User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 530 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 530
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Maxie
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I like this game is perfect, nice graphic, nice car huge options, and i like the new first person camera is more real. 400 cars nice number and my favorite part is upgrade the cars and custom options.
  2. RicardoL.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    great game... large enough for spending weeks on. achievements are easy and downloadable content is cheap.
  3. gregm
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    It has the best tracks and customization in a sim racer ever. The rumble is the best and is relevant for its feedback and it has awesome online modes
  4. JoeE
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. The controls feel perfect, the cars look great, the tracks and scenery are beautiful. Wonderful job Turn 10. You have a solid hit. Best racing game I've played since the old GT days.
  5. PeterD
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    All in All a great Racing-Game!!! Beatiful graphics, a huge size of cars & tracks, good career and so on. The Online-Gaming needs some improvements, but it´s fun. Good work, Turn 10!
  6. HarveyB
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    wow. well let me get started by saying that forza Motorsport 3 is an incredible racing experience. Having played GT 5 prolouge a lot im surprised to see how realistic this game is. every car feels different and each course just as well. those of you who are physics junkies like myself will be pleased. then there is the plethora of upgrades and tuning options. i can' say how good GT 5 wow. well let me get started by saying that forza Motorsport 3 is an incredible racing experience. Having played GT 5 prolouge a lot im surprised to see how realistic this game is. every car feels different and each course just as well. those of you who are physics junkies like myself will be pleased. then there is the plethora of upgrades and tuning options. i can' say how good GT 5 will be but forza 3 as of now is the king of racing sims and you as a racing sim player or even a casual gamer owe it to yourself to play this game. Expand
  7. Niki
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    There is honestly not really anything I can criticize about this game! You want a fantastic sim with endless tuning possibilities and customization - it's got it. You want an accessible racer that you can pick up and play without needing any driving ability - it's got it. You want to have a fantastic online community with millions of tuning set ups, designs and cars up for sale There is honestly not really anything I can criticize about this game! You want a fantastic sim with endless tuning possibilities and customization - it's got it. You want an accessible racer that you can pick up and play without needing any driving ability - it's got it. You want to have a fantastic online community with millions of tuning set ups, designs and cars up for sale - it's got it. Whatever aspect of racers or cars you are looking for, it's got it. Just a phenomenal game, I can't recommend it enough. Expand
  8. markman5000
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Very addictive and flashy forza motorsport 3 shines and flourishes where other racers fall short and that is content. Forza has more quality content than you can shake a stick at and it all user created and driven. The graphics are top notch and get even more gorgeous the closer you get to the cars not a blemish in site. The driving is superbly done. And very approachable to that of all Very addictive and flashy forza motorsport 3 shines and flourishes where other racers fall short and that is content. Forza has more quality content than you can shake a stick at and it all user created and driven. The graphics are top notch and get even more gorgeous the closer you get to the cars not a blemish in site. The driving is superbly done. And very approachable to that of all ages because of the assists. the mentor has become the master as forma motorsport 3 has the crown as top dog in the genre not normal will we see a racing game hit for a possible game of the year but this might just impress the masses enough for the award. Expand
  9. L.M.
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    I'm not exactly sure what Gran Turismo 5 is going to offer but needless to say that's the only game in it's path from me saying this is the best racing game this generation. Long has the excellence of Gran Turismo been under the hood but it's helped formulate an good set of competition with Forza flexing it's racing muscle, Dirt, and GRID. While most of Forza I'm not exactly sure what Gran Turismo 5 is going to offer but needless to say that's the only game in it's path from me saying this is the best racing game this generation. Long has the excellence of Gran Turismo been under the hood but it's helped formulate an good set of competition with Forza flexing it's racing muscle, Dirt, and GRID. While most of Forza 3's new features aren't pedestal's that are later on borrowed from other series, it's a bit more of vice versa this go round. It completely enhances the casual driving game player with the best sets of "baby steps" towards being a better videogame driver and helps add things like cockpit view (which is more of a racing fan's feature) and a deeper set of customization + and online modes which makes this the most accesible driving game to the young/old, casual/hardcore, or awkwardly femine/possibly Canadian. While matchmaking's a bit off and the AI can fall asleep at times, these flaws are minor but only stand out more because of how excellent the game is. Expand
  10. NiklasA.
