User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 356 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 356

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    Great game! Only problem is the redundancy of the same tracks over and over and the increasing boredom of more laps to beat higher levels. Still worth the money in my opinion.
  2. LiamM.
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    This is seriously a good racing game. I loved the stunning visuals and the frame rate the best! Also, the huge collection of cars to buy in Career mode, and some of the made up tracks like the Sunset Peninsula Infield which reminds me of Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Forza Motorsport 2 does have some realistic tracks including Silverstone and Suzuka. I like them both. The missing 10th This is seriously a good racing game. I loved the stunning visuals and the frame rate the best! Also, the huge collection of cars to buy in Career mode, and some of the made up tracks like the Sunset Peninsula Infield which reminds me of Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Forza Motorsport 2 does have some realistic tracks including Silverstone and Suzuka. I like them both. The missing 10th point is that the tire sounds are really annoying so I turned them off, The game needs more tracks, and also, the most important thing that Forza has left out is the save progress in the middle of the race, because I crashed right near the end of Silverstone Endurance race. Expand
  3. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    Very good game but not the Gran Turismo killer I was hoping for. The game has improved from its originator, but only on a surface level. The cars, tracks and menus are nice and shiny. But the 60fps everyone was harping about doesn't cut it for me. The cars seem to move slower than in FM1, was is odd! Also there are criminally fewer tracks than on FM1. What happened to the ship yard Very good game but not the Gran Turismo killer I was hoping for. The game has improved from its originator, but only on a surface level. The cars, tracks and menus are nice and shiny. But the 60fps everyone was harping about doesn't cut it for me. The cars seem to move slower than in FM1, was is odd! Also there are criminally fewer tracks than on FM1. What happened to the ship yard track? My bloody favorite. Online, albeit in its early stages, isn't great. Players spend more time crashing into than playing, and the sever keeps kicking you out. But this is still a very good game with great cars, excellent handling, and a decent career mode. But thats as far as it goes! Expand
  4. MattB.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    An incredibly good simulator. The only way to get the most out of this game is to turn most assists off (ABS and TCS are sometimes exceptions) and put the AI on hard, or at least medium. Don't expect waterfalls and beach locations, this is pure track racing. If you're not into simulators, and think Ridge Racer is the best racing game of all time, you may want to stay away :) It An incredibly good simulator. The only way to get the most out of this game is to turn most assists off (ABS and TCS are sometimes exceptions) and put the AI on hard, or at least medium. Don't expect waterfalls and beach locations, this is pure track racing. If you're not into simulators, and think Ridge Racer is the best racing game of all time, you may want to stay away :) It sports awesome physics, an excellent car modding system, and one bastard AI character called Rossi who will make you tear your hair out! While the graphics certainly aren't groundbreaking, after 5 minutes of actual racing, chances are you won't even notice or care. Actually, they enhance the gameplay hugely. Running at a constant 60 frames per second and with a near unlimited draw distance, and excellent car models, it's easy to focus on what matters most - the track, and the car in front of you. Not the best racing GAME of all time in terms of entertainment value (GT3 still holds that place in my opinion), but as a SIMULATOR, I believe this is the best console offering to date. If you're into racing sims, it'd be a crime to miss it. Expand
  5. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Very well done sim-racing game... lots of customization and tracks available. I admit it didn't hold my interest as long as the PGR franchise, but still a 2 thumbs-up buy. ;)
  6. PaulK.
    May 31, 2007
    10
    Let me first say that there will forever be people who simply cannot fully enjoy simulation games. This is a sim, yes. But it is also perhaps the most polished and feature-rich game I have ever played. All of the time spent on this game is both immediately apparent and also beautifully subtle. The game is remarkably accesible to those unfamiliar or put-off by sims in the past, and Let me first say that there will forever be people who simply cannot fully enjoy simulation games. This is a sim, yes. But it is also perhaps the most polished and feature-rich game I have ever played. All of the time spent on this game is both immediately apparent and also beautifully subtle. The game is remarkably accesible to those unfamiliar or put-off by sims in the past, and includes 4 difficulty settings- each with multiple assists and options. In short: Perfectly modeled cars in 60 frames per second, tremendous customization options, three distinct and deep (and actually worthwhile) game modes, and an intuitive interface that wraps it all up in a slick package. If you have even the slightest interest in cars or if you enjoy games that surpass expectations, play Forza 2. Expand
  7. Aaace5
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    Unlike the Gran Turismo series, these cars are very responsive and drive more realistic. A lot of people like to hold the GT series up as the holy grail of sim racers... But I think the system is flawed, and Forza is the fix. Sim racers will always be somewhat boring because you can't get the excitement of arcade style racing. And the only real difference of an updated racing Unlike the Gran Turismo series, these cars are very responsive and drive more realistic. A lot of people like to hold the GT series up as the holy grail of sim racers... But I think the system is flawed, and Forza is the fix. Sim racers will always be somewhat boring because you can't get the excitement of arcade style racing. And the only real difference of an updated racing franchise is the graphical and control tweaks. GT wins at the graphical level for now until we see the final product in action, but FM 2 wins in the control area which is technically the most important thing for sim racers. The graphics aren't gears of war quality, but they aren't bad by any means- and the fact that you get to customize your car virtually any way you wish and even auction it off for extra cash online makes up for FM 2's slight shortcomings. "Worth the cash if you like more realistic racing experiences!" Don't be cheap... Get xbox live and get your full moneys worth out of this game and probably some of your old games as well, great place to be in my opinion! Expand
  8. NiccoJ.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Loving this game! I know it could be redesigned to fit a broader audience, but if you like your driving experience spot on, then this is the game for you!
