User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 464 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 464

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Best racing game this gen on consoles. Auction House, Livery Editor, Storefront, Tuning, Extreme customization, Matchmaking, **** for all cars etc make it extremely enjoyable for all those people sour after GT5 failed to meet expectations.

    I agree with 92 metacritic!
  3. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    FM3 is an awesome racing game, maybe one of the best simulations up to date. The graphics are great and the cars available are simply WOW! Once you start racing, you won't hang up that easy, especially on the 2 player mode. As for my part, the only thing missing is more urban circuits, like in towns or cities.
    Else, it's a great piece of game. I recommend it.
  4. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    Saw what MasterChef did, so following likewise... No offense to the game itself...but yeah, just to balance up things a bit. Sorry.
    They flamed the user reviews for GT5 without even trying it out. Well, I haven't tried Forza 3, wanted to...but judging from the IGN review screencaptures, I guess I'll stick to GT5, unless F3 is free.
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Forza 3 is a fantastic game and to me it actually feels like you are driving a powerful car around a track, unlike GT5 which to me feels like you're driving on rails.

    Oh and i own both games. Check out this AI comparison video, and tell me which is better FM3 or GT5

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox70Ho9_jX4&feature=player_embedded
  6. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Better than Gt5 metacritic says it all.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Listen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, it would be the PS3. Of course, I purchased GT5 and played the hell out of it... but I felt like something was missing. I couldn't figure out what, but even though I was happy with GT5, I thought, "Maybe IGN is right; if I liked GT5, maybe Forza will blow my mind... I remember how much I used to enjoy it...." - That was enough for me to buy another Xbox; luckily my nephew had an extra one. The second I got my "new" xbox, I ran to gamestop, literally, and picked up a long sought after copy of Forza 3....

