User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 506 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Being the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to the best FF titles, it is still a good game in its own right. The first note to make has to be regarding the fantastic visuals which are some of the best of this console generation. However, visuals are not why FF games are so popular. The real point ofBeing the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to the best FF titles, it is still a good game in its own right. The first note to make has to be regarding the fantastic visuals which are some of the best of this console generation. However, visuals are not why FF games are so popular. The real point of interest is the combat. The paradigm system is a fresh take on the job system generally associated with III and V. Characters switch roles in the heat of battle, meaning a constant creating and revision of strategy, adding depth and complexity to fighting. The crystarium is very similar to the sphere grid of FFX so it is not a revolution in player growth. The story is much more character driven than other FF games with each struggling with problems connected to others in the group. Though it sags in the third act, the story is much more mature and modern than that of other games in the series. With a combination of graphics, gameplay and story, on paper this looks like an instant classic. FFXIII's real problem is in its mishandling of these elements. The camera is constantly trying to direct the player to the scenery and the visual dazzle occasionally overwhelms and prevents immersion. The game takes too long to reveal all elements of its battle system, withholding the ability to change roles and leaders until certain sections of the game. The characters personal conflicts take much too long to resolve themselves, usually because a character is too afraid to speak up. Though I liked most of the characters, Vanille was unbearable, with an optimistic attitude that is completely at odds with the story and the rest of the characters. This game will divide fans who question whether this is a game worth of the FF name. But to do this game justice, gamers should judge FFXIII on what it is and not on what it isn't. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Its a beautiful game, but it fails in the aspect that it is too linear and it still does not beat FFVII for story and variety. The battle system, while no doubt some will love it and some will hate it, i was disappointed by it. These flaws are i can only give it a 9
  3. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    While the fan reaction to Final Fantasy XIII is one of the most polarized that a Final Fantasy game has seen since the arrival of Final Fantasy IX, I find myself firmly on the fence. It's a great RPG, but it takes a lot of rather daunting risks with the traditional formula that fans have come to expect. Unsurprisingly, not all of them turn up roses.
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    I liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may playI liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may play it over, but eh. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not great, not the worst. Graphics and OST are breathtaking, the storyline is good, although a little bit weird and twisted in the end. The fighting system was awkward at first but nice once you had trained it for some hours. The worst is the lack of secondary missions. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    Pros: Superbly beautiful graphics, scenery, cutscenes, and fairly interesting story. Plays out like a movie. Offers a truly unique experience from other video games. Cons: Is not true to franchise, simple combat, sidequests and exploration are nonexistant. Character building is also linear meaning no replayability. Barely counts as an RPG.

    Overall: I think FFXIII is a refreshingly
    Pros: Superbly beautiful graphics, scenery, cutscenes, and fairly interesting story. Plays out like a movie. Offers a truly unique experience from other video games. Cons: Is not true to franchise, simple combat, sidequests and exploration are nonexistant. Character building is also linear meaning no replayability. Barely counts as an RPG.

