User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 476 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 476

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping thisLets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  2. TonyP
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I'm a huge Forza fan and have always preferred the Forza games over other simulators so I kind of went into this game thinking it would be good. But WOW! This game is Amazing! So many cars of different types not just 20 different variations of Civics to boost numbers. Your favorite car is in this game, I guarantee it. So many things to talk about in this game! First off my only I'm a huge Forza fan and have always preferred the Forza games over other simulators so I kind of went into this game thinking it would be good. But WOW! This game is Amazing! So many cars of different types not just 20 different variations of Civics to boost numbers. Your favorite car is in this game, I guarantee it. So many things to talk about in this game! First off my only complaint is that it starts out slow showing you the feeling of how the game work and has you doing a lap or two in an R8 they give you. Kind of annoying as it amounts to nothing but I see why they did this for the casual gamer so it wouldn't be too daunting. But once you get past that the floodgates open with TONS of stuff to do! There's the auction house, which if you've played Forza 2, they added Way more search features and added in buying liveries, decals, paint job designs, etc. The auction house is a place where you can just lose track of time looking through all the beautiful designs people have put on their cars from typical car paint job, to movie references, to internet memes, to just about anything! Seriously it's Photoshop for cars! Then there's the customization and tuning. So many parts, so much tweaking, it's just crazy! It's also cool they put an auto-upgrade for the non-hardcore crowd to make it simpler to upgrade for later. The online is amazing as well with official tournaments that are an awesome way to show your stuff off and show others up! The pick up and play is also amazing! If you play with other friends playing online, the game asks you if you want to join their room right when you hit multiplayer so it's ridiculously easy to get a room with friends going! Drags are also extremely fun! And the game just looks beautiful! I mean how did they do all this in just 2.5 years time?! Every car has damage and looks and feels exactly as it should before, and after you damage it! Except totaling your car is harder that it should be if I'm honest. I could go on to talk about how amazing this game is but I don't want to right an essay. Bottom line, buy this game if you like, sim racers, cars, racing games, or heck, games at all! There's no excuse you shouldn't buy this! Oh! Get a racing wheel! I have the official Microsoft wheel and it's amazing! It feels exactly like a real car! Or if you've got the money, spring for the Porsche wheel with clutch, 6 speed shifter, and drift LED, and with a Playseat. Just google it. I would upgrade myself but it's soooo expensive! Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are asQuite possibly the last word on racing games, Forza 3 is pretty, massive and a joy to control. Each car handles with unparalled precision, from the Lamborghinis to the Fords. Super fast supercars actually feel like supercars, and even the slower, weaker cars are incredibly fun. And this is Forza 3's greatest strength-there are no rubbish cars. There all fun, even the crap cars are as satisfying as the insanely fast Bugatti Veyron. Of course, it helps that the graphics are incredibly good too, and yet still manages to run along smoothly at 60fps. Another big area of Forza, revealing itself after release, is the fantastic ability for user created content. You can paint cars, create designs, upgrade your cars- all of which backed up by an incredibly strong user base, meaning Forza could last forever. But it won't obviously, as Forza 4 is just around the corner, but it's going to have one hell of a hard time topping this masterful racer. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Best racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars is particularly favourable.
  5. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a mustForza Motorsport 3 is by far the greatest driving simulator of all time, it surpasses Polyphony's Gran Turismo 5 in every aspect, this is considering Forza 3 is two years old. This is a highly polished title in terms of visuals, sound and playability. To add to the realism, the game runs at a buttery-smooth 60 frames per second. With it's adjustable difficulty, Forza Motorsport 3 is a must have title for casual and hardcore gamers alike, and with a lengthy career, along with a robust multiplayer, Forza 3 will keep you behind the drivers seat for months to come, or until Forza 4 hits the shelves. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    El juego es bueno, el gameplay es excelente, lo unico malo es que el juego por el año 3 o 4 se vuelve repetitivo y a la larga aburre.
    Lo mejor es lo del retoceso de la carrera.
    Comprenlo, pidanlo prestado, rentenlo, Como sea pero jueguenlo ya.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    For a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listeningFor a racing game with a solid community that can post car designs, with an immense design editor, along with tuning setups and even an ability to post videos and pictures of their cars; this game is a solid 10. For the actual racing aspect, this game is a solid 10. My only wish is that the cars were more balanced but that would shatter the realism, and I thank Turn 10 for not listening to my dreams and doing what makes this racing game, perfect. Expand
  8. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    great game amazing graphics so much cars 400 is a lot and forza 4 as 500 top gear is their so get that technology gets better over time this game was amazing 2 years later the new game comes out 10/10
  9. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing video game so I like this game a lot so I give this game..................... 9/10 really this game deserves !!!!! this rating
  10. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Best racing game this gen on consoles. Auction House, Livery Editor, Storefront, Tuning, Extreme customization, Matchmaking, **** for all cars etc make it extremely enjoyable for all those people sour after GT5 failed to meet expectations.

    I agree with 92 metacritic!
  11. NiklasA.
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    I was never a real fan of racing games. But I bought Forza Motorsport 3 in hopes that Microsoft would be able to satisfy me another time, and thankfully I was thrilled with the game. There are a few details that bug me, such as the static tire barricade on the road side, and how fast you come to a stop when driving on grass. Multiplayer isnt to great, but ONLY because im horrible at it. I I was never a real fan of racing games. But I bought Forza Motorsport 3 in hopes that Microsoft would be able to satisfy me another time, and thankfully I was thrilled with the game. There are a few details that bug me, such as the static tire barricade on the road side, and how fast you come to a stop when driving on grass. Multiplayer isnt to great, but ONLY because im horrible at it. I have been destroyed multiple times online, so I stick with single player. to avoid the humilitation. I congratulate Microsoft with their well thought investment in Turn 10. Expand
  12. Maxie
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    I like this game is perfect, nice graphic, nice car huge options, and i like the new first person camera is more real. 400 cars nice number and my favorite part is upgrade the cars and custom options.
  13. RicardoL.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    great game... large enough for spending weeks on. achievements are easy and downloadable content is cheap.
  14. PhillipN
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best racing games ever. The presentation is a bit sterile, Under Control really needs slashed from the soundtrack, and the backdrops are hit and miss, but otherwise it's hard to complain here.
  15. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    FM3 is an awesome racing game, maybe one of the best simulations up to date. The graphics are great and the cars available are simply WOW! Once you start racing, you won't hang up that easy, especially on the 2 player mode. As for my part, the only thing missing is more urban circuits, like in towns or cities.
    Else, it's a great piece of game. I recommend it.
  16. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Better than Gt5 metacritic says it all.
  17. gregm
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    It has the best tracks and customization in a sim racer ever. The rumble is the best and is relevant for its feedback and it has awesome online modes
  18. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Forza 3 is a fantastic game and to me it actually feels like you are driving a powerful car around a track, unlike GT5 which to me feels like you're driving on rails.

