Gears of War 2 Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2675 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. chrisv
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    this game is quality. had to write in cos some of these user comments are totally way of the mark. ive played GOW and GOW2 twice right through both r great games but GOW2 takes it to the next level. its one of the best sequels out there. its a keeper as they say!
  2. takedat
    May 2, 2009
    9
    The campaign is much better than Gears 1. The levels are more thought out and make you feel like you are actually in the environment. I would have gave it a 10 if the online play interface was better. Also, it would have been better to have a actual boss fight. Maybe in the next game. Overall, great game ... no doubt.
  3. DanielT.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your hard earn money with tons of replay value. Well worth the wait and hype. Expand
  4. JodyC
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and better in every way...and for the most part it delivers. First, anyone expecting a big graphics upgrade will be dissapointed and while it does look a bit better than Gears 1 (which already looks incredible), the quality and scale / size feels the same even though they do a good job of tricking you into believing its a MUCH BIGGER, MUCH BETTER LOOKING game. Sound and Music are top-notch...the soundtrack is calm / tense depending on the situation and that creates a certain atmoshperic element to the game but the voice acting is a bit weaker this time around...its a little over-dramatic and eye-rolling at times (mostly the from Dom...Marcus's friend). The gameplay is basically the same with a few added moves and animations to make things appear more "fresh", but fans of Gears 1 will have no problems adapting its still a great "pick up and play" type game. Overall, Gears 2 is a step in the right direction...it is BIGGER, BETTER, and MORE BADASS than the original even if the "BIGGER" aspect feels more like an illusion...it still feels the same "size" as Gears 1 just busier things going on in the background. Anyway, the expanded story alone is what makes this game irresistable....as it was the ONLY thing missing from the first game...this Gears of War feels SO much more COMPLETE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Expand
  5. JohnF.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and artistic games ever developed! Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    Overall it's a fun game. It has good graphics and the two player campaign it great even though it is a short. I cannot see how some people are giving this game a 0. It has its problems but all games do. Even though the multiplayer deathmatch mode is lacking it makes up for it in the story mode. I had fun playing it, and I think it is a good game.
  7. Alec
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game modes is frustrating, and weapon imbalances are annoying. if i want to play the submission game type, why do i have to join a queue for "territories" and hope that it is voted for by the other players over annex or king of the hill? that method of finding games may make sense for halo 3 because it has so many game types, but i really think that epic should have gone the route of COD matchmaking, including the ability for new players to drop in/drop out of games. god knows there are enough people playing this game for this to work. luckily this game has horde mode to keep me coming back, but who knows for how long. cod 5 comes out soon, with its zombie coop mode, and not long after is left 4 dead. Expand
  8. GrahamM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!! it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED
    FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!!

    it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out if you'd like
    Expand
  9. StephenM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An excellent game in my opinion- playing through the campaign on Hardcore and couldn't be more pleased with the cooperative experience. The multiplayer is absolutely perfect, pretty much fixing every problem the first Gears had, and then some. Definitely worth the money.
  10. JohnC.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Visuals are great, as you would expect, but not an impressive change. But the enhancements can still be noticed. Multi-player maps seem more refined, with better layouts that really cater to the 5v5. Execution, I think, is still the best mode.
  11. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. TheI was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. The Combat, basically being the same feels more refined, more effort put into. I still say that the game wouldnt be fun by comparison to co-op then just by yourself. I noticed the sound has improved alot aswell. I do recommend this game. But I wouldnt recommend playing it alone, there geniouenly is not much fun in that. Expand
  12. AlexS.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Okay in Gears 2 i like them both i dont mind it and unlike gears 1 you got to set up your team or youd join a match and miss half your team because they went to Cog but not in Gears 2 the only slightly annoying thing in Gears 2 is the chainsaw.. but once you get good with the shotgun and know how to roll aorund a lil bit more the worries are gone you may still get hit by it but not nearly as much. Oh and peoplle say the Shotgun in gears 2 is crap. NO its not this just requires more skill to use instead of blindfire in front of you and you win its a lot better and i like what they did with it they made it more like a real shotgun instead of a Jesus shotgun that 1 hit kills everyhting. Id say the only bad thing about Gears 2 is that 90% of Shotgunners get there kills from nothing but 2 piecing and all i got to say to that is NO your not good for doing it. For example my friend Kilin 2-pieces all day he gets me sometimes but 80% of the time i blast him before he can get to me and he always loses to me when he doesnt 2-piece its not using the shotgun really your just pressing B + RT and then you move on no you suck for doing it. And Meleeing in this 1 is a little different some weapons melee a lot harder then others and some barely hit you at all at first i was confused a lot because id get 1 hitted when i only have 1 pistol shot damage on but once you learn that you dont get mad as much. Oh and moving around in this game is awesome it saves lives and its funny to get downed by someone and crawl away from them and they search forever and cant find you then you just come up and blast them. Oh and the last thing i cant stress enough about gears 2 DONT PLAY WITH YOUR KILLS!!! Ive had my whole team die and it was just me vs 3 people they downed me and let me get back up (with the intention of donwing me again) and when i got up i rolled away dodged there bullets and 1 of them was still on me i had the torque out charged it for like 2 seconds turned around and blasted him with it and then the other 2 came at me with shotguns luckily there noobs and try to 2 piece and just got raped because i move and blast you once you melee. Expand
  13. DesO
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by the fact that you can host a game with a few friends and fill the remaining slots with bots, or you can try to hold out against wave after wave of locust in horde mode. The graphics are a more refined than the first gears and thus significantly better. Overall a pretty solid package and well worth it's weight in gold. Expand
  14. Sablicious...
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first game is mean as. Great game! Collapse
  15. Matt
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way real war is done. Expand
  16. MaverickP
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a true fps game this is it....need i say more..buy it get it enjoy it !!!! -Maverick user since 1998 Expand
  17. HenryL.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is frieken awesome, the graphics are flawless, the action is incredible, its everything and more than the first one was, and if you played the first one then you know how amazing it was.
  18. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been last time round. 5 players a side, loads of maps, respawns (in some games) and the co-operative horde mode - which shoud slate your thirst for intense combat, if the campaign has failed to do so. Also HORDE is about the most HORDE fun I've had HORDE on xbox HORDE live, and if you've HORDE never fancied joining this HORDE service this could be HORDE the game that HORDE changes your HORDE mind. LOad up some HORDE bots and give it a go HORDE you'll be x-box living it HORDE before you know it. You may have guessed i quite like HORDE. Expand
  19. JamesM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a bit of a let down but not as much as some people make out. yes the shotgun has changed etc.. and it's not gears1, if it was, that would be a bad evolution of the game. Why not just play gears1 if you want to own with the shotgun? This is a new game and new rules. get revving and let the blood flow through those metal teeth! anyone for toast? Expand
  20. GavinB.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Excellent. Simply put, one of the most amazing 'balls to the wall' action game. There were so many sphincter tightening moments in this game, it's hard to believe it actually surpasses the original in terms of wow factor. Highest of recommendations.
  21. SteveR.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a masterstroke; at last, you can game with your mates without running the risk of pre-pubescent morons shouting, swearing singing or screaming in the background. Excellent and highly recommended to anyone who likes shooters. Expand
  22. ValC.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Gears of war 2 completely captures the brilliance of the first game and actually moves it forward. With its new ideas and provocative levels, GOW2 is destined to become one of the greatest games xbox has seen in a long, long, time.
  23. JimmyP
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  24. MikeyW.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Awesomeness. This game is pretty good. The boss battles are not as epic, but there's more stuff to it, like a longer vehicle sequence, a wide range of new weapons and enemies to kill and much more insight into the story. The only thing missing are epic boss battles and the hammer of dawn.
  25. Wayloski
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well done. Very strategic with the inclusion of using grenades as proxy mines. Not to mention you can set up shields in the ground to make yourself a nice little fort to hold down. Horde mode has to be one of the best coop experiences in recent memory. You really have to work together to survive, especially after round 10. Single player is a very engaging experience. I thought the story in Gears 1 was great. Short, simple, and to the point, so I was really blown away by this game. Cliffy B and the gang did an awesome job fleshing out the overall story. Almost shed a tear for one of the characters at one point! :( There is also a variety of gameplay in the single player besides the old "shoot anything that moves" mentality. The game also gives you a good challenge on just hte Hardcore setting, can't wait to start it again on Insane! Boss battles are very well done and a welcome addition to the Gears games. Games the perfect package of single and multiplayer. Definate 10/10. What are you waiting for, run out and buy it! See you online COGs! Expand
  26. CalebL
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 takes what was great in the first and adds a plethora of content and gameplay modes that will more than satisfy any fan of Gears 1. And Graham M, try hitting the "back" button. It lets you skip the cutscenes as well as the headset communications.
  27. BrendanS
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Really like the first; they didn't reinvent the wheel here; just made it shinier and a bit more solid. Matchmaking is broken at the moment and the communities' collective fingers are crossed for a quick fix soon. Otherwise, a visceral, cinematic experience that is truly impressive to behold.
  28. DemothH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other times I will unload 3 shotgun shells into someone, point blank, then melee them and then I get chainsawed. I've also been on the receiving end of BS when someone sits in my face for 3 seconds with a chainsaw and then I roll away and down them in one non-active reload shot with the shotgun. I've even been hin the legs with a boomshot and lived.... wtf? BS goes both ways sometimes, and when the game decides to have inconsistent weapons then the game becomes no fun. The matchmaking can also be spotty, sometimes taking 10 minutes to find a game, and other times assigning you to a game where everyone is experiencing crippling lag. When the game does decide to work, however, the game is second to none. I just wish the game actually was consistent. Expand
  29. JohnS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually serve a purpose - they advance the plot of the story. DIfferent weapons, enemies and modes of transport made for a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  30. YouDamnFanboys
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case its at least 15 hours), and an unrivaled online system (which includes about 10 different types of battles), and another co-op mode called Horde, this game screams replay value. It's not perfect (I can't give it a 9.8 like I want to), but this is definatly a runner for GOTY, and a definite must have for anyone older then 18. P.S. The truth, you gave this game a 0 because you thought it was a racing game? Wow your not biased. Expand
  31. MackA.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but it's not a big problem. The story has been expanded from the first game including a side story for the search for Maria Santiago (Dom's Wife). Overall, this is the best game i've ever played, and is an extremely high recommendation for all Tactical Shooter fans!! Expand
  32. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    its amazing how many idiots were thinking that this game would be a clone of gears, it adds weapons enemies a more in depth story but its mostly an action game, anyone who is crying about the story sucking doesn't know what kind of game this is and dserves to be taken off of life support should they ever fall into a catatonic state.
  33. TristanH
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best Games i played ever, no matter on console or on the pc. The atmosphere is amazing, the controls are easy as pie and the gameplay is diversified. Also the Characters, even if they are clichéd, couldn't be any cooler or funnier. I can recommend this game warmly to everyone who has a Box and is of course OLD ENOUGH. (thats definitely not a game for kids)
  34. ErucG
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Went to eat with my wife and took a chance to see if blockbuster had any copies on a Friday night at 7:00pm on release date, One copy left. Amazing! After about 1 hour of playing, you can sense a better plot and depth than GOW. To me, that was all that GOW lacked, now it is complete.
  35. RogerR.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    For me, i have to rate this game a 1. i'm halfway through the campaign and just barely scratched the surface of multiplayer,including horde which is incedible,and i couldn't be more impressed. It's done everything to the highest caliber. way to go epic on this beautiful game.
  36. CoryG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to it's fullest. Expand
  37. Christopher
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Not only has the game drastically improved upon the first, whether it be storyline, cutscenes, or matchmaking. It also keeps what was great in Gears of War 1 still around. A must have for any Gears of War fan, and at least a rental for the fan of action packed shooters.
