Gears of War 2 Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2688 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JorgeMarquet
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Only magazines rate this game as good, by far its de most anoying game ever, the weapons never work as they should, the shotgun seems te be broken everytime, once again host have advantage in everything, plus live system is so bad organized, and thats not all, insteed of fixing the game, epic seems to be focused only in making maps so they can sell them
  2. JaredR
    Dec 10, 2009
    1
    I loved the first one but this was a step down. Its near impossible to play online, nomatter what time of day. There are some cool new weapons. This game was more hype than bite, but worth picking up when it reaches the $5 bargain bin.
  3. Sablicious...
    Jun 26, 2009
    4
    A botched [non] effort of a sequel that LOOKED as if was destined to be a classic, but turned out a classic mess:
    -horrendous lag compared to the first game
    -atrociously slow matchmaking (expect to wait <30 minutes for a match to begin on occasions!) -lack of choice in on-line matches -bugs, glitche[r]s aplenty -major weapons balance-related issues -die-linear campaign -ockerish,
    A botched [non] effort of a sequel that LOOKED as if was destined to be a classic, but turned out a classic mess:
    -horrendous lag compared to the first game
    -atrociously slow matchmaking (expect to wait <30 minutes for a match to begin on occasions!)
    -lack of choice in on-line matches
    -bugs, glitche[r]s aplenty
    -major weapons balance-related issues
    -die-linear campaign
    -ockerish, brain-dead, cliched narrative
    -no customization/upgrades off-line of on.
    ...The list goes on.

    Only the most ardent, blinkered, gore hungry shooter fanboy could look past the game's myriad flaws and subscribe to the ~9 commercial reviews. The very fact that even 8 months post-release the game STILL suffers from many of its out-of-the-box shortcomings.

    Gears of War 2 is a stark example of what is meant by the trm 'cash-in'. For shame Cliffy Dweeb and co. For shame in ripping off your trusting fans. May the consumer backlash come the inevitable third title in the series force you to sell your wanky Lamborghini, you glorified drinks coaster monger. -_-
    Expand
  4. KJ
    Jun 28, 2009
    6
    I bought into allll the hype for this game. That was a mistake on my part. I enjoyed this game immensely for about 3 weeks after my purchase. Then it all went south... fast. The Bad: The multiplayer setup is an utter joke. The host advantage is simply uncalled for. The amount of time you spend to actually find a match is ridiculous. Then after the match you gotta go through all that crap I bought into allll the hype for this game. That was a mistake on my part. I enjoyed this game immensely for about 3 weeks after my purchase. Then it all went south... fast. The Bad: The multiplayer setup is an utter joke. The host advantage is simply uncalled for. The amount of time you spend to actually find a match is ridiculous. Then after the match you gotta go through all that crap again! The map designs are brutal. The single player couldn't be more stereotypical and cliche. The Good: Very stunning visuals for the 360 - maybe the best (stop comparing to Crysis idiots). Solid use of sound minus some very corny speech throughout the game. Horde mode, while can get kinda boring after awhile, is very fun and challenging if you work as a TEAM! I love the gore... Torque Bow through a head never gets old. Expand
  5. jh
    Aug 14, 2009
    5
    It's a very average game. If you think "halo" is average (I don't think so, but hey), trust me, you haven't seen nothin' yet. I'm not marking this down because of the userscore, which is already low. I think it's actually a 5/10 game. I'm amazed that so many critics were blinded by the visuals...again. They wised up a little on the DLC; the novelty of theIt's a very average game. If you think "halo" is average (I don't think so, but hey), trust me, you haven't seen nothin' yet. I'm not marking this down because of the userscore, which is already low. I think it's actually a 5/10 game. I'm amazed that so many critics were blinded by the visuals...again. They wised up a little on the DLC; the novelty of the graphics must be wearing off (finally). Expand
  6. ClintonW
    Sep 12, 2009
    1
    This game is just sad i cant believe how crappy this game is. with all the money that epic has at their disposal you would think that this game would be loads better than the first, you would be wrong. this game has the shortest and most repetitive campaign i have ever seen. the multiplayer is a joke. epic didnt even try with the multiplayer. you sit and wait for 5-10 minutes just to find This game is just sad i cant believe how crappy this game is. with all the money that epic has at their disposal you would think that this game would be loads better than the first, you would be wrong. this game has the shortest and most repetitive campaign i have ever seen. the multiplayer is a joke. epic didnt even try with the multiplayer. you sit and wait for 5-10 minutes just to find a match and when you finally get into a match expect lag. the host advantage is great how when the host quits everyone leaves the match. and guess what you get to wait another 5 minutes just to find another laggy match. i have cursed this game so many times to the point that i wanted to punch cliffy b and his team in the face. this game has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. people might say the graphics are the best on the 360 and i ask what are you smoking.if you want a game with the best graphics get bioshock. the campaign sucks, multiplayer sucks, voice acting sucks, weapons suck, this whole damn game sucks and i couldnt care less about the campaign in gears 3 all i want is a good multiplayer and unless they fix not just me but thousands of people WILL NOT get this game. Expand
  7. TheTruth
    Nov 24, 2008
    0
    I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is only played by teenage bed-wetters who cannot read. Worst ever! Shame on you Microsoft! Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    I'm not going to write about multiplayer, because I don't have a Xbox Live gold account (I have my PS3 to play on-line for goddamn free) and I'll only focus on the singleplayer. Well I think the game is quite alright but nothing beyond that. I've played Gears of War 1 on a PC with my friend in co-op and we had a blast. But when I played GoW 2 alone I wasn't that happy about it.

    First of
    I'm not going to write about multiplayer, because I don't have a Xbox Live gold account (I have my PS3 to play on-line for goddamn free) and I'll only focus on the singleplayer. Well I think the game is quite alright but nothing beyond that. I've played Gears of War 1 on a PC with my friend in co-op and we had a blast. But when I played GoW 2 alone I wasn't that happy about it.

    First of all there are plenty of annoying glitches like problems with physics getting stuck at some places and having problems with the cover system. The latter was especially irritating in the level with the murderous ice clogs falling from the sky. I died several times because Marcus kept hugging the walls and not running.

    Another flaw of the game is the horrible , at times, AI of the enemies and team mates. I finished the game on Hardcore and I don't whether the higher difficulty means the dumber your squad mate or did the developer made some mistakes. Dom, most of the time, is utterly useless. He sticks to the wall and doesn't even pretend that he wants to fight. I have kill every goddamn Locust in the vicinity. He pissed me off, when we had to defend a bunch of satellite dishes from reavers. After a cut-scene he shouts to me: "Use one of the Troika's!". "Okay man, but there are two Troika's, why won't you use the other one?" "Nah, I'm too lazy. I'll just stand over there and eat a taco or something..." The problem with that level was that it was kind of botched and it depended only on pure luck rather than skill to kill all the reavers in time. When playing with a friend in co-op mode I bet we would win it in one go.

    Other than that I think the story could be a bit better and more depressing like in its predecessor and someone should throw out the tickers from the game because they are the most annoying **** ever created in a game, ever.

    But, of course the isn't all that bad. The shooting is quite enjoyable and I bet in co-op it kicks ass just as hard as GoW 1. The game has some epic moments, Cole is kind of funny, the Locust are ugly and eager to die, it's nice to rip them apart with the lancer, etc.

