User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 473 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 473

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2014
    6
    What can I say, it was a pretty good game, but never really stuck around with me. Only logged in about an hour and a a half. Might pop it in my 360 soon.
  2. May 29, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 9.0

    A great improvement of Forza 2, especially on the much more detailed look and textures. Nice game.
  3. May 2, 2014
    9
    This is my favorite racing game and series to date. Feels good and highly customizable. I haven't played any since this one, because my 3rd and final XBroke 360 sh*t the bed and I got locked out of my account to boot. Needless to say I will not be buying an Sh*tbox One. F*ck you, Microsoft. You pieces of sh*t. Great game, though!
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    More of an add on to Forza 2 rather than a stand alone as, apart from a little tweak of the gameplay mechanics, the game is just the same except for added tracks and additional cars made between the two games. Worth getting for cheap if you have hammered 2 to the point of death.
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game,I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game, if you love racing. Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    First of all I do not own a X box 360 but I have played Forza 3 quite a bit. Firstly I really enjoyed the amount of creativity you could do to your cars visually, which some games simply don't offer. The driving was also quite fun and the competition was for he most part equal.
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    It was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is theIt was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is the same thing over and over again. Expand
  8. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    I want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish andI want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish and unlike other games of the genre you are never really in the driving seat.. You are always aware that this is just another game. Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. I have played lots of racing games and none have captured me the way this one has. The cars, parts, and car customization is one of my favorite parts. The only problem is the steep learning curve on adjusting the cars specific details if you don't know anything about cars.
  10. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    I'm not much of a race car fan. I have never gotten into racing games but bought this used because a guest was coming up for a week and loves racing games. I have to say this is an incredible game. I have gotten lost in the designs and even the game play has had me on the edge of my seat. I've even got my eye on picking up a new copy of Forza Motorsport 4 thanks to my experience with 3!
  11. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    Complete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't likeComplete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't like the online and many of the talented artists still go on forza 2 due to the bureaucratic censorhip of "inappropriate content". Whilst the career mode offers a greater variety in cars and events, there is still no drift mode- only circuit, sprints and drag races (which are EXTREMELY BORING). There are just enough additions to qualify for a sequel to Forza 2, but it's not as special. Still, a game that is worth recommending to anyone. You get more assist options, more tracks, cars, modes, events, drift leaderboards, time trials (which are secretly hidden away under the leaderboards menu), cckpit view and a structured season play. OK yes, every kind of car you can dream of, everything you'd ever want to do to it- upgrading, tuning, ANY paint job/livery etc. that's all well and good. But the gameplay has NOT changed. Turn 10 have failed to add additional game modes and objectives. Shift, for example, emphasises additional objectives and such so that even if all you're doing is driving around a track, there's always something else to go for- a greater goal. Here it just feels like grinding and, given the lack of a sense of speed (despite the unbelievably smooth framerate); I cannot recommend this game over NFS Shift as a game. As a simulator, it's excellent. I wouldn't say this game is as mainstream as Microsoft make out- it gets boring relatively quickly despite the plethora of assists available. Expand
  12. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing video game so I like this game a lot so I give this game..................... 9/10 really this game deserves !!!!! this rating
  13. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge GT5 fan and after playing this game for 8 hrs straight at a friends place, I'm addicted. Selling my ps3, gt5 and buying an xbox for Forza 4 alone. The graphics are stunning and the physics are by far the best in any race game ever!
  14. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    great game amazing graphics so much cars 400 is a lot and forza 4 as 500 top gear is their so get that technology gets better over time this game was amazing 2 years later the new game comes out 10/10
  15. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    I am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that II am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that I play thoset titles often, my first glance at FM3 made me recheck my console settings if I was running this at 1080p. Well, I did. Graphically this game is almost the same as FM2, just average. And no, I don`t rate graphics by watching the showcase rooms but the actual gameplay. **** are just rubbish, there is hardly any head movement that would show some G forces experienced by the driver. While driving in FM3 I feel as if I was a camera inside the car, steering it by a radio controller. The sense of speed is mediocre. The racing locations are merely on par with the competition. I love everything else about this game, but it doesn`t change the general impression one bit. When I feel like driving a virtual supercar, I choose NFS SHIFT or Gran Turismo. Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Listen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, itListen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, it would be the PS3. Of course, I purchased GT5 and played the hell out of it... but I felt like something was missing. I couldn't figure out what, but even though I was happy with GT5, I thought, "Maybe IGN is right; if I liked GT5, maybe Forza will blow my mind... I remember how much I used to enjoy it...." - That was enough for me to buy another Xbox; luckily my nephew had an extra one. The second I got my "new" xbox, I ran to gamestop, literally, and picked up a long sought after copy of Forza 3....

