Forza Motorsport 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 478 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 478

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    6
    What can I say, it was a pretty good game, but never really stuck around with me. Only logged in about an hour and a a half. Might pop it in my 360 soon.
  2. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    More of an add on to Forza 2 rather than a stand alone as, apart from a little tweak of the gameplay mechanics, the game is just the same except for added tracks and additional cars made between the two games. Worth getting for cheap if you have hammered 2 to the point of death.
  3. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game,I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game, if you love racing. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    It was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is theIt was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is the same thing over and over again. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    I want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish andI want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish and unlike other games of the genre you are never really in the driving seat.. You are always aware that this is just another game. Collapse
  6. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    Complete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't likeComplete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't like the online and many of the talented artists still go on forza 2 due to the bureaucratic censorhip of "inappropriate content". Whilst the career mode offers a greater variety in cars and events, there is still no drift mode- only circuit, sprints and drag races (which are EXTREMELY BORING). There are just enough additions to qualify for a sequel to Forza 2, but it's not as special. Still, a game that is worth recommending to anyone. You get more assist options, more tracks, cars, modes, events, drift leaderboards, time trials (which are secretly hidden away under the leaderboards menu), cckpit view and a structured season play. OK yes, every kind of car you can dream of, everything you'd ever want to do to it- upgrading, tuning, ANY paint job/livery etc. that's all well and good. But the gameplay has NOT changed. Turn 10 have failed to add additional game modes and objectives. Shift, for example, emphasises additional objectives and such so that even if all you're doing is driving around a track, there's always something else to go for- a greater goal. Here it just feels like grinding and, given the lack of a sense of speed (despite the unbelievably smooth framerate); I cannot recommend this game over NFS Shift as a game. As a simulator, it's excellent. I wouldn't say this game is as mainstream as Microsoft make out- it gets boring relatively quickly despite the plethora of assists available. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    I am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that II am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that I play thoset titles often, my first glance at FM3 made me recheck my console settings if I was running this at 1080p. Well, I did. Graphically this game is almost the same as FM2, just average. And no, I don`t rate graphics by watching the showcase rooms but the actual gameplay. **** are just rubbish, there is hardly any head movement that would show some G forces experienced by the driver. While driving in FM3 I feel as if I was a camera inside the car, steering it by a radio controller. The sense of speed is mediocre. The racing locations are merely on par with the competition. I love everything else about this game, but it doesn`t change the general impression one bit. When I feel like driving a virtual supercar, I choose NFS SHIFT or Gran Turismo. Expand
  8. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Listen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, itListen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, it would be the PS3. Of course, I purchased GT5 and played the hell out of it... but I felt like something was missing. I couldn't figure out what, but even though I was happy with GT5, I thought, "Maybe IGN is right; if I liked GT5, maybe Forza will blow my mind... I remember how much I used to enjoy it...." - That was enough for me to buy another Xbox; luckily my nephew had an extra one. The second I got my "new" xbox, I ran to gamestop, literally, and picked up a long sought after copy of Forza 3....

    I havent played it, or my Xbox 360 since.... No offense to Xbox fans; its a great system; I just dont own many games for it... and as I played Forza 3, I found myself completely disappointed. I found it unremarkable. The worst part, the part I just couldn't ignore, I found the cars themselves to be incredibly sluggish. The anti-aliasing is lower; the graphics aren't as crisp as I was used to seeing; I also found the track design uninspired. The handling was the worst, by far; even after turning off every assist possible, it felt like driving a car in grand theft auto. Even watching the players hands in the **** view, I kept thinking "Really? Come on, you ass, turn the wheel faster!" Like I said, I'm the farthest thing from a fanboy as you can get. When I think of games, I think of it as, "Well, I own a playstation so I'll get this playstation game" - for me, its a logistical question. Though after playing Gran Turismo 5, something so far from perfect, I found myself completely bored and almost amused at Forza 3. I can see why its popular; I think its earned its rightful spot in the video game hall of fame; but I didnt buy it to put a hello kitty sticker on my bumper; I bought it to smoke tires and dominate chicanes; and in that regard, I think Forza takes a distant 2nd to GT5; a good enough game, but outclassed as a simulator and once you had the best, its hard to enjoy the rest...