    So, for the singleplayer experience I give it a 7. It's fun to play it once, but I don't think I'll replay it. Though I am waiting for GoW 3.
    Expand
  9. Mar 11, 2011
    2
    The new enemies in this game are same ol' same ol'. The game play is dead similar throughout. Doesn't matter if you're in a cave or a hotel, it's the same formula of sticking to the wall and popping off shots. Plus the story and the characters are booooring. Playing through the first 4 levels was like being in a coma. In one part, you and your men move through a tunnel ... and you don'tThe new enemies in this game are same ol' same ol'. The game play is dead similar throughout. Doesn't matter if you're in a cave or a hotel, it's the same formula of sticking to the wall and popping off shots. Plus the story and the characters are booooring. Playing through the first 4 levels was like being in a coma. In one part, you and your men move through a tunnel ... and you don't have any torches. It seemed like such a cheap way to make the same gameplay "more interesting" except it didn't. Did I mention the enemies were boring. Urgh, how on earth this did game get such good scores? Expand
  10. May 29, 2011
    4
    They took everything I liked from the first Gears of War and butchered it. Movement is clingy, matchmaking online is awful, and the shotguns have been dumbed down to an embarassing level. This only gets points for the Horde mode, which is fun with friends, and for a pretty enjoyable single player campaign (although it's very short at approx. 6 hours). But multiplayer is where thisThey took everything I liked from the first Gears of War and butchered it. Movement is clingy, matchmaking online is awful, and the shotguns have been dumbed down to an embarassing level. This only gets points for the Horde mode, which is fun with friends, and for a pretty enjoyable single player campaign (although it's very short at approx. 6 hours). But multiplayer is where this series lives, and I can't bring myself to play it online again. Expand
  11. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Bueno este juego es lo mejor que ha salido en lo que va del xbox 360 por 3 simples razones.
    La primera es que la historia es muy buena y atrapa al jugador desde el incio.
    La segunda es que el gameplay es excelente y los botones se ajustan bien al juego. La tercera es el multijugador que aunque el principio fue malo ahora arreglado es muy bueno tambien. Comprenlo, rentenlo, pidanlo
    Bueno este juego es lo mejor que ha salido en lo que va del xbox 360 por 3 simples razones.
    La primera es que la historia es muy buena y atrapa al jugador desde el incio.
    La segunda es que el gameplay es excelente y los botones se ajustan bien al juego.
    La tercera es el multijugador que aunque el principio fue malo ahora arreglado es muy bueno tambien.
    Comprenlo, rentenlo, pidanlo restado; Da igual pero jueguenlo ya.
    Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    I really don't understand the massive success of Gears of War. Though the gameplay is entertaining, the story, characters and writing are all lackluster. GoW does cover based shooters well and battlefields are hectic and exciting. However, the environments are once again comprised of a variety of brown colors. The characters are all bulky macho men who can't help but inform us of howI really don't understand the massive success of Gears of War. Though the gameplay is entertaining, the story, characters and writing are all lackluster. GoW does cover based shooters well and battlefields are hectic and exciting. However, the environments are once again comprised of a variety of brown colors. The characters are all bulky macho men who can't help but inform us of how badass they are at every available opportunity. An attempt is made to develop the character of Dom by adding the subplot about his wife, but these seem out of place among the other largely emotionless soldiers. I suppose I should commend Epic for trying. The GoW series centers on the fight between humans the Locust but two games in, there is no real heart to this game. Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    It was a letdown for me. i was expecting something better from Epic. Campaign, while solid, has some not very shiny points. the ending/final boss was a mess, no difficulty at all. Still worth a rental, at least.
  14. May 6, 2011
    4
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  15. May 12, 2011
    4
    I don't think I've been so let down by a game before, all of my friends kept telling me how great this game was and that I would absolutely love it and HAD to pick it up... so I did, and it just didn't do it for me... the graphics are really nice, but I've always enjoyed gameplay over graphics and I think too many first/third person shooters rely on graphics rather than quality gameplayI don't think I've been so let down by a game before, all of my friends kept telling me how great this game was and that I would absolutely love it and HAD to pick it up... so I did, and it just didn't do it for me... the graphics are really nice, but I've always enjoyed gameplay over graphics and I think too many first/third person shooters rely on graphics rather than quality gameplay and this was just another of the many for me. I found the movement too slow and firing the weapons is just not that satisfying, they feel really underpowered even when you're blowing something's head off from point blank. Even playing with friend's on horde mode was just meh... it's just an average take on cod's infinitely better zombie mode. Maybe I was just expecting too much, but sadly a big let down for me. Expand
  16. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    Bigger, Badder and More Badass does not make Gears 2 better but instead makes it smaller in substance, stupider in merit and lame in the big scheme of things. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There is some fun to be had with some of the gameplay, and some of the multiplayerBigger, Badder and More Badass does not make Gears 2 better but instead makes it smaller in substance, stupider in merit and lame in the big scheme of things. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There is some fun to be had with some of the gameplay, and some of the multiplayer functions are good for a while but are only original to the ignorant console crowd, all of its multiplayer modes have been done before on PC games many times. In the end Gears 2 is just another game for the uncritically minded and sits on the big fat pile of games with crap stories and missed opportunities. Gears can be fun in a mindless sense but thats not a good thing, again its a missed opportunityâ Expand
  17. Jul 13, 2011
    6
    This is overall a mediocre game. I don't see why critics praise this game, it's not that good. The style of the game is just boring sometimes, and the campaign has no exciting moments. I also don't see why there's multiplayer. Even though I think the horde mode is fun, I still think you should skip this one.
  18. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Pretty much a let down compared to the original Gears of War but still an all around solid game. Story goes off a bit on you but pretty fun to play. No regrets on buying this game. Decent all around.
  19. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    Well this game isnt much as i expected to be. Gameplay is good nicely done and graphics are good, but character not memorable crappy story 4 buffs guys going towards it their goal, mention of maria was pointless trying to give a man with rage steroids some feelings did not work at all also a horrible ending. Multiplayer is ok but has the same problem as the first it runs solely on shotgunsWell this game isnt much as i expected to be. Gameplay is good nicely done and graphics are good, but character not memorable crappy story 4 buffs guys going towards it their goal, mention of maria was pointless trying to give a man with rage steroids some feelings did not work at all also a horrible ending. Multiplayer is ok but has the same problem as the first it runs solely on shotguns and snipers alone. Characters feel kilzoneish pretty slow gameplay. But i gues reviews give good score for this game because of its brutality they make really well best ive seen in my life, but not enough for the game to be good. Expand
  20. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  21. AnonymousMC
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    Overall it's a fun game. It has good graphics and the two player campaign it great even though it is a short. I cannot see how some people are giving this game a 0. It has its problems but all games do. Even though the multiplayer deathmatch mode is lacking it makes up for it in the story mode. I had fun playing it, and I think it is a good game.
