User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 444 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 444

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Best racing game this gen on consoles. Auction House, Livery Editor, Storefront, Tuning, Extreme customization, Matchmaking, **** for all cars etc make it extremely enjoyable for all those people sour after GT5 failed to meet expectations.

    I agree with 92 metacritic!
  3. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    FM3 is an awesome racing game, maybe one of the best simulations up to date. The graphics are great and the cars available are simply WOW! Once you start racing, you won't hang up that easy, especially on the 2 player mode. As for my part, the only thing missing is more urban circuits, like in towns or cities.
    Else, it's a great piece of game. I recommend it.
  4. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    Saw what MasterChef did, so following likewise... No offense to the game itself...but yeah, just to balance up things a bit. Sorry.
    They flamed the user reviews for GT5 without even trying it out. Well, I haven't tried Forza 3, wanted to...but judging from the IGN review screencaptures, I guess I'll stick to GT5, unless F3 is free.
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Forza 3 is a fantastic game and to me it actually feels like you are driving a powerful car around a track, unlike GT5 which to me feels like you're driving on rails.

    Oh and i own both games. Check out this AI comparison video, and tell me which is better FM3 or GT5

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox70Ho9_jX4&feature=player_embedded
  6. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Better than Gt5 metacritic says it all.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Listen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, it would be the PS3. Of course, I purchased GT5 and played the hell out of it... but I felt like something was missing. I couldn't figure out what, but even though I was happy with GT5, I thought, "Maybe IGN is right; if I liked GT5, maybe Forza will blow my mind... I remember how much I used to enjoy it...." - That was enough for me to buy another Xbox; luckily my nephew had an extra one. The second I got my "new" xbox, I ran to gamestop, literally, and picked up a long sought after copy of Forza 3....

