Forza Motorsport 3 Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Whether it's an exotic sports car like the new Audi R8 V10, a classic American muscle car such as the Ford GT, or a hot Asian import such as the Nissan 370Z, everyone has a dream car. The game makes it possible for everyone to experience the thrill of owning the world's most exotic andWhether it's an exotic sports car like the new Audi R8 V10, a classic American muscle car such as the Ford GT, or a hot Asian import such as the Nissan 370Z, everyone has a dream car. The game makes it possible for everyone to experience the thrill of owning the world's most exotic and exquisite cars. Live the most realistic racing experience ever as you take the wheel of more than 400 of the most-beloved cars on over 100 renowned real-world tracks and exotic road courses from around the globe. With breathtaking HD graphics and the most advanced vehicle performance modeling in a video game, Forza Motorsport 3 includes a host of driving assists and adjustable skill levels to make the game a gripping pick-up-and-play experience for audiences of all ages and skill levels. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Never before has there been such a content-packed racing game, playable for people of all skill levels, that feels this good. That's the key. On the track, no matter what car you're in, it feels right. You're not wondering if the controls are too twitchy or if you should tweak some options in the menu. You're 100 per cent focused on nailing every corner, out-breaking an opponent and taking him on the inside and just having a good time.
  2. Forza 3 is without doubt the best racing game yet. Absolutely stunning.
  3. From the moment we placed Forza Motorsport 3 into our Xbox 360 the game just screamed polish and fine-tuned racing, from every angle...It’s simply the best racing game ever created.
  4. Forza 3 is easily the best and most complete console racer currently available. Will Gran Turismo 5 change all that? There's no way to know at this point in time. But for 2009, it seems that Forza 3 has emerged as the automotive title of the year, and it is one that all simulation fans will enjoy.
  5. Turn 10 has sacrificed flash for a faultless 60 frames a second, and understood that in simulation, what you feel is far more important than what you see. It has diverted all of the 360's resources to giving you the smoothest, most believable, most physically rewarding drive you've ever had.
  6. 90
    Forza 3 is close to the complete racing game package. It's got the sheer volume of content in terms of cars, tracks and options, a deep and very lengthy single player mode, a creative, thriving online community, and it successfully balances casual and hardcore appeal. Forza 3 may not look the best or sound the best, but it races the best.
  7. Forza 3 is undoubtedly the best racing game for the 360, and the one with the most depth also. The career mode is far from perfect however, and it demands a shockload of hard drive space in the end. Still, if you're after a racing game this year for this particular format, there's no competition really.

See all 90 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 100
  2. Negative: 11 out of 100
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Lets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnoutLets start this by saying that I have played EVERY racing game ever made since 1973.Simulation or not,Pole position to Gran Turismo to burnout to Forza 3 and nothing and I mean nothing is even close to this game that has ever been made!The only games that even compare to this game is Forza 1 & 2.This game has it all and it's so deep and perfect in its quality that you will be popping this in 10 years from now to play,to compare and just to remind yourself how much this game is so good and how much ahead of there time they are.Over 400 cars and great selection of cars.Gran Turismo 4 has over 700 cars but it's not about how many or this or that,it's about the guality and how you bring it all together and Forza 3 does that perfectly.Mark my words,when Gran Turismo 5 comes out in November of 2010 it will have NOTHING on Forza 3.They think because they will have over 1,000 cars and better graphics that they are gonna have a better game well they don't have the first idea of how to make a driving game come together like forza 3.Remember people Forza started just 5 years ago in 2005 and look were there at today just 5 years later.If one game ever deserves a perfect 10 it's this game! Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    This game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievementsThis game is still a very sizable upgrade from the previous title, but I also feel like it lost a little bit from Forza 2. The achievements are very linear and don't appeal very much to the completest nature of the second game in the series. I was looking forward to having absurd tasks like collecting every car and completing every time trial, but this game was built around the hand holding 'I win' button crowd. You play the game and hit buttons and you will get free gamerscore as long as you stick through the games linear plot. It lays out races before you and you can choose your own path, but if you aren't chosing the races they decide are involved in your season, then you are not advancing through the game. Upgrading can be robotic as clicking a button and letting the CPU feed you a list of parts that would be 'helpful' for your next race. If you do mess up in a race, you can hit a button and rewind to where you messed up and start over. While this is super great on a very long endurance race where your batteries die, someone gets in front the TV, etc, it just sums up the whole feeling this game has towards itself. Its very accessable. While I disagree with a lot of these choices, the fact is, this is how you design video games in 2010 and beyond. Anyone could have fun in this game as long as they have an intrest in cars or racing in general. For the hardcore enthusiast there is plenty to achieve with 100's of leaderboards, drift races and a huge amount of DLC content that comes with the Ultimate edition. This game is designed to suck up 100's of hours of your life and I for one will let it. I would really like see some of those super completist achievements and the ability to lock out the 'rewind' function totally by difficulty settings in Forza 4. This doesn't make sense when the game rewards you for setting everything to simulation settings and brutally hard AI for a better rewards, yet you still have the ability to rewind the game at any time. Of course its optional to use, but it simply shouldn't be there at all at the hardest level of playing. This is something they stole from "Grid" but didn't quite understand what to do with it. (ie: limit it). Still this is the best time consuming race game out there for me and with the Ultimate edition dirt cheap, its a no brainer to own it if you don't and even remotely love racing games. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Best racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars isBest racer yet! Get a wheel for optimal experience. Online or single player, this game is just a joy! The inclusion of V8 Supercars is particularly favourable. Expand
  4. JohnF.
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    I am not a huge fan of racing games, but this one is making me change my mind. I hadn't bought a racing game since Mario Kart for I am not a huge fan of racing games, but this one is making me change my mind. I hadn't bought a racing game since Mario Kart for GameCube and the exceedingly difficult F-Zero GX, but I decided to give this one a try and I'm glad I did. It is very friendly to newcomers but can also deliver the challenge to veterans if they so choose. It's got lots of tracks and different things you can do, and the online storefront where players can buy and sell their custom designs is addicting and fun. The look and feel of the game is smooth and slick, although load times are a bit long. It's hard to be all things to all people, but Forza 3 at least comes pretty close. One of the best games of 2009. Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    9
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 9.0

    A great improvement of Forza 2, especially on the much more detailed look and
    Graphics: 9.0 Sound: 8.5 Gameplay: 9.0 Fun/Story: 9.0

    A great improvement of Forza 2, especially on the much more detailed look and textures. Nice game.
    Expand
  6. AnttiJ
    Oct 27, 2009
    8
    I felt this was a bit of a disappointment graphically. The demo had the nicest looking track on it, naturally. Some of the tracks don't I felt this was a bit of a disappointment graphically. The demo had the nicest looking track on it, naturally. Some of the tracks don't look good at all. Otherwise, it's a good game. But Forza 2 was already a good simulation, only thing it was lacking was current gen graphics. A little more effort from Turn 10 would have been in place, because it shoud not be that hard to make a closed track (meaning you can't drive to the distance to see that fake background scenery closer) look good. In many tracks they succeeded, but in equally many they failed more or less. Car's look great, but it's the scenery and road we look at when we drive, not the car. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2010
    0
    The singlemost biggest mistake to buy this game. This game did not meet my axpectations at all. Going to burn my copy in an oven then pick upThe singlemost biggest mistake to buy this game. This game did not meet my axpectations at all. Going to burn my copy in an oven then pick up Gran Turismo 5. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.