Gears of War 2 Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2716 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a worthy sequel to a great game. The single player has more action and explosions, though the story is still about a bunch of space marines being badasses. Who cares? The point is to shoot stuff, and in that approach, it's a great experience that has tight controls and rewarding combat. The multiplayer is well expanded and this is the first game that I can recall that uses theThis is a worthy sequel to a great game. The single player has more action and explosions, though the story is still about a bunch of space marines being badasses. Who cares? The point is to shoot stuff, and in that approach, it's a great experience that has tight controls and rewarding combat. The multiplayer is well expanded and this is the first game that I can recall that uses the "horde" system of cooperative play against waves of harder and harder enemies. I like this more than the actual multiplayer of the game, which is full of people who apparently play this game 24/7 and are so good it takes the fun out of trying to play. Expand
  2. takedat
    May 2, 2009
    9
    The campaign is much better than Gears 1. The levels are more thought out and make you feel like you are actually in the environment. I would have gave it a 10 if the online play interface was better. Also, it would have been better to have a actual boss fight. Maybe in the next game. Overall, great game ... no doubt.
  3. Alec
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game modes is frustrating, and weapon imbalances are annoying. if i want to play the submission game type, why do i have to join a queue for "territories" and hope that it is voted for by the other players over annex or king of the hill? that method of finding games may make sense for halo 3 because it has so many game types, but i really think that epic should have gone the route of COD matchmaking, including the ability for new players to drop in/drop out of games. god knows there are enough people playing this game for this to work. luckily this game has horde mode to keep me coming back, but who knows for how long. cod 5 comes out soon, with its zombie coop mode, and not long after is left 4 dead. Expand
  4. Sablicious...
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first game is mean as. Great game! Expand
  5. Matt
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way real war is done. Expand
  6. MaverickP
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a true fps game this is it....need i say more..buy it get it enjoy it !!!! -Maverick user since 1998 Expand
  7. ChrisC
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Gears of War 2 is an amazing game, that improves a lot of stuff from the original Gears of War & adds some new stuff too! And all of the people who have been giving it low ratings are a bunch of Halo addicts, that fail to realize that Gears of War 2 really is an amazing game! Not all shooters have to be about charging enemies & shooting wildly! I mean Gears of War 2 is a lot more Gears of War 2 is an amazing game, that improves a lot of stuff from the original Gears of War & adds some new stuff too! And all of the people who have been giving it low ratings are a bunch of Halo addicts, that fail to realize that Gears of War 2 really is an amazing game! Not all shooters have to be about charging enemies & shooting wildly! I mean Gears of War 2 is a lot more realistic than most shooters! And is one of the best shooters that I have ever played! Expand
  8. AdamW
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Not the best game ever but still one of the best cover shooters around. The storyline was a little disappointing with the extremely easy end boss but the inclusion of 5 of the original Gears of War maps makes up for that.
  9. CodyB
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Well sure there seems to be some issues with the online play to this game, however, it is something that can be fixed. The graphics, and unique gameplay and tactical team work needed is amazing and unlike any other. A great game and shows remarkable potential for what is to come for the rumored Gears of War 3.
  10. MichaelK
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Why all the bad reviews this is a solid game and even though I live in an area with terrible connection speeds I hardly suffer any lag yes there where issues when the game was released but these issues are all cleared now the only possible compaint anyone could have about the online is the amount of hardcore players who will own all newcomers untill they adjust to the way this game works Why all the bad reviews this is a solid game and even though I live in an area with terrible connection speeds I hardly suffer any lag yes there where issues when the game was released but these issues are all cleared now the only possible compaint anyone could have about the online is the amount of hardcore players who will own all newcomers untill they adjust to the way this game works because it is truly unlike any other game out there Expand
  11. KanishkA
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This game is by far one of the best 1st person shooters I have ever played, or that has been made for that matter. I am actually stunned to see the rating given by other users. This game is perfect in each and every regard. So such low rating by these users is bewildering, The story is extremely engaging and the graphics are best you will find in any game period. The sound effects, the This game is by far one of the best 1st person shooters I have ever played, or that has been made for that matter. I am actually stunned to see the rating given by other users. This game is perfect in each and every regard. So such low rating by these users is bewildering, The story is extremely engaging and the graphics are best you will find in any game period. The sound effects, the weapons the enemies everything is just awesome, This is just a perfect package. Enjoyed it thoroughly and have played it again and again. Expand
  12. PigPiles
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I would have give this game a 10 but it has quite a few bugs with it that isnt a really big deal. Graphics is top notch. Campaign is extremely good. Multiplayer is superb. The people complaining about it taking to long to find a match are obviously not that smart. Open your NAT settings so that it is not restricted then i bet you can find a match within a minute, and possibly you need a I would have give this game a 10 but it has quite a few bugs with it that isnt a really big deal. Graphics is top notch. Campaign is extremely good. Multiplayer is superb. The people complaining about it taking to long to find a match are obviously not that smart. Open your NAT settings so that it is not restricted then i bet you can find a match within a minute, and possibly you need a better connection. I have not had any problems finding matches. Great controls and physics. Another flaw with the game is the host advantage. That needs to be taken out because i feel it gives an unfair advantage to the opposing team. Expand