  38. MatteoN.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An invasion of Sony fanboys won't make the game any worse. It's a MASTERPIECE. Better graphics, better gameplay, more weapons, more enemies, bigger enviroments, better multiplayer, better story, longer campaign. It absolutely R-O-C-K-S!
  39. NickP.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I wasn't keen on is gone, and everything that I wanted to be better is there. Who can ask for anything more? Expand
  40. AndrewB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system and the new party system, a la Halo, for multiplayer matches. If you own and XBOX 360, you should own Gears 2. Expand
  41. BrandonM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of the action will distract you everything that was wrong with the award winnig first gears has been improved graphics are stronger ai is deadlier and with all the new game modes this is easily a 100+ hour video games GET IT Expand
  42. Mike
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced and bombastic with not much substance. I struggled to feel "part" of the world, with the text messages, cutscenes, and control hints constantly popping up. Feels like its for a 12 yr old. All that being said, MP is better than in Gears 1, with more options and a better party system. Still has some of the glitchiness present in Gears 1, with wall sticking and the cover system, but I suppose that can be overlooked. Still, its unreal this is getting rated 100 by so-called legit game mags and websites. Wake up people. Expand
  43. KieranM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be had with mates and Horde is another stunning co-op inventive feature. A superb game, any fans of shooters, good MP games or gore should get this. Expand
  44. PatrickR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect 10. The easy and accesable match searching from the first has been replaced by the tedious, frustrating and often time consuming matchmaking that annoyed me about halo 3. In order to play you can either A. Host a match in which the only people who can join are on your friends list. B. enter matchmaking in which you have to wait until you get added to a party of other frustrated gamers waiting to play. once you get a party you must then wait until your party finds another party of players who have chosen the same 2-6 possible games types (i guess to speed up the process you can no longer search for one single mode, which again,is frustrating.) All that being said, Horde is an amazing addition to the Mp and should be the standout mode for this game. Gears 2 is everything you wanted it to be, and aside from some match making issues (which im sure will be addressed eventually) is every bit as intense as the first if not more so. Expand
  45. JackR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for the PS3 will also be great games and comparing them to GoW2 is merely a matter of preference (or matter what ever console you happen to own). I don't hear many people comparing movies with such "enthusiasm" as games, but personally I don't make that big a difference between the two mediums. Expand
  46. mg
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo campaign. But I have to give the award for multiplayer to Resistance. It's just more fulfilling, not a lot of waiting around. Gears is still definitely a great game, though. Expand
  47. JoseR.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Ok so gears of war 2 improves many "complains" that people had with gears 1, and this time around they have a story, a great multiplayer, amd the graphics are amazing, the only complain i have is that now the shotgun is kind of crappy thanks to the stopping power, but is a grat game so go ahead and try it.
  48. JoeLoccius
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I love the enviroments and how each different act always has at least 15 epic moments were you are just like "wow this sure does own resistance 2". Anyway the whole game is unbeilevably epic and it is definatly bigger, better, and more badass then resistance 2....(espcailly Cole Train's lines).
  49. DillW.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving segments which are more fun than the Junker by a long shot. The enviroments are nicley colored and the dispay of tens of villans on one screen is great. However, there are still some errors with the game itself. The voice acting could use a little work and a couple of texture glitches occur here and there. This game has "Game of the Year" written all over it. Expand
  50. DAVIDGIBBONS
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    i THINK THIS IS STILL AN AMAZING GAME AND FOR NEWCOMERS IS JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN THE FIRST. BUT IF YOU HAVE PLAYED THE FIRST AND HAVE JUST BOUGHT THE SECOND THEN YOU MAY FIND IT A BIT BORING IN SOME WAYS BECAUSE IT IS VERY MUCH THE SAME
  51. KyleOcocker
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game has impressive graphics, gameplay, story, funny lines said by Cole Train, awesome horde mode, and multiplayer +bots!

    This game is really awe-maz-ing and beats resistance 2 by far.... When i am playing the chicago co-op level online for resistance 2 it looks like a gamecube game....unlike gears 2 which is just basically jack off material...
  52. BenM.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Non-stop feeling of being in a war plowing a troika through 50+ locusts is just amazing .. multiplayer movement is alot smoother - no more hoover vacuums in walls . Needs locale settings or ping indicator for public games in multiplayer ... lag can become terrible at times.
  53. JamesB
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing online with my friend and it is simply a joy to behold. A beautiful beautiful game which deserves to be played. Well done Epic I hope it brings you the success it deserves. Absolutely brilliant. Expand
  54. JasonEdwards
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the first, offering a longer game, more weapons, new and exciting level-specific mechanics (razor-hail, tunneling worms, boat battles, etc) as well as incredibly unique, well detailed and definitely rememberable level designs.

    Gears of War was a fun third-person shooter that lasted a few hours and was an enjoyable ride. Gears of War 2 is an amazing experience that takes you many places that you won't soon forget.

    10/10 for being an incredible game that surpasses the first in every aspect.
    Expand
  55. ZacharyTrimmer
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Gears of War 2 is an improvement over its predecessor in almost every single way. The single player is more epic and engaging, and the multiplayer has received the attention it deserves. My only complaint is that the chainsaw is too easy to re-rev if you are shot/beat trying to chainsaw someone, meaning it is easier to chainsaw in GOW2 than GOW1.
  56. AlbertW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    GOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn'tGOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn't think this could be possible, at least the graphics are the best of all times, Halo, here's your contender number 1!!! Expand
  57. JeffreyP
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    This game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racingThis game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racing game, come on, that makes me a little upset. This game defines what a blockbuster style action and story of epic survival really mean. Big guns, huge enemies with bigger weapons, expanded environments and new takes on the bleak world of Sera, take this game to a new height of badassness. Mind you there are thing like glitches that need to work out, but don't complain the multilayer is laggy, because you're internet sucks(oldest excuse in the book of gaming by the way). The game may feel short to some, but in the long run, I know people will be working day and night to get the Seriously 2.0 Achievement. Expand
  58. LaV.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is only played by teenage bed-wetters who cannot read. Worst ever! Shame on you Microsoft!" Have you been living under a rock? How the hell do you think it's a racing game? There's a damn gun in the front of the cover and have you ever thought about looking at the back of the damn package? It gives a perfect description of what the game is about. Microsoft didn't give any false advertising at all your just an ignorant daft c**nt! Other than that I believe the game is great. Only downside is it takes ages for the game to connect online. Which I'm hoping they will fix. Expand
  59. BrandonS
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your own enjoyment. Expand
  60. ChrisEvers
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Best game ever. Graphics are amazing and executions and assassinations make this game even better. Story line is good and multiplayer is good. They even added a new thing that you can play called horde where you have didfferent levels of waves of locusts and after each one they get tougher and tougher.