    I havent played it, or my Xbox 360 since.... No offense to Xbox fans; its a great system; I just dont own many games for it... and as I played Forza 3, I found myself completely disappointed. I found it unremarkable. The worst part, the part I just couldn't ignore, I found the cars themselves to be incredibly sluggish. The anti-aliasing is lower; the graphics aren't as crisp as I was used to seeing; I also found the track design uninspired. The handling was the worst, by far; even after turning off every assist possible, it felt like driving a car in grand theft auto. Even watching the players hands in the **** view, I kept thinking "Really? Come on, you ass, turn the wheel faster!" Like I said, I'm the farthest thing from a fanboy as you can get. When I think of games, I think of it as, "Well, I own a playstation so I'll get this playstation game" - for me, its a logistical question. Though after playing Gran Turismo 5, something so far from perfect, I found myself completely bored and almost amused at Forza 3. I can see why its popular; I think its earned its rightful spot in the video game hall of fame; but I didnt buy it to put a hello kitty sticker on my bumper; I bought it to smoke tires and dominate chicanes; and in that regard, I think Forza takes a distant 2nd to GT5; a good enough game, but outclassed as a simulator and once you had the best, its hard to enjoy the rest...
    Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    There's not really much to add, but suffice to let me state facts. 100% of the Critic reviews are 'Positive'. Just over five in every seven user reviews are positive. It's obviously popular, and not without reason, like other popular games that betrayed us.
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations for buying DLC for Forza 2 obsolete. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Without doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing really add!) provide something great into an overall package. Our negatives are more with the company than the game, so we shant criticise them here however we recommend buying the October 2010 released 'Ultimate collection" as it includes ALL DLC (worth over £30) and a copy of the game (originally £40 at release) for just £24.99 upon its new release - It also includes some new stunning cars and some other extras marking a new partnership with the much loved Top Gear! Do we think this move will influence or buy over the massive Gran Turismo fanbase....Not at all, there is already a Playstation 3 market large enough waiting for this game which is guaranteed to make it sell better than FM3 without new 360s and extra copies of forza being sold. Besides, GT5 is bound to be a massive hit with its stunning visuals and long car list. Let's hope it will be released some time soon though! Well done Turn 10 but we would prefer to see Forza Motorsport 4 be an improved FM3 with more cars than a new experience to work upon the new kinect peripheral. Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Very disappointed by this game...I was expecting a great game with real like physics, but all I got was a pretty looking game with nothing in it. It all looks beautiful but the game feels hollow, physics are very arcady and the game is full of bugs. Definitely the biggest disappointment of all my Xbox 360 games so far. I guess my expectations were just too high..... GT5 over this any day
  13. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    Nothing special. It's fun to customize but it's an arcade game. Honestly I was expecting something more serious. Wait, do I need more characters? AAAAaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa I hope that's enough
  14. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    there is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimately punished..it just doesnt bounce and i carry on regardless.ALL cars have **** view..fully customisable vehicles..no silly slider bars.the online community is vast.you can buy and sell or even gift cars to friends,as well as tuning setups and decals.i could go on and on and on stating what forza 3 has...but racing is more than driving pretty looking cars.foza 3 is not conveyor belt racing..the AI fantastic.and it clear from the reviews that forza 3 is regarded as the king of racing games.the acclaim is justified.SIMPLE AS THAT! Expand
  15. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Every review is positive unlike that other game..
  16. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Best racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars is particularly favourable.
  17. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a must have title for casual and hardcore gamers alike, and with a lengthy career, along with a robust multiplayer, Forza 3 will keep you behind the drivers seat for months to come, or until Forza 4 hits the shelves. Expand
  18. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    El juego es bueno, el gameplay es excelente, lo unico malo es que el juego por el año 3 o 4 se vuelve repetitivo y a la larga aburre.
    Lo mejor es lo del retoceso de la carrera.
    Comprenlo, pidanlo prestado, rentenlo, Como sea pero jueguenlo ya.
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    For a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listening to my dreams and doing what makes this racing game, perfect. Expand
  20. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    great game amazing graphics so much cars 400 is a lot and forza 4 as 500 top gear is their so get that technology gets better over time this game was amazing 2 years later the new game comes out 10/10
  21. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing video game so I like this game a lot so I give this game..................... 9/10 really this game deserves !!!!! this rating
  22. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Growing up playing Mario Kart, I had some difficulty adjusting to Forza Motorsport when I first played the second in the series; but I'm so glad I spent the time to get to grips with it. Forza Motorsport 3 is a near perfect racing game. Each car is meticulously modelled to look and behave realistically; the sounds, the in-car view, the race courses are all stunning. The career is very deep; I've played nearly 60 hours and I'm nearing the end of my final, 6th racing season. There are over 100 events in which to compete to earn money, which you can then spend on cars, paint jobs and tuning set-ups from the storefront. There are some unbelievable car designs on the storefront, from police cars to Mass Effect 2 art-inspired designs. The game has been backed up with DLC too, all of which is included in the Ultimate Edition of the game. There are over 500 cars to choose from here, but beware if you don't have a hard drive, there is a hefty 1.3GB+ to install if you want to enjoy the full experience. The only downsides of this game are lack of dynamic weather and day/night conditions; perhaps this will be added in the next instalment. Expand
  23. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = One of the best racing games on console, if not THE best. This game is better than any Gran Turismo game in my opinion.
  24. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    One of the best racing games available, might not look as good as Gran Turismo 5 but the single player mode in Forza 3 is easy to recommend over GT5's single player offering.
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    0
    The singlemost biggest mistake to buy this game. This game did not meet my axpectations at all. Going to burn my copy in an oven then pick up Gran Turismo 5.
  26. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it's kind of ridiculous. This is a great game. If you have an Xbox 360 and you like cars, this is your game. Expand
  27. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    You'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, and flywheels. The amount you can to is unrivaled.

    The visuals are stunning, while lacking the visual flair of games like Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, you must keep in mind the game is running a physics engine 360 times every second which draws alot of resources. To be able to run that while still locking itself at a solid 60 frames per second is impressive.

    The career mode is LONG. You could play a new race every day for months and not be able to finish up. Re-playability is this games forte.

    With the Ultimate Collection edition of the game available, any racing fan should have this game if they hadn't already bought it.
    Expand
  28. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Nice cars all around, seems like they really took their time with all 400 or so cars in the game. Would have liked more but i guess this is more about quality over quantity. The problem i have with it though is the extra cars that are coming in as downloads. They're nice additions (who wouldn't want to try out the new 458 italia), beautiful cars but I don't think i should pay for all those downloads, seems like a excuse to make more money off the game...

    But this doesn't change the face that the game is well made and well paced. I just wish i didn't have to pay extra for the cars i want, turning a 60 dollar game to a 100 dollar game...
    Microsoft...oh you... sometimes ...
    Expand
  29. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    If you want n64 quality graphics a crappy menu system and 200 cars with interiors(20% of the game) with worse damage get GT5. Forza is the BEST sim this gen
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.