  13. AaronT.
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Ugh ok at first I came over to metacritic for a stats report I'm doing but after seeing some of these comments I have to say it's sad to see so many people whining over a great game...listen up Halo fanboys I could go on all day about how Halo is an incredibly flawed game and if you are a Gears 1 junkie...wow way to pussy out...It's clear you just couldn't handle real Ugh ok at first I came over to metacritic for a stats report I'm doing but after seeing some of these comments I have to say it's sad to see so many people whining over a great game...listen up Halo fanboys I could go on all day about how Halo is an incredibly flawed game and if you are a Gears 1 junkie...wow way to pussy out...It's clear you just couldn't handle real competitive matches and it suites you to go back...AND to be clear to all every online game has moments with major lag and YES that includes your Halo and Call of Duty...stop wasting space with your useless rants to give room to REAL user reviews... Expand
  14. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Gears of War 2 is a awesome game! With a fun campaign mode (although it is a little short), a very awesome & fun new mode called Horde Mode where you get to kill wave after wave of locust, new enemies, new weapons, great graphics, & great gameplay! My two biggest problems with game though is that the online is very laggy, & the final boss of the campaign mode is way too easy. But besides Gears of War 2 is a awesome game! With a fun campaign mode (although it is a little short), a very awesome & fun new mode called Horde Mode where you get to kill wave after wave of locust, new enemies, new weapons, great graphics, & great gameplay! My two biggest problems with game though is that the online is very laggy, & the final boss of the campaign mode is way too easy. But besides that I would say that Gears of War 2 is an awesome game that improves a lot of things from the original Gears of War! And I would highly recommend Gears of War 2 to anyone who is a fan of third-person shooters, or anyone who is a fan of the original Gears of War! Expand
  15. CiaranG.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    The single-player game (which can also be played with up to 4 friends via Xbox Live) is one of the best I have ever played. It is short and will only take a few days to complete if played almost flat out but those few days will be absolutely mind blowing. It's an absolutely intense game and hell of a lot of fun. The graphics and visuals are absolutely top-notch - at times jaw The single-player game (which can also be played with up to 4 friends via Xbox Live) is one of the best I have ever played. It is short and will only take a few days to complete if played almost flat out but those few days will be absolutely mind blowing. It's an absolutely intense game and hell of a lot of fun. The graphics and visuals are absolutely top-notch - at times jaw dropping and stunning. The storyline is much better this time around too, at times injecting some emotion and it succeeded in shocking me speechless at one point. Gameplay never feels repetitive since you will always be doing something different, and run-and-gun action is mixed in with some stunning driving and flying levels too. Great online play will long extend the life of this game as will the various difficulty levels which act as an incentive to return again and again. Must-have game. Expand
  16. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Gears of War 2 is a great game. The campaign is fun, while the story is a bit naff, playing with a mate is a great experience and the fun you can get out of wiping out horde after horde of locust makes this one of my favourite games. Horde mode itself is brilliant, especially with mates and you achievement of surviving waves 1-50 is one of the highlights of my gaming career. Multi-playerGears of War 2 is a great game. The campaign is fun, while the story is a bit naff, playing with a mate is a great experience and the fun you can get out of wiping out horde after horde of locust makes this one of my favourite games. Horde mode itself is brilliant, especially with mates and you achievement of surviving waves 1-50 is one of the highlights of my gaming career. Multi-player is the only downside, I've never got to grips with it really but it can be fun in short doses, but be prepared to get slaughtered if you're not a hardcore player. Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    FAVORITE GAME EVER. ITS GEARS OF WAR 1 BUT BIGGER AND BETTER, the one thing that i ddnt like was the boss battles were 2d and more like a cutscene..jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  18. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    After playing Gears of war 2 I was quite satisfied with the game. The story, somewhat bland, was still interesting. However a few minor issues keeps this score from being a perfect one. Sometimes the controls are unresponsive or delayed which could mean the difference between life and death. Another issue I faced was when I switched from xbox live to unconnected form the internet theAfter playing Gears of war 2 I was quite satisfied with the game. The story, somewhat bland, was still interesting. However a few minor issues keeps this score from being a perfect one. Sometimes the controls are unresponsive or delayed which could mean the difference between life and death. Another issue I faced was when I switched from xbox live to unconnected form the internet the game would wipe all of my progress and start over again. So say you were on wave 49 of horde and you unplugged your ethernet cable and turned off the xbox. When you play the game again it will reset. Other then that the weapons are nice, the multiplayer, on or offline, well balanced, and horde is fun with friends. I say this game is a 9.25. Expand
  19. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    So maybe it doesn't go farther away from the original but the gameplay is still great. The campaign story isn't as great or intense as the first's but the addition of multi-player is awesome if you wanna play online against your friends or by your self. If I could I'd give it a 9.5.
  20. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    I knew I loved it from the first time I saw it. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The only reason people hate it is mostly because of the sometimes laggy multiplayer. My main problem with the game is those hyper gamers that act stupid for no reason. Obviously, it's a game and getting hyper over a game is idiotic and ignorant. This is a must-buy. That's why it won a lot of Game ofI knew I loved it from the first time I saw it. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The only reason people hate it is mostly because of the sometimes laggy multiplayer. My main problem with the game is those hyper gamers that act stupid for no reason. Obviously, it's a game and getting hyper over a game is idiotic and ignorant. This is a must-buy. That's why it won a lot of Game of the Year awards. Expand
  21. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    A great improvement on the original with more weapons, characters, maps, enemy types complimented with some improved graphics and sounds. Although the story and gameplay is pretty much the same the whole way through, it is great fun nonetheless although some might feel it lacks the awesomeness Gears of War 1 brought when it was released.
  22. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    This is another example of a sequel that surpasses its predecessor in almost every way, the story is better, the graphics are fantastic but show some age in one or two little places and has texture loading issues, and the sound is phenomenal, the controls and combat are as smooth as butter, the campaign is intense and epic always puts you in a new scenario, from fantastic cover basedThis is another example of a sequel that surpasses its predecessor in almost every way, the story is better, the graphics are fantastic but show some age in one or two little places and has texture loading issues, and the sound is phenomenal, the controls and combat are as smooth as butter, the campaign is intense and epic always puts you in a new scenario, from fantastic cover based shooting with some of the coolest weapons in video games, to awesome vehicle sections, and it offers one of the most epic, empowering, and rewarding moments in video game history, I don't want to spoil it, but I will say this it involves a Brumak, there are still a small community playing online, but with Gears of War 3 out there you might as well go to that for your multiplayer, but it is still fun to play, and even without the thriving community the campaign alone makes it worth a purchase, so if you liked the first game this one is better in almost every way, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  23. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 2 I like to play this game because you have to do mission on there and you have to zombies on there, if you kill them you can get there guns on there. They are different gum on there when you kill the monster. It is fun when you play when you play two players on there. You have to work in a team if one you die in the game the other person has to do most of the work on there.Gears of war 2 I like to play this game because you have to do mission on there and you have to zombies on there, if you kill them you can get there guns on there. They are different gum on there when you kill the monster. It is fun when you play when you play two players on there. You have to work in a team if one you die in the game the other person has to do most of the work on there. If your partner dies on there you have to do it again and you will not like. This game you can play online with this game I like play this game with my friends and cousins. With this game there is more shoot on there and there is more blood in this game I like shooting games. Most people like shooting games because there is more blood and different guns on all the games. It is better to play you mates or which people are on line on Xbox 360 or Ps3. it a great game to play. When do some a mission I will get hard and they are different levels on the they is easy hard and very hard . you can pick on of them three but the game will get hard Expand
  24. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun even after 2 or 3 years after he multiplayer is still super fun and the campain tells one of the best storys iv heard in a shooter
  25. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    Much more of everything you could want.Story,action,awesome sauce.Could not be much better though I missed the Berserkers from the original.360 owners must have this!