  61. TS
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever made. Sure, the online can be laggy and glitchy, but its fun when its not, and the singleplayer campaign was amazing, fun, and had a better storyline for Gears 2. I also felt pretty bad for Carmine when he "SPOILERS" died "END SPOILERS". Very, very awesome game.
  62. ChrisC
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Gears of War 2 is an amazing game, that improves a lot of stuff from the original Gears of War & adds some new stuff too! And all of the people who have been giving it low ratings are a bunch of Halo addicts, that fail to realize that Gears of War 2 really is an amazing game! Not all shooters have to be about charging enemies & shooting wildly! I mean Gears of War 2 is a lot more Gears of War 2 is an amazing game, that improves a lot of stuff from the original Gears of War & adds some new stuff too! And all of the people who have been giving it low ratings are a bunch of Halo addicts, that fail to realize that Gears of War 2 really is an amazing game! Not all shooters have to be about charging enemies & shooting wildly! I mean Gears of War 2 is a lot more realistic than most shooters! And is one of the best shooters that I have ever played! Expand
  63. SeanMcB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    I like that you can be revived if you are downed but it gets pretty challenging in co op mode. since you need both knowledge and skill to complete this game on legendary mode, I really think that they took a lot of time on this game and really did a good job with Improving some mistakes from Gears of war 1, Good job guys
  64. DevinGrant
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    The follow up to the first Killer App for the 360 is a progressive if not somewhat flawed effort. Epic addressed the repetive environments of the first game and added beautiful diverse levels that more that please the eye. The key gameplay component hasn't changed with the cover system being nearly identical to its predecessor. The only time the system is abandoned is the act thatThe follow up to the first Killer App for the 360 is a progressive if not somewhat flawed effort. Epic addressed the repetive environments of the first game and added beautiful diverse levels that more that please the eye. The key gameplay component hasn't changed with the cover system being nearly identical to its predecessor. The only time the system is abandoned is the act that takes place inside a giant worm. The level is merely a platfrom game with only one type of enemy, and one objective. It's understandable that epic wanted to switch things up, but the cover system is sorely missed after this level based soley on the fact that the gameplay from the previous level, was so simple and archaic. This doesn't however take away from the rest of the campaign that clocks in at a little over 12 hours. The action's frantic pace is continuous throughout and the bosses battles only add to a game that is filled with constant action.
    The main improvement from part one is the multiplayer. Epic builds on an already solid foundation, and then bumps it up more than few notches. The horde mode where two players battle wave after wave of locust is heart-pounding and can almost be a game in itself. This is accompanied by all the modes found in the first and a refined online modes that rival the hallowed Halo series. Ultimately Gears of War 2 is an more than adequate improvement over the first with some gameplay flaws keeping it from a perfect score. If Epic stays on the right track, Gears of War 3 could be one of the games that defines the current generation of videogames
    Expand
  65. NajamU.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS! I've always been a gears of war fan and this game didn't disappoint me.There was a dramatic change in graphics which brightened up the game.Despite having the same combat techniques as the first one this game is really fun playing.To be really honest with you the story-line was great but the boss was absurd.The multiplayer battles are OFF THE HOOK.So grab some THIS GAME ROCKS! I've always been a gears of war fan and this game didn't disappoint me.There was a dramatic change in graphics which brightened up the game.Despite having the same combat techniques as the first one this game is really fun playing.To be really honest with you the story-line was great but the boss was absurd.The multiplayer battles are OFF THE HOOK.So grab some bucks,break your piggy-banks(its strange why do they call it like this my brother told me)or steal some money.Somehow break into a store and get it as quick as possible and buy it.believe me I don't lie guys. Expand
  66. SeanH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    This game had absolutely everything that I was looking for. It was backed by an excellent story, it had some of the most graphic violence that I've seen in a game, and it has an amazing multiplayer. I would recommend this game to any of my friends, enemies not so much though since I don't want them having fun.
  67. TB
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. There were a lot of little flaws (not enough weapons and you can only hold two at a time, tank level, graphics werent nearly as mind blowing as 1, super easy final boss while some of the other bosses took too long to beat, D pad on 360 sucks, weapon system could be a lot cooler, cover system is the best one ever but it still sometimes Easily one of the best games I've ever played. There were a lot of little flaws (not enough weapons and you can only hold two at a time, tank level, graphics werent nearly as mind blowing as 1, super easy final boss while some of the other bosses took too long to beat, D pad on 360 sucks, weapon system could be a lot cooler, cover system is the best one ever but it still sometimes frustrates, confusing (but cool) story, running, often too dark to enjoy the beautiful art direction, the slow speed he walks, the way the camera moves slower when you zoom in, etc). But this game is so easy to pick up and play with easy to learn controls, its gameplay is so much fun , and its full of so many amazing moments and amazing set pieces and cool enemies, that it more than makes up for all the negatives. Also, having the option of playing MP with bots is great for all those who dont have the internet. The additions of meat shield, curb stomping in single player, better cut scenes that tell a cooler story, expanded MP, and no real lulls in the gameplay are the real improvement over Gears 1. Expand
  68. PatrickM
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever online or offline. There is so much to do on gears for example co-op campains, hordes, several multiplayer game mode like, warzone, execution, gaurdian, annex, wingman and more. And finally anyone who critisises this game don't no what there talking about. GEARS OF WAR FOR THE WIN!!!
