Game of Thrones Xbox 360

Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Written in conjunction with author George R. R. Martin, the famed "A Song of Ice and Fire" universe opens even further to reveal an additional chapter of the story. Play as 2 former soldiers of Robert’s Rebellion who, despite their different paths, need to reunite to face a new and deadlyWritten in conjunction with author George R. R. Martin, the famed "A Song of Ice and Fire" universe opens even further to reveal an additional chapter of the story. Play as 2 former soldiers of Robert’s Rebellion who, despite their different paths, need to reunite to face a new and deadly threat to the Seven Kingdoms. Travel a parallel course with the original series, interacting with familiar faces on the journey, including Cersei Lannister, Lord Commander Mormont, and Varys the Spider. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. May 15, 2012
    75
    I would love to say that Game of Thrones is a great introduction to George R. R. Martin's world, but that simply isn't the truth. There are quite a few references to A Song of Ice and Fire and only those who are already fans of the series will get a significant amount of joy out of this title. Solid combat and interesting gameplay systems prevent it from being a licensed throwaway, but don't expect a gaming masterpiece if you're not already rooting for one of the lords of the Seven Kingdoms.
  2. May 21, 2012
    65
    Hardly the debut the fiction deserves, Game of Thrones is a pretty rough cut of George R. R. Martin's fantastic fantasy series on the polish front, but the game makes up for it with a solid, authentic storyline and a subtly rewarding combat system that will help fans look past the game's dated visuals.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    60
    Fans of George R.R. Martin's novels could appreciate the atmosphere of Game of Thrones, since the game delivers a solid story, especially in the final chapters. Unfortunately the merits end here, as the experience is plagued by awful graphics, pointless fights and uninspired exploration.
  4. May 17, 2012
    55
    In the end I think fans will find enough to love, but those looking for a solid RPG experience will come away sorely disappointed.
  5. May 31, 2012
    50
    If you're able to relish all the subtle nods and cameos from established characters, you may, may be able to find the energy to push yourself through the rest of Game of Thrones' blandness. And even then, it's a little like licking a ceiling clean of mayonnaise to reveal the trompe l'oeil underneath.
  6. May 23, 2012
    48
    Game of Thrones is not the game Westeros deserved. It's a bad game in every possible aspect, it's not fun and it's not interesting. It's best to forget about it and spend our time with much better RPGs that have been released lately.
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    30
    Ultimately, Cyanide seems to have released a poor excuse for a TV show to Videogame port with Game of Thrones. It's aimed at fans of the show, and you'll soon realise that Cyanide have used little imagination when creating this title, no doubt knowing that fans will lap this tripe up simply for having the title 'Game of Thrones' on the front cover.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 13 out of 34
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    I myself am a true fan of the Game of Thrones series. I have been a hardcore gamer for going on 20 years. I have learned in the past that it'sI myself am a true fan of the Game of Thrones series. I have been a hardcore gamer for going on 20 years. I have learned in the past that it's not always about the gameplay or graphics. I always look at a game for the story it has to offer. If you are a true fan of the series, and can get past some bugs and whatnot, its a very good game for your collection. I bought it just for the storyline, and that's all it was intended for in my opinion. I dont suggest buying it, but at least a rent. Expand
  2. May 26, 2012
    9
    This game is very good. Even if you are not a fan of the Game of Thrones books or lore, you will find plenty to satisfy you: a superb story,This game is very good. Even if you are not a fan of the Game of Thrones books or lore, you will find plenty to satisfy you: a superb story, some amazing locals well represented by fine looking graphics, high-quality voice over (in french anyway) and a combat system that is much more complex than a lot of "finer" rpg's out there. I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    9
    Honnestly, the story is just amazing!! You are totally carried away by the story, from beginning to end. Everything fits.
    The graphics are not
    Honnestly, the story is just amazing!! You are totally carried away by the story, from beginning to end. Everything fits.
    The graphics are not exceptional but ok, it's still nice. The atmosphere is kept and the fact of seeing the world move by the decisions we take is just enjoyable! If you like RPG, play it!
    Collapse
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    To but the kabosh on what I at first intended to be a not too terribly lengthy review, but which somehow decided to grow into one anyway- I will simply wrap up without any further closing remarks. What has been said has already been said, and could not possibly be said in many more ways than I care to ramble on about or makes gestures (obscenely or not) about either.

    I gave the Game of Thrones video game (mainly for the Xbox 360, as that is the console I own it for- although this pretty much applies to the others as well, because as far as I can tell, they are all pretty similar in the least) a 7.00 out of ten total points, which may be a tad high for some tastes, and low for others. This is merely due to the mitigating and aggravating sentences and factors given by the six or so above listed segments of my review. Keep in mind that this is of course as I played through it, and your playthrough- should you buy or have already bought the game, may indeed be vastly different.

    With that said, I will soundly place my banner in the castle of whatever lord may hold reign over Cyanide and Atlus' lands, because I will pledge a whopping Moderate replay value to this game. While others' opinions may differ with mine own, keep in mind that I never said I wouldn't become a Frey and pull one over on you later...

    Don't attend any weddings any times soon, especially if you enjoy bringing your dog along or a dire wolf, if that is your thing...

    Written 2012
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    If this game had as much value as the show it would be awesome! ...Unfortunately that is not the case. The overall game-play is what killed itIf this game had as much value as the show it would be awesome! ...Unfortunately that is not the case. The overall game-play is what killed it for me. I've been playing games since the 90's so i can deal with mediocre graphics, and i've played Skyrim and Fallout so i can also deal with long loading times. But i absolutely HATE turned based games with a dying passion!! So you pick moves from a selection wheel for your character to do (like 5 max at a time) and then you wait for your guy to go, then the enemy, then your guy and so on...did i mention in SLOW MOTION?! Jesus, it takes forever. Expand
  6. May 31, 2012
    3
    When it comes to a 'book to television show to game' this is pretty bad. As a fan of turn based RPG's like Dragon Age and Knights of the OldWhen it comes to a 'book to television show to game' this is pretty bad. As a fan of turn based RPG's like Dragon Age and Knights of the Old Republic, this just doesn't stand up to the competition. It has an excellent story that goes side by side during the events of the HBO series, but falls short in mechanics and graphics. The game takes you into the role of two characters, which is the first mistake. Give us options! We are in a vast era of gaming and to not have creation options in an RPG is unheard of now-a-days. Progression is slow when it comes to leveling. Then to add insult to injury, it doesn't look that good. Hear the full review on the podcast; http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame.This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame. Cannot believe I just spend $65 on this game looked so forward to playing it know I cannot wait to give it back and get a refund.This cannot be called an RPG because it just does not come close to any other RPG that has been released before this one. Don't know how people can give this game a good review. If you one of those people who like playing RPG's I recommend not to play this game it is truly TERRIBLE don't even hire it just forget about it Expand

See all 34 User Reviews