    I havent played it, or my Xbox 360 since.... No offense to Xbox fans; its a great system; I just dont own many games for it... and as I played Forza 3, I found myself completely disappointed. I found it unremarkable. The worst part, the part I just couldn't ignore, I found the cars themselves to be incredibly sluggish. The anti-aliasing is lower; the graphics aren't as crisp as I was used to seeing; I also found the track design uninspired. The handling was the worst, by far; even after turning off every assist possible, it felt like driving a car in grand theft auto. Even watching the players hands in the **** view, I kept thinking "Really? Come on, you ass, turn the wheel faster!" Like I said, I'm the farthest thing from a fanboy as you can get. When I think of games, I think of it as, "Well, I own a playstation so I'll get this playstation game" - for me, its a logistical question. Though after playing Gran Turismo 5, something so far from perfect, I found myself completely bored and almost amused at Forza 3. I can see why its popular; I think its earned its rightful spot in the video game hall of fame; but I didnt buy it to put a hello kitty sticker on my bumper; I bought it to smoke tires and dominate chicanes; and in that regard, I think Forza takes a distant 2nd to GT5; a good enough game, but outclassed as a simulator and once you had the best, its hard to enjoy the rest...
    Expand
  17. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    I'm not really a fan of car games, but Forza Motorsport 3 caught my attention. With many cars to choose from, and many tracks to race on, this is a game that will keep you entertained.
  18. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    For a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listeningFor a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listening to my dreams and doing what makes this racing game, perfect. Expand
  19. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are asQuite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  20. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    El juego es bueno, el gameplay es excelente, lo unico malo es que el juego por el año 3 o 4 se vuelve repetitivo y a la larga aburre.
    Lo mejor es lo del retoceso de la carrera.
    Comprenlo, pidanlo prestado, rentenlo, Como sea pero jueguenlo ya.
  21. May 26, 2011
    8
    Bought the ultimate edition that includes all the DLC. Best bargain ever! I love this game for the longevity it has. I hear people complain about online, but I don't play online so for me it is brilliant. Very good game. 521 cars. Don't know how many tracks, super realistic. What's not to love?
  22. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = One of the best racing games on console, if not THE best. This game is better than any Gran Turismo game in my opinion.
  23. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    I will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks areI will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks are great,with some fantastic new ones,& more of them,& a much welcome **** view..Theres more cars than before,with i think,an improved career mode,that tracks what kind of races you like,& car your driving,& offers you appropriate events.GREAT! but now onto the negatives.. Theres too many races in the career,that are one on one races,& they seem to repeat,& seems to last for what feels like an age.. It feels a real chore to do.The music for the most part in the game,is not very good,forcing you to turn it off,or rely onthe 360's dash custom playlist,that is deeply flawed,by not letting you randomise the playlist,so your listening to the songs at the front of your playlist every new play session(very annoying).. The racing itself plays well,& you can play splitscreen against the CPU,& even form teams,which is sorely missing from GT5,as is the performance index for cars,but theres a major problem,or flaw with this game,& that is the Multiplayer.. As i said,i REALLY enjoyed that aspect in No 2,but Turn 10 has all but killed it in No 3!.. See for yourself,the lobbys for it are practically deserted.. How did they accomplish this feat in their self proclamed 'Definitive Racing Game'? They basically took away the ability to create or join a public race with custom rules & restrictions.Unless its a private race.GREAT,how many people out there can get races organised with people on their friends list? not alot.I certainly cant.No,its all matchmaking now.So you have a very limited set of choices of the kind of race you want to race in,but THATS IT! You want to race against other people who arnt using auto braking? forget it,People using Braking lines? forget it,What track your going to race on? Nope.forget it.forget any kind of choice,or keeping the same crowd,but just changing any of the race details.I cant believe Turn 10 actually implimented this massively flawed system to the online part of this game.. If it wasnt for that MAJOR issue,this game would've got an easy 9 from me,& i suspect a better score from many others.Also because of that issue,the game has been grossly overated by the critics.Ah well,better luck with Forza 4.Fingers crossed.. Expand
