User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 226 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 226

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    So if you stopped being a FF fan, respect the thousands who currently enjoy the series, and go play and watch another game. If you think that the series has "died" why are you here commenting about it? Final Fantasy have their real fans and not needs those who once were, but today only know to criticize. You are a zero to the left! Very hard to find a true fan of the Final Fantasy series. What there are people who are/was fans of one or another episode, and all they know to do nowdays is follow the series news just to criticize and say that "it was the good on my time, now it is garbage". So pay no attention to haters, realize that each FF has something new and different to offer and has no obligation to please fans of previous episodes. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    This game isn't a masterpiece... But it is still fantastic. More open, good story, unique soundtrack, and amazing gameplay make this game great. A huge improvement on xiii and the whole feel of the game is much more loose and open while still having a good story (which is very hard to do btw, just ask skyrim and its amazing world and addictiveness but horrible plot). I don't understand all the people who give this game crap. I understand you want final fantasy to be like it used to be but you can't just let that cloud your minds from seeing when square has put out yet another great game. You won't find this game as one of the final fantasy classics, but this game is still very good and shows squares determination to make the game that the fans want to play. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    Unlike the rest of my colleagues who just auto ranked the game based on being a fanboy, I'm actually going to save my judgement until I get the game later today. From what I can tell and the videos I've seen, THIS is what FFXIII should have been. However, when you cater to the easy crowd you will alienate your fanbase and thats what happened. Graphics look good but thats not why I buy RPG's. If a pretty girl on the screen is enough for me to buy a game, I'd stick to Playboy. I buy RPG's for the STORY and FFXIII was completely bonkers on that department. Not even a fantastic musical score, simplified gameplay, nor graphics could have saved that game.

    FFXIII-2 looks to have repaired that damage, but its not what I wanted for the series. FFXIII was a giant step backwards in the progress of FF games, but FFXIII-2 was only skip forward. According to users and critics alike, the gameplay is just on the short side of 30hrs for main storyline. BUT the sidequests are a plenty and the monster collection screams competionist for ALL hardcore pokemon fans out there. You know who you are.... =P

    Sadly, according to what I read and the videos I've seen, the story less fragmented and convoluted than FFXIII, but its still up there. When you incorporate time travel as a mechanic, I'm thinking Chrono Trigger. The story is LINEAR, but the choices are not. XIII-2 doesn't justify a good enough reason for time travelling, but I'll know real soon when I pick up the game.

    Overall, I will enjoy this game more than XIII. I followed SE since it was Squaresoft back when I played FF for the NES. Like all companies, it has slipped and fallen on hard times, but all companies will release a few duds in their time, its the GREAT companies that learn from their mistakes and LISTEN to their fans to make BETTER GAMES.

    I count Square Enix as my FAVORITE SPORTS TEAM. There are times where I am exasperrated (FFXIV, Front Mission, Nier, Dungeon Siege 3) where I am pulling out my hair and cussing at them for their bad plays. But there are also times when I go "Booya! They nailed it!) and I think/hope that its the case with FFXIII-2. If your an SE zealot, then you'll like the game regardless of what I say or what critics say. If your an old jaded fan, rent the game... try it out, maybe SE will win back your trust a little. If you pay $60 bucks for a game, you should have zero loyalties to a company if the game does not live up to your expectation. I'm hoping SE will live up to mine.
    Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    IGN is not the owner of the truth folks, wait for the other reviews...I'm sure that XIII-2 will do better than 83/100 on Metacritic, like XIII, because this game is AWESOME!!!! Rumor has it that some employees were not satisfied with just one thing, although access to the site is via one of the busiest and most crowded subway station. Moreover, everyone will enjoy the greatest luxury and refinement of the site, which rivals the Shinra headquarters of the Final Fantasy VII. Are about 20 floors, with parking for over 300 cars, which show that more than 100 million selling Final fantasys can build. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    4
    Although I'm a long time fan of the series, I don't want to let my bias affect what I say about this game, so I'll review it from a neutral standpoint, as if it were not part of the Final Fantasy series. I have to say that I'm disappointed with FFXIII-2. Whether or not the game is well made, beautiful, interesting, or unique, it lacks the most important component in a video game. It just isn't fun. The graphics are fantastic, but the exploration feels like a chore. The area map is difficult to access, and doesn't feel accurate, and the setting is overly dramatic and uninteresting. The game failed to capture my attention. There are sidequests and missions that can be picked up from NPCs, but as far as I could tell there was no way to track any objective outside of the main storyline, making these sidequests frustrating to deal with and minimally rewarding. I'm sure there are many substories and special items that I missed because I just could not bring myself to go after the sidequests. That aside, even just wandering about in the game was never enjoyable due to constant chirpy quotes from annoying, unrelatable, characters. The music isn't anything special either, so turning off the dialogue volume doesn't solve this problem. Now on to the feature that should be FFXIII-2's selling point: the battle system. I was actually excited to try it out. Again, I was disappointed. You can select paradigm setups in the menu outside of battle, which I found to be enjoyable, but using them in battle is not as rewarding or fun as it should be. For the most part, you select what role you want each character to fill, and then you only have control as one of them in battle, and you choose a chain of moves from a list and then wait. The other charactes run around and do their job, healing the players or doing damage to the enemy. It's nearly impossible to pay attention to them, because the battles are a mess of spinning swords, flashing numbers, and explosions. It's all cinematic, you could select a paradigm that gives the party one attacker and one healer, and then put down the controller and go do something else. You'll eventually win. There's no skill, logic, or thinking involved whatsoever. Your input is completely insignificant to the outcome, and the battles drag on. It can take upwards of 5 minutes to win some of the early battles in the game. I found myself avoiding most enemy encounters, although in other similar games, I tend to search out battles to try out my parties new techiniques and strategies. FFXIII-2 ultimately failed in this regard. Nothing about the game captured my attention or was any fun at all, aside from setting up characters in the menu that I never used. All in all, whether you're a long time fan or a newcomer, I can't bring myself to recommend this game. Rent it or play the demo. Maybe you'll find something you like, but I honestly can't believe this game has receieved any ratings above a 6. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Outdated Everything. Story doesn't make any sense. Annoying voice acting. Combat still unimaginative, the game plays by itself, just flashy battles. How about some real fighting. Not here. Square Enix is just milking the fanbase. The fanbase of neckbeards that like little girls with pink hair.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Too many ones pushin'up this thing. This game is dull as a rusted dishwater in the center of a living-room. Characters ? Silly, charismatic as a toilet. Game-play ? Chaotic. For a non English-birth-language ones ergonomy is non-existent cause you're forced to read on the bottom of the screen a lot of things that drive away focus completely from everything. Leveling up ? Just too linear. Actions ? Too fast too many times (we are not lab-monkeys) == frustrating. Shops ? That addicted neither-too-sexy thing it's a cheap choice for programmers. Level design ? Built by the machine. Atmosphere ? Zero. Sounds ? Annoying. Musics ? Someone good but out of place and no adrenaline rush. Graphics ? Last chapter was better. The story ? What story ? That mess that someone call a "story" ? Who cares ? ...I'm a bigbetterhuge FF fan, I've always been... but this time is just too much, enough is enough, please FF staff, just go to do HARAKIRI, not FF XIII-3, shame on you, regain "love for the game" instead "love for the money" and money will come again but this time I only wish you to default. Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2012
    4
    Ultimately this game does nothing for the franchise that was driven into the ground. While not as **** as its predecessor, FFXIII-2 is still bland and boring in every possible way (except the graphics of course - those are beautiful). Characters are as annoying as ever; the story is a cliche storm, though typical for any JRPG; the music - well, let's just say that I've never thought that any soundtrack could be more bland and unmemorable than that of FFXIII. Guess SquareEnix proved me wrong. I'm very happy that I will be able to spend these 60$ on something good instead. Too bad for my friend who spent his on this. Expand
  9. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    What's wrong with a game has a direct sequence (even if it is more a) if it is a wonderful game? What's wrong with the story complete trilogy format, or quatrolgogia or quintologia? A wonderful game can not escape the conclusion to his story ends it in an upcoming episode? Why require a "middle chapter" finish the story of the game?
  10. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Where are the masters of these fans to be continue to criticize the decision of Square Enix? They criticize everything the company does, how DLCs. Every game company today make five hundred DLCs and nobody says anything, and when the Square do ...
  11. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Everyone has the right not to like Final Fantasy CURRENT. But when you call it "garbage" and said the series "Died," the millions of fans today, feel the least offended. You hater need learn about respect.
  12. Jan 31, 2012
    3
    I play RPGs primarily for the story, characters, and the cinematic experience, which is why I am so disenchanted by FF13-2. The story literally does not make any sense, and I feel as though the game finds that fact funny and flaunts it very often. The majority of the conversations in the game have nothing to do with relevant characters or events--they're unnatural, nonsensical rants about "time" and "paradox", over and over and over and over. It's as if the writers believed that if they repeated those words enough, things would start to make sense. They don't. The characters--and there's only two--act as if no one else is there with them. Noel and Serah don't connect at all--they just state things over the course of the game, as if the other isn't there. They go through the entire game without learning much about one another. It's similar to the way, for example, Fang never interacted with anyone but Vanille in FF13. It's very awkward and, to be honest, lonely. But most of the game is lonely; though FF13-2 boasts that towns have returned, they really haven't. Sure, many of the time periods in the game have "towns", but they are just town-looking locations overrun with monsters. Why should I care about saving a town from monsters if the town has no NPCs or interiors of any kind? I don't even know who lives here, or if anyone ever does live here. Sure, you'll see futuristic cars zooming by in the background, but it's a huge disappointment when you realize that you'll never be able to actually talk to anyone from many of the time periods. Don't get excited by the term "time periods"--in 13-2, most of them are just one-level dungeons. My other complaint is the way the developers approached "fixing" the game after FF13. Most of the non-linearity is artificial: Maps are now "gridded", but every twist and turn leads to the same goal. There's not actually anything interesting to see off the beaten path, other than a treasure sphere. The minigames of 13-2 are also totally unrelated to what is going on in the story--they're clearly just thrown in to address 13's lack of minigames. And the towns, as I mentioned, continue to be disappointing ghost towns that constantly make me wonder why this world is worth saving at all when no one lives in it. For me, the meat of an RPG is the story and characters, and that's why I'm giving this game a 3/10. The 3 represents the great graphics, the above average music, the "cool" factor of the game, the CG, the battle system, and all of the other bells and whistles. If you like Pokemon, or want a grinding game, give 13-2 a shot. If you're after for an epic story experience, look elsewhere. Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    If you're going into FFXIII-2 thinking SE learned from the complaints about the last game and created a rich, explorable world for this one, you're going to be disappointed. The world of FFXIII-2 is made up of a small handful of areas with nothing really connecting them to each other (think Kingdom Hearts). The ridiculous time travel storyline gives the developers a convenient excuse to recycle areas with different lighting/weather effects and pass them off as new areas. I have to give them a pass on this, because to my understanding, this game is largely an attempt to make use of the large amount of unused assets created for FFXIII. I think your feelings on FFXIII's battle system will largely determine whether or not you enjoy this game as it is essentially the same aside from the monster collecting. The game still looks and sounds great even if a few of the new musical tracks are truly cringe-worthy (the heavy metal chocobo theme, for example). The music was one of the best things about FFXIII and luckily, all of the most familiar themes from that game make appearances here. They made some rather unfortunate additions to the gameplay, like QTEs and a lot of truly awful puzzle rooms that look like they came straight out of a PS2 game circa 2002. Other than that, this 20-hour sequel if pretty enjoyable. I wouldn't recommend paying full price for it though. Expand
  14. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    This game is better than XIII but the damage has been done. Final Fantasy XIII is one of my most hated games ever and in my opinion, the worst FF game ever. This sequel is what XIII should have been but the problem is that this game should have been XIII when XIII was released and instead we got the same horrible taste with salt and flavourings added to it for slight improvement. First, the good stuff. The battle system is more involving and intuitive, there is more emphasis on exploration and random encounters are tactical. Overall, it completely improves on the gameplay from XIII. Now for the bad stuff and it's a very major one: the story. It is so contrived, so depressing and so poorly written and the time travelling aspect actually makes it worse and yes, the writing is as bad as XIII. Most of characters from XIII are back and are annoying as ever but at least we only have to follow Lightning's sister, Serah, who I thought was the most boring character out of the cast but it is sort of an improvement. Did XIII-2 redeem XIII and the whole franchise? Hell no. Even though it is better than XIII, it isn't enough to save the Final Fantasy franchise because it is still hanging on XIII's shadow and that's not good but it is one small step in the right direction at least. Expand
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    People just need to understand that things change, and as part of the public old leaves, comes a new audience (this includes even lower sales in Japan and higher in the West). Things are new Resident Evil ... went through it, leaving aside the terror and taking action. Final Fantasy follows changing, losing and gaining fans with each new episode, and it is not like those who no longer accept this fact, and at least respect the tastes of others, and as we said, not rate it "junk" as seen by both there. Expand
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    While vain haters saying that the series died on 8, at 9, 10, 6 ... in the game celebrates 25 years with much success, having sold until the thirteenth time about 7 million copies, and XIII-2, they lost some public in Japan, making this much success in the U.S., and pre-sales with 150 000 units more than its predecessor.
  17. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    The Final Fantasy series has been on a slow, steady decline since FFIX almost brought Square back to the elements that made the franchise great to begin with. The pinnacle being VII, everything after has been a slog, as more and more time and energy has been pumped into graphics, while the freedom, gameplay and most of all, STORY has taken a backseat. XIII-2 is only the second numbered sequel, and while I certainly don't think it is a great game, by any means, it at least shows that someone, somewhere inside SE is listening and trying to get the series back on track. I would suggest anyone who has an interest in this series give this one a go, if for no other reason than to give incentives for more risk taking in future installments. Expand
  18. Feb 2, 2012
    5
    The good: Great cinematic scenes.

