Forza Horizon Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 401 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the traditional Forza with a music festival vibe, Horizon promises to take freedom of the open road to the next level. Explore vast and varied driving playgrounds. Team up or compete with friends and rivals online. Show off your unique driving skills and become the star of theCombining the traditional Forza with a music festival vibe, Horizon promises to take freedom of the open road to the next level. Explore vast and varied driving playgrounds. Team up or compete with friends and rivals online. Show off your unique driving skills and become the star of the world's most rocking motorsport party. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    100
    It's hard to find negative things to write about Forza Horizon. It certainly is a different experience compared to Forza Motorsport 4, but that doesn't mean it's not as good. The spotless presentation and the enormous amount of things to do makes this one of the finest racing games I've ever played.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    91
    But getting behind the wheel of one of the most realistic driving engines and booting around, challenging racers, and having all kinds of fun adds value to all cars – not just the ones that are ridiculously fast and expensive. I've played the game at numerous difficulty settings both with 360 controller and MS Force Feedback Racing Wheel, and have come away impressed.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Playground Games took a humungous, beautiful world, packed it full of entertaining challenges and events, added in tons of personality and style, and built it all around the proven Forza tech, giving racing game fans an exceptional automotive experience that they didn't even know they wanted. For as much as I love Forza Motorsport, it's going to be hard to go back after this.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    Forza Horizon is made of pure, unadulterated open world racing fun, and I can't take off points for that.
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    85
    A great arcade racing game, with a lot of content and nice visuals.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    80
    A different, but superb Forza title nonetheless. The game does not harm the series name; on the contrary, it expands on stiff racing circuits with a dense public traffic panorama. Even though it has its flaws and the game shows compromises in it, as their first attempt Playground Games own this specific sub-genre. However, no daydreaming to you Playground Games, you need to drive away from your competition, especially from your Turn 10 fellows.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Horizon's accessibility gives way to a lack of foresight. Its open world feels empty, its economic model is questionable, and its armada of cars are powerless against arbitrary AI escalation. Forza Horizon has more flash than its predecessors, but it's hollow by comparison.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 92
  2. Negative: 9 out of 92
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just played this game, very beautiful, very engaging, perfect usability design, excellent choice of music of various genres, love it! LightingJust played this game, very beautiful, very engaging, perfect usability design, excellent choice of music of various genres, love it! Lighting and overall presentation is gorgeous! Very fun to play, thanks for making this game M.S. you made my weeknights and weekends! Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    Very fun game!! Last year I had bought a new Xbox 360 and this was included inside the box in code form to download. I Normally don't enjoyVery fun game!! Last year I had bought a new Xbox 360 and this was included inside the box in code form to download. I Normally don't enjoy racing games that much but I decided to give this one a try and it was AMAZING! Easy achievements I done quite a bit of races mostly the ones to unlock the wristbands I finally got the Golden wristband and the 1st place in game driver rank to get the achievement it's pretty easy just drifting and going high speeds but it sucks when you crash just a little bit you don't get the points haha overall GREAT GAME Would totally purchase the second one as I seen it came out for Xbox 360! I'm glad they released the 2nd one for 360! I shall purchase it soon as this one was SUPERB! VERY FUN they could of put more music into it as the music can get a little repetitive but overall GREAT GAME great car list and car upgrades! Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    I recall seeing rumors for this game popping up in the Forza 4 thread and instantly despising it once I saw the trailer. Being a fan of racingI recall seeing rumors for this game popping up in the Forza 4 thread and instantly despising it once I saw the trailer. Being a fan of racing games, dumping many hours in Forza 3 and 4, and also a huge fan of EDM, it was like seeing them perverted and slapped together in some BS off year game. While I still hold strong on my position of the whole EDM center to the game, it held up on the racing side. If seeing a racer look so damn beautiful and remind me what it is like to drive a nice car through a beautiful part of the world wasn't enough, the gameplay was really fun. It held up extremely well to what I would expect from a Forza series and in some cases went beyond my expectations in providing something that a more "arcady" racer wouldn't necessarily require to please most of its fans. My favorite parts of the game were the point to point races that felt more like a reality than something like a circuit race. Being able to fly at 120mph on the edge of the cliff with the orange faces of Colorado's natural formations surrounding me or blazing down desert highways dodging commuter traffic at absurd speeds were really the staples of this game; these were the moments that kept me wanting more. There were definitely dull moments and a lot of the story, if you want to call it that, was exactly the same as NFS: Pro Street. I think the most surprising part for me was how much side stuff there was to do. When I first started playing I was annoyed by how far apart the races were and thinking about how much time I was going to spend over the course of the game driving in between events versus just choosing an event off a grid in Forza 4. Luckily the game soon unveils that you actually have an amazing amount of other stuff to do to pass the time and make those trips more fun. I equate it to interactive loading screens. Some of the downsides for me included not being able to swap my free roam car with ease or not being able to tune/upgrade without visiting the garage in the center of the map. I often found myself driving the same car in between events for each act of the game. So, I am pleased to say that Forza Horizon was the first game I completed in 2013, and if you are the kind of person who enjoys racing games (especially ones that are BEAUTIFUL), arcade or sim, this is absolutely worth dropping time into. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    I just purchased this game on black Friday for 15$, and let me tell you it was well worth it. I am usually a little skeptical when it comes toI just purchased this game on black Friday for 15$, and let me tell you it was well worth it. I am usually a little skeptical when it comes to racing games because I want one that is fun but not too arcade like and also one that is realistic but not simulation. This for me was the perfect mix of the two. It takes a lot from what was great in Forza 4 and just makes it a little more arcade like with better drifting. The vehicle customization is immersive and deep as you would expect from a Forza game, and the car clubs are back and still as fun as before. The online play is your standard fair for a racing game, but they also have playground play lists like infection, and cat and mouse etc. I had a lot of fun playing with friends online and its interesting because every time you rank up, you get a lottery and you can win anything from 4500 credits, to a new car, or even one million credits. Overall the atmosphere is pleasing, the mechanics are top notch, the customization is great, and the overall presentation is very well done. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes a little arcade flavor with their racing games. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2016
    9
    I had my doubts. But the truth is that the game shows that even if the Forza for the general public this led me excellently. the game has aI had my doubts. But the truth is that the game shows that even if the Forza for the general public this led me excellently. the game has a lot livertad, many cars, lots of customization, many races, good sense of speed and on Line fantastic. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    Great stuff, lots of diversity in the races, runs very smooth for 30hz. It''s good to look at as a companion to FM4 - it's frivolous butGreat stuff, lots of diversity in the races, runs very smooth for 30hz. It''s good to look at as a companion to FM4 - it's frivolous but probably more fun, just less intense - so it depends what you're in the mood for. It's technically remarkable, kudos to the devs. To put handling like this in an open world sets a precedent. All the hip urban festival stuff is bulls**t, but it doesn't detract from the quality of the game. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    boring dull and repetitive, don't buy this game rent it as you can easily complete it in less than 4 days, no value at all plus the DLC thatboring dull and repetitive, don't buy this game rent it as you can easily complete it in less than 4 days, no value at all plus the DLC that costs more than the game costs to buy, if you still want to buy it wait till after xmass and no doubt it'll be in every stores bargain bins. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.