User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 243

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    So if you stopped being a FF fan, respect the thousands who currently enjoy the series, and go play and watch another game. If you think that the series has "died" why are you here commenting about it? Final Fantasy have their real fans and not needs those who once were, but today only know to criticize. You are a zero to the left! Very hard to find a true fan of the Final Fantasy series. What there are people who are/was fans of one or another episode, and all they know to do nowdays is follow the series news just to criticize and say that "it was the good on my time, now it is garbage". So pay no attention to haters, realize that each FF has something new and different to offer and has no obligation to please fans of previous episodes. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    This game isn't a masterpiece... But it is still fantastic. More open, good story, unique soundtrack, and amazing gameplay make this game great. A huge improvement on xiii and the whole feel of the game is much more loose and open while still having a good story (which is very hard to do btw, just ask skyrim and its amazing world and addictiveness but horrible plot). I don't understand all the people who give this game crap. I understand you want final fantasy to be like it used to be but you can't just let that cloud your minds from seeing when square has put out yet another great game. You won't find this game as one of the final fantasy classics, but this game is still very good and shows squares determination to make the game that the fans want to play. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    IGN is not the owner of the truth folks, wait for the other reviews...I'm sure that XIII-2 will do better than 83/100 on Metacritic, like XIII, because this game is AWESOME!!!! Rumor has it that some employees were not satisfied with just one thing, although access to the site is via one of the busiest and most crowded subway station. Moreover, everyone will enjoy the greatest luxury and refinement of the site, which rivals the Shinra headquarters of the Final Fantasy VII. Are about 20 floors, with parking for over 300 cars, which show that more than 100 million selling Final fantasys can build. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    What's wrong with a game has a direct sequence (even if it is more a) if it is a wonderful game? What's wrong with the story complete trilogy format, or quatrolgogia or quintologia? A wonderful game can not escape the conclusion to his story ends it in an upcoming episode? Why require a "middle chapter" finish the story of the game?
  5. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Where are the masters of these fans to be continue to criticize the decision of Square Enix? They criticize everything the company does, how DLCs. Every game company today make five hundred DLCs and nobody says anything, and when the Square do ...
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Everyone has the right not to like Final Fantasy CURRENT. But when you call it "garbage" and said the series "Died," the millions of fans today, feel the least offended. You hater need learn about respect.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    People just need to understand that things change, and as part of the public old leaves, comes a new audience (this includes even lower sales in Japan and higher in the West). Things are new Resident Evil ... went through it, leaving aside the terror and taking action. Final Fantasy follows changing, losing and gaining fans with each new episode, and it is not like those who no longer accept this fact, and at least respect the tastes of others, and as we said, not rate it "junk" as seen by both there. Expand
  8. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    While vain haters saying that the series died on 8, at 9, 10, 6 ... in the game celebrates 25 years with much success, having sold until the thirteenth time about 7 million copies, and XIII-2, they lost some public in Japan, making this much success in the U.S., and pre-sales with 150 000 units more than its predecessor.
  9. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Yep.. It's the real deal this time around! ~Game is VERY good and "feels" like a final fantasy game through and through. ~Combat is extremely fluid, fast, and fun! ~Collecting the enemies you fight to aid subsequent encounters is nothing short of epic! ~Within the first hour of the game your riding Chocobos for crying out lout! Awesome. ~By only having 2 main characters the story this time around is ALOT more focused albeit a little less dire but still an overall good story that I'm very much enjoying!

    ~ Time travel mechanic is done in a very accessible way and fun to do instead of being a huge pain in the kiester.

    Did you like FFX?? BUT THIS GAME!
    Did you like FF13?? BUY THIS GAME!
    Did you like FF9?? BUY THIS GAME!
    Expand
  10. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I must say I am enjoying this Final Fantasy much more than I did 13. I do wish that some more attention to characers were made, but over-all the story elements, combat, music and other additions have greatly improved since 13.
  11. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Fantastic story and great characters. Can't wait for the DLC to follow up, although I still currently await Final Fantasy XIII-3, if it comes out.
  12. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Funny that almost all animes use and abuse of the To Be Continued, FF seems already prohibited from using it. There are chapters and more chapters of Dragon Ball Z for example, that are pure **** surpassing even the novels of Globo and Televisa.
  13. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy fans have their real needs and not those that have been, but today only know how to criticize. You are a leading zero to Square Enix! Sorry, but this is the truth. Recalling that the Square already registered the name Final Fantasy XIII-3.