  26. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Gears Of War 2 is bigger, and better than it's predecessor. It has taken all the elements from Gears Of War and improved on them. However, not much has changed from the first game, Epic Games has done little to tried and trusted formula, other than minor tweaks here and there. The gameplay, is very much the same. The cover system has been tightened, which makes taking cover behind objectsGears Of War 2 is bigger, and better than it's predecessor. It has taken all the elements from Gears Of War and improved on them. However, not much has changed from the first game, Epic Games has done little to tried and trusted formula, other than minor tweaks here and there. The gameplay, is very much the same. The cover system has been tightened, which makes taking cover behind objects more fluid and easier. The combat system is fantastic. The shooting is satisfying, and getting the Locust between your sights has never felt this good. Unsurprisingly, the game still encourages you to make use of the Lancer through the majority of the campaign. Making use of the chainsaw in firefights is a welcome break from the pop-and-shoot mechanic. The enemies from the first game return, with the exception of a few fresh faces to decimate. The graphics have also been improved upon, with exceptional shading, lighting, and character models. This is by far the best looking game on Xbox 360 for 2008. This game is not perfect, but it sure as hell gets close. The story, that drives the game, just like the predecessor, flatlines. It feels like the missions were created, and a story was filled in just to put the pieces of the puzzle together. With regards to the narrative, I don't care really. I still have to meet a person who played Gears Of War just for it's story. As you know, the story in the previous iteration was not one to pull at the emotional strings. This time however, Epic has attempted to introduce emotional elements in to the game, and has failed miserably. These scenes often come across as a joke, and we urge Epic Games to focus on the balls-out action rather than attempt to bring tears to our eyes. Nonetheless, Gears Of War 2 defines what an action game should be, combat is brutally entertaining and does not shy away from the extreme violence. If you are over eighteen, I suggest you go your nearest retailer and pick up Gears Of War 2. It has a lengthy ten hour campaign, an addictive multiplayer component along with co-op play. Simply put, it is worth every cent. Expand
  27. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Single player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayerSingle player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayer but I wasn't good at it. I was very impatient and that hurt me. You have to be good at aiming from your hip a lot. It's solid gameplay, but it just wasn't my thing. It also was really broken. It was hard to get into matches and had MANY glitches. Expand
  28. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    For me, Gears of War 2 is quite simply one of the greatest sequels ever to grace a console. Gears of War was a breakthrough game that encapsulated so many, however the improvement made in Gears 2 is phenominal. This game really does eclipse the original in every way. To begin with the gameplay is so much more enhanced and plays much more smoother than its predecessor. For example theFor me, Gears of War 2 is quite simply one of the greatest sequels ever to grace a console. Gears of War was a breakthrough game that encapsulated so many, however the improvement made in Gears 2 is phenominal. This game really does eclipse the original in every way. To begin with the gameplay is so much more enhanced and plays much more smoother than its predecessor. For example the shooting system just seems to be perfectly presented. Zooming is hardly revolutionary but I thought it was a marvellous addition to the game. Ofcourse there are new weapons which adds more to the game and as expected they are awesome. And, surprise surprise there is also new creatures within the Locus Horde.The story has been criticisized by many but I didn't have a problem with it whatsoever, yes it times it's hard to follow and here and there but its simply about an all out attack on the Locust Horde with a few side stories thrown in to spice things up now and again. But the things I found fault with in the original, however few they were I just felt had been addressed in every way i'd wanted. And whatever mas missing from the first outing is not in Gears 2! It just oozes quality from start to finish and once more you will find yourself engulfed in destorying the Horde. Theres plenty of variety on offer shooting, driving, hell even controlling the Locust Horde's own inventions one in particular at the end is awesome fun! Visually its a massive improvement on Gears 1 and takes it up another level, but you know what your getting the looks aren't everything when it comes to this seriesOnline, well what more can I say other than try it. Because when you do, you might just be sacrificng hours on end, it draws you in and you will seriously struggle to let go its incredible! All in all this is an unmissable expereince. It dwarfs the original in every way possible. All I can say is buy this game (if you haven't already ofcourse) Expand
  29. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Quite simply one of the best shooters ever seen on the market, an extensive campaign followed up by fun and lasting multiplayer. Epic has come a long way in developing games, they really broke the mold with this series. The controls are solid and stunning graphics and sound to go with it, there is a small frame rate collapse here and there but nothing game breaking at all. MultiplayerQuite simply one of the best shooters ever seen on the market, an extensive campaign followed up by fun and lasting multiplayer. Epic has come a long way in developing games, they really broke the mold with this series. The controls are solid and stunning graphics and sound to go with it, there is a small frame rate collapse here and there but nothing game breaking at all. Multiplayer at launch was a mess but they cleaned that up nicely with their updates, I think it covers a lot of bases with multiplayer for all player needs. This series will just get better as the new anticipated Gears 3 will soon be out, Epic has raised the bar once again with their new release. Its a really addicting game since there is an experience gain to level up and with tons of achievements to work for. Horde mode really helped this series out a lot and adding bots was a plus for players lacking internet that way they can still use the multiplayer content. I play this game almost everyday still, its replay value is grand and you simply cannot go wrong with this game its a must have for you collection. Expand
  30. May 31, 2011
    10
    What can i say,even better than the already perfect Gears of War 1! With many aspects,tightned up even more,such as the cover system.& Graphics seem even more detailed,thanks to the newer Unreal Engine,& a much more interesting story,with more emotion with the characters.Also more suprises with the types of creatures your going to take on.Would've been nice if they made it 3 or 4 playerWhat can i say,even better than the already perfect Gears of War 1! With many aspects,tightned up even more,such as the cover system.& Graphics seem even more detailed,thanks to the newer Unreal Engine,& a much more interesting story,with more emotion with the characters.Also more suprises with the types of creatures your going to take on.Would've been nice if they made it 3 or 4 player Co-Op in the campaign,but at least it still has Co-Op,which i'm always grateful for,& Gears 3 is going to have 5 player Co-Op(Yes 5)!,to make up for it,so the trilogy is looking to go out well.Also,for number 2,it was good to see that they introduced the option to fight against bots in multiplayer,& with other players against the bots,as i sometimes like to just play a multiplayer,but with out the stress of playing against the those people that play NOTHING BUT multiplayer,which just isnt fun.I cant comment on multiplayer on the whole though,as that aspect of the game doesnt interest me particually & i've hardly touched it.Lastly,this game is still a shining example to those lazy developers out there,who use the lame excuse that their game 'cant do' campaign Co-Op.& cant do it Split-Screen,or Split-Screen without borders.Well if Gears can,with its(lets face it)top end graphics,then ANY game can.Simple as that! Great game on the whole though! Expand
  31. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    I loved it , not blown away by the typical standard's , i most say is an exaggeration by all any means, which is what i a hated . The story is good and is interesting, and the visuals are beautiful and well made. The multiplayer is what i found cool, quite challenging. Looking forward too Gears of War 3, that may be the monster.