  9. TracyC.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    I agree that this is the best racing SIM I have ever played. I grew up around racing and my first car was a 1967 Camaro SS which I raced illegally every chance I got so obviously I am into cars. Thing is, I chose Europe as my region as I prefer the Ferrari and Porche over all other. Anyways, everyone has said the game plays amazing that they are right. There is nothing like being rewarded I agree that this is the best racing SIM I have ever played. I grew up around racing and my first car was a 1967 Camaro SS which I raced illegally every chance I got so obviously I am into cars. Thing is, I chose Europe as my region as I prefer the Ferrari and Porche over all other. Anyways, everyone has said the game plays amazing that they are right. There is nothing like being rewarded for understanding the "grip" of the particular car you are driving and out braking/driving your opponent. You will hear that the graphics are a bit off and this is true to an extent. The graphics look amazing and the tracks and scenery can be distracting with their detail. I just think we expected perfection out of the visuals and we got 90% of that..still not bad. Thing is, at 120+ mph you will not be looking at the car as most SIM racers I know use the view that does not even show the car. One thing that will turn this game into Crack is the ability to see where you stand versus everyone AND just your friends for EVERY track, car class, time-trial, etc. I often plan to do a certain race only to see that one of my friends has beat me in a time-trial and I just HAVE to top them. This game even has a NASCAR-type oval track that is VERY fun and popular online. I cannot say enough good things about this game if you are a fan of racing sims. If you want to just hold the gas and turn, this is NOT the game for you. Brilliant!! Love this game!! Expand
  10. AnonY.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    A superb racing game. The physics, the handling - spot on. Would be nice to see some real-time weather and to be able to buy a Bugatti Veyron, but thats being ultra-picky. The first great racing sim on the 360 - buy it.
  11. DebernardiD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    The Game is one of the best designed video Games I have ever played and is the by far the best racing sim I have ever played, and that is coming from a big fan of the Gran Turismo series.
  12. MarkD.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    Seems to me most of the complaints about the physics are done by folks who have obviously never driven a real car on a real track -- hate to tell you, but if you don't enter the corner at the right angle and speed, you WILL find yourself into the sand, grass or, worse yet, wall. So ... having played every version of Gran Turismo, I have to see Forza is incredibly impressive. Much Seems to me most of the complaints about the physics are done by folks who have obviously never driven a real car on a real track -- hate to tell you, but if you don't enter the corner at the right angle and speed, you WILL find yourself into the sand, grass or, worse yet, wall. So ... having played every version of Gran Turismo, I have to see Forza is incredibly impressive. Much like GT, it's a tribute to cars that's meant to appeal to us autophiles, not 13-year olds who like the arcade-style found in games like Burnout or Need for Speed. The choice of cars is excellent (still too few Mustangs, IMHO), the tracks challenging and interesting, the graphics great, and the ability to modify the look of the cars is a HUGE advantage of GT (again, IMHO). The only thing keeping this game from getting a 10 is the soundtrack -- a few good tunes, but I love to jam out while driving. Thus, I recommend loading up your iPod with some great driving tunes, playing it just loud enough to hear the music while still being able to hear the car's exhaust and tires. Do that, and this is driving nirvana for those of us who truly understand cars and what it takes to race them. Expand
  13. CThompson
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best racing games I've played, and my first ever 1000/1000 achievements game. I've grown to enjoy it more now than when I first bought hte game, if you want more than an arcade racer but don't want a full out sim, this is the game for you!
  14. NeilV.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Wow.....this is a great game. I am a gamer, I love all genres, but I'm not a *huge* racing game fan. I have had plenty of experience with GT, PGR and the NFS series and all of them lose my interest after a couple of days. Forza is different. Not only is it a great SIM racer (I appreciate the sims more than the arcade racers for their longevity), the options for customization and Wow.....this is a great game. I am a gamer, I love all genres, but I'm not a *huge* racing game fan. I have had plenty of experience with GT, PGR and the NFS series and all of them lose my interest after a couple of days. Forza is different. Not only is it a great SIM racer (I appreciate the sims more than the arcade racers for their longevity), the options for customization and particularly the paint job design are the deepest that I have ever seen. I am hooked on Forza and I envision spending many more hours joyfully racing away. Expand
  15. TheSalt
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    Hands down the best racing game ive played. I am generally not a major fan (Grand Turismo, Collin McCrae, Forza, Championship Rally,) are the only racers Ive put anytime into. This one knocks them all over. The best thing about the game is the physics engine that you are working within. You can go from a zero to a hero by changing a small component on your car...some races take 5, 6, 7, Hands down the best racing game ive played. I am generally not a major fan (Grand Turismo, Collin McCrae, Forza, Championship Rally,) are the only racers Ive put anytime into. This one knocks them all over. The best thing about the game is the physics engine that you are working within. You can go from a zero to a hero by changing a small component on your car...some races take 5, 6, 7, attempts to win them. You have to race perfect from start to finish but thats the beauty of the game if you apply yourself you can do...and you can do it easily...just dont choke...dont even drift out of the line too far or else the cars 2, 3, and 4 will shoot past you. Online is just as fun as you can take your single player career online and add to you cash pool for victories. Yes I know every new car game is daunting...not this one...race a few basics, win a few cars...and tune up a couple of spec cars for spec races...and your on your way. A must have car game - shows just how crap Project Gotham Racing is in comparison. Even better than the original Forza. Expand
  16. Jeltz0
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Two words "steering wheel" Its one thing to play this game with the controller, but plug in the 360's wheel and you're in force feedback heaven I'M HOOKED!!
  17. VV
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    Best racing sim game on consoles EVER. Second most realistic racing game ever on consoles after RBR (both Forza2 and RBR put the GT series to shame in terms of realism and simulation). The game is so clean and well done, graphics are simply amazing (even if not as photorealistic as the GT series) , best looking tracks ever on any racing game (PC or consoles). The physics are very well Best racing sim game on consoles EVER. Second most realistic racing game ever on consoles after RBR (both Forza2 and RBR put the GT series to shame in terms of realism and simulation). The game is so clean and well done, graphics are simply amazing (even if not as photorealistic as the GT series) , best looking tracks ever on any racing game (PC or consoles). The physics are very well done, even better than the first Forza game, the car feels heavy and realistic, driving with all aids off is a wonderful experience that rival even the most awarded racing sims on PC (GTR, rFactor, etc). Sound effects are top notch and a big improvement over the first game. Career mode gets better and better with time and the sense of evolution always present. Using the wheel is a step toward maximum realism, but using the controller give you a great feeling never the less. I am not giving it a 10 for two reasons only: the first one is I was waiting for more real life tracks, there are some great real life tracks in the game like Mugello, Sebring, Laguna Seca and Suzuka among others but a couple more of them don't hurt (download contents in the next months? hope so) and the second reason is "the replays" (which I love to see on any racing game) are not realistic enough for my taste, they are a mix of camera angles TVs and some unrealistic "follow the car" views, I would much prefer a GT/GTR like replays. Anyway, an AMAZING game! Expand
  18. SimonW.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Absolutely outstanding racing game that is a car-lovers wet dream. Each car feels different in your hands and the upgrading makes you love and care for each of your babies. The sense of community online with Forza 2 will keep you coming back for more and more. With the addition of auctions for cars and special paint-jobs you'll never see the same race twice when you check out Motorsport TV.
