Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when human beings access powerful alien technology they were never meant to have been exposed to? When a volatile energy source they call Fuse falls into the wrong hands, the CIA calls upon an elite contact team to retrieve it, known as Overstrike 9. Congregate with up to 3 friends in team-based co-op play as you take down the rogue paramilitary corporation behind the theft. Use lethal teamwork, orchestrate devastating attacks, and provide cover for one another with fringe-tech weapons and gadgets. The unique LEAP feature lets you instantly shift from agent to agent during combat, allowing you to take advantage of each one’s special arsenal. You will need your partners and their arsenal to stop a global arms race from spinning out of control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
  1. May 28, 2013
    86
    A welcome surprise and a nice break from the story-heavy and highly cinematic games that have come out in the past few months. This game is the definition of gameplay over presentation, and it’s all the better for it.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    77
    Fuse is fun to play with friends, but if you are expecting a revolutionary single-player-campaign, you are going to be disappointed.
  3. May 31, 2013
    70
    An average co-op third person shooter that is rather derivative. The idea of weapons is very original, the rest is rather bland. Is better to avoid if you plan to play it alone.
  4. May 28, 2013
    65
    If you can overlook the tonal inconsistencies, Fuse’s shallow, familiar shooting can thrive. Success comes when the unacceptable teammate A.I. is replaced by a group of friends unleashing the awesome power of their alien-powered weaponry.
  5. A matter of surviving endless similar rooms, and repetitive mini-bosses with too much health.
  6. May 30, 2013
    60
    Another Third Person Shooter, with more generic situations than original elements. Good in coop mode, but forgettable for solo players. Fuse has frantic gunplay, but on the other hand also has a generic story, characters and design levels.
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    Whether it's true or not, Fuse does feel every bit like another victim of the heavily focus-tested, leader following, perpetually terrified mainstream game industry. It's every cloying and desperate element of the retail console market, brought together -- fused, if you will -- to create a factory standard example of a game that tries to be everything the hypothetical mainstream consumer drools over, and ends up as nothing remarkable...That's Fuse in a nutshell.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    combine skills is VERY fun good controlls fun gameplay awesome weapons fun engaging co-op funny gunplay fuse grenades is fun to play around with

    just awesome
    Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    10
    Pros:Cool story,Great cinematics,Cool characters,Cool great gameplay Cons:Graphics a bit outdated,no pro logic II support for PS3 version.Thisis nucg better than Resistance series. especially Failed Resistance3. Expand
  3. May 29, 2013
    9
    Apparently we live in an age were creating a chain reaction of singularities that suck soldiers in is considered "generic". Not to mention crystallizing and shattering enemies or repelling bullets with a shield. I don't know about you, but pulling these things off and seeing in action makes me giddy every time I see these events and others happen. I don't recall any generic shooters where you do any of these things, let alone have some witty dialogue and some Tomb Raider-esque climbing sections. The story isn't anything award winning, but it does have it's twists and manages to be at least a bit interesting. Since this is an Insomniac game, I was playing it more for the gameplay and weapons, both of which are done very well. With the aforementioned abilities as well as cloaking, healing beacons and a crossbow that incinerates and pins enemies to walls. The co-op in this makes it one of the funnest co-op games I've played. Aside from the campaign, there's a Horde-like mode, where you fight waves of enemies while simultaneously completing an objective. Nothing fancy, but it is pretty fun and gives you more to do.

    The few gripes I do have with the game is the ally AI, which can either be just as helpful as having a friend play or be frustratingly stupid. Sometimes Dalton will provide ample cover for you in a firefight, other times he'll run ahead of everyone with his shield and trigger enemies for everyone else to deal with. More minor complaints include a very forgettable soundtrack with only a song or two standing out in a play sessions and the main menu being the blandest thing. Going through some of the more negative reviews, they mostly seem to be just EA haters or pissed Sony fans that hate that Insomniac is making a game for other systems. All I know is that I don't get all the "generic" complaints. If you actually play the game and level your abilities, or even better yet, play with a friend or two... or even three, it's really a pretty fun game. Personally I've gone through the game with just one other friend and we were having a blast throughout and really didn't see this 'generic'-ness everyone was ranting about.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    Say hello to Fuse, or what once was "Over Strike 9", by developer Insomniac Games. Fuse is 3rd-person action/shooter that can be played singularly or with up 3 additional players. You control a squad of mercenaries out to thwart the evil doings of Raven, a villainous weapons dealer and militant force, who are trying to sell weapons of mass destruction made from an alien power source called "Fuse".

    In comes your squad "Over Strike 9, who on a routine mission-gone-wrong stumble across some fuse enhanced weaponry and from there all hell breaks loose. You'll see team members Dalton, Naya, Izzy and Jacob jet all over the globe, from a secret Raven base located on a tropical island to the snowy mountain-tops where you battle it out hanging from cargo lifts thousands of feet-up.

    Read the full review at www.GameFan365.com
    Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    I honestly disegread with Insomniac changed his line to EA than Sony. It's just a waste of time because i'm only like Resistance. It's just like Gears of Wars and a total BS! Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    It was a decent game but it was very repetitive but it was ok. I think this would be a sleeper hit because not many copys where bought when it first came out only 2 people besides me bought it at my gamestop. Expand
  7. May 28, 2013
    0
    Fuse demo made really sad about this studio because how bad it was, janky animations, horrible gunplay and awful cover system with bland environments and really bad AI it was like playing a Rebellion game.

    Insomniac was really bad this entire generation, a mere shell of their former self and dropped the quality control completely, but now and finally now people started to see this sad reality and realized that the studio is not what it used to be, first three Ratchet games were just tired rehashed with better graphics, way behind the original PS2 games in term of fun and new ideas.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers