User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2572 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. chrisv
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    this game is quality. had to write in cos some of these user comments are totally way of the mark. ive played GOW and GOW2 twice right through both r great games but GOW2 takes it to the next level. its one of the best sequels out there. its a keeper as they say!
  2. DanielT.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your hard earn money with tons of replay value. Well worth the wait and hype. Expand
  3. JohnF.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and artistic games ever developed! Expand
  4. StephenM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An excellent game in my opinion- playing through the campaign on Hardcore and couldn't be more pleased with the cooperative experience. The multiplayer is absolutely perfect, pretty much fixing every problem the first Gears had, and then some. Definitely worth the money.
  5. JohnC.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Visuals are great, as you would expect, but not an impressive change. But the enhancements can still be noticed. Multi-player maps seem more refined, with better layouts that really cater to the 5v5. Execution, I think, is still the best mode.
  6. AlexS.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Okay in Gears 2 i like them both i dont mind it and unlike gears 1 you got to set up your team or youd join a match and miss half your team because they went to Cog but not in Gears 2 the only slightly annoying thing in Gears 2 is the chainsaw.. but once you get good with the shotgun and know how to roll aorund a lil bit more the worries are gone you may still get hit by it but not nearly as much. Oh and peoplle say the Shotgun in gears 2 is crap. NO its not this just requires more skill to use instead of blindfire in front of you and you win its a lot better and i like what they did with it they made it more like a real shotgun instead of a Jesus shotgun that 1 hit kills everyhting. Id say the only bad thing about Gears 2 is that 90% of Shotgunners get there kills from nothing but 2 piecing and all i got to say to that is NO your not good for doing it. For example my friend Kilin 2-pieces all day he gets me sometimes but 80% of the time i blast him before he can get to me and he always loses to me when he doesnt 2-piece its not using the shotgun really your just pressing B + RT and then you move on no you suck for doing it. And Meleeing in this 1 is a little different some weapons melee a lot harder then others and some barely hit you at all at first i was confused a lot because id get 1 hitted when i only have 1 pistol shot damage on but once you learn that you dont get mad as much. Oh and moving around in this game is awesome it saves lives and its funny to get downed by someone and crawl away from them and they search forever and cant find you then you just come up and blast them. Oh and the last thing i cant stress enough about gears 2 DONT PLAY WITH YOUR KILLS!!! Ive had my whole team die and it was just me vs 3 people they downed me and let me get back up (with the intention of donwing me again) and when i got up i rolled away dodged there bullets and 1 of them was still on me i had the torque out charged it for like 2 seconds turned around and blasted him with it and then the other 2 came at me with shotguns luckily there noobs and try to 2 piece and just got raped because i move and blast you once you melee. Expand
  7. Sablicious...
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first game is mean as. Great game! Expand
  8. Matt
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way real war is done. Expand
  9. MaverickP
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a true fps game this is it....need i say more..buy it get it enjoy it !!!! -Maverick user since 1998 Expand
  10. HenryL.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is frieken awesome, the graphics are flawless, the action is incredible, its everything and more than the first one was, and if you played the first one then you know how amazing it was.
  11. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been last time round. 5 players a side, loads of maps, respawns (in some games) and the co-operative horde mode - which shoud slate your thirst for intense combat, if the campaign has failed to do so. Also HORDE is about the most HORDE fun I've had HORDE on xbox HORDE live, and if you've HORDE never fancied joining this HORDE service this could be HORDE the game that HORDE changes your HORDE mind. LOad up some HORDE bots and give it a go HORDE you'll be x-box living it HORDE before you know it. You may have guessed i quite like HORDE. Expand
  12. GavinB.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Excellent. Simply put, one of the most amazing 'balls to the wall' action game. There were so many sphincter tightening moments in this game, it's hard to believe it actually surpasses the original in terms of wow factor. Highest of recommendations.
  13. SteveR.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a masterstroke; at last, you can game with your mates without running the risk of pre-pubescent morons shouting, swearing singing or screaming in the background. Excellent and highly recommended to anyone who likes shooters. Expand
  14. ValC.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Gears of war 2 completely captures the brilliance of the first game and actually moves it forward. With its new ideas and provocative levels, GOW2 is destined to become one of the greatest games xbox has seen in a long, long, time.
