Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 466 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. We can't assure it is a turning point in the series, but it manages to make fights fun and it's no doubt an outstanding game.
  3. A classic game and well worthy of the Final Fantasy moniker.
  4. An unexpected Final Fantasy. The 13th chapter has a great story and some of the most incisive characters of the whole series, and even the battle system works very well, being deep and complex (even if you control only a single character). But on the other side the overwhelming linearity of the plot, the absence of cities to explore and the small amount of side quest will disappoint fans' expectations.
  5. Those who don't check their preconceptions at the door are missing the point. Novices and veterans be warned; Final Fantasy XIII demands your complete and utter surrender. Those willing to comply will be rewarded with a unique and compelling gaming experience accompanied by visuals that can only be described as completely out of this world.
  6. If you're looking for complex multi-layered characters and a thrilling storyline, I seriously doubt Final Fantasy XIII will give you the ride of your life.
  7. 40
    With Final Fantasy XII being such a revolution to the series, creating the series’ best battle system in the process, Final Fantasy XIII feels like a massive backwards step.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 116
  2. Negative: 28 out of 116
  1. GregS
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy game (except Sazh). The combat system is the most fast paced in the series yet, with an emphasis on the ability to adapt. The removal of MP may seem like a bad thing, but it allows for random battles to actually take some effort, instead of the normal attack, then heal after battle. The lack of having to manage MP does not make it any easier either, as the mechanics are in place to prevent outlasting strategies on bosses. There is also some great music, even without Nobuo Uematsu. The final boss theme Born Anew, in particular, stands with the best final boss themes in the series. Oh, and the graphics are the best I've ever seen (though I have yet to play Crysis). Expand
  2. JeremyN
    Mar 14, 2010
    9
    I must be missing something. This, to me, is the best RPG to come out in a long time. Possible dislikes: Battle system due to it being rather new, and the linearity. I'll start with the battle system. Generally speaking, you're not choosing each character's actions, since the auto select is intelligent enough and you want to keep the chain level high. But really, you're avoiding grunt work, and making higher level decisions about the way you want your party to work together. And, strange as it may seem, I found this to be the most strategic and engaging battle system that I've ever seen in an RPG. The linearity thing... well, I haven't gotten all the way through yet, though I'm sure that at some point soon I'll be getting an airship or something. I don't stress linearity in RPGs - they're all going to the same ending. They've been programmed in advance, people. Actually, I'd rather have an RPG that revels in its linearity, making one very strong core story (FFXIII is the most mature/followable story in the franchise as far as I can tell), as opposed to giving the illusion of control at the expense of real quality story telling. Anyway, I think that FFXIII is the best RPG I've played in over 10 years. I just get the feeling that square/enix paid the wrong people to write reviews, or didn't pay the right people. I truly don't understand how reviewers can have such high praise for anything Bioware, and then turn around and spit on this amazing game. Expand
  3. AllenC
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This game needs to be enjoyed for what it is, not despised for what it isn't. On its own merits, I found this game to be incredibly enjoyable. The story was good and surprisingly character-driven when you think about it. The battle system, as has been noted, is great. The battles are the best of any FF game yet. I'm not going to complain about the lack of exploration in this game because that isn't what the game is about. The first five hours or so really stink. I felt that I was being treated like a bit of an idiot. The end makes up for that. Great game... though all-in-all not as compelling as X or XII. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    This game indeed lacks that certain spark usually found in Final Fantasy. The characters aside from Lightning come across as bland and boring with a storyline that is overly complicated. This does not make it interesting! I didn't get a lot of what happened in this game until I played the sequel, thankfully it was more clear. You have you're new fighting system, unlike that of any other Final Fantasy game. Though its more action orientated, it's quite boring. I must say though, I did play the game fully through and found it... pretty decent. There a whole bunch wrong with it, but I still enjoyed it. The setting is quite interesting with fairly interesting monsters and creatures to fill it. I will say I'm slightly biased to the series and have never missed a game (Except those horrible online ones). In short I feel that if you enjoyed Final Fantasy and enjoy J-Rpgs, I'd say give it a go! If you dont like these kind of games... I can't imagine you liking this at all! Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    6
    I reviewed this game back in late 2013, and I started to get really into it. The problem with me and games is that I won't play a game to completion until something about it grabs my attention, or else I'll play other games and only continue it later. I'm wishy-washy when it comes to completing games nowadays, and what's disheartening about this game was the fact that I was finally about to beat it.

    I purchased this game over the summer and didn't really play it that much until school started. Then all of a sudden the game really ramped up, and I saw myself completing disc one, and after that I was hooked. Disc 2 was an incredible experience from beginning to end, as it was breathtaking visually and the story got more and more interesting. Later on, I beat disc 2, and I couldn't wait to continue on to disc 3, finally beating this game. I was ready for that great sense of completion one gets when they beat a game they've had on their backlog for so long.

    But alas, the third disc was a horrible miscalculation. It went from an enjoyable experience overall to a shocking, horrendous slog. It's so freaking hard that I simply couldn't keep up with the enemies. I put 30 hours into the game, only to have a brick wall erected in front of my progress. It turns out that in order to even stand a chance in disc 3, you're supposed to do all the side missions. This is terrible. And it's a shame too.

    I was having a great time with this game, but unfortunately I was rendered unable to complete it. This game gets a 6 for horrendous difficulty spikes. It really is a shame, because late disc one and all of disc 2 were a very enjoyable way to pass the time.
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2014
    5
    The game was fine. But a boss along the name of ODIN ruined it for me. The boss battle is unfair and seemingly poorly created. I cannot attack fast enough due to the constant barrage of enemy attacks - most of my time was spent healing myself. When I do manage to get a constant ring of attacks - the timer runs out. Therefor putting me to death. I give this game a 5 out 10 because of this. If I manage to beat the boss in the future - I might reconsider changing this score. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I can't even say anything good about is big, messy turd.
    I've always liked the final fantasy series, but is had me clawing my eyes out after
    10 minutes. slow, overplayed story, unoriginal characters, redundant environments and needlessly complicated everything. The name Lightning is so F***ing dumb. Everything in this game is stupid. It was a waste of 20+ hours. The Graphics were terrible compared to the Square Enix standard.
    I expected so much more form this, it was a waste of $20
    Anyone who enjoys this game is a tasteless moron who's only in it for the novelty.
    Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?