    I havent played it, or my Xbox 360 since.... No offense to Xbox fans; its a great system; I just dont own many games for it... and as I played Forza 3, I found myself completely disappointed. I found it unremarkable. The worst part, the part I just couldn't ignore, I found the cars themselves to be incredibly sluggish. The anti-aliasing is lower; the graphics aren't as crisp as I was used to seeing; I also found the track design uninspired. The handling was the worst, by far; even after turning off every assist possible, it felt like driving a car in grand theft auto. Even watching the players hands in the **** view, I kept thinking "Really? Come on, you ass, turn the wheel faster!" Like I said, I'm the farthest thing from a fanboy as you can get. When I think of games, I think of it as, "Well, I own a playstation so I'll get this playstation game" - for me, its a logistical question. Though after playing Gran Turismo 5, something so far from perfect, I found myself completely bored and almost amused at Forza 3. I can see why its popular; I think its earned its rightful spot in the video game hall of fame; but I didnt buy it to put a hello kitty sticker on my bumper; I bought it to smoke tires and dominate chicanes; and in that regard, I think Forza takes a distant 2nd to GT5; a good enough game, but outclassed as a simulator and once you had the best, its hard to enjoy the rest...
    Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    There's not really much to add, but suffice to let me state facts. 100% of the Critic reviews are 'Positive'. Just over five in every seven user reviews are positive. It's obviously popular, and not without reason, like other popular games that betrayed us.
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations for buying DLC for Forza 2 obsolete. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Without doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing really add!) provide something great into an overall package. Our negatives are more with the company than the game, so we shant criticise them here however we recommend buying the October 2010 released 'Ultimate collection" as it includes ALL DLC (worth over £30) and a copy of the game (originally £40 at release) for just £24.99 upon its new release - It also includes some new stunning cars and some other extras marking a new partnership with the much loved Top Gear! Do we think this move will influence or buy over the massive Gran Turismo fanbase....Not at all, there is already a Playstation 3 market large enough waiting for this game which is guaranteed to make it sell better than FM3 without new 360s and extra copies of forza being sold. Besides, GT5 is bound to be a massive hit with its stunning visuals and long car list. Let's hope it will be released some time soon though! Well done Turn 10 but we would prefer to see Forza Motorsport 4 be an improved FM3 with more cars than a new experience to work upon the new kinect peripheral. Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Very disappointed by this game...I was expecting a great game with real like physics, but all I got was a pretty looking game with nothing in it. It all looks beautiful but the game feels hollow, physics are very arcady and the game is full of bugs. Definitely the biggest disappointment of all my Xbox 360 games so far. I guess my expectations were just too high..... GT5 over this any day
  13. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    Nothing special. It's fun to customize but it's an arcade game. Honestly I was expecting something more serious. Wait, do I need more characters? AAAAaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa I hope that's enough
  14. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    there is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimately punished..it just doesnt bounce and i carry on regardless.ALL cars have **** view..fully customisable vehicles..no silly slider bars.the online community is vast.you can buy and sell or even gift cars to friends,as well as tuning setups and decals.i could go on and on and on stating what forza 3 has...but racing is more than driving pretty looking cars.foza 3 is not conveyor belt racing..the AI fantastic.and it clear from the reviews that forza 3 is regarded as the king of racing games.the acclaim is justified.SIMPLE AS THAT! Expand
  15. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Every review is positive unlike that other game..
  16. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Best racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars is particularly favourable.
  17. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a must have title for casual and hardcore gamers alike, and with a lengthy career, along with a robust multiplayer, Forza 3 will keep you behind the drivers seat for months to come, or until Forza 4 hits the shelves. Expand
  18. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    El juego es bueno, el gameplay es excelente, lo unico malo es que el juego por el año 3 o 4 se vuelve repetitivo y a la larga aburre.
    Lo mejor es lo del retoceso de la carrera.
    Comprenlo, pidanlo prestado, rentenlo, Como sea pero jueguenlo ya.
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    For a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listening to my dreams and doing what makes this racing game, perfect. Expand
  20. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    great game amazing graphics so much cars 400 is a lot and forza 4 as 500 top gear is their so get that technology gets better over time this game was amazing 2 years later the new game comes out 10/10
  21. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing video game so I like this game a lot so I give this game..................... 9/10 really this game deserves !!!!! this rating
  22. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Growing up playing Mario Kart, I had some difficulty adjusting to Forza Motorsport when I first played the second in the series; but I'm so glad I spent the time to get to grips with it. Forza Motorsport 3 is a near perfect racing game. Each car is meticulously modelled to look and behave realistically; the sounds, the in-car view, the race courses are all stunning. The career is very deep; I've played nearly 60 hours and I'm nearing the end of my final, 6th racing season. There are over 100 events in which to compete to earn money, which you can then spend on cars, paint jobs and tuning set-ups from the storefront. There are some unbelievable car designs on the storefront, from police cars to Mass Effect 2 art-inspired designs. The game has been backed up with DLC too, all of which is included in the Ultimate Edition of the game. There are over 500 cars to choose from here, but beware if you don't have a hard drive, there is a hefty 1.3GB+ to install if you want to enjoy the full experience. The only downsides of this game are lack of dynamic weather and day/night conditions; perhaps this will be added in the next instalment. Expand
  23. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = One of the best racing games on console, if not THE best. This game is better than any Gran Turismo game in my opinion.
  24. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    One of the best racing games available, might not look as good as Gran Turismo 5 but the single player mode in Forza 3 is easy to recommend over GT5's single player offering.
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    0
    The singlemost biggest mistake to buy this game. This game did not meet my axpectations at all. Going to burn my copy in an oven then pick up Gran Turismo 5.
  26. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it's kind of ridiculous. This is a great game. If you have an Xbox 360 and you like cars, this is your game. Expand
  27. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    You'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, and flywheels. The amount you can to is unrivaled.

    The visuals are stunning, while lacking the visual flair of games like Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, you must keep in mind the game is running a physics engine 360 times every second which draws alot of resources. To be able to run that while still locking itself at a solid 60 frames per second is impressive.

    The career mode is LONG. You could play a new race every day for months and not be able to finish up. Re-playability is this games forte.

    With the Ultimate Collection edition of the game available, any racing fan should have this game if they hadn't already bought it.
    Expand
  28. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Nice cars all around, seems like they really took their time with all 400 or so cars in the game. Would have liked more but i guess this is more about quality over quantity. The problem i have with it though is the extra cars that are coming in as downloads. They're nice additions (who wouldn't want to try out the new 458 italia), beautiful cars but I don't think i should pay for all those downloads, seems like a excuse to make more money off the game...