    Oh and i own both games. Check out this AI comparison video, and tell me which is better FM3 or GT5

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox70Ho9_jX4&feature=player_embedded
  19. WiliamJ
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    Forza 3 is a very polished and accoplished game. Its an upgrade of forza 2. It has some loading and pop in problems, so minor but still catches the eye. Multiplayer component has been smoothed out, less lag and stuff. Make sure you have gold membership. This isn't a 10 game because of the bugs and pop in.
  20. Niki
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    There is honestly not really anything I can criticize about this game! You want a fantastic sim with endless tuning possibilities and customization - it's got it. You want an accessible racer that you can pick up and play without needing any driving ability - it's got it. You want to have a fantastic online community with millions of tuning set ups, designs and cars up for sale There is honestly not really anything I can criticize about this game! You want a fantastic sim with endless tuning possibilities and customization - it's got it. You want an accessible racer that you can pick up and play without needing any driving ability - it's got it. You want to have a fantastic online community with millions of tuning set ups, designs and cars up for sale - it's got it. Whatever aspect of racers or cars you are looking for, it's got it. Just a phenomenal game, I can't recommend it enough. Expand
  21. markman5000
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Very addictive and flashy forza motorsport 3 shines and flourishes where other racers fall short and that is content. Forza has more quality content than you can shake a stick at and it all user created and driven. The graphics are top notch and get even more gorgeous the closer you get to the cars not a blemish in site. The driving is superbly done. And very approachable to that of all Very addictive and flashy forza motorsport 3 shines and flourishes where other racers fall short and that is content. Forza has more quality content than you can shake a stick at and it all user created and driven. The graphics are top notch and get even more gorgeous the closer you get to the cars not a blemish in site. The driving is superbly done. And very approachable to that of all ages because of the assists. the mentor has become the master as forma motorsport 3 has the crown as top dog in the genre not normal will we see a racing game hit for a possible game of the year but this might just impress the masses enough for the award. Expand
  22. L.M.
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    I'm not exactly sure what Gran Turismo 5 is going to offer but needless to say that's the only game in it's path from me saying this is the best racing game this generation. Long has the excellence of Gran Turismo been under the hood but it's helped formulate an good set of competition with Forza flexing it's racing muscle, Dirt, and GRID. While most of Forza I'm not exactly sure what Gran Turismo 5 is going to offer but needless to say that's the only game in it's path from me saying this is the best racing game this generation. Long has the excellence of Gran Turismo been under the hood but it's helped formulate an good set of competition with Forza flexing it's racing muscle, Dirt, and GRID. While most of Forza 3's new features aren't pedestal's that are later on borrowed from other series, it's a bit more of vice versa this go round. It completely enhances the casual driving game player with the best sets of "baby steps" towards being a better videogame driver and helps add things like cockpit view (which is more of a racing fan's feature) and a deeper set of customization + and online modes which makes this the most accesible driving game to the young/old, casual/hardcore, or awkwardly femine/possibly Canadian. While matchmaking's a bit off and the AI can fall asleep at times, these flaws are minor but only stand out more because of how excellent the game is. Expand
  23. JamesF
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Honestly, as a racing fan this game represents all that is great and good with the xbox 360. Turn 10 have delivered big time on the racing sim genre. Whether you are a novice racer or a seasoned pro, this game will provide you with countless hours of entertainment both off and online. Loads of beautifully presented cars? Check. Real life circuits? Check. Wonderfully thought out original Honestly, as a racing fan this game represents all that is great and good with the xbox 360. Turn 10 have delivered big time on the racing sim genre. Whether you are a novice racer or a seasoned pro, this game will provide you with countless hours of entertainment both off and online. Loads of beautifully presented cars? Check. Real life circuits? Check. Wonderfully thought out original tracks? Check. More customisation options that you can shake a stick at? Check. Enough reading about, go out there and enhance your life by purchasing a copy of Forza Motorsport 3. NOW!! Expand
  24. JamesM
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    Well..... All I can say is, Forza 3 is a great game. It's graphics are nice, gameplay is nice, and the customization is great..... BUT!!! As turn10 said themselves, it could be better. But instead of focusing on the bad, I do have one opinion that I believe should be heard. No matter how many people dis it, Forza 3 does have something that's a step above the rest. You're Well..... All I can say is, Forza 3 is a great game. It's graphics are nice, gameplay is nice, and the customization is great..... BUT!!! As turn10 said themselves, it could be better. But instead of focusing on the bad, I do have one opinion that I believe should be heard. No matter how many people dis it, Forza 3 does have something that's a step above the rest. You're able to paint almost anything you want on the cars. And that adds an INCREDIBLE amount of customization right there. Who doesn't like custom paint jobs? Expand
  25. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    There's not really much to add, but suffice to let me state facts. 100% of the Critic reviews are 'Positive'. Just over five in every seven user reviews are positive. It's obviously popular, and not without reason, like other popular games that betrayed us.
  26. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations forA great racer. Even better then Forza 2 in several different ways: More cars, more tracks (And it even includes point-to-point races), great graphics and amazing sound effects (With the addition of tuning the volume to your desire, with the collisions being my favourite). Lots of settings, including difficulties, painting, tuning, buying and upgrading cars. It makes the recommendations for buying DLC for Forza 2 obsolete. Expand
  27. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    Without doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing reallyWithout doubt, this game is the best ever Racing Sim ever to hit a console! The car list is now at over 500 (as from late 2010) and there are a perfect mix of cars to suit everyone from British sportscars, American and Australian muscle to Japanese drifters and tunables. A great range of tracks, great graphics and some awesome features (Film creating and car paint and vinyl editing really add!) provide something great into an overall package. Our negatives are more with the company than the game, so we shant criticise them here however we recommend buying the October 2010 released 'Ultimate collection" as it includes ALL DLC (worth over £30) and a copy of the game (originally £40 at release) for just £24.99 upon its new release - It also includes some new stunning cars and some other extras marking a new partnership with the much loved Top Gear! Do we think this move will influence or buy over the massive Gran Turismo fanbase....Not at all, there is already a Playstation 3 market large enough waiting for this game which is guaranteed to make it sell better than FM3 without new 360s and extra copies of forza being sold. Besides, GT5 is bound to be a massive hit with its stunning visuals and long car list. Let's hope it will be released some time soon though! Well done Turn 10 but we would prefer to see Forza Motorsport 4 be an improved FM3 with more cars than a new experience to work upon the new kinect peripheral. Expand
  28. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    there is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimatelythere is simply not another driving sim on the market for a console like forza 3.it completely blows away everything.IT IS DEFINITIVE!!!!.the graphics are consistently good throughout..the online works..no constant patching..no ridiculous load times..i can see cones in the rear view mirror as i pass them.damage is unrivalled from the get go.if i hit my car at 200mph,then im ultimately punished..it just doesnt bounce and i carry on regardless.ALL cars have **** view..fully customisable vehicles..no silly slider bars.the online community is vast.you can buy and sell or even gift cars to friends,as well as tuning setups and decals.i could go on and on and on stating what forza 3 has...but racing is more than driving pretty looking cars.foza 3 is not conveyor belt racing..the AI fantastic.and it clear from the reviews that forza 3 is regarded as the king of racing games.the acclaim is justified.SIMPLE AS THAT! Expand
  29. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Every review is positive unlike that other game..
  30. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Listen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, itListen, I own both a 360 and PS3; and the only games I really get crazy about the ones that make me feel like I'm really behind the wheel of a car I wish I actually had. When Forza 1 was released, it was like a fresh breath of air; so fresh, that I found myself pre-ordering Forza 2; with the wheel. Long story short, I traded in my xbox 360 as I decided if I was going to own one console, it would be the PS3. Of course, I purchased GT5 and played the hell out of it... but I felt like something was missing. I couldn't figure out what, but even though I was happy with GT5, I thought, "Maybe IGN is right; if I liked GT5, maybe Forza will blow my mind... I remember how much I used to enjoy it...." - That was enough for me to buy another Xbox; luckily my nephew had an extra one. The second I got my "new" xbox, I ran to gamestop, literally, and picked up a long sought after copy of Forza 3....