  22. ChrisE.
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    Gears of war 2 starts off pretty good with the single player campaign. i was kinda expecting that you would be able to play as the different characters in the story mode, but unfortunately you get stuck with dom and marcus. Oh well. Doesn't detract from the overall single player experience, which is solid, albeit with a few rough spots here and there. Now, the reason i'm giving Gears of war 2 starts off pretty good with the single player campaign. i was kinda expecting that you would be able to play as the different characters in the story mode, but unfortunately you get stuck with dom and marcus. Oh well. Doesn't detract from the overall single player experience, which is solid, albeit with a few rough spots here and there. Now, the reason i'm giving this good game a 7 is because of the craptastic online multiplayer. I'm not saying Gears of war 2 multi player sucks, i'm saying the online component sucks. There are so many issues with online play right now that it's not even funny: The online lobby and interface looks like crap, you can't find a match you wanna play, you have to wait TEN minutes for the game to find other players to play with, and even when you get into a match, there's no guarantee you'll have fun, thanks to the abundant amount of lag on the servers. Even worse you can't tell the connection strength of everyone, it just put you in a room and says have fun. And yes, this was an issue before the game released, go read IGN's review of the game. There is no grace period for lag when it comes to chainsaw duels, meaning that you'll try to chainsaw someone who you think is unaware, and then 2 seconds after you rev the saw in their face, you're suddenly half way through a chainsaw battle and he's got a second and a half edge of button mashing on you. Not cool. There's also no way to tell who's lagging the game up (which could be me, i dunno) and there's no way to tell your connection strength for gaming (i had to pop in Gears 1 after a really laggy match to find it out... surprisingly it was good enough for a flawless gears 1 match). And the one of the biggest problem is that there are no REGIONAL SERVERS! meaning that Canadians like me will end up fighting Mexicans or Brits that have really bad connections. I can't believe that the gears 2 online is much worse than the gears 1 online. It is a few days after launch but right now its worse than halo 3 in terms of lag. Overall its a good game, but i recommend you rent this first if you're going for the online experience, cause as of right now its a train wreak. It might work for you but lots of people have been experiencing massive lag, so beware. Expand
  23. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. TheI was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. The Combat, basically being the same feels more refined, more effort put into. I still say that the game wouldnt be fun by comparison to co-op then just by yourself. I noticed the sound has improved alot aswell. I do recommend this game. But I wouldnt recommend playing it alone, there geniouenly is not much fun in that. Expand
  24. AlexS.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Okay in Gears 2 i like them both i dont mind it and unlike gears 1 you got to set up your team or youd join a match and miss half your team because they went to Cog but not in Gears 2 the only slightly annoying thing in Gears 2 is the chainsaw.. but once you get good with the shotgun and know how to roll aorund a lil bit more the worries are gone you may still get hit by it but not nearly as much. Oh and peoplle say the Shotgun in gears 2 is crap. NO its not this just requires more skill to use instead of blindfire in front of you and you win its a lot better and i like what they did with it they made it more like a real shotgun instead of a Jesus shotgun that 1 hit kills everyhting. Id say the only bad thing about Gears 2 is that 90% of Shotgunners get there kills from nothing but 2 piecing and all i got to say to that is NO your not good for doing it. For example my friend Kilin 2-pieces all day he gets me sometimes but 80% of the time i blast him before he can get to me and he always loses to me when he doesnt 2-piece its not using the shotgun really your just pressing B + RT and then you move on no you suck for doing it. And Meleeing in this 1 is a little different some weapons melee a lot harder then others and some barely hit you at all at first i was confused a lot because id get 1 hitted when i only have 1 pistol shot damage on but once you learn that you dont get mad as much. Oh and moving around in this game is awesome it saves lives and its funny to get downed by someone and crawl away from them and they search forever and cant find you then you just come up and blast them. Oh and the last thing i cant stress enough about gears 2 DONT PLAY WITH YOUR KILLS!!! Ive had my whole team die and it was just me vs 3 people they downed me and let me get back up (with the intention of donwing me again) and when i got up i rolled away dodged there bullets and 1 of them was still on me i had the torque out charged it for like 2 seconds turned around and blasted him with it and then the other 2 came at me with shotguns luckily there noobs and try to 2 piece and just got raped because i move and blast you once you melee. Expand
  25. Vogt
    Jan 7, 2009
    6
    I am, or at least used to be, a big fan of the Gears universe. The original Gears game described a beautiful, desolate, war-torn world, with an almost unreal, ghost-like enemy, the Locust. The sequel takes the fight underground where these Locust dwell and reveals much more of the their society. This is done in a terrible manner, with a colorful medieval theme and a soggy, also colorful, I am, or at least used to be, a big fan of the Gears universe. The original Gears game described a beautiful, desolate, war-torn world, with an almost unreal, ghost-like enemy, the Locust. The sequel takes the fight underground where these Locust dwell and reveals much more of the their society. This is done in a terrible manner, with a colorful medieval theme and a soggy, also colorful, organic mushroom theme, absolutely ruining the beautiful grey, desolate, apocalyptic, mechanic theme of the original game. Gears was never a game which sequel should have been made "bigger, better, more badass", but which art direction should have been held in a firm, responsible grip. Imagine if the sequel to your favorite sci-fi movie turned out to be a musical, with fireworks and silly puppets, with a budget ten times bigger than the original. The Gears universe is finally ruined by the protagonists actually walking around--stairs, paths, platforms--inside a giant earth worm, mid-game. Thank you, Epic, for turning one of the most promising sci-fi universes in gaming into Super Mario World. Finally, on the positive side, guns, especially sounds, are great, and the new Horde game mode is a superb multiplayer co-op experience, unfortunately ruined by the grounded shield exploit, which lets players hold of monsters indefinetly by blocking entrances with shields stuck in the ground. Also, a side plot during the game, that is not very well developed, concerning creatures known as "Sires", was much more in the spirit of the original Gears and could have taken the story in a very interesting direction. Shame that Epic was more concerned with making a "bigger, more bad-ass" sequel, instead of just a good one. Expand
  26. KyleC
    Feb 1, 2009
    5
    I give it 5 out of 10 because the online play is plagued with lag and other issues. If your a hardcore gamer leave this one along. To many problems on the multiplayer level. Now if you are playing Horde mode or regular co-op it will be alright. But the lag and network issues along with all the glitches in the online multiplayer cause this game to be rated 5 out of 10.
  27. PatrickC
    Feb 2, 2009
    6
    This game is visually amazing. The sound is fantastic. Multiplayer is fun (when it works). Contrary to popular belief, I actually liked the story. However, there are just as many problems as there are positive points. The multiplayer mode is not only broken, but after being out all this time, IT'S STILL BROKEN. The campaign was too short. People say this game was bigger than Gears 1, This game is visually amazing. The sound is fantastic. Multiplayer is fun (when it works). Contrary to popular belief, I actually liked the story. However, there are just as many problems as there are positive points. The multiplayer mode is not only broken, but after being out all this time, IT'S STILL BROKEN. The campaign was too short. People say this game was bigger than Gears 1, but I swear the first Gears took me longer to finish. Many of the backgrounds are, though good looking, not very interesting. There isn't much variety in the gameplay, and it's an easy game, no matter what difficulty you play it on. Expand
  28. DesO
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by the fact that you can host a game with a few friends and fill the remaining slots with bots, or you can try to hold out against wave after wave of locust in horde mode. The graphics are a more refined than the first gears and thus significantly better. Overall a pretty solid package and well worth it's weight in gold. Expand
  29. DavidHull
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    Looks good, feels good, plays well, has a much larger scale campaign however multiplayer can be rather frustrating should you live anywhere bar the USA and the story line has brutish men with feelings. Honestly where there no story it would probably be better, shooting locust is fun but leave the story to Bungie and Valve
  30. TorgnyH.
    Nov 11, 2008
    7
    the game is a 10. it is a great game. but I must deduct 3 pts for not getting all that I paid for. I bought the Limited Edition thinking I would get the flashback map and golden lancer codes, but with no warning from the publisher... some limited editions in some regions don't have the codes included. this could have been better managed by telling us ahead of time and we the game is a 10. it is a great game. but I must deduct 3 pts for not getting all that I paid for. I bought the Limited Edition thinking I would get the flashback map and golden lancer codes, but with no warning from the publisher... some limited editions in some regions don't have the codes included. this could have been better managed by telling us ahead of time and we wouldn't have necessarily wasted the extra money on the limited edition. Now apparently the flashback map codes are available for an additional price. There is no way I'm buying them as I feel I have already bought them by spending extra for the limited edition. its tainted an otherwise blissful gaming experience. Expand
  31. HenryL.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is frieken awesome, the graphics are flawless, the action is incredible, its everything and more than the first one was, and if you played the first one then you know how amazing it was.