    But this doesn't change the face that the game is well made and well paced. I just wish i didn't have to pay extra for the cars i want, turning a 60 dollar game to a 100 dollar game...
    Microsoft...oh you... sometimes ...
    Expand
  29. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    If you want n64 quality graphics a crappy menu system and 200 cars with interiors(20% of the game) with worse damage get GT5. Forza is the BEST sim this gen
  30. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This game is the best racing simulator you can find as of December 2010. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and some tracks feel too out of place. The game sounds are the best in any racer IMO and the graphics are super, although graphics aren't everything remember!. If you are a fan of past iterations of Forza or cars in general this game was made for you. Expand
  31. d0x
    Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Its pretty simple really. Forza is an amazing racing game with incredibly deep customization options. It has an excellent sim physics engine originally designed by Microsoft for auto insurance companies and the police to simulate driving conditions in accidents and to rate cars for insurance quotes. The engine is insanely complex and as far as sim racing games go it is top notch. Ive heard lots of people say it isnt on par with Gran Turismo which is beyond untrue. Anyone who has ever had any experience racing fast cars can tell you Forza is very accurate in the way cars perform. The simulation engine is complex enough to measure airflow around side skirts which is just unheard of in games. Everything matters, even tire tread depth from wear. If your vehicle gets damage and there is a dent on the bumper you can pull up vehicle telemetry and see how its effecting airflow and thus speed/handling. You wont find that in any other game.

    Forza may not be the prettiest racing game ever created. Its own developers admit to this fact. They have said from day 1 that the physics simulation is more important than just pretty graphics so most of the system resources are being put to use making sure cars drive like cars. That being said Forza 3 is no visual slouch and can easily hold its own with other games. It is by no means ugly. Currently its being compared on a visual level with Gran Turismo 5. Owning both games I can say neither game looks better than the other. For example GT5's premium cars(200 total) look better than Forza's cars. However the standard cars (of which there are 800) look worse than anything in Forza 3. Forza also has higher quality lighting and makes better use of HDR. It also has far better shadows than GT5 but GT5 has better smoke and particle effects. In terms of tracks that are about equal.

    If you are looking for an amazingly deep racing sim this is the game for you. If you are a casual fan this is still the game for you. You can get pretuned cars, you can turn steering and braking assists on and following the driving line. Anyone can play this game and have fun. Even someone who justs like designed complex paint schemes can have fun making cars and selling them.

    Me? How do I play? I sit in my Playseats Evolution Forza 3 special edition racing chair. My MS FF racing wheel mounted to it. I shut the music off and turn car effects to 100% and i race. This game is nothing short of amazing!
    Expand
  32. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    This game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievements are very linear and don't appeal very much to the completest nature of the second game in the series. I was looking forward to having absurd tasks like collecting every car and completing every time trial, but this game was built around the hand holding 'I win' button crowd. You play the game and hit buttons and you will get free gamerscore as long as you stick through the games linear plot. It lays out races before you and you can choose your own path, but if you aren't chosing the races they decide are involved in your season, then you are not advancing through the game. Upgrading can be robotic as clicking a button and letting the CPU feed you a list of parts that would be 'helpful' for your next race. If you do mess up in a race, you can hit a button and rewind to where you messed up and start over. While this is super great on a very long endurance race where your batteries die, someone gets in front the TV, etc, it just sums up the whole feeling this game has towards itself. Its very accessable. While I disagree with a lot of these choices, the fact is, this is how you design video games in 2010 and beyond. Anyone could have fun in this game as long as they have an intrest in cars or racing in general. For the hardcore enthusiast there is plenty to achieve with 100's of leaderboards, drift races and a huge amount of DLC content that comes with the Ultimate edition. This game is designed to suck up 100's of hours of your life and I for one will let it. I would really like see some of those super completist achievements and the ability to lock out the 'rewind' function totally by difficulty settings in Forza 4. This doesn't make sense when the game rewards you for setting everything to simulation settings and brutally hard AI for a better rewards, yet you still have the ability to rewind the game at any time. Of course its optional to use, but it simply shouldn't be there at all at the hardest level of playing. This is something they stole from "Grid" but didn't quite understand what to do with it. (ie: limit it). Still this is the best time consuming race game out there for me and with the Ultimate edition dirt cheap, its a no brainer to own it if you don't and even remotely love racing games. Expand
  33. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    LOL @ PS3 fanboys voting this game zero. :D :D

    I own both consoles and have played GT5 and this game extensively.

