User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 480 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    Gamepro descriped this game best: "a long hallway toward an orange target symbol on your mini-map that triggers a cutscene, a boss fight, or both. Frankly for the first six chapters I thought this game had longest tutorial ever, with total lack of towns, exploration or people to talk to. In short anything fun. There are some good points in the game of course. Story isn't horrible, it isn't anything to write home about either, and combat is much improved, however all together game is just bad even with all the improvements. If you want to play final fantasy I suggest you play any other number from I-XII, they are all better than this one. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2010
    3
    Uttter **** the first 6 hours you constantly spam one button and run along a linear corridor, later in the game you can switch stances witch only is useful between the boss fights aka "hours of boring bull**** for some other bull****".

    The story is only good for weaaboos.
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    4
    Final Fantasy XIII is a pretty game but it lacks all the elements that make a Final Fantasy game good. The characters are boring, unmemorable and at some points even annoying. Lightning is a perfect female replica of Cloud if you take away all of the details that make Cloud interesting. The game is extremely linear and even when you reach Pulse. The battle system is extremely annoying because your party tends to randomly wander around the field and that causes problems during many boss battles when a boss is able to do damage over a specific piece of area. Leveling up is also annoying in the game because you have to use the crystal system. It's not the worst game I've ever played but it's nowhere near the excellence of the games 7 to 10 of the Final Fantasy series. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2011
    1
    New update review: I decided to give 13 another shot since my previous criticism was slightly biased. After 8-10 hours of gameplay, it is still a piece of absolute crap. I'll get the good parts out.:Graphics are astonishingly beautiful, the combat system is quite decent and the soundtrack is awesome. Now to the bad parts: Unbearable and annoying characters, poorly written story, disengaging gameplay and limited freedom because of linearity. Let me quote the comment of FF13's director on its criticisms on linearity: "It becomes very difficult to tell a compelling story when you're given that much freedom". NO, NO, NO, NO!!! The story in this game is as compelling as watching a clock and waiting for the minute hand to move! Hell, watching a clock is more compelling than the story of this game. If the story was good, then the linearity wouldn't be a problem but it is because the story sucks!!! Have they not learnt from previous FF games that players enjoy exploring the mythology and landscape that they made while at the same time still engaged at the story? The previous games managed to tell a good story without sacrificing freedom. What the hell happened? From the first time I played the game, I instantly hated most of the characters in this game. There are only two kind of likable characters but the rest are unbearable and annoying, especially Hope, who should go die in a ditch. Probably the worst thing about this game is its overall gameplay. The player does little to no involvement in the game and even though the combat system is quite decent, there is little to no strategy. The characters in your party does most of the attacking anyways and the majority of most of your combat involves pressing X (PS3) or A (360) over and over again. This new take on FF's gameplay is so disengaging, it really breaks my heart. I heard that it gets good after 20-25 hours. Are you kidding me??? Why would anyone torture themselves to go through 20 hours of crappy, hard to understand story, unbearable characters and uninteresting gameplay to reach the good part in this abomination? Probably me because I do want to know if its good or not. Final Fantasy 13 scares me. Final Fantasy is one of my most beloved gaming franchise and this is what it came to? As I ended with my previous review, this is the worst Final Fantasy game ever. Wait, I wouldn't even call this a "game".It is a huge betrayal to the series and completely desecrates on what its predecessors achieved in terms of gameplay, characters and storytelling. Overhyped and highly overrated. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2010
    6
    I did not enjoy Final Fantasy XII. The entire game is too linear and the combat is lame. You can literally hit auto attack and win 90% of the battles.
  6. Nov 2, 2010
    5
    The Bad: Bland characters; bland, linear story; forgettable main villains; forgettable music; and weak gameplay for the most part, though there were some pretty challenging battles at the end of the game, especially if you try to 5 star every Hunt (getting 1000 gamerpoints on this game is no joke!!! Took me over 100 hours!). Good: Graphics. Seriously, the only thing that is above average is the graphics, but even those are not the best out there (Mass Effect 2 has better graphics for example). FF13 is like a pretty car with nothing under the hood (that's one good way to describe it). I generally like linear JRPGs, but FF13 takes linear to a whole new extreme - you just walk down straight corridors! There is no exploration until the very end. I actually did like the battle system some, but it is not nearly as good the Final Fantasys of old. Why are they trying to fix what was never broken? My favorite FF game is FFIV for the Nintendo DS (Kain is my favorite character of all time!), and I also loved FFVI on the SNES (Kefka is the greatest villain of all time!). This game is a joke compared to FFIV and FFVI. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    4
    The worst FF yet. Square has taken its "can do no wrong franchise" and experimented it out of the whole "RPG' pigeon hole. sure its pretty, and the voice acting is top noch, but its more a "interactive story" now, with an akwardly placed 100 side quests tossed in around chapter 11. not that they are really side quests, rather just hunting missions. it takes 2 hour to just get to the point where you can start leveling up. Summons are pointless and do less damage than nomal attacks, limit breaks are gone and weapon crafting is frustrating as for the vast majority of the game you cannot earn any money. even now at a cheap $20, i feel ripped off. avoid this game, and square enix as a whole. This company has bit the farm as far as i am concerned. I am baffeled that the same company that made my beloved FF tactics, FF 7, FF9, Crono Trigger, Crono Cross, Xenogears,and FF10 are the same folks that churned out this crap. Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2011
    2
    This is just not a good game. It might have made a good movie (indeed, the graphics are phenomenal), but FFXIII, to the extent that one even "plays" it, is a very poor game. The voice acting is absolutely, positively atrocious. The writing is equally awful. Dialogue is disjointed, nonsensical and usually just silly (but not in the entertaining way). The characters are incredibly annoying, and the story doesn't make sense through most of the game. Combat is streamlined to the point of pointlessness. The leveling system is almost completely linear. There are no sidequests other than "Hunts" similar those in FFXII, but you don't access those until almost 30 hours in. There is no true "open ended" part of the game, where you are free to roam the entire universe of the game. There is nothing at all to redeem the completely lackluster experience of "playing" this game. And I cannot stress enough how poor the writing and voice acting are. Expand
  9. May 29, 2011
    4
    Nonsensical story telling, bland two dimensional characters and gameplay which more often than not boils down to mashing the A button until it's over. The game is horrendously on rails with nothing to do bar hunt marks once the main story line is done. Graphics are excellent, but that's about it. The battke system shows some ingenuity, but sadly utterly fails to capture all but the most basic stratergy and tactics. A true dissapointment and a new lowpoint for the series. Easily the worst of the series so far. Expand
  10. FiZ
    Aug 13, 2010
    7
    A lot of the other reviews are correct on the surface: The good: graphics, battle and leveling systems, and the story actually gets interesting after about 30-ish hours. The bad: the characters are pretty badly written, and the game is almost offensively linear. On the other hand, I had to give this FF a "7" rather than a "6" for fixing the one problem I've had with every FF made in the past 10 years. No more treasure chests in the first few hours of gameplay that you have to skip if you want to pick up the strongest weapon in the game, nearly 40 or so hours later. I would have liked a lot more free exploration in the game, but at least SquEnix is finally fixing all those stupid tricks and secrets that have absolutely no method of discovery without a guide of some sort or incredible dumb-luck. I like secrets, but only when there's an actual rational method to discover/decrypt them without hitting gameFAQs before putting the disc in the console. That aside, the next non-MMO Final Fantasy needs some serious improvement in character writing and story pacing. Expand
  11. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    The game is a tunnel, yes. The first twenty hours of Cocoon still give me second thoughts. If the game had some sort of side quests, mini-games, anything... a nice diversion from the linearity and monster hunting, it would have been perfect. The graphics are some of the best I've seen for the PS3/360, the music is astounding, the characters are likable but with a convoluted plot and 24/7 linearity, and the fans biggest disappointment is the lack of staples that make this almost not deserve the Final Fantasy title... it's not perfect, but it's not bad either. Expand
  12. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Let me start off by first saying that this is easily one of the best Final Fantasy games out there right now. Ever since I finished Final Fantasy X's epic storyline, I've been yearning for another Final Fantasy game to come along that can emulate the emotions that I had felt all those years ago. I'm happy to say that I have indeed found that game in the form of Final Fantasy XIII. I've slowly come to realize that most fans either love the game or absolutely hate it and I can understand both sides of the spectrum. Graphically, even by today's standards, FFXIII is one of the sharpest looking games out there. Character models still look extremely solid and the environments and cutscenes are absolutely gorgeous. The game features an entirely made-from-scratch world with its own rich history and extremely deep lore that is presented in spot-on fashion so as to not overwhelm the player with too many details. Now, moving on to the core aspects of the game, starting with the storyline. As mentioned earlier, FFXIII's story is one of hope. It's about setting out to accomplish something, rather than sitting around wishing you could, when others say it is impossible. Admittedly, it's not exactly the most unique message a video game has ever conveyed, but the manner in which it is presented is spectacular. The story starts off focused on Lightning Farron (whose real first name is revealed later), a Guardian Corps. soldier whose sister becomes branded by a demigod-like being called a Fal'Cie. Those that are branded, called l'Cie, have what's called a Focus, which is a single objective that must be accomplished in a limited amount of time. If the l'Cie fails to carry out their Focus in the time given, they turn into mindless demonic creatures called Cie'th. However, if they do carry out their Focus successfully, they turn into crystal to sleep for all of eternity, which isn't exactly much better. Without giving away too much more, Lightning desperately tries to help her sister out of this impossible situation. By far, this is one of the most stellar endings, in my opinion, to any video I've ever played, neatly wrapping up all loose ends and satisfying the player. The game features an extraordinary cast of hit-or-miss characters. My friend hated every single party member while I grew fond of every one of them. Each of them features an engaging backstory and personality and I actually cared deeply what happened to them as the story progressed. The game's score is absolutely fantastic and suits the game's tone and atmosphere perfectly. Moving on to actual gameplay, many critics fault the game for its extreme linearity and I wholeheartedly agree. This is easily one of the most linear games you will ever play, with very little to no side-missions or objectives to accomplish. The side missions that are available (late in the game) are nothing more than monster-slaying missions and a majority of them offer rewards that barely warrant the time and effort put into these challenging battles. In fact, the majority of the game is very challenging. The game lacks any sort of difficulty setting and so if you're a very casual gamer, you may want to steer clear of this one. Personally, I enjoy challenging video games but this game was just downright frustrating at times. I honestly don't even know how they expect you to win some of the fights without maxing out your characters. The game's battle system is a healthy combination of turn-based combat and a fast-paced action game. It's difficult to describe in a few sentences but it is extremely satisfying without becoming a mindless button-masher. Triumphing over rough boss fights is a real treat that truly tests your skills as a gamer. Fortunately, you can "Retry" any battle mid-fight, which resets your character to right before you engaged the enemy, and the save systems throughout the game are very generous. Overall, Final Fantasy XIII is a treat of a video game. Boasting sharp visuals, an intelligently-satisfying battle system, a fantastic cast of characters, an emotionally engaging storyline and an absolutely stellar ending, this truly is the Final Fantasy game that all fans should play. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Its a beautiful game, but it fails in the aspect that it is too linear and it still does not beat FFVII for story and variety. The battle system, while no doubt some will love it and some will hate it, i was disappointed by it. These flaws are i can only give it a 9
  14. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    While the fan reaction to Final Fantasy XIII is one of the most polarized that a Final Fantasy game has seen since the arrival of Final Fantasy IX, I find myself firmly on the fence. It's a great RPG, but it takes a lot of rather daunting risks with the traditional formula that fans have come to expect. Unsurprisingly, not all of them turn up roses.
  15. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    I liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may play it over, but eh. Expand
  16. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not great, not the worst. Graphics and OST are breathtaking, the storyline is good, although a little bit weird and twisted in the end. The fighting system was awkward at first but nice once you had trained it for some hours. The worst is the lack of secondary missions. Expand
  17. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entire life waiting for a remake, ff xiii innovates and refresh the jrpg concept and that what square enix said before launching the game, in ten years this game will be remembered like one of the most underrated ff ever just for the obsession with cloud and company. Expand
  18. May 9, 2012
    5
    This game is a slap in the face to loyal FF fans. All the good things the series is known for such as character development, exploration and a wealth of extra content is thrown out for a simplistic point A to point B experience that will leave you scratching your head. The battle system is equally boring, and it's tutorial lasts about 6 hours. Graphically it's amazing and the cutscenes are stellar but apart from that it's a dismal direction for FF. I cared absolutely nothing for any of the characters 10 hours in and even less about the mangled excuse for a plot. It's worth a rent or a $9.99 or below price tag. Expand
  19. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    For most of you, you think this game sucks. Well guess what... it DOESN'T! Final Fantasy games have never been mainly about focusing on in game play, it was just a side thing that was awesome. Anyway, the main thing is the story line, and if you actually pay attention it's really good! I admit that some of the characters I didn't like at first (Snow and Lightning to be exact) but then I started to like them after a while, it's an amazing game if you give it a chance but most of you haven't. If you have a problem with this game, then the problems with yourself. Expand
  20. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Being the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to the best FF titles, it is still a good game in its own right. The first note to make has to be regarding the fantastic visuals which are some of the best of this console generation. However, visuals are not why FF games are so popular. The real point of interest is the combat. The paradigm system is a fresh take on the job system generally associated with III and V. Characters switch roles in the heat of battle, meaning a constant creating and revision of strategy, adding depth and complexity to fighting. The crystarium is very similar to the sphere grid of FFX so it is not a revolution in player growth. The story is much more character driven than other FF games with each struggling with problems connected to others in the group. Though it sags in the third act, the story is much more mature and modern than that of other games in the series. With a combination of graphics, gameplay and story, on paper this looks like an instant classic. FFXIII's real problem is in its mishandling of these elements. The camera is constantly trying to direct the player to the scenery and the visual dazzle occasionally overwhelms and prevents immersion. The game takes too long to reveal all elements of its battle system, withholding the ability to change roles and leaders until certain sections of the game. The characters personal conflicts take much too long to resolve themselves, usually because a character is too afraid to speak up. Though I liked most of the characters, Vanille was unbearable, with an optimistic attitude that is completely at odds with the story and the rest of the characters. This game will divide fans who question whether this is a game worth of the FF name. But to do this game justice, gamers should judge FFXIII on what it is and not on what it isn't. Expand
  21. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    Pros: Superbly beautiful graphics, scenery, cutscenes, and fairly interesting story. Plays out like a movie. Offers a truly unique experience from other video games. Cons: Is not true to franchise, simple combat, sidequests and exploration are nonexistant. Character building is also linear meaning no replayability. Barely counts as an RPG.