    Overall: I think FFXIII is a refreshingly unique experience. I think it was cool to see a game play out like a movie, but at the same time I would not want all my games to do such.
    Expand
  7. AllenC
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This game needs to be enjoyed for what it is, not despised for what it isn't. On its own merits, I found this game to be incredibly enjoyable. The story was good and surprisingly character-driven when you think about it. The battle system, as has been noted, is great. The battles are the best of any FF game yet. I'm not going to complain about the lack of exploration in this This game needs to be enjoyed for what it is, not despised for what it isn't. On its own merits, I found this game to be incredibly enjoyable. The story was good and surprisingly character-driven when you think about it. The battle system, as has been noted, is great. The battles are the best of any FF game yet. I'm not going to complain about the lack of exploration in this game because that isn't what the game is about. The first five hours or so really stink. I felt that I was being treated like a bit of an idiot. The end makes up for that. Great game... though all-in-all not as compelling as X or XII. Expand
  8. DavidS
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    Overall I'd say thusfar it's a fairly decent game. The graphics are beautiful and the battle system is well laid out. Character Development isn't too shabby but the storyline hasn't fully sucked me in not quite yet. Hopefully it'll improve over time, but for now it seems a bit linear and a bit predictable at times. Overall I'd still say not a bad installment Overall I'd say thusfar it's a fairly decent game. The graphics are beautiful and the battle system is well laid out. Character Development isn't too shabby but the storyline hasn't fully sucked me in not quite yet. Hopefully it'll improve over time, but for now it seems a bit linear and a bit predictable at times. Overall I'd still say not a bad installment to the series. Expand
  9. DanielK
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing.... I bought the 360 version because I use my 360 far more and yes there are a few minor blemishes graphically, but overall it's a technical marvel. Besides I like having a smoother framerate and to think they accomplished this on 360 in less than half the time of the dev time of the PS3 is more than impressive. I was a little iffy on the battle system at first This game is amazing.... I bought the 360 version because I use my 360 far more and yes there are a few minor blemishes graphically, but overall it's a technical marvel. Besides I like having a smoother framerate and to think they accomplished this on 360 in less than half the time of the dev time of the PS3 is more than impressive. I was a little iffy on the battle system at first but once you get a couple hours in, the options really open up. I cannot stress enough that the game is amazing and owners of either system should go pick it up; I may still buy the PS3 version just to have both since I'm such an FF nut (I have every single main series Final Fantasy). Expand
  10. SamM
    Mar 14, 2010
    8
    A solid final fantasy experience, graphics and presntation are out of this world and the battle system is well thought out and brings in a number of different tactics for different situations. The story is involving and the voice acting is good for the most part. Unfortunatly it's just missing the charm of its predecessors, and thats why it can't be scored as highly.
  11. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entire life waiting for a remake, ff xiii innovates and refresh the jrpg concept and that what square enix said before launching the game, in ten years this game will be remembered like one of the most underrated ff ever just for the obsession with cloudI really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entire life waiting for a remake, ff xiii innovates and refresh the jrpg concept and that what square enix said before launching the game, in ten years this game will be remembered like one of the most underrated ff ever just for the obsession with cloud and company. Expand
  12. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Let me start off by first saying that this is easily one of the best Final Fantasy games out there right now. Ever since I finished Final Fantasy X's epic storyline, I've been yearning for another Final Fantasy game to come along that can emulate the emotions that I had felt all those years ago. I'm happy to say that I have indeed found that game in the form of Final Fantasy XIII. I'veLet me start off by first saying that this is easily one of the best Final Fantasy games out there right now. Ever since I finished Final Fantasy X's epic storyline, I've been yearning for another Final Fantasy game to come along that can emulate the emotions that I had felt all those years ago. I'm happy to say that I have indeed found that game in the form of Final Fantasy XIII. I've slowly come to realize that most fans either love the game or absolutely hate it and I can understand both sides of the spectrum. Graphically, even by today's standards, FFXIII is one of the sharpest looking games out there. Character models still look extremely solid and the environments and cutscenes are absolutely gorgeous. The game features an entirely made-from-scratch world with its own rich history and extremely deep lore that is presented in spot-on fashion so as to not overwhelm the player with too many details. Now, moving on to the core aspects of the game, starting with the storyline. As mentioned earlier, FFXIII's story is one of hope. It's about setting out to accomplish something, rather than sitting around wishing you could, when others say it is impossible. Admittedly, it's not exactly the most unique message a video game has ever conveyed, but the manner in which it is presented is spectacular. The story starts off focused on Lightning Farron (whose real first name is revealed later), a Guardian Corps. soldier whose sister becomes branded by a demigod-like being called a Fal'Cie. Those that are branded, called l'Cie, have what's called a Focus, which is a single objective that must be accomplished in a limited amount of time. If the l'Cie fails to carry out their Focus in the time given, they turn into mindless demonic creatures called Cie'th. However, if they do carry out their Focus successfully, they turn into crystal to sleep for all of eternity, which isn't exactly much better. Without giving away too much more, Lightning desperately tries to help her sister out of this impossible situation. By far, this is one of the most stellar endings, in my opinion, to any video I've ever played, neatly wrapping up all loose ends and satisfying the player. The game features an extraordinary cast of hit-or-miss characters. My friend hated every single party member while I grew fond of every one of them. Each of them features an engaging backstory and personality and I actually cared deeply what happened to them as the story progressed. The game's score is absolutely fantastic and suits the game's tone and atmosphere perfectly. Moving on to actual gameplay, many critics fault the game for its extreme linearity and I wholeheartedly agree. This is easily one of the most linear games you will ever play, with very little to no side-missions or objectives to accomplish. The side missions that are available (late in the game) are nothing more than monster-slaying missions and a majority of them offer rewards that barely warrant the time and effort put into these challenging battles. In fact, the majority of the game is very challenging. The game lacks any sort of difficulty setting and so if you're a very casual gamer, you may want to steer clear of this one. Personally, I enjoy challenging video games but this game was just downright frustrating at times. I honestly don't even know how they expect you to win some of the fights without maxing out your characters. The game's battle system is a healthy combination of turn-based combat and a fast-paced action game. It's difficult to describe in a few sentences but it is extremely satisfying without becoming a mindless button-masher. Triumphing over rough boss fights is a real treat that truly tests your skills as a gamer. Fortunately, you can "Retry" any battle mid-fight, which resets your character to right before you engaged the enemy, and the save systems throughout the game are very generous. Overall, Final Fantasy XIII is a treat of a video game. Boasting sharp visuals, an intelligently-satisfying battle system, a fantastic cast of characters, an emotionally engaging storyline and an absolutely stellar ending, this truly is the Final Fantasy game that all fans should play. Expand
  13. DallasB
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    First off the Visuals are the BEST on the 360! There is no discerning between cut scenes and actual game play. The only jaggies can be seen when you move the camera closeup on the character and you get some straight line animations on the arms. But that really is a mute point as the characters look superb close up as the do far away! Graphics:10 So far missions have felt short and simple. First off the Visuals are the BEST on the 360! There is no discerning between cut scenes and actual game play. The only jaggies can be seen when you move the camera closeup on the character and you get some straight line animations on the arms. But that really is a mute point as the characters look superb close up as the do far away! Graphics:10 So far missions have felt short and simple. I use auto battle the most as I just want to watch the great graphics but for those who want to get into the nitty gritty they can customize and slow down the battle. I really REALLY want to control the character. I want to battle myself, pushing buttons to punch or another button the slash, or that special button to achieve a special skill,but sadly it is not there. Basically just Que up what you want and sit back and watch. The early bosses look like they will be Huge challenges but often then not they are just as easy as early soldiers. Also sometimes during battles your star system is based on how quick you beat the bad guys, so to be perfect in stars you want to win as quick as possible. Also drops from battles can be incredible items, to nothing dropped, though this gets better as you progress through the game, as one would expect! Game Play: 7.5 Story Line can be somewhat confusing. Make sure you push that Y button on the 360 quite a bit and read the story progress as you may get somewhat lost. I would much have rather watched cut scenes then read this lengthy book they have, as it can take you out of the heat of the moment, but at least it is included. There are a few characters that will pull at your heart strings, but sometimes your left wondering why that character just behave that way, over all though it doesn't put a damper on the game play, though it does take you out of it due to all the reading. I feel this is the biggest fault of the game! Story:6 Camera Control, can be VERY frustrating. I find myself, clicking the stick to re-center the camera quite a bit. I wished often that I could just go into First person mode, and look at all the gorgeous detail instead of being stuck in this third person mode. Also looking at enemies in your data bank will find you wanting to zoom in and rotate, but forget it, your stuck with just a static view, that you can't zoom in on or rotate. Camera 7 Finally the downside to some is the discs, there are 3 for the 360. This has no effect on me, and I have not installed the game, and I just play it from discs. Overall this is a GREAT game for the 360, and should be the standard for all games of this type moving forward. Take note of some of the small flaws of this game and the next game of this type would be almost perfect. Final Fantasy fans will buy this no question, but if your not into this type of game, you will be blown away by the gorgeous visuals and be left scratching your head about the story line and frustrated over really wanting to get into the fight, so you may want to rent before diving in on the purchase. For me this was a Midnight buy and I have been enjoying it, with just a few wishes and complaints before the game moves on to another gorgeous site! Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    For most of you, you think this game sucks. Well guess what... it DOESN'T! Final Fantasy games have never been mainly about focusing on in game play, it was just a side thing that was awesome. Anyway, the main thing is the story line, and if you actually pay attention it's really good! I admit that some of the characters I didn't like at first (Snow and Lightning to be exact) but then IFor most of you, you think this game sucks. Well guess what... it DOESN'T! Final Fantasy games have never been mainly about focusing on in game play, it was just a side thing that was awesome. Anyway, the main thing is the story line, and if you actually pay attention it's really good! I admit that some of the characters I didn't like at first (Snow and Lightning to be exact) but then I started to like them after a while, it's an amazing game if you give it a chance but most of you haven't. If you have a problem with this game, then the problems with yourself. Expand
  15. GregS
