User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 466 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 466

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping thisLets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Best racing game this gen on consoles. Auction House, Livery Editor, Storefront, Tuning, Extreme customization, Matchmaking, **** for all cars etc make it extremely enjoyable for all those people sour after GT5 failed to meet expectations.

    I agree with 92 metacritic!
  3. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    FM3 is an awesome racing game, maybe one of the best simulations up to date. The graphics are great and the cars available are simply WOW! Once you start racing, you won't hang up that easy, especially on the 2 player mode. As for my part, the only thing missing is more urban circuits, like in towns or cities.
    Else, it's a great piece of game. I recommend it.
  4. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Forza 3 is a fantastic game and to me it actually feels like you are driving a powerful car around a track, unlike GT5 which to me feels like you're driving on rails.

    Oh and i own both games. Check out this AI comparison video, and tell me which is better FM3 or GT5

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox70Ho9_jX4&feature=player_embedded
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Better than Gt5 metacritic says it all.
  6. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    There's not really much to add, but suffice to let me state facts. 100% of the Critic reviews are 'Positive'. Just over five in every seven user reviews are positive. It's obviously popular, and not without reason, like other popular games that betrayed us.
  7. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are asQuite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations forA great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations for buying DLC for Forza 2 obsolete. Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Without doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing reallyWithout doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing really add!) provide something great into an overall package. Our negatives are more with the company than the game, so we shant criticise them here however we recommend buying the October 2010 released 'Ultimate collection" as it includes ALL DLC (worth over £30) and a copy of the game (originally £40 at release) for just £24.99 upon its new release - It also includes some new stunning cars and some other extras marking a new partnership with the much loved Top Gear! Do we think this move will influence or buy over the massive Gran Turismo fanbase....Not at all, there is already a Playstation 3 market large enough waiting for this game which is guaranteed to make it sell better than FM3 without new 360s and extra copies of forza being sold. Besides, GT5 is bound to be a massive hit with its stunning visuals and long car list. Let's hope it will be released some time soon though! Well done Turn 10 but we would prefer to see Forza Motorsport 4 be an improved FM3 with more cars than a new experience to work upon the new kinect peripheral. Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    there is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimatelythere is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimately punished..it just doesnt bounce and i carry on regardless.ALL cars have **** view..fully customisable vehicles..no silly slider bars.the online community is vast.you can buy and sell or even gift cars to friends,as well as tuning setups and decals.i could go on and on and on stating what forza 3 has...but racing is more than driving pretty looking cars.foza 3 is not conveyor belt racing..the AI fantastic.and it clear from the reviews that forza 3 is regarded as the king of racing games.the acclaim is justified.SIMPLE AS THAT! Expand
  11. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Every review is positive unlike that other game..
  12. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Best racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars is particularly favourable.
  13. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a mustForza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a must have title for casual and hardcore gamers alike, and with a lengthy career, along with a robust multiplayer, Forza 3 will keep you behind the drivers seat for months to come, or until Forza 4 hits the shelves. Expand
  14. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    El juego es bueno, el gameplay es excelente, lo unico malo es que el juego por el año 3 o 4 se vuelve repetitivo y a la larga aburre.
    Lo mejor es lo del retoceso de la carrera.
    Comprenlo, pidanlo prestado, rentenlo, Como sea pero jueguenlo ya.
  15. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    For a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listeningFor a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listening to my dreams and doing what makes this racing game, perfect. Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    great game amazing graphics so much cars 400 is a lot and forza 4 as 500 top gear is their so get that technology gets better over time this game was amazing 2 years later the new game comes out 10/10
  17. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing video game so I like this game a lot so I give this game..................... 9/10 really this game deserves !!!!! this rating
  18. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = One of the best racing games on console, if not THE best. This game is better than any Gran Turismo game in my opinion.
  19. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    One of the best racing games available, might not look as good as Gran Turismo 5 but the single player mode in Forza 3 is easy to recommend over GT5's single player offering.
  20. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it'sThis is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it's kind of ridiculous. This is a great game. If you have an Xbox 360 and you like cars, this is your game. Expand
  21. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    You'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, andYou'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, and flywheels. The amount you can to is unrivaled.

    The visuals are stunning, while lacking the visual flair of games like Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, you must keep in mind the game is running a physics engine 360 times every second which draws alot of resources. To be able to run that while still locking itself at a solid 60 frames per second is impressive.

    The career mode is LONG. You could play a new race every day for months and not be able to finish up. Re-playability is this games forte.

    With the Ultimate Collection edition of the game available, any racing fan should have this game if they hadn't already bought it.
    Expand
  22. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Nice cars all around, seems like they really took their time with all 400 or so cars in the game. Would have liked more but i guess this is more about quality over quantity. The problem i have with it though is the extra cars that are coming in as downloads. They're nice additions (who wouldn't want to try out the new 458 italia), beautiful cars but I don't think i should pay for all thoseNice cars all around, seems like they really took their time with all 400 or so cars in the game. Would have liked more but i guess this is more about quality over quantity. The problem i have with it though is the extra cars that are coming in as downloads. They're nice additions (who wouldn't want to try out the new 458 italia), beautiful cars but I don't think i should pay for all those downloads, seems like a excuse to make more money off the game...