  19. TNDMore
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Best driver we have come across. This game rocks!
  20. BrentA.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    I picked up this game and so far it's excellent. The customization options are amazing, enough to keep you entertained for hours designing cars. The physics are near perfect, and the graphics are up to par. This game is a must own for any racing fan.
  21. SteveC.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    9.7 in my opinion. Just short of great. Improves upon the formula of the original, but not greatly. Mind you this is not a bad thing. Customization is the best in ANY car racing game/sim. Online is fantastic and will keep any gamer hooked for months. Forget PGR, Grand Turismo 5 (whenever thats coming out) this is the game that will be talked about until something better comes along.
  22. AaronB.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    CORE SYSTEM owners beware.YOU NEED THE HARD DRIVE TO WATCH REPLAYS. I just went out and bought Forza 2 yesterday. Could not believe that I couldn't watch replays- me and my friends were stunned. The gameplay was worthy enough to warrent me upgrading though(I new I would have to eventually) Loving every minute of it. To summarize- it cost me £100 to get the full Forza 2 CORE SYSTEM owners beware.YOU NEED THE HARD DRIVE TO WATCH REPLAYS. I just went out and bought Forza 2 yesterday. Could not believe that I couldn't watch replays- me and my friends were stunned. The gameplay was worthy enough to warrent me upgrading though(I new I would have to eventually) Loving every minute of it. To summarize- it cost me £100 to get the full Forza 2 experience and has been worth every penny. Still pissed at Microsoft for not putting anything on the box re HD requirements- its on every other 360 game out there. I think they should add core system functionality on the game boxes also. Just so people can make an informed decision about the games they are purchasing. Nuff said about that though. I had rated it a 9, but it really deserves a 10 : ) Expand
  23. SeymourQ.
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    Brilliant in all respects (apart from the graphics) loving every minute of it and will do so for months. Online racing is the best quality I have seen.
  24. NickG.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    I wasn't crazy about the demo, but the full game is a different story. It's simply amazing, and I've been hooked on this game since I picked it up a week ago. It's perhaps the best racing game I've played to date.
  25. PhilipB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I'm no fan of racing games - that is until I picked up FORZA. I was / am totally addicted to this game and have touched nothing else for the past 3 weeks. The graphics are good - not the best - but very smooth. The car handling is brilliant - swithc off the assists if you want a challenge. I bought the official MS Wireless Steering yesterday and this takes the game into another I'm no fan of racing games - that is until I picked up FORZA. I was / am totally addicted to this game and have touched nothing else for the past 3 weeks. The graphics are good - not the best - but very smooth. The car handling is brilliant - swithc off the assists if you want a challenge. I bought the official MS Wireless Steering yesterday and this takes the game into another league entirely. I've not had such a good gaming experience since I booted up GTA3 back in 2001 - this game has blown me away. This is game of the year - hands down. Expand
  26. JaceN.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    Forza 2 is absolute driving physics perfection...which is its biggest party piece and its biggest problem...as all the time & work spent on it came at the cost of content! The original complaint of not enough tracks from Forza 1 is still present AND far worse now theres even less, Drivatar is gone, career still feels like a checklist instead of a career and "Driver Fatigue" still sets in Forza 2 is absolute driving physics perfection...which is its biggest party piece and its biggest problem...as all the time & work spent on it came at the cost of content! The original complaint of not enough tracks from Forza 1 is still present AND far worse now theres even less, Drivatar is gone, career still feels like a checklist instead of a career and "Driver Fatigue" still sets in around level 30 leaving you bored with the monotony and with little motivation to reach level 50! Overall its a major "behind the scenes" update to the physics system with a dissapointing content downgrade! Expand
  27. ShawnA.
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    This is the best racing game I have ever played. Unlike PGR you can not turn and power slide while going 150MPG. You actually have to use your brakes. This is the game that will prove that the 360 can easily dominate the racing domain. Gran Turismo's move now.
  28. PaulD.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Great game, Great ride, just an awesome time
  29. FrancisM.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Very solid 9 and enjoying every minutes of it.
  30. Jason
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    This game is simply fatastsic. If you are a car enthusiast, you owe it to yourself to give this one a try atleast. Definetly a keeper.
  31. UncleDougB.
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    A solid game, but the career gets tiresome around level 40.
  32. KarstenP.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    If you want true racing simulation. This is definately the one.
  33. chrisl
    May 16, 2008
    9
    I played this game for 3 weeks strait and thought it was ok. Then I started to figure out tuning and the affects it has on the game. This game is awesome! If you can't figure out why your constantly getting your butt kicked, do some research into tuning and learn how to really build a car. Try this and give this game another chance.