    The bad: Same bad experience from FF-XIII. all of this includes annoying background music, silly and childish characters, stupid dialogues and same boring combat system from FFXIII. In sum if you didn't like the original FFXIII you won't be pleased with this one either. I'm still waiting for a FF game that truly incorporates the great things from the
    classic FF games (hopefully FFXIV).This FFXIII saga feels more like an semi-adult version of a Kingdom Hearts game but without any Disney's charm. On the positive side this could be an OK game for those under 12 year old gamers diving into RPG games for the first time. Expand
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Yep.. It's the real deal this time around! ~Game is VERY good and "feels" like a final fantasy game through and through. ~Combat is extremely fluid, fast, and fun! ~Collecting the enemies you fight to aid subsequent encounters is nothing short of epic! ~Within the first hour of the game your riding Chocobos for crying out lout! Awesome. ~By only having 2 main characters the story this time around is ALOT more focused albeit a little less dire but still an overall good story that I'm very much enjoying!

    ~ Time travel mechanic is done in a very accessible way and fun to do instead of being a huge pain in the kiester.

    Did you like FFX?? BUT THIS GAME!
    Did you like FF13?? BUY THIS GAME!
    Did you like FF9?? BUY THIS GAME!
    Expand
  20. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I must say I am enjoying this Final Fantasy much more than I did 13. I do wish that some more attention to characers were made, but over-all the story elements, combat, music and other additions have greatly improved since 13.
  21. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Fantastic story and great characters. Can't wait for the DLC to follow up, although I still currently await Final Fantasy XIII-3, if it comes out.
  22. Feb 13, 2012
    6
    For a franchise that prides itself on story I have to say this game is one of the poorer entries in the series. Possibly the worst. The story is very bland and uninspiring. Also it doesn't make a whole lot of sense and is not easy to follow even if you're a fanboy. I will say that the graphics for this game are very good but that was already established by the previous game. Combat again is largely the same and I found myself using the same combination of Paradigms and moves over and over again making the experience very bland. They did add quicktime event which didn't add much for me and I also feel are outdated to begin with. Overall this was a very poor game showing that Square Enix is running out of innovative ideas. Expand
  23. dz9
    Feb 6, 2012
    7
    If you have read my review of FF13, it is blatantly obvious that I despised the very fabric of Final Fantasy 13, it took away everything that is loved and that is expected out of Final Fantasy. The countless joyful hours I spent in FF6, 7, 9, 10, and 12 is the sole reason why I even considered giving 13-2 a shot. I read a review before I played it and learned about time traveling aspects in the game and the first thing I thought of was "omg, there going to add a confusing aspect like time traveling to an already confusing, con deluded, and to put it lightly screwed up story?" And this brings me to my first point, in its essence it is a bad thing, but considering how bad the story in 13 was, it is a good thing. They nearly completely threw out all the bad points in 13 and acted as if they never happened and just expanded on the few good concepts. This game also expands on the beautiful graphics, and it shows how much better the gameplay in 13 could have been if they simply had just let you control more than one character in combat!!! This game returns towns (but not in the traditional sense) side quests, replay ability, and side adventuring. 13 treasure hunting was too basic, due to the linearity of the title, every treasure was either in the path, or in the little alcove 10 feet from your path. 13-2 liberates the gamer from the hellish linearity from the first, which greatly improves the treasure hunting. Now... treasures are scattered and hidden nicely and some are invisible which you will have to utilize your moogle in fun and inventive ways to find them. The level up system has way more freedom, however very simplified but i still found it enjoyable. Also, the beast master was a good addition however I thought not completely fleshed but it was still fun and what more can you ask for. However... this game does suffer from some of the flaws from the first title, the characters that make a reappearance (including Lightning) are however a little more fleshed out, but I didn't care about them anymore than I did in the first (except for Hope). This is only a spoiler if you didn't beat the original but one of the main objectives in this title is to revitalize Fang and Vanille, but they were literally some of the worst characters in video game history and I found myself not wanting to do good in this game just to not have to hear Vanille's annoying voice again!! The dialogue in this ranges polar opposite, being very touching or flat out corny and ridiculous, but more so ridiculous. More so Serah, but I found that the two main characters were uninteresting and bland (but still better than the characters in the first). And still, the basic premise of this game is just as confusing as the story in the first... but over great periods of time in this title, you may begin to understand it. And that's another thing this game has wrong, the pacing. The first 8 hours I spent playing it, nothing progressed story wise past the first 20 minutes of the game, the gamer will find themselves maybe completely not caring about the story, but if you can luster up the strength to venture on, it does get better. The Good: Gameplay upgraded, level up system, graphics, exploring, story upgraded, beast master fits right in, and an awesome villain. The Bad: Accessories seem irrelevant, bland main characters, pacing, and suffers from its predecessor. In the End: This game gets carried by its flash, its gameplay, its main villain, and your nostalgia. I feel like Square did an absolute horrible job with the story development because all the "twists" were just so obvious that the game spits in the face of the gamer by presuming your somehow not smart enough to understand. This game is still not a genuine FF title, it just BARELY earns its name... its enjoyable and fun, but don't expect a total thrill ride or story driven experience because once you get past the flash, theres not a terrible amount going for it... Expand
  24. Feb 6, 2012
    3
    I was one of those people who actually enjoyed FFXIII (shocking, I know, that those people do exist) and I didn't have as many gripes with how it played out. It's been said that this game is basically the complete opposite of what FFXIII was and I can agree with them. The main problem I have with this game is the fact that it's so boring. I liked the story and, even though the characters were kinda annoying in FFXIII, they weren't so bad that it hindered the story, unlike in here. Sarah and Noel are beyond terrible as main characters and listening to them talk about a convoluted story, which doesn't hold a candle to the story in FFXIII, is beyond difficult to listen too. The voice acting isn't terrible it's just that the characters are not very compelling and the way they are presented make them uninteresting and just annoying to have to deal with. However it's the story that is the worst part of the game. The time traveling part of the story could have been interesting but the way it's presented with all the complexities of time travel make it difficult to follow and even harder to have a vested interest in its outcome. All these things make for a boring game, especially for someone who actually enjoyed FFXIII. It's completely true that this game is the exact opposite of FFXIII. That means if you actually liked FFXIII like I did, you may have some issues with all the things that were changed from that one to this game. To each his own but be careful with this game if you actually enjoyed FFXIII. Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Funny that almost all animes use and abuse of the To Be Continued, FF seems already prohibited from using it. There are chapters and more chapters of Dragon Ball Z for example, that are pure **** surpassing even the novels of Globo and Televisa.
  26. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy fans have their real needs and not those that have been, but today only know how to criticize. You are a leading zero to Square Enix! Sorry, but this is the truth. Recalling that the Square already registered the name Final Fantasy XIII-3.
  27. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    As we have reported in recent weeks, the newest RPG from Square Enix, Final Fantasy XIII-2 continues to surprise in pre-sales in the U.S.. Unlike Japan, where sales were not as good as its predecessor, the American territory, the game has surpassed more than 100 000 units Final Fantasy XIII on the same date, and that only the PS3 version, adding about 354 000 copies sold . In the Xbox 360 version, the game enters the top 10 with 115,000 units. Expand
  28. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    The CEO Square Enix Yoichi Wada and the CEO of Bic Camera, Hiroyuki Miyajima continued with speeches short. Wada noted that XIII -2 has been enhanced to overcome the XIII in all aspects. Miyajima said the pre-sales for the game were strong in your store, and expressed hope that they sell more copies than anywhere in Japan.