    It's not perfect and lags behind GT5 as far as night driving and weather effects are concerned but if Turn 10 watch the fan reaction to Gran Turismo 5 closely and learn from Polyphony's howling mistakes as far as user interface they'll clean up with Forza 4.
  34. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    Rewind option is hands down the best racing game feature ever. So far I love the game. Music is mundane, but didn't buy it for the music. Graphics are great and loving the game so far. Love the braking assist. Hard mode is a little too hard and medium is a good setting, but I wish there was a between mode. Oh well. Fun racing game overall.
  35. May 26, 2011
    8
    Bought the ultimate edition that includes all the DLC. Best bargain ever! I love this game for the longevity it has. I hear people complain about online, but I don't play online so for me it is brilliant. Very good game. 521 cars. Don't know how many tracks, super realistic. What's not to love?
  36. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    An incredibly well designed driving sim. Now I have never played any previous sims before but when i compare this to this to other racing games such as need for speed, they pale in comparison. One of my favorite parts about this game was how realistic the cars felt. When I rounded a corner my car would barely hold onto the tracks. To sum up absolutely outstanding racing sim.
  37. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    I am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that I play thoset titles often, my first glance at FM3 made me recheck my console settings if I was running this at 1080p. Well, I did. Graphically this game is almost the same as FM2, just average. And no, I don`t rate graphics by watching the showcase rooms but the actual gameplay. **** are just rubbish, there is hardly any head movement that would show some G forces experienced by the driver. While driving in FM3 I feel as if I was a camera inside the car, steering it by a radio controller. The sense of speed is mediocre. The racing locations are merely on par with the competition. I love everything else about this game, but it doesn`t change the general impression one bit. When I feel like driving a virtual supercar, I choose NFS SHIFT or Gran Turismo. Expand
  38. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing game on the XBOX 360 and the second best racing game on a console. It is a sim racer, meaning it's true life. GT5 is the better sim racer and has better graphics (only on important cars), but that's where it stops. Customization, uploading, multiplayer, menus, lobbies, cars, mods... they're all better on Forza 3 and it makes for a better experience. Career mode is okay, but it's just simple series races of up to 5 races. I'd like more. I like season standings and competitive enemy drivers. Unfortunately the AI drivers in career never drive modded cars and it's easy to beat them until you get into R1 or maybe R2. I personally don't have a problem beating the computer at any time, on any difficulty, in anyclass. But it's still fun, just not as good as it should be. Multiplayer and customization is where it's at. It has THE best customization for cars in any game, ever. I won't go into detail, cause I could sit here and tell you more and more things. Mutiplayer is a blast and I like the Truskill ranking system. There are plenty of driver assists that can make even the worst driver, decent. If you like racing games and you have a 360, you HAVE to pick this up. Collapse
  39. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    I will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks are great,with some fantastic new ones,& more of them,& a much welcome **** view..Theres more cars than before,with i think,an improved career mode,that tracks what kind of races you like,& car your driving,& offers you appropriate events.GREAT! but now onto the negatives.. Theres too many races in the career,that are one on one races,& they seem to repeat,& seems to last for what feels like an age.. It feels a real chore to do.The music for the most part in the game,is not very good,forcing you to turn it off,or rely onthe 360's dash custom playlist,that is deeply flawed,by not letting you randomise the playlist,so your listening to the songs at the front of your playlist every new play session(very annoying).. The racing itself plays well,& you can play splitscreen against the CPU,& even form teams,which is sorely missing from GT5,as is the performance index for cars,but theres a major problem,or flaw with this game,& that is the Multiplayer.. As i said,i REALLY enjoyed that aspect in No 2,but Turn 10 has all but killed it in No 3!.. See for yourself,the lobbys for it are practically deserted.. How did they accomplish this feat in their self proclamed 'Definitive Racing Game'? They basically took away the ability to create or join a public race with custom rules & restrictions.Unless its a private race.GREAT,how many people out there can get races organised with people on their friends list? not alot.I certainly cant.No,its all matchmaking now.So you have a very limited set of choices of the kind of race you want to race in,but THATS IT! You want to race against other people who arnt using auto braking? forget it,People using Braking lines? forget it,What track your going to race on? Nope.forget it.forget any kind of choice,or keeping the same crowd,but just changing any of the race details.I cant believe Turn 10 actually implimented this massively flawed system to the online part of this game.. If it wasnt for that MAJOR issue,this game would've got an easy 9 from me,& i suspect a better score from many others.Also because of that issue,the game has been grossly overated by the critics.Ah well,better luck with Forza 4.Fingers crossed.. Expand
