Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 90
    So whether you're an FFXI veteran or noob, rest assured that this story is far from over. Based on the evidence at hand, we're quite confident that it has only just begun.
  2. It is also the most convenient form in which FFXI has ever been offered; you don't have a hard drive to buy (unless you got stuck with a core system), and all your expansions come in the same box.
  3. With no actual way of finishing the game, Gamers can find hundreds and hundreds of things to do, and still not be able to put it down. [Beta review: to be updated]
  4. All complaints and setup times aside, FF XI is one of the stronger MMORPGs out there, and when it comes to console MMORPGs (not PC), it may very well be the best.
  5. In the end, the decision to purchase and play FFXI comes down to whether you’re interested in being a part of an MMO with some sacrifices, or if you’re willing to wait (perhaps for quite a while) until someone else makes a fresh MMO that pushes the Xbox 360 to its limits and truly feels like a “next-generation” game.
  6. It's not "World of Warcraft", but it's still a lot of fun. [Jun 2006, p.115]
  7. Even hardened FF fans can't escape the fact that this is little more than a solid, functional port of a four year old game. As potentially enjoyable as it is (if you put the hours in), and as much content as there is in this all-encompassing release (if you really put the hours in), things have moved on considerably in the MMO scene in the intervening years.
  8. As an MMORPG, Final Fantasy XI is ace - in some ways fresher and funkier than "World of Warcraft," but as an RPG it pales in the light of "Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion." [Issue #8]
  9. Final Fantasy XI is an impressive MMO/RPG, but really offers nothing new and exciting to the mix.
  10. Final Fantasy XI is an acquired taste, and one that was built for playing on the sofa rather than on the PC. It's a pity that Square couldn't have served up something more ambitious for our first online RPG, but at least it means we get an RPG that's had three years of being knocked into shape. [Official UK Xbox Magazine]
  11. This isn’t at all a bad game but it is poorly presented on this platform, and to be perfectly honest it doesn’t belong on this platform, but if you’re really wanting to play this and you hate PC games then go ahead and buy it.
  12. While FFXI is the most addicting game I’ve ever played, I will confess that it is an unfriendly place for newbs.
  13. The game controls well with the Xbox 360 controller (aside from the d-pad issues), so if you can get over the lackluster graphics you should be able to enjoy yourself.
  14. 69
    It's a game that requires hours of dedication on a near-daily basis. This wouldn't be a problem if the game was better, but unfortunately it comes off as unnecessarily inconvenient, clunky, and just plain old on the Xbox 360.
  15. Really the big reason to check out 360 FFXI is to play a decent MMO on your big honking TV for the reasonable $13 a month. Just know there are no HDTV advantages to speak of.
  16. So it's dissapointing that instead of the mind-shattering experience that should properly claim "first MMO" honors, we get Final Fantasy XI--a port of a four-year-old game. [July 2006, p.78]
  17. Newbies will find themselves abandoned and bored on am ugly, lonely level treadmill that doesn't even introduce basic gameplay concepts. [July 2006, p.88]
  18. Unfortunately, what has really painted my decision is the lack of 'next-gen' feel on this game, both graphically and in the gameplay.
  19. Despite its flaws and frustrations, FFXI's age gives it one thing that no other 360 game can match: massive amounts of content. You could easily lose 200 hours of your life (not to mention your spouse) during the first month of exploration.
  20. While this online role-playing game may have been a hit for the PC and PlayStation 2, it feels very awkward and entirely out of place on the Xbox 360.
  21. 60
    Final Fantasy's appearance on the Xbox 360 is basically pointless. Unless you're a die hard fan of the title then it's advised you look elsewhere. There's nothing overly wrong with the game - it just hasn't dated well.
  22. 60
    But if you're new the genre, you might want to know what you're getting into: a very, very demanding experience. Yes, it can be rewarding, and you might just make a lot of friends in the process.
  23. As pricey as eating a golden chocobo egg and as fun as being pecked to death by its mother. [July 2006, p.82]
  24. There's no sitting on the fence with Final Fantasy XI. It's a game you'll love or hate. Got infinite time? Got infinite patience? Then go for it. Otherwise? Steer clear. [Issue 7, p.94]
  25. FFXI is a very hard sell to anyone that is new to the franchise. The easiest word to describe it is drudgery, what with its excessive traveling times, difficult leveling structure, and level requirements for anything cool.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. May 6, 2011
    3
    Like the majority of recent final fantasy games this was bollocks. Another boring linear game with no real choice or influence in what you do, hack and slash rubbish. Also the new leveling up system, one word. LAZY. Graphically game was good but that about sums up the good points. Do not buy this game if you are a true rpg fan. Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2014
    1
    This game nearly ruined the franchise. Worst rendition of Final Fantasy ever. X was amazing and to follow it up with this crap is depressing. I refuse to play any more of there games this game is unforgivable. Online only play. Give me a break. Waste of Video game makers time. Top 10 worst MMO's but then again all MMO's are crap. WoW sucks too. Play better games. There are a at least 1000 better games out there better than any massively multi player online one. Full Review »
  3. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Oh my Final Fantasy XI what can I say, it is the first MMO I truly fell in love with. As all my reviews with MMO’s start out the same as I’ve been playing MMO most all my life and they are my favorite type of game to play. As this review is being done on 9/7/2013 that’s how I’ll be looking at the game as it stands now. I’ve done a review of the PC version so check that out. For me the XBOX 360 version of this game is disappointing in my eyes. It’s an older game on a 7th generation console and it look exactly the same as the ps2 version of the game with the exception of higher resolution text textures for HDTV’s SE just lazily ported over the ps2 version with no effort to make it look any better. The game for xbox has long load time, lag in area of more then 10 people and textures look exactly the same as the ps2. If you need to play it on a console then yes the xbox 360 version of the game is your best choice. It should be noted that the PC supports controllers as well and look great for the age of the game with high resolution textures. I did use the xbox version out on my big screen for a bit till I build a HTPC, now I just use a wireless xbox 360 controller adapter and sit on the couch with a wireless keyboard. The game is still a 10 out of 10 for me but I wish SE put a little more effort to making it look more like the pc version of the game not just port over the ps2 version. Full Review »