  32. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been last time round. 5 players a side, loads of maps, respawns (in some games) and the co-operative horde mode - which shoud slate your thirst for intense combat, if the campaign has failed to do so. Also HORDE is about the most HORDE fun I've had HORDE on xbox HORDE live, and if you've HORDE never fancied joining this HORDE service this could be HORDE the game that HORDE changes your HORDE mind. LOad up some HORDE bots and give it a go HORDE you'll be x-box living it HORDE before you know it. You may have guessed i quite like HORDE. Expand
  33. JamesM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a bit of a let down but not as much as some people make out. yes the shotgun has changed etc.. and it's not gears1, if it was, that would be a bad evolution of the game. Why not just play gears1 if you want to own with the shotgun? This is a new game and new rules. get revving and let the blood flow through those metal teeth! anyone for toast? Expand
  34. GavinB.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Excellent. Simply put, one of the most amazing 'balls to the wall' action game. There were so many sphincter tightening moments in this game, it's hard to believe it actually surpasses the original in terms of wow factor. Highest of recommendations.
  35. SteveR.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a masterstroke; at last, you can game with your mates without running the risk of pre-pubescent morons shouting, swearing singing or screaming in the background. Excellent and highly recommended to anyone who likes shooters. Expand
  36. ValC.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Gears of war 2 completely captures the brilliance of the first game and actually moves it forward. With its new ideas and provocative levels, GOW2 is destined to become one of the greatest games xbox has seen in a long, long, time.
  37. JimmyP
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  38. MikeyW.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Awesomeness. This game is pretty good. The boss battles are not as epic, but there's more stuff to it, like a longer vehicle sequence, a wide range of new weapons and enemies to kill and much more insight into the story. The only thing missing are epic boss battles and the hammer of dawn.
  39. GrahamM.
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    No advancement since the first installment. Game design feels old, environments looks messy (some might say detailed, I say messy), and moments of frustration (can't skip cut-scenes). If you were happy with the first one, just stay there.
  40. Wayloski
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well done. Very strategic with the inclusion of using grenades as proxy mines. Not to mention you can set up shields in the ground to make yourself a nice little fort to hold down. Horde mode has to be one of the best coop experiences in recent memory. You really have to work together to survive, especially after round 10. Single player is a very engaging experience. I thought the story in Gears 1 was great. Short, simple, and to the point, so I was really blown away by this game. Cliffy B and the gang did an awesome job fleshing out the overall story. Almost shed a tear for one of the characters at one point! :( There is also a variety of gameplay in the single player besides the old "shoot anything that moves" mentality. The game also gives you a good challenge on just hte Hardcore setting, can't wait to start it again on Insane! Boss battles are very well done and a welcome addition to the Gears games. Games the perfect package of single and multiplayer. Definate 10/10. What are you waiting for, run out and buy it! See you online COGs! Expand
  41. CalebL
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 takes what was great in the first and adds a plethora of content and gameplay modes that will more than satisfy any fan of Gears 1. And Graham M, try hitting the "back" button. It lets you skip the cutscenes as well as the headset communications.
  42. BrendanS
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Really like the first; they didn't reinvent the wheel here; just made it shinier and a bit more solid. Matchmaking is broken at the moment and the communities' collective fingers are crossed for a quick fix soon. Otherwise, a visceral, cinematic experience that is truly impressive to behold.
  43. DemothH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other times I will unload 3 shotgun shells into someone, point blank, then melee them and then I get chainsawed. I've also been on the receiving end of BS when someone sits in my face for 3 seconds with a chainsaw and then I roll away and down them in one non-active reload shot with the shotgun. I've even been hin the legs with a boomshot and lived.... wtf? BS goes both ways sometimes, and when the game decides to have inconsistent weapons then the game becomes no fun. The matchmaking can also be spotty, sometimes taking 10 minutes to find a game, and other times assigning you to a game where everyone is experiencing crippling lag. When the game does decide to work, however, the game is second to none. I just wish the game actually was consistent. Expand
  44. ShaneS
    Nov 25, 2008
    7
    This game does not have the same emotive quality or graphical purity or, indeed, soul as the first one. The first was more gritty and tougher than this: Stick your head out and it would be blown away! GOW1 was a masterpiece; GOW2 is a cartoon for kids. Basically lamer version of GOW1 on trianing wheels: not challenging at all and a BIG disappointment.
  45. JohnS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually serve a purpose - they advance the plot of the story. DIfferent weapons, enemies and modes of transport made for a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  46. Vinnyb
    Nov 20, 2008
    6
    just recently got a 360 xbox and this was one of my first games i've bought. Overall i like the single player mode(co-op mode), but what made me buy this game and my xbox 360 was that the multiplayer modes on both this game and xbox live was suppose to be amazing(better than cod4 people said) but what i have found is that it's almost impossible to connect to a game online but just recently got a 360 xbox and this was one of my first games i've bought. Overall i like the single player mode(co-op mode), but what made me buy this game and my xbox 360 was that the multiplayer modes on both this game and xbox live was suppose to be amazing(better than cod4 people said) but what i have found is that it's almost impossible to connect to a game online but when i tried gear of war 1 there was no problem. I hope they can sort this problem out soon or i will be sticking with my ps3 and selling my 360. Fell like i've been lied to with most of the reviews giving it 100% what going on here Expand
  47. YouDamnFanboys
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case its at least 15 hours), and an unrivaled online system (which includes about 10 different types of battles), and another co-op mode called Horde, this game screams replay value. It's not perfect (I can't give it a 9.8 like I want to), but this is definatly a runner for GOTY, and a definite must have for anyone older then 18. P.S. The truth, you gave this game a 0 because you thought it was a racing game? Wow your not biased. Expand
  48. MackA.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but it's not a big problem. The story has been expanded from the first game including a side story for the search for Maria Santiago (Dom's Wife). Overall, this is the best game i've ever played, and is an extremely high recommendation for all Tactical Shooter fans!! Expand
  49. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    its amazing how many idiots were thinking that this game would be a clone of gears, it adds weapons enemies a more in depth story but its mostly an action game, anyone who is crying about the story sucking doesn't know what kind of game this is and dserves to be taken off of life support should they ever fall into a catatonic state.