    Overall: I think FFXIII is a refreshingly
    unique experience. I think it was cool to see a game play out like a movie, but at the same time I would not want all my games to do such. Expand
  22. Mar 26, 2011
    1
    I only played this game(using the term loosely) for a short while, and that was all it took for me to completely lose faith in Square Enix. They decided to remove as much control from the player as possible. In battle you can choose to have the game auto-pilot and win about 90% of the battles. You don't control player movement, and you can only control the predetermined leader of that chapter. This bothered me, because Lightning has an AoE attack at her disposal, but since you can't strafe and bunch the enemies together, you are left to wait on the enemies bunching themselves, and hoping that Lighting gets the attack off before they disperse. All you really get to do is walk a couple steps down a linear corridor, when you get hit by ANOTHER CUT SCENE. Square Enix really wanted to make a movie, not a game. All the characters are annoying, and the voice actors must have had no self respect. Vanil is an obnoxious teenager that giggles after everything she says. Hope is hopelessly depressed and equally obnoxious. Lighting is a b*tch for no reason. Sazh was tolerable until a scene when he stared at Vanil's ass. Pedophiles are hilarious, right? Snow was the only actually tolerable character. The story makes no sense, the characters keep expressing that they want to be turned into crystals, or something. I don't know or care. I hear the game gets good about 40 hours in. I guess I'll never know. Expand
  23. Mar 28, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played all the Final Fantasy games and this one takes the prize for worst game of the series. First the Good: Beautiful graphics; No random battles. End of battle you replenish your hit points automatically.
    Bad: Terrible gameplay mechanics, you basically spend your time switching between "classes" to heal, attack and that is basically all you do. There is no strategy to it at all. It is also extremely hard in places especially when you have to defeat Eidolons(creatures you summon) within a certain time period in order to use them(did I mention you have to do it). So in a nutshell a graphically beautiful FF game with little to no redeemable qualities.
    Expand
  24. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    Game looks great but i played through the whole thing and do not remember anything. Thats because its a whole lot of hitting a to auto battle and running in straight lines...
  25. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Forgot to move score bar down to 1, and gave it 10 on accident, therefore using zero to counteract the accidental 10 score................................................................................
  26. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Maybe the most desapointing Final Fantasy ever. The game has the best beggining of the series, but after chapter 8 it started to get poor and Hope it's the only good character of this game.
    The combat is more like (watch the movie) and this game is so freaking linear. Don't have shops and cities. Bad FF, bad Fabula nova crystallis.
  27. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    4
    Poor story, too much auto combat options, little exploration, good art & movie animations, graphics good.