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy game (except Sazh). The combat system is the most fast paced in the series yet, with an emphasis on the ability to adapt. The removal of MP may seem like a bad thing, but it allows for random battles to actually take some effort, instead of the The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy game (except Sazh). The combat system is the most fast paced in the series yet, with an emphasis on the ability to adapt. The removal of MP may seem like a bad thing, but it allows for random battles to actually take some effort, instead of the normal attack, then heal after battle. The lack of having to manage MP does not make it any easier either, as the mechanics are in place to prevent outlasting strategies on bosses. There is also some great music, even without Nobuo Uematsu. The final boss theme Born Anew, in particular, stands with the best final boss themes in the series. Oh, and the graphics are the best I've ever seen (though I have yet to play Crysis). Expand
  16. MaxS
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    I have no idea why this game has been given a 3.6 so far. There are obviously some trolls voting, because although I could understand a rating in the low B range, there is no way this game is in any way deserving of a fail. Even for the graphics alone, the game would be worth playing, but when you factor in the enjoyable story and gameplay, I have to give this game a score it rightly I have no idea why this game has been given a 3.6 so far. There are obviously some trolls voting, because although I could understand a rating in the low B range, there is no way this game is in any way deserving of a fail. Even for the graphics alone, the game would be worth playing, but when you factor in the enjoyable story and gameplay, I have to give this game a score it rightly deserves. Eat it, haters. Expand
  17. JamesK
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    A truly excellent title with the feel of Final Fantasy 10 in terms of camera or graphics, with the classic sensibilities from Final Fantasy 7, 8, and 10 that is most obvious in the characters or environments that I found to be immensely entertaining and likable. Each character has a complex background story to them as well which pushes the epic, lore-rich story further along. The only A truly excellent title with the feel of Final Fantasy 10 in terms of camera or graphics, with the classic sensibilities from Final Fantasy 7, 8, and 10 that is most obvious in the characters or environments that I found to be immensely entertaining and likable. Each character has a complex background story to them as well which pushes the epic, lore-rich story further along. The only problems are the quite often insanely hard battles, mostly the boss battles, but this finally makes strategy an important option by finally forcing you to use Elemental Resistance accessories you'd never use in other RPG's; even buffs such as Protect or Shell which you'd never use in some Final Fantasy games. Another problem is the slow starting point to the game, where the game follows a linear path for the first 15 hours or so, but it slowly opens up and gets better as you gain more abilities at your disposal and the beautiful world opens up to you. It is understandable for some to not like this game, but many Final Fantasy fans and veterans such as me will love this game! For newcomers, a lore rich world and intense combat system awaits! Expand
  18. robynk
    Mar 13, 2010
    9
    Quite good overall. I expect a lot of traditional fans will not like it as much as previous titles due to the gameplay changes (honestly it almost handles more like a recent-gen Shin Megami Tensei title). That said, it is - of course - very pretty, and the characters are engaging and likable. Those saying the plot and map are too linear must have chronic amnesia, as 13 is really no more Quite good overall. I expect a lot of traditional fans will not like it as much as previous titles due to the gameplay changes (honestly it almost handles more like a recent-gen Shin Megami Tensei title). That said, it is - of course - very pretty, and the characters are engaging and likable. Those saying the plot and map are too linear must have chronic amnesia, as 13 is really no more linear a plot or map than 10 was and it does nothing to detract from the story - which is the whole idea. Kudos, Square, I liked this one and will be replaying it. Expand
  19. KarlaM
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    I've only been playing for 4 days, and I can honestly say the perfection of this game has surprised me. I have been a fan of the series since Mystic Quest, and I have played all the installments, I expect nothing but the best from the saga, but I did not expect something like this! The gameplay is awesome and the graphics are mouth-watering in a colorful and detailed sense. A I've only been playing for 4 days, and I can honestly say the perfection of this game has surprised me. I have been a fan of the series since Mystic Quest, and I have played all the installments, I expect nothing but the best from the saga, but I did not expect something like this! The gameplay is awesome and the graphics are mouth-watering in a colorful and detailed sense. A downfall for me in the game is the soundtrack. I have been used to Nobuo Uematsu's awesome composing and since the game is directed by Tetsuya Nomura, I expected the WHOLE team to be the same. The music doesn't take me inside the game like other soundtracks did. The story isn't really interesting to me to the point where I can't stop playing it to see what happens next, but the battle system is SO FUN I keep playing anyway. I think it has proven itself in the few days I've played that it will be a game to remember because it is THE FIRST OF ITS KIND. Expand
  20. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2010
    9
    Well worth its money. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The battlesystem is by far the best I've ever used. It's never boring, and it combines fast-paced action with tactic. I've a hard time seeing some "noob" being able to finish some bosses (without grinding for X hours), since it requires a deep understanding of the game mechanics. It's true that the game Well worth its money. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The battlesystem is by far the best I've ever used. It's never boring, and it combines fast-paced action with tactic. I've a hard time seeing some "noob" being able to finish some bosses (without grinding for X hours), since it requires a deep understanding of the game mechanics. It's true that the game is alot of cinematics and fighting, and little else. Personally I don't have any problems with this, and neither should any true RPG-lover. The characters are good, and the story tight. However, for the first 25hrs (50-60% of the game), you don't really get alot of freedom in anything. This will change as you arrive at Gran Pulse, where you'll be able to take up a great deal of sidequests (even if they all are about "kill this mob for me"), which rewards you with nice stuff. All in all, it's a great game if you enjoy long stories with engaging characters and some j-grinding! Expand
  21. JeremyN
    Mar 14, 2010
    9
    I must be missing something. This, to me, is the best RPG to come out in a long time. Possible dislikes: Battle system due to it being rather new, and the linearity. I'll start with the battle system. Generally speaking, you're not choosing each character's actions, since the auto select is intelligent enough and you want to keep the chain level high. But really, I must be missing something. This, to me, is the best RPG to come out in a long time. Possible dislikes: Battle system due to it being rather new, and the linearity. I'll start with the battle system. Generally speaking, you're not choosing each character's actions, since the auto select is intelligent enough and you want to keep the chain level high. But really, you're avoiding grunt work, and making higher level decisions about the way you want your party to work together. And, strange as it may seem, I found this to be the most strategic and engaging battle system that I've ever seen in an RPG. The linearity thing... well, I haven't gotten all the way through yet, though I'm sure that at some point soon I'll be getting an airship or something. I don't stress linearity in RPGs - they're all going to the same ending. They've been programmed in advance, people. Actually, I'd rather have an RPG that revels in its linearity, making one very strong core story (FFXIII is the most mature/followable story in the franchise as far as I can tell), as opposed to giving the illusion of control at the expense of real quality story telling. Anyway, I think that FFXIII is the best RPG I've played in over 10 years. I just get the feeling that square/enix paid the wrong people to write reviews, or didn't pay the right people. I truly don't understand how reviewers can have such high praise for anything Bioware, and then turn around and spit on this amazing game. Expand
  22. PeterM
    Mar 15, 2010
    9
    The story is gripping and immediately accessible. More-so than previous games in the series. It has likable characters that all compliment each other very well to create an intriguing ensemble. The new battle system is arguably the most exciting in the series although it does take a long time to get going. You are very much molly coddled for a long time at the start until you get to an The story is gripping and immediately accessible. More-so than previous games in the series. It has likable characters that all compliment each other very well to create an intriguing ensemble. The new battle system is arguably the most exciting in the series although it does take a long time to get going. You are very much molly coddled for a long time at the start until you get to an adequate level. A very good game that has all the components to be exceptional. The linearity of large parts of the early game do feel like a step back in terms of gameplay but this is for the benefit of the story and character development. If Gaming is to be seen as a serious media form then all aspects of this game are an excellent example to all those nay sayers of fantastic story telling intermingled with intelligent game play. Expand
  23. MikeG.
    Apr 2, 2010
    8
    This game will lose points with people for its linear nature and advanced battle system. But all I can say is I love it. It has that excellent character development and story that you expect with a Final Fantasy. The sound track is great, again, as you would expect from a FF. The controls and camera can be annoying but its not a huge issue. This is a good game that I would recomend to any This game will lose points with people for its linear nature and advanced battle system. But all I can say is I love it. It has that excellent character development and story that you expect with a Final Fantasy. The sound track is great, again, as you would expect from a FF. The controls and camera can be annoying but its not a huge issue. This is a good game that I would recomend to any fan of the Final Fantasy series. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    I honestly don't know why you would objectively give this game a bad score. Amazing graphics, amazing music, amazing story. The only thing you can complain is that in terms of gameplay it is quite limited for an RPG, specially for a Final Fantasy. But it is clear they have focused a lot on the story, which is the keystone of Final Fantasy, its essence, and this game haven't lost that ATI honestly don't know why you would objectively give this game a bad score. Amazing graphics, amazing music, amazing story. The only thing you can complain is that in terms of gameplay it is quite limited for an RPG, specially for a Final Fantasy. But it is clear they have focused a lot on the story, which is the keystone of Final Fantasy, its essence, and this game haven't lost that AT ALL. Also the new combat system is great and seems the natural evolution of the classic turn-based combat, and battles are very challenging, some are among the most difficult of the entire saga. Expand
  25. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    While a departure from the series the game, when taken as a stand alone, is very fun to play, especially in the later chapters. That said, the early chapters do tend to drag a bit, with the exposition being laid on much slower than it could have been. The characters, as a whole, seem to be a matter of taste. While some may find them quite enjoyable, others will detest them. The plot isWhile a departure from the series the game, when taken as a stand alone, is very fun to play, especially in the later chapters. That said, the early chapters do tend to drag a bit, with the exposition being laid on much slower than it could have been. The characters, as a whole, seem to be a matter of taste. While some may find them quite enjoyable, others will detest them. The plot is nothing new for a Final Fantasy, though the gameplay offers some fun challenges, though again later on (5-6 of 13 chapters are overtly simple to play.) Overall, if you tend toward RPGs, specifically JRPGs, then this is a solid, enjoyable title. Expand
  26. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I've been playing RPGs for a very long time, and the Final Fantasy series, like many other old-school RPGers, comes close to beloved status for me. FF3 (6), FF7, FF10, these have a special place in my RPG shrine, also known as a dusty corner in my closet.

