• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Leveraging the Microsoft Kinect technology, Fighters Uncaged delivers players an immersive total-body combat experience. Players will be able to create 70 different strikes inspired by martial arts and compete in 21 different fighting environments such as rooftops, dark alleys, gritty cityLeveraging the Microsoft Kinect technology, Fighters Uncaged delivers players an immersive total-body combat experience. Players will be able to create 70 different strikes inspired by martial arts and compete in 21 different fighting environments such as rooftops, dark alleys, gritty city docks and abandoned church. Included are diverse opponents with unique fighting styles, devastating combos with voice-activated super strikes, opportunities to upgrade your character by unlocking new skills and a jump-in multiplayer feature to take your enemies down with your friends. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 38
  2. Negative: 33 out of 38
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    75
    Fighters Uncaged is probably the only Kinect launch game trying to introduce a more thought and tactical gameplay, where success and satisfaction is achieved by properly reacting to the enemy moves. Unfortunately the experience is partially ruined by some problems in moves detection and an uninspired design.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    50
    This unique fighting game feels rushed in every single way. Fighters Uncaged responds very badly to your moves and that's simply something you can't afford when your life is at stake.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    44
    With sub-par controls, an unattractive presentation, and nothing to do but fight the same simplistic and unrewarding fights over and over again, Fighters Uncaged is a stumbling failure, akin to a fighter who's doomed to a forgettable career as a low-ranking amateur.
  4. Dec 25, 2010
    30
    The core fighting system is designed well enough, but the Kinect control is lazily implemented and there's absolutely no variety to the fights. [Issue#66, p.93]
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    25
    Controls, rather, your body is wonky.
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    20
    To make matters worse, you get sent back to a tedious menu screen every single time you learn one of the hundreds of thousands of stupid moves.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Fighters Uncaged is an appalling, joyless makeweight trying to grab some of the Kinect pie before a fighting game that actually works comes along. Avoid it at all costs.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Absolutely terrible, there is no reason for anyone to buy this game. It is not worth any of my money and was a complete ripoff. It looked funAbsolutely terrible, there is no reason for anyone to buy this game. It is not worth any of my money and was a complete ripoff. It looked fun until I put it in and actually tried to play it. It is very unresponsive and I found my character kicking when I was punching. I didn't expect this game to be anything like actually fighting but it is so far away from it I don't even know what to call it. The game where you fight the robot monkey thing on the eyetoy is more entertaining and more responsive than this, even though it came out years ago on a old console with a piece of equipment less than half as advanced as kinect. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    i can't see what went wrong with this game. I had some real fun with this game, unlike those boring, generic shooters released every year. Thei can't see what went wrong with this game. I had some real fun with this game, unlike those boring, generic shooters released every year. The gameplay is good, graphics are not bad and if the Kinect sensor can't read your moves then you are too close to the f***ing Kinect. Simple. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    I love this game. i seen all the terrible reviews and i can't believe it. The game is the only game that puts you into an actual kickboxingI love this game. i seen all the terrible reviews and i can't believe it. The game is the only game that puts you into an actual kickboxing style street fight and, allows you to fight at three different ranges. People who didn't like it are either not into fighting or never game this game the chance it deserves. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2010
    7
    Got Kinect on launch, and while this game has some problems with tracking, it is still a decent example of how Kinect motion games have muchGot Kinect on launch, and while this game has some problems with tracking, it is still a decent example of how Kinect motion games have much more potential over the other motion platforms. That, and the decent workout when playing. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    RUBBISH.

    i love ubisoft and i put this down to kinect just coming out, but at least it tried to be a game other then a "starter pack2 game
    RUBBISH.

    i love ubisoft and i put this down to kinect just coming out, but at least it tried to be a game other then a "starter pack2 game for kinect.

    The fighting is fun untill you realise that thats it.....i meen theres about 15 fighters and all you do is fight them over and over and over and ZZZZzzzzzz.

    In my mind i wanted it to be an arcade game like streets of rage or the bouncer where you beet a guy up then move forward like time crisis style but its not.
    All you do is the same few moves and half of them dont even reconise the correct move and just dchoose some random move, hopefully it will do a random move for you and earn you an achivement though.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    2
    I tried this at a friend's house. This game is SOOOOO Terribly executed with fight after fight after fight over and over, with a semi-lack ofI tried this at a friend's house. This game is SOOOOO Terribly executed with fight after fight after fight over and over, with a semi-lack of response. All you get out of this is a workout because you pretty much have to do twice the work to get the normal result. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2010
    0
    Fails at what it sets out to do. Canned move set instead of freedom. Might as well play with controller, game play outside of "kinectFails at what it sets out to do. Canned move set instead of freedom. Might as well play with controller, game play outside of "kinect gameplay" is generic and uninspired. Fails at what it specifically tries to do and feels like it's trying to mock the buyer from buy a kinect. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews