Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the traditional Forza with a music festival vibe, Horizon promises to take freedom of the open road to the next level. Explore vast and varied driving playgrounds. Team up or compete with friends and rivals online. Show off your unique driving skills and become the star of the world's most rocking motorsport party. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    100
    It's hard to find negative things to write about Forza Horizon. It certainly is a different experience compared to Forza Motorsport 4, but that doesn't mean it's not as good. The spotless presentation and the enormous amount of things to do makes this one of the finest racing games I've ever played.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    91
    But getting behind the wheel of one of the most realistic driving engines and booting around, challenging racers, and having all kinds of fun adds value to all cars – not just the ones that are ridiculously fast and expensive. I've played the game at numerous difficulty settings both with 360 controller and MS Force Feedback Racing Wheel, and have come away impressed.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Playground Games took a humungous, beautiful world, packed it full of entertaining challenges and events, added in tons of personality and style, and built it all around the proven Forza tech, giving racing game fans an exceptional automotive experience that they didn't even know they wanted. For as much as I love Forza Motorsport, it's going to be hard to go back after this.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    Forza Horizon is made of pure, unadulterated open world racing fun, and I can't take off points for that.
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    85
    A great arcade racing game, with a lot of content and nice visuals.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    80
    A different, but superb Forza title nonetheless. The game does not harm the series name; on the contrary, it expands on stiff racing circuits with a dense public traffic panorama. Even though it has its flaws and the game shows compromises in it, as their first attempt Playground Games own this specific sub-genre. However, no daydreaming to you Playground Games, you need to drive away from your competition, especially from your Turn 10 fellows.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Horizon's accessibility gives way to a lack of foresight. Its open world feels empty, its economic model is questionable, and its armada of cars are powerless against arbitrary AI escalation. Forza Horizon has more flash than its predecessors, but it's hollow by comparison.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 75
  2. Negative: 8 out of 75
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just played this game, very beautiful, very engaging, perfect usability design, excellent choice of music of various genres, love it! Lighting and overall presentation is gorgeous! Very fun to play, thanks for making this game M.S. you made my weeknights and weekends! Collapse
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    I recall seeing rumors for this game popping up in the Forza 4 thread and instantly despising it once I saw the trailer. Being a fan of racing games, dumping many hours in Forza 3 and 4, and also a huge fan of EDM, it was like seeing them perverted and slapped together in some BS off year game. While I still hold strong on my position of the whole EDM center to the game, it held up on the racing side. If seeing a racer look so damn beautiful and remind me what it is like to drive a nice car through a beautiful part of the world wasn't enough, the gameplay was really fun. It held up extremely well to what I would expect from a Forza series and in some cases went beyond my expectations in providing something that a more "arcady" racer wouldn't necessarily require to please most of its fans. My favorite parts of the game were the point to point races that felt more like a reality than something like a circuit race. Being able to fly at 120mph on the edge of the cliff with the orange faces of Colorado's natural formations surrounding me or blazing down desert highways dodging commuter traffic at absurd speeds were really the staples of this game; these were the moments that kept me wanting more. There were definitely dull moments and a lot of the story, if you want to call it that, was exactly the same as NFS: Pro Street. I think the most surprising part for me was how much side stuff there was to do. When I first started playing I was annoyed by how far apart the races were and thinking about how much time I was going to spend over the course of the game driving in between events versus just choosing an event off a grid in Forza 4. Luckily the game soon unveils that you actually have an amazing amount of other stuff to do to pass the time and make those trips more fun. I equate it to interactive loading screens. Some of the downsides for me included not being able to swap my free roam car with ease or not being able to tune/upgrade without visiting the garage in the center of the map. I often found myself driving the same car in between events for each act of the game. So, I am pleased to say that Forza Horizon was the first game I completed in 2013, and if you are the kind of person who enjoys racing games (especially ones that are BEAUTIFUL), arcade or sim, this is absolutely worth dropping time into. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    it's very good many new things great songs why not buy it nice cars nice places to race the game looks awesome it's a free rom if you love free rom racing games you will want to get this game ( Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    After owning and selling 2 Xbox 360's now i thought i had had enough of the Microsoft console, preferring the slicker graphics and general nerdiness of a PC rig. That was until this game was released...and being an avid fan of the Forza series i succumed to the purchase of my 3rd Xbox 360. So far i have not been disapointed with my decidion, Horizon is everything i was expecting and in places a little more. Having played the new NFS: Most wanted title before getting my hands on Horizon i was genuinely shocked and pleasently surprised by the graphcis, options, feel of cars and attention to detail you get with Horizon. Cars still portray some of the traits from the Forza Motorsport handling models, providing a solid, grounded yet more forgiving feel when hurtling around the country roads in Horizon. The open world take on the Forza game is a welcome addition with tracks, roads and short cuts providing an excellent playground for the generous car list provided by the Turn 10 team. I am only about 2 hours into the game and continue to be enthralled and surprised by what is thrown at me in this game, but from Turn 10 should i expect anything else? Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is really nothing wrong with Forza Horizon but they do need to update the game and put a 2006 or 2007 Chevy Corvette Z06 and a McLaren P1 and maybe more race events Expand
  6. May 10, 2013
    8
    Forza Horizon is an open world concept racing game that is set in Colorado and is centered around the Forza Horizon music festival. The main objective of the game is to well... race and earn wristbands and challenge other drivers. The driving handles pretty much like any other Forza title. In Forza Horizon you are able to travel on dirt roads, city streets and a highway. Graphically, the game is nothing less than breathtaking. The scenery is fantastic and the day to night transitions are beautiful. One interesting feature is the different challenges in which you can race against planes. There is a wide variety of different vehicles to choose from to keep you satisfied. All and all this is a great effort by the folks from playground games and turn 10. There are a few complaints I have with this game that are relatively minor like not truly being able to explore areas, because it is fenced off. I would consider it more of an open road game than an open world game. Weather effects would have been a great addition, travelling in the snow capped Rocky mountains with snow falling would have been fantastic. I would have liked to have seen more vehicle damage and windshield cracks when crashing head on with another driver. As people of said, it is more like a Need for Speed title, but Forza at it's core. Overall, Forza Horizon is a great addition to the Forza Motorsport series. 8/10 Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    boring dull and repetitive, don't buy this game rent it as you can easily complete it in less than 4 days, no value at all plus the DLC that costs more than the game costs to buy, if you still want to buy it wait till after xmass and no doubt it'll be in every stores bargain bins. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.