  34. yarkiebrown
    May 28, 2009
    7
    Not the most amazing game I've ever played, but has got me strangely hooked... I feel compelled to complete all the races still, im currently at level 25 so will have to see if that compulsion is still there when im 3/4's of the way through, but overall a solid game, well worth checking out
  35. WeirdNeville
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    As a big fan of all four Gran Turismo games I had High expectations after reading a few reviews of Forza Motorsport 2. Luckily it surpasses my wildest dreams! I can't believe that such realism is possible through the power of the Xbox 360. The cars handle deftly, but with weight and traction that feels real. The Default controls work very well, with the shoulder triggers giving ample As a big fan of all four Gran Turismo games I had High expectations after reading a few reviews of Forza Motorsport 2. Luckily it surpasses my wildest dreams! I can't believe that such realism is possible through the power of the Xbox 360. The cars handle deftly, but with weight and traction that feels real. The Default controls work very well, with the shoulder triggers giving ample control over delicate throttle or brake adjustments and their effects can be felt with a beautiful accuracy to mid corner tweaks in the cars attitude. Even the more obscure cars handle realistically - I own a Nissan 200SX and the game version is spookily similar in it's mid corner habits. This is a fantastic game which corrects a lot of problems I had with Gran Turismo (the useless novelty cars awarded early on in career mode, non-progressive gameplay and overly repetative licence tests) and serves up the result with dynamic visuals, a great range of cars (Finally! Porsches!) and a very engaging and rewarding Career mode. If you like cars, or racing, get this game! Expand
  36. MattF.
    Dec 11, 2007
    8
    A very enjoyable, detailed and deep drving experience. It's simply a Gran Turismo for xbox 360. Great career mode, huge online mode, fun arcade mode and a brand new xbox live car auction mode make this game special. Has much more to offer than the Project Gotham series and is certainly one of the est racing games available on xbox 360 today. Worth buying.
  37. Travis
    Dec 31, 2007
    9
    Great game. Could be even more realistic if races had rules, etc.
  38. DavidZ.
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    Its a good game, oh yes but it just lacks a certain something which makes me give it a 10. The driving itself feels very slow and becomes tedious after a while, yet if you are into racing this is a game you would not want to miss.
  39. StevenL.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game, excellent DLC and amazing community. Why wouldn't you buy this game and play it to death? Yup, you're stupid.
  40. WyattG.
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    This is NOT PGR3 ! You can't brake late, powerslide around a corner and expect to still be in 1st place. In fact you will more than likely be looking for traction on the grass or sand whilst the entire field passes you by.....welcome to Forza 2, a 100% genuine racing simulator. I tried the demo before buying this game and I found the standard 360 controller really hard to use, so This is NOT PGR3 ! You can't brake late, powerslide around a corner and expect to still be in 1st place. In fact you will more than likely be looking for traction on the grass or sand whilst the entire field passes you by.....welcome to Forza 2, a 100% genuine racing simulator. I tried the demo before buying this game and I found the standard 360 controller really hard to use, so when I picked up the full game I also invested in a steering wheel and this not only made the racing easier but far more enjoyable (strangely though when I go back and play PGR3 I still like the controller over the wheel). There are many things to like about this game, the graphics are really good, the sounds the cars make a top notch, and the alterations you can make to each car is something seen to be believed; but the best thing about this game is that the driving is INTENSE. By the time you get to around the middle of the game the races start getting a little longer and the tracks more involved, so much so that I found that I could not race for much more than about 2 hours at a time before my whole upper body was just so tense, not to mention the sweaty palms and forehead. When you win you can't but help to pump your fists in the air, because you know that like in real racing you only needed to make 1 mistake for this not to be the case. For all the things right about this game there are still some areas that could have been better. For starters, there is not enough tracks, and the tracks that are there start to feel the same before long. (being forced to drive different types of cars does help make up for this a little though) Also, there is no variety, it is just race after race after race. I know this is a racing game, but something different to break up the monotony of races would have helped....and finally, progressing through the game is painfully slow. There 50 levels to get through, and in the early stages of the game winning 2 or 3 races would get you up a level, but by the time you hit level 20 you have to start winning 6 or 7 races, which means that after 2 hours of racing you would have jumped a 1 level ! I guess you can't complain about the game being too short !!! To me these bad points drag down the game (and the enjoyment) from what could have been a 10 out of 10. Expand
  41. Andyman
    May 31, 2007
    10
    Forza 2 surpasses its predecessor in every possible way, a very impressive accomplishment by any measure. More tracks, more cars, tighter control, better online play, more robust customization, better car class system structure, and most importantly... challenging Achievements that will put even the most accomplished drivers to the test. Even better still, you can rest assured that more Forza 2 surpasses its predecessor in every possible way, a very impressive accomplishment by any measure. More tracks, more cars, tighter control, better online play, more robust customization, better car class system structure, and most importantly... challenging Achievements that will put even the most accomplished drivers to the test. Even better still, you can rest assured that more cars and tracks are on their way as downloadable content! Anyone who says Forza 2 is "just Forza 1 with updated graphics" obviously hasn't played the game for more than an hour... their loss... the rest of us know better! Expand
  42. JamesH
    Oct 21, 2008
    8
    This game is certainly relealistic. Along with this, it pertains a high amount of longevity. However, sometimes the realism reduces the enjoyment that you get from the game, frustrating you at the precision and conistency you require to actually play the game to a reasonable standard. Despite this, Forza motorsport certainly is fun, but if your whole experience relies upon fun, it is not This game is certainly relealistic. Along with this, it pertains a high amount of longevity. However, sometimes the realism reduces the enjoyment that you get from the game, frustrating you at the precision and conistency you require to actually play the game to a reasonable standard. Despite this, Forza motorsport certainly is fun, but if your whole experience relies upon fun, it is not perfect. My friend is an absolute petrol head, and he loves Forza: customisation, realism and engagement are forefront for someone who is generally interested in motor racing. If this is you, then this game deserves 10/10. But, if like me your'e not the car enthusiast, Forza Motorsport 2 is limited in it's appeal, despite being a great reacing simulator. Collapse
  43. Michael5
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    This game takes all of the realistic gameplay from Gran Turismo, but makes it simple, and playable. When you play Forza Motorsport 2, you have a huge selection of cars, with another large selection of real world tracks. Then you start the game, and everything just runs perfectly. The steering wheel controls are spot on, the sensation of speed is accurate, and fun, and the realisim by This game takes all of the realistic gameplay from Gran Turismo, but makes it simple, and playable. When you play Forza Motorsport 2, you have a huge selection of cars, with another large selection of real world tracks. Then you start the game, and everything just runs perfectly. The steering wheel controls are spot on, the sensation of speed is accurate, and fun, and the realisim by having damage, fuel, and tire wear, just makes it over the top. What really makes this game stand out though is the fun factor. In Gran Turismo 1-4 (all of them have this roblem) you have to repeat a race several times just to have enough money for the next race, and it just takes forever to make enough money to race Ferrari's. Even then you don't get to race every car you own, unless you play for 1000s of hours. In Forza Motorsport 2, if you finish a cup in 1st for every race, you get enough money from those winnings to buy yourself a couple new cars, not just one, and the next cup you play is on different tracks and using a completly different car. You never ever do the same race with the same car. So the game is never repetative, and you can actually play in good cars, like Porsches and Lamborshinis, fairly soon and in every one of them. Online racing is also just simply amazing. The game is exceptionally long as well with almost 100 hours of single player racing, plus however much online racing you want (you get $$$ racing online too, to buy new cars). As it stands Forza Motorsport 2 is the best simulation racing game ever created. I just can't wait to see how Forza Motorsport 3 will improve this game. Expand
  44. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    This game is very awsome!The only thing that bothers me is that they seem to have made this in a hurry.It's like a very shiny version of forza 1.They have added additions and things but with such a great game like Forza 1 they didn't have to come out with this so fast just to show there idea's and the 360 power.Gran turismo takes around 5 years in between making there games because theyThis game is very awsome!The only thing that bothers me is that they seem to have made this in a hurry.It's like a very shiny version of forza 1.They have added additions and things but with such a great game like Forza 1 they didn't have to come out with this so fast just to show there idea's and the 360 power.Gran turismo takes around 5 years in between making there games because they make a great product that will last that long even though there games are very boring.Forza company is a million times better but they don't have to rush and make a game every 2 years.To me 5 is to long also,I would say every 3-4 years because Forza is something special and it has replay value beyond that and it doesn't get boring.But I have to knock a point off because of that.Forza 3 is amazing and all but a perfect game.The original Forza was all but a perfect game in 2005, but for Forza 2 I have to give it a 9. Expand
  45. JoelC.
    May 30, 2007
    0
    Just totally dissappointed with this. I was expecting something more. Game Informer for once hit the head on the nail with their review. Just buy a car, put some stickers on it, drive it round and round on the same tracks, get money, buy a car, rinse and repeat. Booooorrriiinnggg. After trying Forza 2, I picked up Test Drive Unlimted and am having a blast. I can look at cars, inside and Just totally dissappointed with this. I was expecting something more. Game Informer for once hit the head on the nail with their review. Just buy a car, put some stickers on it, drive it round and round on the same tracks, get money, buy a car, rinse and repeat. Booooorrriiinnggg. After trying Forza 2, I picked up Test Drive Unlimted and am having a blast. I can look at cars, inside and out, open doors, windows, upgrade, drive for miles and miles endlessly not on a track, but in cities, mountains etc, even edit my characters face with expansive options and clothes, buy real estate, and most of all, its fun! This is just way too static and dead for my taste. Pass. Expand
  46. RickJ.
    Nov 25, 2007
    3
    OK, but not mind blowing graphics. Bland gameplay. Came for free with my XBox. I understand that it is probably "realistic" but any realism takes the place of fun. Snooozzze.
  47. Ryan
    Jun 7, 2007
    4
    It gets boring after a while. it doesn't feel like much of a career while playing though. Just wait until Gran Turismo 5 comes out. it will blow this games doors off! look at some previews and interviews for the new features, as I cannot post them here lol!!
  48. ThomasB.
    Dec 24, 2007
    2
    I got this game free with my 360 and, I've got the say, the price is right. The graphics are average at best, the racing is boring and awkward and there's just no fun factor. If this is the best the 360 can offer in terms of racers, then Gran Turismo has no competition.
  49. KurdtF
    May 30, 2007
    7
    Well, if you liked Forza 1, I guess you'll like Forza 2. It's almost identical to its first iteration. For what it's worth, and although the two games aren't really comparable (one is a sim, the other is slightly more arcadey), PGR3 does pretty much everything better, from the sense of speed, to the viewing options. Forza seems sort of half-finished, and lacking the Well, if you liked Forza 1, I guess you'll like Forza 2. It's almost identical to its first iteration. For what it's worth, and although the two games aren't really comparable (one is a sim, the other is slightly more arcadey), PGR3 does pretty much everything better, from the sense of speed, to the viewing options. Forza seems sort of half-finished, and lacking the polish of PGR3. Something seems to be missing... I'll continue to play it - it is fun, and I was a fan of the first Forza, but it's not the revelation I was hoping for. Expand
  50. FrankC
    Dec 12, 2008
    0
    Worst game ever, the Wii has racing game with better graphics. The game stutters all over the place as the xbox can't run game. I am on my 5th xbox, as xbox's break down all the time. All my friends had to ship back all of their xbox's because they broke.
  51. FPSMaster
    May 29, 2007
    6
    Where do I start? I got the game 3 days early and have put about 30 hours into it. I just can't get over how bland it looks, and how the cars are jaggy and look cel shaded half the time. But enough about the Xbox 1 graphics that we were told would be photorealistic. The physics are nowhere near realistic, and anyone not being paid by M$ to say so will say the same if they're not Where do I start? I got the game 3 days early and have put about 30 hours into it. I just can't get over how bland it looks, and how the cars are jaggy and look cel shaded half the time. But enough about the Xbox 1 graphics that we were told would be photorealistic. The physics are nowhere near realistic, and anyone not being paid by M$ to say so will say the same if they're not a fanboy which most people that like this franchise are and would never admit that these physics just are not right. The cars brakes still lock up at the slightest touch even with ABS on just like the first crap Forza game, and the cars body roll isn't accurate when cornering. You feel like you're driving an old 3-wheeler when going around corners and sliding straight off the track for no reason other than touching the brakes for a spolit second. The tires leave squid markes everytime you touch the brakes, and even pure race cars always drift through corners sliding no matter how slow you're going. The sound effects are off, as none of the cars sound like the real ones and the higher performance cars still sound like vacuums. Basically, people have been told for so long that this franchise is a sim that they believe it. Too bad most gamers that play this and think it's real are too young to have driven yet or they would know even the stock street cars do not drive like this. If you go by what the developers have been saying for so long that you can learn to race by playing this game, you will end up in a wall around your first corner in real life. What a piece of crap with nothing but hype and a big name behind it but they forgot to actually make it realistic which is the whole point of the game. With unrealistic physcis like this, they could have at least put a little more effort into the graphics and the game would still play as unrealistic but at least it wouldn't look just like the first game running in HD. Selling towards DiRT, since even though it isn't realistic, you get satisfaction from playing it, not trading it in. Expand
  52. MarcoC.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    Great feel from the word go, it's the most realistic simulation of any genre so far!!