  15. JimmyP
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  16. MikeyW.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Awesomeness. This game is pretty good. The boss battles are not as epic, but there's more stuff to it, like a longer vehicle sequence, a wide range of new weapons and enemies to kill and much more insight into the story. The only thing missing are epic boss battles and the hammer of dawn.
  17. Wayloski
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well done. Very strategic with the inclusion of using grenades as proxy mines. Not to mention you can set up shields in the ground to make yourself a nice little fort to hold down. Horde mode has to be one of the best coop experiences in recent memory. You really have to work together to survive, especially after round 10. Single player is a very engaging experience. I thought the story in Gears 1 was great. Short, simple, and to the point, so I was really blown away by this game. Cliffy B and the gang did an awesome job fleshing out the overall story. Almost shed a tear for one of the characters at one point! :( There is also a variety of gameplay in the single player besides the old "shoot anything that moves" mentality. The game also gives you a good challenge on just hte Hardcore setting, can't wait to start it again on Insane! Boss battles are very well done and a welcome addition to the Gears games. Games the perfect package of single and multiplayer. Definate 10/10. What are you waiting for, run out and buy it! See you online COGs! Expand
  18. CalebL
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 takes what was great in the first and adds a plethora of content and gameplay modes that will more than satisfy any fan of Gears 1. And Graham M, try hitting the "back" button. It lets you skip the cutscenes as well as the headset communications.
  19. BrendanS
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Really like the first; they didn't reinvent the wheel here; just made it shinier and a bit more solid. Matchmaking is broken at the moment and the communities' collective fingers are crossed for a quick fix soon. Otherwise, a visceral, cinematic experience that is truly impressive to behold.
  20. YouDamnFanboys
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case its at least 15 hours), and an unrivaled online system (which includes about 10 different types of battles), and another co-op mode called Horde, this game screams replay value. It's not perfect (I can't give it a 9.8 like I want to), but this is definatly a runner for GOTY, and a definite must have for anyone older then 18. P.S. The truth, you gave this game a 0 because you thought it was a racing game? Wow your not biased. Expand
  21. MackA.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but it's not a big problem. The story has been expanded from the first game including a side story for the search for Maria Santiago (Dom's Wife). Overall, this is the best game i've ever played, and is an extremely high recommendation for all Tactical Shooter fans!! Expand
  22. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    its amazing how many idiots were thinking that this game would be a clone of gears, it adds weapons enemies a more in depth story but its mostly an action game, anyone who is crying about the story sucking doesn't know what kind of game this is and dserves to be taken off of life support should they ever fall into a catatonic state.
  23. TristanH
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best Games i played ever, no matter on console or on the pc. The atmosphere is amazing, the controls are easy as pie and the gameplay is diversified. Also the Characters, even if they are clichéd, couldn't be any cooler or funnier. I can recommend this game warmly to everyone who has a Box and is of course OLD ENOUGH. (thats definitely not a game for kids)
  24. ErucG
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Went to eat with my wife and took a chance to see if blockbuster had any copies on a Friday night at 7:00pm on release date, One copy left. Amazing! After about 1 hour of playing, you can sense a better plot and depth than GOW. To me, that was all that GOW lacked, now it is complete.
  25. RogerR.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    For me, i have to rate this game a 1. i'm halfway through the campaign and just barely scratched the surface of multiplayer,including horde which is incedible,and i couldn't be more impressed. It's done everything to the highest caliber. way to go epic on this beautiful game.
  26. Christopher
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Not only has the game drastically improved upon the first, whether it be storyline, cutscenes, or matchmaking. It also keeps what was great in Gears of War 1 still around. A must have for any Gears of War fan, and at least a rental for the fan of action packed shooters.
  27. MatteoN.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An invasion of Sony fanboys won't make the game any worse. It's a MASTERPIECE. Better graphics, better gameplay, more weapons, more enemies, bigger enviroments, better multiplayer, better story, longer campaign. It absolutely R-O-C-K-S!