  50. TristanH
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best Games i played ever, no matter on console or on the pc. The atmosphere is amazing, the controls are easy as pie and the gameplay is diversified. Also the Characters, even if they are clichéd, couldn't be any cooler or funnier. I can recommend this game warmly to everyone who has a Box and is of course OLD ENOUGH. (thats definitely not a game for kids)
  51. ErucG
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Went to eat with my wife and took a chance to see if blockbuster had any copies on a Friday night at 7:00pm on release date, One copy left. Amazing! After about 1 hour of playing, you can sense a better plot and depth than GOW. To me, that was all that GOW lacked, now it is complete.
  52. RogerR.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    For me, i have to rate this game a 1. i'm halfway through the campaign and just barely scratched the surface of multiplayer,including horde which is incedible,and i couldn't be more impressed. It's done everything to the highest caliber. way to go epic on this beautiful game.
  53. CoryG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to it's fullest. Expand
  54. Christopher
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Not only has the game drastically improved upon the first, whether it be storyline, cutscenes, or matchmaking. It also keeps what was great in Gears of War 1 still around. A must have for any Gears of War fan, and at least a rental for the fan of action packed shooters.
  55. MatteoN.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An invasion of Sony fanboys won't make the game any worse. It's a MASTERPIECE. Better graphics, better gameplay, more weapons, more enemies, bigger enviroments, better multiplayer, better story, longer campaign. It absolutely R-O-C-K-S!
  56. NickP.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I wasn't keen on is gone, and everything that I wanted to be better is there. Who can ask for anything more? Expand
  57. AndrewB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system and the new party system, a la Halo, for multiplayer matches. If you own and XBOX 360, you should own Gears 2. Expand
  58. AnthonyG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    7
    Not so polished gears 2 Yet another fast and to the point review on this game. Ok here it is the game is great game and adds some new stuff to do in the solo campaign, but it's a bit short...hold for it
  59. BrandonM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of the action will distract you everything that was wrong with the award winnig first gears has been improved graphics are stronger ai is deadlier and with all the new game modes this is easily a 100+ hour video games GET IT Expand
  60. Mike
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced and bombastic with not much substance. I struggled to feel "part" of the world, with the text messages, cutscenes, and control hints constantly popping up. Feels like its for a 12 yr old. All that being said, MP is better than in Gears 1, with more options and a better party system. Still has some of the glitchiness present in Gears 1, with wall sticking and the cover system, but I suppose that can be overlooked. Still, its unreal this is getting rated 100 by so-called legit game mags and websites. Wake up people. Expand
  61. KieranM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be had with mates and Horde is another stunning co-op inventive feature. A superb game, any fans of shooters, good MP games or gore should get this. Expand
  62. PatrickR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect 10. The easy and accesable match searching from the first has been replaced by the tedious, frustrating and often time consuming matchmaking that annoyed me about halo 3. In order to play you can either A. Host a match in which the only people who can join are on your friends list. B. enter matchmaking in which you have to wait until you get added to a party of other frustrated gamers waiting to play. once you get a party you must then wait until your party finds another party of players who have chosen the same 2-6 possible games types (i guess to speed up the process you can no longer search for one single mode, which again,is frustrating.) All that being said, Horde is an amazing addition to the Mp and should be the standout mode for this game. Gears 2 is everything you wanted it to be, and aside from some match making issues (which im sure will be addressed eventually) is every bit as intense as the first if not more so. Expand
  63. mg
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo campaign. But I have to give the award for multiplayer to Resistance. It's just more fulfilling, not a lot of waiting around. Gears is still definitely a great game, though. Expand
  64. JoseR.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Ok so gears of war 2 improves many "complains" that people had with gears 1, and this time around they have a story, a great multiplayer, amd the graphics are amazing, the only complain i have is that now the shotgun is kind of crappy thanks to the stopping power, but is a grat game so go ahead and try it.
  65. JoeLoccius
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I love the enviroments and how each different act always has at least 15 epic moments were you are just like "wow this sure does own resistance 2". Anyway the whole game is unbeilevably epic and it is definatly bigger, better, and more badass then resistance 2....(espcailly Cole Train's lines).
  66. DillW.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving segments which are more fun than the Junker by a long shot. The enviroments are nicley colored and the dispay of tens of villans on one screen is great. However, there are still some errors with the game itself. The voice acting could use a little work and a couple of texture glitches occur here and there. This game has "Game of the Year" written all over it. Expand
  67. DAVIDGIBBONS
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    i THINK THIS IS STILL AN AMAZING GAME AND FOR NEWCOMERS IS JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN THE FIRST. BUT IF YOU HAVE PLAYED THE FIRST AND HAVE JUST BOUGHT THE SECOND THEN YOU MAY FIND IT A BIT BORING IN SOME WAYS BECAUSE IT IS VERY MUCH THE SAME
  68. KyleOcocker
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game has impressive graphics, gameplay, story, funny lines said by Cole Train, awesome horde mode, and multiplayer +bots!

    This game is really awe-maz-ing and beats resistance 2 by far.... When i am playing the chicago co-op level online for resistance 2 it looks like a gamecube game....unlike gears 2 which is just basically jack off material...
  69. BenM.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Non-stop feeling of being in a war plowing a troika through 50+ locusts is just amazing .. multiplayer movement is alot smoother - no more hoover vacuums in walls . Needs locale settings or ping indicator for public games in multiplayer ... lag can become terrible at times.
  70. JamesB
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing online with my friend and it is simply a joy to behold. A beautiful beautiful game which deserves to be played. Well done Epic I hope it brings you the success it deserves. Absolutely brilliant. Expand
  71. JasonEdwards
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the first, offering a longer game, more weapons, new and exciting level-specific mechanics (razor-hail, tunneling worms, boat battles, etc) as well as incredibly unique, well detailed and definitely rememberable level designs.

    Gears of War was a fun third-person shooter that lasted a few hours and was an enjoyable ride. Gears of War 2 is an amazing experience that takes you many places that you won't soon forget.

    10/10 for being an incredible game that surpasses the first in every aspect.
    Expand
  72. ZacharyTrimmer
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Gears of War 2 is an improvement over its predecessor in almost every single way. The single player is more epic and engaging, and the multiplayer has received the attention it deserves. My only complaint is that the chainsaw is too easy to re-rev if you are shot/beat trying to chainsaw someone, meaning it is easier to chainsaw in GOW2 than GOW1.
  73. L.B
    Dec 22, 2008
    6
    Quite frankly, the fanboy rating for this game is far more accurate than the critic rating.
    Gears of War 2's singleplayer is pretty much what you'd expect. It has a lot more variation than the previous game, fortunately. And it is quite fun. However, it's not amazing and it's not that much different to its prequel. And it's as short as you'd think.
    The
    Quite frankly, the fanboy rating for this game is far more accurate than the critic rating.
    Gears of War 2's singleplayer is pretty much what you'd expect. It has a lot more variation than the previous game, fortunately. And it is quite fun. However, it's not amazing and it's not that much different to its prequel. And it's as short as you'd think.
    The multiplayer is a broken disgrace. You can't start or join a game, you can't choose a game type, can't choose a map, nothing. It has none of the social aspect of Gears 1 either. It uses the godawful matchmaking system from Halo 3. Which amounts to you spending all your time in menus instead of playing boring glitchy matches.
    Please don't buy this game. I felt ripped off enough renting it.
