Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Written in conjunction with author George R. R. Martin, the famed "A Song of Ice and Fire" universe opens even further to reveal an additional chapter of the story. Play as 2 former soldiers of Robert’s Rebellion who, despite their different paths, need to reunite to face a new and deadlyWritten in conjunction with author George R. R. Martin, the famed "A Song of Ice and Fire" universe opens even further to reveal an additional chapter of the story. Play as 2 former soldiers of Robert’s Rebellion who, despite their different paths, need to reunite to face a new and deadly threat to the Seven Kingdoms. Travel a parallel course with the original series, interacting with familiar faces on the journey, including Cersei Lannister, Lord Commander Mormont, and Varys the Spider. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. May 15, 2012
    75
    I would love to say that Game of Thrones is a great introduction to George R. R. Martin's world, but that simply isn't the truth. There are quite a few references to A Song of Ice and Fire and only those who are already fans of the series will get a significant amount of joy out of this title. Solid combat and interesting gameplay systems prevent it from being a licensed throwaway, but don't expect a gaming masterpiece if you're not already rooting for one of the lords of the Seven Kingdoms.
  2. May 21, 2012
    65
    Hardly the debut the fiction deserves, Game of Thrones is a pretty rough cut of George R. R. Martin's fantastic fantasy series on the polish front, but the game makes up for it with a solid, authentic storyline and a subtly rewarding combat system that will help fans look past the game's dated visuals.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    60
    Fans of George R.R. Martin's novels could appreciate the atmosphere of Game of Thrones, since the game delivers a solid story, especially in the final chapters. Unfortunately the merits end here, as the experience is plagued by awful graphics, pointless fights and uninspired exploration.
  4. May 17, 2012
    55
    In the end I think fans will find enough to love, but those looking for a solid RPG experience will come away sorely disappointed.
  5. May 31, 2012
    50
    If you're able to relish all the subtle nods and cameos from established characters, you may, may be able to find the energy to push yourself through the rest of Game of Thrones' blandness. And even then, it's a little like licking a ceiling clean of mayonnaise to reveal the trompe l'oeil underneath.
  6. May 23, 2012
    48
    Game of Thrones is not the game Westeros deserved. It's a bad game in every possible aspect, it's not fun and it's not interesting. It's best to forget about it and spend our time with much better RPGs that have been released lately.
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    30
    Ultimately, Cyanide seems to have released a poor excuse for a TV show to Videogame port with Game of Thrones. It's aimed at fans of the show, and you'll soon realise that Cyanide have used little imagination when creating this title, no doubt knowing that fans will lap this tripe up simply for having the title 'Game of Thrones' on the front cover.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    I myself am a true fan of the Game of Thrones series. I have been a hardcore gamer for going on 20 years. I have learned in the past that it'sI myself am a true fan of the Game of Thrones series. I have been a hardcore gamer for going on 20 years. I have learned in the past that it's not always about the gameplay or graphics. I always look at a game for the story it has to offer. If you are a true fan of the series, and can get past some bugs and whatnot, its a very good game for your collection. I bought it just for the storyline, and that's all it was intended for in my opinion. I dont suggest buying it, but at least a rent. Expand
  2. May 20, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is a strong story-oriented game, feels like a hybrid of RPG and an interactive novel, with good character customizationGame of Thrones is a strong story-oriented game, feels like a hybrid of RPG and an interactive novel, with good character customization options and a tactical combat. The world of this game is more like a stage, or a movie set, but it is fine by me. Graphics is not stellar< and camera issues are noticeable, but for a good story I could get over it. If you are looking for a good, mature and gripping tale, pick this game. Otherwise, it might be best to look elsewhere. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    9
    The graphics may not be that great but they're not that awful. The story is compelling, Both heroes have strong characters and there is aThe graphics may not be that great but they're not that awful. The story is compelling, Both heroes have strong characters and there is a genuine effort to be true to the licence. The game system is not original but at least it's not just another hack n'slash. In the end, it's difficult to put the pad down when you start playing. a must buy Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2014
    7
    This game really got a bad rap. I would not have bought it had I seen the review scores for it...but I had pre-ordered it a long time agoThis game really got a bad rap. I would not have bought it had I seen the review scores for it...but I had pre-ordered it a long time ago from Amazon and it just showed up.

    Frankly, after playing the game twice with both characters (A Night's Watchman and a Red Priest, how can you beat that? Both just excellent, Mors edging the other dude out for me though) through to the end, I am shocked the average score is 5ish. If you like CRPGs and you like either the books or the HBO show, you will enjoy this game. The story is excellent. The game's combat is a little dated, it most resembles the system KOTOR used. The graphics are not cutting edge for last gen but they are not bad to the point where they detract from the experience.
    Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    It definitely improves the lore of Westeros and enlightens us on season 1 and the happenings just before. For Game of Thrones fan it is aIt definitely improves the lore of Westeros and enlightens us on season 1 and the happenings just before. For Game of Thrones fan it is a must. The storyline is excellent and if my review was based solely on that it would be a 10/10. I got the game for Christmas 13 from my parents after I read the 5 books over the past year. No disappointment. If you enjoy Mass Effect 1, Knights of the Old Republic, or Dragon Age you will like the way you can tell multiple stories in the game with dialogue or violence. A downfall is you have a very restrictive view of character models. Your body is set and all you choose in theory is between one of three styles.

    The first downfall that really lowered the score by a 1.5 points for me was the blotchy movements. This looks like an original Xbox game and not a 360 game. I was stunned at how poor it looked. Even the original dragon age was designed a little better graphically. Cut scenes weren't that much better.

    The second biggest decrease was slow load times. This game came out in 2013 and the loading ability of the game was super slow. It should have progressed faster. Frustrating at points because you are unsure if the game is freezing when it takes this long. Not sure what the data was used for that didn't go into making the game look better.

    With Game of Thrones the final decrease on my grading scale came from no additional content and I didn't download a patch before the game began. In today's age I rarely see a perfect game and waiting for a patch to fix a glitch could take a week or so after release. When I buy the game nearly a year later and the downloadable content section is empty among other things that just crushed me before I began.

    In all this game is playable if you are a fan of RPGs, Game of Thrones, and story driven mechanics. This game probably isn't playable to you if you want actual gameplay and battles. Solid game but could have been more expansive.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    3
    I'm not sure why people expected this to be anything other then mediocre trash milking money from loyal fans. It's a popular book series andI'm not sure why people expected this to be anything other then mediocre trash milking money from loyal fans. It's a popular book series and tv show...of course they are going to capitalize by putting out a rushed product. It has terrible voice acting, graphics and buggy gameplay. Pretty much the exact formula similar titles like LOTR and Harry Potter follow. Fanboys will continue to buy these and they will continue to come out. Just don't be tricked into thinking this is anything but a mediocre title. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame.This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame. Cannot believe I just spend $65 on this game looked so forward to playing it know I cannot wait to give it back and get a refund.This cannot be called an RPG because it just does not come close to any other RPG that has been released before this one. Don't know how people can give this game a good review. If you one of those people who like playing RPG's I recommend not to play this game it is truly TERRIBLE don't even hire it just forget about it Expand

See all 32 User Reviews