  28. NickP.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I wasn't keen on is gone, and everything that I wanted to be better is there. Who can ask for anything more? Expand
  29. BrandonM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of the action will distract you everything that was wrong with the award winnig first gears has been improved graphics are stronger ai is deadlier and with all the new game modes this is easily a 100+ hour video games GET IT Expand
  30. KieranM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be had with mates and Horde is another stunning co-op inventive feature. A superb game, any fans of shooters, good MP games or gore should get this. Expand
  31. JackR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for the PS3 will also be great games and comparing them to GoW2 is merely a matter of preference (or matter what ever console you happen to own). I don't hear many people comparing movies with such "enthusiasm" as games, but personally I don't make that big a difference between the two mediums. Expand
  32. JoseR.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Ok so gears of war 2 improves many "complains" that people had with gears 1, and this time around they have a story, a great multiplayer, amd the graphics are amazing, the only complain i have is that now the shotgun is kind of crappy thanks to the stopping power, but is a grat game so go ahead and try it.
  33. JoeLoccius
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I love the enviroments and how each different act always has at least 15 epic moments were you are just like "wow this sure does own resistance 2". Anyway the whole game is unbeilevably epic and it is definatly bigger, better, and more badass then resistance 2....(espcailly Cole Train's lines).
  34. DillW.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving segments which are more fun than the Junker by a long shot. The enviroments are nicley colored and the dispay of tens of villans on one screen is great. However, there are still some errors with the game itself. The voice acting could use a little work and a couple of texture glitches occur here and there. This game has "Game of the Year" written all over it. Expand
  35. KyleOcocker
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game has impressive graphics, gameplay, story, funny lines said by Cole Train, awesome horde mode, and multiplayer +bots!

    This game is really awe-maz-ing and beats resistance 2 by far.... When i am playing the chicago co-op level online for resistance 2 it looks like a gamecube game....unlike gears 2 which is just basically jack off material...
  36. JamesB
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing online with my friend and it is simply a joy to behold. A beautiful beautiful game which deserves to be played. Well done Epic I hope it brings you the success it deserves. Absolutely brilliant. Expand
  37. JasonEdwards
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the first, offering a longer game, more weapons, new and exciting level-specific mechanics (razor-hail, tunneling worms, boat battles, etc) as well as incredibly unique, well detailed and definitely rememberable level designs.

    Gears of War was a fun third-person shooter that lasted a few hours and was an enjoyable ride. Gears of War 2 is an amazing experience that takes you many places that you won't soon forget.

    10/10 for being an incredible game that surpasses the first in every aspect.
    Expand
  38. AlbertW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    GOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn'tGOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn't think this could be possible, at least the graphics are the best of all times, Halo, here's your contender number 1!!! Expand
  39. ChrisEvers
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Best game ever. Graphics are amazing and executions and assassinations make this game even better. Story line is good and multiplayer is good. They even added a new thing that you can play called horde where you have didfferent levels of waves of locusts and after each one they get tougher and tougher.
  40. TS
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever made. Sure, the online can be laggy and glitchy, but its fun when its not, and the singleplayer campaign was amazing, fun, and had a better storyline for Gears 2. I also felt pretty bad for Carmine when he "SPOILERS" died "END SPOILERS". Very, very awesome game.
  41. ChrisC
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Gears of War 2 is an amazing game, that improves a lot of stuff from the original Gears of War & adds some new stuff too! And all of the people who have been giving it low ratings are a bunch of Halo addicts, that fail to realize that Gears of War 2 really is an amazing game! Not all shooters have to be about charging enemies & shooting wildly! I mean Gears of War 2 is a lot more Gears of War 2 is an amazing game, that improves a lot of stuff from the original Gears of War & adds some new stuff too! And all of the people who have been giving it low ratings are a bunch of Halo addicts, that fail to realize that Gears of War 2 really is an amazing game! Not all shooters have to be about charging enemies & shooting wildly! I mean Gears of War 2 is a lot more realistic than most shooters! And is one of the best shooters that I have ever played! Expand
  42. SeanMcB
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    I like that you can be revived if you are downed but it gets pretty challenging in co op mode. since you need both knowledge and skill to complete this game on legendary mode, I really think that they took a lot of time on this game and really did a good job with Improving some mistakes from Gears of war 1, Good job guys
  43. NajamU.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS! I've always been a gears of war fan and this game didn't disappoint me.There was a dramatic change in graphics which brightened up the game.Despite having the same combat techniques as the first one this game is really fun playing.To be really honest with you the story-line was great but the boss was absurd.The multiplayer battles are OFF THE HOOK.So grab some THIS GAME ROCKS! I've always been a gears of war fan and this game didn't disappoint me.There was a dramatic change in graphics which brightened up the game.Despite having the same combat techniques as the first one this game is really fun playing.To be really honest with you the story-line was great but the boss was absurd.The multiplayer battles are OFF THE HOOK.So grab some bucks,break your piggy-banks(its strange why do they call it like this my brother told me)or steal some money.Somehow break into a store and get it as quick as possible and buy it.believe me I don't lie guys. Expand
  44. SeanH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    This game had absolutely everything that I was looking for. It was backed by an excellent story, it had some of the most graphic violence that I've seen in a game, and it has an amazing multiplayer. I would recommend this game to any of my friends, enemies not so much though since I don't want them having fun.