    I havent played it, or my Xbox 360 since.... No offense to Xbox fans; its a great system; I just dont own many games for it... and as I played Forza 3, I found myself completely disappointed. I found it unremarkable. The worst part, the part I just couldn't ignore, I found the cars themselves to be incredibly sluggish. The anti-aliasing is lower; the graphics aren't as crisp as I was used to seeing; I also found the track design uninspired. The handling was the worst, by far; even after turning off every assist possible, it felt like driving a car in grand theft auto. Even watching the players hands in the **** view, I kept thinking "Really? Come on, you ass, turn the wheel faster!" Like I said, I'm the farthest thing from a fanboy as you can get. When I think of games, I think of it as, "Well, I own a playstation so I'll get this playstation game" - for me, its a logistical question. Though after playing Gran Turismo 5, something so far from perfect, I found myself completely bored and almost amused at Forza 3. I can see why its popular; I think its earned its rightful spot in the video game hall of fame; but I didnt buy it to put a hello kitty sticker on my bumper; I bought it to smoke tires and dominate chicanes; and in that regard, I think Forza takes a distant 2nd to GT5; a good enough game, but outclassed as a simulator and once you had the best, its hard to enjoy the rest...
    Expand
  31. JohnS
    Oct 28, 2009
    5
    The 'Roll and Roar' before every race is horrible and gets old after eight hours or so. The online matchmaking system is horrible. The Turn 10 servrs decide what you race and on what track and for how many laps with NO choice in WHO you want to race with. For that you have to create a PRIVATE room and invite people. Good luck with that. And on top of that the Turn 10 website is The 'Roll and Roar' before every race is horrible and gets old after eight hours or so. The online matchmaking system is horrible. The Turn 10 servrs decide what you race and on what track and for how many laps with NO choice in WHO you want to race with. For that you have to create a PRIVATE room and invite people. Good luck with that. And on top of that the Turn 10 website is now removing critical reviews of the game from their forums, leaving the illusion that all is well with the game, that everyone enjoys what they have produced. Expand
  32. RobertA
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    As a long time fan of racing games on ALL systems my opinion of Forza 3 is that it's come closer to providing a real racing experience than most other sim type games. Gran Turismo may look better but it still tends to feel like you're racing a succession of moving obstacles rather than other drivers. The AI in Forza 3 is among the best I've seen in racing games and manages As a long time fan of racing games on ALL systems my opinion of Forza 3 is that it's come closer to providing a real racing experience than most other sim type games. Gran Turismo may look better but it still tends to feel like you're racing a succession of moving obstacles rather than other drivers. The AI in Forza 3 is among the best I've seen in racing games and manages to combine the tight, thrilling racing of Grid with some of the simulation aspects of GTR and LFS. It's very impressive, as are the amount of customisation options. On the downside some of the car stats are just plain wrong and as a single discipline straight out racer it starts to feel quite repetitive when compared with some of the recent arcade releases like PGR4, Dirt 2 etc. It's also not the best looking game out there but it's still very attractive and the cars look very good (just somehow lacking that GT5 quality). Overall it's a great edition to any racing fans collection. Expand
  33. Samm
    Nov 7, 2009
    5
    Im just gonna compare it to Forza 2, Gampley: it feel completely as FM2, no major changes, the cars feels more the same now, they don't have the unique feeling of each car, turn 10 kind of made this game more arcady, and that a let down. Value: the game ships with 400 cars and 19 Environments with a total of 90 Track layouts. the career mode is very good and it take some time to Im just gonna compare it to Forza 2, Gampley: it feel completely as FM2, no major changes, the cars feels more the same now, they don't have the unique feeling of each car, turn 10 kind of made this game more arcady, and that a let down. Value: the game ships with 400 cars and 19 Environments with a total of 90 Track layouts. the career mode is very good and it take some time to finish it. Graphics: Minor improvements, like slightly better lights, more polycounts, but over all if compare the two games ( FM2 and FM3) they look the same, the damage modele are not as good as the damage in Forza 2. The good: Online, good Carree mode, and more cars The bad: outdated damage models, weak AI, feels more arcady. Expand
  34. PhillipMurphy
    Nov 4, 2009
    6
    The graphics are very good.... the end There are far too many championships for the game, they have taken out the tournaments what glued me to the last one, and i jsut feel a little disapointed, The only thing said about the new forza is "what amazing graphics" but thats all anybody can really say tbh compared to number 2
  35. blazeww
    Nov 7, 2009
    4
    Why the blazing hell did they change the MP? It's a huge downgrade imo and i've lost faith in those supposedly 'reliable' sites like IGN and Gamespot for choosing to ignore it. Another minor complaint - the graphics are decent, but SOOOOO inconsistent!!
  36. ec
    Nov 29, 2009
    5
    Forza 3 is an average looking and feeling sim racer that moves along at a snail's pace, and is low on the "fun" factor. Car customization is less significant than in other similar games. Well constructed, but very run of the mill.
  37. JamesW
    Nov 16, 2009
    4
    I would like to start by saying that the single player career mode is just fine and the core physics are intact just as well as it as always been. But there is an issue that needs to be addressed, Online Multiplayer. Those who have already played this know exactly what I mean. Am I the only one who sees the flaws with the multiplayer system? I was a longtime Forza fan...they have I would like to start by saying that the single player career mode is just fine and the core physics are intact just as well as it as always been. But there is an issue that needs to be addressed, Online Multiplayer. Those who have already played this know exactly what I mean. Am I the only one who sees the flaws with the multiplayer system? I was a longtime Forza fan...they have compromised the core of the gameplay's purpose. I want to race in a lobby where I can actually choose the race.You cant even load your setups before a race once in the lobby. Who was in charge when making these decisions? Other players have noticed this as well and I believe that the truth must be brought to light. Turn 10 Studios will realize their mistake in due time. Until then, goodbye Turn 10 and may others (and hopefully yourselves) realize this size of this mistake alienating your loyal fans in an effort to "appeal to the masses". Expand
  38. KarlM
    Nov 2, 2009
    3
    This game is broken. Why would they not polish it to a shine rather than releasing it now with the screen tearing and last gen chugging graphics when the action gets really hot? I am so disappointed with this purchase. The controls are sluggish and you would think that the most powerfull console ALIVE could do better. This is a definite GS trade-in. And to think, I bought a $100 wheel to This game is broken. Why would they not polish it to a shine rather than releasing it now with the screen tearing and last gen chugging graphics when the action gets really hot? I am so disappointed with this purchase. The controls are sluggish and you would think that the most powerfull console ALIVE could do better. This is a definite GS trade-in. And to think, I bought a $100 wheel to go with this game. D minus at best. Expand
  39. [ANONYMOUS]
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    Every Aspect of FM3 that has been implemented as a new addition to FM2 sucks. This game is completely lifeless and full of bugs! Stay with Forza Motorsport 2(Two!) if you like racing games on the 360!
  40. DaveB
    Dec 5, 2009
    1
    Forza 3 is like driving though treacle, sluggish, unresponsive and dull. The worse thing about this abortion is the fact that they tried (and failed miserably) to copy GRID with the rewind feature. How they managed to mess that up I will never know. If you want a slick racer, stick to GRID.
  41. Nov 25, 2010
    0
    Saw what MasterChef did, so following likewise... No offense to the game itself...but yeah, just to balance up things a bit. Sorry.
    They flamed the user reviews for GT5 without even trying it out. Well, I haven't tried Forza 3, wanted to...but judging from the IGN review screencaptures, I guess I'll stick to GT5, unless F3 is free.
  42. anonymous
    Dec 10, 2009
    4
    Forza Motorsport 3 is a racing simulator video game developed for Xbox 360 by Turn 10 Studios. The game includes over 400 customizable cars from 50 manufacturers and over 100 race track variations. Look at the video Teaser here: http://www.techarena.in/video/21181-forza-motorsport-3-hot-holidays-dlc-teaser-trailer.htm
  43. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Very disappointed by this game...I was expecting a great game with real like physics, but all I got was a pretty looking game with nothing in it. It all looks beautiful but the game feels hollow, physics are very arcady and the game is full of bugs. Definitely the biggest disappointment of all my Xbox 360 games so far. I guess my expectations were just too high..... GT5 over this any day
  44. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    Nothing special. It's fun to customize but it's an arcade game. Honestly I was expecting something more serious. Wait, do I need more characters? AAAAaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa I hope that's enough
  45. BobC
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Great looking, great playing game. Career mode is fun, and storefront is awesome. Multiplayer is hard but fun, and will only get better as they add more classes online.
  46. JoeE
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. The controls feel perfect, the cars look great, the tracks and scenery are beautiful. Wonderful job Turn 10. You have a solid hit. Best racing game I've played since the old GT days.
  47. FPSMaster
    Nov 6, 2009
    7
    This game can be fun for a couple of days, but it gets boring fast. 3 Forza's in a little over 4 years and no matter what they do to them each new one always gets boring faster than the last. It seems with each sequel more time is put into behind the scenes stuff like decals, vinyls and upgrading while racing and physics along with sense of speed and excitement take a back seat. This game can be fun for a couple of days, but it gets boring fast. 3 Forza's in a little over 4 years and no matter what they do to them each new one always gets boring faster than the last. It seems with each sequel more time is put into behind the scenes stuff like decals, vinyls and upgrading while racing and physics along with sense of speed and excitement take a back seat. In-car view (and half done at that) is the only new feature othe than the rewing button. Graphics are overrated and are just more colorful than Forza 2, but no better. Race Pro is still more realisitc and PGR4 is still more exciting, so it leaves this exclusive series stuck somewhere in between in no man's land with bland racing and too many features that make it less a racing game and more a car and design creation/auctioning tool. But the actual racing is flat out boring and the physics are still ridiculously off for a so-called sim. Bring back PGR, and bring back Bizarre Creations to Xbox for exciting racing games please. Expand
  48. PeterD
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    All in All a great Racing-Game!!! Beatiful graphics, a huge size of cars & tracks, good career and so on. The Online-Gaming needs some improvements, but it´s fun. Good work, Turn 10!
  49. HarveyB
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    wow. well let me get started by saying that forza Motorsport 3 is an incredible racing experience. Having played GT 5 prolouge a lot im surprised to see how realistic this game is. every car feels different and each course just as well. those of you who are physics junkies like myself will be pleased. then there is the plethora of upgrades and tuning options. i can' say how good GT 5 wow. well let me get started by saying that forza Motorsport 3 is an incredible racing experience. Having played GT 5 prolouge a lot im surprised to see how realistic this game is. every car feels different and each course just as well. those of you who are physics junkies like myself will be pleased. then there is the plethora of upgrades and tuning options. i can' say how good GT 5 will be but forza 3 as of now is the king of racing sims and you as a racing sim player or even a casual gamer owe it to yourself to play this game. Collapse
  50. CamK
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This game is simply immense in all areas, a massive improvement that can hold it's own on it's own legs. Very deep game, very finished and well structured game too, but most of all the physics are beautiful. Very little could be improved, and none of those things (lighting model etc) matter to me.
  51. KamukR
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Certain other titles really have their work cut out for them. I am sure that with all future DLC this game will be, against my first thoughts, as the director said - the definitive racing game of this (console) generation. Don't get lost in incorrect interpretations of definitive like certain fanboys do...
  52. Margareta