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    I was never a real fan of racing games. But I bought Forza Motorsport 3 in hopes that Microsoft would be able to satisfy me another time, and thankfully I was thrilled with the game. There are a few details that bug me, such as the static tire barricade on the road side, and how fast you come to a stop when driving on grass. Multiplayer isnt to great, but ONLY because im horrible at it. I I was never a real fan of racing games. But I bought Forza Motorsport 3 in hopes that Microsoft would be able to satisfy me another time, and thankfully I was thrilled with the game. There are a few details that bug me, such as the static tire barricade on the road side, and how fast you come to a stop when driving on grass. Multiplayer isnt to great, but ONLY because im horrible at it. I have been destroyed multiple times online, so I stick with single player. to avoid the humilitation. I congratulate Microsoft with their well thought investment in Turn 10. Expand
  11. CamK
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This game is simply immense in all areas, a massive improvement that can hold it's own on it's own legs. Very deep game, very finished and well structured game too, but most of all the physics are beautiful. Very little could be improved, and none of those things (lighting model etc) matter to me.
  12. KamukR
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Certain other titles really have their work cut out for them. I am sure that with all future DLC this game will be, against my first thoughts, as the director said - the definitive racing game of this (console) generation. Don't get lost in incorrect interpretations of definitive like certain fanboys do...
  13. EddieM
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I could write paragraphs on how good this game is and what it offers to the player. But instead I'll just say that this is the best racing game of all time and it shouldn't be missed even if you're not a fan of the genre. Enough said.
  14. WilliamH
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    2 minor issues for me: when you got it floored, lacks a little of the heart pounding feeling that NFS gives you. NFS also had a "grittiness" to it and Forza feels a little to sterile and neat. This coming from someone who purchased NFS and ripped it a new one in the comments. I know I'm knit picking, that's why I didn't give it a lower score...Forza's a ten in my 2 minor issues for me: when you got it floored, lacks a little of the heart pounding feeling that NFS gives you. NFS also had a "grittiness" to it and Forza feels a little to sterile and neat. This coming from someone who purchased NFS and ripped it a new one in the comments. I know I'm knit picking, that's why I didn't give it a lower score...Forza's a ten in my book...unless there's a car sim out there that has photo realistic cars and environments and an even more realistic car physics system....Forza's as good as it gets or is going to get w/o a serious hardware upgrade. Forza will go 12 rounds w/GT and may even come away w/the split decision. Expand
  15. MikeT
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Pros: -Assists and varying difficulty settings -Clean Interface -Fun Driving Physics -Large selection of customizable cars (paint, body kits, parts) -Online community content blends seamlessly into the game Cons: -Long loading times (specially if not installed) -Damage is not amazing, but understandable considering there are over 400 cars to model -No weather/night driving Overall, this Pros: -Assists and varying difficulty settings -Clean Interface -Fun Driving Physics -Large selection of customizable cars (paint, body kits, parts) -Online community content blends seamlessly into the game Cons: -Long loading times (specially if not installed) -Damage is not amazing, but understandable considering there are over 400 cars to model -No weather/night driving Overall, this game is awesome and the Pros far outweigh the cons. I got this game for $40 (buy 3 get 1 free deal at Best Buy), and it is worth 2x that price. The sheer amount of cars, tracks, customization and online features will make any racing fan happy. Expand
  16. WillB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    A really phenomenal game. It's a lot better than Forza 2. Fantastic driving (it really does feel great the whole way through). Excellent online and community stuff (i sold a painting today!). Loads of content, they really have hit this one out of the park and it's will last you a looong time too.
  17. JamesF
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Honestly, as a racing fan this game represents all that is great and good with the xbox 360. Turn 10 have delivered big time on the racing sim genre. Whether you are a novice racer or a seasoned pro, this game will provide you with countless hours of entertainment both off and online. Loads of beautifully presented cars? Check. Real life circuits? Check. Wonderfully thought out original Honestly, as a racing fan this game represents all that is great and good with the xbox 360. Turn 10 have delivered big time on the racing sim genre. Whether you are a novice racer or a seasoned pro, this game will provide you with countless hours of entertainment both off and online. Loads of beautifully presented cars? Check. Real life circuits? Check. Wonderfully thought out original tracks? Check. More customisation options that you can shake a stick at? Check. Enough reading about, go out there and enhance your life by purchasing a copy of Forza Motorsport 3. NOW!! Expand
  18. TonyP
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I'm a huge Forza fan and have always preferred the Forza games over other simulators so I kind of went into this game thinking it would be good. But WOW! This game is Amazing! So many cars of different types not just 20 different variations of Civics to boost numbers. Your favorite car is in this game, I guarantee it. So many things to talk about in this game! First off my only I'm a huge Forza fan and have always preferred the Forza games over other simulators so I kind of went into this game thinking it would be good. But WOW! This game is Amazing! So many cars of different types not just 20 different variations of Civics to boost numbers. Your favorite car is in this game, I guarantee it. So many things to talk about in this game! First off my only complaint is that it starts out slow showing you the feeling of how the game work and has you doing a lap or two in an R8 they give you. Kind of annoying as it amounts to nothing but I see why they did this for the casual gamer so