Final Fantasy XIII Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 544 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthonyP
    Mar 15, 2010
    6
    Epic let down! First off id like to say this game is a fairly solid dungeon crawler/interactive movie. You jump from dungeon to dungeon, cutscene to cutscene. Minimal character interaction outside cutscenes, the best you will get is idle chatter while you explore the linear paths (Mostly stuff like "Hey this place is neat" or "Look at that") If you thought FF12's characters needed Epic let down! First off id like to say this game is a fairly solid dungeon crawler/interactive movie. You jump from dungeon to dungeon, cutscene to cutscene. Minimal character interaction outside cutscenes, the best you will get is idle chatter while you explore the linear paths (Mostly stuff like "Hey this place is neat" or "Look at that") If you thought FF12's characters needed more depth then you have not met Lightning the ex soldier without a personality...sounds like Cloud actually, but without the actual good plot twists that make him remotely interesting. The battles are either impossible or too easy, meaning if you know what to do they are simple but if you dont know the exact way 100% to fight a boss you cant win period. Why must I fight a boss EXACTLY one specific way ...that is boring. Moving on...Area's dont get interesting till chapter 10 (Out of 13), Summons are extremely cheesy...two blue sisters interlocking thier thighs making themselves into a motercycle is NOT my ideal Shiva. No towns, no shops, boring late-late game sidequests, boring item grinding, truly a dungeon crawler with cutscenes every 5 minutes. The game drops you in the middle of its storyline, it actually needs 10,000 flashbacks to explain itself, it feels almost like a cheap FF6 story, only without the ground breaking gameplay to make up for it. On a plus its graphics are great but not jaw dropping. The sound is amazing, voice acting is decent. On a side note character development is a pretty version of the sphere grid, only you cant really customize a character the way you want. Its monitered and capped in a way that basically everybody will end up with the same characters near endgame. I give this game a 7/10, but since its the most epic letdown of the past 10 years, it gets a 6/10 out of spite. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2015
    6
    Oh boy, another hallway to run down!

    When it comes to FF13, most people seem to fall into a "love it" or "hate it" category. Not a lot of people fall in the middle, but I happen to be one of them. FF13 tries to combine many different elements from previous games together into what is ultimately a messy cluster of both good and bad in both the story and gameplay. To say this game has
    Oh boy, another hallway to run down!

    When it comes to FF13, most people seem to fall into a "love it" or "hate it" category. Not a lot of people fall in the middle, but I happen to be one of them. FF13 tries to combine many different elements from previous games together into what is ultimately a messy cluster of both good and bad in both the story and gameplay. To say this game has NOTHING good I far to extreme, but I think even a lot of its fans agree it's far from perfect.

    And yes, it's linear as heck.

    THE GOOD
    + There's a huge spike in quality in the final hours.
    + The battle system (when fully unlocked) is extremely deep, focusing more on speed and efficiency.

    THE MIXED
    +/- The characters are very hit or miss, depending on how easily annoyed you can be.
    +/- The linear nature greatly reinforces the themes of the game...but it's still super linear.

    The BAD
    - The first 10-20 hours of the game test your patience like few games before (if you can get that far.)
    Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2014
    2
    So far I've played Final Fantasy 13 for about 6 hours since I purchased it Thursday. About an hour and a half of that was interactive play. The other four and a half hours were some great cinematics. The hour and a half I did play was me repeatedly pressing A for combat with the occasional Y thrown in every fifteen minutes or so. And when not in combat I walk in a straight line forwardSo far I've played Final Fantasy 13 for about 6 hours since I purchased it Thursday. About an hour and a half of that was interactive play. The other four and a half hours were some great cinematics. The hour and a half I did play was me repeatedly pressing A for combat with the occasional Y thrown in every fifteen minutes or so. And when not in combat I walk in a straight line forward because there are no side quests or routes. I'm not sure if they intended this to be similar to listening to a story by a fire, or a movie. I'm absolutely baffled by how they got this labeled as a game. Games are interactive, and usually make at least a half hearted pass at including skillful mechanics in order to succeed. I would give this a 35/100 if it was a low budget game but given how big the series is I'm gonna have to be honest and give them a 20/100 since they have no excuse to make such a poor excuse for a game. Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2016
    6
    Graphics, music, sound effects, battle sequences, weapons, upgrades, story, and characters are all great. The the quality of the cut scenes and battle animations are phenomenal......the battle system is different and interesting for about 15 hours and then it feels like just hitting the same button over and over again. I got very bored with the fighting system about 30 hours in and triedGraphics, music, sound effects, battle sequences, weapons, upgrades, story, and characters are all great. The the quality of the cut scenes and battle animations are phenomenal......the battle system is different and interesting for about 15 hours and then it feels like just hitting the same button over and over again. I got very bored with the fighting system about 30 hours in and tried to finish the game as fast as I could. I got to the end of the game and was underpowered and couldn't beat the final boss.