    This game starts out in all the excitement of a new "Final Fantasy" release, but i'm afraid the more you play it the more disappointed you will feel. In the end the game drags to the point were it feels more like a obligation to try and finish it that a desire. Liked it? - It was
    DISAPPOINTING. Expand
  28. Dec 3, 2011
    1
    Since the last good Final Fantasy game, FFX, and before that the very best, FFVII, I've been trying out the new games. Hoping to get an equally great experience as the franchise used to give me. However I end up more and more disapointed. It's like having your best friend becoming addicted to heroin. You try your best to support him but at the same time you sort of stand by watching him slowly ruin himself and getting closer to the enevitable death. The game is linear. Move from point A to point B, watch cutscene, engage in combat with a terrible combat system, learn about shallow characters you couldn't care less about and in the end, if you actually get there before quitting, defeat the final boss. Squaresoft took the winning formula from previous successes, and broke it into pieces. I don't know what's going on. If it's change in management or if they just don't care anymore, but the Final Fantasy that I know is long dead and it's sad. Expand
  29. May 6, 2012
    0
    terrible. a slap in the face. warning, this is not a rpg folks. I have been playing the FF series since it started. God, where do I start? No freedom, computer does everything, you have no control over anything. Bosses with a millions of hit points, that you begin to fall asleep while you play. Seriously, one boss had 3 million hit points. Only thing that saved this game was the cut scenes, they are beautiful. I felt like I walking through a hallway, and everything was set up for me. The first chapters of the game were BORING. I want to be able to PLAY all my characters, build them the way I see fit. Also, if your person in command dies, the whole team is dead. So lame. I really, really hated this game. I hope to see a big change with 14, or my FF days are done. Expand
  30. Jan 29, 2013
    0
    Game is incomplete garbage! I absolutely hate it. I hate it's gameplay, story, characters, graphics, visuals! EVERY SINGLE ASPECT! Gameplay is worthless boring button masher for +20 hours with exploration of giant hallway in which you won't find anything worth mentioning, ever. Story is boring-ass underdeveloped scrap of what could've not so bad story. Characters are retarded and unlikeable. Graphics are mediocre, textures are okay, but nothing really to look at. Visuals are screwed up. So, okay, we have this "realistic" wanna be graphics, what should we do? ADD A GUY WITH IMPOSSIBLE BLUE HAIR OF COURSE! Or, motorcycle from two half-naked women?! WHY FREAKING NOT!? A teenager that annihilates fully armed and trained army soldiers, WHY NOT?! The world isn't ugly just because graphics aren't horrible, but you won't ever find any place, any building, anything worth mentioning. I simply can't put something, at least one good thing about this game! Oh, wait, i can, music is kinda cool, but they ruined it with some pop-singers. I usually was turning off music every time when some **** pop song started. Game isn't good because it's bad, it's bad, because it's bad. Really, really bad. Expand
  31. Aug 13, 2010
    6
    The game has an alright story that only picks up after the first half of the game. Chapters 4, 5 and 6 are very boring to play. Only at about Chapter 10 or 11 is where the story picks up.

    The last boss is pathetically easy, I'm not gonna give out spoilers, but he is ridiculously easy. Then you get the final Crystarium Upgrade and you can do post-game. Well, there isn't a whole lot to do
    in post-game. When I beat the game, I told myself that I was going to get Platinum on this game. I never got Platinum because post game is just farming turtles to get Trapezohedrons and Platinum Ingots. Apart from that there is the 64 Cie'th Missions which are all exactly the same - go kill this monster, you get a reward. It got so tedious and boring, I don't play it anymore. Also, the amount of damage you can deal in comparison to the average enemies health after you've maxed Crystarium is ridiculous. If an enemy had say, 4 million health, I could take it out in 2 and a bit turns if I dealt max damage with all characters I had on the field.

    It does have brilliant graphics, superb cutscenes, though they are a bit melodramatic, the menu and level up system is good aswell.
    Expand
  32. Dec 31, 2010
    6
    Being a man who transitioned from the first Playstation to the Xbox, there were 2 game franchises i have missed out on. The Metal Gear series and Final Fantasy. Playing Final Fantasy VIII and IX on the PS1 as a child holds good memories for me so you can imagine my excitement when buying the first Final Fantasy on the Xbox. However, 20 minutes in, it just didnt feel the same to me. Whether it was because i was a child playing the older games or not i dont know but they are not the same as the old classics. I didnt really care about the characters or the plot and the gameplay is pretty much the same but they fidget about in combat while waiting for their turn. However, if you are a graphics lover then you will have a virtual orgasm playing this game, i will give it that. It is a beautiful game to watch. Expand
  33. Mar 10, 2011
    5
    As a long Final Fantasy fan, I didn't like it much. And after spending 45 hours on it, I really don't have any good experience from it. Nothing is really memorable about this game. It's just mind-numbingly average.

    The plot is very shallow and doesn't have a "soul", it's even below the average "save the world" theme that occurs in most rpg's. You'll often find yourself confused about what
    are you supposed to be doing, what is the goal, who is the bad guy, and all those naming conventions is just atrocious ( L'cie, Fal'cie, Pulse L'cie, Ciet'h ) I mean c'mon did a 5 year old kid came up with those names. You just can't take it seriously. Characters are forgettable and no-one stands out or makes an impact on you. Also don't worry about getting lost, the game is one big hallway, you just force yourself forward.

    The battle system is a disgrace. Seriously, It is a button musher. You can win all the battles in the game just by pressing X all the time. You can only control one character, the other 2 just act on their own. Of course you can assign them jobs at each time, but they still act like retards and do whatever they want.
    There is no strategy on the battles, just Press X not to die, and from time to time switch jobs..
    Pathetic.

    Remember when most of FF music was excellent and had feelings? Your winamp is full of FF albums right? Well, you can skip getting the FFXIII album, because there isn't a single one piece of music that is memorable or that has a heart. I think that all music tracks of this game are all blunt and emotionless....

    Graphics are ok though, but they don't save the mess. If you are an rpg fan, skip this, If you are not an rpg fan, skip it, If you want to play this because you are really curious .. well.. get ready for the worst end boss & ending of any RPG ever made.. you have been warned.
    Expand
  34. Mar 29, 2011
    6
    A convoluted story and a linear initial 30 hours is saved by an incredibly fun and strategic battle system and jaw-dropping graphics. The only real aspect that defines XIII as a Final Fantasy title is the focus on the bond between the six main heroes trying to save their incredible world, despite what little we see of it. Other than that, the music, lack of towns, minimal npc interaction, nonexistent puzzles and minigames all help XIII twist staples of the series (and genre) around to a great degree. Nonetheless a solidly fleshed out world remains, as self-contained and bloated with its own lore as it may be. Expand
  35. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    Visually fantastic and with a good storyline it makes the game worth persevering with until the challenge really starts to kick in on disc 2. It's the same old tried and tested Final Fantasy concept of linear running around, levelling up the characters, reaching the next cut scene, repeat again and so on, however what I found make this game an improvement on previous versions is that in this game it does make you feel that character development and balance is more important so some strategic planning is required. Recommended to fans of the series otherwise there is nothing new to appeal to those looking for something different. Expand
  36. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    While a departure from the series the game, when taken as a stand alone, is very fun to play, especially in the later chapters. That said, the early chapters do tend to drag a bit, with the exposition being laid on much slower than it could have been. The characters, as a whole, seem to be a matter of taste. While some may find them quite enjoyable, others will detest them. The plot is nothing new for a Final Fantasy, though the gameplay offers some fun challenges, though again later on (5-6 of 13 chapters are overtly simple to play.) Overall, if you tend toward RPGs, specifically JRPGs, then this is a solid, enjoyable title. Expand
  37. May 9, 2011
    4
    Not a great game. Final fantasy producers should be ashamed of themselves. When you look at the games they produced in the past eg the one with sin, waca and yuna, see i still even remember the names of the characters. I couldnt name a single character from the last 3 final fantasy releases. The reason for there complete and utter failure in recent years is quite simple, they are investing heavily in graphics at the expense of good rpg gameplay. Would not recommend playing this game. Expand
  38. May 20, 2011
    1
    One of the biggest let downs in gaming history. This game is an insult to the millions of true Final Fantasy fans out there. FF fans are RPG fans, as FF's have historically been RPG's. FF13 is NOT an RPG, therefore SE has alienated its core fan base, to gain a new fan base of people who prefer style (nice graphics) over substance.

    Final Fantasy was all about "Take my hand, I'm going to
    show you the world"! Not "take my hand, I am now going to force you to go where I say, which is down a bunch of stupid paths"!!

    FF used to be a massive adventure game series.... where is the adventure in this?! The game doesn't let you adventure in the slightest. The characters suck, the battle system is just a pathetic insult to my intelligence! I want to play the game, not you!!! The weapon upgrade system is a joke, their are NO side quests except some stupid pointless stones which offer no reward, hence being totally pointless.