    Expand
  74. HarryBauls
    Dec 26, 2008
    0
    At first, I thought that this game was going to be a worthy followup to a great game, and I looked forward to the story. It had me interested for a little while, but then when Marcus pissed all over that hot sexy girl in the third act of yonder I found it sort of tasteless and put the game down and never played it again.
  75. AlbertW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    GOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn'tGOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn't think this could be possible, at least the graphics are the best of all times, Halo, here's your contender number 1!!! Expand
  76. JeffreyP
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    This game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racingThis game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racing game, come on, that makes me a little upset. This game defines what a blockbuster style action and story of epic survival really mean. Big guns, huge enemies with bigger weapons, expanded environments and new takes on the bleak world of Sera, take this game to a new height of badassness. Mind you there are thing like glitches that need to work out, but don't complain the multilayer is laggy, because you're internet sucks(oldest excuse in the book of gaming by the way). The game may feel short to some, but in the long run, I know people will be working day and night to get the Seriously 2.0 Achievement. Expand
  77. LaV.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is only played by teenage bed-wetters who cannot read. Worst ever! Shame on you Microsoft!" Have you been living under a rock? How the hell do you think it's a racing game? There's a damn gun in the front of the cover and have you ever thought about looking at the back of the damn package? It gives a perfect description of what the game is about. Microsoft didn't give any false advertising at all your just an ignorant daft c**nt! Other than that I believe the game is great. Only downside is it takes ages for the game to connect online. Which I'm hoping they will fix. Expand
  78. BrandonS
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your own enjoyment. Expand
  79. ChrisEvers
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Best game ever. Graphics are amazing and executions and assassinations make this game even better. Story line is good and multiplayer is good. They even added a new thing that you can play called horde where you have didfferent levels of waves of locusts and after each one they get tougher and tougher.
  80. TS
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever made. Sure, the online can be laggy and glitchy, but its fun when its not, and the singleplayer campaign was amazing, fun, and had a better storyline for Gears 2. I also felt pretty bad for Carmine when he "SPOILERS" died "END SPOILERS". Very, very awesome game.
  81. MannyCalavera
    Jan 1, 2009
    5
    At first, we were excited about this game. It looked gorgeous, promised a compelling plot and truckload of new toys and features for players to use. We expected what anybody expects from a sequel.

    However, it quickly became apparent that the campaign was short, there were no serious additions to the gameplay and that the majority of the new content was multiplayer maps and silly
    At first, we were excited about this game. It looked gorgeous, promised a compelling plot and truckload of new toys and features for players to use. We expected what anybody expects from a sequel.

    However, it quickly became apparent that the campaign was short, there were no serious additions to the gameplay and that the majority of the new content was multiplayer maps and silly fatality-esque executions that you could peform on your enemies.
    There are a few new guns and enemies that make the game more enjoyable than the first. A new game mode called "Horde," that promises all of the graphic combat that we enjoy from storyline play but without plot or any interesting twist, added some more hours of play but ultimately wears thin.

    In a perfect world this would be an expansion pack, not a full sequel.
    Expand
  82. SeanMcB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    I like that you can be revived if you are downed but it gets pretty challenging in co op mode. since you need both knowledge and skill to complete this game on legendary mode, I really think that they took a lot of time on this game and really did a good job with Improving some mistakes from Gears of war 1, Good job guys
  83. MikeG.
    Jan 18, 2009
    5
    The single player in this game is still just as fun as the first. But when it comes to multiplayer Epic dropped the ball. They turned the shotgun damage way down, so that when you are right next to someone to can shoot them point blank and it wont kill them. This allows some people to walk around with their chainsaws out and even though they got shot they just roll right up to you and The single player in this game is still just as fun as the first. But when it comes to multiplayer Epic dropped the ball. They turned the shotgun damage way down, so that when you are right next to someone to can shoot them point blank and it wont kill them. This allows some people to walk around with their chainsaws out and even though they got shot they just roll right up to you and chainsaw you. This game is the laggiest game i have ever played and you think it would be better when it takes 5 minutes to find a match. If Epic fixes the shotgun and the lag, then this game would deserve at least a 9 out of 10. So thanks Epic for ruining your best franchise. Expand
  84. JoeG.
    Jan 24, 2009
    5
    This game should be, according to everything I read, bigger and better than the first but I found it lacking in every way that made me love the first game. Bigger yes, but better ? Well sometimes less is more as they say. I look out when I here how bad ass somthing is becuase that's kind of subjective. Steven Segall movies for example are arguably badass and so is Mr.T. and Ultimate This game should be, according to everything I read, bigger and better than the first but I found it lacking in every way that made me love the first game. Bigger yes, but better ? Well sometimes less is more as they say. I look out when I here how bad ass somthing is becuase that's kind of subjective. Steven Segall movies for example are arguably badass and so is Mr.T. and Ultimate fighting however they still don't entertain me for very long and I won't pay $60 for them . The best way to describe what is missing in Gears 2 is to describe what was there in the first game that is not here. The first game had a powerful atmosphere to it. It wasn't just the stunning graphics that made the game world come to life. You felt the plight of the last of humanity, who having treaded where man did not belong were now paying the ultimate price. The premise was that this was not earth and was set in the far future of a new mankind long settled into a new home on a new world. What had happed to mans old home world of Earth ? We are never told for sure in Gears 1 but it is suggested had he perhaps had used up most of it's resources, then destroyed it though some global war over the last remnants. The last of mankind must have had fled to the stars in desperation and finally found a new home. A few thousand years later mans civilization was once again flourishing on this lush and beautiful new world, but oh how quickly mankind forgot his past and soon he has set about doing what comes by his nature. When a powerful energy source was discovered beneath the worlds crust it was only a matter of time before mankind set to wage great and terrible wars among itself. If there was one thing man was good at it was turning the gears of war. The victors of the great emulsion wars strip mined and drilled deep into the worlds depths only to realize that this world they took for granted , claimed as their property was inhabited by others as well. These others were an ancient race born of this world, and had been living underground in symbiosis for eons before the aliens known as men ever set foot on the surface of the world. They had seen mankind wage countless wars upon itself, and knew that if man would slaughter countless thousands of it's own kind for the emulsion, what it would do when faced with someone so different as themselves. They watched as man ever oblivious, sunk his massive drills, clumsy, into the underworld. They saw the ancient caverns begin to shake, and debris rain down upon the great temples and cities of the ancestors. They knew it was only a matter of time before man spilled into their domain in force. The time to strike was now while mankind was still weakened from his massive global conflicts. They had been observing long enough to see that men would never stop, would always be a dagger at their throats. These surface dwelling aliens could barely manage to keep from destroying themselves. Their minds were so apt to delusion and their nature so prone to arrogance and aggression. Unlike the hive, mans collective memory seemed to barely span the centuries and even then was too easily prone to corruption. One day man would inevitably slay them, suck the planet dry and move on, it was simply his nature. While they were initially a peaceful race, they had for thousands of years been watching, studying mankind and this thing called war of which he was so fond. The millions of the hive, were prepared. They would strike with co-ordination and precision the likes of which men had never seen. They would show this parasite called man what a true war was, and would cure the world of him once and for all. While this was a world that had once granted mankind a second chance now it's ground shook beneath his feet with more than just the tremors of the great many drills which bore into it's heart day and night. It shook with a terrible vengeance knocking down his cities as it's guardians sprung forth from the depths like vengeful spirits. Where ever man had pierced the worlds flesh or scarred it's surface with his cities the hordes would strike. They would spill forth and swarm, as if they were white blood cells fighting an infection. These were the relentless hoard. They came and went like ghosts , and man would come to call them the Locusts. Their was the feeling the main characters were not just following orders. They were disenchanted with the powers that be and Felix had been let out of the prison only after the government had all but collapsed. A tiny hopeless resistance struggled in vain for an impossible survival. They were the last of mans solders and they were war weary, fighting now not for power, greed or control but for the right to exist. The levels were designed so that you felt immersed in a real tactical struggle, were out numbered and depleted but striving towards something (even if that something was perhaps only another day until extinction). Still you had to try till your last bullet and your last breath. Perhaps you wondered if mans only salvation lay in understanding his enemy yet they seemed incomprehensible, and without mercy. Gears of war 2 however is a pretty looking shooter where you blast mindless aliens in a variety of creative (if not disjointed and sometimes silly settings) or engage is scripted boss fights. The whole game feels flat and pointless. There are countless attempts to induce human drama that just fall flat and are cliché even for a video game. The problem with thiis is reall that It's just not that fun that it can hold your interest to the very end on the game play alone. The whole feeling of the Gears universe that lurked behind the action of first title is completely dead and it leaves you with just a shinny and ok shooter that's kind of fun until you eventually get bored and stop playing. The multilayer just wasn't that fun also. The maps are so so, and the game play here misses the mark even when people sometimes do something other then just run around triggering that one button, chainsaw instanta-kill cinematic. The mode that uses control points was one I was looking forward to. Instead of letting you capture control points however that affect the other teams spawn locations (which gives you a feeling of battling and gaining ground to defeat the other team) they just have you suck points out of them instead for as long as you can until it either runs out or you get chainsawed in the back again. The multiplayer maps are pretty small and mostly Expand
