User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 476 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 476

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping thisLets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  2. TonyP
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I'm a huge Forza fan and have always preferred the Forza games over other simulators so I kind of went into this game thinking it would be good. But WOW! This game is Amazing! So many cars of different types not just 20 different variations of Civics to boost numbers. Your favorite car is in this game, I guarantee it. So many things to talk about in this game! First off my only I'm a huge Forza fan and have always preferred the Forza games over other simulators so I kind of went into this game thinking it would be good. But WOW! This game is Amazing! So many cars of different types not just 20 different variations of Civics to boost numbers. Your favorite car is in this game, I guarantee it. So many things to talk about in this game! First off my only complaint is that it starts out slow showing you the feeling of how the game work and has you doing a lap or two in an R8 they give you. Kind of annoying as it amounts to nothing but I see why they did this for the casual gamer so it wouldn't be too daunting. But once you get past that the floodgates open with TONS of stuff to do! There's the auction house, which if you've played Forza 2, they added Way more search features and added in buying liveries, decals, paint job designs, etc. The auction house is a place where you can just lose track of time looking through all the beautiful designs people have put on their cars from typical car paint job, to movie references, to internet memes, to just about anything! Seriously it's Photoshop for cars! Then there's the customization and tuning. So many parts, so much tweaking, it's just crazy! It's also cool they put an auto-upgrade for the non-hardcore crowd to make it simpler to upgrade for later. The online is amazing as well with official tournaments that are an awesome way to show your stuff off and show others up! The pick up and play is also amazing! If you play with other friends playing online, the game asks you if you want to join their room right when you hit multiplayer so it's ridiculously easy to get a room with friends going! Drags are also extremely fun! And the game just looks beautiful! I mean how did they do all this in just 2.5 years time?! Every car has damage and looks and feels exactly as it should before, and after you damage it! Except totaling your car is harder that it should be if I'm honest. I could go on to talk about how amazing this game is but I don't want to right an essay. Bottom line, buy this game if you like, sim racers, cars, racing games, or heck, games at all! There's no excuse you shouldn't buy this! Oh! Get a racing wheel! I have the official Microsoft wheel and it's amazing! It feels exactly like a real car! Or if you've got the money, spring for the Porsche wheel with clutch, 6 speed shifter, and drift LED, and with a Playseat. Just google it. I would upgrade myself but it's soooo expensive! Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are asQuite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Best racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars is particularly favourable.
  5. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a mustForza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a must have title for casual and hardcore gamers alike, and with a lengthy career, along with a robust multiplayer, Forza 3 will keep you behind the drivers seat for months to come, or until Forza 4 hits the shelves. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    El juego es bueno, el gameplay es excelente, lo unico malo es que el juego por el año 3 o 4 se vuelve repetitivo y a la larga aburre.
    Lo mejor es lo del retoceso de la carrera.
    Comprenlo, pidanlo prestado, rentenlo, Como sea pero jueguenlo ya.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    For a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listeningFor a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listening to my dreams and doing what makes this racing game, perfect. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    great game amazing graphics so much cars 400 is a lot and forza 4 as 500 top gear is their so get that technology gets better over time this game was amazing 2 years later the new game comes out 10/10
  9. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing video game so I like this game a lot so I give this game..................... 9/10 really this game deserves !!!!! this rating
  10. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Best racing game this gen on consoles. Auction House, Livery Editor, Storefront, Tuning, Extreme customization, Matchmaking, **** for all cars etc make it extremely enjoyable for all those people sour after GT5 failed to meet expectations.

    I agree with 92 metacritic!
  11. NiklasA.
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    I was never a real fan of racing games. But I bought Forza Motorsport 3 in hopes that Microsoft would be able to satisfy me another time, and thankfully I was thrilled with the game. There are a few details that bug me, such as the static tire barricade on the road side, and how fast you come to a stop when driving on grass. Multiplayer isnt to great, but ONLY because im horrible at it. I I was never a real fan of racing games. But I bought Forza Motorsport 3 in hopes that Microsoft would be able to satisfy me another time, and thankfully I was thrilled with the game. There are a few details that bug me, such as the static tire barricade on the road side, and how fast you come to a stop when driving on grass. Multiplayer isnt to great, but ONLY because im horrible at it. I have been destroyed multiple times online, so I stick with single player. to avoid the humilitation. I congratulate Microsoft with their well thought investment in Turn 10. Expand
  12. Maxie
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I like this game is perfect, nice graphic, nice car huge options, and i like the new first person camera is more real. 400 cars nice number and my favorite part is upgrade the cars and custom options.
  13. RicardoL.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    great game... large enough for spending weeks on. achievements are easy and downloadable content is cheap.
  14. PhillipN
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best racing games ever. The presentation is a bit sterile, Under Control really needs slashed from the soundtrack, and the backdrops are hit and miss, but otherwise it's hard to complain here.
  15. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    FM3 is an awesome racing game, maybe one of the best simulations up to date. The graphics are great and the cars available are simply WOW! Once you start racing, you won't hang up that easy, especially on the 2 player mode. As for my part, the only thing missing is more urban circuits, like in towns or cities.
    Else, it's a great piece of game. I recommend it.
  16. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Better than Gt5 metacritic says it all.
  17. gregm
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    It has the best tracks and customization in a sim racer ever. The rumble is the best and is relevant for its feedback and it has awesome online modes
  18. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Forza 3 is a fantastic game and to me it actually feels like you are driving a powerful car around a track, unlike GT5 which to me feels like you're driving on rails.