  53. KrazyKoala
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Not the best Graphics, but great audio and fantastic gameplay, especially with the wheel.
  54. CameronL.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    A very deep, fun game. While the visuals aren't the best out there, the game itself is absolutely worth the money, giving loads of things to do in an extremely small, tight, refined little package. Of all of the games on 360, racing or not, this is probably one of the best "bang for your buck" packages out there. It's even great if you're not a car lover! Before this game, A very deep, fun game. While the visuals aren't the best out there, the game itself is absolutely worth the money, giving loads of things to do in an extremely small, tight, refined little package. Of all of the games on 360, racing or not, this is probably one of the best "bang for your buck" packages out there. It's even great if you're not a car lover! Before this game, I didn't know the difference between a chassis and a gearbox, but thanks to this game, I now know my way around a car, and I'm having a lot of fun with all that's available to me in the game. It's great fun. Whether you're looking for a fun racing game, great online game, or simply a game to let you experience some awesomely unique gameplay on your console, this is the game to get. Expand
  55. SnakeZ
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    Excellent game. Great car selection. 60fps is great for a racing game. The physics are basically perfect. Awesome paint and decal customization system. The career mode is deep and requires you to tune many different vehicles for different events. I agree with two of the main flaws of the game. One is that you don't get a great sense of speed. This may be because we are used to cars Excellent game. Great car selection. 60fps is great for a racing game. The physics are basically perfect. Awesome paint and decal customization system. The career mode is deep and requires you to tune many different vehicles for different events. I agree with two of the main flaws of the game. One is that you don't get a great sense of speed. This may be because we are used to cars that accelerate unreasonably. However, if you buy a Lancer or something, race it a few times, then supe it up to the absolute max and race it again you will feel some pretty amazing speed. My second knock is on the track selection. You can have a realistic game and still have more fantasy tracks. I love the New York track and wish there were a few more like it. All in all, this is a very fun game. It is a Sim, so don't expect PGR or Burnout or Test Drive. This game is easily the best 360 racing game except maybe PGR. I love it. My three friends with the game love it. And don't underestimate how fun it is to tune up your cars and paint them all fancy and show them off to your friends. My Forza story. In NA career mode, you get a Lancer (I think it's called) for beating some races. It is the ugliest turd ever but has AWD. It also looks a lot like the mirthmobile from Wayne's world. I did everything I could to make it a supercar and it came to a PI of 968. Then I painted it just like the mirthmobile. I raced my 3 buddies online and let them check it out. It was hilarious at the start when they were looking at it, then equally hilarious when I absolutely smoked them off of the start. The car has almost as high of acceleration as you can get, since it is very light and AWD. But it is very hard to drive because it has supercar acceleration and grandma car handling. You end up braking almost as long as accelerating and slamming into the wall is easy to do if you aren't careful. It is great moments like those that will make you love this game. Expand
  56. DebernardiD.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    The Game is one of the best designed video Games I have ever played and is the by far the best racing sim I have ever played, and that is coming from a big fan of the Gran Turismo series.
  57. JakeS.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    The most realistic racing simulator possibly ever. This game is extremely deep. Wow. I didn't give it a 10 because as a game I don't think simulator type racing games are that fun (race mechanics wise) and the graphics aren't all that great. As a sim, it is definately a 10. As a game, I'll give it a 9.
  58. PDub
    May 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing 60fps graphics, (could have used some anti-aliasing), Amazing car selecetion, amazing tuning options. amazing physics engine, amazing community support, amazing everything. Could have used some more fancy high tech interface, and perhaps a bit more polish, but who cares, they nailed it on the head. Gran Turismo 5 better blow me out of the water, because Forza is the new high water mark.
  59. CiaranG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    7
    Very disappointing. I had played Project Gotham Racing 3 (a launch title) over a year and a half ago and it blew me away. It was a perfect game. Even now I still enjoy it. Therefore, my expectations were high for Forza Motorsport 2. My expectations were nowhere near met. Graphics are very underwhelming. Tracks are boring and bland and gameplay is no fun at all. The online mode is terribly Very disappointing. I had played Project Gotham Racing 3 (a launch title) over a year and a half ago and it blew me away. It was a perfect game. Even now I still enjoy it. Therefore, my expectations were high for Forza Motorsport 2. My expectations were nowhere near met. Graphics are very underwhelming. Tracks are boring and bland and gameplay is no fun at all. The online mode is terribly boring and there's nothing to do but drive around in circles constantly (but you do get to admire other people's customised cars). The only thing that makes this game worth playing is its level of car customisation and how addicting and rewarding it is when progressing through the career mode. Apart from that, I find myself yawning whilst driving around. When you find yourself doing 8 lap races, you will get extremely bored and you'll just be frustrated when you crash right at the end because you've lost all concentration. To help, I played my own music when racing, but it's not much difference. Loading times aren't fast and the photo mode isn't as good as it was in Project Gotham Racing 3. On the plus side, there are over 300 great cars which are all fully customisable and there is relatively realistic damage (compared to Project Gotham Racing 3), the menu music is excellent and the auction house is always full of amazing cars with amazing designs. Buy only if you already have Project Gotham Racing 3 or 4. Expand
  60. IceMan
    May 25, 2007
    10
    This is the best sim to hit the market yet. Tons of cars, tons of options, tons of modifications...the list goes on
  61. MichaelL.
    May 29, 2007
    7
    Great physics but too much telemetric info, I doubt that 98% of 360 owners can interpret those info. Graphics are pretty good, not the best. Too much jaggies though. 60 fps is great! i'm going to get it just to hold me over until something better comes along.