    So long Final Fantasy series, I fell in love with you with FF7, and continued to be in awe of your beauty with FF8, FF10 and even FF12 to some extent. Unfortunately, you have lost your way, and as much as it pains me... this is where we part ways, as you have betrayed me.
    Expand
  39. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    Ill start by saying I was a massive fan of near enough every final fantasy game before this (except XI) but I must say that this game is nothing like the other games. This is a very bad thing . there is no over world it is soooo linear and also the battle system is terrible
  40. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    Final Fantasy XIII is a a game with many ups and downs but mostly ups. The graphics is amazing however the gameplay itself is quite controversial. For many hardcore FF fans they will not like it due to the massive overhaul of the game but for new comers it can be quite extraordinary. The first hour or two is very boring and repetitive but if you can live through it is very enjoyable. As a gamer that spends alot of time in the story/lore, the game's storyline is fairly good but can drag in some areas and some of the character's dialogue is very 'not something you hear' though this is probably due to some translation fault. One of the character, Hope turned out to be a total rascal in my eyes. He starts out as an ignorant little brat but later on the writers try to make it so that we feel sympathy/empathy towards him. But so far I cant see it and I hate him. 5.5/10 in the character creation. Overall Final Fantasy XIII shines as an absolute inspiration for new comers of the series but for previous FF fans they may not like it or even hate its gut out. All I can say is that I personally loved the game and can't wait for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collapse
  41. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I've been playing RPGs for a very long time, and the Final Fantasy series, like many other old-school RPGers, comes close to beloved status for me. FF3 (6), FF7, FF10, these have a special place in my RPG shrine, also known as a dusty corner in my closet.

    So when I saw that FF13 was shortly due to be released, I decided to borrow my buddy's stormtrooper costume and go out for the midnight
    release. He opted to go as Voldemort. Much fun was had, and I returned excited to play.

    Upon popping that disc in and loading up the intro movie, I experienced what I consider the major positive of this game: the graphics. Let me just state that plainly: from a technical stand-point, the graphics are gorgeous. The characters are modeled with exceptional detail. It really is a pleasure just to watch them. On the other hand, I found the stylistic side of the graphics to be something of a let-down. There's a lot of recycled corridors and monster models. Nothing ever really popped out at me; I never encountered any memorable sort of artistic moments.

    So going from the intro screen, I had high hopes. And then I played the game.

    The gameplay is both exceptionally linear and exceptionally easy, especially in the first parts of the game. Basically you can control only one person and even then your options are limited. Essentially the entire strategy of the game comes from switching roles. Sadly there are very few fights that require even that. During some of the early dungeons I literally held up on the joystick and pressed A over and over and beat them, while I was outside grilling salmon (wireless controllers ftw?) An entire dungeon, without looking, except for the boss. Which is unfortunate because I was also randomly using items and libra and other such things, but I still managed to win the day!

    Let me elaborate further upon my claims of this being the most linear game ever: the game's dungeons are essentially corridors running in one direction, there are never any towns to explore, there are no extra townspeople to talk to, and your character development is more or less entirely linear. There are no choices to make because you can choose them all.

    Simply put, the gameplay is boring. It's a game made for over-achieving zombies.

    Now then let me move on to the story. A big letdown, for several reasons. For one, the dialogue is abysmal. The voice-acting is great, that's not my complaint: the script is terrible. Perhaps I was spoiled, coming from Dragon Age, but I found most of the conversations painfully formulaic. I understand that this game is made to be understood even by little kids, yet Pixar movies somehow manage to be entertaining and approachable for all ages so why couldn't FF13?

    Starting from a poor script, the story can really only go down hill. The villains (like in FF12) are somewhat vague and/or absent. It's not really very clear until later, and even then only just so, why exactly I'm running through corridors, killing everything that moves.

    As we say in the creative writing biz, the game never managed to "draw me in"; it never captured me and consequentially I couldn't careless about the fates of anyone involved.

    The characters are, like everything else in the game, one dimensional. Snow is the cardboard cutout of a "hero" oblivious to reality; Lightning is the cardboard cutout of the gritty tough soldier, even though as a Guardian soldier, she's the equivalent of a national guard soldier in a completely peaceful country; Hope is the cardboard cutout of a weak unguided boy who has "great potential" or some other BS; etc, etc, etc. I actually found Vanille, which Gamespot's reviewer thought was annoying, to be the only character with any real depth. Unfortunately, the game feels the need to constantly blungeon you over the head with this: I HAVE A SECRET, I HAVE A SECRET. Yet, if you are at all cognizant of how Square localizes their FF games, her Australian accent (as opposed to the accents of everyone else) is a dead give-away what her secret is.

    In short, this game has wonderful graphics and decent voice-acting and not much else. It'd be like if you gathered a bunch of beautiful actors, gave them a crappy studio with no props or tools or anything else, handed them a Danielle Steele novel to serve as a script, and told them: "Go at it." Then you'd have FF13.
    Expand
  42. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    What FF XIII is is a bunch of atrocious design ideas all heaped up into one great big mess and been decorated in lots of colors and detail that falls hard on its face to hide the shallow game underneath. Of course I've played plenty of JRPGs and I know that poor or outdated design is rather typical of them, FF XIII however just takes the whole cake and runs off with it. I played through the whole game and not once did I feel impressed by any of the game mechanics, storytelling/plot devices, characters, creature design, leveling process, level design, combat and countless other things that slip my mind. Rather, all of these things are just either really irritating, really boring or both. There was nothing good about the Gameplay and I'm not exaggerating, there is absolutely nothing it that I can think of in my 30+ hours of playing that was well designed. People tell me that FF XIII was made like this so that it could introduce new players to the Final Fantasy franchise. If this is true then Square Enix clearly have no idea what it is they're doing. The game has been dumbed down to the point where it is moving close to the border of what separates a video game from an interactive movie. You spend your first 20 hours selecting auto-attack to win every fight and running down corridors, literally auto-attack for EVERY SINGLE fight excluding boss fights and EVERY SINGLE level in the first 20 hours is a corridor and they don't try to hide it. The unlikable characters and nonsensical story would also contribute in the repelling of any FF newbie. Even after 20 hours there wasn't much more to the maps or the combat, it still felt repetitive, lifeless and utterly boring. I only completed this game for a bet and amazed I didn't kill myself in the process. Expand
  43. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    I have played this game 3 times from start to finish. The game is visually insane and shows how much square's engine can dish out compared to unreal engine. The combat is a mix of turn based combat combined with real time. You select your characters actions and watch them move around the battlefield although you cannot directly control your character, although the arenas are so small its doubtful it would have any different impact if you were able to do otherwise. Going through the bosses on my first playthrough, I thought each one was perfectly oriented for a person with that much experience in the game. The end bosses were very hard and tested my mettle even with optimal strategies. Going though the game the second time, the beginning bosses were significantly easier because of my experience but the end bosses were as hard as ever. If there is anything I could complain about, it is how *possible spoilers* all the postgame content is developing your characters and weapons to the max and all sidequests are just monster hunting missions, although it is a small gripe as the endgame is optional and really only for achievement hunters *end possible spoilers* The characters are very believable and the only ones i thought were really annoying were sazh and snow with a dash of hope. the game challenges you to think about the best role configurations to defeat monsters. The story is epic in the highest sense as the story is not very outlandish (for a fantasy game). While the chapter and the linear progression are also minor gripes, it is acceptable because of the story.I could not recommend this game enough to anyone. All that is left for me now is to wait for 13-2 and versus 13 Expand
  44. Oct 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Please everyone stop hating because of the terrible start. After a while the story will come together and you will get a chance to explore. You will finally understand the fal'cie l'cie cie'th pulse and all the stuff like that. But if you rented this game you wouldn't get a chance to get to that bit.
    Overall not as good as e.g. X or VII but still a great game
    Expand
  45. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    This game is a good game. The combat is certainly very boring if you choose auto-battle but if you actually choose your attacks (Yes you can do this) it becomes more challenging and certainly more engaging as you need to make quick decisions based on what enemies you are facing. I for one liked the characters and felt that they all developed well throughout the story which was overall, very entertaining. People complain about the linearity but I for one don't see it as so much of a problem, FFX was linear too and has a large group of stalwart fans. It does get tedious at some points in the beginning but the fact that they have such an amazing graphics engine and that the scenery is so interesting helped me keep going. Each area has a fitting and well composed theme, the enemy designs are detailed and interesting. Unfortunately the best part comes towards the end, when the game world opens up a little and you get sent on side quests somewhat reminiscent of the Hunts from FFXII. The main problem with this game is the Final Fantasy title. This game would have done well and sold well on it's own merits, (not as well as it did but certainly not abysmally.), but by making it a Final Fantasy game Square instantly set it up to be compared against it's predecessors. When you do that, there are many more Final Fantasy titles I would recommend before this one, I still do recommend it but there are definitely others you should play first. However I am very glad to see that Square is listening to their fans and are making XIII-2 into what this game should have been. Adding what they left out and refining that which needed it. At $20 this game is worth picking up for what it is, not for what the other Final Fantasy games are. Expand
  46. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    I just can't understand why the bad reviews. People seem to go all fanboy when a new game of a saga comes out, and something has been changed. I've played all Final Fantasy games up to date in all different Playstation and Xbox formats. People complain that the combat system has changed, that the maps have changed, that the eidolons have changed... well, let me tell you that the way of playing games have changed. I'm about 30 hours into this game and it plays beautifully: combats require some party preparation and although you can only control the leader, to tweak the AI and to administrate all the combat profiles is part of the game. The new combat system takes from the player all the boring management and just lets them get in what they like, to fight.