    I lost interest halfway through so the most I can give it is a 6.
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2015
    7
    Being generous giving it a 7. This game is fairly terrible for the first 20 hours or so. The combat system is high paced and I found myself always needing to use different group makeups to take out bosses. Lots of items and weapons to choose from, with a upgrading system that keeps you interested. The game has its short comings though. Really linear and there isn't any towns or merchants.Being generous giving it a 7. This game is fairly terrible for the first 20 hours or so. The combat system is high paced and I found myself always needing to use different group makeups to take out bosses. Lots of items and weapons to choose from, with a upgrading system that keeps you interested. The game has its short comings though. Really linear and there isn't any towns or merchants. I found myself not interested in the story at all. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    4
    Final Fantasy XIII is a pretty game but it lacks all the elements that make a Final Fantasy game good. The characters are boring, unmemorable and at some points even annoying. Lightning is a perfect female replica of Cloud if you take away all of the details that make Cloud interesting. The game is extremely linear and even when you reach Pulse. The battle system is extremely annoyingFinal Fantasy XIII is a pretty game but it lacks all the elements that make a Final Fantasy game good. The characters are boring, unmemorable and at some points even annoying. Lightning is a perfect female replica of Cloud if you take away all of the details that make Cloud interesting. The game is extremely linear and even when you reach Pulse. The battle system is extremely annoying because your party tends to randomly wander around the field and that causes problems during many boss battles when a boss is able to do damage over a specific piece of area. Leveling up is also annoying in the game because you have to use the crystal system. It's not the worst game I've ever played but it's nowhere near the excellence of the games 7 to 10 of the Final Fantasy series. Expand
  7. HoldenO
    Mar 9, 2010
    6
    Main faults as i see em: No control over party (if your leader dies... so does party? wtf) - I dont like this at all. feels like more of a 1 player game with pets then a RPG to me. No towns? (cant talk to random people) - I miss being able to explore towns and talk to random people... tho if you walk up to people they do talk... just have to listen Auto-attack - This feature to me is both Main faults as i see em: No control over party (if your leader dies... so does party? wtf) - I dont like this at all. feels like more of a 1 player game with pets then a RPG to me. No towns? (cant talk to random people) - I miss being able to explore towns and talk to random people... tho if you walk up to people they do talk... just have to listen Auto-attack - This feature to me is both good and bad. Its good in the context of this system because you are rewarded for combos/chains on 1 enemy. However i think that the game looses its strategy due this and i find myself just pressing A during a battle to gain the best chains. - If i try to manage my attacks manually i enjoy it more but feel really rushed. Also i get 4 stars instead of 5 and if i use auto-attack its always 5 stars... this just encourages me to be lazy. Summons + Transformers = FAIL Things I like: Shops at save points Chrono Trigger like active battle system Story Graphics Edit: I hate the battle system. Expand
  8. AngesterX
    Apr 21, 2010
    6
    Very pretty, but very boring. I played for about three hours before I realized I didn't care what happened to any of the characters. The fighting style is based on auto, which wouldn't be so lame if it wasn't time based fighting (no incentive to try out other moves). I assume a lot of people are going to like it, but I returned it to the rental place before it was due.