  69. AdamW
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Not the best game ever but still one of the best cover shooters around. The storyline was a little disappointing with the extremely easy end boss but the inclusion of 5 of the original Gears of War maps makes up for that.
  70. CodyB
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Well sure there seems to be some issues with the online play to this game, however, it is something that can be fixed. The graphics, and unique gameplay and tactical team work needed is amazing and unlike any other. A great game and shows remarkable potential for what is to come for the rumored Gears of War 3.
  71. MichaelK
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Why all the bad reviews this is a solid game and even though I live in an area with terrible connection speeds I hardly suffer any lag yes there where issues when the game was released but these issues are all cleared now the only possible compaint anyone could have about the online is the amount of hardcore players who will own all newcomers untill they adjust to the way this game works Why all the bad reviews this is a solid game and even though I live in an area with terrible connection speeds I hardly suffer any lag yes there where issues when the game was released but these issues are all cleared now the only possible compaint anyone could have about the online is the amount of hardcore players who will own all newcomers untill they adjust to the way this game works because it is truly unlike any other game out there Expand
  72. KevinAndersen
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game is action packed, has great graphics, gameplay, and multiplayer. This is simply the best overall game I have ever played. Gears of War 2 is a lot like a summer action movie blockbuster, it keeps you on the edge of your seat, and saying a lot of holy !@#@@.
  73. JustinE.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    I played this game at my friend's house and beat the campaign on hardcore in one sitting... but it was a really well done campaign. The only parts that didn't seem to be like Gears of War (and are usually found in crappy games that try to "mix things up") were the vehicles. Really the only one that was truly unnecessary and annoying was the Centaur, but the others were all I played this game at my friend's house and beat the campaign on hardcore in one sitting... but it was a really well done campaign. The only parts that didn't seem to be like Gears of War (and are usually found in crappy games that try to "mix things up") were the vehicles. Really the only one that was truly unnecessary and annoying was the Centaur, but the others were all right. Horde mode is incredibly addictive, and chainsawing NEVER gets old. Haven't played matchmaking, but I've heard it is rather disappointing. Overall, this game is really really good. Expand
  74. beavisbutt
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    i have to say that everythings been improved upon in the sequel better graphics, gameplay, and story make for a great followup new enemies and weapons to dispatch them are greatly implemented and a.i has been tweaked making this a more satisfying and less frustrating experience then the original so far gets my vote for game of the year well done Cliffy and co...
  75. ToddB.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    When I hear same as the original with minor changes, I get skeptical. Yet, with GoW2, it is the same as the original, with the minor tweaks that make the game a measurably better experience. From the new game modes in the competitive multiplayer to the additional head count in the co-op, everything they changed was for the better and the stuff they left the same did not need any changes. When I hear same as the original with minor changes, I get skeptical. Yet, with GoW2, it is the same as the original, with the minor tweaks that make the game a measurably better experience. From the new game modes in the competitive multiplayer to the additional head count in the co-op, everything they changed was for the better and the stuff they left the same did not need any changes. The story became shallower and the ending left a lot to be desired, but expected, since the game has been touted as a trilogy. A better wrap to this campaign and a 10 would have been a no brainer. Aside from the shortfall in the story, the game is engrossing and every bit as fun as the first one, if not more. A must buy for any fan of shooters; you will definitely enjoy this one. Expand
  76. RickR.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    This game is superior to the original with better story, emotion, design and environments. The only slights are the difficulty is easier and the single-player is short. Horde is a lot of fun (but empty your bladder first) and the remaining multiplayer modes are fun and-so far-unspoiled by glitches and modded controllers.
  77. AnonymousMC
    Nov 12, 2008
    9
    That 9 is based only on the campaign.
    It's hard to give any game a 10 but I did consider it for a bit. My online experience is limited for now, so I'll only talk about the story. Amazing.
    Don't quite understand why so many folks are bashing this game. I found it absolutly fantastic and would recomend it to anyone. Plenty of fun, great story, great new characters and
    That 9 is based only on the campaign.
    It's hard to give any game a 10 but I did consider it for a bit. My online experience is limited for now, so I'll only talk about the story. Amazing.
    Don't quite understand why so many folks are bashing this game. I found it absolutly fantastic and would recomend it to anyone. Plenty of fun, great story, great new characters and weapons.
    Get your favorite bag of chips, a jug of soda/juice or whatever your poison is, log on w/ your favorite pal and have at it. Totally enjoyable.
    Don't waste any time thinking about it- just play it and smile.
    By the way- the limited edition Bonus DVD pretty much blows. Nothing very interesting on it. The HALO3 bonus DVD had plenty of good info- this one, nope. Boreing.