    Technically, this game is constantly impressing me. Final Fantasy games are known for being epic and spectacular, but FF XIII has just gone over all that. It's like on a different level from any other thing. Beautiful graphics, masterpiece soundtrack, amazing motion capture, and a catchy storyline. It's hard to get better than this in terms of production quality. Too hard.

    Fan gamers will just not even give this an opportunity, or even if they do, they'll be so stubborn about it being different that they'll be stuck. I think SquareEnix has done a great done adapting the Final Fantasy saga to mechanics with which players are more comfortable these days. And that's not bad, that's improvement.

    The only drawback of it, and the reason why I don't give a 10, is that enhancing the weapons, and knowing which ones to use, where to get them, or how to optimize them can be a very intrincate task. It's as if you really couldn't figure it out without a guide.

    Do yourself a favor: don't listen to the fanboys, don't compare it with old Final Fantasy games, and play it. It'll submerge you in a fantastic experience you won't regret.
    Expand
  47. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    I have to admit that I am fairly new to the whole Final Fantasy series. I admittedly only really got into the series after FFX after have played FFIX and FFVIII casually when i was younger. FFXIII was a mixed bag for me. I liked the story and the character development, The evironments and graphics were amazing. But I just couldn't get past the fact that the game led you by the nose for 95% of the story and you could play almost the entire game with the automatic combat button. I know the whole series has tried to get away from the old school turn-based combat for some time now as it has become a little unpopular with the younger generation. Although I had some real fun playing FFIII, I couldn't help but be a little disappointed in some of the choices the developers made. I have played this game to it's conclusion, and even finished about 90% of the side quests but I don't see myself going through the story a second time. Expand
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I really thought this game was quite fun, and it takes a long time to finish (around about 45-55 hours).
    I can see why some people don't like it, but i don't agree. One of my favourites, personally.
  49. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    Final Fantasy XIII is a decent game. Its very liner with good graphics and a decent storey. I cant help but think that its popularity is piggy-backing off the back of final fantasy 7. After playing every final fantasy since FF7 im beginning to lose hope that square enix will ever come close to replicating the greatness of FF7.
  50. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    As an Action RPG game goes, this game was great! As an RPG game goes, it was just meh. I agree that a true RPG has to be completely open and let you do whatever you want whenever you want and this includes exploring towns, talking to random people and so on. I found it funny that some of my friends didn't like it because they couldn't think quickly enough to play this game, especially during battle. All they did was Auto-attack the entire time. I only auto-attacked in the beginning when you have no other attacks and didn't know what I was doing. Then I started developing strategies and it became a lot more fun. I would have liked this game to have more sidequests earlier on, but I can deal with major exploring during the later portions of the game. The graphics were AMAZING! being my first Final Fantasy game, I was astounded at the movie scenes, the in-game graphics and gameplay graphics. There weren't really any glitching enemies or characters. I didn't notice the lip-dubbing too often, it was only certain times that I really noticed it. The characters are great in that you really get attached to them. They grow throughout the game, especially Hope, Sazh and Lightning. The main character starts off stoic, but becomes more open and more "real" as the game progresses. I take away some points from the score because you don't really get to control your party until the 10th chapter and the game doesn't really open up until even later. Expand
  51. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Final Fantasy XIII is a game of contradictions, and ultimately disappointment. It begins with a spellbinding introduction filled to the brim with jaw-droppingly gorgeous visuals and smart dialogue, and slowly winds down from there. it ultimately reaches the jaws of death about two-thirds of the way through, and then rises up to a respectable (but not redeeming) conclusion. A roller-coaster ride in a more accurate idealization of the idiom, Final Fantasy XIII is a strong game, but ultimately a failure. That's no reason not to take the ride, though: even the more average of roller coasters are enjoyable. Expand
  52. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Best Rol game of this generation.
    Square did a masterpiece.
  53. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    I was new to the genre and was blown away. Everything from combat to the art felt amazing. The storyline is set and you do not get to change it anyhow, it is on rails and you´re just moving along rails, the dialogues are sometimes poor and the over-the-top emotions do feel a bit awkward, but it has a certain naive charm that made me love it. And the music is brilliant.
  54. Jan 11, 2012
    9
    Final Fantasy XIII is a beautiful RPG game with a easy to learn battle system and impressive graphics, with all this comes a great story that will really touch your heart as every character brings so much life into the game and some you might even relate too. This game is a very fun game to play,you might spend atleast 50+ hours on your first playthrough and by that time you feel attached to the hero's of this story. As for its flaws there are no shops and the game is very linear well untill you pop in disc 3 then you see a huge world full of life but these are its only flaws i have seen but overall this is a must have for RPG lovers and Final fantasy fans. Expand
  55. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    7.6/10. I've put in around 20 hours into the game and really dont wanna to keep going anymore. It's the most linear game I have ever played besides FPS. I just dont understand how the developers thought keeping the game linear for 20 hours and still not opening up is beyond me. The combat system is actually fun, but the linearity of it all... ruins the whole experience. Play it for the graphics and CGI effects. I played it on the 360 and it looks alright, but there are a lot of jaggies. Playing the 13-2 demo on my new ps3, I can tell there's a huge difference. Expand
  56. Jan 16, 2012
    3
    Beautiful beautiful game with some fairly decent voice acting. However, that's where the positive parts of my review end. The story, such an important part of a Final Fantasy game, is so obscure and indecipherable in XIII that at certain points I was completely and utterly lost. The thing is, the story is actually quite straight forward, it's just the game is so poorly written that I found myself relying on online wikis just to understand it. This isn't helped by some terrible cut scenes that occur at a phenomenal rate. In fact the first 15-20 hours (maybe more) of XIII consist of walking down a corridor from cutscene A to cutscene B. Square Enix could have got away with this if they had created characters that are in any way likeable, but no, again, failure on all fronts. Every character is either depressed and/or completely deluded. They constantly moan about how terrible their lives are which just isn't fun to watch. This is the first final fantasy game where I have detested every single character. As for the battle system, well it's incredibly boring. The paradigm change thing feels very derivative and really limits your character customization. Also, the auto-attack function is just depressing. The game actually tells you what combination of attacks or abilities to use. Of course you can ignore it, but all so very often it's telling you to do what you were already planning, so you just hit auto-attack again, and again, and again, until your health is low and you switch to medic and back again, rinse and repeat. It is extremely boring. Also, you can only control one character in your party of three at any one time while the other two are controlled by the AI, which is disgraceful. Never have I seen a game series become so tremendously dumbed down to the point where the game doesn't need you to proceed. The character progression has also become linear and tremendously unexciting. The weapon crafting is also horrendous and almost completely obsolete. It's also very ugly and boring to use. There are also no towns or NPCs to speak to, no side missions to flesh out the world or add depth to the story, and, contrary to believe, no breaks from the linear formula of the game. Yes you do eventually get to a rather large green area with big monsters that look great. The problem is, there's pretty much nothing to do. Yes you can indulge in some monster hunting like Final Fantasy 12, but it's so charmless and quickly just becomes a list of things to spam auto-attack at to make dead. It has none of the charm of Final Fantasy 12. In this big area there is nothing exciting to explore, no cool items or summons to find or anything else really. Basically this large area that comes into the game after torturous corridor crawling is completely shallow. All style, zero substance. Honestly this game is a travesty. I hear there's a sequel coming out this month? Why Square Enix? Why on earth would you not want to ditch this horrid world and move onto something new?! Apart from some actually very pretty graphics, this is an excruciatingly boring and shallow game. Expand
  57. Jan 28, 2012
    1
    i am just not a fan of final fantasy you take turns fighting its like pokemon do not buy it comes with 3 darn discs nobody wants 3 discs DO NOT BUY THIS GAME IT IS LAME
  58. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played. While it is not perfect, it is a very engaging and interesting play. The main problem people seemed to have with it is that "it's not like the other FF games", but that is the point. Innovation can only happen if something differs. This doesn't mean it's a bad game. The story is completely amazing and it wouldn't be possible if the game would not follow on a "rail" for the first chapters. It is a worthy sacrifice for a deep story of this kind.
    Visually there is no need to talk about anything. It looks gorgeous, just brilliant. I love the look of the game. The soundtrack and the effects have me enchanted as well. I'm still listening to tracks from the OST, especially Snow's Theme and Lightning's Theme are very awesome songs.
    Gameplay-wise it is different from previous FF games. The combat is semi-real time, but pretty fast. Player's have to switch between paradigms to overcome different obstacles in enemies or bosses. I really love the combat system after I got used to it. It is very versatile, retains the tactical element of turn based combat, even adds a new layer with the paradigm system, but is more engaging than normal turn-based combat. The amount of text in the game is astounding as well. There is so much information about the world, the events, the characters and everything to read, it was a paradise for an avid reader like myself. The game also opens up largely in the last chapters and actually continues on after you finish the story. A chunk of content is only accessible after you finish the last bosses, because that opens up the last level of character upgrades, which allows you to go on a hunt for the biggest enemies in the game. It is a game with hundreds of hours worth of gameplay, a super-engaging and beautiful story, an amazing combat system and amazing graphics. I don't know how people cannot like it!
    Expand
  59. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This is the first Final Fantasy I have ever played, I expected a huge open world with towns, side quests among other things. However, there was none at all. You start off (after some Jaw-dropping cut-scenes) with the most basic moves of "Attack" as the game teaches you about this new battle system. This lead me to run in a very straight line and fight battles again and again with no idea of the characters or the story. By chapter 3, thankfully, you begin to understand what the game is about. The boss fights are pretty epic and will keep you entertained, but the fight that get you there will wear you out a lot. The story more than makes up for this though.