  9. JustinG
    Mar 13, 2010
    7
    The game, visually, is quite beautiful. The battle system is quite interesting and intuitive. This being said, I do not like that you can only the party leader, can not switch the party leader, and if your party leader is killed, your entire party just seemingly "gives up." This is not friendly to players at all, and has been the source of much of my frustration in the game. I will also The game, visually, is quite beautiful. The battle system is quite interesting and intuitive. This being said, I do not like that you can only the party leader, can not switch the party leader, and if your party leader is killed, your entire party just seemingly "gives up." This is not friendly to players at all, and has been the source of much of my frustration in the game. I will also agree with others that towns are missed in this game. The missions talked about in the instruction manual are misleading. It is meant to seem that they will be available quite early on in the game, but in fact, are only available on the last (3rd) disc. The game is too linear in my opinion. The game is fight after fight after fight after fight. Towns, missions, and a broad world give the player a break from the main story to explore. It's what made FFXII so fun to play: you could explore any location you've been to again and again. Now, I'm a Final Fantasy fan, but this game seems to deviate quite a bit from the others. I will say that Square-Enix has fashioned an interesting game, but has not considered all the individuals that play the game. Expand
  10. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    Gamepro descriped this game best: "a long hallway toward an orange target symbol on your mini-map that triggers a cutscene, a boss fight, or both. Frankly for the first six chapters I thought this game had longest tutorial ever, with total lack of towns, exploration or people to talk to. In short anything fun. There are some good points in the game of course. Story isn't horrible, it isn'tGamepro descriped this game best: "a long hallway toward an orange target symbol on your mini-map that triggers a cutscene, a boss fight, or both. Frankly for the first six chapters I thought this game had longest tutorial ever, with total lack of towns, exploration or people to talk to. In short anything fun. There are some good points in the game of course. Story isn't horrible, it isn't anything to write home about either, and combat is much improved, however all together game is just bad even with all the improvements. If you want to play final fantasy I suggest you play any other number from I-XII, they are all better than this one. Expand
  11. BlakeW
    Mar 12, 2010
    5
    I have played and enjoyed every FF game to date except 12. So I thought, hey another FF, good to pass some time right? Wrong, what a waste of $60. I don't normally write in about games like this but wasting $60 (I cant return it to the store) just irks me. This game is on rails, no really, imagine you are on a train track: you have ZERO choice over anything you do, say, explore, I have played and enjoyed every FF game to date except 12. So I thought, hey another FF, good to pass some time right? Wrong, what a waste of $60. I don't normally write in about games like this but wasting $60 (I cant return it to the store) just irks me. This game is on rails, no really, imagine you are on a train track: you have ZERO choice over anything you do, say, explore, attack, I mean literally everything. I don't know how to emphasize this more, every environment you are in is straight and super narrow. Even the fighting is on rails I kid you not. There is an "auto-attack" button that queues up the best attacks for you. The only thing you have to do, on the very rare tough fights, is switch to healing mode for 2 seconds, then switch back to attack mode and mash auto-attack again. There is one exception to the linear path 30 hours into the game, which you are presented a nice huge field to fight monsters in, then it's on rails again to the end. All this wouldn't be so bad if the story was good. But honestly, I was so completely lost on what was going on I thought it was an inside joke or something. The game introduces so much terminology to you with no explanation as to what it means that I had to read on the internet to see what these things actually meant. There is one thing that is amazing about this game though. As with all FF games the graphics are top notch. Can't praise them more. The music is just so-so, some tracks I find myself humming and some get on my nerves. The voice acting is pretty good. To sum it up: buy this game if you enjoy truly excellent cut scenes followed by 1-2 hours of holding up while running through a true tunnel filled with not a single npc, just enemies, and auto attacking while battling (all while having no idea what in the world is going on). Expand