it wouldn't be too daunting. But once you get past that the floodgates open with TONS of stuff to do! There's the auction house, which if you've played Forza 2, they added Way more search features and added in buying liveries, decals, paint job designs, etc. The auction house is a place where you can just lose track of time looking through all the beautiful designs people have put on their cars from typical car paint job, to movie references, to internet memes, to just about anything! Seriously it's Photoshop for cars! Then there's the customization and tuning. So many parts, so much tweaking, it's just crazy! It's also cool they put an auto-upgrade for the non-hardcore crowd to make it simpler to upgrade for later. The online is amazing as well with official tournaments that are an awesome way to show your stuff off and show others up! The pick up and play is also amazing! If you play with other friends playing online, the game asks you if you want to join their room right when you hit multiplayer so it's ridiculously easy to get a room with friends going! Drags are also extremely fun! And the game just looks beautiful! I mean how did they do all this in just 2.5 years time?! Every car has damage and looks and feels exactly as it should before, and after you damage it! Except totaling your car is harder that it should be if I'm honest. I could go on to talk about how amazing this game is but I don't want to right an essay. Bottom line, buy this game if you like, sim racers, cars, racing games, or heck, games at all! There's no excuse you shouldn't buy this! Oh! Get a racing wheel! I have the official Microsoft wheel and it's amazing! It feels exactly like a real car! Or if you've got the money, spring for the Porsche wheel with clutch, 6 speed shifter, and drift LED, and with a Playseat. Just google it. I would upgrade myself but it's soooo expensive! Expand
  19. EduardoB
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt, the best racing game money can buy TODAY. I don't know if that will remain true when GT5 comes around, but I wonder what Polyphony Digital can do to top this amazing game. Everything from the blisky 60fps action on screen to the houndreds of cars, dozens of tracks, racing seasons, tuning, modding, painting, etc etc etc is top notch. Online racing is the best ever, Without a doubt, the best racing game money can buy TODAY. I don't know if that will remain true when GT5 comes around, but I wonder what Polyphony Digital can do to top this amazing game. Everything from the blisky 60fps action on screen to the houndreds of cars, dozens of tracks, racing seasons, tuning, modding, painting, etc etc etc is top notch. Online racing is the best ever, with total customization. Assists make the game accessible to all gamers. Graphics are fantastic. Sounds are amazing. Really, Forza 3 comes on top. For now, at least. Expand
  20. DanielT
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    amazing game. its incredibly realistic with tons of customizable features. the difficulty level can be tweaked for both amateurs and pros. this will give gran turismo a run for its money.
  21. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping thisLets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  22. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    There's not really much to add, but suffice to let me state facts. 100% of the Critic reviews are 'Positive'. Just over five in every seven user reviews are positive. It's obviously popular, and not without reason, like other popular games that betrayed us.
  23. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are asQuite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  24. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations forA great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations for buying DLC for Forza 2 obsolete. Expand
  25. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it'sThis is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it's kind of ridiculous. This is a great game. If you have an Xbox 360 and you like cars, this is your game. Expand
  26. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Forza 3 is a fantastic game and to me it actually feels like you are driving a powerful car around a track, unlike GT5 which to me feels like you're driving on rails.

    Oh and i own both games. Check out this AI comparison video, and tell me which is better FM3 or GT5

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox70Ho9_jX4&feature=player_embedded
  27. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    there is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimatelythere is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimately punished..it just doesnt bounce and i carry on regardless.ALL cars have **** view..fully customisable vehicles..no silly slider bars.the online community is vast.you can buy and sell or even gift cars to friends,as well as tuning setups and decals.i could go on and on and on stating what forza 3 has...but racing is more than driving pretty looking cars.foza 3 is not conveyor belt racing..the AI fantastic.and it clear from the reviews that forza 3 is regarded as the king of racing games.the acclaim is justified.SIMPLE AS THAT! Expand
  28. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    You'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, andYou'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, and flywheels. The amount you can to is unrivaled.

    The visuals are stunning, while lacking the visual flair of games like Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, you must keep in mind the game is running a physics engine 360 times every second which draws alot of resources. To be able to run that while still locking itself at a solid 60 frames per second is impressive.

    The career mode is LONG. You could play a new race every day for months and not be able to finish up. Re-playability is this games forte.

    With the Ultimate Collection edition of the game available, any racing fan should have this game if they hadn't already bought it.
    Expand
  29. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Better than Gt5 metacritic says it all.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.