  32. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    This game is awesome. That isn't a very refined word but this is no refined experience. There are a great many games on the market today that offer the "I'm a big, testosterone spewing Space Marine....in Space, and all Aliens must be violently punished." sort of games. None do it quite as well as "Gears of War 2".

    The setting is cliche but completely realized. It's a boys club of well
    This game is awesome. That isn't a very refined word but this is no refined experience. There are a great many games on the market today that offer the "I'm a big, testosterone spewing Space Marine....in Space, and all Aliens must be violently punished." sort of games. None do it quite as well as "Gears of War 2".

    The setting is cliche but completely realized. It's a boys club of well designed gigantic characters in well designed war torn environments kicking ass in the name of humanity. The Weapons, vehicles and locales in the game all help to put you into the blockbuster mind-set and played through co-op the campaign offers a ton of variety and unique shoot out moments with touch perfect controls and great paving thoughout.

    It's going to get a lot of flack for being stupid, and that is stupid. I definitely love a cerebral and innovative game experience. But sometimes I want to jump into my favorite sci-fi action movies and just blow some **** up. This satisfies that urge. If you're a shooter fan, well you're already playing this. If you think you're too good for; pull the bug out of your ass and join the fun.
    Expand
  33. May 11, 2011
    9
    With the announcement of Gears 3 recently, I decided to return to the previous titles to give them a go in anticipation for the third. That should tell you that I'm a fan of Gears of War and pretty much have played them right from the beginning. Now, when I initially got Gears of War 2, I was majorly disappointed. The campaign was fantastic, yes but I really bought it for the killerWith the announcement of Gears 3 recently, I decided to return to the previous titles to give them a go in anticipation for the third. That should tell you that I'm a fan of Gears of War and pretty much have played them right from the beginning. Now, when I initially got Gears of War 2, I was majorly disappointed. The campaign was fantastic, yes but I really bought it for the killer multiplayer.
    Obviously, there were a host of problems right from launch date. Lag, not finding matches etc. But Epic clearly knows what it's doing and has resolved the problems from launch day over the past couple of years. Now the troublesome host advantage is barely noticeable and it's an extremely enjoyable online experience, complete with ranking system. I'm definitely looking forward to the third title and will play this till September 20th.
    Expand
  34. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    The Campaign was brilliant and the high definition in it was immaculate. The Storyline was great as were the whole Graphics for the Game. The Insane Horde was beyond fantastic although it does get boring after you complete Wave 10 and it repeats itself by starting again but the Locusts are just much stronger. Online is slow but it is worth the wait. Multiplayer online is just as great asThe Campaign was brilliant and the high definition in it was immaculate. The Storyline was great as were the whole Graphics for the Game. The Insane Horde was beyond fantastic although it does get boring after you complete Wave 10 and it repeats itself by starting again but the Locusts are just much stronger. Online is slow but it is worth the wait. Multiplayer online is just as great as Multiplayer Campaign. Expand
  35. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    The game is nice in my opinion. Story plot is very nice and immerses you in. I don't understand why people would not enjoy slaughtering something a hundred times bigger than you, makes you look like a hero. The plot is very straightforwards but with a few side plots like Dom's wife Maria. Let's be honest we all want to know where the Locust come from but then we have Dom's wife who isThe game is nice in my opinion. Story plot is very nice and immerses you in. I don't understand why people would not enjoy slaughtering something a hundred times bigger than you, makes you look like a hero. The plot is very straightforwards but with a few side plots like Dom's wife Maria. Let's be honest we all want to know where the Locust come from but then we have Dom's wife who is just... she just didn't deserve the fate she had. If you understood how long Dom and Maria had been split from each other you'd understand why Dom is so determined to find her. Voice acting is also not too bad, with each actor making use of their talent to make a believable character, in a group there should be always two who hate each other, close friends and the one who's a newbie. Over all it's not a bad buy Expand
  36. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Great follow to an epic series! Things to note:

    Graphics: Not much improvement from the 1st one but still very well done Physics: Ability to damage your environment is a huge improvement and makes the game surprisingly more enjoyable. Could be take a little further, but very well done. Weapons: Don't expect much change but still a solid set to choose from. Chainsaw is still the greatest
    Great follow to an epic series! Things to note:

    Graphics: Not much improvement from the 1st one but still very well done
    Physics: Ability to damage your environment is a huge improvement and makes the game surprisingly more enjoyable. Could be take a little further, but very well done.
    Weapons: Don't expect much change but still a solid set to choose from. Chainsaw is still the greatest thing to come to shooters.
    Plot: Not one to follow the story line, but it's not difficult and somewhat interesting. The places it takes you is quite exciting. Game play: Easy to catch onto and their physics engine just makes it an awesome experience.

    Multiplayer: Loving the new maps. Mixes up playing style for if you prefer more open spaces or even closed areas. Good range of weapon possibilities.

    OVERALL: Great job on the 1st. Fantastic followup, and eagerly anticipating the 3rd.