  29. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this wonderfull game? better than the original in almost every single way...better than the original in almost every single way, I wanna XIII-3 now!!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Fantastic, quirky, blast of a time-travel RPG. While I very seriously enjoyed XIII-1, the only thing lacking in my opinion was the ability to have a more free roam experience. That's very much present in here, and you can tell the devs had fun making this game. While the story is a little disjointed and gets pieced-together bit by bit as you travel, and not necessarily in the right order. The ability to recruit monsters as your third party member is in-fact my favorite change to the Final Fantasy formula and breathes a new life into the system. Absolutely fantastic game--what everyone else was looking for when XIII game out. Square Enix is back on it's game. Expand
  31. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    I have to be honest, I'm a little disappointed I spent hard earned money on this game. It's too short, the voice acting is terrible and half of the time it feels like some lame anime made for children. Characters are far too cliche (especially Caius), soundtrack is awful and not memorable in the slightest, battles can be won with the auto-battle feature as long as you switch paradigms every so often and the story isn't that entertaining. Needless to say, if you liked the older Final Fantasy's, you'll be disappointed like I was. I'm giving it a 5 because it wasn't so mind numbing that I had to stop playing, but the introduction of quick time events, jumping and optional conversation replies are what all games should have now anyway so that doesn't score it points. Just seems like an RPG made to entertain perverted old men who like to look at half naked pixel women and of course new-to-the-franchise fanboys who have yet to play the old favourites. Collapse
  32. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    For a sequel, this is about as big, epic, and robust as it can get. Taking locales and ideas they most likely already finished for the first game and instead using them as a second-game and basis, a lot of this game feels the same. However, as soon as you're ripping through the time-line and jumping to different dates and locales in the future--and past--that's soon easily forgiven and you find yourself having an absolute blast on this journey through time. The paradigm battle system is perfected and you can hunt down monsters and beasts to be your partners as you piece together the different futures and timelines you create. Without the previous story, it loses a bit of it's soul, but this still stands a bright point Square Enix has finally turned too--and should continue to do so in the future. Well done. Expand
  33. Mar 5, 2012
    1
    I have played every FF game since there was a FF, before the Enix merger and post. I'm a fan. That said this imo is the worst FF game i have ever played. I dare say i liked Mystic Quest more. Versus XIII if it really plays like KH, will be a great rebirth for the series. It felt to me like they took things out of XIII-2 just to add them as dlc. Cards/Sazh are a prime example. IMO Online Passes and DLC are killing gaming, Or I should say hurting it instead. The Graphics are great yes, there are quite a few graphical glitches. the camera system is worse than i have ever seen. The battle system is so easy a Caveman could do it and A.D.D. kids will be happy. Although I understood the story for the most part. I still think it wasn't setup properly for the concept. Every and only answer you need is a paradox did it. They didn't anticipate and write for us not going the route they intended at all. The game makes more sense if you follow their timeline unlocks linearly. Yea you don't have to but then you get these gaps/confusions in the arc.
    Monster Hunting/capture and Infusions are fun, but they are things we old schoolers expect. The Crystarium isn't as well thought out as it could have been. If you want to focus your roles on the characters strengths just simply level Noels Commando on large nodes only and Serahs Ravager on large nodes only. Paradigm shifts and auto battle are meh. I'd give the game a 6 if not for all the unwarranted high scores. I love FF just as much if not more than anyone here. I am even paying for 2 characters in XIV. Still have XI and prefer it although the XIV team is working hard(seeing improvements on a regular basis), and by 2.0 i think most will be happy. To think that Lightning wasn't already in the Coliseum makes me cringe as i think about the days of KH, and the wealth of content they used to give us. /rant end
    Expand
  34. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    I firmly believe the turning point for this series was the departure of Matsuno part-way through FF12. If he had stayed and finished the game I think it would be held in the same regard as 7, 8 and 9. It's a shame how the series has gone, it doesn't even seem like they're stuck in the past, they just have the completely wrong idea of what their audience want.
  35. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    The Final Fantasy series is back... The story was never the great strength of the sequels, but the gameplay has been improved very dramatically for the better, no doubt, if you're a fan of the series and the genre, you should play it.
  36. Feb 3, 2012
    7
    If you thought Final Fantasy XIII-2 was going to be a massive apology to western gamers disappointed with Final Fantasy XIII, well... that's not what this. It does feel like an apology, but one aimed more to the series' Japanese fanbase. Less Lightning and Sazh, more fashionable teens with impossibly beautiful hair and milky-white skin, more j-pop, more melodrama, and now with monster collecting and an adorable mascot character. The time-travel storyline is an utterly incoherent mess. It's not that it's convoluted, as time travel stories tend to be, it's completely devoid of any logic or reasoning, and characters use the words paradox and "artefact" as if they were proper nouns. Yep. This is definitely a Japanese game. All that said, the game is much more fun to play this time around. Square Enix heard the fans and this time around, the game does not slowly give you control of every single aspect of it's battle and character progression systems to you over the course of the entire freaking game. The single corridor that made up Final Fantasy XIII's entire journey has been replaced by a series of areas that are no longer quite so hallway-shaped and contain actual town-like areas and npcs (including possibly the worst Final Fantasy character ever in the form of the game's one merchant npc). The graphics have taken a hit, but the game still looks absolutely beautiful. The sense of place and a bigger world, however, still isn't there because there is no world map and areas are separated by both space and time. You just click on the level you want to go to from the area select screen. Slightly disappointing, but given the game's fast turn around time, it is to be expected. MOST jrpgs this generation have had a really hard time with world-crafting. Another issue, the storyline of the game progresses in a strictly linear fashion, but you are occasionally given access to more than one area at a time... this half-assed attempt at non-linearity means that characters will talk about events that haven't happened yet or wonder where characters they've already located are. All of it's many problems aside, Final Fantasy XIII-2 is a much richer and liberated gameplay experience than the original was. If you can turn off your brain to the ridiculous story and Nomura's character designs, there is a quite excellent, addicting experience to be had here. Just accept that this series is now firmly "niche" in the west. Expand
  37. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Joguei a versao japonesa e posso dizer que foi o melhor jogo da minha vida! Claro que a historia nao se conclui, mas nao vejo mal algum em termos FFXIII-3. Estou ancioso ja para saber o que ocorre em seguida.
  38. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    Before I'm labeled a "fangirl" of how it used to be, I want it known that there are RPGs out there that are really deserving of a good score, whether indie or otherwise. I will admit, I'm playing more indie games lately (due to the level of quality), but this game falls flat for me in so many ways. The story is outlandish, the dialogue is abysmal, and at least for me, quick-time events are overused so much lately that it's really becoming synonymous with a factor of bad game design. There is a reason why so many people say that the Final Fantasy series is lacking after FF X, and this game is one of those reasons why. It doesn't have the depth, the polish, the developer's real 'love' of the series that earlier entries had in spades. I will give it props for what it does well, and that's the music. Music is just fantastic. Other than that? For some reason, the graphics took a nose-dive in this game, and your main characters are one-dimensional cardboard cutouts of characters that might have been good if done right. Mediocre game at best. For shame Square-Enix, for shame. Expand
  39. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    I never liked Final Fantasy before the XIII part and then become a fan and lover. The sequel covers the most amazing thing you can tell within a story- time travel. Its awesome how the strory tells certain things and the ending is the one of the best endings i have ever seen. The fighting system is much more improved and the graphics are still the best of this generation.
  40. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    The new FF is simply great ! Ok,the story is stretched and functional satisfying but the game also improved in many ways.