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Wonderfully crafted game, a highly refined and comprehensive sim aimed at absorbing anyone and at any skill level. Jack of all trades.. ..and suprisingly the master of most. Powerful realistic physics are what push this title that extra kilometre to be the lead in its class - though we could expect in the very least a reasonable effort based upon previous iterations. 'Quality' Wonderfully crafted game, a highly refined and comprehensive sim aimed at absorbing anyone and at any skill level. Jack of all trades.. ..and suprisingly the master of most. Powerful realistic physics are what push this title that extra kilometre to be the lead in its class - though we could expect in the very least a reasonable effort based upon previous iterations. 'Quality' is Turn 10's middle name. Expand
  53. EddieM
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    I could write paragraphs on how good this game is and what it offers to the player. But instead I'll just say that this is the best racing game of all time and it shouldn't be missed even if you're not a fan of the genre. Enough said.
  54. WilliamH
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    2 minor issues for me: when you got it floored, lacks a little of the heart pounding feeling that NFS gives you. NFS also had a "grittiness" to it and Forza feels a little to sterile and neat. This coming from someone who purchased NFS and ripped it a new one in the comments. I know I'm knit picking, that's why I didn't give it a lower score...Forza's a ten in my 2 minor issues for me: when you got it floored, lacks a little of the heart pounding feeling that NFS gives you. NFS also had a "grittiness" to it and Forza feels a little to sterile and neat. This coming from someone who purchased NFS and ripped it a new one in the comments. I know I'm knit picking, that's why I didn't give it a lower score...Forza's a ten in my book...unless there's a car sim out there that has photo realistic cars and environments and an even more realistic car physics system....Forza's as good as it gets or is going to get w/o a serious hardware upgrade. Forza will go 12 rounds w/GT and may even come away w/the split decision. Expand
  55. RonaldS
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    Great game but can't read the information on the screen . I liked that about FMS 1 . FMS 2 was not as good as one but still readable but this Three version is a joke ! White background with light gray letters , and the font is very small .
  56. SimonR.
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    I really think that to change the time shouldnt be in a Racing sim and if than it should be limited. So you can use it just ONCE in a Race and not infinite. Another Reason is because its lacking of Weather Effects. Its not standard but its something what would be cool. Its a little to Arcady in my eyes. I know a lot of people like that but I dont. Amazing is the Tireflex. The Graphic is I really think that to change the time shouldnt be in a Racing sim and if than it should be limited. So you can use it just ONCE in a Race and not infinite. Another Reason is because its lacking of Weather Effects. Its not standard but its something what would be cool. Its a little to Arcady in my eyes. I know a lot of people like that but I dont. Amazing is the Tireflex. The Graphic is above standard but not overwhelming and the Sorrounding feels kind of empty. Physics are good but I expected more. its not a 100% Hardcore Sim you dont have to use the features which make the game easier but I dont like compromises. Online Features are wonderfull its a really really good racing sim but I am not as overwhelmed as I wanted to be. Expand
  57. JeremyM
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Amazing games, pretty, handles great, best with a wheel. If you like racing games, its a must buy, if you dont hate racing games, still a must buy, if you hate racing games, rent it. Multiplayer is fun, single player is well built season play,, and why are you still reading these reviews? just go buy it already
  58. MikeT
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Pros: -Assists and varying difficulty settings -Clean Interface -Fun Driving Physics -Large selection of customizable cars (paint, body kits, parts) -Online community content blends seamlessly into the game Cons: -Long loading times (specially if not installed) -Damage is not amazing, but understandable considering there are over 400 cars to model -No weather/night driving Overall, this Pros: -Assists and varying difficulty settings -Clean Interface -Fun Driving Physics -Large selection of customizable cars (paint, body kits, parts) -Online community content blends seamlessly into the game Cons: -Long loading times (specially if not installed) -Damage is not amazing, but understandable considering there are over 400 cars to model -No weather/night driving Overall, this game is awesome and the Pros far outweigh the cons. I got this game for $40 (buy 3 get 1 free deal at Best Buy), and it is worth 2x that price. The sheer amount of cars, tracks, customization and online features will make any racing fan happy. Expand
  59. WillB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    A really phenomenal game. It's a lot better than Forza 2. Fantastic driving (it really does feel great the whole way through). Excellent online and community stuff (i sold a painting today!). Loads of content, they really have hit this one out of the park and it's will last you a looong time too.
  60. KevT
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    For the Xbox 360, it hands down the best racing game for those looking for a more serious racing game. Those looking for something like Burnout, keep looking. People complaining about the "rewind" feature because it is not realistic can are missing the point that it is your option to use it. If you want to be ultra realistic when it comes to racing, do not use the feature. The game offers For the Xbox 360, it hands down the best racing game for those looking for a more serious racing game. Those looking for something like Burnout, keep looking. People complaining about the "rewind" feature because it is not realistic can are missing the point that it is your option to use it. If you want to be ultra realistic when it comes to racing, do not use the feature. The game offers enough driving aides most gamers will be fine playing this. My wife is really bad at driving games and all the driving aides still did not make it so she any good, so there will be some who cannot play FM3. If you are moderate gamer like me, this is an outstanding game. If you are a hardcore racer, you wil still be able to enjoy this, but I am sure you will complain about something. GT5 on the PS3 is months away, but when that day comes, I think FM3 will hold up well, but GT will most likely be the better game. Expand
  61. JohnF.
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    I am not a huge fan of racing games, but this one is making me change my mind. I hadn't bought a racing game since Mario Kart for GameCube and the exceedingly difficult F-Zero GX, but I decided to give this one a try and I'm glad I did. It is very friendly to newcomers but can also deliver the challenge to veterans if they so choose. It's got lots of tracks and different I am not a huge fan of racing games, but this one is making me change my mind. I hadn't bought a racing game since Mario Kart for GameCube and the exceedingly difficult F-Zero GX, but I decided to give this one a try and I'm glad I did. It is very friendly to newcomers but can also deliver the challenge to veterans if they so choose. It's got lots of tracks and different things you can do, and the online storefront where players can buy and sell their custom designs is addicting and fun. The look and feel of the game is smooth and slick, although load times are a bit long. It's hard to be all things to all people, but Forza 3 at least comes pretty close. One of the best games of 2009. Expand
  62. rayw
    Dec 6, 2009
    5
    if its a 6 cylinder it sounds like every other 6 in the game same for 8's and 4's and all engines there seems to be only 6 engine tones to cover there entire "400" car range. with is just a statistical lie. a good 10% of the cars are the exact same car just from a different racing team meaning content wise its the exact same car with a new paint job. any of the recant cars that if its a 6 cylinder it sounds like every other 6 in the game same for 8's and 4's and all engines there seems to be only 6 engine tones to cover there entire "400" car range. with is just a statistical lie. a good 10% of the cars are the exact same car just from a different racing team meaning content wise its the exact same car with a new paint job. any of the recant cars that came out this year that you drool over are locked unless u by the damn near 80 dollar version. if rwd it handels like all other rwd's same again for front and awd. the cars have no caracteristics of their own. when fully build only power and drivtrain determin the feel of the car. the driver assist make you all but invinceble and the match making its retarded at best. congrats to turn 10 for taking a hardcore sim racer and making it an arcade game. i guess loyalty to your fans dies in comparason to accesability to everyone. i pass the controler to my 3 year old sister and let her do the races for me and ill just buy and build a bunch of cars with drivetrains that dont belong in them and numb feeling. 60 bucks well spend Expand
  63. EduardoB
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt, the best racing game money can buy TODAY. I don't know if that will remain true when GT5 comes around, but I wonder what Polyphony Digital can do to top this amazing game. Everything from the blisky 60fps action on screen to the houndreds of cars, dozens of tracks, racing seasons, tuning, modding, painting, etc etc etc is top notch. Online racing is the best ever, Without a doubt, the best racing game money can buy TODAY. I don't know if that will remain true when GT5 comes around, but I wonder what Polyphony Digital can do to top this amazing game. Everything from the blisky 60fps action on screen to the houndreds of cars, dozens of tracks, racing seasons, tuning, modding, painting, etc etc etc is top notch. Online racing is the best ever, with total customization. Assists make the game accessible to all gamers. Graphics are fantastic. Sounds are amazing. Really, Forza 3 comes on top. For now, at least. Expand
  64. AnttiJ
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    I felt this was a bit of a disappointment graphically. The demo had the nicest looking track on it, naturally. Some of the tracks don't look good at all. Otherwise, it's a good game. But Forza 2 was already a good simulation, only thing it was lacking was current gen graphics. A little more effort from Turn 10 would have been in place, because it shoud not be that hard to make a I felt this was a bit of a disappointment graphically. The demo had the nicest looking track on it, naturally. Some of the tracks don't look good at all. Otherwise, it's a good game. But Forza 2 was already a good simulation, only thing it was lacking was current gen graphics. A little more effort from Turn 10 would have been in place, because it shoud not be that hard to make a closed track (meaning you can't drive to the distance to see that fake background scenery closer) look good. In many tracks they succeeded, but in equally many they failed more or less. Car's look great, but it's the scenery and road we look at when we drive, not the car. Expand
  65. siborg
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Nice progression from Forza 2. Very polished product. Only negatives so far are the music isn't as good as the last release, and the rewind feature doesn't play nice with a wheel.
  66. DanielT
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    amazing game. its incredibly realistic with tons of customizable features. the difficulty level can be tweaked for both amateurs and pros. this will give gran turismo a run for its money.
  67. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = One of the best racing games on console, if not THE best. This game is better than any Gran Turismo game in my opinion.
  68. Dec 4, 2010
    0
    The singlemost biggest mistake to buy this game. This game did not meet my axpectations at all. Going to burn my copy in an oven then pick up Gran Turismo 5.
  69. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it'sThis is the best racing game of this generation. Everything just feels "right" when I play it. The cars handle like they should (I know as I have had several of them) and the single player is engaging enough to keep you trying to get more cars and more upgrades. The tracks are varied and interesting, and I haven't got bored of them. The graphics are such an improvement over FM2 that's it's kind of ridiculous. This is a great game. If you have an Xbox 360 and you like cars, this is your game. Expand
  70. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Nice cars all around, seems like they really took their time with all 400 or so cars in the game. Would have liked more but i guess this is more about quality over quantity. The problem i have with it though is the extra cars that are coming in as downloads. They're nice additions (who wouldn't want to try out the new 458 italia), beautiful cars but I don't think i should pay for all thoseNice cars all around, seems like they really took their time with all 400 or so cars in the game. Would have liked more but i guess this is more about quality over quantity. The problem i have with it though is the extra cars that are coming in as downloads. They're nice additions (who wouldn't want to try out the new 458 italia), beautiful cars but I don't think i should pay for all those downloads, seems like a excuse to make more money off the game...

