Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 550 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Forza Motorsport 4 is the biggest entry in the series to date. Hundreds of the world’s most exciting cars spanning more than eighty manufacturers. The best driving circuits in the world. Bringing you closer to the cars of your dreams. Online features that redefine online community. ForzaForza Motorsport 4 is the biggest entry in the series to date. Hundreds of the world’s most exciting cars spanning more than eighty manufacturers. The best driving circuits in the world. Bringing you closer to the cars of your dreams. Online features that redefine online community. Forza Motorsport 4 promises to be an entirely new car experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 83
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 83
  3. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    100
    Forza Motorsport 4 may not be perfect and there are still some things that last year's Gran Turismo 5 either does better or that Forza doesn't do at all. But for the core driving experience, technical achievement, and level of accessibility, Turn 10's effort is nothing short of superb.
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    96
    If you ever get bored playing Forza 4, it's because of your medical condition. Seek help immediately.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    95
    The improved visuals, the added cars on track, the wealth of new race types, the tweaked AI and closer racing, the ferocious sound and superior sense of speed, the even better livery editor, the lot. With Forza 4 Turn 10 has crafted a driving game like no other; it's hands-down this generation's premier racing simulator.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    90
    Forza Motorsport 4 goes beyond any driving simulation on consoles. Turn 10 added some fresh mechanics to a career mode that, apart some extras, remains the same (in terms of event types), and developed a new grip system for the tires that reaches a new level of driving simulation.
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Forza Motorsport 4 is pretty much the same game as its predecessor, this time only with added Kinect controls and somewhat limited Autovista functionality. Luckily Forza 3 was a great game and Forza 4 is too. Best new feature is larger player cap in online matches. [Nov 2011]
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    90
    Forza 4 impresses for not only providing a beautiful, solid and deep racing experience, but making it fun and accessible for any car enthusiast or newcomer.
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    Forza 4 gives us the most complete experience of all the Forza games. The physics are better, the multiplayer and career modes are improved and there are more cars and tracks than ever before. But there are few truly new features for the racing enthusiast. Where is the dynamic weather and night racing?

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 147
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Those who gave a negative score without writing **** are GT5 fanboy Wake up! Spec 2.0 can't save that game! Forza 4 is better compare withThose who gave a negative score without writing **** are GT5 fanboy Wake up! Spec 2.0 can't save that game! Forza 4 is better compare with Forza 4 in production time to quality ratio! If Turn10 has as much time as Polyphony They can create a car's matrix! and the one who give 4 and write something Check his profile He gave GT5 a 9 Get it? And those complain about rain and night racing REMEMBER THATãâ Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    Forza 4 is brilliant, beautiful, challenging, and addicting!

    Over the past two years I've logged several hundred hours, and have loved
    Forza 4 is brilliant, beautiful, challenging, and addicting!

    Over the past two years I've logged several hundred hours, and have loved every minute of it! Although there is tons of content the game offers lots of DLC too. Fortunately this installment is completely fleshed out, and I never felt the need to purchase DLC in order to have the full experience. In the long run, I actually did end up purchasing most of the car packs, but was comfortable in not being pressured to do so. As for car tokens, I never purchased any. Tokens are unnecessary (but a convenient alternative) because Forza 4's economy is well balanced an fair.
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    Forza Motorsport 4 is nearly a perfect game... It's designed for car enthusiasts and definitely a great sequel to one of the strongest racingForza Motorsport 4 is nearly a perfect game... It's designed for car enthusiasts and definitely a great sequel to one of the strongest racing franchises in existence. The graphics and sound leave little room for debate. This is as good as the old xbox360 hardware can get. If you want to see the best and most detailed cars models in this generation of consoles look no further. And I'm not just talking about the Autovista cars... EVERY car is perfectly detailed with over twice the polygon count of Forza 3. Has for the car rooster, Turn 10 obviously went for quality instead of quantity. You get over 500 cars but most of your dream cars are present and again, ALL in great detail! The tracks are superb with light effects that are jaw dropping beautiful! The track list could use a little expansion with still some great tracks being left on the bench for this iteration but the inclusion of new tracks like Hockenheimring or Infineon and the repolish of all of the previous tracks will ensure racers will have new challenges to last them. Speaking of challenges there was a lot of work put into game modes. Both singleplayer and multiplayer! A new single player campaign (world tour), new multiplayer modes including "rivals" expand the replay value of the game well beyond the 100 digit hour mark! Since we can't work with decimal spaces I'm rounding up my score to a 10 but the game does have a couple of flaws. Although I understand the technical limitations behind the exclusion of night races (it's hard for such an old hardware to render real time lighting for the headlights of 16 cars while keeping up this level of graphic quality and stable frame rate) I don't really understand why there aren't any rain effects. And while the new game modes are fun (car soccer, car bowling, mixed class races, racing through traffic, etc.) some of these modes could've been left out to include more important features such as flag rules or better pit strategy. Car model damage also hasn't seen much improvement and crashing sounds are... "funny" to say the least. But right here is the full list of negative aspects of this game, while I could keep talking about the positive aspects way beyond the 5000 character limit! Some that are worth mentioning is the increase in number of cars per race (now you can race up with 16 of your friends or enemies), car clubs is an overdue addition that fits perfectly in Forza's outstanding community! Speaking of community... I see a lot of **** about the amount of driving aids this game provides... Well.. No one is under no obligation of using driving aids... And the game gives you a lot of reasons not to use any, aside from faster times if you have no aids (unless you suck) you get crazy credit bonuses for not using any helps. But if my father, friend, brother, etc want to share my experience they can because the game scales to a level of difficulty they can work with! I think this democratization of racing games is a great way to make future fans of this genre of games and cars in general! And with the new physics engine and tire data from Pirelli experienced players (or even real life racers) can have a good and realistic challenge. Given it's not a simulator as iRacing it's as good as it gets for consoles (GT5 faboys, I'm not saying it's better then GT... I don't care about your game really...). There's a lot to be said about Forza Motorsport 4 and it's hard to fit it all here but FM4 is a worthy successor for FM3. From the graphics, sound, simulation, car list, track list to new community features, game modes, features, great top gear inclusion, and a lot more Forza 4 established its rightful title as the best racing game of this generation. You can disagree from your own personal taste but when you objectively consider all these attributes it's hard to think of any other title that can match this amazing feat. Forza Motorspot 4 is a game for everyone! From real life racing veterans looking to have some fun with multiplayer clubs, to the youngest kid just discovering how amazing a car can be in autovista! Forza 4 is a game changer and serves to show what Turn10 can do in 2 years! If not for the small negative points I mentioned this game would be perfect. So I'd give it a 9.6 and round it to 10 'cause MC doesn't let me have decimals... :( Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    I still don't like season mode or career or whatever you want to call it. I want to be able to race in certain series' for season afterI still don't like season mode or career or whatever you want to call it. I want to be able to race in certain series' for season after season... and have stat history. The AI is dumb, they act like you're not even there most of the time.