  14. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    As we have reported in recent weeks, the newest RPG from Square Enix, Final Fantasy XIII-2 continues to surprise in pre-sales in the U.S.. Unlike Japan, where sales were not as good as its predecessor, the American territory, the game has surpassed more than 100 000 units Final Fantasy XIII on the same date, and that only the PS3 version, adding about 354 000 copies sold . In the Xbox 360 version, the game enters the top 10 with 115,000 units. Expand
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    The CEO Square Enix Yoichi Wada and the CEO of Bic Camera, Hiroyuki Miyajima continued with speeches short. Wada noted that XIII -2 has been enhanced to overcome the XIII in all aspects. Miyajima said the pre-sales for the game were strong in your store, and expressed hope that they sell more copies than anywhere in Japan.
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this wonderfull game? better than the original in almost every single way...better than the original in almost every single way, I wanna XIII-3 now!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Fantastic, quirky, blast of a time-travel RPG. While I very seriously enjoyed XIII-1, the only thing lacking in my opinion was the ability to have a more free roam experience. That's very much present in here, and you can tell the devs had fun making this game. While the story is a little disjointed and gets pieced-together bit by bit as you travel, and not necessarily in the right order. The ability to recruit monsters as your third party member is in-fact my favorite change to the Final Fantasy formula and breathes a new life into the system. Absolutely fantastic game--what everyone else was looking for when XIII game out. Square Enix is back on it's game. Expand
  18. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    The Final Fantasy series is back... The story was never the great strength of the sequels, but the gameplay has been improved very dramatically for the better, no doubt, if you're a fan of the series and the genre, you should play it.
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Joguei a versao japonesa e posso dizer que foi o melhor jogo da minha vida! Claro que a historia nao se conclui, mas nao vejo mal algum em termos FFXIII-3. Estou ancioso ja para saber o que ocorre em seguida.
  20. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I never liked Final Fantasy before the XIII part and then become a fan and lover. The sequel covers the most amazing thing you can tell within a story- time travel. Its awesome how the strory tells certain things and the ending is the one of the best endings i have ever seen. The fighting system is much more improved and the graphics are still the best of this generation.
  21. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    The new FF is simply great ! Ok,the story is stretched and functional satisfying but the game also improved in many ways.
  22. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    This game is everything XIII should have been. Square Enix really took everything critics had to see about the first one and improved it in this game. The world is more open, and with the ability to travel through time, you can journey anywhere you previously visited at anytime. However, the story lacks a bit due to the openness of this game. While the story is good, other Final Fantasy games have outclassed it - especially after the story-oriented XII - it is still well structured and written. But the new villain, Caius, makes a very worthy addition to the cast of villains in the franchise and his own story is interesting. XIII-2's battle system is virtually the same as XIII (so if you hated it you're better off not getting this game) but is a lot faster and feels a lot smoother. Gameplay also includes new features such as chocobo racing. Speaking of chocobos, if you ever wanted one in your party your dream is now realised. Since you only play as two characters, a first for the franchise, you can recruit monsters and level them up separately to Noel and Serah. The leveling up system is also improved, being faster and not being set-in-stone. You spend a bit of time in menu's too, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The graphics are essentially the same to XIII, but still look good. The soundtrack is, as usual in FF games, amazing and works very well with the situations played alongside it. If everything this game did well and mixed it with XIII's storyline, then we would have had another excellent entry to the FF series. Unfortunately,players of XIII may not give this game a shot, which is a shame because this game is a big improvement and a very good game. Expand
  23. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Even though I was skeptical at first, as a true fan of the FF series it was a must for me to have this game. I suppose it's because FFX-2 was so...different. I was nervous that this game would be the same. Its predecessor FFXIII had many things that I wish were different but it was enjoyable. FFXIII-2 WAS different but not in a bad way, in my opinion. I must say overall, I appreciated FFXIII-2 much more than I thought I would after I actually played it. Many changes were made but there were still some faults. Nothing that ruined the game for me, though. I didn't expect it to be perfect so I didn't mind. The characters were enjoyable...except for a few. The leveling system was linear but it works for the game. The monsters were interesting. If you're like me and try to collect everything, it gets a bit tedious trying to capture every monster and fragment. One thing I did not care for was the music. Some of it sounded good but most of it was either recycled from FFXIII or not very good punk rock or whatever it was. The battle system is basically a slightly upgraded version of FFXIII with the paradigm shifts. I enjoy the new battle system, though (call me crazy) I will always love turn based combat. I know, old school right? Back to paradigm shifting...Serah and Noel can be any role they want to...if you get the upgrade. :) It's definitely not linear like FFXIII and there's PLENTY of side quests. The game had the same quirkiness and silly stuff as any FF I've ever played. Overall, I'd say it felt like a Final Fantasy game to me! One more thing...I miss turn based combat! That is all. Expand