  45. TB
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. There were a lot of little flaws (not enough weapons and you can only hold two at a time, tank level, graphics werent nearly as mind blowing as 1, super easy final boss while some of the other bosses took too long to beat, D pad on 360 sucks, weapon system could be a lot cooler, cover system is the best one ever but it still sometimes Easily one of the best games I've ever played. There were a lot of little flaws (not enough weapons and you can only hold two at a time, tank level, graphics werent nearly as mind blowing as 1, super easy final boss while some of the other bosses took too long to beat, D pad on 360 sucks, weapon system could be a lot cooler, cover system is the best one ever but it still sometimes frustrates, confusing (but cool) story, running, often too dark to enjoy the beautiful art direction, the slow speed he walks, the way the camera moves slower when you zoom in, etc). But this game is so easy to pick up and play with easy to learn controls, its gameplay is so much fun , and its full of so many amazing moments and amazing set pieces and cool enemies, that it more than makes up for all the negatives. Also, having the option of playing MP with bots is great for all those who dont have the internet. The additions of meat shield, curb stomping in single player, better cut scenes that tell a cooler story, expanded MP, and no real lulls in the gameplay are the real improvement over Gears 1. Expand
  46. PatrickM
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games ever online or offline. There is so much to do on gears for example co-op campains, hordes, several multiplayer game mode like, warzone, execution, gaurdian, annex, wingman and more. And finally anyone who critisises this game don't no what there talking about. GEARS OF WAR FOR THE WIN!!!
  47. KevinAndersen
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This game is action packed, has great graphics, gameplay, and multiplayer. This is simply the best overall game I have ever played. Gears of War 2 is a lot like a summer action movie blockbuster, it keeps you on the edge of your seat, and saying a lot of holy !@#@@.
  48. MarmaT
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    GoW2 keeps the gameplay we know and love from GoW1, yet spices things up with new weapons & features that encourage the use of new tactics. The cutscenes are more in depth, and the characters are developed more. This is also a big plus for me, i was disappointed in how light GoW1 was on the story & character development - most of it was inferred. Also, the combat feels, in a lot of GoW2 keeps the gameplay we know and love from GoW1, yet spices things up with new weapons & features that encourage the use of new tactics. The cutscenes are more in depth, and the characters are developed more. This is also a big plus for me, i was disappointed in how light GoW1 was on the story & character development - most of it was inferred. Also, the combat feels, in a lot of places, more EPIC. There are situations where you're fighting alongside the rest of delta squad you know & love (baird, cole, dom) and there are other COGs fighting against massive waves of enemies. It feels like there's a WAR happening now, not just a few people on a secret mission (ultimately the game takes that turn, but the war is still going on, and you feel pressed to produce results for humanity!) All in all, the only real downsides for me are: 1. The game can lag. By now it's pretty obvious what the xbox360 can & cannot handle. It doesn't lag often though, just in a few places where the atmospherics get crazy. 2. SOME (not all) of the new features are a bit silly. Using an enemy as a shield, extended fatalities, the burst firing pistol - they just don't seem that great. That being said, everything else about the game owns. Buy it and love it. Expand
  49. IraS.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Well let me say, Gears 2 definantly delivered! I was not expecting such a great game, especially from a sequel. It is every bit as good as the original, and maybe even surpasses the original. Epic took what worked and kept going with it, all of the while improving upon the game in every way. The new weapons add variety, and the boom shield adds a new gameplay element. The vehicle sections Well let me say, Gears 2 definantly delivered! I was not expecting such a great game, especially from a sequel. It is every bit as good as the original, and maybe even surpasses the original. Epic took what worked and kept going with it, all of the while improving upon the game in every way. The new weapons add variety, and the boom shield adds a new gameplay element. The vehicle sections did not seem to break the flow of things, and where quite enjoyable. The graphics seem almost the same, but I played GoW on the PC, never 360, and thats not bad though seeing as Gears was quite good. I have not played on live, though Multiplayer seems much improved, and Horde mode can be a great way to learn the game, and it did not seem to get old even after 50 waves, I still wanted more! All in all, with all the good games available, Gears 2 still was worth the money, providing a great story, good character depth, good graphics, some of the most wicked kills ever, all around fun gameplay, and replay value. If you like FPS' then give Gears 2 a try! You won't regret it, and will probably enjoy the well executed third person shooter! Expand
  50. TheSaint
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is absolutely awesome, it is better than the original in every way. It has th best graphics ever seen in ANY console, and better than ANY high end PC game. Gears 2 is the real deal, it's not some joke like Resistance 2 or Metal Gear Solid 4.