    But this doesn't change the face that the game is well made and well paced. I just wish i didn't have to pay extra for the cars i want, turning a 60 dollar game to a 100 dollar game...
    Microsoft...oh you... sometimes ...
    Expand
  71. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    If you want n64 quality graphics a crappy menu system and 200 cars with interiors(20% of the game) with worse damage get GT5. Forza is the BEST sim this gen
  72. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Growing up playing Mario Kart, I had some difficulty adjusting to Forza Motorsport when I first played the second in the series; but I'm so glad I spent the time to get to grips with it. Forza Motorsport 3 is a near perfect racing game. Each car is meticulously modelled to look and behave realistically; the sounds, the in-car view, the race courses are all stunning. The career is veryGrowing up playing Mario Kart, I had some difficulty adjusting to Forza Motorsport when I first played the second in the series; but I'm so glad I spent the time to get to grips with it. Forza Motorsport 3 is a near perfect racing game. Each car is meticulously modelled to look and behave realistically; the sounds, the in-car view, the race courses are all stunning. The career is very deep; I've played nearly 60 hours and I'm nearing the end of my final, 6th racing season. There are over 100 events in which to compete to earn money, which you can then spend on cars, paint jobs and tuning set-ups from the storefront. There are some unbelievable car designs on the storefront, from police cars to Mass Effect 2 art-inspired designs. The game has been backed up with DLC too, all of which is included in the Ultimate Edition of the game. There are over 500 cars to choose from here, but beware if you don't have a hard drive, there is a hefty 1.3GB+ to install if you want to enjoy the full experience. The only downsides of this game are lack of dynamic weather and day/night conditions; perhaps this will be added in the next instalment. Expand
  73. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    One of the best racing games available, might not look as good as Gran Turismo 5 but the single player mode in Forza 3 is easy to recommend over GT5's single player offering.
  74. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    You'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, andYou'll be hard pressed to find a better racing simulator on a console. The physics engine is superb and the ability to completely customise each area of the car is addictive to say the least. Beyond the ability to paint and customise the look of your car is the ability to change the actual drivetrain of every vehicle in the game from engines, to engine parts like valves, camshatts, and flywheels. The amount you can to is unrivaled.