    Expand
  37. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. Improves clearly in relation to Gears of War - chainsaw duels, refined multiplayer, meatshields. Multiplayer is awesome - Warzone, Execution, Annex, Guardian, Horde and the whole campaign (of about 10 hours) with a friend. It can't be compared to a book, but the history is well telled. Graphics are great - even more for a game of 2008. For me, Gears ofOne of the best games of all time. Improves clearly in relation to Gears of War - chainsaw duels, refined multiplayer, meatshields. Multiplayer is awesome - Warzone, Execution, Annex, Guardian, Horde and the whole campaign (of about 10 hours) with a friend. It can't be compared to a book, but the history is well telled. Graphics are great - even more for a game of 2008. For me, Gears of War is as big as Halo. I don't know why there are negative reviews - probably from Sony fanboys, but if you own an Xbox, you MUST buy this game. Expand
  38. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Campaign is deep, controls are done right and the action is hardcore and brutal. Insane difficulty is as it should be. It's good that it makes it harder for co-op because if one person dies you have to restart the checkpoint. The only problem with this game is the multiplayer. While it is satisfying, I rarely got into a match that wasn't laggy. And I don't mean slightly. I mean a full 3Campaign is deep, controls are done right and the action is hardcore and brutal. Insane difficulty is as it should be. It's good that it makes it harder for co-op because if one person dies you have to restart the checkpoint. The only problem with this game is the multiplayer. While it is satisfying, I rarely got into a match that wasn't laggy. And I don't mean slightly. I mean a full 3 mins behind where the game actually freezes. To add further frustration, the ranking system got updated so I ended up losing my rank from level 21 to level 1 again. There's also no free-for-all or game mode where you respawn. Horde mode is what makes this game great. Expand
  39. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 2 is a great and fun game to play that is bloodily satisfying. The game is great even if it has some flaws. The graphics of the game are impressive and the controls play out very well, much better than in the first game. The story is much better than than the first one's too. The multiplayer is a fun mode to play and you will want to play this for some time. The story is aGears of War 2 is a great and fun game to play that is bloodily satisfying. The game is great even if it has some flaws. The graphics of the game are impressive and the controls play out very well, much better than in the first game. The story is much better than than the first one's too. The multiplayer is a fun mode to play and you will want to play this for some time. The story is a great and more concise effort that is more logical and has some more emotion than than the first one, the intensity and emotion is well played out. The only flaws with the game are that voice acting could use some work, the graphics could use some cleaning up and the story could have less testoterone-filled dudebro dialogue. The multiplayer could get some tweaks too but the flaws are not that bad. Overall, GoW 2 is a great game that is fun to play that will entertain you for a while. A definitive better game than the second one. Breakdown for "Gears of War 2": Presentation: 9, Graphics: 9.5, Sound: 9, Playability: 9.5, Lasting Appeal: 9.3, Verdict: 9.4 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  40. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Now this is more like, because compared to Gears 1, the Gears of War 2 campaign is twice the length of Gears 1, and there's also an extra difficulty level. What I really like about this game is the innovation, with variety in gameplay. Even though Gears of War 1 was a great game, Gears of War 2 is an improvement. My only complaints I have are the absence of some enemies and weapons thatNow this is more like, because compared to Gears 1, the Gears of War 2 campaign is twice the length of Gears 1, and there's also an extra difficulty level. What I really like about this game is the innovation, with variety in gameplay. Even though Gears of War 1 was a great game, Gears of War 2 is an improvement. My only complaints I have are the absence of some enemies and weapons that were in Gears 1 (though replaced with others), the blood can look pink when fighting in daylight, and we barely know about Marcus' past. The characters also seem to say the same phrases that was recorded for Gears 1.

    I like how when you shoot an enemy (or when you get shot) the blood splatters onto the environment, unlike Gears 1 where it showed blood coming out but never landed. The sound of the weapons is a huge improvement, the music is fantastic, and the graphics are brilliant. The longer campaign of Gears 2 is what other shooters should look at as an example, where the campaign mode of games like Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Halo 3 are just too damn short. The campaign mode for Gears of War 2 is perfect for people who don't have Xbox Live Gold.

    The Horde Mode is a wonderful addition to the game, where you can play by yourself or with friends to take down wave after wave of Locust.
    Expand
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears of War 2 is even more thrilling than the 1st Gears of War. Probably the funniest and coolest part of the game is when the main characters go inside the giant rock worm and take it down by cutting its hearts out. Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    The game may lack in areas, but still shines in many others. I found the campaign to be the best I've ever played in any shooters, and I've enjoyed the story very much so far. The overall gameplay is great, but the game's only yet big flaw is it's replay value. At the most, it offers campaign, competitive online, and horde. The game may not last long, but while you still have it, you areThe game may lack in areas, but still shines in many others. I found the campaign to be the best I've ever played in any shooters, and I've enjoyed the story very much so far. The overall gameplay is great, but the game's only yet big flaw is it's replay value. At the most, it offers campaign, competitive online, and horde. The game may not last long, but while you still have it, you are in for a wild ride. Expand
  43. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Graphics:5 stars

    There ainâ
  44. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    It's awesome and feels awesome. Lame dialogue and story though. Very bad. 8 for multiplayer, 6 for singleplayer. I don't particularly like how some of the guns handle, and my favourite mode is definitely execution.
  45. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This game is great the story mode is amazing and hoard mode is a great addition and playing multiplayer is fun. Multiplayer may be fun but its also the worst part about the game while fighting people online is awesome about 60% of the time you will be lagging due to the lack of dedicated servers. While you move slower in this compared to gears of war 1 the cover system works a lot betterThis game is great the story mode is amazing and hoard mode is a great addition and playing multiplayer is fun. Multiplayer may be fun but its also the worst part about the game while fighting people online is awesome about 60% of the time you will be lagging due to the lack of dedicated servers. While you move slower in this compared to gears of war 1 the cover system works a lot better in this one, letting you traverse obstacles at a fast pace. If you can get past the laggy online then you will have a blast with this game Expand
  46. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Thought it was the best and most fun of the series. Wasn't a fan of all the DLC or the cliffhanger out of nowhere ending. BUT had awesome levels, weapons, and a decent plot.
  47. Apr 25, 2016
    9
    I am playing through this game in 2016 for the first time and the campaign is a beast! Graphically, this game would have been amazing by 2008 standards, it still looks great today. It starts off pretty easy, but by Chapter 4 the difficulty is very respectable. Lots of variety in terms of place, enemies and strategy. There are multiple ways to kill your enemies, much more varied thanI am playing through this game in 2016 for the first time and the campaign is a beast! Graphically, this game would have been amazing by 2008 standards, it still looks great today. It starts off pretty easy, but by Chapter 4 the difficulty is very respectable. Lots of variety in terms of place, enemies and strategy. There are multiple ways to kill your enemies, much more varied than most modern shooters. Great story, characters and voice acting. My only knock is that I do not care for the multiplayer. Expand
  48. May 27, 2012
    9
    Not as groundbreaking as the first game, but still an awesome game and a fun ride.