  24. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Growing up playing Mario Kart, I had some difficulty adjusting to Forza Motorsport when I first played the second in the series; but I'm so glad I spent the time to get to grips with it. Forza Motorsport 3 is a near perfect racing game. Each car is meticulously modelled to look and behave realistically; the sounds, the in-car view, the race courses are all stunning. The career is veryGrowing up playing Mario Kart, I had some difficulty adjusting to Forza Motorsport when I first played the second in the series; but I'm so glad I spent the time to get to grips with it. Forza Motorsport 3 is a near perfect racing game. Each car is meticulously modelled to look and behave realistically; the sounds, the in-car view, the race courses are all stunning. The career is very deep; I've played nearly 60 hours and I'm nearing the end of my final, 6th racing season. There are over 100 events in which to compete to earn money, which you can then spend on cars, paint jobs and tuning set-ups from the storefront. There are some unbelievable car designs on the storefront, from police cars to Mass Effect 2 art-inspired designs. The game has been backed up with DLC too, all of which is included in the Ultimate Edition of the game. There are over 500 cars to choose from here, but beware if you don't have a hard drive, there is a hefty 1.3GB+ to install if you want to enjoy the full experience. The only downsides of this game are lack of dynamic weather and day/night conditions; perhaps this will be added in the next instalment. Expand
  25. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing game on the XBOX 360 and the second best racing game on a console. It is a sim racer, meaning it's true life. GT5 is the better sim racer and has better graphics (only on important cars), but that's where it stops. Customization, uploading, multiplayer, menus, lobbies, cars, mods... they're all better on Forza 3 and it makes for a better experience. Career mode isThis is the best racing game on the XBOX 360 and the second best racing game on a console. It is a sim racer, meaning it's true life. GT5 is the better sim racer and has better graphics (only on important cars), but that's where it stops. Customization, uploading, multiplayer, menus, lobbies, cars, mods... they're all better on Forza 3 and it makes for a better experience. Career mode is okay, but it's just simple series races of up to 5 races. I'd like more. I like season standings and competitive enemy drivers. Unfortunately the AI drivers in career never drive modded cars and it's easy to beat them until you get into R1 or maybe R2. I personally don't have a problem beating the computer at any time, on any difficulty, in anyclass. But it's still fun, just not as good as it should be. Multiplayer and customization is where it's at. It has THE best customization for cars in any game, ever. I won't go into detail, cause I could sit here and tell you more and more things. Mutiplayer is a blast and I like the Truskill ranking system. There are plenty of driver assists that can make even the worst driver, decent. If you like racing games and you have a 360, you HAVE to pick this up. Expand
  26. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    One of the best racing games available, might not look as good as Gran Turismo 5 but the single player mode in Forza 3 is easy to recommend over GT5's single player offering.
  27. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    An incredibly well designed driving sim. Now I have never played any previous sims before but when i compare this to this to other racing games such as need for speed, they pale in comparison. One of my favorite parts about this game was how realistic the cars felt. When I rounded a corner my car would barely hold onto the tracks. To sum up absolutely outstanding racing sim.
  28. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a mustForza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a must have title for casual and hardcore gamers alike, and with a lengthy career, along with a robust multiplayer, Forza 3 will keep you behind the drivers seat for months to come, or until Forza 4 hits the shelves. Expand
  29. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    LOL @ PS3 fanboys voting this game zero. :D :D

    I own both consoles and have played GT5 and this game extensively.

    It's not perfect and lags behind GT5 as far as night driving and weather effects are concerned but if Turn 10 watch the fan reaction to Gran Turismo 5 closely and learn from Polyphony's howling mistakes as far as user interface they'll clean up with Forza 4.
  30. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    Rewind option is hands down the best racing game feature ever. So far I love the game. Music is mundane, but didn't buy it for the music. Graphics are great and loving the game so far. Love the braking assist. Hard mode is a little too hard and medium is a good setting, but I wish there was a between mode. Oh well. Fun racing game overall.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.