  41. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    This game is everything XIII should have been. Square Enix really took everything critics had to see about the first one and improved it in this game. The world is more open, and with the ability to travel through time, you can journey anywhere you previously visited at anytime. However, the story lacks a bit due to the openness of this game. While the story is good, other Final Fantasy games have outclassed it - especially after the story-oriented XII - it is still well structured and written. But the new villain, Caius, makes a very worthy addition to the cast of villains in the franchise and his own story is interesting. XIII-2's battle system is virtually the same as XIII (so if you hated it you're better off not getting this game) but is a lot faster and feels a lot smoother. Gameplay also includes new features such as chocobo racing. Speaking of chocobos, if you ever wanted one in your party your dream is now realised. Since you only play as two characters, a first for the franchise, you can recruit monsters and level them up separately to Noel and Serah. The leveling up system is also improved, being faster and not being set-in-stone. You spend a bit of time in menu's too, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The graphics are essentially the same to XIII, but still look good. The soundtrack is, as usual in FF games, amazing and works very well with the situations played alongside it. If everything this game did well and mixed it with XIII's storyline, then we would have had another excellent entry to the FF series. Unfortunately,players of XIII may not give this game a shot, which is a shame because this game is a big improvement and a very good game. Expand
  42. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Even though I was skeptical at first, as a true fan of the FF series it was a must for me to have this game. I suppose it's because FFX-2 was so...different. I was nervous that this game would be the same. Its predecessor FFXIII had many things that I wish were different but it was enjoyable. FFXIII-2 WAS different but not in a bad way, in my opinion. I must say overall, I appreciated FFXIII-2 much more than I thought I would after I actually played it. Many changes were made but there were still some faults. Nothing that ruined the game for me, though. I didn't expect it to be perfect so I didn't mind. The characters were enjoyable...except for a few. The leveling system was linear but it works for the game. The monsters were interesting. If you're like me and try to collect everything, it gets a bit tedious trying to capture every monster and fragment. One thing I did not care for was the music. Some of it sounded good but most of it was either recycled from FFXIII or not very good punk rock or whatever it was. The battle system is basically a slightly upgraded version of FFXIII with the paradigm shifts. I enjoy the new battle system, though (call me crazy) I will always love turn based combat. I know, old school right? Back to paradigm shifting...Serah and Noel can be any role they want to...if you get the upgrade. :) It's definitely not linear like FFXIII and there's PLENTY of side quests. The game had the same quirkiness and silly stuff as any FF I've ever played. Overall, I'd say it felt like a Final Fantasy game to me! One more thing...I miss turn based combat! That is all. Expand
  43. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    I have been a huge FInal Fantasy fan since the days of the SNES--now most people that I know that enjoyed the SNES days didn't very much like FFVII through current. XII was decent (I know a lot of people liked this one), but I just couldn't get into it, though I'm going to give it another shot soon. Now to the supposedly dreaded XIII. I didn't dislike this game--I enjoyed it, but in a lot of ways, it didn't feel like FF. I enjoyed the set story pieces, but the grinding wasn't fun, the lack of people, towns, etc. Overall, I think XIII was something between an 8.5 and a 9.0. I truly believe that if it were released by a different publisher with a different name, that would have been the case. So here we are--for only the second time a sequel in the main numbered series. XIII-2 for me has been fantastic. The biggest change from XIII is that it feels very much like a FF game, which I'm glad to see (I know the bioware fanboys in most of the reviews here would disagree). Anyway, if you were a fan of the old games, this one is much closer to them than XIII was. The battle systems has some nice changes which makes for fun party building, there are actually people to talk to, random conversations, etc. The shop system is not what I wanted to see, but not that huge of a deal (I won't go into details, I like to keep these spoiler free). The story is crazy--a little tough to follow sometimes, but I really like it. All in all this game isn't perfect, and it certainly isn't for everyone, but for me, I really like it a lot. I would really give it a 9.5 as a FF fan. As a gamer, I would give it a 9.0. But to buff the ridiculous score given by the Bioware loving fanboys here, I'll give it a 10. Expand
  44. May 13, 2012
    7
    I loved the concept of time travel and paradox elements, the feature of having a "monster" act as a member of your squad and being able to devleop these team members at your preference was good however these good elements were off set by the Kupo character and the poor main character delevopment sphere system.
    Overall the game is sure to appeal to fans of the series and will keep them
    ticking over uptil the next episode. Expand
  45. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    I was inspired to write being an Xbox 360 owner whose never played any previous versions of Final Fantasy until the FF- 13 came out last year which I did enjoy very much.The characters,graphics and the "story" (which mostly relied on long cutscenes to explain) were emotional,beautiful and very well done.
    I have to admit I wasn't to keen on a 2 member + monster battle party but I quickly
    got used to and began to enjoy it in Final Fantasy 13-2.In part 2 the story is certainly about time travel which I find interesting and seems like there can be many different ways the story can unfold,even more places to see with future download content....I like the battle system tweaks and the live trigger questions where you get a choice to ask something about another character or the time paradox events.After leveling up pretty high the battles can get much easier but there will always be some boss or unusual monster than can test you.There are paradox puzzles and quiz's on your hunt for time shard crystals,mostly fun,sometimes a bit annoying as they get more difficult.It's faster at leveling up than the first part was.I really wish they'd include a volume level in the settings for the music so it could be lowered sometimes.The only other JRPG I've played and really enjoyed was "Lost Odyssey".I really think that the difference between a JRPG and a western one are just different story telling methods and turn based battle combat systems in a group versus a solo open world explorer.I love Mass Effect,Skyrim,Oblivion and Fallout 3 not to mention Bioshock but both FF-13 games are worth checking out...Based on playing these 2 FF games what I expect and what they have delivered is a pretty game with colorful combat, beautiful characters and an engaging story that often will tug at your heart if you got one.. and yes Serah Farron the main character is beautiful. Expand
  46. Mar 8, 2012
    7
    A small improvement over FF 13 but that's not saying much...I think it's my dislike for the battle system but i admit i did have fun with the game.The time travel mechanics really confuse the story even more to what ws already a hard to follow one.
  47. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    Final fantasy 13 was one of my favorite ff games (respect me, cause a lot of people hates 13 and i'm the few who liked it) I liked for it's gameplay (don't judge me) the graphics and the soundtrack but 13-2 had potential but it couldn't keep up unlike it's predecessor 13-2 had a horrible soundtrack and the graphics went back to the good side unlike 13 which was in the best. The plot was good until the ending. I guess it ruined it for me and other ff fans that Lightning died and it offered no closure what so ever. I guess sqenix wants another ff13 game. Well there's nothing wrong with that just as long as sqenix never makes another ff14 game. Expand
  48. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    Was fine but I'm tired of playing as weak minded, self-doubting characters. The look like jap-pop stars. Give gamers the opportunity to play as a badass and not a Barrett look alike but a cold calculating character with the apparel to back it up. This game isn't as much fun as I wanted it to be. There isn't any fight that feels as if though you're up against unsurmountable odds. It's fine but that's about it. The monster catching system is just something to kill time. Yes, the series is moving in a different direction than what was once Final Fantasy whether or not that's going to be a good thing is still up to debate. I know that Square Enix knows that they're losing fans with the release of later titles. For those that have known the series for a long time have to accept the fact that the series they once knew is no longer going to be what they enjoyed. If you have such a strong attachment to something you should voice your opinions and let the developers know but so far they haven't listened. Let the new fans enjoy Final Fantasy from now on. There are developers out there who still make good jrpgs you just have to look. Expand
  49. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Final Fantasy games aren't what they used to be. As most of the long-time fans of the series will tell you, it's been on a decline since VII. However, I have to disagree with those that think this is one of the worst.