    The visuals are stunning, while lacking the visual flair of games like Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, you must keep in mind the game is running a physics engine 360 times every second which draws alot of resources. To be able to run that while still locking itself at a solid 60 frames per second is impressive.

    The career mode is LONG. You could play a new race every day for months and not be able to finish up. Re-playability is this games forte.

    With the Ultimate Collection edition of the game available, any racing fan should have this game if they hadn't already bought it.
    Expand
  75. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This game is the best racing simulator you can find as of December 2010. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and some tracks feel too out of place. The game sounds areThis game is the best racing simulator you can find as of December 2010. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and some tracks feel too out of place. The game sounds are the best in any racer IMO and the graphics are super, although graphics aren't everything remember!. If you are a fan of past iterations of Forza or cars in general this game was made for you. Expand
  76. d0x
    Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Its pretty simple really. Forza is an amazing racing game with incredibly deep customization options. It has an excellent sim physics engine originally designed by Microsoft for auto insurance companies and the police to simulate driving conditions in accidents and to rate cars for insurance quotes. The engine is insanely complex and as far as sim racing games go it is top notch. IveIts pretty simple really. Forza is an amazing racing game with incredibly deep customization options. It has an excellent sim physics engine originally designed by Microsoft for auto insurance companies and the police to simulate driving conditions in accidents and to rate cars for insurance quotes. The engine is insanely complex and as far as sim racing games go it is top notch. Ive heard lots of people say it isnt on par with Gran Turismo which is beyond untrue. Anyone who has ever had any experience racing fast cars can tell you Forza is very accurate in the way cars perform. The simulation engine is complex enough to measure airflow around side skirts which is just unheard of in games. Everything matters, even tire tread depth from wear. If your vehicle gets damage and there is a dent on the bumper you can pull up vehicle telemetry and see how its effecting airflow and thus speed/handling. You wont find that in any other game.