  62. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    The best driving game available on the Xbox 360, but with enough flaws to show that there
  63. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    This is a good game, but it's tricky. The cars can be difficult to handle which can lead to some very annoying moments!!!! But it is good, the graphics are great, it's fun to customise your car (and to smash it up!!), and it does come reccomended.
  64. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This was the first racing game I have ever played - and was it a treat!! Hours of my life were killed playing this game - and I don't regret it for even a second. I've tried other racing games since I first played this one - and none compare to this one (at least on the Xbox 360). You have to invest some serious time into this game (and tuning the car properly has a serious learningThis was the first racing game I have ever played - and was it a treat!! Hours of my life were killed playing this game - and I don't regret it for even a second. I've tried other racing games since I first played this one - and none compare to this one (at least on the Xbox 360). You have to invest some serious time into this game (and tuning the car properly has a serious learning curve) - but the overall experience is just pure joy. One of the best 360 games EVER!! Expand
  65. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Forza Motorsport 2 is a great simulation racer; there are loads of cars and lots of tracks, with in depth customisation and almost too many events in which to race, you will spend many, many hours trying to complete and perfect each one. 3/5.
  66. Jan 11, 2011
    8
    I bought this game way after its release whenever it was because it was cheep and I just bought a 360. I almost knew that i would be dissapointed but I booted it up and I found a very good game. The car selection was good. They have all the good racing cars and even some just regulaur cars like a 2004 punch buggy the courses are good but the first levels of races are all one one track thatI bought this game way after its release whenever it was because it was cheep and I just bought a 360. I almost knew that i would be dissapointed but I booted it up and I found a very good game. The car selection was good. They have all the good racing cars and even some just regulaur cars like a 2004 punch buggy the courses are good but the first levels of races are all one one track that keeps switchiing it up a bit but the enviroments start to ger bland. The racing is very hard and the diffuculty is good the car cusitmation is good and it is my favorite place to spend my time. Buy this game it is on of mty forite games. Expand
  67. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Very underrated, and very cheap. I loved this game back in the day. It has really good visuals and a awesome customize car set up. I really did enjoy this forza game this is definitely one of my favorite racing game. The only thing wrong is that you cant drift as good as forza 3. But I like this game better than the 3rd one. It just has something really awesome about it. Must Buy. I wouldVery underrated, and very cheap. I loved this game back in the day. It has really good visuals and a awesome customize car set up. I really did enjoy this forza game this is definitely one of my favorite racing game. The only thing wrong is that you cant drift as good as forza 3. But I like this game better than the 3rd one. It just has something really awesome about it. Must Buy. I would rate this as a 9.2. Expand
  68. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game is pretty good. It's addictive and there are a lot of cars. The multiplayer was interesting too, though most of the time it boiled down to drag races on the tracks that could support it. What really brought it down for me was the graphics, which are downright bland AND have horrible (I mean awful) aliasing problems. Thankfully FM3 came out and corrected all of the weird problemsThis game is pretty good. It's addictive and there are a lot of cars. The multiplayer was interesting too, though most of the time it boiled down to drag races on the tracks that could support it. What really brought it down for me was the graphics, which are downright bland AND have horrible (I mean awful) aliasing problems. Thankfully FM3 came out and corrected all of the weird problems I mentioned here. Expand
  69. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    After playing GT5 reciently, I came to the conclusion that Forza 3 has become the one to beat. The people at Turn 10 do everything better, its like they had GT5 on a dart board in their offices. I have to say, that at first I took this game for granted, but after playing every other car sim on the market, this is the one to own. If you like realistic physics, car models, and sounds, thisAfter playing GT5 reciently, I came to the conclusion that Forza 3 has become the one to beat. The people at Turn 10 do everything better, its like they had GT5 on a dart board in their offices. I have to say, that at first I took this game for granted, but after playing every other car sim on the market, this is the one to own. If you like realistic physics, car models, and sounds, this is a must own!!!! Expand
  70. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This was my favorite racing sim before FM3 came out. Lacking single players, but multiplayer and customization were king. This game was better than any GT before GT5.
  71. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    Continuing on from the very impressive debut of Forza on the original Xbox, this iteration is a solid sequel on the new console, albeit not being revolutionary as the first one. The game mechanics is once again excellent and is backed up by a large pool of cars. Graphics are good but not as spectacular as some of the others, such as PGR3. Thankfully, it isn't going to detract you from theContinuing on from the very impressive debut of Forza on the original Xbox, this iteration is a solid sequel on the new console, albeit not being revolutionary as the first one. The game mechanics is once again excellent and is backed up by a large pool of cars. Graphics are good but not as spectacular as some of the others, such as PGR3. Thankfully, it isn't going to detract you from the actual racing experience that much so it isn't that big of a problem. There are three different modes: Career, Exhibition and Multiplayer. Exhibition is a selection of time trials and quick races, in which you can unlock cars for multiplayer and quick races (unfortunately not for career races). Multiplayer not only includes the usual 8-player races (both online and split-screen), but also a Auction House for you to trade cars with other players online. This is a very welcome addition as some user-created paint jobs are simply awesome. These cars can be used for any game mode, and thus is pretty useful for obtaining high-end cars which you may not have unlocked yet in career mode.

    As expected, Career Mode forms the main bulk of the game, with 90 events and more than 300 races. These are separated into 9 tiers and gives you a good sense of progression throughout the game. You start with lowly D-Class cars before slowly working up the ladder with some truly awesome R1 prototype race cars. However, the spectacular game mechanics and wide range of cars are not quite backed up the limited variety of tracks. There are only around 15 different race locations (excluding reverses and variations) and unfortunately, as you progress through the game, this can get quite repetitive and tiring, and can be a bit of a grind from there onwards. I find myself having to switch between different events simultaneously to keep my interest going.