  12. SteveW
    Mar 12, 2010
    2
    I am really disappointed.. I really enjoyed playing FF XII. FF VII I played through 10 times or so. This is really the worst Final Fantasy game I have ever tried. By far, the worst, no question. It feels like a job getting through this game. The graphics are not even that good. There is no way they make up for the horrible game play. The first time I saw the Odin sommon I nearly through I am really disappointed.. I really enjoyed playing FF XII. FF VII I played through 10 times or so. This is really the worst Final Fantasy game I have ever tried. By far, the worst, no question. It feels like a job getting through this game. The graphics are not even that good. There is no way they make up for the horrible game play. The first time I saw the Odin sommon I nearly through my controler it looked so stupid. When you play this game and tell yourself that some things were sacrificed for graphics, then see the horse make the awkward turn, it will make you so mad. You run from movie to movie with very little interaction. Seriously, you tap "X" ("A" on XBOX) over and over. It almost relieving when you die becuase you know you finally get to think. Each movie looks good I guess but this whole game has removed the player completely. Whoever gave this game a good review works for Square. If I wanted to watch a movie, i would put in a DVD! Final Fantasy 12 made leaps and bounds for the series. The annoying screen glass shattering and fighting music started got really old in the previous games. FF 12 got rid of that and allowed you to run during battle. As a player, you could control so much more. How can you go from a game that made so many improvments, to this piece of garbage? They brought back all that was bad and kept non that was good. If you want to make a game with good graphics, re-make FF VII, or ANY final fantasy game from 1 to 8. Seriously, anything would have been better. I will never buy a new FF game again. I was so looking forward to this and it is a huge let down. I gave this game a 2 because of the name and in respect to the series as a whole. It was the best video game series of all time but this game ruined that. Expand
  13. BryanM.
    Apr 12, 2010
    5
    Bah! This game redefines the word "linear". The first 20 hours you will be walking through corridors using an auto attack combat system that is incredibly tedious. It attempts to add some depth to the combat by way of paradigms to change your parties roles in battle, but this essentially means you will occasionally have to switch someone to be a healer for a little while. The exception Bah! This game redefines the word "linear". The first 20 hours you will be walking through corridors using an auto attack combat system that is incredibly tedious. It attempts to add some depth to the combat by way of paradigms to change your parties roles in battle, but this essentially means you will occasionally have to switch someone to be a healer for a little while. The exception will be the boss battles that requires you to figure out a sequence of paradigms to beat them that you really can't stray from. Other than that... no exploration, no towns, the shops are boring, it has a very simple crafting system... ugh. This is the worst Final Fantasy game in the series. Don't let the people giving this game high marks fool you, if it weren't for the Final Fantasy name no one would be playing this pile of garbage. Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    I did not enjoy Final Fantasy XII. The entire game is too linear and the combat is lame. You can literally hit auto attack and win 90% of the battles.
  15. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    Worst game I have ever played and I started playing on my Gameboy about 20 years ago.

    Annoying characters (especially that emo-crybaby and that wannabe- Paris Hilton- Barbie), horrible and hectical fighting system (why the **** the game ends, when Lightning is defeated, even though there are other characters who could easily revive her?), mega linear maps (basically just one direction-
    Worst game I have ever played and I started playing on my Gameboy about 20 years ago.

    Annoying characters (especially that emo-crybaby and that wannabe- Paris Hilton- Barbie), horrible and hectical fighting system (why the **** the game ends, when Lightning is defeated, even though there are other characters who could easily revive her?), mega linear maps (basically just one direction- alleyways), annoying music, that repeats itself and repeats itself until your brain goes numb. Besides that the actual game gets interupted with cutscenes every 10 minutes or so, so there is no fluent gameplay at all.

    I even enjoyed playing Ride to Hell: Retribution more than this, that game made you laugh at least, while FFXIII just makes me angry as hell. So **** this game, **** it to oblivion.