    Expand
  78. MarmaT
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    GoW2 keeps the gameplay we know and love from GoW1, yet spices things up with new weapons & features that encourage the use of new tactics. The cutscenes are more in depth, and the characters are developed more. This is also a big plus for me, i was disappointed in how light GoW1 was on the story & character development - most of it was inferred. Also, the combat feels, in a lot of GoW2 keeps the gameplay we know and love from GoW1, yet spices things up with new weapons & features that encourage the use of new tactics. The cutscenes are more in depth, and the characters are developed more. This is also a big plus for me, i was disappointed in how light GoW1 was on the story & character development - most of it was inferred. Also, the combat feels, in a lot of places, more EPIC. There are situations where you're fighting alongside the rest of delta squad you know & love (baird, cole, dom) and there are other COGs fighting against massive waves of enemies. It feels like there's a WAR happening now, not just a few people on a secret mission (ultimately the game takes that turn, but the war is still going on, and you feel pressed to produce results for humanity!) All in all, the only real downsides for me are: 1. The game can lag. By now it's pretty obvious what the xbox360 can & cannot handle. It doesn't lag often though, just in a few places where the atmospherics get crazy. 2. SOME (not all) of the new features are a bit silly. Using an enemy as a shield, extended fatalities, the burst firing pistol - they just don't seem that great. That being said, everything else about the game owns. Buy it and love it. Expand
  79. IraS.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Well let me say, Gears 2 definantly delivered! I was not expecting such a great game, especially from a sequel. It is every bit as good as the original, and maybe even surpasses the original. Epic took what worked and kept going with it, all of the while improving upon the game in every way. The new weapons add variety, and the boom shield adds a new gameplay element. The vehicle sections Well let me say, Gears 2 definantly delivered! I was not expecting such a great game, especially from a sequel. It is every bit as good as the original, and maybe even surpasses the original. Epic took what worked and kept going with it, all of the while improving upon the game in every way. The new weapons add variety, and the boom shield adds a new gameplay element. The vehicle sections did not seem to break the flow of things, and where quite enjoyable. The graphics seem almost the same, but I played GoW on the PC, never 360, and thats not bad though seeing as Gears was quite good. I have not played on live, though Multiplayer seems much improved, and Horde mode can be a great way to learn the game, and it did not seem to get old even after 50 waves, I still wanted more! All in all, with all the good games available, Gears 2 still was worth the money, providing a great story, good character depth, good graphics, some of the most wicked kills ever, all around fun gameplay, and replay value. If you like FPS' then give Gears 2 a try! You won't regret it, and will probably enjoy the well executed third person shooter! Expand
  80. TheSaint
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is absolutely awesome, it is better than the original in every way. It has th best graphics ever seen in ANY console, and better than ANY high end PC game. Gears 2 is the real deal, it's not some joke like Resistance 2 or Metal Gear Solid 4.
    ONLY PS3 fanboys are giving this game the low scores. PS3 fanboys are more pathetic than their console, which has NOTHING BUT
    Gears of War 2 is absolutely awesome, it is better than the original in every way. It has th best graphics ever seen in ANY console, and better than ANY high end PC game. Gears 2 is the real deal, it's not some joke like Resistance 2 or Metal Gear Solid 4.
    ONLY PS3 fanboys are giving this game the low scores. PS3 fanboys are more pathetic than their console, which has NOTHING BUT GARBAGE GAMES. Resistance 2? LOL! Cry your sorry little selves, you Sony fanboys and sleep with your PoS3.
    Expand
  81. VilleK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Just plain AWESOME game. I'm thankful that they didn't change the game itself too mutch. Cause Gears 1 was great, it's great to make the sequel same type but with little upgrades. Only 9 cause matchmaking is sometimes more than slow, worst gotten so far is 30minutes, and thats alot of time waiting.
  82. JamieJ.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Its a great game overral. This is the first gears of war i got for 360 and is the best game i have played on my life. With the best gameplay and graphics this is gonna be the game of the year! and i like to see how gaystation 3 fanboys are crying and posting bad rating to this game because 360 has the best games on a nextgen console.
  83. AndyP.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. I thought the original was good but this is better in every way! Don't really understand whats going on with the negative reviews. But I did notice that hundreds of them were made before the game was released. Probably a clue there as to who is posting the negative reviews... (ie those who haven't even played it and probably resent the low Critic review scores Excellent game. I thought the original was good but this is better in every way! Don't really understand whats going on with the negative reviews. But I did notice that hundreds of them were made before the game was released. Probably a clue there as to who is posting the negative reviews... (ie those who haven't even played it and probably resent the low Critic review scores being achieved by Sony's equivalent Resistance 2) Expand
  84. RickG
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    awesome game.. the only reason it doesnt warrant a perfect score in my book is because im not a lame fan boy (like many ps3 and 360) gamers are.. it has minute annoyances but its still a masterpiece.. dont let the 0 user scores deter your... those are simpy voted by brainless 12 year olds who only own a ps3 and are just jealous.. their envy really shows when they spend so much time tryingawesome game.. the only reason it doesnt warrant a perfect score in my book is because im not a lame fan boy (like many ps3 and 360) gamers are.. it has minute annoyances but its still a masterpiece.. dont let the 0 user scores deter your... those are simpy voted by brainless 12 year olds who only own a ps3 and are just jealous.. their envy really shows when they spend so much time trying to sabotage the score on this page... bottom line : excellent game! and fanboys suck Expand
  85. IsaacH.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    The Campaign has been vastly improved, the graphics look great and the gameplay less clunky and heavy from the first... Everything Single player is great. Multiplayer drags it down from the first... The addition of matchmaking is a HUGE flaw as most games are laggy unless you can pull host. The Chainsaw is too overpowering and the shotgun, reduced greatly. It's still fun to play and The Campaign has been vastly improved, the graphics look great and the gameplay less clunky and heavy from the first... Everything Single player is great. Multiplayer drags it down from the first... The addition of matchmaking is a HUGE flaw as most games are laggy unless you can pull host. The Chainsaw is too overpowering and the shotgun, reduced greatly. It's still fun to play and a good online experience - and much better than most other shooters (fps or otherwise) - but it just feels like they wanted to change it too much, to have it played completely on their terms, and there definitely needs to be the inclusion of dedicated servers so that lag is not an issue. Expand
  86. JohnM
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    The first question you have to ask yourself about this game. Is this better than Gears1 ..The answer is without doubt YES . Graphics are amazing, story is brillant, andmuch more fuller than the first.The game has so much style and there's nothing thats like it out there..Its a must buy for any gamer fan..Some siuations you find yourself in are unreal. (wont day anything as dont want The first question you have to ask yourself about this game. Is this better than Gears1 ..The answer is without doubt YES . Graphics are amazing, story is brillant, andmuch more fuller than the first.The game has so much style and there's nothing thats like it out there..Its a must buy for any gamer fan..Some siuations you find yourself in are unreal. (wont day anything as dont want to give anything away for new comers) Multiplayer is a step up aswell..Plenty to do..Horde is awsome...feel the pressure off the locast and get that chainsaw some action.. Take no notice to the sad people with no lives (PS3 Fanboys) who go out off there way to give unbeleivable bad scores just because its an exclusive for a 360. For all ps3 owners..this game alone should be a reasion to get a 360 ..Thats how good it is.. 10/10 without doubt. Expand