    So when I saw that FF13 was shortly due to be released, I decided to borrow my buddy's stormtrooper costume and go out for the midnight
    I've been playing RPGs for a very long time, and the Final Fantasy series, like many other old-school RPGers, comes close to beloved status for me. FF3 (6), FF7, FF10, these have a special place in my RPG shrine, also known as a dusty corner in my closet.

    So when I saw that FF13 was shortly due to be released, I decided to borrow my buddy's stormtrooper costume and go out for the midnight release. He opted to go as Voldemort. Much fun was had, and I returned excited to play.

    Upon popping that disc in and loading up the intro movie, I experienced what I consider the major positive of this game: the graphics. Let me just state that plainly: from a technical stand-point, the graphics are gorgeous. The characters are modeled with exceptional detail. It really is a pleasure just to watch them. On the other hand, I found the stylistic side of the graphics to be something of a let-down. There's a lot of recycled corridors and monster models. Nothing ever really popped out at me; I never encountered any memorable sort of artistic moments.

    So going from the intro screen, I had high hopes. And then I played the game.

    The gameplay is both exceptionally linear and exceptionally easy, especially in the first parts of the game. Basically you can control only one person and even then your options are limited. Essentially the entire strategy of the game comes from switching roles. Sadly there are very few fights that require even that. During some of the early dungeons I literally held up on the joystick and pressed A over and over and beat them, while I was outside grilling salmon (wireless controllers ftw?) An entire dungeon, without looking, except for the boss. Which is unfortunate because I was also randomly using items and libra and other such things, but I still managed to win the day!

    Let me elaborate further upon my claims of this being the most linear game ever: the game's dungeons are essentially corridors running in one direction, there are never any towns to explore, there are no extra townspeople to talk to, and your character development is more or less entirely linear. There are no choices to make because you can choose them all.

    Simply put, the gameplay is boring. It's a game made for over-achieving zombies.

    Now then let me move on to the story. A big letdown, for several reasons. For one, the dialogue is abysmal. The voice-acting is great, that's not my complaint: the script is terrible. Perhaps I was spoiled, coming from Dragon Age, but I found most of the conversations painfully formulaic. I understand that this game is made to be understood even by little kids, yet Pixar movies somehow manage to be entertaining and approachable for all ages so why couldn't FF13?

    Starting from a poor script, the story can really only go down hill. The villains (like in FF12) are somewhat vague and/or absent. It's not really very clear until later, and even then only just so, why exactly I'm running through corridors, killing everything that moves.

    As we say in the creative writing biz, the game never managed to "draw me in"; it never captured me and consequentially I couldn't careless about the fates of anyone involved.

    The characters are, like everything else in the game, one dimensional. Snow is the cardboard cutout of a "hero" oblivious to reality; Lightning is the cardboard cutout of the gritty tough soldier, even though as a Guardian soldier, she's the equivalent of a national guard soldier in a completely peaceful country; Hope is the cardboard cutout of a weak unguided boy who has "great potential" or some other BS; etc, etc, etc. I actually found Vanille, which Gamespot's reviewer thought was annoying, to be the only character with any real depth. Unfortunately, the game feels the need to constantly blungeon you over the head with this: I HAVE A SECRET, I HAVE A SECRET. Yet, if you are at all cognizant of how Square localizes their FF games, her Australian accent (as opposed to the accents of everyone else) is a dead give-away what her secret is.