    Final Fantasy XIII-2 improves on the original in many ways, the largest of those being the fact that it is no longer a long corridor. There are actually choices to be made,
    different paths to be chosen. The paradigm system of the original returns, and it is still a good system. The game is fun if this is your kind of game; if not, you could find yourself hating it from the start. The story is not as strong as it was in XIII, not even close. In improving the gameplay, the story has seemed to taken a backseat. The game does look very nice (Square has some of the best cutscenes, in my opinion), though. The newest instalment is a good one. It's not revolutionary in the slightest, but it's a good game that I would recommend. Expand
  50. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Improves the gameplay of the previous one, but the story is a little worse. The new character Noel is a nice addition to the cast, and the same can be said about Caius and Yeul. The art direction changed a bit, and is a lot more anime-ish and colorful. The OST is very good, too.

    Anyway, the game shines in it's gameplay. There's more freedom now, for those who didn't like the linearity
    of the original title.

    It's a great experience overall, even without Lightning.
    Expand
  51. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Unlike the XIII and -0 Such that their releases were made Tsutaya shop in the mega Shibuya, the events of Final Fantasy XIII -2 will be held in Bic Camera in Yurakucho. T was beginning to 6:30 am, followed until the start of sales at 7:00 AM on 15th December (19h on the 14th, here in Brazil, Brasilia time).
  52. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    They are showing some of trade with Yuko - where she get a job in Square Enix, test and play the game, and has a meeting over the content download, and so forth -. Unfortunately, we have to wait Japanese web sites to obtain photos Yuko.
  53. Feb 7, 2012
    7
    The combat is fun, but this is not the Final Fantasy that I grew up with. I knew that going in from beating XIII, but I was hoping for a little bit more exploration. Though the game isn't as linear as XIII, it still doesn't seem completely open with the sections being separated by time periods. I'm an older gamer, and I can't stand the characters. It's a little too melodramatic for my taste. Here's to hoping the next Final Fantasy will have a more mature/darker cast. It gets a lot right but in the end..it's nothing special. Expand
  54. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a very bizarre installment in the series. It had echoes of the awful FFX-2 but wasn't nearly as abysmal. As some have mentioned, the story is all over the map and doesn't make much sense. The characters are cliched and not as strong as the cast of the original. That said, Noel and Serah are likeable. Caius and Yeul are embarrassing formulaic attempts at dark & enigmatic. Given the long pedigree of the series and the fact that the average age of the loyal fanbase must be well into its 30's, one would think the protagonists would be a bit more age appropriate. I liked playing Cloud, Squall, and Tidus when I was around that age but at this point, I wish FF would move on from the teen angst melodrama. We've outgrown it. Western developers seem to understand this intrinsically. Linearity isn't too much of a problem for me personally. I liked FF13 a lot. FF13-2 is less linear on a cosmetic level, so much that the fragmented time-periods seem like a defiant exaggeration of being non-linear/non-chronological. The concept was interesting, but would have been better suited to a world and cast I could care about more. Graphics are beautiful; battle system is fun. I was disappointed that what looked to be a map w. 32 different "levels" recycled so many places so many times. Did we really need 4 Yaschas Massif's (a watered down version of an already recycled place in FF13, where it was done better)? I thought at some point, a real party would form with a cast of characters, but it wasn't in store. For its flaws, FF13 had much more vision to it and better integration. Much of FF13-2 is just throwing things at the wall to see what sticks; while some of the components are interesting or well-done individually (level design, monsters), they're not necessarily contributing to a specific vision or "feel," like the Okinawa theme of FFX or FF7's steampunk/anti-corporatism. It's more random. The Mog has an obnoxious voice. "Kupo" is much better written as text than performed by what sounds to be an entitled 5th grade girl. Finally, there are no summons (aeons, eidolons, guardians, etc.). It's not very epic in length making this feel more like a novella. Expand
  55. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best final fantasy games I have played, great story which builds a connection between you and the characters, fixed just about every issue that Final Fantasy XIII had and it did it without hurting any other part of the game as well. Good combat that scaled with the game, great soundtrack with many lyrical tracks that fit the environment. The antagonist is one of the best in any video game period. Hope square makes XIII-3. Expand
  56. Feb 10, 2012
    6
    Not what I expected... in a bad way. I'm writing this review assuming that the reader has played the original to an extent. The game starts out well, but eventually turns into an overall mess as you get farther into the story. The original was so fun to me because of the long engaging story, great characters, and fast and difficult combat. All of these are pretty much missing in the second series. The story is pretty much a huge failure and didn't hold my interest for a second. I won't give any specific details on what the story is, but let's just say it is not the kind of story I expect from Square Enix. There's a problem that threatens the world, and the characters travel from place to place trying to fix it. That is about all there is to the story. I suppose that's what happens when you try to incorporate an open ended world into an RPG. The characters were so bland that it makes me depressed just watching them talk. If they were only going to give us two characters, at least make them somewhat interesting! One character just goes along with the flow while the other character tries to take the lead but is dumb as a rock. The way the game flows does not satisfy me either. It feels almost tedious to play through the game. I feel like there is no way to do the sidequests without a walkthrough because the quest objectives are so vague, and most of them don't show you where the objective is, leaving you to explore the map over and over again only to find that what you were looking for was in the corner that you accidentally skipped over. There is no way to gauge the difficulty of the side quest you are doing, so sometimes you will end up having side quests that are designed for extremely high leveled characters, while you are only a couple hours into the game. I don't know how many hours I've wasted trying to kill unbeatable monsters. Even part of the main story frustrates me. Having to travel back to all the places I've been before just to pick up an invisible item that takes forever to find is not good game design. I really do appreciate the fact that there are side quests to go to unlike in the original, but it feels like everything I do is a side quest, and I really don't like that feeling. I am at the moment struggling to find motivation to continue with the main story, even though I am on the second to last chapter. All this wouldn't be so bad though if the combat and leveling was fun. Unfortunately though, this game falls short on that aspect too. The leveling system makes it very hard to switch from one playstyle to another if you want to change up your party. Thus, you will probably be using one set of paradigms throughout the whole game, which isn't fun. Raising monsters seemed like a neat idea at first, but I really wish they just put another character in the monster's slot instead. It suffers the same problem as leveling your characters, as it takes a ludicrous amount of resources and grinding to make a monster powerful. The combat is pretty much exactly the same as in the original, but the enemy designs and the way character development pans out pretty much ruins everything. One of the reasons FFXIII was fun was because it was necessary to use every advantage you can possibly gain to defeat your current enemy. It was fun to attempt fitting in synergist buffs with the intense damage that your medic has to heal through, while also trying to keep the enemy chain gauge up. It was fun to adjust to different situations, and having to adjust your entire playstyle for different fights. FFXIII-2 absolutely destroys this. There is no longer a need to adjust to a situation, or to rush to stagger an enemy. There is only a need to have high damage and survive burst damage, which involves a lot of switching to sentinel. The chain gauge can wait. Wound damage would have been a new interesting mechanic, which involves lowering your maximum HP as a fight wears on over time from tougher enemies, but the game provides wound potions for a fairly cheap price, which makes me wonder why they put in wound damage in at all. The game ranges from way too hard to way too easy. There is not an in between. If you try to proceed through the main story without any sidequests at all, you will end up getting your monkey spanked until bananas come out of your ears, but if you do just a couple sidequests, you will end up facerolling any enemies that come your way for all eternity, due to the fact that the game relies so much on just surviving a set amount of burst damage. Overall, I'm pretty much utterly disappointed with this game, but the community kind of brought it on themselves. They whined and whined for a more open world, and Square Enix indeed delivered. Unfortunately, the game just didn't end up being as fun as I thought it would be. It's not an absolutely terrible game though. It's just absolutely terrible for what Square Enix is capable of. I cannot recommend buying this game for it's full price. Expand