    Expand
  16. Dec 23, 2011
    1
    New update review: I decided to give 13 another shot since my previous criticism was slightly biased. After 8-10 hours of gameplay, it is still a piece of absolute crap. I'll get the good parts out.:Graphics are astonishingly beautiful, the combat system is quite decent and the soundtrack is awesome. Now to the bad parts: Unbearable and annoying characters, poorly written story,New update review: I decided to give 13 another shot since my previous criticism was slightly biased. After 8-10 hours of gameplay, it is still a piece of absolute crap. I'll get the good parts out.:Graphics are astonishingly beautiful, the combat system is quite decent and the soundtrack is awesome. Now to the bad parts: Unbearable and annoying characters, poorly written story, disengaging gameplay and limited freedom because of linearity. Let me quote the comment of FF13's director on its criticisms on linearity: "It becomes very difficult to tell a compelling story when you're given that much freedom". NO, NO, NO, NO!!! The story in this game is as compelling as watching a clock and waiting for the minute hand to move! Hell, watching a clock is more compelling than the story of this game. If the story was good, then the linearity wouldn't be a problem but it is because the story sucks!!! Have they not learnt from previous FF games that players enjoy exploring the mythology and landscape that they made while at the same time still engaged at the story? The previous games managed to tell a good story without sacrificing freedom. What the hell happened? From the first time I played the game, I instantly hated most of the characters in this game. There are only two kind of likable characters but the rest are unbearable and annoying, especially Hope, who should go die in a ditch. Probably the worst thing about this game is its overall gameplay. The player does little to no involvement in the game and even though the combat system is quite decent, there is little to no strategy. The characters in your party does most of the attacking anyways and the majority of most of your combat involves pressing X (PS3) or A (360) over and over again. This new take on FF's gameplay is so disengaging, it really breaks my heart. I heard that it gets good after 20-25 hours. Are you kidding me??? Why would anyone torture themselves to go through 20 hours of crappy, hard to understand story, unbearable characters and uninteresting gameplay to reach the good part in this abomination? Probably me because I do want to know if its good or not. Final Fantasy 13 scares me. Final Fantasy is one of my most beloved gaming franchise and this is what it came to? As I ended with my previous review, this is the worst Final Fantasy game ever. Wait, I wouldn't even call this a "game".It is a huge betrayal to the series and completely desecrates on what its predecessors achieved in terms of gameplay, characters and storytelling. Overhyped and highly overrated. Expand
  17. MarkB
    Mar 29, 2010
    6
    Pros: Highly polished graphics, Superb cutscenes and transitions into playable areas, Diverse character design, Combat design excellent, Clever, if not original, leveling menu, Cons: Story largely inpenetreble with explanations of events coming in cutscenes that for all their splender lack a point, Characters are largely irritating, constantly fragmenting, and designed to JRPG Pros: Highly polished graphics, Superb cutscenes and transitions into playable areas, Diverse character design, Combat design excellent, Clever, if not original, leveling menu, Cons: Story largely inpenetreble with explanations of events coming in cutscenes that for all their splender lack a point, Characters are largely irritating, constantly fragmenting, and designed to JRPG stereotypes; e.g. Moody one, Happy one, Strong one, Cowardly one etc Opening 10 hours far too linear, Battles are largely boring against small to medium enemies and mostly luck based on big enemies; e.g. the first eidolen battle see's you, alone as Snow, pitted against a unbeatable creature, where the trick to winning is to take a lot of damage. So you can only win the fight, and the respect of the eidolen, if said creature attacks you enough, which you cant control. Summary: Story is poorly executed, if nothing else, this ruins the experience from the outset. Although the subtleties are explained in the menus, they should exist to enhance the story and the world ala codex entries from Mass Effect. FFXII relies on them to explain whats going on. The constant changing character roster at the beginning of the game is a clever idea to force you to learn the different mechanics, but by lumbering you with two characters I had zero empathy with it just turned into an endless slog of low level fights. This is a game that aims squarely at FF fans, and fans of JRPG games as a genre. It has little or nothing to offer western RPG fans who would be better suited to Mass Effect, Fallout 3 and Dragon Age. Expand
  18. NickC
    Apr 21, 2010
    3
    Emo Hallway Simulator 13 is one of the most dissappointing games I've played in years. There isn't much good to say about the gameplay itself. The storyline is worse than laughably bad, the characters are over-emotional and terribly annoying, the graphics are so-so, sound and music are lazy, the cut scenes get stale very quickly, the new fighting system results in mindless Emo Hallway Simulator 13 is one of the most dissappointing games I've played in years. There isn't much good to say about the gameplay itself. The storyline is worse than laughably bad, the characters are over-emotional and terribly annoying, the graphics are so-so, sound and music are lazy, the cut scenes get stale very quickly, the new fighting system results in mindless button mashing.... all that aside the real tradgedy of this game is how it has exposed the unapologetic scam that is the game-review industry. It is beyond me how any professional outfit could rate this junk higher than even a 7/10, yet I'm seeing 10/10s everywhere. Shame on you world. Expand
  19. Sep 30, 2010
    3
    Uttter **** the first 6 hours you constantly spam one button and run along a linear corridor, later in the game you can switch stances witch only is useful between the boss fights aka "hours of boring bull**** for some other bull****".