  87. BryanFedor
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Gears of War 2 is a good game, bu I wouldn't necessarily recommend it. Sometimes, bigger isn't better. The level design in the original Gears of War is better, even without the "boss" battles. The enemies in Gears of War 2 lack distinction. The tickers remind me of less mobile, and therefore, less threatening wretches. What happened to the Berserker, and why get rid of theGears of War 2 is a good game, bu I wouldn't necessarily recommend it. Sometimes, bigger isn't better. The level design in the original Gears of War is better, even without the "boss" battles. The enemies in Gears of War 2 lack distinction. The tickers remind me of less mobile, and therefore, less threatening wretches. What happened to the Berserker, and why get rid of the Kryll? Razor hail? Really? Weapons are unbalanced, too. The mortar is simply too much fun, and the range on the flame thrower is too high. That being said, Gears 2 works because it tries to tell a story, and because the "boss" battles are good enough (even if they're derivative) to keep you entertained. The real juice is in the multiplayer, especially Horde mode. This is where Gears 2 offers enough variety that it earns style points over it's predecessor. By all means, play this game - but make sure you play the original too. Expand
  88. Shaun
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Great fun to play, would give a 10 but trying to find a match when you are alone takes an eternity (for me between 5-15 minutes) and for a group of 4 its even worse. Fun though? hell yes. Looks good? Better than ever. Overall gears continues to shine. People tossing scores of 0 should try playing a game before rating it. Yes i'm talking about you Lazarus S. and your rediculous review Great fun to play, would give a 10 but trying to find a match when you are alone takes an eternity (for me between 5-15 minutes) and for a group of 4 its even worse. Fun though? hell yes. Looks good? Better than ever. Overall gears continues to shine. People tossing scores of 0 should try playing a game before rating it. Yes i'm talking about you Lazarus S. and your rediculous review after admitting that you didn't even play it. Expand
  89. Megalordbeatdown
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    I lined up to get this game when my EB games store opened up at midnight, and wow is this game just brilliant. Basically, it's quite similar to gears of war 1, except it's bigger, better, and more exciting. The story is brilliant, and well-thought, and it's engrossing. After you finish the story/campaign, you can spend endless hours blowing heads on multiplayer, or horde I lined up to get this game when my EB games store opened up at midnight, and wow is this game just brilliant. Basically, it's quite similar to gears of war 1, except it's bigger, better, and more exciting. The story is brilliant, and well-thought, and it's engrossing. After you finish the story/campaign, you can spend endless hours blowing heads on multiplayer, or horde mode, where you have to use your brains to get to all 50 levels or die in the process. Either way, just get this game. It's completely worth your time, and if you are a fan of the 1st one, you'll be in heaven. Expand
  90. RobertB.
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    This game was amazing, and there is simply no other way of describing it. The graphics are top nothc (though the first one was great as well). The best change in my view is the plot line which i feel is overall one of the, if not the best in any game to date. A runner for one of my all time favorite games? Most definatly.
  91. [Anonymous]
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    A spectacular game that lives up to the hype. Almost all the flaws of gears 1 have been remedied in gears 2 as well as the very upscaled visuals, sounds, and storyline. The bots are a nice add-on for people who don't have a LIVE account, want to have a full, private game with only a handful of people, or just plain don't like playing online multiplayer. This game alone would A spectacular game that lives up to the hype. Almost all the flaws of gears 1 have been remedied in gears 2 as well as the very upscaled visuals, sounds, and storyline. The bots are a nice add-on for people who don't have a LIVE account, want to have a full, private game with only a handful of people, or just plain don't like playing online multiplayer. This game alone would probably be a reason to get a 360 if you don't have one already... Expand
  92. MarkW.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    An absolutely superb game. I've been playing it since I got it, it's awesome. The graphics are smoother and crisper than the original, the targeting system has been improved so it feels more fluid and much more accurate. The action is even more frenetic. The additions, like being able to scoop up a fallen foe to use as a 'human' shield is great. The extra modes are ace An absolutely superb game. I've been playing it since I got it, it's awesome. The graphics are smoother and crisper than the original, the targeting system has been improved so it feels more fluid and much more accurate. The action is even more frenetic. The additions, like being able to scoop up a fallen foe to use as a 'human' shield is great. The extra modes are ace too - an improved multiplayer and the horde swarm thing. All in all a bigger, better sequel. Expand
  93. MikeH.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Graphics are beautiful. game is smoother then Gears 1 but shotgun is too slow. Hordes is really great! More later as I'm playing online with friends!
  94. RobertH.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Exceptional and addicting game, managed to improve on many facets of the original. The only complaint, which keeps it from a 10: The wait in the matchmaking lobbies is ridiculous. I think I've spent more time waiting to join a game than actually playing any multiplayer modes. I only notched off a point since they'll hopefully fix this in the near future.
  95. James(Grocs)C
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Like a lot of people I bought Gears of War 2 on release day - I then proceeded to play it most of the weekend - and for me what was really amazing was that most of the time playing was multi player! GOW 2 multi is outstanding - there is so much variety and with bot support and most of the achievements obtainable in private matches GOW 2 has surpassed my expectations. I've also played Like a lot of people I bought Gears of War 2 on release day - I then proceeded to play it most of the weekend - and for me what was really amazing was that most of the time playing was multi player! GOW 2 multi is outstanding - there is so much variety and with bot support and most of the achievements obtainable in private matches GOW 2 has surpassed my expectations. I've also played through the 1st Act in the Campaign and it is the most exciting and action packed game I've ever played. The production values are incredible - you feel like you are in a hollywood blockbuster. It is that good. So they haven't slouched in the single player game either. If you thought the original Gears of War looked good - wait till you see this. This is the new xbox 360 seller - the must have game on any platform. I've bought 4 games in the last 2 months - Farcry 2, Fallout 3, Fable 2 and Gears of War 2. Based on playing each of these - if I could only afford to buy one game - it would be Gears of War 2. In terms of value for money and if you are looking for fantastic multi combined with a great single player game - you just can't go past GOW 2. Expand
  96. David
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    Very similar to the first game, which could mean a good thing or a not so good thing. But I liked the first gears so the second one i definitely enjoyed. I always thought the third person shooter system was always a bit quirky for online play but single player was spectacular, I thoroughly enjoyed the plot.