  40. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    I'm not really a fan of car games, but Forza Motorsport 3 caught my attention. With many cars to choose from, and many tracks to race on, this is a game that will keep you entertained.
  41. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    Complete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't like the online and many of the talented artists still go on forza 2 due to the bureaucratic censorhip of "inappropriate content". Whilst the career mode offers a greater variety in cars and events, there is still no drift mode- only circuit, sprints and drag races (which are EXTREMELY BORING). There are just enough additions to qualify for a sequel to Forza 2, but it's not as special. Still, a game that is worth recommending to anyone. You get more assist options, more tracks, cars, modes, events, drift leaderboards, time trials (which are secretly hidden away under the leaderboards menu), cckpit view and a structured season play. OK yes, every kind of car you can dream of, everything you'd ever want to do to it- upgrading, tuning, ANY paint job/livery etc. that's all well and good. But the gameplay has NOT changed. Turn 10 have failed to add additional game modes and objectives. Shift, for example, emphasises additional objectives and such so that even if all you're doing is driving around a track, there's always something else to go for- a greater goal. Here it just feels like grinding and, given the lack of a sense of speed (despite the unbelievably smooth framerate); I cannot recommend this game over NFS Shift as a game. As a simulator, it's excellent. I wouldn't say this game is as mainstream as Microsoft make out- it gets boring relatively quickly despite the plethora of assists available. Expand
  42. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge GT5 fan and after playing this game for 8 hrs straight at a friends place, I'm addicted. Selling my ps3, gt5 and buying an xbox for Forza 4 alone. The graphics are stunning and the physics are by far the best in any race game ever!
  43. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    I'm not much of a race car fan. I have never gotten into racing games but bought this used because a guest was coming up for a week and loves racing games. I have to say this is an incredible game. I have gotten lost in the designs and even the game play has had me on the edge of my seat. I've even got my eye on picking up a new copy of Forza Motorsport 4 thanks to my experience with 3!
  44. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. I have played lots of racing games and none have captured me the way this one has. The cars, parts, and car customization is one of my favorite parts. The only problem is the steep learning curve on adjusting the cars specific details if you don't know anything about cars.
  45. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    I want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish and unlike other games of the genre you are never really in the driving seat.. You are always aware that this is just another game. Expand
  46. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    It was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is the same thing over and over again. Expand
  47. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    First of all I do not own a X box 360 but I have played Forza 3 quite a bit. Firstly I really enjoyed the amount of creativity you could do to your cars visually, which some games simply don't offer. The driving was also quite fun and the competition was for he most part equal.
  48. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game, if you love racing. Expand
  49. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    More of an add on to Forza 2 rather than a stand alone as, apart from a little tweak of the gameplay mechanics, the game is just the same except for added tracks and additional cars made between the two games. Worth getting for cheap if you have hammered 2 to the point of death.
  50. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    This is the best racing game on the XBOX 360 and the second best racing game on a console. It is a sim racer, meaning it's true life. GT5 is the better sim racer and has better graphics (only on important cars), but that's where it stops. Customization, uploading, multiplayer, menus, lobbies, cars, mods... they're all better on Forza 3 and it makes for a better experience. Career mode is okay, but it's just simple series races of up to 5 races. I'd like more. I like season standings and competitive enemy drivers. Unfortunately the AI drivers in career never drive modded cars and it's easy to beat them until you get into R1 or maybe R2. I personally don't have a problem beating the computer at any time, on any difficulty, in anyclass. But it's still fun, just not as good as it should be. Multiplayer and customization is where it's at. It has THE best customization for cars in any game, ever. I won't go into detail, cause I could sit here and tell you more and more things. Mutiplayer is a blast and I like the Truskill ranking system. There are plenty of driver assists that can make even the worst driver, decent. If you like racing games and you have a 360, you HAVE to pick this up. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.