  24. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I have been a huge FInal Fantasy fan since the days of the SNES--now most people that I know that enjoyed the SNES days didn't very much like FFVII through current. XII was decent (I know a lot of people liked this one), but I just couldn't get into it, though I'm going to give it another shot soon. Now to the supposedly dreaded XIII. I didn't dislike this game--I enjoyed it, but in a lot of ways, it didn't feel like FF. I enjoyed the set story pieces, but the grinding wasn't fun, the lack of people, towns, etc. Overall, I think XIII was something between an 8.5 and a 9.0. I truly believe that if it were released by a different publisher with a different name, that would have been the case. So here we are--for only the second time a sequel in the main numbered series. XIII-2 for me has been fantastic. The biggest change from XIII is that it feels very much like a FF game, which I'm glad to see (I know the bioware fanboys in most of the reviews here would disagree). Anyway, if you were a fan of the old games, this one is much closer to them than XIII was. The battle systems has some nice changes which makes for fun party building, there are actually people to talk to, random conversations, etc. The shop system is not what I wanted to see, but not that huge of a deal (I won't go into details, I like to keep these spoiler free). The story is crazy--a little tough to follow sometimes, but I really like it. All in all this game isn't perfect, and it certainly isn't for everyone, but for me, I really like it a lot. I would really give it a 9.5 as a FF fan. As a gamer, I would give it a 9.0. But to buff the ridiculous score given by the Bioware loving fanboys here, I'll give it a 10. Expand
  25. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    I was inspired to write being an Xbox 360 owner whose never played any previous versions of Final Fantasy until the FF- 13 came out last year which I did enjoy very much.The characters,graphics and the "story" (which mostly relied on long cutscenes to explain) were emotional,beautiful and very well done.
    I have to admit I wasn't to keen on a 2 member + monster battle party but I quickly
    got used to and began to enjoy it in Final Fantasy 13-2.In part 2 the story is certainly about time travel which I find interesting and seems like there can be many different ways the story can unfold,even more places to see with future download content....I like the battle system tweaks and the live trigger questions where you get a choice to ask something about another character or the time paradox events.After leveling up pretty high the battles can get much easier but there will always be some boss or unusual monster than can test you.There are paradox puzzles and quiz's on your hunt for time shard crystals,mostly fun,sometimes a bit annoying as they get more difficult.It's faster at leveling up than the first part was.I really wish they'd include a volume level in the settings for the music so it could be lowered sometimes.The only other JRPG I've played and really enjoyed was "Lost Odyssey".I really think that the difference between a JRPG and a western one are just different story telling methods and turn based battle combat systems in a group versus a solo open world explorer.I love Mass Effect,Skyrim,Oblivion and Fallout 3 not to mention Bioshock but both FF-13 games are worth checking out...Based on playing these 2 FF games what I expect and what they have delivered is a pretty game with colorful combat, beautiful characters and an engaging story that often will tug at your heart if you got one.. and yes Serah Farron the main character is beautiful. Expand
  26. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Improves the gameplay of the previous one, but the story is a little worse. The new character Noel is a nice addition to the cast, and the same can be said about Caius and Yeul. The art direction changed a bit, and is a lot more anime-ish and colorful. The OST is very good, too.

    Anyway, the game shines in it's gameplay. There's more freedom now, for those who didn't like the linearity
    of the original title.

    It's a great experience overall, even without Lightning.
    Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Unlike the XIII and -0 Such that their releases were made Tsutaya shop in the mega Shibuya, the events of Final Fantasy XIII -2 will be held in Bic Camera in Yurakucho. T was beginning to 6:30 am, followed until the start of sales at 7:00 AM on 15th December (19h on the 14th, here in Brazil, Brasilia time).
  28. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    They are showing some of trade with Yuko - where she get a job in Square Enix, test and play the game, and has a meeting over the content download, and so forth -. Unfortunately, we have to wait Japanese web sites to obtain photos Yuko.