    But this doesn't change the face that the game is well made and well paced. I just wish i didn't have to pay extra for the cars i want, turning a 60 dollar game to a 100 dollar game...
    Microsoft...oh you... sometimes ...
    Expand
  23. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    If you want n64 quality graphics a crappy menu system and 200 cars with interiors(20% of the game) with worse damage get GT5. Forza is the BEST sim this gen
  24. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This game is the best racing simulator you can find as of December 2010. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and some tracks feel too out of place. The game sounds areThis game is the best racing simulator you can find as of December 2010. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and some tracks feel too out of place. The game sounds are the best in any racer IMO and the graphics are super, although graphics aren't everything remember!. If you are a fan of past iterations of Forza or cars in general this game was made for you. Expand
  25. d0x
    Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Its pretty simple really. Forza is an amazing racing game with incredibly deep customization options. It has an excellent sim physics engine originally designed by Microsoft for auto insurance companies and the police to simulate driving conditions in accidents and to rate cars for insurance quotes. The engine is insanely complex and as far as sim racing games go it is top notch. IveIts pretty simple really. Forza is an amazing racing game with incredibly deep customization options. It has an excellent sim physics engine originally designed by Microsoft for auto insurance companies and the police to simulate driving conditions in accidents and to rate cars for insurance quotes. The engine is insanely complex and as far as sim racing games go it is top notch. Ive heard lots of people say it isnt on par with Gran Turismo which is beyond untrue. Anyone who has ever had any experience racing fast cars can tell you Forza is very accurate in the way cars perform. The simulation engine is complex enough to measure airflow around side skirts which is just unheard of in games. Everything matters, even tire tread depth from wear. If your vehicle gets damage and there is a dent on the bumper you can pull up vehicle telemetry and see how its effecting airflow and thus speed/handling. You wont find that in any other game.

    Forza may not be the prettiest racing game ever created. Its own developers admit to this fact. They have said from day 1 that the physics simulation is more important than just pretty graphics so most of the system resources are being put to use making sure cars drive like cars. That being said Forza 3 is no visual slouch and can easily hold its own with other games. It is by no means ugly. Currently its being compared on a visual level with Gran Turismo 5. Owning both games I can say neither game looks better than the other. For example GT5's premium cars(200 total) look better than Forza's cars. However the standard cars (of which there are 800) look worse than anything in Forza 3. Forza also has higher quality lighting and makes better use of HDR. It also has far better shadows than GT5 but GT5 has better smoke and particle effects. In terms of tracks that are about equal.

    If you are looking for an amazingly deep racing sim this is the game for you. If you are a casual fan this is still the game for you. You can get pretuned cars, you can turn steering and braking assists on and following the driving line. Anyone can play this game and have fun. Even someone who justs like designed complex paint schemes can have fun making cars and selling them.

    Me? How do I play? I sit in my Playseats Evolution Forza 3 special edition racing chair. My MS FF racing wheel mounted to it. I shut the music off and turn car effects to 100% and i race. This game is nothing short of amazing!
    Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    This game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievements are very linear and don't appeal very much to the completest nature of the second game in the series. I was looking forward to having absurd tasks like collecting every car and completing every time trial, but this game was built around the handThis game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievements are very linear and don't appeal very much to the completest nature of the second game in the series. I was looking forward to having absurd tasks like collecting every car and completing every time trial, but this game was built around the hand holding 'I win' button crowd. You play the game and hit buttons and you will get free gamerscore as long as you stick through the games linear plot. It lays out races before you and you can choose your own path, but if you aren't chosing the races they decide are involved in your season, then you are not advancing through the game. Upgrading can be robotic as clicking a button and letting the CPU feed you a list of parts that would be 'helpful' for your next race. If you do mess up in a race, you can hit a button and rewind to where you messed up and start over. While this is super great on a very long endurance race where your batteries die, someone gets in front the TV, etc, it just sums up the whole feeling this game has towards itself. Its very accessable. While I disagree with a lot of these choices, the fact is, this is how you design video games in 2010 and beyond. Anyone could have fun in this game as long as they have an intrest in cars or racing in general. For the hardcore enthusiast there is plenty to achieve with 100's of leaderboards, drift races and a huge amount of DLC content that comes with the Ultimate edition. This game is designed to suck up 100's of hours of your life and I for one will let it. I would really like see some of those super completist achievements and the ability to lock out the 'rewind' function totally by difficulty settings in Forza 4. This doesn't make sense when the game rewards you for setting everything to simulation settings and brutally hard AI for a better rewards, yet you still have the ability to rewind the game at any time. Of course its optional to use, but it simply shouldn't be there at all at the hardest level of playing. This is something they stole from "Grid" but didn't quite understand what to do with it. (ie: limit it). Still this is the best time consuming race game out there for me and with the Ultimate edition dirt cheap, its a no brainer to own it if you don't and even remotely love racing games. Expand
  27. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    LOL @ PS3 fanboys voting this game zero. :D :D

    I own both consoles and have played GT5 and this game extensively.

    It's not perfect and lags behind GT5 as far as night driving and weather effects are concerned but if Turn 10 watch the fan reaction to Gran Turismo 5 closely and learn from Polyphony's howling mistakes as far as user interface they'll clean up with Forza 4.
  28. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    Rewind option is hands down the best racing game feature ever. So far I love the game. Music is mundane, but didn't buy it for the music. Graphics are great and loving the game so far. Love the braking assist. Hard mode is a little too hard and medium is a good setting, but I wish there was a between mode. Oh well. Fun racing game overall.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.