  57. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    I'm amazed that people think the story makes no sense. My theory is that these people are either illiterate or only played the demo. The game isn't perfect, but it's so much better than XIII that it's shocking that it's not getting the attention it deserves. It feels like an honest to goodness Final Fantasy game. Something that can not truly be said of the last 3 games in the series.
  58. Sep 2, 2012
    1
    Don't play this game, it's a **** betrayal to every fan of the franchise. It SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS.
  59. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game exceeds it's predecessor in every way. The battle system is largely the same but it did not need much changing in the first place. Combat has also been brought to life through cinematic action sequences, much like reaction commands from Kingdom Hearts. Every trace of linearity is practically gone and the soundtrack is even an upgrade. The story does not quite have as much focus as Final Fantasy XIII, but it is a heart-felt tale nonetheless. Even for those who might not see the narrative as incredibly interesting, they will find the villain Caius note-worthy. The game has plenty of post story content for the player to immerse him/herself in so they can squeeze every last bit out of this game. I would recomend this game to any of my friends. Expand
  60. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    I've been a life-long Final Fantasy fan for as long as there have been Final Fantasies, ever since the original on the ol' NES. I've played and beaten every single one of them, and now after I have played and beaten this one, I can honestly say I was unimpressed. This game's storyline makes me want to vomit with how ludicrous and substandard it is. The character development is frankly poor, and while the gameplay itself does have some merit to it the overall sense of this being a real Final Fantasy game is just lost on me. I didn't mind this game's predecessor all that much, it was a decent game, not good or great but decent. This one though, I felt was rushed out the door in order to make a quick buck for Square-Enix. I'm not very fond of the battle system either, but it seems like Square is catering to a different crowd now than the ones that brought them their success to begin with. My recommendation? There are better games with great storylines out there, play those instead. Expand
  61. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Final Fantasy 13-2 is everything that is wrong with Final Fantasy today, and yet I sunk 40+ hours into it, rarely finding myself bored. The storyline is something that just turns out being incoherent and lack luster, the characters are melodramatic and outlandishly silly, the dialogue is poorly written; but Final Fantasy 13-2 displays Square's willingness to answer the complaints of fans and to evolve the series into something fresh and interesting. This game's selling point for me is the mere fact that Square clearly cares about this franchise. I absolutely loved the monster collecting, was engrossed by the rare monster hunts, found the levels to be insanely varied and interesting, I was taken aback by most of the music, and this is one of the best looking games you'll find today. One other point, the end boss is my favorite since Ultimecia. Without any spoilers, it's one of Final Fantasy's coolest end foes and it's challenging to boot. I can't really sell you on the story: People travel through time to find a character who I don't really care about. I can't say Square has fully learned how to write a believable character: These characters spew one liners like a B movie. I can't tell you that this is much different than FF13: it's a new story with the same skin. But I had a blast with this game. Great boss battles, beautiful graphics, a stellar soundtrack (similar to Nier's), and a monster collection system that will stump any completionist, this ones a pretty good ride. Expand
  62. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game it fixed all the problems XIII had it was very nonlinear and the story was certainly a step up.The writing at times was a bit silly but easy to get over had an ending with less cliches then I expected and I really enjoyed this game.
  63. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    Summarize a scenario modern Final Fantasy is still quite complicated and delicate. It must be said that the specialty producers is to tell a story so convoluted actually quite simple, a habit became a running gag on the Japanese web. Final Fantasy XIII spoke of the co, of Fal'cie and Purging Cocoon, then in the end it was primarily the story of a security guard who wanted to save his sister victim of a curse, leave to join with his foppish of redneck. Final Fantasy XIII-2 resumes just after this initiatory adventure, telling us that our heroes have created a bug in the space-time, without elaborating. Result, Lightning finds himself in a parallel world beyond time called Valhalla, where she will defend this world against a dark and mysterious warrior named Gaius. Violent struggle, then back to Serah, the famous younger sister need help with the turning of a corridor in the previous panel. The latter is much annoyed, for scarcely saved, she finds herself without her big sister, necessarily disappeared. But the separation does not end there, since her fiance saw his sadness, goes in search of Lightning to have their marriage happier. Serah lives so softly among the charming simpletons that serve as companions to Snow, until she comes face to face with Noel, a mysterious young man who told him to come from Lightning. It does not need more to follow Serah for Christmas in a time warp to go in search of his sister ... Expand
  64. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this game I feel like people are to harsh on final fantasy. there are really high expectations for these games and you start to feel bad for them at a certain point. I mean the hatred these games get seems unwarranted.
  65. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    Better than it's predecessor. Final Fantasy XIII-3 is actually one of my favourite XBOX rpg. It is more open, replayable and overall funnier than the first one. The story has several secret worlds that you can discover based on your choices through the game, which is a great and very interesting addition to the gameplay. Even if Lightning is not the protagonist, and there's only two playable characters through all the game, Serah and Noel make a good couple and you won't be bored. So for me, it's a must. Can't wait for the 3rd! Expand
  66. May 4, 2012
    6
    This is very much a modern, streamlined Final Fantasy game, but IX and XII apart, it's probably the best one I've played in the series since VII. Needless to say it looks great, the soundtrack is amazing, the battles are fast and fun and the character progression system potentially provides a nice level of depth. However, this game is not without it's faults, most notably a severe lack of challenge for anybody who is not an RPG newbie (which rather squanders the depth of the character progression).

    That said, I would have been happy to score this as an eight as I found this to be a rather refreshing entry in an increasingly moribund series, but the rip-off DLC left me with a rather bitter taste in the mouth (for example, areas in the game that are redundant until said DLC is purchased, etc).
    Expand
  67. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Great game, but why is it once again necessary to beat the game and then play a load of levels again to unlock everything? I wonder if to make sure casual gamers can at least feel a sense of achievement but I find it slightly irksome. Nevertheless, the amount of content in the game, if you want to try and collect everything, is impressive.
  68. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    Improves upon the original in every way. Characters are more likable and develop as people more, the story is more in depth and the world is very open. Not the best FF but a very good one in my opinion.
  69. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    As a fan of JRPG, I have to say, this is certainly an improvement from FF-XIII. The ending is what really let me down. And despite its improvement, I only rented it, and spent it on other well-deserved games like Darksiders 2. Sorry, Lightning, but Death is FAR better than you in terms of character charisma. Plus, the RPG elements in DS 2 is better than XIII-2. An improvement, yes, but DS 2 proved to be a BETTER improvement. Expand
  70. Sep 11, 2013
    6
    While FF 13.2 does everything it can to not be as linear as its predecessor, that is also it's downfall.

    The story is decent but the time travel aspect just turn it into a chaotic mess that can be very hard to follow. Combat is fun, but the monster system makes this game feel like it is trying to mimic what made Pokemon or Shin Megami Tensei series successful.