    Overall, this is a very worthy addition for every racing gamer out there. Actual racing is brilliant, selection of cars is fantastic, graphics are solid, but limited number of tracks lowers the fun factor a little bit. I would give it a 9 for its actual gameplay, but its slight repetitiveness makes it an overall 8 for me.
    Expand
  72. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    All right, Forza Motorsport 2 is the best Forza Motorsport game so far. Forza Motorsport 3 doesn't stack up to Forza 2, the only problem is that you have to do the same tracks over and over, and it gets boring. But other than that, this still gets a 9 out of 10.
  73. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    It's got to be a THE benchmark for any non-arcadish racing game. For 2007, this game was all you could ever want from a racing game. Realistic, endless customisation and not over-saturated number of events like in Forza 3. Multiplayer is good too. What does suck is the highly outdated graphics. The graphics for the cars are more like 2004 than 2007. When I first played this game I simplyIt's got to be a THE benchmark for any non-arcadish racing game. For 2007, this game was all you could ever want from a racing game. Realistic, endless customisation and not over-saturated number of events like in Forza 3. Multiplayer is good too. What does suck is the highly outdated graphics. The graphics for the cars are more like 2004 than 2007. When I first played this game I simply could not believe the amount of conetent. Precision tuning and easy-to-understand painting. There's no piece of art that can't be recreated on Forza 2. You can literally make any design with ease. The tuning includes explanations and you can save set-ups. The auction house allows you to buy and sell cars. The multiplayer lets you choose everything- especially the restrictions, such as the power limit, wight limit, car class, tuning setup, upgrades etc. Although the only thing in the career is just circuits with different cars, the arcade mode has pre-set challenges. You are given the car, the track and time to beat. With a wide variety of cars- everything from Rabbit GTi and Toyota 2000GT to the Hennessey Dodge Viper and Chrysler ME Four-Twelve. The tracks are impressive too. The only issue is that the cars are often just the same car copied and pasted but with different sponsor logos. Other than that, they all feel different to drive. The difficulty is wide-ranging too. Having never played a simulator or a console racing game before this, I was able to jump on and pick up playing with no assists. So it's user-friendly and you do get rewarded with more XP and money for playing on a harder difficulty. This game does everything well, and even if there's something you don't like, the complete package as a whole is almost perfect for its time of release. Expand
  74. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    Review on the single player:

    PRESENTATION: - Graphics are good even today. The cars are authentic and detailed, you can tell it's a high quality production. The environment and maps are realistic yet a bit boring, especially after seeing the same scenery over and over. Also note that car decals look grubby. Still a good looking game. - The music is good electronic music in the menu's,
    Review on the single player:

    PRESENTATION:
    - Graphics are good even today. The cars are authentic and detailed, you can tell it's a high quality production. The environment and maps are realistic yet a bit boring, especially after seeing the same scenery over and over. Also note that car decals look grubby. Still a good looking game.
    - The music is good electronic music in the menu's, but apart from that there aren't any good memorable original Forza songs. Sound effects of the cars are pretty realistic but nothing to write home about.

    GAMEPLAY:
    - There is no story, expected from a racer, but the game feels very dead. There's no one talking to you, it's just select a race and drive, nothing else.
    - Driving feels authentic and realistic and still maintains to be fun and addictive. It has loads of cars with tons of authentic customisation options. Being a realistic racer though, it comes with some pacing issues. It starts off slow with bad cars. Once you get the hang of it you'll start unlocking good cars and the game really starts to pick up. Once you get into the Race class (after the supercars) though the game is tedious: a single cup will take you about 60 mins because you're doing about 8 laps per race. The first two laps are always fun but after that it's 95% of the time already determined if you're going to win or lose. The game gives you the options to make it as hard or as easy as you want it to be, but since you don't want to spend 15 mins to do one race over again you want to start a race knowing you can win. Finding a good balance is hard and the game leaves it up to you to find it.

    VERDICT:
    It's great as a realistic racer, but as a game gets a bit tedious after a while
    + tons of real cars with authentic customisation
    + fun and realistic driving mechanics
    - it feels a bit dead with the same scenery over and over and little overall variation
    - it gets very tedious further in the game as you're spending so much time doing one race

    7.4/10
    Expand
  75. Feb 8, 2013
    4
    God, racing simulators are boring. If I wanted to drive a car, then I'd drive a car. I don't play games to experience simulations of reality. I'd go outside if I wanted that.
  76. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    I have spent a stupid number of hours playing this game, which says it all for it's gameplay and graphics, the amount of cars is massive and the game only misses out on a 10 by not having enough tracks but saying that there were enough to entertain me for years and I only picked up Forza 3 recently because it was £3. What more can be said it's a racing/driving simulator and it works betterI have spent a stupid number of hours playing this game, which says it all for it's gameplay and graphics, the amount of cars is massive and the game only misses out on a 10 by not having enough tracks but saying that there were enough to entertain me for years and I only picked up Forza 3 recently because it was £3. What more can be said it's a racing/driving simulator and it works better than others on the market. Expand
  77. May 29, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 8.5 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 8.0 Fun/Story: 8.5

    A good and solid game but not as good as some reviews said. Graphics are a little clear, good but not much detailed.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 66
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 66
  3. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. The rather functional-at-best visuals aside, Forza 2 excels in a way no other racing game has managed this generation. If losing yourself in a vast world of excellent handling and top notch realistic racing is something you crave from videogame racing (and admittedly, this sort of thing isn’t to everyone’s taste), ensure you get hold of Forza 2 as soon as you can - it’ll keep you occupied for months.
  2. Dangerously addictive and loads of fun, Forza Motorsport 2 has what it takes under the hood to satisfy both car junkies and general gamers alike.
  3. Forza 2 delivers on nearly every aspect you'd want in a Forza sequel. It drives incredibly, it's wonderfully presented, and it's rich with modes and features.