Gatling Gears Xbox 360

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    60
    If you love chaotic gameplay and uneven odds, Gatling Gears will provide; titanic bosses with mutliple health bars, waves of varied enemies and a serious arsenal to destroy them all.
  2. Jun 16, 2011
    58
    Gatling Gears has many faults that contribute to several bland qualities from indiscernible visual changes between levels to battles that feel repetitive and mundane. Setting up your own boundaries for challenge is one of the few intriguing elements to playing the dual-stick arcade shooter. That, and the gratification of temporarily overpowered weapons when power-ups are picked up.
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    65
    A great game becomes a good game due to its length and lack of innovation.
  4. Jun 5, 2011
    60
    What Gatling Gears loses out on in originality it nearly makes up for in polish.
  5. May 24, 2011
    70
    Gatling Gears is a nice shooter with awesome graphics and an incredible mecha design. The main problem, here, is the lack of a real challenge due to the godly easy difficulty level. If you're looking for a nice shoot 'em up for casual gamers, this is your game.
  6. May 21, 2011
    70
    As an unusually cute twin-stick shooter, Gatling Gears offers a lot of fun despite a general lack of originality. Co-op adds to the fun as always but there are enough smaller annoyances to make the 1200 point pricetag feel a bit high.
  7. May 19, 2011
    59
    I like you, Gatling Gears, you seem like a well intentioned fellow, and it's admirable that you're trying to build on the work established by your brother Greed Corp. But I'm afraid I can't just overlook some of these offences. The jury and I are sentencing you to six hours community service, which is about the time most players will spend completing you on medium difficulty.
  8. May 16, 2011
    67
    I don't think it expands much on the genre though, so if you've grown bored of twin stick shooters, this game will do little for you.
  9. May 16, 2011
    60
    Simple but enjoyable co-operative fun, but despite its looks this 2D shooter lacks the pace and ingenuity to trouble the best in the genre.
  10. May 12, 2011
    50
    By bringing nothing particularly new to either genre that it borrows from, Gatling Gears fails to justify its inflated price of 1200 Microsoft Points, and is far from an essential purchase.
  11. May 11, 2011
    70
    An enjoyable twin-stick isometric shooter with great visuals. Too easy and linear, surely recommended for unskilled players.
  12. CD-Action
    Sep 29, 2011
    70
    A solid game that ticks off everything on the things-you-need-to-have-in-a-twin-stick-shooter list. Doesn't stand out from the crowd though. [October, p.80]
  13. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jul 25, 2011
    70
    Hard not to love. [Issue#74, p.103]
  14. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    Cracking twin stick mech attack. [Aug 2011, p.99]
  15. Games Master UK
    Jul 8, 2011
    60
    Too gentle for bullet hell fans and too rigid for the Geometry Wars crowd. [Aug 2011, p.91]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 12, 2011
    10
    For the price you can't beat Gatling Gears. If you are a fan of twin stick shooters that is. I have no issues with this game whatsoever. TheFor the price you can't beat Gatling Gears. If you are a fan of twin stick shooters that is. I have no issues with this game whatsoever. The action and pacing is excellent. There is a ton of content and it offers coop. The game is actually quite gorgeous. It's a feast for the senses. Try the trial and I bet you are not disappointed. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2011
    10
    Back to the good old school arcade gaming! These bosses are just magnificant! Brilliant game with great eye for detail!!! Excellent value forBack to the good old school arcade gaming! These bosses are just magnificant! Brilliant game with great eye for detail!!! Excellent value for money that is! Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2011
    10
    I completed the campaign on medium in around 5 hours, and i am very eager to play it again on hard. The survival mode so far has beenI completed the campaign on medium in around 5 hours, and i am very eager to play it again on hard. The survival mode so far has been extremely challenging for me, almost a bit too much. The graphics in this game are amazing, there is always something happening on the screen. Boss fight were amazing too.. even though the second one was a bit of a pushover. Love this game, sad i don't have a gold account to play it with friends. Full Review »