  29. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best final fantasy games I have played, great story which builds a connection between you and the characters, fixed just about every issue that Final Fantasy XIII had and it did it without hurting any other part of the game as well. Good combat that scaled with the game, great soundtrack with many lyrical tracks that fit the environment. The antagonist is one of the best in any video game period. Hope square makes XIII-3. Expand
  30. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    I'm amazed that people think the story makes no sense. My theory is that these people are either illiterate or only played the demo. The game isn't perfect, but it's so much better than XIII that it's shocking that it's not getting the attention it deserves. It feels like an honest to goodness Final Fantasy game. Something that can not truly be said of the last 3 games in the series.
  31. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game exceeds it's predecessor in every way. The battle system is largely the same but it did not need much changing in the first place. Combat has also been brought to life through cinematic action sequences, much like reaction commands from Kingdom Hearts. Every trace of linearity is practically gone and the soundtrack is even an upgrade. The story does not quite have as much focus as Final Fantasy XIII, but it is a heart-felt tale nonetheless. Even for those who might not see the narrative as incredibly interesting, they will find the villain Caius note-worthy. The game has plenty of post story content for the player to immerse him/herself in so they can squeeze every last bit out of this game. I would recomend this game to any of my friends. Expand
  32. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game it fixed all the problems XIII had it was very nonlinear and the story was certainly a step up.The writing at times was a bit silly but easy to get over had an ending with less cliches then I expected and I really enjoyed this game.
  33. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Summarize a scenario modern Final Fantasy is still quite complicated and delicate. It must be said that the specialty producers is to tell a story so convoluted actually quite simple, a habit became a running gag on the Japanese web. Final Fantasy XIII spoke of the co, of Fal'cie and Purging Cocoon, then in the end it was primarily the story of a security guard who wanted to save his sister victim of a curse, leave to join with his foppish of redneck. Final Fantasy XIII-2 resumes just after this initiatory adventure, telling us that our heroes have created a bug in the space-time, without elaborating. Result, Lightning finds himself in a parallel world beyond time called Valhalla, where she will defend this world against a dark and mysterious warrior named Gaius. Violent struggle, then back to Serah, the famous younger sister need help with the turning of a corridor in the previous panel. The latter is much annoyed, for scarcely saved, she finds herself without her big sister, necessarily disappeared. But the separation does not end there, since her fiance saw his sadness, goes in search of Lightning to have their marriage happier. Serah lives so softly among the charming simpletons that serve as companions to Snow, until she comes face to face with Noel, a mysterious young man who told him to come from Lightning. It does not need more to follow Serah for Christmas in a time warp to go in search of his sister ... Expand
  34. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this game I feel like people are to harsh on final fantasy. there are really high expectations for these games and you start to feel bad for them at a certain point. I mean the hatred these games get seems unwarranted.
  35. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    Better than it's predecessor. Final Fantasy XIII-3 is actually one of my favourite XBOX rpg. It is more open, replayable and overall funnier than the first one. The story has several secret worlds that you can discover based on your choices through the game, which is a great and very interesting addition to the gameplay. Even if Lightning is not the protagonist, and there's only two playable characters through all the game, Serah and Noel make a good couple and you won't be bored. So for me, it's a must. Can't wait for the 3rd! Expand
  36. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Great game, but why is it once again necessary to beat the game and then play a load of levels again to unlock everything? I wonder if to make sure casual gamers can at least feel a sense of achievement but I find it slightly irksome. Nevertheless, the amount of content in the game, if you want to try and collect everything, is impressive.
  37. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    Improves upon the original in every way. Characters are more likable and develop as people more, the story is more in depth and the world is very open. Not the best FF but a very good one in my opinion.
  38. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    I really enjoyed Final Fantasy XIII-2. I loved the story, the battle system, and I love the world. I liked Serah as a protagonist and I enjoyed how she developed later on throughout the game. I recommend this to all. It is a fun and enjoyable game.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. 70
    Stand-alone expansion pack you will not want to play for of the story, but only for its battles. [March 2012]
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    81
    If you take XIII-2 and grade it on its own merits, it stands out as a fantastic game. But, if you walk in looking for some semblance of what made the series a household name in the RPG world, you'll be sorely disappointed.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    91
    With numerous endings, extremely challenging bonus bosses, and a pokemon-like addictiveness of trying to catch them all, Final Fantasy XIII-2 definitely surpassed my expectations and I'm glad that many of the shortcomings of XIII have been addressed and fixed. If you were let down with XIII, give XIII-2 a shot, you might be impressed with all the improvements and changes.