    The story is only good for weaaboos.
  20. Nov 2, 2010
    5
    The Bad: Bland characters; bland, linear story; forgettable main villains; forgettable music; and weak gameplay for the most part, though there were some pretty challenging battles at the end of the game, especially if you try to 5 star every Hunt (getting 1000 gamerpoints on this game is no joke!!! Took me over 100 hours!). Good: Graphics. Seriously, the only thing that is aboveThe Bad: Bland characters; bland, linear story; forgettable main villains; forgettable music; and weak gameplay for the most part, though there were some pretty challenging battles at the end of the game, especially if you try to 5 star every Hunt (getting 1000 gamerpoints on this game is no joke!!! Took me over 100 hours!). Good: Graphics. Seriously, the only thing that is above average is the graphics, but even those are not the best out there (Mass Effect 2 has better graphics for example). FF13 is like a pretty car with nothing under the hood (that's one good way to describe it). I generally like linear JRPGs, but FF13 takes linear to a whole new extreme - you just walk down straight corridors! There is no exploration until the very end. I actually did like the battle system some, but it is not nearly as good the Final Fantasys of old. Why are they trying to fix what was never broken? My favorite FF game is FFIV for the Nintendo DS (Kain is my favorite character of all time!), and I also loved FFVI on the SNES (Kefka is the greatest villain of all time!). This game is a joke compared to FFIV and FFVI. Expand
  21. Feb 9, 2011
    4
    The worst FF yet. Square has taken its "can do no wrong franchise" and experimented it out of the whole "RPG' pigeon hole. sure its pretty, and the voice acting is top noch, but its more a "interactive story" now, with an akwardly placed 100 side quests tossed in around chapter 11. not that they are really side quests, rather just hunting missions. it takes 2 hour to just get to the pointThe worst FF yet. Square has taken its "can do no wrong franchise" and experimented it out of the whole "RPG' pigeon hole. sure its pretty, and the voice acting is top noch, but its more a "interactive story" now, with an akwardly placed 100 side quests tossed in around chapter 11. not that they are really side quests, rather just hunting missions. it takes 2 hour to just get to the point where you can start leveling up. Summons are pointless and do less damage than nomal attacks, limit breaks are gone and weapon crafting is frustrating as for the vast majority of the game you cannot earn any money. even now at a cheap $20, i feel ripped off. avoid this game, and square enix as a whole. This company has bit the farm as far as i am concerned. I am baffeled that the same company that made my beloved FF tactics, FF 7, FF9, Crono Trigger, Crono Cross, Xenogears,and FF10 are the same folks that churned out this crap. Expand
  22. Mar 9, 2011
    2
    This is just not a good game. It might have made a good movie (indeed, the graphics are phenomenal), but FFXIII, to the extent that one even "plays" it, is a very poor game. The voice acting is absolutely, positively atrocious. The writing is equally awful. Dialogue is disjointed, nonsensical and usually just silly (but not in the entertaining way). The characters are incrediblyThis is just not a good game. It might have made a good movie (indeed, the graphics are phenomenal), but FFXIII, to the extent that one even "plays" it, is a very poor game. The voice acting is absolutely, positively atrocious. The writing is equally awful. Dialogue is disjointed, nonsensical and usually just silly (but not in the entertaining way). The characters are incredibly annoying, and the story doesn't make sense through most of the game. Combat is streamlined to the point of pointlessness. The leveling system is almost completely linear. There are no sidequests other than "Hunts" similar those in FFXII, but you don't access those until almost 30 hours in. There is no true "open ended" part of the game, where you are free to roam the entire universe of the game. There is nothing at all to redeem the completely lackluster experience of "playing" this game. And I cannot stress enough how poor the writing and voice acting are. Expand
  23. May 29, 2011
    4
    Nonsensical story telling, bland two dimensional characters and gameplay which more often than not boils down to mashing the A button until it's over. The game is horrendously on rails with nothing to do bar hunt marks once the main story line is done. Graphics are excellent, but that's about it. The battke system shows some ingenuity, but sadly utterly fails to capture all but the mostNonsensical story telling, bland two dimensional characters and gameplay which more often than not boils down to mashing the A button until it's over. The game is horrendously on rails with nothing to do bar hunt marks once the main story line is done. Graphics are excellent, but that's about it. The battke system shows some ingenuity, but sadly utterly fails to capture all but the most basic stratergy and tactics. A true dissapointment and a new lowpoint for the series. Easily the worst of the series so far. Expand
  24. AdamC
    Apr 18, 2010
    6
    The most linear Final Fantasy yet. Linear gameplay. Linear character "development". Convoluted storyline. Didn't feel anything for any of the characters. Too much automation makes the combat quite boring.