  49. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I would have given this game a 9.5 if I could. I felt that Epic Games had succeded in yet another awesome game. The new horde mode is a great laugh. The online progression system is sweet and the maps are epic. Especially now they ave released the 'All Fronts Collection' (what an awesome deal). The online is deffinatlet better than the original. But the campaign however, seemed to lack theI would have given this game a 9.5 if I could. I felt that Epic Games had succeded in yet another awesome game. The new horde mode is a great laugh. The online progression system is sweet and the maps are epic. Especially now they ave released the 'All Fronts Collection' (what an awesome deal). The online is deffinatlet better than the original. But the campaign however, seemed to lack the 'feel' of gears of war 1. I miss the Kryl and Beserkers, I didn't feel scared in any way and the storyline just didn't seem quite as good as the previous and I still can't get my head around the fact that the lightmass bomb made the locust stronger? However that said the campaign did feel more epic with the large armies, and the updated technology meaning you can fit loads of enemeies on the screen. Skorge was definitely a better bad guy than RAAM and I was glad to see more of the lambant locust (except this time not just wretches). Overall, I'd say Gears of War 2 is a must have, it's an oustanding game both offline and online but the storyline just wasn't quite good enough for me. Expand
  50. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Possibly one of the best reasons to own an Xbox 360. Gears of War 2 is easily my favorite console shooter. The multiplayer matchmaking has improved in almost every possible way, the co-op ended up being an awesome addition to the game also. The horde mode is good, it feels lacking though. The weapon arsenal is bad ass. The maps were as good as the maps in the original Gears of War, IPossibly one of the best reasons to own an Xbox 360. Gears of War 2 is easily my favorite console shooter. The multiplayer matchmaking has improved in almost every possible way, the co-op ended up being an awesome addition to the game also. The horde mode is good, it feels lacking though. The weapon arsenal is bad ass. The maps were as good as the maps in the original Gears of War, I didn't see much of a variation between the two. The only thing I could **** slap this game with is the story, it turned it into a dramatic soap opera, it didn't turn out well either; I definitely didn't hate it though. Expand
  51. JohnC.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Visuals are great, as you would expect, but not an impressive change. But the enhancements can still be noticed. Multi-player maps seem more refined, with better layouts that really cater to the 5v5. Execution, I think, is still the best mode.
  52. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I love Gears of War 2 this game is the **** Sure its multiplayer components were a bit tired after a year or two but this is definetly the game i have put in most hours to in count of multiplayer.
  53. StephenM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An excellent game in my opinion- playing through the campaign on Hardcore and couldn't be more pleased with the cooperative experience. The multiplayer is absolutely perfect, pretty much fixing every problem the first Gears had, and then some. Definitely worth the money.
  54. DanielT.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your hard earn money with tons of replay value. Well worth the wait and hype. Expand
  55. JodyC
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and better in every way...and for the most part it delivers. First, anyone expecting a big graphics upgrade will be dissapointed and while it does look a bit better than Gears 1 (which already looks incredible), the quality and scale / size feels the same even though they do a good job of tricking you into believing its a MUCH BIGGER, MUCH BETTER LOOKING game. Sound and Music are top-notch...the soundtrack is calm / tense depending on the situation and that creates a certain atmoshperic element to the game but the voice acting is a bit weaker this time around...its a little over-dramatic and eye-rolling at times (mostly the from Dom...Marcus's friend). The gameplay is basically the same with a few added moves and animations to make things appear more "fresh", but fans of Gears 1 will have no problems adapting its still a great "pick up and play" type game. Overall, Gears 2 is a step in the right direction...it is BIGGER, BETTER, and MORE BADASS than the original even if the "BIGGER" aspect feels more like an illusion...it still feels the same "size" as Gears 1 just busier things going on in the background. Anyway, the expanded story alone is what makes this game irresistable....as it was the ONLY thing missing from the first game...this Gears of War feels SO much more COMPLETE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Expand
  56. JohnF.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and artistic games ever developed! Expand
  57. GrahamM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!! it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED
    FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!!

    it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out if you'd like
    Expand
  58. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = A great shooter with fun, addictive gameplay. Excellent graphics, awesome campaign. Mulltiplayer needs a lot of work for Gears 3.
  59. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Gears of War 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. This campaign is by far one of my favorites! The game looks great, plays great, and sounds great! The storyline is massive, and you feel like you are apart of a desperate D-DAY-like assault against an overwhelming foe. The tale of invading the Locust Hollows is a gritty, visceral, and intense. The expansion into the depth of theGears of War 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. This campaign is by far one of my favorites! The game looks great, plays great, and sounds great! The storyline is massive, and you feel like you are apart of a desperate D-DAY-like assault against an overwhelming foe. The tale of invading the Locust Hollows is a gritty, visceral, and intense. The expansion into the depth of the World of Gears of war was great. It was nice to explore Dom's character a bit more, and to finally understand the whole side story mentioned in Gears of War 1 act 2. This game is wildly addictive, and is extremely innovative. Great boss battles throughout the game, and there was nothing like hijacking the Brumack and laying waste to hordes of Locust in the last level. This game is one of the best war stories I have ever played. The suspense, mystery, and variety are totally cool! This game reminded me why I love this series. Way to go Epic!! Expand
  60. chrisv
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    this game is quality. had to write in cos some of these user comments are totally way of the mark. ive played GOW and GOW2 twice right through both r great games but GOW2 takes it to the next level. its one of the best sequels out there. its a keeper as they say!
  61. JackR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for the PS3 will also be great games and comparing them to GoW2 is merely a matter of preference (or matter what ever console you happen to own). I don't hear many people comparing movies with such "enthusiasm" as games, but personally I don't make that big a difference between the two mediums. Expand
  62. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Bueno este juego es lo mejor que ha salido en lo que va del xbox 360 por 3 simples razones.
    La primera es que la historia es muy buena y atrapa al jugador desde el incio.
    La segunda es que el gameplay es excelente y los botones se ajustan bien al juego. La tercera es el multijugador que aunque el principio fue malo ahora arreglado es muy bueno tambien. Comprenlo, rentenlo, pidanlo
    Bueno este juego es lo mejor que ha salido en lo que va del xbox 360 por 3 simples razones.
    La primera es que la historia es muy buena y atrapa al jugador desde el incio.
    La segunda es que el gameplay es excelente y los botones se ajustan bien al juego.