  97. DougF.Sr.
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    Hopefully all you haters read this! First of all the gamer that thought it was a racing game.You are ridiculous! Anyways...Yes the matchmaking is incredibly horrible,but don't you think they'll fix it? They always seem to fix the problems for the most part.And as for nothing new from the first one.You are crazy,'cause GoW1 was great in it's own way.So great in it'sHopefully all you haters read this! First of all the gamer that thought it was a racing game.You are ridiculous! Anyways...Yes the matchmaking is incredibly horrible,but don't you think they'll fix it? They always seem to fix the problems for the most part.And as for nothing new from the first one.You are crazy,'cause GoW1 was great in it's own way.So great in it's own way that they didn't need to change much, just add a few things.And when GoW1 came out the graphics were incredible and are still higher than any other game system out there!Now that GoW2 came out the graphics are phenomenal and have bypassed every game on graphics.The game play itself is incredible.The campaign is so much better than the first and on insane, it is insane!Yes there are a few things about multiplayer that need to be fixed,but in time will hopefully be fixed.I give this game a 10 out of 10 by far! Expand
  98. PaoloB
    Dec 28, 2008
    8
    Single Player:10 Multiplayer: 7
    I feel like the developers did not listen to the gamers at all while making this sequel. Yes, there's nothing like it out there and is the only game I truly enjoy playing but as an avid GOW 1 multiplayer I feel they screwed it up a bit. I know but talking to fellow players what their concerns are and everyone says the same thing: they messed up the
    Single Player:10 Multiplayer: 7
    I feel like the developers did not listen to the gamers at all while making this sequel. Yes, there's nothing like it out there and is the only game I truly enjoy playing but as an avid GOW 1 multiplayer I feel they screwed it up a bit. I know but talking to fellow players what their concerns are and everyone says the same thing: they messed up the SHOTGUN big time ! Before it was the weapon of choice, using the Chainsow only occasionally but now you have no choice as the SHOTGUN is just ineffective, even bots need two or three shots in the head to die at times, the result is that if you use the SHOTGUN you will more often than not, DIE, probably by chainsaw. The Sniper shot and the BOOMER have all been weakend, everything seems to have been geared towards the CHAINSAW gaming, which makes no sense at all to me. Don't get me wrong, I am not one of those yanks who go around calling people nubes when they Chainsaw but before there was a balance, the chainsaw being just of the options , now that balance has been broken. Never mind releasing new maps and stuff if you release any update please fix the SHOTGUN to what it was before. Single player is awesome, I have been playing for 25 years and, believe it or not, I've only ever finished three games prior to this, one of them being GOW1 ! The games keeps you guessing and constantly throws new things for you to do, always retaining the same unique playability. If anything single player is a little short but it's still terrific. It's quite funny to me how rather obviously the game's creative director Cliffy B created Marcus Fenix out of his reseablance, cleverly disguised, nice try but you cannot hide ones eyes, unless he wears goggles. TOP TOP GAME
    Expand
  99. ChristopherP.
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    It's Gears of War, only more epic and even flashier. That about sums it up. I really liked playing coop in the first, and the campaign in this one is, in my opinion, better, just because of how much they ratcheted up the epic factor. It's almost Call of Duty 4-like. There are few quiet spots, but they're not boring and are a brief and welcome change from the constant It's Gears of War, only more epic and even flashier. That about sums it up. I really liked playing coop in the first, and the campaign in this one is, in my opinion, better, just because of how much they ratcheted up the epic factor. It's almost Call of Duty 4-like. There are few quiet spots, but they're not boring and are a brief and welcome change from the constant firefights. There's an air of suspense and thrill at the expectation of some wretches to burst through the window and attack you (and best of all, wretches still do nothing but charge at you, meaning all you have to do is stand there and hold down B to saw each one apart as they come. I'm pretty sure this was intentional as an excuse for the player to make a huge mess of wretch parts, which is great imo). There are some neat little touches throughout the game, too. It's much easier to do team-saws on enemies (when I was playing coop with my brother, he and I and Carmine all chainsawed the same grunt on every side, to our amusement), the saw's become useful again in multiplayer, the new weapons are fun to use (the chaingun mows down everything. Woo! And the mortar rains flaming death on everything you shoot it over, which is about as fun), the hordes you fight are larger, the levels are still gorgeous and often destructible, and everything's just been tuned up to near-perfection. The new multiplayer Horde mode is wonderfully awesome coop action and deserves mention. Being on a team of five, rushing for any ammunition you can find and wishing your gun would shoot faster as you're mowing down wave after wave after wave of Locust that never stop coming, is THE mode to cheer in your headset to. It's a reason to sign up for Gold. The only qualms I have are that the coolest enemy in the game who shows up early, the Darth Maul-style Locust with the twin chainsaws, is a joke of a boss when you finally fight him. My brother and I took him down first try with no difficulty, which sort of was a bust. Worse, he only sporadically tries to melee you! Otherwise he's just sending minions. We were looking forward to finally fighting him the entire game! Totally lame. I was expecting much more chainsaw dueling for that fight, but was really let down by how easy and unimpressive it was. Also, the final act blows. The final boss is just as bad and doesn't really make sense in the story. The ending itself is underwhelming when you finally finish, and the game ends just a bit too soon. Still, I had a whole lot of fun playing the campaign, and I'm still having a blast with Horde. If you liked the first one, it's a real safe bet you'll like this, too. If you didn't like the first, you probably won't like this one. Expand
  100. BenJ.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Its funny, wen y first view the score of this game was in 2.9, and that was even before the realese date, now that I see how it is slowly improving i know that most of the comments come from people who actually play the game, not fanboys form other consoles that are just jellows of some titles, i belive that if this game was multi plataform the user score woild be near 90.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    90
    We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.