    Multiplayer is fun, as usual, but I hate the fact that there is no ranking system or lobby points. (though the lobby does show the players who have the highest "invisable lobby points" higher.

    The graphics are definitely better and it pushes the limit on the XBOX 360, as does the driving mechanics.
    Expand
  5. KBT
    Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Although this game is up and running for months now, I still find it necessary to insert my review, because of all the skewed criticism I findAlthough this game is up and running for months now, I still find it necessary to insert my review, because of all the skewed criticism I find here and there in the (user) score section.
    First of: the often made comparison with GT5. This is a difficult one. The AI, menu presentation, sound and music are better worked out at forza. The crucial element of an excellent racing game is the balance between arcade and sim. Turn 10 already nailed this part since part 2. In my opinion, GT5 is more of a sim in general and less arcade-oriented. A better sim would be GT5 strictly speaking. A better racing game is most definitely F4.
    The single player is much better worked out than the previous parts, so does the accumulation of car and credit earnings. One giant disadvantage is the virtual price of the most expensive cars in the game. It is almost impossible to buy a single car with the price of 10.000.000, knowing that you will earn only 10.000 of average per race. That's nuts. You can buy these at the auction house or real money (i.e. 1 euro more or less), but these are all silly alternatives. The multiplayer is really fun....when it connects. If you have a good connection, it sometimes still manages to disconnect due to.....no one knows at turn10. this happens me about twice a day during a two hours game session. Nevertheless it is the sole part of the game that keeps the disc entering the xbox after 6 months of purchase. For all the 'newbies' to racing or forza, i would say go get it..fast. for all the veterans like me, I can't suppress the feeling I got of 'more of the same.' The game has been definitely improved, but there are no radical new improvements here. Yes the autovista is nice and so does the nurburgring and the controls have been updated too, but I expected a bit more. Hence the score, not a 10 but a 9.
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    This game is great! The number one thing that comes to my mind when reviewing this game is...VALUE. Wow! There are a tone of cars and tracksThis game is great! The number one thing that comes to my mind when reviewing this game is...VALUE. Wow! There are a tone of cars and tracks and they look better than ever! Although its not a huge change over 3, it is better in every way. The AI is especially improved as Forza 3 felt way too easy or too hard. This is a must buy for anyone looking to sink hours upon hours leveling up and building your car collection. Expand
  7. May 27, 2012
    0
    EXACTLY! I have the Forza 4 demo, and it's good, but I'd still say that graphically GT5 wins. Gameplay..... Never mind. I'll be labeled aEXACTLY! I have the Forza 4 demo, and it's good, but I'd still say that graphically GT5 wins. Gameplay..... Never mind. I'll be labeled a troll since I'm on a PS3 site. I'll leave that alone. lol Wait, no I won't. Forza 3 was better than GT5, so IF Forza 4 is to be better than 3, then you can imagine. Expand

See all 147 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  2. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  3. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.