    ONLY PS3 fanboys are giving this game the low scores. PS3 fanboys are more pathetic than their console, which has NOTHING BUT
    Gears of War 2 is absolutely awesome, it is better than the original in every way. It has th best graphics ever seen in ANY console, and better than ANY high end PC game. Gears 2 is the real deal, it's not some joke like Resistance 2 or Metal Gear Solid 4.
    ONLY PS3 fanboys are giving this game the low scores. PS3 fanboys are more pathetic than their console, which has NOTHING BUT GARBAGE GAMES. Resistance 2? LOL! Cry your sorry little selves, you Sony fanboys and sleep with your PoS3.
    Expand
  51. JamieJ.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Its a great game overral. This is the first gears of war i got for 360 and is the best game i have played on my life. With the best gameplay and graphics this is gonna be the game of the year! and i like to see how gaystation 3 fanboys are crying and posting bad rating to this game because 360 has the best games on a nextgen console.
  52. AndyP.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. I thought the original was good but this is better in every way! Don't really understand whats going on with the negative reviews. But I did notice that hundreds of them were made before the game was released. Probably a clue there as to who is posting the negative reviews... (ie those who haven't even played it and probably resent the low Critic review scores Excellent game. I thought the original was good but this is better in every way! Don't really understand whats going on with the negative reviews. But I did notice that hundreds of them were made before the game was released. Probably a clue there as to who is posting the negative reviews... (ie those who haven't even played it and probably resent the low Critic review scores being achieved by Sony's equivalent Resistance 2) Expand
  53. JohnM
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    The first question you have to ask yourself about this game. Is this better than Gears1 ..The answer is without doubt YES . Graphics are amazing, story is brillant, andmuch more fuller than the first.The game has so much style and there's nothing thats like it out there..Its a must buy for any gamer fan..Some siuations you find yourself in are unreal. (wont day anything as dont want The first question you have to ask yourself about this game. Is this better than Gears1 ..The answer is without doubt YES . Graphics are amazing, story is brillant, andmuch more fuller than the first.The game has so much style and there's nothing thats like it out there..Its a must buy for any gamer fan..Some siuations you find yourself in are unreal. (wont day anything as dont want to give anything away for new comers) Multiplayer is a step up aswell..Plenty to do..Horde is awsome...feel the pressure off the locast and get that chainsaw some action.. Take no notice to the sad people with no lives (PS3 Fanboys) who go out off there way to give unbeleivable bad scores just because its an exclusive for a 360. For all ps3 owners..this game alone should be a reasion to get a 360 ..Thats how good it is.. 10/10 without doubt. Expand
  54. Megalordbeatdown
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    I lined up to get this game when my EB games store opened up at midnight, and wow is this game just brilliant. Basically, it's quite similar to gears of war 1, except it's bigger, better, and more exciting. The story is brilliant, and well-thought, and it's engrossing. After you finish the story/campaign, you can spend endless hours blowing heads on multiplayer, or horde I lined up to get this game when my EB games store opened up at midnight, and wow is this game just brilliant. Basically, it's quite similar to gears of war 1, except it's bigger, better, and more exciting. The story is brilliant, and well-thought, and it's engrossing. After you finish the story/campaign, you can spend endless hours blowing heads on multiplayer, or horde mode, where you have to use your brains to get to all 50 levels or die in the process. Either way, just get this game. It's completely worth your time, and if you are a fan of the 1st one, you'll be in heaven. Expand
  55. RobertB.
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    This game was amazing, and there is simply no other way of describing it. The graphics are top nothc (though the first one was great as well). The best change in my view is the plot line which i feel is overall one of the, if not the best in any game to date. A runner for one of my all time favorite games? Most definatly.
