictive sports games ever, me and my mate where playing the demo for months before I actually picked the full game up and the legacy mode was amazing and made the game even more addictive beyond the satisfaction of knocking out your opponent. Boxer customisation is also fun with the ability to create stupid looking and absurdly named sluggers. Truth is I got rid of this game because I was skint and still miss it to this day as, when I owned it, the game was played on a regular basis. Overall this is the only boxing game I've ever really got into and I would recommend it to anyone, it looks good, plays fantastic and has a strong collection of fighters to choose from, however, this being an EA release some boxers where held back for DLC......... **** that!!! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Most realistic sport game to date. From graphics to physics – you can see and feel every punch given or taken. Best game with half-naked men on the market! [June 2009]
  2. Ironically, Fight Night Round 4 may be the best argument for banning boxing yet. After all, when a game can get this close to the fluid, organic technicality of the real thing, why does anyone need to get hit in the face?... Solid, satisfying and totally revolutionary. [July 2009, p.81]
  3. 91
    Developed by an all-new team and re-built from the ground up Fight Night Round 4 is in good hands with the team at EA Canada; not only have they matched the quality of the original title, but in many ways they dramatically exceeded it.