    Oh and i own both games. Check out this AI comparison video, and tell me which is better FM3 or GT5

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox70Ho9_jX4&feature=player_embedded
  19. WiliamJ
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Forza 3 is a very polished and accoplished game. Its an upgrade of forza 2. It has some loading and pop in problems, so minor but still catches the eye. Multiplayer component has been smoothed out, less lag and stuff. Make sure you have gold membership. This isn't a 10 game because of the bugs and pop in.
  20. Niki
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    There is honestly not really anything I can criticize about this game! You want a fantastic sim with endless tuning possibilities and customization - it's got it. You want an accessible racer that you can pick up and play without needing any driving ability - it's got it. You want to have a fantastic online community with millions of tuning set ups, designs and cars up for sale There is honestly not really anything I can criticize about this game! You want a fantastic sim with endless tuning possibilities and customization - it's got it. You want an accessible racer that you can pick up and play without needing any driving ability - it's got it. You want to have a fantastic online community with millions of tuning set ups, designs and cars up for sale - it's got it. Whatever aspect of racers or cars you are looking for, it's got it. Just a phenomenal game, I can't recommend it enough. Expand
  21. markman5000
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Very addictive and flashy forza motorsport 3 shines and flourishes where other racers fall short and that is content. Forza has more quality content than you can shake a stick at and it all user created and driven. The graphics are top notch and get even more gorgeous the closer you get to the cars not a blemish in site. The driving is superbly done. And very approachable to that of all Very addictive and flashy forza motorsport 3 shines and flourishes where other racers fall short and that is content. Forza has more quality content than you can shake a stick at and it all user created and driven. The graphics are top notch and get even more gorgeous the closer you get to the cars not a blemish in site. The driving is superbly done. And very approachable to that of all ages because of the assists. the mentor has become the master as forma motorsport 3 has the crown as top dog in the genre not normal will we see a racing game hit for a possible game of the year but this might just impress the masses enough for the award. Expand
  22. L.M.
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    I'm not exactly sure what Gran Turismo 5 is going to offer but needless to say that's the only game in it's path from me saying this is the best racing game this generation. Long has the excellence of Gran Turismo been under the hood but it's helped formulate an good set of competition with Forza flexing it's racing muscle, Dirt, and GRID. While most of Forza I'm not exactly sure what Gran Turismo 5 is going to offer but needless to say that's the only game in it's path from me saying this is the best racing game this generation. Long has the excellence of Gran Turismo been under the hood but it's helped formulate an good set of competition with Forza flexing it's racing muscle, Dirt, and GRID. While most of Forza 3's new features aren't pedestal's that are later on borrowed from other series, it's a bit more of vice versa this go round. It completely enhances the casual driving game player with the best sets of "baby steps" towards being a better videogame driver and helps add things like cockpit view (which is more of a racing fan's feature) and a deeper set of customization + and online modes which makes this the most accesible driving game to the young/old, casual/hardcore, or awkwardly femine/possibly Canadian. While matchmaking's a bit off and the AI can fall asleep at times, these flaws are minor but only stand out more because of how excellent the game is. Expand
  23. JamesF
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Honestly, as a racing fan this game represents all that is great and good with the xbox 360. Turn 10 have delivered big time on the racing sim genre. Whether you are a novice racer or a seasoned pro, this game will provide you with countless hours of entertainment both off and online. Loads of beautifully presented cars? Check. Real life circuits? Check. Wonderfully thought out original Honestly, as a racing fan this game represents all that is great and good with the xbox 360. Turn 10 have delivered big time on the racing sim genre. Whether you are a novice racer or a seasoned pro, this game will provide you with countless hours of entertainment both off and online. Loads of beautifully presented cars? Check. Real life circuits? Check. Wonderfully thought out original tracks? Check. More customisation options that you can shake a stick at? Check. Enough reading about, go out there and enhance your life by purchasing a copy of Forza Motorsport 3. NOW!! Expand
  24. JamesM