    La tercera es el multijugador que aunque el principio fue malo ahora arreglado es muy bueno tambien.
    Comprenlo, rentenlo, pidanlo restado; Da igual pero jueguenlo ya.
    Expand
  63. AnonymousMC
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    Overall it's a fun game. It has good graphics and the two player campaign it great even though it is a short. I cannot see how some people are giving this game a 0. It has its problems but all games do. Even though the multiplayer deathmatch mode is lacking it makes up for it in the story mode. I had fun playing it, and I think it is a good game.
  64. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. TheI was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. The Combat, basically being the same feels more refined, more effort put into. I still say that the game wouldnt be fun by comparison to co-op then just by yourself. I noticed the sound has improved alot aswell. I do recommend this game. But I wouldnt recommend playing it alone, there geniouenly is not much fun in that. Expand
  65. AlexS.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Okay in Gears 2 i like them both i dont mind it and unlike gears 1 you got to set up your team or youd join a match and miss half your team because they went to Cog but not in Gears 2 the only slightly annoying thing in Gears 2 is the chainsaw.. but once you get good with the shotgun and know how to roll aorund a lil bit more the worries are gone you may still get hit by it but not nearly as much. Oh and peoplle say the Shotgun in gears 2 is crap. NO its not this just requires more skill to use instead of blindfire in front of you and you win its a lot better and i like what they did with it they made it more like a real shotgun instead of a Jesus shotgun that 1 hit kills everyhting. Id say the only bad thing about Gears 2 is that 90% of Shotgunners get there kills from nothing but 2 piecing and all i got to say to that is NO your not good for doing it. For example my friend Kilin 2-pieces all day he gets me sometimes but 80% of the time i blast him before he can get to me and he always loses to me when he doesnt 2-piece its not using the shotgun really your just pressing B + RT and then you move on no you suck for doing it. And Meleeing in this 1 is a little different some weapons melee a lot harder then others and some barely hit you at all at first i was confused a lot because id get 1 hitted when i only have 1 pistol shot damage on but once you learn that you dont get mad as much. Oh and moving around in this game is awesome it saves lives and its funny to get downed by someone and crawl away from them and they search forever and cant find you then you just come up and blast them. Oh and the last thing i cant stress enough about gears 2 DONT PLAY WITH YOUR KILLS!!! Ive had my whole team die and it was just me vs 3 people they downed me and let me get back up (with the intention of donwing me again) and when i got up i rolled away dodged there bullets and 1 of them was still on me i had the torque out charged it for like 2 seconds turned around and blasted him with it and then the other 2 came at me with shotguns luckily there noobs and try to 2 piece and just got raped because i move and blast you once you melee. Expand
  66. DesO
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by the fact that you can host a game with a few friends and fill the remaining slots with bots, or you can try to hold out against wave after wave of locust in horde mode. The graphics are a more refined than the first gears and thus significantly better. Overall a pretty solid package and well worth it's weight in gold. Expand
  67. HenryL.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is frieken awesome, the graphics are flawless, the action is incredible, its everything and more than the first one was, and if you played the first one then you know how amazing it was.
  68. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been last time round. 5 players a side, loads of maps, respawns (in some games) and the co-operative horde mode - which shoud slate your thirst for intense combat, if the campaign has failed to do so. Also HORDE is about the most HORDE fun I've had HORDE on xbox HORDE live, and if you've HORDE never fancied joining this HORDE service this could be HORDE the game that HORDE changes your HORDE mind. LOad up some HORDE bots and give it a go HORDE you'll be x-box living it HORDE before you know it. You may have guessed i quite like HORDE. Expand
  69. JamesM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a bit of a let down but not as much as some people make out. yes the shotgun has changed etc.. and it's not gears1, if it was, that would be a bad evolution of the game. Why not just play gears1 if you want to own with the shotgun? This is a new game and new rules. get revving and let the blood flow through those metal teeth! anyone for toast? Expand
  70. GavinB.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Excellent. Simply put, one of the most amazing 'balls to the wall' action game. There were so many sphincter tightening moments in this game, it's hard to believe it actually surpasses the original in terms of wow factor. Highest of recommendations.
  71. SteveR.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a masterstroke; at last, you can game with your mates without running the risk of pre-pubescent morons shouting, swearing singing or screaming in the background. Excellent and highly recommended to anyone who likes shooters. Expand
  72. ValC.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Gears of war 2 completely captures the brilliance of the first game and actually moves it forward. With its new ideas and provocative levels, GOW2 is destined to become one of the greatest games xbox has seen in a long, long, time.
  73. JimmyP
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  74. MikeyW.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Awesomeness. This game is pretty good. The boss battles are not as epic, but there's more stuff to it, like a longer vehicle sequence, a wide range of new weapons and enemies to kill and much more insight into the story. The only thing missing are epic boss battles and the hammer of dawn.
  75. Wayloski
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well done. Very strategic with the inclusion of using grenades as proxy mines. Not to mention you can set up shields in the ground to make yourself a nice little fort to hold down. Horde mode has to be one of the best coop experiences in recent memory. You really have to work together to survive, especially after round 10. Single player is a very engaging experience. I thought the story in Gears 1 was great. Short, simple, and to the point, so I was really blown away by this game. Cliffy B and the gang did an awesome job fleshing out the overall story. Almost shed a tear for one of the characters at one point! :( There is also a variety of gameplay in the single player besides the old "shoot anything that moves" mentality. The game also gives you a good challenge on just hte Hardcore setting, can't wait to start it again on Insane! Boss battles are very well done and a welcome addition to the Gears games. Games the perfect package of single and multiplayer. Definate 10/10. What are you waiting for, run out and buy it! See you online COGs! Expand
  76. CalebL
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 takes what was great in the first and adds a plethora of content and gameplay modes that will more than satisfy any fan of Gears 1. And Graham M, try hitting the "back" button. It lets you skip the cutscenes as well as the headset communications.
  77. BrendanS
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Really like the first; they didn't reinvent the wheel here; just made it shinier and a bit more solid. Matchmaking is broken at the moment and the communities' collective fingers are crossed for a quick fix soon. Otherwise, a visceral, cinematic experience that is truly impressive to behold.