  56. [Anonymous]
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    A spectacular game that lives up to the hype. Almost all the flaws of gears 1 have been remedied in gears 2 as well as the very upscaled visuals, sounds, and storyline. The bots are a nice add-on for people who don't have a LIVE account, want to have a full, private game with only a handful of people, or just plain don't like playing online multiplayer. This game alone would A spectacular game that lives up to the hype. Almost all the flaws of gears 1 have been remedied in gears 2 as well as the very upscaled visuals, sounds, and storyline. The bots are a nice add-on for people who don't have a LIVE account, want to have a full, private game with only a handful of people, or just plain don't like playing online multiplayer. This game alone would probably be a reason to get a 360 if you don't have one already... Expand
  57. MikeH.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Graphics are beautiful. game is smoother then Gears 1 but shotgun is too slow. Hordes is really great! More later as I'm playing online with friends!
  58. James(Grocs)C
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Like a lot of people I bought Gears of War 2 on release day - I then proceeded to play it most of the weekend - and for me what was really amazing was that most of the time playing was multi player! GOW 2 multi is outstanding - there is so much variety and with bot support and most of the achievements obtainable in private matches GOW 2 has surpassed my expectations. I've also played Like a lot of people I bought Gears of War 2 on release day - I then proceeded to play it most of the weekend - and for me what was really amazing was that most of the time playing was multi player! GOW 2 multi is outstanding - there is so much variety and with bot support and most of the achievements obtainable in private matches GOW 2 has surpassed my expectations. I've also played through the 1st Act in the Campaign and it is the most exciting and action packed game I've ever played. The production values are incredible - you feel like you are in a hollywood blockbuster. It is that good. So they haven't slouched in the single player game either. If you thought the original Gears of War looked good - wait till you see this. This is the new xbox 360 seller - the must have game on any platform. I've bought 4 games in the last 2 months - Farcry 2, Fallout 3, Fable 2 and Gears of War 2. Based on playing each of these - if I could only afford to buy one game - it would be Gears of War 2. In terms of value for money and if you are looking for fantastic multi combined with a great single player game - you just can't go past GOW 2. Expand
  59. DougF.Sr.
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    Hopefully all you haters read this! First of all the gamer that thought it was a racing game.You are ridiculous! Anyways...Yes the matchmaking is incredibly horrible,but don't you think they'll fix it? They always seem to fix the problems for the most part.And as for nothing new from the first one.You are crazy,'cause GoW1 was great in it's own way.So great in it'sHopefully all you haters read this! First of all the gamer that thought it was a racing game.You are ridiculous! Anyways...Yes the matchmaking is incredibly horrible,but don't you think they'll fix it? They always seem to fix the problems for the most part.And as for nothing new from the first one.You are crazy,'cause GoW1 was great in it's own way.So great in it's own way that they didn't need to change much, just add a few things.And when GoW1 came out the graphics were incredible and are still higher than any other game system out there!Now that GoW2 came out the graphics are phenomenal and have bypassed every game on graphics.The game play itself is incredible.The campaign is so much better than the first and on insane, it is insane!Yes there are a few things about multiplayer that need to be fixed,but in time will hopefully be fixed.I give this game a 10 out of 10 by far! Expand
  60. BenJ.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Its funny, wen y first view the score of this game was in 2.9, and that was even before the realese date, now that I see how it is slowly improving i know that most of the comments come from people who actually play the game, not fanboys form other consoles that are just jellows of some titles, i belive that if this game was multi plataform the user score woild be near 90.