    In short, this game has wonderful graphics and decent voice-acting and not much else. It'd be like if you gathered a bunch of beautiful actors, gave them a crappy studio with no props or tools or anything else, handed them a Danielle Steele novel to serve as a script, and told them: "Go at it." Then you'd have FF13.
    Expand
  27. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    I have played this game 3 times from start to finish. The game is visually insane and shows how much square's engine can dish out compared to unreal engine. The combat is a mix of turn based combat combined with real time. You select your characters actions and watch them move around the battlefield although you cannot directly control your character, although the arenas are so small itsI have played this game 3 times from start to finish. The game is visually insane and shows how much square's engine can dish out compared to unreal engine. The combat is a mix of turn based combat combined with real time. You select your characters actions and watch them move around the battlefield although you cannot directly control your character, although the arenas are so small its doubtful it would have any different impact if you were able to do otherwise. Going through the bosses on my first playthrough, I thought each one was perfectly oriented for a person with that much experience in the game. The end bosses were very hard and tested my mettle even with optimal strategies. Going though the game the second time, the beginning bosses were significantly easier because of my experience but the end bosses were as hard as ever. If there is anything I could complain about, it is how *possible spoilers* all the postgame content is developing your characters and weapons to the max and all sidequests are just monster hunting missions, although it is a small gripe as the endgame is optional and really only for achievement hunters *end possible spoilers* The characters are very believable and the only ones i thought were really annoying were sazh and snow with a dash of hope. the game challenges you to think about the best role configurations to defeat monsters. The story is epic in the highest sense as the story is not very outlandish (for a fantasy game). While the chapter and the linear progression are also minor gripes, it is acceptable because of the story.I could not recommend this game enough to anyone. All that is left for me now is to wait for 13-2 and versus 13 Expand
  28. Oct 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Please everyone stop hating because of the terrible start. After a while the story will come together and you will get a chance to explore. You will finally understand the fal'cie l'cie cie'th pulse and all the stuff like that. But if you rented this game you wouldn't get a chance to get to that bit.
    Overall not as good as e.g. X or VII but still a great game
    Expand
  29. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    This game is a good game. The combat is certainly very boring if you choose auto-battle but if you actually choose your attacks (Yes you can do this) it becomes more challenging and certainly more engaging as you need to make quick decisions based on what enemies you are facing. I for one liked the characters and felt that they all developed well throughout the story which was overall,This game is a good game. The combat is certainly very boring if you choose auto-battle but if you actually choose your attacks (Yes you can do this) it becomes more challenging and certainly more engaging as you need to make quick decisions based on what enemies you are facing. I for one liked the characters and felt that they all developed well throughout the story which was overall, very entertaining. People complain about the linearity but I for one don't see it as so much of a problem, FFX was linear too and has a large group of stalwart fans. It does get tedious at some points in the beginning but the fact that they have such an amazing graphics engine and that the scenery is so interesting helped me keep going. Each area has a fitting and well composed theme, the enemy designs are detailed and interesting. Unfortunately the best part comes towards the end, when the game world opens up a little and you get sent on side quests somewhat reminiscent of the Hunts from FFXII. The main problem with this game is the Final Fantasy title. This game would have done well and sold well on it's own merits, (not as well as it did but certainly not abysmally.), but by making it a Final Fantasy game Square instantly set it up to be compared against it's predecessors. When you do that, there are many more Final Fantasy titles I would recommend before this one, I still do recommend it but there are definitely others you should play first. However I am very glad to see that Square is listening to their fans and are making XIII-2 into what this game should have been. Adding what they left out and refining that which needed it. At $20 this game is worth picking up for what it is, not for what the other Final Fantasy games are. Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I really thought this game was quite fun, and it takes a long time to finish (around about 45-55 hours).
    I can see why some people don't like it, but i don't agree. One of my favourites, personally.
  31. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    As an Action RPG game goes, this game was great! As an RPG game goes, it was just meh. I agree that a true RPG has to be completely open and let you do whatever you want whenever you want and this includes exploring towns, talking to random people and so on. I found it funny that some of my friends didn't like it because they couldn't think quickly enough to play this game, especiallyAs an Action RPG game goes, this game was great! As an RPG game goes, it was just meh. I agree that a true RPG has to be completely open and let you do whatever you want whenever you want and this includes exploring towns, talking to random people and so on. I found it funny that some of my friends didn't like it because they couldn't think quickly enough to play this game, especially during battle. All they did was Auto-attack the entire time. I only auto-attacked in the beginning when you have no other attacks and didn't know what I was doing. Then I started developing strategies and it became a lot more fun. I would have liked this game to have more sidequests earlier on, but I can deal with major exploring during the later portions of the game. The graphics were AMAZING! being my first Final Fantasy game, I was astounded at the movie scenes, the in-game graphics and gameplay graphics. There weren't really any glitching enemies or characters. I didn't notice the lip-dubbing too often, it was only certain times that I really noticed it. The characters are great in that you really get attached to them. They grow throughout the game, especially Hope, Sazh and Lightning. The main character starts off stoic, but becomes more open and more "real" as the game progresses. I take away some points from the score because you don't really get to control your party until the 10th chapter and the game doesn't really open up until even later. Expand
  32. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Best Rol game of this generation.
    Square did a masterpiece.
  33. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    7.6/10. I've put in around 20 hours into the game and really dont wanna to keep going anymore. It's the most linear game I have ever played besides FPS. I just dont understand how the developers thought keeping the game linear for 20 hours and still not opening up is beyond me. The combat system is actually fun, but the linearity of it all... ruins the whole experience. Play it for the7.6/10. I've put in around 20 hours into the game and really dont wanna to keep going anymore. It's the most linear game I have ever played besides FPS. I just dont understand how the developers thought keeping the game linear for 20 hours and still not opening up is beyond me. The combat system is actually fun, but the linearity of it all... ruins the whole experience. Play it for the graphics and CGI effects. I played it on the 360 and it looks alright, but there are a lot of jaggies. Playing the 13-2 demo on my new ps3, I can tell there's a huge difference. Expand
  34. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    Final Fantasy XIII is a beautiful RPG game with a easy to learn battle system and impressive graphics, with all this comes a great story that will really touch your heart as every character brings so much life into the game and some you might even relate too. This game is a very fun game to play,you might spend atleast 50+ hours on your first playthrough and by that time you feel attachedFinal Fantasy XIII is a beautiful RPG game with a easy to learn battle system and impressive graphics, with all this comes a great story that will really touch your heart as every character brings so much life into the game and some you might even relate too. This game is a very fun game to play,you might spend atleast 50+ hours on your first playthrough and by that time you feel attached to the hero's of this story. As for its flaws there are no shops and the game is very linear well untill you pop in disc 3 then you see a huge world full of life but these are its only flaws i have seen but overall this is a must have for RPG lovers and Final fantasy fans. Expand
  35. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played. While it is not perfect, it is a very engaging and interesting play. The main problem people seemed to have with it is that "it's not like the other FF games", but that is the point. Innovation can only happen if something differs. This doesn't mean it's a bad game. The story is completely amazing and it wouldn't be possible if the game would notOne of the best games I have ever played. While it is not perfect, it is a very engaging and interesting play. The main problem people seemed to have with it is that "it's not like the other FF games", but that is the point. Innovation can only happen if something differs. This doesn't mean it's a bad game. The story is completely amazing and it wouldn't be possible if the game would not follow on a "rail" for the first chapters. It is a worthy sacrifice for a deep story of this kind.
    Visually there is no need to talk about anything. It looks gorgeous, just brilliant. I love the look of the game. The soundtrack and the effects have me enchanted as well. I'm still listening to tracks from the OST, especially Snow's Theme and Lightning's Theme are very awesome songs.
    Gameplay-wise it is different from previous FF games. The combat is semi-real time, but pretty fast. Player's have to switch between paradigms to overcome different obstacles in enemies or bosses. I really love the combat system after I got used to it. It is very versatile, retains the tactical element of turn based combat, even adds a new layer with the paradigm system, but is more engaging than normal turn-based combat. The amount of text in the game is astounding as well. There is so much information about the world, the events, the characters and everything to read, it was a paradise for an avid reader like myself. The game also opens up largely in the last chapters and actually continues on after you finish the story. A chunk of content is only accessible after you finish the last bosses, because that opens up the last level of character upgrades, which allows you to go on a hunt for the biggest enemies in the game. It is a game with hundreds of hours worth of gameplay, a super-engaging and beautiful story, an amazing combat system and amazing graphics. I don't know how people cannot like it!
    Expand
  36. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Despite being a polarized Final Fantasy, especially for letting many elements of previous titles aside, there is much to enjoy in Final Fantasy XIII. With a fast and functional battle system, flawless artistic direction, great narrative and a high quality soundtrack, Square-Enix proves that traditions are not necessary to forge an excellent game in the series.
  37. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    I just can't understand why the bad reviews. People seem to go all fanboy when a new game of a saga comes out, and something has been changed. I've played all Final Fantasy games up to date in all different Playstation and Xbox formats. People complain that the combat system has changed, that the maps have changed, that the eidolons have changed... well, let me tell you that the way ofI just can't understand why the bad reviews. People seem to go all fanboy when a new game of a saga comes out, and something has been changed. I've played all Final Fantasy games up to date in all different Playstation and Xbox formats. People complain that the combat system has changed, that the maps have changed, that the eidolons have changed... well, let me tell you that the way of playing games have changed. I'm about 30 hours into this game and it plays beautifully: combats require some party preparation and although you can only control the leader, to tweak the AI and to administrate all the combat profiles is part of the game. The new combat system takes from the player all the boring management and just lets them get in what they like, to fight.