  78. DemothH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other times I will unload 3 shotgun shells into someone, point blank, then melee them and then I get chainsawed. I've also been on the receiving end of BS when someone sits in my face for 3 seconds with a chainsaw and then I roll away and down them in one non-active reload shot with the shotgun. I've even been hin the legs with a boomshot and lived.... wtf? BS goes both ways sometimes, and when the game decides to have inconsistent weapons then the game becomes no fun. The matchmaking can also be spotty, sometimes taking 10 minutes to find a game, and other times assigning you to a game where everyone is experiencing crippling lag. When the game does decide to work, however, the game is second to none. I just wish the game actually was consistent. Expand
  79. JohnS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually serve a purpose - they advance the plot of the story. DIfferent weapons, enemies and modes of transport made for a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  80. YouDamnFanboys
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case its at least 15 hours), and an unrivaled online system (which includes about 10 different types of battles), and another co-op mode called Horde, this game screams replay value. It's not perfect (I can't give it a 9.8 like I want to), but this is definatly a runner for GOTY, and a definite must have for anyone older then 18. P.S. The truth, you gave this game a 0 because you thought it was a racing game? Wow your not biased. Expand
  81. MackA.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but it's not a big problem. The story has been expanded from the first game including a side story for the search for Maria Santiago (Dom's Wife). Overall, this is the best game i've ever played, and is an extremely high recommendation for all Tactical Shooter fans!! Expand
  82. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    its amazing how many idiots were thinking that this game would be a clone of gears, it adds weapons enemies a more in depth story but its mostly an action game, anyone who is crying about the story sucking doesn't know what kind of game this is and dserves to be taken off of life support should they ever fall into a catatonic state.
  83. TristanH
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best Games i played ever, no matter on console or on the pc. The atmosphere is amazing, the controls are easy as pie and the gameplay is diversified. Also the Characters, even if they are clichéd, couldn't be any cooler or funnier. I can recommend this game warmly to everyone who has a Box and is of course OLD ENOUGH. (thats definitely not a game for kids)
  84. ErucG
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Went to eat with my wife and took a chance to see if blockbuster had any copies on a Friday night at 7:00pm on release date, One copy left. Amazing! After about 1 hour of playing, you can sense a better plot and depth than GOW. To me, that was all that GOW lacked, now it is complete.
  85. RogerR.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    For me, i have to rate this game a 1. i'm halfway through the campaign and just barely scratched the surface of multiplayer,including horde which is incedible,and i couldn't be more impressed. It's done everything to the highest caliber. way to go epic on this beautiful game.
  86. CoryG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to it's fullest. Expand
  87. Christopher
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Not only has the game drastically improved upon the first, whether it be storyline, cutscenes, or matchmaking. It also keeps what was great in Gears of War 1 still around. A must have for any Gears of War fan, and at least a rental for the fan of action packed shooters.
  88. MatteoN.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An invasion of Sony fanboys won't make the game any worse. It's a MASTERPIECE. Better graphics, better gameplay, more weapons, more enemies, bigger enviroments, better multiplayer, better story, longer campaign. It absolutely R-O-C-K-S!
  89. NickP.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I wasn't keen on is gone, and everything that I wanted to be better is there. Who can ask for anything more? Expand
  90. AndrewB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system and the new party system, a la Halo, for multiplayer matches. If you own and XBOX 360, you should own Gears 2. Expand
  91. BrandonM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of the action will distract you everything that was wrong with the award winnig first gears has been improved graphics are stronger ai is deadlier and with all the new game modes this is easily a 100+ hour video games GET IT Expand
  92. Mike
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced and bombastic with not much substance. I struggled to feel "part" of the world, with the text messages, cutscenes, and control hints constantly popping up. Feels like its for a 12 yr old. All that being said, MP is better than in Gears 1, with more options and a better party system. Still has some of the glitchiness present in Gears 1, with wall sticking and the cover system, but I suppose that can be overlooked. Still, its unreal this is getting rated 100 by so-called legit game mags and websites. Wake up people. Expand
  93. KieranM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be had with mates and Horde is another stunning co-op inventive feature. A superb game, any fans of shooters, good MP games or gore should get this. Expand
  94. PatrickR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect 10. The easy and accesable match searching from the first has been replaced by the tedious, frustrating and often time consuming matchmaking that annoyed me about halo 3. In order to play you can either A. Host a match in which the only people who can join are on your friends list. B. enter matchmaking in which you have to wait until you get added to a party of other frustrated gamers waiting to play. once you get a party you must then wait until your party finds another party of players who have chosen the same 2-6 possible games types (i guess to speed up the process you can no longer search for one single mode, which again,is frustrating.) All that being said, Horde is an amazing addition to the Mp and should be the standout mode for this game. Gears 2 is everything you wanted it to be, and aside from some match making issues (which im sure will be addressed eventually) is every bit as intense as the first if not more so. Expand
  95. mg
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo campaign. But I have to give the award for multiplayer to Resistance. It's just more fulfilling, not a lot of waiting around. Gears is still definitely a great game, though. Expand
  96. JoseR.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Ok so gears of war 2 improves many "complains" that people had with gears 1, and this time around they have a story, a great multiplayer, amd the graphics are amazing, the only complain i have is that now the shotgun is kind of crappy thanks to the stopping power, but is a grat game so go ahead and try it.
  97. JoeLoccius
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I love the enviroments and how each different act always has at least 15 epic moments were you are just like "wow this sure does own resistance 2". Anyway the whole game is unbeilevably epic and it is definatly bigger, better, and more badass then resistance 2....(espcailly Cole Train's lines).
  98. DillW.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving segments which are more fun than the Junker by a long shot. The enviroments are nicley colored and the dispay of tens of villans on one screen is great. However, there are still some errors with the game itself. The voice acting could use a little work and a couple of texture glitches occur here and there. This game has "Game of the Year" written all over it. Collapse
  99. DAVIDGIBBONS
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    i THINK THIS IS STILL AN AMAZING GAME AND FOR NEWCOMERS IS JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN THE FIRST. BUT IF YOU HAVE PLAYED THE FIRST AND HAVE JUST BOUGHT THE SECOND THEN YOU MAY FIND IT A BIT BORING IN SOME WAYS BECAUSE IT IS VERY MUCH THE SAME
  100. KyleOcocker
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game has impressive graphics, gameplay, story, funny lines said by Cole Train, awesome horde mode, and multiplayer +bots!

    This game is really awe-maz-ing and beats resistance 2 by far.... When i am playing the chicago co-op level online for resistance 2 it looks like a gamecube game....unlike gears 2 which is just basically jack off material...
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    90
    We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.