    Forza may not be the prettiest racing game ever created. Its own developers admit to this fact. They have said from day 1 that the physics simulation is more important than just pretty graphics so most of the system resources are being put to use making sure cars drive like cars. That being said Forza 3 is no visual slouch and can easily hold its own with other games. It is by no means ugly. Currently its being compared on a visual level with Gran Turismo 5. Owning both games I can say neither game looks better than the other. For example GT5's premium cars(200 total) look better than Forza's cars. However the standard cars (of which there are 800) look worse than anything in Forza 3. Forza also has higher quality lighting and makes better use of HDR. It also has far better shadows than GT5 but GT5 has better smoke and particle effects. In terms of tracks that are about equal.

    If you are looking for an amazingly deep racing sim this is the game for you. If you are a casual fan this is still the game for you. You can get pretuned cars, you can turn steering and braking assists on and following the driving line. Anyone can play this game and have fun. Even someone who justs like designed complex paint schemes can have fun making cars and selling them.

    Me? How do I play? I sit in my Playseats Evolution Forza 3 special edition racing chair. My MS FF racing wheel mounted to it. I shut the music off and turn car effects to 100% and i race. This game is nothing short of amazing!
    Expand
  77. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    This game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievements are very linear and don't appeal very much to the completest nature of the second game in the series. I was looking forward to having absurd tasks like collecting every car and completing every time trial, but this game was built around the handThis game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievements are very linear and don't appeal very much to the completest nature of the second game in the series. I was looking forward to having absurd tasks like collecting every car and completing every time trial, but this game was built around the hand holding 'I win' button crowd. You play the game and hit buttons and you will get free gamerscore as long as you stick through the games linear plot. It lays out races before you and you can choose your own path, but if you aren't chosing the races they decide are involved in your season, then you are not advancing through the game. Upgrading can be robotic as clicking a button and letting the CPU feed you a list of parts that would be 'helpful' for your next race. If you do mess up in a race, you can hit a button and rewind to where you messed up and start over. While this is super great on a very long endurance race where your batteries die, someone gets in front the TV, etc, it just sums up the whole feeling this game has towards itself. Its very accessable. While I disagree with a lot of these choices, the fact is, this is how you design video games in 2010 and beyond. Anyone could have fun in this game as long as they have an intrest in cars or racing in general. For the hardcore enthusiast there is plenty to achieve with 100's of leaderboards, drift races and a huge amount of DLC content that comes with the Ultimate edition. This game is designed to suck up 100's of hours of your life and I for one will let it. I would really like see some of those super completist achievements and the ability to lock out the 'rewind' function totally by difficulty settings in Forza 4. This doesn't make sense when the game rewards you for setting everything to simulation settings and brutally hard AI for a better rewards, yet you still have the ability to rewind the game at any time. Of course its optional to use, but it simply shouldn't be there at all at the hardest level of playing. This is something they stole from "Grid" but didn't quite understand what to do with it. (ie: limit it). Still this is the best time consuming race game out there for me and with the Ultimate edition dirt cheap, its a no brainer to own it if you don't and even remotely love racing games. Expand
  78. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    LOL @ PS3 fanboys voting this game zero. :D :D

    I own both consoles and have played GT5 and this game extensively.