  85. RaynJ.
    Jan 30, 2009
    1
    I was a huge fan of the first Gears of War, but I gotta be honest, this game BLEW. The story was completely absurd (AHEM WORM), and the locations didn't make sense at all (AHEM WORM). The underground parts of the game were a complete drag, and the last boss was incredibly lame. The multiplayer is completely broken, like more broken than SOCOM: Confrontations was early on. The only I was a huge fan of the first Gears of War, but I gotta be honest, this game BLEW. The story was completely absurd (AHEM WORM), and the locations didn't make sense at all (AHEM WORM). The underground parts of the game were a complete drag, and the last boss was incredibly lame. The multiplayer is completely broken, like more broken than SOCOM: Confrontations was early on. The only redeeming quality of this game is the graphics, which are very impressive. Expand
  86. RaoultT.
    Jan 3, 2009
    0
    Excellent.
  87. WillThurston
    Jan 4, 2009
    7
    Not the greatest game I've ever played. But you have to look at what it is as a game, it's a first person shooter, which generally aim for good graphics, easy-to-learn controls, and fairly original weapons/characters/plot. In those categories, it does well. The story is fair, but again, it's an FPS. The graphics are very nice, as well as the sounds. I have not played theNot the greatest game I've ever played. But you have to look at what it is as a game, it's a first person shooter, which generally aim for good graphics, easy-to-learn controls, and fairly original weapons/characters/plot. In those categories, it does well. The story is fair, but again, it's an FPS. The graphics are very nice, as well as the sounds. I have not played the first GOW, so I cannot compare them. As a whole, it's a nice game if you like FPS's. Expand
  88. DevinGrant
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    The follow up to the first Killer App for the 360 is a progressive if not somewhat flawed effort. Epic addressed the repetive environments of the first game and added beautiful diverse levels that more that please the eye. The key gameplay component hasn't changed with the cover system being nearly identical to its predecessor. The only time the system is abandoned is the act thatThe follow up to the first Killer App for the 360 is a progressive if not somewhat flawed effort. Epic addressed the repetive environments of the first game and added beautiful diverse levels that more that please the eye. The key gameplay component hasn't changed with the cover system being nearly identical to its predecessor. The only time the system is abandoned is the act that takes place inside a giant worm. The level is merely a platfrom game with only one type of enemy, and one objective. It's understandable that epic wanted to switch things up, but the cover system is sorely missed after this level based soley on the fact that the gameplay from the previous level, was so simple and archaic. This doesn't however take away from the rest of the campaign that clocks in at a little over 12 hours. The action's frantic pace is continuous throughout and the bosses battles only add to a game that is filled with constant action.
    The main improvement from part one is the multiplayer. Epic builds on an already solid foundation, and then bumps it up more than few notches. The horde mode where two players battle wave after wave of locust is heart-pounding and can almost be a game in itself. This is accompanied by all the modes found in the first and a refined online modes that rival the hallowed Halo series. Ultimately Gears of War 2 is an more than adequate improvement over the first with some gameplay flaws keeping it from a perfect score. If Epic stays on the right track, Gears of War 3 could be one of the games that defines the current generation of videogames
    Expand
  89. JonP.
    Feb 15, 2009
    0
    Most of the story is ok, although the ending of the story is completely unsatisfying. As for multiplayer... Uhh, how to describe it... Its laggy, Ill spawn with no weapon, it takes about 3.5 hours to get in a game, it has a ranking system with only 5 ranks, and they dont really matter, all people do is mash the B-button to get like 10 kills per game, and when I get smoke gernaded down Most of the story is ok, although the ending of the story is completely unsatisfying. As for multiplayer... Uhh, how to describe it... Its laggy, Ill spawn with no weapon, it takes about 3.5 hours to get in a game, it has a ranking system with only 5 ranks, and they dont really matter, all people do is mash the B-button to get like 10 kills per game, and when I get smoke gernaded down stairs I cant get up for about 45 seconds. I went from a rank level 1 to a rank level 3 in three games, and since then Ive played hundreds of matches, and I do the best in the game (or AT LEAST on my team), and I still dont get ranked up. Also, I get in a game with 4 level 1s, and go up against like 5 level 3s or 4s every time!! What a failure of one of my most anticipated games of my life!! Go on youtube, and search: "Pissin me off- gears of war". Expand
  90. NajamU.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS! I've always been a gears of war fan and this game didn't disappoint me.There was a dramatic change in graphics which brightened up the game.Despite having the same combat techniques as the first one this game is really fun playing.To be really honest with you the story-line was great but the boss was absurd.The multiplayer battles are OFF THE HOOK.So grab some THIS GAME ROCKS! I've always been a gears of war fan and this game didn't disappoint me.There was a dramatic change in graphics which brightened up the game.Despite having the same combat techniques as the first one this game is really fun playing.To be really honest with you the story-line was great but the boss was absurd.The multiplayer battles are OFF THE HOOK.So grab some bucks,break your piggy-banks(its strange why do they call it like this my brother told me)or steal some money.Somehow break into a store and get it as quick as possible and buy it.believe me I don't lie guys. Expand
  91. GRRRandmasterBallzack
    Feb 5, 2009
    0
    this game is rubbish, i still haven't completed it, only game i own that i can say that about, teh multiplayer is rubbish too like its all teh peoplez r like ZOMG chainsaws FTW FTW FTW, unbalanced, aiming doesn't feel natural like an FPS and OMG WTF i could of sworn for a minute there i was inside a giant worm....i couldn't have been because that would bethis game is rubbish, i still haven't completed it, only game i own that i can say that about, teh multiplayer is rubbish too like its all teh peoplez r like ZOMG chainsaws FTW FTW FTW, unbalanced, aiming doesn't feel natural like an FPS and OMG WTF i could of sworn for a minute there i was inside a giant worm....i couldn't have been because that would be stupid...........sell ur Xbox Xbots and just admit killzone 2 is best on a superior system, i gna sell my xbox cos teh red rings suck like gears2, ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOmggggggGG Expand
  92. SeanH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    This game had absolutely everything that I was looking for. It was backed by an excellent story, it had some of the most graphic violence that I've seen in a game, and it has an amazing multiplayer. I would recommend this game to any of my friends, enemies not so much though since I don't want them having fun.