    Technically, this game is constantly impressing me. Final Fantasy games are known for being epic and spectacular, but FF XIII has just gone over all that. It's like on a different level from any other thing. Beautiful graphics, masterpiece soundtrack, amazing motion capture, and a catchy storyline. It's hard to get better than this in terms of production quality. Too hard.

    Fan gamers will just not even give this an opportunity, or even if they do, they'll be so stubborn about it being different that they'll be stuck. I think SquareEnix has done a great done adapting the Final Fantasy saga to mechanics with which players are more comfortable these days. And that's not bad, that's improvement.

    The only drawback of it, and the reason why I don't give a 10, is that enhancing the weapons, and knowing which ones to use, where to get them, or how to optimize them can be a very intrincate task. It's as if you really couldn't figure it out without a guide.

    Do yourself a favor: don't listen to the fanboys, don't compare it with old Final Fantasy games, and play it. It'll submerge you in a fantastic experience you won't regret.
    Collapse
  38. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This is the first Final Fantasy I have ever played, I expected a huge open world with towns, side quests among other things. However, there was none at all. You start off (after some Jaw-dropping cut-scenes) with the most basic moves of "Attack" as the game teaches you about this new battle system. This lead me to run in a very straight line and fight battles again and again with no ideaThis is the first Final Fantasy I have ever played, I expected a huge open world with towns, side quests among other things. However, there was none at all. You start off (after some Jaw-dropping cut-scenes) with the most basic moves of "Attack" as the game teaches you about this new battle system. This lead me to run in a very straight line and fight battles again and again with no idea of the characters or the story. By chapter 3, thankfully, you begin to understand what the game is about. The boss fights are pretty epic and will keep you entertained, but the fight that get you there will wear you out a lot. The story more than makes up for this though.

    The game teaches you about the Paradigm System which changes a group of roles within a party. This makes you focus on switching between offensive and defensive strategies causing the battles to be a lot more fluid. I highly enjoyed this over the turn-based system I expected. It wasn't fun but it was tolerable. Mind you, you might not be able to play the game for more than an hour without it boring you.

    The story and graphics are what this game is made for. The story is dramatic and touching (but can go overboard at times) as well as great CG cut scenes which I looked forward to as well. A Data-log option also keeps you up to date with any confusion you have which helped me hugely half way through the game. It's a game that rewards you as you play more, however I hated the first 10 hours. As i went through it i was entertained by the personalities of the different characters and how real they felt. Vanille was hugely annoying though. She never shut up. This will probably be the only Final Fantasy game i will ever play and i really did enjoy it. Its a game that i will remember. The criticisms of this game really does confuse me but I guess we are all entitled to our opinion!
    Expand
  39. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    I was new to the genre and was blown away. Everything from combat to the art felt amazing. The storyline is set and you do not get to change it anyhow, it is on rails and you´re just moving along rails, the dialogues are sometimes poor and the over-the-top emotions do feel a bit awkward, but it has a certain naive charm that made me love it. And the music is brilliant.
  40. May 28, 2012
    8
    II liked the games story and combat but got really repetitive.
  41. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy XIII is a game that has garnered quite a bit of backlash for largely misunderstood reasons. The game is linear yes, is that a negative aspect of the game? no it is not. Is the plot really that convoluted? no it isn't, you aren't even required to read the datalog that so many people dislike. The story of Final Fantasy XIII is it's strong point. The main character of the gameFinal Fantasy XIII is a game that has garnered quite a bit of backlash for largely misunderstood reasons. The game is linear yes, is that a negative aspect of the game? no it is not. Is the plot really that convoluted? no it isn't, you aren't even required to read the datalog that so many people dislike. The story of Final Fantasy XIII is it's strong point. The main character of the game is a young woman named Lightning. The story begins with her attempt to rescue her younger sister from the clutches of a god like being known as a fal'Cie. From there Lightning and her friends are put on the path of an adventure that will test both their battle prowess and who they are as human beings, calling into questions their morals. The battle system is a fresh take on the ATB system. Being able to que up to six consecutive attacks is something that the series has needed for a long time. The system revolves around two things, first is the paradigm shift system, which is the roles that you assign to your characters, second is the stagger meter, a bar that once full staggers said opponent and lowers their defence allowing you to inflict massive damage. The battle system has been criticized by "fans" of the series saying that it only consists of pressing X. That is not true but even if it were, what series have they been playing for all these years? Every FF game requires an over abundance of the use of X, that is just selective whining. XIII will require you to use the L1, directional pad and X in battle, not just one, unless you want to lose that is. The biggest bright points among Final Fantasy XIII when compared to the rest of the series is the protagonist of the game, Lightning, the character development of the party and their interactions of a group. Lightning has been compared to Cloud on a lot of message boards, but that isn't an apt comparison, there is a world of difference between the two. The development and characterization that Lightning undergoes through the game is a lot more human than anything Cloud has to offer. She is a very strong female lead that is so relatable that almost any player should be able to relate to her. The character development of the party as a whole is done a lot better than in previous iterations. Each character will come to realizations throughout the quest that will change who they are and how they view the world. The chemistry of the group also makes their interactions that much more meaningful. Another criticism is just how linear the game is. It's true that the game is indeed linear but it is done for a purpose. Final Fantasy XIII is a story driven game, moreso than it's predecessors. The linearity of the game is used as a story telling tool to help put you into Lightning and co's shoes. They are on the run and have no where to go but forward, they cannot stop to shop and lolly gag in towns because they are fugitives. The game is simply being realistic in it's plot and should be commended for taking such an effective approach to telling the story of Lightning so that you could relate to her situation and how she would be feeling. The soundtrack is also top notch, including beautiful orchestral pieces that fit perfectly with each scene. It adds another layer to the storytelling. Overall Final Fantasy XIII deserves a ten out of ten for it's epic plot, memorable protagonist and addicting battle system. There is not a better release in the series than this one. Definitely worth playing through. Expand
  42. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    I thought I had totally given up on Final Fantasy. X is one of my all-time favorite games, but XI and XII were absolutely awful. XIII definitely has its ups and downs. The characters are just ok, linear gameplay, and the story was clearly written by someone on crystal meth. However, the graphics, sleek menus, and above all...the combat were top notch. The combat is bar none my favorite ofI thought I had totally given up on Final Fantasy. X is one of my all-time favorite games, but XI and XII were absolutely awful. XIII definitely has its ups and downs. The characters are just ok, linear gameplay, and the story was clearly written by someone on crystal meth. However, the graphics, sleek menus, and above all...the combat were top notch. The combat is bar none my favorite of any RPG. Had the combat been different, I probably would have rated this game a 2. I finished the game in a week logging around 50 hours and had a blast doing it. Expand
  43. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Before I write the review I just have to say FFXIII trolls give this game way too much crap. This game is a great game, the linearity was not a huge issue. It's just westerners have gotten used to these WRPGs where you have a wide open world that you can easily get lost in (literally), not to mention the story is usually lacking. So the bad reviews is just westerners complaining that theBefore I write the review I just have to say FFXIII trolls give this game way too much crap. This game is a great game, the linearity was not a huge issue. It's just westerners have gotten used to these WRPGs where you have a wide open world that you can easily get lost in (literally), not to mention the story is usually lacking. So the bad reviews is just westerners complaining that the JRPG is a different type of RPG. Also, the FF fanbase is very split and conflicted. If Square does one thing then half are going to be pleased and half not pleased. Honestly, I think you can't ever please more than 60% of the fanbase at one time anymore because we all want different things. Now on to the review.......Final Fantasy XIII is another great addition to the franchise. The story is a compelling tale and the characters play well off of eachother. The only short coming is Vanille's high pitched voice, but thats the voice coach's fault for wanting it that way. The characters are well developed and you see the main protagonist mature through the course of the game. The combat is fantastic, very flashy and fun, as well as fast-paced. It offers a refreshing change up for the series. The music is good also, but not quite up to what Nobuo Uematsu has offered for previous installments. That doesn't stop the soundtrack from being good, though. There are also over 60 sidequests to indulge in when you get the chance which offer plenty of post-story play. Final Fantasy XIII's more streamlined nature pays off in this epic tale of heroism. Expand
  44. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    This is the Avatar of video games. With jaw-dropping graphics, beautiful music, and incredibly well crafted and detailed environments, FFXIII is THE best looking and best sounding games EVER. OF ALL TIME. Another thing that is incredible is the magnificent, and emotionally capturing story and the colorful and memorable characters that we have come to expect from all the final fantasyThis is the Avatar of video games. With jaw-dropping graphics, beautiful music, and incredibly well crafted and detailed environments, FFXIII is THE best looking and best sounding games EVER. OF ALL TIME. Another thing that is incredible is the magnificent, and emotionally capturing story and the colorful and memorable characters that we have come to expect from all the final fantasy titles. Not to mention the impressive, fun and challenging battle system. The things that annoy me about this game are that some of the dialogue is stupid, random, and corny( much like other Japanese games) and the 50 hour story may be a bit much for some gamers. Other than that, great game. Expand
  45. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best games of this generation of consoles. Beautiful graphics, interesting story, great world, deep characters, nice battle system.

