User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 289

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    3
    Ive been a Forza fan since it launched on the original Xbox. I was always impressed with the number of cars and the vast amount of customization available in each new Forza release. I loved being able to buy cars that I owned in real life, customizing them and then racing them on the game. Or buying cars that I never even heard of and racing them. And lots of them at that! Loved the super cars the classic American muscle cars the vintage imports, all of em. I Pre-Ordered Horizon right after I finished the demo, I thought Colorado looks amazing and this is going to be a blast roaring through these canyons in all those cars. I played it on launch day as soon as I got home. The first 2 hours I was in love with it. I was always fond of the VW Corrodo so having that as the starter car was great and tooling around Colorado to all of the early races was enjoyable. Day turning into night and then the dashboard lights turning on was brilliant. Driving into the main event area had this wild festival carshow feel and I wanted to be there in real life. After going through the somewhat silly storyline I went directly to the auto show to get a peek at all the awesome cars I would soon be collecting. What a disappointment, I had to suspend disbelief. The list of cars was was puny in comparison to what I had become accustom to from the Forza series. Where once the car list was encyclopedic now it was like cliff-notes. That disappointment soon turned into annoyance and feeling jipped when I discovered the day one download content with extra cars and a season pass that promised even more cars and rally circuits. I just paid 60 bucks for this thing and here they are hitting me up for more money already?!? On release day??? Its like buying a pair of pants and then finding out that you have to pay extra for pockets , zipper on the fly and belt loops. Give me the full game for full price and if you want to sell extras later fine but thinning the content and selling it as day one DLC is a slap in the face. Then yesterday I see that Forza Horizon in this "Black Friday" sale for 14 dollars..... One month after Launch. If I had paid 14 dollars for it I would give Horizon an 8, I feel like that's an honest score for the game. But I supported the series and Pre-Ordered paying over 3 times the Black Friday Sale price only one month earlier. So I'm giving it a 3. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    3
    You did the good thing. Ask GT to make another Review of Forza Horizon and they would give it 7,5 or 8. It's definitely not an Open World Game. It feels like 15 maps combined with glue so it looks like an Open World. And you can't discover anything? What Can you discover? You can't get away from the road because there are these metals things following the road anywhere you drive. You HAVE to follow the road. It's VERY linear. Collapse
  3. Oct 27, 2012
    4
    The offline play is awesome and i like the open expanse that you get to explore but online play is a different matter. This game will probably gather dust on my tv unit as i return to forza 4 for its online play, to me horizon has lost some of the realism. Don't get me wrong it's a very good game and i spent hours exploring the map offline but after accumulating a few cars i went online and the play is not as good as forza 4. Also what happened to tuning? It seems that you can upgrade cars but once upgraded that's it, there's no option for tuning to get the edge over others... Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    1
    im sick and tired of forza they release a new one every year just because Forza 3 sold alot doesn't mean you have to make a new one every year it will ruin the franchise Microsoft U DUMB
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    boring dull and repetitive, don't buy this game rent it as you can easily complete it in less than 4 days, no value at all plus the DLC that costs more than the game costs to buy, if you still want to buy it wait till after xmass and no doubt it'll be in every stores bargain bins.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    a game that should have gone under a different name, because of the Forza title I am holding it upto Forza standards, giant lack of cars on game release makes it massively lacking in the variety area compared to earlier games given massive amounts of car packs but who wants to spend more then the inital 60 when previous titles already contained more. Also game contains the Bugatti. Any game that has that car without actual full blown race cars in it is ruined in my opinion, nothing can match its speed and pretty much your goal is to just get that car because once its in your possession you have the best car in the game. Lack of customization is also a issue, previous titles had much more in-depth customization that I don't feel should have been left out. This game is not a true forza game instead a cheap knock off and I do feel it can be called a knock off since its put under the Exact same title. Would be a 7 of 10 instead if it wasn't just riding the True forzas fame to get sales on a wanna be Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    If your thing is playing a game that could have been so great but ruined by the collision physics on multiplayer, i had about 15 online races with one being clean and that is because the collisions were off, no matter how much you try and keep clean and play fair your bashed purposely by everyone and come off worse 9 times out of 10 despite being the good one.

    What a shame they failed
    with this aspect of the game which makes it an utterly useless addition to any serious gamers collection, unless you can deal with the full contact racing if not i strongly advise to look elsewhere. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    You did the good thing. Ask GT to make another Review of Forza Horizon and they would give it 7,5 or 8. It's definitely not an Open World Game. It feels like 15 maps combined with glue so it looks like an Open World. And you can't discover anything? What Can you discover? You can't get away from the road because there are these metals things following the road anywhere you drive. You HAVE to follow the road. It's VERY linear. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    90
    Forza Horizon is not simply a great racing game; it’s a great game in general. From the handling to the visuals and sound, from the tweaking to the reward system, Horizon has everything it needs to be an enjoyable time. It may lack the challenge and depth that fans of the core Forza series know and love but if you’ve admired the Forza Motorsport games from a distance (like me) then do yourself a favor and play this amazing game.
  2. 80
    Valiant and almost flawless effort to bring more arcade elements into the serious Forza games offers more than any other competition. [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Like a real party Forza Horizon can entertain you for hours. The game offers variation in both the singleplayer and multiplayer modes and looks fantastic. The soundtrack just completes it. Despite a few flaws the franchise took a turn that proves to be good for newcomers, but also great for the fanbase. You can't miss out on this party.