    It's not perfect and lags behind GT5 as far as night driving and weather effects are concerned but if Turn 10 watch the fan reaction to Gran Turismo 5 closely and learn from Polyphony's howling mistakes as far as user interface they'll clean up with Forza 4.
  79. Jan 18, 2011
    9
    Rewind option is hands down the best racing game feature ever. So far I love the game. Music is mundane, but didn't buy it for the music. Graphics are great and loving the game so far. Love the braking assist. Hard mode is a little too hard and medium is a good setting, but I wish there was a between mode. Oh well. Fun racing game overall.
  80. May 26, 2011
    8
    Bought the ultimate edition that includes all the DLC. Best bargain ever! I love this game for the longevity it has. I hear people complain about online, but I don't play online so for me it is brilliant. Very good game. 521 cars. Don't know how many tracks, super realistic. What's not to love?
  81. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    An incredibly well designed driving sim. Now I have never played any previous sims before but when i compare this to this to other racing games such as need for speed, they pale in comparison. One of my favorite parts about this game was how realistic the cars felt. When I rounded a corner my car would barely hold onto the tracks. To sum up absolutely outstanding racing sim.
  82. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    I am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that II am a racing game fan. Done them all, you name it. In my opinion Forza Motorsport 3 doesn`t exactly show the same progress like its predecessors did. The main thing I always look at while choosing a racing game is the sensation of actually driving a car. To be honest, Forza 3 falls in average cathegory in this respect. Gran Turismo is better with NFS SHIFT being the best. Given that I play thoset titles often, my first glance at FM3 made me recheck my console settings if I was running this at 1080p. Well, I did. Graphically this game is almost the same as FM2, just average. And no, I don`t rate graphics by watching the showcase rooms but the actual gameplay. **** are just rubbish, there is hardly any head movement that would show some G forces experienced by the driver. While driving in FM3 I feel as if I was a camera inside the car, steering it by a radio controller. The sense of speed is mediocre. The racing locations are merely on par with the competition. I love everything else about this game, but it doesn`t change the general impression one bit. When I feel like driving a virtual supercar, I choose NFS SHIFT or Gran Turismo. Expand
  83. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This is the best racing game on the XBOX 360 and the second best racing game on a console. It is a sim racer, meaning it's true life. GT5 is the better sim racer and has better graphics (only on important cars), but that's where it stops. Customization, uploading, multiplayer, menus, lobbies, cars, mods... they're all better on Forza 3 and it makes for a better experience. Career mode isThis is the best racing game on the XBOX 360 and the second best racing game on a console. It is a sim racer, meaning it's true life. GT5 is the better sim racer and has better graphics (only on important cars), but that's where it stops. Customization, uploading, multiplayer, menus, lobbies, cars, mods... they're all better on Forza 3 and it makes for a better experience. Career mode is okay, but it's just simple series races of up to 5 races. I'd like more. I like season standings and competitive enemy drivers. Unfortunately the AI drivers in career never drive modded cars and it's easy to beat them until you get into R1 or maybe R2. I personally don't have a problem beating the computer at any time, on any difficulty, in anyclass. But it's still fun, just not as good as it should be. Multiplayer and customization is where it's at. It has THE best customization for cars in any game, ever. I won't go into detail, cause I could sit here and tell you more and more things. Mutiplayer is a blast and I like the Truskill ranking system. There are plenty of driver assists that can make even the worst driver, decent. If you like racing games and you have a 360, you HAVE to pick this up. Expand
  84. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    I will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks areI will start by saying i played,loved & put alot of time into the first 2 games.I especially enjoyed No 2,& played many online races as well as the career mode.But 'The Definitive racing game' (as the developers kept insisting on calling it),it most certainly isnt unfortunately.. i'll start on the good points.The graphics are good(though only marginally improved on No 2),the tracks are great,with some fantastic new ones,& more of them,& a much welcome **** view..Theres more cars than before,with i think,an improved career mode,that tracks what kind of races you like,& car your driving,& offers you appropriate events.GREAT! but now onto the negatives.. Theres too many races in the career,that are one on one races,& they seem to repeat,& seems to last for what feels like an age.. It feels a real chore to do.The music for the most part in the game,is not very good,forcing you to turn it off,or rely onthe 360's dash custom playlist,that is deeply flawed,by not letting you randomise the playlist,so your listening to the songs at the front of your playlist every new play session(very annoying).. The racing itself plays well,& you can play splitscreen against the CPU,& even form teams,which is sorely missing from GT5,as is the performance index for cars,but theres a major problem,or flaw with this game,& that is the Multiplayer.. As i said,i REALLY enjoyed that aspect in No 2,but Turn 10 has all but killed it in No 3!.. See for yourself,the lobbys for it are practically deserted.. How did they accomplish this feat in their self proclamed 'Definitive Racing Game'? They basically took away the ability to create or join a public race with custom rules & restrictions.Unless its a private race.GREAT,how many people out there can get races organised with people on their friends list? not alot.I certainly cant.No,its all matchmaking now.So you have a very limited set of choices of the kind of race you want to race in,but THATS IT! You want to race against other people who arnt using auto braking? forget it,People using Braking lines? forget it,What track your going to race on? Nope.forget it.forget any kind of choice,or keeping the same crowd,but just changing any of the race details.I cant believe Turn 10 actually implimented this massively flawed system to the online part of this game.. If it wasnt for that MAJOR issue,this game would've got an easy 9 from me,& i suspect a better score from many others.Also because of that issue,the game has been grossly overated by the critics.Ah well,better luck with Forza 4.Fingers crossed.. Expand
  85. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    I'm not really a fan of car games, but Forza Motorsport 3 caught my attention. With many cars to choose from, and many tracks to race on, this is a game that will keep you entertained.
  86. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    Complete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't likeComplete package. End of. Same detailed and easy-to-use customisation as Forza 2, auction house, tuning in sometimes painful detail, upgrades on virtually any component and hundreds of cars. Any car nut's dream. But as a racing game, it's boring in terms of driving. It's fine when this is ALL you play, but it's not fun and there's no sense of speed like in other racing games. I didn't like the online and many of the talented artists still go on forza 2 due to the bureaucratic censorhip of "inappropriate content". Whilst the career mode offers a greater variety in cars and events, there is still no drift mode- only circuit, sprints and drag races (which are EXTREMELY BORING). There are just enough additions to qualify for a sequel to Forza 2, but it's not as special. Still, a game that is worth recommending to anyone. You get more assist options, more tracks, cars, modes, events, drift leaderboards, time trials (which are secretly hidden away under the leaderboards menu), cckpit view and a structured season play. OK yes, every kind of car you can dream of, everything you'd ever want to do to it- upgrading, tuning, ANY paint job/livery etc. that's all well and good. But the gameplay has NOT changed. Turn 10 have failed to add additional game modes and objectives. Shift, for example, emphasises additional objectives and such so that even if all you're doing is driving around a track, there's always something else to go for- a greater goal. Here it just feels like grinding and, given the lack of a sense of speed (despite the unbelievably smooth framerate); I cannot recommend this game over NFS Shift as a game. As a simulator, it's excellent. I wouldn't say this game is as mainstream as Microsoft make out- it gets boring relatively quickly despite the plethora of assists available. Expand
  87. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge GT5 fan and after playing this game for 8 hrs straight at a friends place, I'm addicted. Selling my ps3, gt5 and buying an xbox for Forza 4 alone. The graphics are stunning and the physics are by far the best in any race game ever!
  88. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    I'm not much of a race car fan. I have never gotten into racing games but bought this used because a guest was coming up for a week and loves racing games. I have to say this is an incredible game. I have gotten lost in the designs and even the game play has had me on the edge of my seat. I've even got my eye on picking up a new copy of Forza Motorsport 4 thanks to my experience with 3!
  89. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. I have played lots of racing games and none have captured me the way this one has. The cars, parts, and car customization is one of my favorite parts. The only problem is the steep learning curve on adjusting the cars specific details if you don't know anything about cars.
  90. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    I want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish andI want to love Forza. I've tried every single release hoping for the spark that made me love racing games. There are somethings it does fantastically well. the customisation is better than GT, the selection of cars is good if not really stellar and the aural aspect is high quality. It just seems to lack something. The presentation is more glitz and pizzaz than substance and real polish and unlike other games of the genre you are never really in the driving seat.. You are always aware that this is just another game. Expand
  91. May 2, 2014
    9
    This is my favorite racing game and series to date. Feels good and highly customizable. I haven't played any since this one, because my 3rd and final XBroke 360 sh*t the bed and I got locked out of my account to boot. Needless to say I will not be buying an Sh*tbox One. F*ck you, Microsoft. You pieces of sh*t. Great game, though!
  92. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    It was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is theIt was a great game, but in my reviews I am pretty much just giving you a short explanation on why I enjoyed it or didn't enjoy it. Not really too much about how good it really is, its my opinion what do I know That's why I give you my enjoyment of it because you can't tell me I'm wrong. And as good as a game this is, racing games just got boring and repetitive to me. To me racing is the same thing over and over again. Expand
  93. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    First of all I do not own a X box 360 but I have played Forza 3 quite a bit. Firstly I really enjoyed the amount of creativity you could do to your cars visually, which some games simply don't offer. The driving was also quite fun and the competition was for he most part equal.
  94. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game,I'm not a huge fan of racing games but this one came with Halo ODST in a bundle with my Xbox Elite a while back. I tried it out, but it's just too hardcore for me. I've played Need For Speed before which I enjoyed a lot, but this game was just too realistic and boring for my tastes. You need to be a real racing fan to enjoy this one. Great graphics though and it's probably not a bad game, if you love racing. Expand
  95. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    More of an add on to Forza 2 rather than a stand alone as, apart from a little tweak of the gameplay mechanics, the game is just the same except for added tracks and additional cars made between the two games. Worth getting for cheap if you have hammered 2 to the point of death.
  96. May 29, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 9.0

    A great improvement of Forza 2, especially on the much more detailed look and textures. Nice game.
  97. Jul 14, 2014
    6
    What can I say, it was a pretty good game, but never really stuck around with me. Only logged in about an hour and a a half. Might pop it in my 360 soon.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Forza Motorsport 3 has more of what made the second game so great, but also with better visuals, and a more balanced control.
  2. We could nitpick the small things (returning courses, the developers force players to repeatedly race on the same tracks), but none of those issues affect an otherwise incredible racing experience. Forza Motorsport 3 is without question one of the best racers and a surefire contender for 2009 game of the year.
  3. 90
    Forza 3 is a brilliantly engineered, if somewhat cold, racing game.