    The game teaches you about the Paradigm System which changes a group of roles within a party. This makes you focus on switching between offensive and defensive strategies causing the battles to be a lot more fluid. I highly enjoyed this over the turn-based system I expected. It wasn't fun but it was tolerable. Mind you, you might not be able to play the game for more than an hour without it boring you.

    The story and graphics are what this game is made for. The story is dramatic and touching (but can go overboard at times) as well as great CG cut scenes which I looked forward to as well. A Data-log option also keeps you up to date with any confusion you have which helped me hugely half way through the game. It's a game that rewards you as you play more, however I hated the first 10 hours. As i went through it i was entertained by the personalities of the different characters and how real they felt. Vanille was hugely annoying though. She never shut up. This will probably be the only Final Fantasy game i will ever play and i really did enjoy it. Its a game that i will remember. The criticisms of this game really does confuse me but I guess we are all entitled to our opinion!
    Expand
  60. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    Despite being a polarized Final Fantasy, especially for letting many elements of previous titles aside, there is much to enjoy in Final Fantasy XIII. With a fast and functional battle system, flawless artistic direction, great narrative and a high quality soundtrack, Square-Enix proves that traditions are not necessary to forge an excellent game in the series.
  61. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Before I write the review I just have to say FFXIII trolls give this game way too much crap. This game is a great game, the linearity was not a huge issue. It's just westerners have gotten used to these WRPGs where you have a wide open world that you can easily get lost in (literally), not to mention the story is usually lacking. So the bad reviews is just westerners complaining that the JRPG is a different type of RPG. Also, the FF fanbase is very split and conflicted. If Square does one thing then half are going to be pleased and half not pleased. Honestly, I think you can't ever please more than 60% of the fanbase at one time anymore because we all want different things. Now on to the review.......Final Fantasy XIII is another great addition to the franchise. The story is a compelling tale and the characters play well off of eachother. The only short coming is Vanille's high pitched voice, but thats the voice coach's fault for wanting it that way. The characters are well developed and you see the main protagonist mature through the course of the game. The combat is fantastic, very flashy and fun, as well as fast-paced. It offers a refreshing change up for the series. The music is good also, but not quite up to what Nobuo Uematsu has offered for previous installments. That doesn't stop the soundtrack from being good, though. There are also over 60 sidequests to indulge in when you get the chance which offer plenty of post-story play. Final Fantasy XIII's more streamlined nature pays off in this epic tale of heroism. Expand
  62. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    A good game I liked the characters the story and the gameplay.I was happy with the character development that accured. the game was very pretty but it was too linear. not the best installment in the Final Fantasy series but an okay one
  63. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best games of this generation of consoles. Beautiful graphics, interesting story, great world, deep characters, nice battle system.

    Only - is closed-corridors levels.
    Expand
  64. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    First and foremost, I am a Final Fantasy fan, have been since FFVIII, and have played all the previous ones before it since. As you can imagine, I was excited about FFXIII. Was I disappointed? Yes! Does this make it a terrible game? No. FFXIII does have many flaws which many people point out as the entire game, when they do not look at the good points. I'll start by talking about the story. FFXIII is the story of a band of l'cie, beings branded by fal'cie and are from then on rejected by society. I did not understand this at first, as the story is slow to get into, however being a fan of the series, I went with it. Im so glad I did as the vague introductions do lead into a memorable journey that binds the party together. Each of the characters are well developed, and you grow to love some of them (sazh), although a few do annoy me (vanille - I wont let this retract from the score though). The battlesystem is usually the defining point of any final fantasy game with exception to the story, and I feel that SE created an odd battlesystem here. Some people love it, and some hate it, but the paradigm system is certainly new. What SE tried to do was do away with micromanagement, and switch to a much simpler system, where the player is able to choose the job roles of their party, and utilise the job at the correct moment. For some reason, some do not see this at all and only see the glowing auto-battle button. I do not agree with this in the slightest, as the only mistake made there is that they should have named it "Action," as that is what it is. The player chooses the job, and then performs that jobs actions at that moment, and that is the meat of the system. Do I prefer it? No. However, i feel that many people do not play enough of the game to unlock the full potential of the system (i.e. unlock all of the jobs). Further into the game, battles actually get very difficult, and you need to learn to fully utilise the system to strategise victory.
    The other main issue, and this is the big one, is the linearity of the game. This is why I am not giving this game a 9 or 10. The game is essentially moving from A to B, fighting through the obstacles in your way (i.e. where the battles come in), I felt that there was some variety in the environment design, on how it felt like you were making progress, however the journeys just feel too boring as there is nothing to do except battle and pick up chests. Linearity has been seen in previous Final Fantasy games, such as the Midgar section of FFVII and FFX, however their linear sections were full of life, whereas FFXIII is only full of the same battles, over and over again (2 points deducted).
    Overall, I felt satisfied with my journey in FFXIII, I play Final Fantasy to explore new worlds, and experience new stories, and FFXIII delivered on both of these points. I did have to persevere with the navigating of the world however, and I felt that it was highly underdeveloped. I hope to see this improved in FFXV. Other than that, another great, if slightly dwarfed by its predecessors, entry into the legendary series.
    Expand
  65. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    I honestly don't know why you would objectively give this game a bad score. Amazing graphics, amazing music, amazing story. The only thing you can complain is that in terms of gameplay it is quite limited for an RPG, specially for a Final Fantasy. But it is clear they have focused a lot on the story, which is the keystone of Final Fantasy, its essence, and this game haven't lost that AT ALL. Also the new combat system is great and seems the natural evolution of the classic turn-based combat, and battles are very challenging, some are among the most difficult of the entire saga. Expand
  66. Jul 24, 2012
    8
    I thought I had totally given up on Final Fantasy. X is one of my all-time favorite games, but XI and XII were absolutely awful. XIII definitely has its ups and downs. The characters are just ok, linear gameplay, and the story was clearly written by someone on crystal meth. However, the graphics, sleek menus, and above all...the combat were top notch. The combat is bar none my favorite of any RPG. Had the combat been different, I probably would have rated this game a 2. I finished the game in a week logging around 50 hours and had a blast doing it. Expand
  67. May 28, 2012
    8
    II liked the games story and combat but got really repetitive.
  68. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    This game indeed lacks that certain spark usually found in Final Fantasy. The characters aside from Lightning come across as bland and boring with a storyline that is overly complicated. This does not make it interesting! I didn't get a lot of what happened in this game until I played the sequel, thankfully it was more clear. You have you're new fighting system, unlike that of any other Final Fantasy game. Though its more action orientated, it's quite boring. I must say though, I did play the game fully through and found it... pretty decent. There a whole bunch wrong with it, but I still enjoyed it. The setting is quite interesting with fairly interesting monsters and creatures to fill it. I will say I'm slightly biased to the series and have never missed a game (Except those horrible online ones). In short I feel that if you enjoyed Final Fantasy and enjoy J-Rpgs, I'd say give it a go! If you dont like these kind of games... I can't imagine you liking this at all! Expand
  69. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy XIII is a game that has garnered quite a bit of backlash for largely misunderstood reasons. The game is linear yes, is that a negative aspect of the game? no it is not. Is the plot really that convoluted? no it isn't, you aren't even required to read the datalog that so many people dislike. The story of Final Fantasy XIII is it's strong point. The main character of the game is a young woman named Lightning. The story begins with her attempt to rescue her younger sister from the clutches of a god like being known as a fal'Cie. From there Lightning and her friends are put on the path of an adventure that will test both their battle prowess and who they are as human beings, calling into questions their morals. The battle system is a fresh take on the ATB system. Being able to que up to six consecutive attacks is something that the series has needed for a long time. The system revolves around two things, first is the paradigm shift system, which is the roles that you assign to your characters, second is the stagger meter, a bar that once full staggers said opponent and lowers their defence allowing you to inflict massive damage. The battle system has been criticized by "fans" of the series saying that it only consists of pressing X. That is not true but even if it were, what series have they been playing for all these years? Every FF game requires an over abundance of the use of X, that is just selective whining. XIII will require you to use the L1, directional pad and X in battle, not just one, unless you want to lose that is. The biggest bright points among Final Fantasy XIII when compared to the rest of the series is the protagonist of the game, Lightning, the character development of the party and their interactions of a group. Lightning has been compared to Cloud on a lot of message boards, but that isn't an apt comparison, there is a world of difference between the two. The development and characterization that Lightning undergoes through the game is a lot more human than anything Cloud has to offer. She is a very strong female lead that is so relatable that almost any player should be able to relate to her. The character development of the party as a whole is done a lot better than in previous iterations. Each character will come to realizations throughout the quest that will change who they are and how they view the world. The chemistry of the group also makes their interactions that much more meaningful. Another criticism is just how linear the game is. It's true that the game is indeed linear but it is done for a purpose. Final Fantasy XIII is a story driven game, moreso than it's predecessors. The linearity of the game is used as a story telling tool to help put you into Lightning and co's shoes. They are on the run and have no where to go but forward, they cannot stop to shop and lolly gag in towns because they are fugitives. The game is simply being realistic in it's plot and should be commended for taking such an effective approach to telling the story of Lightning so that you could relate to her situation and how she would be feeling. The soundtrack is also top notch, including beautiful orchestral pieces that fit perfectly with each scene. It adds another layer to the storytelling. Overall Final Fantasy XIII deserves a ten out of ten for it's epic plot, memorable protagonist and addicting battle system. There is not a better release in the series than this one. Definitely worth playing through. Expand
  70. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    This game was disappointing to me overall, showing that Final Fantasy may never return to its' epic roots. FF 13 feels more like a generic Devil May Cry than it does a FF. The game is extremely linear once again but even worse than 10/10-2, the story is bland and some of the characters are extremely annoying. This really hurts because as a kid I absolutely loved FF 1-9, and ever since 9 its has been steadily going downhill. I could name a few positives, the graphics look very nice and battle system is different but actually really fun to use. Expand
  71. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    This is the Avatar of video games. With jaw-dropping graphics, beautiful music, and incredibly well crafted and detailed environments, FFXIII is THE best looking and best sounding games EVER. OF ALL TIME. Another thing that is incredible is the magnificent, and emotionally capturing story and the colorful and memorable characters that we have come to expect from all the final fantasy titles. Not to mention the impressive, fun and challenging battle system. The things that annoy me about this game are that some of the dialogue is stupid, random, and corny( much like other Japanese games) and the 50 hour story may be a bit much for some gamers. Other than that, great game. Expand
  72. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Another good but flawed FF game, Square really do have a pattern going here. At least it'S a positive one.