    Only - is closed-corridors levels.
    Expand
  46. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    The problem with this game, was that it was way too linear. Square Enix basically made a game compromising of 13 chapters and about 50 side quests, and then they made the players wait till Chapter 11 before they could even start doing any of the 50 side quests. Their justification for this was that the combat system is completely new to the series, and that players need extra time to learnThe problem with this game, was that it was way too linear. Square Enix basically made a game compromising of 13 chapters and about 50 side quests, and then they made the players wait till Chapter 11 before they could even start doing any of the 50 side quests. Their justification for this was that the combat system is completely new to the series, and that players need extra time to learn it, but they took it a bit too far, forcing us to play past 40 hours of content before the real game began.
    But if we set that aside, everything else about the game is amazing. I did everything in this game. The strongest monster in the game was a big harmless grass eating turtle, who was so massive you had to break it's legs before it would fall down and then you could deal damage to it's head. I thought that was kinda unnecessary and a bit over the top, but go figure.
    I loved the story and loved the combat system past the first 40 hours. 8/10 for the Xbox version as it's graphics are not as good as the PS3 versions.
    Expand
  47. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Another good but flawed FF game, Square really do have a pattern going here. At least it'S a positive one.

    FF XIII has gotten ALLOT of criticism on it's linearity, but in fairness the linear gameplay was a necessity to drive the story forward, so I can forgive it. In fact, once it opens up (after you finish the game) there is a ton of exploration that can be done a but loads of
    Another good but flawed FF game, Square really do have a pattern going here. At least it'S a positive one.

    FF XIII has gotten ALLOT of criticism on it's linearity, but in fairness the linear gameplay was a necessity to drive the story forward, so I can forgive it. In fact, once it opens up (after you finish the game) there is a ton of exploration that can be done a but loads of challenges just begging to be completed.

    The graphics and animation are some of the best the series has ever seen. Every cutscene is breathtakingly beautiful. Lightning is just a great protagonist that comes off a bit flat and mysterious at first, but as the game progresses you learn that she has so much depth, she just hides it very well. The other characters are alright. Fang is damn hot!!!! Hope is so damn whiny and I really do not like his personality.

    Combat is a little confusing at first, but once you get the hang of it and all options open up it is allot of fun as it relies on the player using more tact than finesse (ie what the action-junkies complain about.)