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    Well..... All I can say is, Forza 3 is a great game. It's graphics are nice, gameplay is nice, and the customization is great..... BUT!!! As turn10 said themselves, it could be better. But instead of focusing on the bad, I do have one opinion that I believe should be heard. No matter how many people dis it, Forza 3 does have something that's a step above the rest. You're Well..... All I can say is, Forza 3 is a great game. It's graphics are nice, gameplay is nice, and the customization is great..... BUT!!! As turn10 said themselves, it could be better. But instead of focusing on the bad, I do have one opinion that I believe should be heard. No matter how many people dis it, Forza 3 does have something that's a step above the rest. You're able to paint almost anything you want on the cars. And that adds an INCREDIBLE amount of customization right there. Who doesn't like custom paint jobs? Expand
  25. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    There's not really much to add, but suffice to let me state facts. 100% of the Critic reviews are 'Positive'. Just over five in every seven user reviews are positive. It's obviously popular, and not without reason, like other popular games that betrayed us.
  26. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations forA great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations for buying DLC for Forza 2 obsolete. Expand
  27. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Without doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing reallyWithout doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing really add!) provide something great into an overall package. Our negatives are more with the company than the game, so we shant criticise them here however we recommend buying the October 2010 released 'Ultimate collection" as it includes ALL DLC (worth over £30) and a copy of the game (originally £40 at release) for just £24.99 upon its new release - It also includes some new stunning cars and some other extras marking a new partnership with the much loved Top Gear! Do we think this move will influence or buy over the massive Gran Turismo fanbase....Not at all, there is already a Playstation 3 market large enough waiting for this game which is guaranteed to make it sell better than FM3 without new 360s and extra copies of forza being sold. Besides, GT5 is bound to be a massive hit with its stunning visuals and long car list. Let's hope it will be released some time soon though! Well done Turn 10 but we would prefer to see Forza Motorsport 4 be an improved FM3 with more cars than a new experience to work upon the new kinect peripheral. Expand
  28. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    there is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimatelythere is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimately punished..it just doesnt bounce and i carry on regardless.ALL cars have **** view..fully customisable vehicles..no silly slider bars.the online community is vast.you can buy and sell or even gift cars to friends,as well as tuning setups and decals.i could go on and on and on stating what forza 3 has...but racing is more than driving pretty looking cars.foza 3 is not conveyor belt racing..the AI fantastic.and it clear from the reviews that forza 3 is regarded as the king of racing games.the acclaim is justified.SIMPLE AS THAT! Expand
  29. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Every review is positive unlike that other game..
  30. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Listen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, itListen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, it would be the PS3. Of course, I purchased GT5 and played the hell out of it... but I felt like something was missing. I couldn't figure out what, but even though I was happy with GT5, I thought, "Maybe IGN is right; if I liked GT5, maybe Forza will blow my mind... I remember how much I used to enjoy it...." - That was enough for me to buy another Xbox; luckily my nephew had an extra one. The second I got my "new" xbox, I ran to gamestop, literally, and picked up a long sought after copy of Forza 3....

    I havent played it, or my Xbox 360 since.... No offense to Xbox fans; its a great system; I just dont own many games for it... and as I played Forza 3, I found myself completely disappointed. I found it unremarkable. The worst part, the part I just couldn't ignore, I found the cars themselves to be incredibly sluggish. The anti-aliasing is lower; the graphics aren't as crisp as I was used to seeing; I also found the track design uninspired. The handling was the worst, by far; even after turning off every assist possible, it felt like driving a car in grand theft auto. Even watching the players hands in the **** view, I kept thinking "Really? Come on, you ass, turn the wheel faster!" Like I said, I'm the farthest thing from a fanboy as you can get. When I think of games, I think of it as, "Well, I own a playstation so I'll get this playstation game" - for me, its a logistical question. Though after playing Gran Turismo 5, something so far from perfect, I found myself completely bored and almost amused at Forza 3. I can see why its popular; I think its earned its rightful spot in the video game hall of fame; but I didnt buy it to put a hello kitty sticker on my bumper; I bought it to smoke tires and dominate chicanes; and in that regard, I think Forza takes a distant 2nd to GT5; a good enough game, but outclassed as a simulator and once you had the best, its hard to enjoy the rest...
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.