User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Ok, this is a really weird thing, really: the first time I run this game on my x-box, I was surprised by the crappyness of the environment, and the technically very poor development of the game. Tons of enemies completely equal to each other, invisible walls, bare environment, quick time events when facing the final moves versus the bosses, poor story telling, unpleasant skill trees. But then, when I manged to enter the game I discovered very well described story characters, interesting duels and mass slaughter of the enemies. The possibility to play many of the main characters, such as Rey, Souther, Raoh, Toki, brought back my interest towards Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage. The combat moves are well implemented even if not easy to use at the beginning, and the more you go on with the varios branches of the story through the gameplay with the different characters, the more you unlock special abilities that bring you back to the epic battles every fan of Kenshiro knows very well. Personally the most fun char to play is Rey, cutting the enemies in to chunks with his spectacular Nanto combat style. Pity that the story reaches only the defeat of Raoh.
    This game, even if is very poorly developed in many aspects, is really fun to play. It is a real must for the fans of Kenshiro's manga and anime series!
    Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    7
    I'm gonna get right to the point. This is an average game and I'm not a hater because im acually a HUGE fan of Koei. But this has limited appeal, there are 2 main modes story mode and another mode that allows you to play as people you can in the main story plot. Once you beat story mode (unlocking characters
    along the way) You can play the mode i mentioned earlier which also has limited
    appeal. The graphics are very good and I like the level design. The AI get very annoying along the way, they are overly difficult. My advice is that to wait for a price drop and get it and if you dont like beat em ups then this isnt for you Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2010
    8
    If you ever watched the Fist of the North Star anime or enjoyed any of the games from Koei's "Warriors" series, you'll enjoy this title. Unlike many adaptations of animes, mangas, etc. this game follows the FotNS canon quite well. The gameplay is simplistic, but fits the type of action seen in the show. There is a LOT of playtime available in this title as each character from the original manga/anime has their own story mode and "dream mode". If you come into this game expecting a revolutionary single player experience, you won't find it. However, if you enjoyed the show and want a game that follows it faithfully, definitely pick this one up. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    This is a wonderful trip down anime/manga memory lane. It's got that great Mad Max-meets-Bruce Lee vibe with wildly over-the-top guitar riffs and ultra-violence for newcomers to enjoy, while paying great homage to the elements that made Fist of the North Star an iconic anime. While lacking some of the polish over-budgeted "AAA" titles enjoy, this scrappy brawler looks great, all things considered. Characters are varied enough, so that anyone will be sure to have their favorites, with plenty of customization options available. Loading screens may seem lengthy, but the levels proceed with little to no interruption. Give this a shot if you're into under-the-radar gems, and like to support the underdog. Collapse
  5. Nov 2, 2010
    0
    This is a wonderful trip down anime/manga memory lane. It's got that great Mad Max-meets-Bruce Lee vibe with wildly over-the-top guitar riffs and ultra-violence for newcomers to enjoy, while paying great homage to the elements that made Fist of the North Star an iconic anime. While lacking some of the polish over-budgeted "AAA" titles enjoy, this scrappy brawler looks great, all things considered. Characters are varied enough, so that anyone will be sure to have their favorites, with plenty of customization options available. Loading screens may seem lengthy, but the levels proceed with little to no interruption. Give this a shot if you're into under-the-radar gems, and like to support the underdog. Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38
  1. Jan 13, 2011
    78
    First of the North Star, as a modification of Dynasty Warriors, is a good idea quite well executed. It has its own touch and personality, without differentiating itself too much from the series tradition.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    Ken's Wrath has some good ideas and offers us a glimpse of what a Hokuto no Ken's game could be. But this is not that game, as it's repetitive, with many visual issues and an important lack of personality. It feels more of the same with the Warriors series, and it's dissapointing and several levels.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    80
    A great game for every Hokuto no Ken fan, mixing a classical beat'em'up gameplay to the typical Dynasty Warriors mechanics.