    Overall:
    Final Fantasy XIII is pretty much a standard FF game as a whole. It lacks the openness the previous games had, but in exchange we get a far rich story and plot.
    Expand
  48. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Ok this is gonna piss off a lot of people but.....i enjoyed this game....a LOT.....the story in my opinion was great and the battle system,even though it was kind of press a button to win,wasnt that bad....even though i love seeing the characters in this game fight like they are in an anime i have SOME problems.....for example if your main character in your party dies,you lose unless youOk this is gonna piss off a lot of people but.....i enjoyed this game....a LOT.....the story in my opinion was great and the battle system,even though it was kind of press a button to win,wasnt that bad....even though i love seeing the characters in this game fight like they are in an anime i have SOME problems.....for example if your main character in your party dies,you lose unless you have called an eidolon/aeon/summon and thats another HUGE problem in the game.....most of the time eidolon battles come at the worst of moments....translation you only have 1 or 2 party members when you fight them and they are almost always pre-selected...the ONLY good eidolon battle i can remember is the bahamut one because you can use whoever you want in your party and you have 3 PARTY MEMBERS!!!! And you are controlling fang which,in my opinion,is the best commando in the game.Now lets talk about the leveling up system.....i dont hate it......i hate it in 13-2 but thats a story for another time....what i meant by not hating it is that while i like growing stronger in certain classes and gaining special boosts that help you in all the classes is pretty cool.....what is not cool is some story bosses stopping your progression in the crystal leveling up system.....ok back to the good stuff of this game,like the music,while not perfect 10/10,is pretty catchy and sometimes really touching.....by far the best music comes in the form of background music which continues to be great in all the 13 games and with each new game,they get better. Another thing i love is that almost everyone can learn the same moves as others but still feel unique,unlike ff7's materia system.You might want to de-buff the enemy,buff yourself AND be protected at the same time and you can do that by having a sentinel(or guard) a synergist(or buffer) and a saboteur(or de-buffer) in your party.....and just so you know,no you are not bound to this choice in each battle...you can actually change the battle formation with a push of a button.That is actually pretty damn awesome because you might want to be safe but still deal some damage,or wanting to make the enemy staggered quickly with 2 ravagers(black mages) and 1 commando(warrior) in your party....i wouldn't QUITE recommend the game to everyone because its too linear for a final fantasy game and all of that....but if you are ready to see this game as its own game then you will enjoy it like i did Expand
  49. May 29, 2014
    8
    First of all, all those nostalgic fanboys should shut their **** mouths. Seriously FFVII is not so good, so stop praising it so much. Now to you FFXIII. I like it. Visuals are one of the best in the entire console generation. The battlesystem may seem really dull and easy because of the auto buttin, but Battles will get challenging, I mean a lot challenging. Story I nice, and yes you canFirst of all, all those nostalgic fanboys should shut their **** mouths. Seriously FFVII is not so good, so stop praising it so much. Now to you FFXIII. I like it. Visuals are one of the best in the entire console generation. The battlesystem may seem really dull and easy because of the auto buttin, but Battles will get challenging, I mean a lot challenging. Story I nice, and yes you can read the stuff up, but everything that is important for the story will be explained. The things you actually read is lore, it's like reading all the boss souls in Dark Souls. Character overall meh. Lightning is groomy most of the time, ok she lost her parents when she was a kid and now she lost her sister. Snow can get annoying, but in chapter 7 he opens himself a bit. Hope is a whiny **** at first, but is also getting quite the character development in chapter 7. Sazh is the best character and a reasonable. Vanille seems at first glance annoying, but you will realize that she is carrying a burden and only hides her actual feelings. Fangs is the badass that every Final Fantasy has. There is also a reason within the story that there are no towns, so I can forgive the developer for this. And yes the game is linear but so was FFX.
    But what I think this game could have needed is more end game content.
    Expand
  50. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    I have played every single Final Fantasy game except for the ones on handheld devices and the MMO ones. Square made one huge mistake with this release and that was calling it Final Fantasy. People have really high expectations for this series because it literally is one of the last good JRPG series out and frankly? Square has done better than this. This game is by no means WHATSOEVER a badI have played every single Final Fantasy game except for the ones on handheld devices and the MMO ones. Square made one huge mistake with this release and that was calling it Final Fantasy. People have really high expectations for this series because it literally is one of the last good JRPG series out and frankly? Square has done better than this. This game is by no means WHATSOEVER a bad game though! I couldn't put it down because the story is amazing. The graphics are amazing. OMFG the graphics are so good. Even in 2014 the cut scenes are like WHOA! The music is great. From what I remember about every Final Fantasy Square always brought at least that to the table except for the music on X-2 (really?). The bad? The game is super linear. I still put in about 65 hours in this game from start to finish only doing about half of the side content. The side content is not that great. It's just a bunch of monster slayer missions. You have the opportunity to get your group super OP and take down super OP mobs. Who has time for that anyway? Not me. I was semi thankful towards the end that the first 2 cds were so linear. The content is still astounding though if you compare 60 hours to the 25 hours it takes to beat Final Fantasy 2(US release) for the SNES. Think about it. They made this super linear and it still takes at least 45-50 hours to play through your first time. Do yourself a favor. Forget about the other Final Fantasy games and play this with an unbiased opinion. You will probably like it. I know I did when looking at it like that. Expand
  51. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Ah Final Fantasy XIII a game that is hated and loved by many at the same time. I love this game. This game is gorgeous, the battle system was pretty cool, and the story was simple at least for me to follow. I love the character development this game has. Overall I love this game a lot. I recommend you try it.
  52. Apr 13, 2015
    10
    I really can't find anything bad to say about this game. Graphics, music, sound effects, battle sequences, weapons and upgrades, story, and characters are all great. The the quality of the cut scenes and battle animations are phenomenal......the battle system is different than anything I have played but does require strategy and timing to get the best scores. I am only about 22 hours in soI really can't find anything bad to say about this game. Graphics, music, sound effects, battle sequences, weapons and upgrades, story, and characters are all great. The the quality of the cut scenes and battle animations are phenomenal......the battle system is different than anything I have played but does require strategy and timing to get the best scores. I am only about 22 hours in so unless something drastically changes I am going to have to give this one a 10. Expand
  53. Mar 18, 2012
    0
    I just can't understand why the bad reviews. People seem to go all fanboy when a new game of a saga comes out, and something has been changed. I've played all Final Fantasy games up to date in all different Playstation and Xbox formats. People complain that the combat system has changed, that the maps have changed, that the eidolons have changed... well, let me tell you that the way ofI just can't understand why the bad reviews. People seem to go all fanboy when a new game of a saga comes out, and something has been changed. I've played all Final Fantasy games up to date in all different Playstation and Xbox formats. People complain that the combat system has changed, that the maps have changed, that the eidolons have changed... well, let me tell you that the way of playing games have changed. I'm about 30 hours into this game and it plays beautifully: combats require some party preparation and although you can only control the leader, to tweak the AI and to administrate all the combat profiles is part of the game. The new combat system takes from the player all the boring management and just lets them get in what they like, to fight.

    Technically, this game is constantly impressing me. Final Fantasy games are known for being epic and spectacular, but FF XIII has just gone over all that. It's like on a different level from any other thing. Beautiful graphics, masterpiece soundtrack, amazing motion capture, and a catchy storyline. It's hard to get better than this in terms of production quality. Too hard.

    Fan gamers will just not even give this an opportunity, or even if they do, they'll be so stubborn about it being different that they'll be stuck. I think SquareEnix has done a great done adapting the Final Fantasy saga to mechanics with which players are more comfortable these days. And that's not bad, that's improvement.

    The only drawback of it, and the reason why I don't give a 10, is that enhancing the weapons, and knowing which ones to use, where to get them, or how to optimize them can be a very intrincate task. It's as if you really couldn't figure it out without a guide.

    Do yourself a favor: don't listen to the fanboys, don't compare it with old Final Fantasy games, and play it. It'll submerge you in a fantastic experience you won't regret.
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. We can't assure it is a turning point in the series, but it manages to make fights fun and it's no doubt an outstanding game.
  3. While the game's first 10 hours still give me pause, the 60 magnificent hours after those initial steps onto Cocoon make up for the tunnel-vision tutorial. [Apr 2010, p.68]