• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2010
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    RUBBISH. i love ubisoft and i put this down to kinect just coming out, but at least it tried to be a game other then a "starter pack2 game for kinect. The fighting is fun untill you realise that thats it.....i meen theres about 15 fighters and all you do is fight them over and over and over and ZZZZzzzzzz. In my mind i wanted it to be an arcade game like streets of rage or the bouncer where you beet a guy up then move forward like time crisis style but its not.
    All you do is the same few moves and half of them dont even reconise the correct move and just dchoose some random move, hopefully it will do a random move for you and earn you an achivement though.
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    2
    I tried this at a friend's house. This game is SOOOOO Terribly executed with fight after fight after fight over and over, with a semi-lack of response. All you get out of this is a workout because you pretty much have to do twice the work to get the normal result.
  3. Nov 8, 2010
    1
    The idea of this game is cool, but the execution is HORRENDOUS. It feels unfinished, the gameplay is repetitive, and the motion tracking is frustrating. Its hard to have fun with this game, and that's what gaming is all about. The only redeeming quality is you'll break a sweat, that is if you don't pop a blood vessel first.
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    0
    Fails at what it sets out to do. Canned move set instead of freedom. Might as well play with controller, game play outside of "kinect gameplay" is generic and uninspired. Fails at what it specifically tries to do and feels like it's trying to mock the buyer from buy a kinect.
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    2
    I signed up to Metacritic to warn people about this game. I thought a Kinect game from Ubisoft would be a safe bet... and I couldn't have been more wrong. Fighters Uncaged seems to be a simple conversion of a controller based game, rather than being designed for Kinect: you make certain moves with your body to trigger certain moves in the game just like you would press certain button combinations in a controller game. That's where it fails as a Kinect game: using a controller you can feel that you pressed the buttons, but using Kinect you're left unsure if you're moving your body in the correct way to trigger the move. Worse yet, the moves you can make are conditional on whether you're supposed to be attacking or dodging, and whether you're close or far from your target. For example, if you make a dodge move, your character in the game will only show a dodge animation if there is a punch or kick to be dodged. There's nothing to show that you did the correct movement, and that left me feeling very frustrated with the game. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 39
  2. Negative: 33 out of 39
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Fighters Uncaged is a nice addition to the Kinect library but ultimately is lacks substance, which prevents it from ever becoming a 'Must Have' game. An interesting diversion but once the game has brutally punched your face off, you will be unlikely to return for a second round.
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    30
    No chance for a game that can't have a single positive aspect. Many technical issues make this an overall failed product for Kinect owners.
  3. Feb 2, 2011
    30
    I can't quite say that this is the worst Kinect launch game, but it's right up (read: down) there.