  25. FiZ
    Aug 13, 2010
    7
    A lot of the other reviews are correct on the surface: The good: graphics, battle and leveling systems, and the story actually gets interesting after about 30-ish hours. The bad: the characters are pretty badly written, and the game is almost offensively linear. On the other hand, I had to give this FF a "7" rather than a "6" for fixing the one problem I've had with every FF made in theA lot of the other reviews are correct on the surface: The good: graphics, battle and leveling systems, and the story actually gets interesting after about 30-ish hours. The bad: the characters are pretty badly written, and the game is almost offensively linear. On the other hand, I had to give this FF a "7" rather than a "6" for fixing the one problem I've had with every FF made in the past 10 years. No more treasure chests in the first few hours of gameplay that you have to skip if you want to pick up the strongest weapon in the game, nearly 40 or so hours later. I would have liked a lot more free exploration in the game, but at least SquEnix is finally fixing all those stupid tricks and secrets that have absolutely no method of discovery without a guide of some sort or incredible dumb-luck. I like secrets, but only when there's an actual rational method to discover/decrypt them without hitting gameFAQs before putting the disc in the console. That aside, the next non-MMO Final Fantasy needs some serious improvement in character writing and story pacing. Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    The game is a tunnel, yes. The first twenty hours of Cocoon still give me second thoughts. If the game had some sort of side quests, mini-games, anything... a nice diversion from the linearity and monster hunting, it would have been perfect. The graphics are some of the best I've seen for the PS3/360, the music is astounding, the characters are likable but with a convoluted plot and 24/7The game is a tunnel, yes. The first twenty hours of Cocoon still give me second thoughts. If the game had some sort of side quests, mini-games, anything... a nice diversion from the linearity and monster hunting, it would have been perfect. The graphics are some of the best I've seen for the PS3/360, the music is astounding, the characters are likable but with a convoluted plot and 24/7 linearity, and the fans biggest disappointment is the lack of staples that make this almost not deserve the Final Fantasy title... it's not perfect, but it's not bad either. Expand
  27. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Its a beautiful game, but it fails in the aspect that it is too linear and it still does not beat FFVII for story and variety. The battle system, while no doubt some will love it and some will hate it, i was disappointed by it. These flaws are i can only give it a 9
  28. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    While the fan reaction to Final Fantasy XIII is one of the most polarized that a Final Fantasy game has seen since the arrival of Final Fantasy IX, I find myself firmly on the fence. It's a great RPG, but it takes a lot of rather daunting risks with the traditional formula that fans have come to expect. Unsurprisingly, not all of them turn up roses.
  29. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    I liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may playI liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may play it over, but eh. Expand
  30. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not great, not the worst. Graphics and OST are breathtaking, the storyline is good, although a little bit weird and twisted in the end. The fighting system was awkward at first but nice once you had trained it for some hours. The worst is the lack of secondary missions. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. We can't assure it is a turning point in the series, but it manages to make fights fun and it's no doubt an outstanding game.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    While the game's first 10 hours still give me pause, the 60 magnificent hours after those initial steps onto Cocoon make up for the tunnel-vision tutorial. [Apr 2010, p.68]