  93. EanD
    Mar 16, 2009
    6
    This game was a huge disappointment. I preorder this game I was so hyped for it. The game starts out with a movie, which was really good, so far so good. BUT, then after the first movie, it goes to the next cutscene! The cutscene starts and the camera gets ran over! Litterally crushed by a wheel! As soon as I saw this I knew the game was going to suck. Film 101: Do NOT have jump shots! This game was a huge disappointment. I preorder this game I was so hyped for it. The game starts out with a movie, which was really good, so far so good. BUT, then after the first movie, it goes to the next cutscene! The cutscene starts and the camera gets ran over! Litterally crushed by a wheel! As soon as I saw this I knew the game was going to suck. Film 101: Do NOT have jump shots! Anyway I started playing, and was unimpressed by the pixellated graphics. I set the difficulty to the highest possible but did not really feel engaged. Well after a while the graphics started getting better, and I started to feel immersed in the story. Next thing ya know, I'm actually ENJOYING the game. Yeah, the final battle with Skorge was really weak, but ya know, it was ok. Then I get in a brumak. It was extremely easy, my health barely even got damaged. So I get in a helicopter and kill the brumak. All of the sudden the game ends. I felt like I was stabbed. How could the game possibly end? That level was so damn easy it was even easier than the first level? Couldn't be...but it was. On top of that the ending sucked. So I play multiplayer. That sucks too. You run slower than campaign, there are more glitches than the first, and your weapon damage is inconsistent as hell. Sometimes you cant kill someone shooting them point blank with the shotgun 4 times. And someone cheats every game. Sometimes the host lags out the game so you can't shoot anybody, but the host can kill you before you even spawn since its soo laggy. Overall this game was a huge dissapointment. The story was made by a so called "proffesional" but I wish they never hired him. There were "soft bodied physics" nowhere to be found in the game, and the water was exactly the same as gears 1, ALL LIES. The destructable environments only worked on preset objects, just certain corners of certain walls you can only destroy about 2 inches deep. The multiplayer AI is awful, it is very unresponsive and artificial, even for today's standards. The Brumak fights were anti-climatic, since you only fought them when you had super weapons, so there was no challenge to them. Their was gonna be new technology so you could have thousands of locusts on screen. It was there, but you had a super weapon so you might as well have just had one locust on screen. There was no challenge there.This game had a lot of hype and did not fulfill any of it. The only people who like this game are the ones who hated Gears 1. Expand
  94. angryperson
    Mar 2, 2009
    3
    Wow, 93? this game deserves to be in low to mid 80s! god this just goes to show that most gaming critics these days are xbox humpers, killzone 2 is 10 times better than this piece of crap sequal. but yet kz2 only got a 91, hm i bet if killzone was on the xbox it would have gotten a 95 or more.
  95. TB
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. There were a lot of little flaws (not enough weapons and you can only hold two at a time, tank level, graphics werent nearly as mind blowing as 1, super easy final boss while some of the other bosses took too long to beat, D pad on 360 sucks, weapon system could be a lot cooler, cover system is the best one ever but it still sometimes Easily one of the best games I've ever played. There were a lot of little flaws (not enough weapons and you can only hold two at a time, tank level, graphics werent nearly as mind blowing as 1, super easy final boss while some of the other bosses took too long to beat, D pad on 360 sucks, weapon system could be a lot cooler, cover system is the best one ever but it still sometimes frustrates, confusing (but cool) story, running, often too dark to enjoy the beautiful art direction, the slow speed he walks, the way the camera moves slower when you zoom in, etc). But this game is so easy to pick up and play with easy to learn controls, its gameplay is so much fun , and its full of so many amazing moments and amazing set pieces and cool enemies, that it more than makes up for all the negatives. Also, having the option of playing MP with bots is great for all those who dont have the internet. The additions of meat shield, curb stomping in single player, better cut scenes that tell a cooler story, expanded MP, and no real lulls in the gameplay are the real improvement over Gears 1. Expand
  96. PatrickM
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever online or offline. There is so much to do on gears for example co-op campains, hordes, several multiplayer game mode like, warzone, execution, gaurdian, annex, wingman and more. And finally anyone who critisises this game don't no what there talking about. GEARS OF WAR FOR THE WIN!!!
  97. KevinAndersen
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game is action packed, has great graphics, gameplay, and multiplayer. This is simply the best overall game I have ever played. Gears of War 2 is a lot like a summer action movie blockbuster, it keeps you on the edge of your seat, and saying a lot of holy !@#@@.
  98. JustinE.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    I played this game at my friend's house and beat the campaign on hardcore in one sitting... but it was a really well done campaign. The only parts that didn't seem to be like Gears of War (and are usually found in crappy games that try to "mix things up") were the vehicles. Really the only one that was truly unnecessary and annoying was the Centaur, but the others were all I played this game at my friend's house and beat the campaign on hardcore in one sitting... but it was a really well done campaign. The only parts that didn't seem to be like Gears of War (and are usually found in crappy games that try to "mix things up") were the vehicles. Really the only one that was truly unnecessary and annoying was the Centaur, but the others were all right. Horde mode is incredibly addictive, and chainsawing NEVER gets old. Haven't played matchmaking, but I've heard it is rather disappointing. Overall, this game is really really good. Expand
  99. beavisbutt
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    i have to say that everythings been improved upon in the sequel better graphics, gameplay, and story make for a great followup new enemies and weapons to dispatch them are greatly implemented and a.i has been tweaked making this a more satisfying and less frustrating experience then the original so far gets my vote for game of the year well done Cliffy and co...
  100. ToddB.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    When I hear same as the original with minor changes, I get skeptical. Yet, with GoW2, it is the same as the original, with the minor tweaks that make the game a measurably better experience. From the new game modes in the competitive multiplayer to the additional head count in the co-op, everything they changed was for the better and the stuff they left the same did not need any changes. When I hear same as the original with minor changes, I get skeptical. Yet, with GoW2, it is the same as the original, with the minor tweaks that make the game a measurably better experience. From the new game modes in the competitive multiplayer to the additional head count in the co-op, everything they changed was for the better and the stuff they left the same did not need any changes. The story became shallower and the ending left a lot to be desired, but expected, since the game has been touted as a trilogy. A better wrap to this campaign and a 10 would have been a no brainer. Aside from the shortfall in the story, the game is engrossing and every bit as fun as the first one, if not more. A must buy for any fan of shooters; you will definitely enjoy this one. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    90
    We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.