    Expand
  9. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    I will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks areI will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks are great,with some fantastic new ones,& more of them,& a much welcome **** view..Theres more cars than before,with i think,an improved career mode,that tracks what kind of races you like,& car your driving,& offers you appropriate events.GREAT! but now onto the negatives.. Theres too many races in the career,that are one on one races,& they seem to repeat,& seems to last for what feels like an age.. It feels a real chore to do.The music for the most part in the game,is not very good,forcing you to turn it off,or rely onthe 360's dash custom playlist,that is deeply flawed,by not letting you randomise the playlist,so your listening to the songs at the front of your playlist every new play session(very annoying).. The racing itself plays well,& you can play splitscreen against the CPU,& even form teams,which is sorely missing from GT5,as is the performance index for cars,but theres a major problem,or flaw with this game,& that is the Multiplayer.. As i said,i REALLY enjoyed that aspect in No 2,but Turn 10 has all but killed it in No 3!.. See for yourself,the lobbys for it are practically deserted.. How did they accomplish this feat in their self proclamed 'Definitive Racing Game'? They basically took away the ability to create or join a public race with custom rules & restrictions.Unless its a private race.GREAT,how many people out there can get races organised with people on their friends list? not alot.I certainly cant.No,its all matchmaking now.So you have a very limited set of choices of the kind of race you want to race in,but THATS IT! You want to race against other people who arnt using auto braking? forget it,People using Braking lines? forget it,What track your going to race on? Nope.forget it.forget any kind of choice,or keeping the same crowd,but just changing any of the race details.I cant believe Turn 10 actually implimented this massively flawed system to the online part of this game.. If it wasnt for that MAJOR issue,this game would've got an easy 9 from me,& i suspect a better score from many others.Also because of that issue,the game has been grossly overated by the critics.Ah well,better luck with Forza 4.Fingers crossed.. Expand
  10. rayw
    Dec 6, 2009
    5
    if its a 6 cylinder it sounds like every other 6 in the game same for 8's and 4's and all engines there seems to be only 6 engine tones to cover there entire "400" car range. with is just a statistical lie. a good 10% of the cars are the exact same car just from a different racing team meaning content wise its the exact same car with a new paint job. any of the recant cars that if its a 6 cylinder it sounds like every other 6 in the game same for 8's and 4's and all engines there seems to be only 6 engine tones to cover there entire "400" car range. with is just a statistical lie. a good 10% of the cars are the exact same car just from a different racing team meaning content wise its the exact same car with a new paint job. any of the recant cars that came out this year that you drool over are locked unless u by the damn near 80 dollar version. if rwd it handels like all other rwd's same again for front and awd. the cars have no caracteristics of their own. when fully build only power and drivtrain determin the feel of the car. the driver assist make you all but invinceble and the match making its retarded at best. congrats to turn 10 for taking a hardcore sim racer and making it an arcade game. i guess loyalty to your fans dies in comparason to accesability to everyone. i pass the controler to my 3 year old sister and let her do the races for me and ill just buy and build a bunch of cars with drivetrains that dont belong in them and numb feeling. 60 bucks well spend Expand
  11. ec
    Nov 29, 2009
    5
    Forza 3 is an average looking and feeling sim racer that moves along at a snail's pace, and is low on the "fun" factor. Car customization is less significant than in other similar games. Well constructed, but very run of the mill.
  12. Samm
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    Im just gonna compare it to Forza 2, Gampley: it feel completely as FM2, no major changes, the cars feels more the same now, they don't have the unique feeling of each car, turn 10 kind of made this game more arcady, and that a let down. Value: the game ships with 400 cars and 19 Environments with a total of 90 Track layouts. the career mode is very good and it take some time to Im just gonna compare it to Forza 2, Gampley: it feel completely as FM2, no major changes, the cars feels more the same now, they don't have the unique feeling of each car, turn 10 kind of made this game more arcady, and that a let down. Value: the game ships with 400 cars and 19 Environments with a total of 90 Track layouts. the career mode is very good and it take some time to finish it. Graphics: Minor improvements, like slightly better lights, more polycounts, but over all if compare the two games ( FM2 and FM3) they look the same, the damage modele are not as good as the damage in Forza 2. The good: Online, good Carree mode, and more cars The bad: outdated damage models, weak AI, feels more arcady. Expand
  13. FPSMaster
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    This game can be fun for a couple of days, but it gets boring fast. 3 Forza's in a little over 4 years and no matter what they do to them each new one always gets boring faster than the last. It seems with each sequel more time is put into behind the scenes stuff like decals, vinyls and upgrading while racing and physics along with sense of speed and excitement take a back seat. This game can be fun for a couple of days, but it gets boring fast. 3 Forza's in a little over 4 years and no matter what they do to them each new one always gets boring faster than the last. It seems with each sequel more time is put into behind the scenes stuff like decals, vinyls and upgrading while racing and physics along with sense of speed and excitement take a back seat. In-car view (and half done at that) is the only new feature othe than the rewing button. Graphics are overrated and are just more colorful than Forza 2, but no better. Race Pro is still more realisitc and PGR4 is still more exciting, so it leaves this exclusive series stuck somewhere in between in no man's land with bland racing and too many features that make it less a racing game and more a car and design creation/auctioning tool. But the actual racing is flat out boring and the physics are still ridiculously off for a so-called sim. Bring back PGR, and bring back Bizarre Creations to Xbox for exciting racing games please. Expand
  14. PhillipMurphy
    Nov 4, 2009
    6
    The graphics are very good.... the end There are far too many championships for the game, they have taken out the tournaments what glued me to the last one, and i jsut feel a little disapointed, The only thing said about the new forza is "what amazing graphics" but thats all anybody can really say tbh compared to number 2
  15. JohnS
    Oct 28, 2009
    5
    The 'Roll and Roar' before every race is horrible and gets old after eight hours or so. The online matchmaking system is horrible. The Turn 10 servrs decide what you race and on what track and for how many laps with NO choice in WHO you want to race with. For that you have to create a PRIVATE room and invite people. Good luck with that. And on top of that the Turn 10 website is The 'Roll and Roar' before every race is horrible and gets old after eight hours or so. The online matchmaking system is horrible. The Turn 10 servrs decide what you race and on what track and for how many laps with NO choice in WHO you want to race with. For that you have to create a PRIVATE room and invite people. Good luck with that. And on top of that the Turn 10 website is now removing critical reviews of the game from their forums, leaving the illusion that all is well with the game, that everyone enjoys what they have produced. Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    I want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish andI want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish and unlike other games of the genre you are never really in the driving seat.. You are always aware that this is just another game. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.