    FF XIII has gotten ALLOT of criticism on it's linearity, but in fairness the linear gameplay was a necessity to drive the story forward, so I can forgive it. In fact, once it opens up (after you finish the game) there is a ton of exploration that can be done a but loads of
    challenges just begging to be completed.

    The graphics and animation are some of the best the series has ever seen. Every cutscene is breathtakingly beautiful. Lightning is just a great protagonist that comes off a bit flat and mysterious at first, but as the game progresses you learn that she has so much depth, she just hides it very well. The other characters are alright. Fang is damn hot!!!! Hope is so damn whiny and I really do not like his personality.

    Combat is a little confusing at first, but once you get the hang of it and all options open up it is allot of fun as it relies on the player using more tact than finesse (ie what the action-junkies complain about.)

    Overall:
    Final Fantasy XIII is pretty much a standard FF game as a whole. It lacks the openness the previous games had, but in exchange we get a far rich story and plot.
    Expand
  73. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    The problem with this game, was that it was way too linear. Square Enix basically made a game compromising of 13 chapters and about 50 side quests, and then they made the players wait till Chapter 11 before they could even start doing any of the 50 side quests. Their justification for this was that the combat system is completely new to the series, and that players need extra time to learn it, but they took it a bit too far, forcing us to play past 40 hours of content before the real game began.
    But if we set that aside, everything else about the game is amazing. I did everything in this game. The strongest monster in the game was a big harmless grass eating turtle, who was so massive you had to break it's legs before it would fall down and then you could deal damage to it's head. I thought that was kinda unnecessary and a bit over the top, but go figure.
    I loved the story and loved the combat system past the first 40 hours. 8/10 for the Xbox version as it's graphics are not as good as the PS3 versions.
    Expand
  74. Aug 7, 2013
    2
    What. The. Heck. Is. This. How has Final Fantasy not figured out dialogue and voice acting yet? This is AWFUL and almost impossible to want to listen to. This game as only two things going for it but little things even destroy the good stuff 1) The graphic design is creative, colorful, and big which is fun to look at BUT the characters suck, you can't explore, its one big hallway all the time

    2) The fights are fun and changing strategy on the fly is entertaining
    BUT I don't like being judged by stars and rushed to finish fights quickly; after a good amount of leveling, characters individual fighting identity becomes really muddled as everyone can almost do any strategy, getting weapons sucks because its a crapshoot knowing which weapons to upgrade; knowing what strategy to use against an enemy the first time you see it can be life or death without the ability to scout it first and bosses are one giant guessing game the first time around

    The story is probably good and possibly deep but it's written like it is meant to be a 2nd graders lullaby.
    I was insulted by its simplicity and the whole thing feels like I have no control over any of it

    What a disappointment after previous installments. Square Enix goes from ground breaking to grounded and out of ideas
    Expand
  75. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I can't even say anything good about is big, messy turd.
    I've always liked the final fantasy series, but is had me clawing my eyes out after 10 minutes. slow, overplayed story, unoriginal characters, redundant environments and needlessly complicated everything. The name Lightning is so F***ing dumb. Everything in this game is stupid. It was a waste of 20+ hours. The Graphics were terrible
    compared to the Square Enix standard.
    I expected so much more form this, it was a waste of $20
    Anyone who enjoys this game is a tasteless moron who's only in it for the novelty.
    Expand
  76. May 16, 2013
    0
    Such a tragic letdown. After years of being the first name in console RPGs, Square has had nothing but a trilogy of beautiful polished turds in it's last three numbered final fantasies.
  77. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    Shamefully this is the first Final Fantasy game I've ever played. It gave me a decent impression. I think they focused too much on the graphics, but I must admit, they're beautiful. The characters can be kinda irritating and the quotes aren't very convincing.. Unfortunately, players can't talk to non-playable characters, probably due to the scenario of being a l'cie and all. The game lacks decent transportation considering the unnecessarily huge settings. There are too many cutscenes and the story goes on forever making it repelling to finish the game. And after you actually do finish the game, theres not much of a reason to continue on. Though I can tell a lot of effort was put into this game. This game has not failed to impress me on the soundtrack. It's greatly composed and currently in my music lists. Expand
  78. May 1, 2014
    6
    I reviewed this game back in late 2013, and I started to get really into it. The problem with me and games is that I won't play a game to completion until something about it grabs my attention, or else I'll play other games and only continue it later. I'm wishy-washy when it comes to completing games nowadays, and what's disheartening about this game was the fact that I was finally about to beat it.

    I purchased this game over the summer and didn't really play it that much until school started. Then all of a sudden the game really ramped up, and I saw myself completing disc one, and after that I was hooked. Disc 2 was an incredible experience from beginning to end, as it was breathtaking visually and the story got more and more interesting. Later on, I beat disc 2, and I couldn't wait to continue on to disc 3, finally beating this game. I was ready for that great sense of completion one gets when they beat a game they've had on their backlog for so long.

    But alas, the third disc was a horrible miscalculation. It went from an enjoyable experience overall to a shocking, horrendous slog. It's so freaking hard that I simply couldn't keep up with the enemies. I put 30 hours into the game, only to have a brick wall erected in front of my progress. It turns out that in order to even stand a chance in disc 3, you're supposed to do all the side missions. This is terrible. And it's a shame too.

    I was having a great time with this game, but unfortunately I was rendered unable to complete it. This game gets a 6 for horrendous difficulty spikes. It really is a shame, because late disc one and all of disc 2 were a very enjoyable way to pass the time.
    Expand
  79. May 11, 2014
    7
    The thirteenth installation of Final Fantasy took everything that made the previous entries successful, put them together, added great graphics, but even so it can’t scratch the ankle of the likes of 7 or 9. It’s not even the best JRPG of the year it came out. It’s good, but long time FF fans might not appreciate it.

    MORE ON: http://prosncons.22web.org/

    + Now this one of the most
    beautiful games that the Xbox360/PS3 ever produced. The character models of the protagonists, backgrounds and enemy models are of the highest quality.
    + Square-Enix doesn’t stop inspiring fans when it comes to battle systems is their favorite franchise. The paradigm system has a long learning curve, but it is one of the best in the series. It has great enough depth, for the player to feel their choices matter. We have to tactically approach every tougher battle, because brute force sometimes won’t be enough.
    + Final Fantasy games are well-known for their great boss battles. 13 isn’t different in that regard. There are huge monsters and difficult enemies which can take 20+ minutes to destroy.
    + We must emphasize the soundtrack. It successfully combines electronic music with classical themes. The battle theme will ring in your ears days after putting the game down.