    Serah is a good
    protagonist and you really do get to like her. Noel, on the other hand, looks, sounds and feels like a rejected Kingdom Hearts character (Sora's loser brother.) I utterly detest him and feel the game would have been far better off without him, or at the very least a serious redesign.

    Then comes the ending and DLC. While the ending was a bit of a nice surprise, it also was perhaps a bit too dark when you look at the tone of the rest of the game. I'm aware the later DLC resolved this, but this brings the much anticipated argument why pay for the ending that we should have gotten in the first place?!

    Overall:
    FF XIII-2 was a noble attempt to correct the "wrongs" of FF XIII, but ultimately it just made a mess. It is a fun mess that is really enjoyable at times, but there are far too many things wrong when compare to what is right.
    Expand
  71. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    FF XIII-2 was quite disappointing not in the way of gameplay or story, but instead in it's repetitiveness. When I play a FF game, I love to do everything in it, and I mean everything. This game was no different, I put time into getting every achievement.
    The main point of this game is that you travel through time and space, and you return to familiar areas quite often but in different
    time lines / parallel universes. This sounds good and all, but the level design is so lazy at times, that all they do is change a few textures, and slightly edit a few models rather than put real effort into the games and make the levels look different. Being a level designer myself I'm quite disappointed by the level design in this game. The story was enjoyable, but not the best. Expand
  72. May 3, 2013
    8
    As nearly always a good game from Square Enix yet again. Not a masterpiece like some of their games but a decent game nonetheless. Storyline, music and graphics were all up to par. Battles were good although it could sometimes feel abit repetitive with mostly 2 characters. But with 2 main characters the story progressed quickly without going off on too many tangents. A good solid game that's worth what I paid for it in my book. Expand
  73. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Shamefully this is the first Final Fantasy game I've ever played. It gave me a decent impression. I think they focused too much on the graphics, but I must admit, they're beautiful. The characters can be kinda irritating and the quotes aren't very convincing.. Unfortunately, players can't talk to non-playable characters, probably due to the scenario of being a l'cie and all. The game lacks decent transportation considering the unnecessarily huge settings. There are too many cutscenes and the story goes on forever making it repelling to finish the game. And after you actually do finish the game, theres not much of a reason to continue on. Though I can tell a lot of effort was put into this game. This game has not failed to impress me on the soundtrack. It's greatly composed and currently in my music lists. Expand
  74. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    [Prelude]
    Final Fantasy XIII may have been a success story considering a meteoric selling record (the fastest selling title in the FF series) but in my eyes it was disappointing and not in-keeping with the quality of games now passed with composer Nobuo Uematsu no longer writing the themes that made games and its contents so memorable, characters becoming increasingly corny in appearance
    as well as personality and worlds becoming linear with limited freedom. That said, XIII did have its positives in ever improving graphics and still loveable characters and plot-lines. Consequently, I believe that if gamers knew what they were getting into, there would be serious doubt over the number of copies sold The revelation that this was the first Final Fantasy to appear on a seventh generation console (the past 3 being available on PS2 & PC) and having avid gamers wait for the next installment a lengthy 4 years Clearly played a part in the surge of sales. Despite mixed reviews and anticipation for the next story, Square-Enix announced a sequel to the vast bemoaning veteren fan-base. I'm glad to say that I waited patiently until the price dropped and I bagged a bargain on an eBay Auction for a lowly £7.13 (P&P £2.50), brand new. After being barely satisfied with FFXIII, my acquirement of its sequel was more due to my fondness for the series, a diligent duty to possess and complete all the franchise has to offer, albeit reluctantly.

    [Story]
    It's always difficult to regale others with the entrancing stories of the Final Fantasy universe without spoiling any of the story checkpoints or surprises. However 13-2 offers less surprise and more predictability thanks to obvious character tells and a trippy storyline. It happened.. they finally hit the low note of going so over the top that they mess with time travel. True, FF's have always been OTT (and considering the word 'Fantasy' in the title) but they always had some degree of realism that made characters relatable and the world intriguing. Just when you thought 'They must of had a really good idea for the need to make a sequel' they prove to be either insane or milking yet another title (see FF7 & FF10). It takes place after the events of the first game, with the main character being the sister of the 13's main role. This time you control Serah, the younger, more interesting, realistic of the two sisters, suffering from random visuals and confusion of the events in the past. With 13's emotionless, ice queen, mary sue protagonist Lightning gone (hooray!) Serah goes in search to find her (boo!). 'Lightning' or Claire as I prefer to call her (the reasoning behind her nickname is just silly) is seen in stunning FMV sequences, fighting an unknown, purple clothed, eccentric looking man. In a darkened world of ruins, the two spar in cinematic style special effects running wild as always, you get to take minimal control during a fight scene (pressing the correct sequence of buttons in time) which is surprisingly enjoyable as you watch the repercussions of attacks both hit and missed, unfold. When the videos come to an end, a young man named Noel is sent on a voyage through time, riding a meteor to the past.. mental. As he acquaints himself with a distressed Serah and her crew of oddballs taking on monsters spread by the meteor, we learn that he is from a future where he is the last born, the last hope to rekindle the civilisation of mankind. Cue all sorts of explaining and devotion to a cause. The two set out to go forward and back in time through a 'Historia Crux' (a portal) which are operated by finding artefacts spread across the regions, closing the 'paradox's' and inevitably finding Claire and preventing the future from which Noel is the end of all life.

    [Gameplay]
    As gamers with the experience of the first game will expect, you take control of one of the two characters with a 3rd person view as you stroll around areas with the odd sub-route, shortcut or secret location. As you inspect your glorious high definition surroundings of Gran Pulse, you are interrupted by spawned enemies almost every 30 seconds which you can manage to escape from before initiating combat (you can run and jump away to avoid them and must reach an safe distance to avoid automatic battles). You can strike out at enemies swiftly to gain a 'preemptive' advantage or lose the option of retrying should you attempt an escape and fail this makes some of your cowardice punishable something that I found exciting as the game is still stupidly easy (I played on Normal mode as apposed to Casual or Hard). As battle commences, an ATP gage fills up as you que a number of attacks to execute the stronger/better the combos, the quicker the 'Stagger' gage rises on the enemy where you can deal far greater damage. Thanks to the Crystarium system of advancing in level and stats, you gain new moves and health points when you spend EXP points in the pre mapped board of crystals. This means you progress essentially how the makers want you to. The real option for the gamer is which trait to improve on such as commander, ravager (mage), medic, sentinel, synergist, or saboteur. You can still create your own 'Paradigms' to alter and succeed in battle, but most of the time you can get the best result as a mage and soldier, spamming the the A button for 'auto attack'. This is what makes 13 and -2, so damn dull. Sure you can choose to select the attacks yourself but when the game rewards such apathy, you're better off doing as you are told. Yes, the visuals are impressive the first couple of times as you watch your two man army launch into the air and chop away at a dancing bird wearing a poncho. There are only so many times you can sit and watch the same thing over and over again just to level up your characters its a boring grind fest with unrelenting rewards. When scouting out new areas, you are charged with the task of finding the 'paradoxes' which you must close to reveal more of the map and progress (connect the dots, mazes). These include simple mini games which are a relief if you are losing patience with a slow paced jog. Half the time though you spend on watching redundant conversations drag on, either explaining the situation or spouting hormonal trash.

    [Differences & Improvements over FFXIII]
    1 Disc! As I carefully peeled the shrink-wrap and opened my sleek and shiny new case I was considerably astonished that the game appeared on just one disc. Its predecessor came on 3 (understandable with so many cutscenes) and this made me think that perhaps it would be a shorter tale though this was disproved when I found out the the logic behind it was that the cutscenes in 13-2 are all in-game and not separated files. Although I remain sceptical (not because of the quantity but quality of the game). Recaps Upon loading up the game and continuing on your adventure, during loading times you are greeted with a short segment of the latest events occurred in your last few sessions. This is a stylish and helpful addition as it reminds you of whatever you may have forgotten or sheds insight on to what your current task is. Decisions & Consequences Taking on board a system made famous by the Mass Effect games, you are now prompted to select 1 of 4 sets of dialogue to either fathom some more information or make correct or off topic assumptions. In conversations it doesn't really make a difference (other than gain small gifts for making the right choice) but you soon obtain the ability to change the future and retry if it doesn't all go your way as your decisions have specific consequences. Capturing Monsters Since you only have 2 solid people to control on your travels, a new capture system has been engineered. On occasion you can acquire certain monsters by obtaining their crystal after battles (actually its a bit like Poke'mon:) Different monsters have different roles (com,rav,syn,sab,sen,med) and have several stages to advance in (also in the Crystarium) and do this by acquiring related items which can be bought from the lunatic 'Chocolina' She is the sole opportunity to buy and sell items at several points in the game and is pretty much exactly like the shops in 13 combined into one that advances as you do. Maps The locations are similar in appearance to 13 because they are set on Gran Pulse, however they do on occasion offer separate avenues to roam which 13 lack but in honesty, as good as some background drops look, the places you're in contact with are just hollow, unmemorable rooms.

    [Regression]
    Conversations The reason why so many choose to avoid RPG's altogether, these gossip sessions are so overdone its just unnecessary. Just like 13, you not only get drawn out explanations of your situation but also endless whinging about the future, present, past, and waaaaah I want my sister back waaaaah!!! This is no exaggeration, after nearly all long-winded chats you get a short speech or the inner thoughts of Serah swearing to find Lightning, wondering whether she can find her, wondering where she is, why she's there, blah blah blah. It could be my undying detest of 13s main maiden Lightning talking, because she is an empty pink vase, but the reasons for her disappearance since the end of the first installment and her unexplainable invincibility, makes her role an annoying one, especially as the only person who likes Lightning is of her own blood so she has to like her. No eidolons The summons have always been involved and some times played an integral part (FF8,9 & 10) and although they were just whimsical silliness and scapegoats for characters backlogs in 13, removing them just seems wrong. No Teammates Again, like the summons, gathering and recruiting people was a strong driving force to keep going as new people add to the story, gameplay and dialogue. This in my opinion is why conversations run dry and the plot seems so shallow, because instead of hearing alternative viewpoints and reasoning, people just bumble over the same crap you just heard 10 minutes ago, this time with added emphasis on finding Lightning oooh. OTT in the past games, you'd encounter situations relative to life as well as the escapades only found in stories. People and places have eccentric twists on clothing and environments but still bear sense, however in the latest games, the people in particular look dodgey in bright jumpsuits and the fabled 'anime hairstyles' that defy gravity.. Attacks have light-beams flying out of appendages and form symbols in the sky, people with the frame of a malnourished child can smack a dragon into the sky.

    [Soundtrack & Voice Acting]
    The music is something 13-2 has on its mother because it is actually noticeable thanks to far more inclusion of vocals in songs which smoothly adapt to dithering situations, for example you can be walking along a serene beach then get chased down by wolves as the music picks up tempo and more intensity. The vocals are fairly subdued and don't dominate every song which is a plus because although it was only the ending song of 13 that featured an out of place Leona Lewis bellowing out inappropriateness, it spoiled an already mediocre end to an equally tame game. It in no way compares to Uematsu's inspiring songs, it couldn't, but it does make up for the stomach gurgling noises dubbed a soundtrack from 13. The 3 new characters of Noel, Yuel and Caius are a mixed bag. Noel struck a chord with me instantly as he had decent lines and seemed a genuinely realistic character (even though he's from a distant future) His voice is recognisable in minutes to those familiar with subjects close to heart (the voice actor played Haku in Studio Ghibli's 'Spirited Away' rather poorly but does a stellar job here). Not much light can be shed on Yuel as her role is rather secretive as a seeress who sees a resemblance of herself and Serah. Thanks to the epic battle introduction, you have some idea of who Caius is a feathered weirdo who can turn into a dragon beast thing and summon elemental madness.

    [Finale]
    For me, the most annoying thing about this game is that after every significant exchange of words, Serah's thoughts act as a follow up to what has been said and just repeat what is already known, bulking up cutscenes for furiously long time spent listening to an overemotional bint. Now I know that the Final Fantasy's are supposed to be 'out there' as they are a good form of escapism from ordinary boring lifestyles. But the direction in which these newer games are going is depressing. Its all about graphics, intense conversations and ease of play instead of memorable environments, complex characters and a suitable difficulty that actually provides a challenge. In my slightly youthful opinion, the last FF title that lives up to the traditions and brilliance of the series was FF10 when they introduced voice acting but shamefully took away the travelling through world maps. Perhaps it was the beginning of the end for classic gaming as combat and exploration is no longer controllable but forcibly provided. Characters have become extreme ends of the spectrum when it comes to personalities they are either a wimpy pathetic moaning loser or an angry indestructible mary sue No one is in the middle anymore. So even though there are elements that have worked well in 13-2, I still question the intentions behind its release.. did they have left over plot lines, locations and ideas? Could they not be bothered to start from scratch with a new story and system? With this games ending and online forums awash with talk of an impending FF13-3... the answer becomes obvious.
    Expand
  75. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    Thought the story was better on the original (XIII) and there were hardly any cut-scenes in this. The fighting's still fairly rubbish and I was mashing A for auto-battle a lot again, but this one improved it slightly tho by using monsters as the 3rd character.
    Part 2 was a lot less linear and u had more freedom to go where you wanted so extra points for that.
  76. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    This is the second main game sequel to the series with the first being ffx-2. I love Final fantasy, i started with X,X-2, and XII and went backwards until the new xbox releases. square seems to think that if they release a similar game that addresses the problems in the last game it will make a better game. with x-2 and xiii-2 they changed from the linear path progression and promoted a more exploration based play style. A tactic they tried to replicated here. While I enjoy this playstyle more it does not result in a better game. In both sequels they had terrible stories and terrible characters.

    Characters: 4
    Noel- intereting character. Yes he is a little emo and depressing but at least he isnt a wuss like tidus, vaan, and hope. Could have been a good character if not tied into this series. -7

    Sara- Maybe the most annoying FF character ever made. I have no interest in her. I do not know why they made a whole game about an irrelevant ffxiii character. -1

    Caius- Pretty good bad guy. The mentor angle was an interesting one but is selfishness really made his reasons for being evil silly. 7

    Gameplay
    Same as before but even more dumbed down and even more simple. This game was just too easy. You can level up on enemies that are from any stage in the game. There is little scaling and little incentive to fight more difficult monsters. The cieth in the middle of the game were actually the best monsters to level on and they were halfway through the game. The game throws away any challenge and gives 2 mediocre battles at the endgame stage that are not gimmes but still rather easy. Puzzles are okay even if there explanation was wierd. 3

    Story. Noel's part was kinda interesting but i don't care about sara or lightning in this game. This story seems to just be a bridge between the first and the third games, especially after you see the ending. Time travel paradoxes will not be discussed since they are too numerous to mention. 4

    Graphics and sound- Sound design was actually really good and added a feel of dread and anger and sadness. really good tones in the game. graphics were less impressive than the last game, in my opinion. But to me graphics is the least important review statistic. 8

    Synopsis;
    You have to understand that i judge FF different to other RPGS. I know this may be unfair but when your past titles have been so impressive it is hard to accept the direction square has taken. Why make three games to a series regarded by most long term fans as one of the worst. You could be working on projects like ffXV or offchutes that could be special like FFTactics or something. I love this whole series so it hurts me to say that if they didn't deliver on this one they probably will make the third even worse. Square needs to make games with better stories, characters, and themes and stop focusing on unimportant things like trying to appeal to all demographics. What happens when that is tried is ffxiii-2. A game that is okay for rpg fans but disliked by the people that love the series. At least it is better than FFX-2

    Final Score- 4
    Expand
  77. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    I have to be honest, I'm a little disappointed I spent hard earned money on this game. It's too short, the voice acting is terrible and half of the time it feels like some lame anime made for children. Characters are far too cliche (especially Caius), soundtrack is awful and not memorable in the slightest, battles can be won with the auto-battle feature as long as you switch paradigms every so often and the story isn't that entertaining. Needless to say, if you liked the older Final Fantasy's, you'll be disappointed like I was. I'm giving it a 5 because it wasn't so mind numbing that I had to stop playing, but the introduction of quick time events, jumping and optional conversation replies are what all games should have now anyway so that doesn't score it points. Just seems like an RPG made to entertain perverted old men who like to look at half naked pixel women and of course new-to-the-franchise fanboys who have yet to play the old favourites. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. 70
    Stand-alone expansion pack you will not want to play for of the story, but only for its battles. [March 2012]
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    81
    If you take XIII-2 and grade it on its own merits, it stands out as a fantastic game. But, if you walk in looking for some semblance of what made the series a household name in the RPG world, you'll be sorely disappointed.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    91
    With numerous endings, extremely challenging bonus bosses, and a pokemon-like addictiveness of trying to catch them all, Final Fantasy XIII-2 definitely surpassed my expectations and I'm glad that many of the shortcomings of XIII have been addressed and fixed. If you were let down with XIII, give XIII-2 a shot, you might be impressed with all the improvements and changes.