    ~ While the game is awesome long (around 40 hours) it continues to bug you with tutorials up to the halfway point. That is extremely long-drawn.

    - The story wants to be epic, that unfortunately it fails badly . It’s very hard to follow with flashbacks making it even confusing. The biggest problem is when the story doesn’t follow it’s own rules, making it even more muddled. You’ll ask “what?” and “why?” more times than you meet chocobos.
    - The game is essentially an incredibly long corridor. There’s almost no room for exploration, only the path to follow all the time. Towns, which are a trademark elements of every Final Fantasy games, are missing. You buy and upgrade in save points.
    - The first half of the game is underwhelming and sometimes frustrating. The game clearly holds itself back compared to the second half. You are very much limited in what you can do and who you can play with. It’s simply too much.

    Time to beat: 40 hours.
    Replay Value: 1/5
    In one word: Disappointing as FF
    On P’n’C scale: Fun Time
    Must give points: 73

    MORE ON: http://prosncons.22web.org/
    Expand
  80. May 11, 2014
    7
    As always with FF the story & cutscenes were mint, not predictable at all. The fighting tho is the worst I've seen in a FF game, most fights I was just mashing A for auto-battle and switching formations every now & then. Worth playing but no classic
  81. Dec 5, 2013
    7
    It took a while for me to get through this game and it didn't leave me with that desire to come back to it every evening. I had to force my way through the first half of the game before i started to enjoy it. Once things opened up and i was free to roam around (a little) I was drawn in to the hunting side quest. Obviously the visuals were top notch, i don't think anyone can fault this game for that. The story was OK but I didn't feel for the characters as much as i did in past FF games. Expand
  82. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Ok this is gonna piss off a lot of people but.....i enjoyed this game....a LOT.....the story in my opinion was great and the battle system,even though it was kind of press a button to win,wasnt that bad....even though i love seeing the characters in this game fight like they are in an anime i have SOME problems.....for example if your main character in your party dies,you lose unless you have called an eidolon/aeon/summon and thats another HUGE problem in the game.....most of the time eidolon battles come at the worst of moments....translation you only have 1 or 2 party members when you fight them and they are almost always pre-selected...the ONLY good eidolon battle i can remember is the bahamut one because you can use whoever you want in your party and you have 3 PARTY MEMBERS!!!! And you are controlling fang which,in my opinion,is the best commando in the game.Now lets talk about the leveling up system.....i dont hate it......i hate it in 13-2 but thats a story for another time....what i meant by not hating it is that while i like growing stronger in certain classes and gaining special boosts that help you in all the classes is pretty cool.....what is not cool is some story bosses stopping your progression in the crystal leveling up system.....ok back to the good stuff of this game,like the music,while not perfect 10/10,is pretty catchy and sometimes really touching.....by far the best music comes in the form of background music which continues to be great in all the 13 games and with each new game,they get better. Another thing i love is that almost everyone can learn the same moves as others but still feel unique,unlike ff7's materia system.You might want to de-buff the enemy,buff yourself AND be protected at the same time and you can do that by having a sentinel(or guard) a synergist(or buffer) and a saboteur(or de-buffer) in your party.....and just so you know,no you are not bound to this choice in each battle...you can actually change the battle formation with a push of a button.That is actually pretty damn awesome because you might want to be safe but still deal some damage,or wanting to make the enemy staggered quickly with 2 ravagers(black mages) and 1 commando(warrior) in your party....i wouldn't QUITE recommend the game to everyone because its too linear for a final fantasy game and all of that....but if you are ready to see this game as its own game then you will enjoy it like i did Expand
  83. Apr 11, 2014
    5
    The game was fine. But a boss along the name of ODIN ruined it for me. The boss battle is unfair and seemingly poorly created. I cannot attack fast enough due to the constant barrage of enemy attacks - most of my time was spent healing myself. When I do manage to get a constant ring of attacks - the timer runs out. Therefor putting me to death. I give this game a 5 out 10 because of this. If I manage to beat the boss in the future - I might reconsider changing this score. Expand
  84. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    I have played every single Final Fantasy game except for the ones on handheld devices and the MMO ones. Square made one huge mistake with this release and that was calling it Final Fantasy. People have really high expectations for this series because it literally is one of the last good JRPG series out and frankly? Square has done better than this. This game is by no means WHATSOEVER a bad game though! I couldn't put it down because the story is amazing. The graphics are amazing. OMFG the graphics are so good. Even in 2014 the cut scenes are like WHOA! The music is great. From what I remember about every Final Fantasy Square always brought at least that to the table except for the music on X-2 (really?). The bad? The game is super linear. I still put in about 65 hours in this game from start to finish only doing about half of the side content. The side content is not that great. It's just a bunch of monster slayer missions. You have the opportunity to get your group super OP and take down super OP mobs. Who has time for that anyway? Not me. I was semi thankful towards the end that the first 2 cds were so linear. The content is still astounding though if you compare 60 hours to the 25 hours it takes to beat Final Fantasy 2(US release) for the SNES. Think about it. They made this super linear and it still takes at least 45-50 hours to play through your first time. Do yourself a favor. Forget about the other Final Fantasy games and play this with an unbiased opinion. You will probably like it. I know I did when looking at it like that. Expand
  85. May 29, 2014
    8
    First of all, all those nostalgic fanboys should shut their **** mouths. Seriously FFVII is not so good, so stop praising it so much. Now to you FFXIII. I like it. Visuals are one of the best in the entire console generation. The battlesystem may seem really dull and easy because of the auto buttin, but Battles will get challenging, I mean a lot challenging. Story I nice, and yes you can read the stuff up, but everything that is important for the story will be explained. The things you actually read is lore, it's like reading all the boss souls in Dark Souls. Character overall meh. Lightning is groomy most of the time, ok she lost her parents when she was a kid and now she lost her sister. Snow can get annoying, but in chapter 7 he opens himself a bit. Hope is a whiny **** at first, but is also getting quite the character development in chapter 7. Sazh is the best character and a reasonable. Vanille seems at first glance annoying, but you will realize that she is carrying a burden and only hides her actual feelings. Fangs is the badass that every Final Fantasy has. There is also a reason within the story that there are no towns, so I can forgive the developer for this. And yes the game is linear but so was FFX.
    But what I think this game could have needed is more end game content.
    Expand
  86. Jul 18, 2014
    2
    So far I've played Final Fantasy 13 for about 6 hours since I purchased it Thursday. About an hour and a half of that was interactive play. The other four and a half hours were some great cinematics. The hour and a half I did play was me repeatedly pressing A for combat with the occasional Y thrown in every fifteen minutes or so. And when not in combat I walk in a straight line forward because there are no side quests or routes. I'm not sure if they intended this to be similar to listening to a story by a fire, or a movie. I'm absolutely baffled by how they got this labeled as a game. Games are interactive, and usually make at least a half hearted pass at including skillful mechanics in order to succeed. I would give this a 35/100 if it was a low budget game but given how big the series is I'm gonna have to be honest and give them a 20/100 since they have no excuse to make such a poor excuse for a game. Expand
  87. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Ah Final Fantasy XIII a game that is hated and loved by many at the same time. I love this game. This game is gorgeous, the battle system was pretty cool, and the story was simple at least for me to follow. I love the character development this game has. Overall I love this game a lot. I recommend you try it.
  88. Jun 1, 2011
    0
    Final Fantasy XIII is a a game with many ups and downs but mostly ups. The graphics is amazing however the gameplay itself is quite controversial. For many hardcore FF fans they will not like it due to the massive overhaul of the game but for new comers it can be quite extraordinary. The first hour or two is very boring and repetitive but if you can live through it is very enjoyable. As a gamer that spends alot of time in the story/lore, the game's storyline is fairly good but can drag in some areas and some of the character's dialogue is very 'not something you hear' though this is probably due to some translation fault. One of the character, Hope turned out to be a total rascal in my eyes. He starts out as an ignorant little brat but later on the writers try to make it so that we feel sympathy/empathy towards him. But so far I cant see it and I hate him. 5.5/10 in the character creation. Overall Final Fantasy XIII shines as an absolute inspiration for new comers of the series but for previous FF fans they may not like it or even hate its gut out. All I can say is that I personally loved the game and can't wait for Final Fantasy XIII-2 Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. We can't assure it is a turning point in the series, but it manages to make fights fun and it's no doubt an outstanding game.
  3. While the game's first 10 hours still give me pause, the 60 magnificent hours after those initial steps onto Cocoon make up for the tunnel-vision tutorial. [Apr 2010, p.68]