  61. KanishkA
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This game is by far one of the best 1st person shooters I have ever played, or that has been made for that matter. I am actually stunned to see the rating given by other users. This game is perfect in each and every regard. So such low rating by these users is bewildering, The story is extremely engaging and the graphics are best you will find in any game period. The sound effects, the This game is by far one of the best 1st person shooters I have ever played, or that has been made for that matter. I am actually stunned to see the rating given by other users. This game is perfect in each and every regard. So such low rating by these users is bewildering, The story is extremely engaging and the graphics are best you will find in any game period. The sound effects, the weapons the enemies everything is just awesome, This is just a perfect package. Enjoyed it thoroughly and have played it again and again. Expand
  62. AaronT.
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Ugh ok at first I came over to metacritic for a stats report I'm doing but after seeing some of these comments I have to say it's sad to see so many people whining over a great game...listen up Halo fanboys I could go on all day about how Halo is an incredibly flawed game and if you are a Gears 1 junkie...wow way to pussy out...It's clear you just couldn't handle real Ugh ok at first I came over to metacritic for a stats report I'm doing but after seeing some of these comments I have to say it's sad to see so many people whining over a great game...listen up Halo fanboys I could go on all day about how Halo is an incredibly flawed game and if you are a Gears 1 junkie...wow way to pussy out...It's clear you just couldn't handle real competitive matches and it suites you to go back...AND to be clear to all every online game has moments with major lag and YES that includes your Halo and Call of Duty...stop wasting space with your useless rants to give room to REAL user reviews... Expand
  63. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Gears of War 2 is a awesome game! With a fun campaign mode (although it is a little short), a very awesome & fun new mode called Horde Mode where you get to kill wave after wave of locust, new enemies, new weapons, great graphics, & great gameplay! My two biggest problems with game though is that the online is very laggy, & the final boss of the campaign mode is way too easy. But besides Gears of War 2 is a awesome game! With a fun campaign mode (although it is a little short), a very awesome & fun new mode called Horde Mode where you get to kill wave after wave of locust, new enemies, new weapons, great graphics, & great gameplay! My two biggest problems with game though is that the online is very laggy, & the final boss of the campaign mode is way too easy. But besides that I would say that Gears of War 2 is an awesome game that improves a lot of things from the original Gears of War! And I would highly recommend Gears of War 2 to anyone who is a fan of third-person shooters, or anyone who is a fan of the original Gears of War! Expand
  64. jsoem.
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    This game in my opinion is great far superior than gears of war 1. the new features (frag tags, meatshields and improved cover system to name a few) keeps the series refreshed, the new story was awesome. the cut scenes were great and the twists and turns in the story make for a great game. LOVE IT.
  65. CiaranG.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    The single-player game (which can also be played with up to 4 friends via Xbox Live) is one of the best I have ever played. It is short and will only take a few days to complete if played almost flat out but those few days will be absolutely mind blowing. It's an absolutely intense game and hell of a lot of fun. The graphics and visuals are absolutely top-notch - at times jaw The single-player game (which can also be played with up to 4 friends via Xbox Live) is one of the best I have ever played. It is short and will only take a few days to complete if played almost flat out but those few days will be absolutely mind blowing. It's an absolutely intense game and hell of a lot of fun. The graphics and visuals are absolutely top-notch - at times jaw dropping and stunning. The storyline is much better this time around too, at times injecting some emotion and it succeeded in shocking me speechless at one point. Gameplay never feels repetitive since you will always be doing something different, and run-and-gun action is mixed in with some stunning driving and flying levels too. Great online play will long extend the life of this game as will the various difficulty levels which act as an incentive to return again and again. Must-have game. Expand
  66. MattH
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    I'm really getting a good laugh at all the Sony fanboys who are giving this game a bad ranking simply because this game looks, feels and plays better than anything that's come out on the PS3 to date. This game is absolutely epic. The campaign is very wel done, the graphics are jaw dropping, the story is engaging and it's a ton of fun. The multiplayer is a blast, and I'm really getting a good laugh at all the Sony fanboys who are giving this game a bad ranking simply because this game looks, feels and plays better than anything that's come out on the PS3 to date. This game is absolutely epic. The campaign is very wel done, the graphics are jaw dropping, the story is engaging and it's a ton of fun. The multiplayer is a blast, and extremely addicting. The only thing that takes away from this game is that the matchmaking system is terrible and needs to be revamped. Other than that, it's a brutal, visceral, carnage filled frag fest And I highly recommend it. I really didn't like Gears 1, and was iffy about getting this game, but all my expectations were exceeded and I'm very glad I bought it. Expand
  67. Fanboys_suck
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    Best game ever made imo. its better than any game the ps3 could get. just to clear somethings up there is NO host advantage, if you know what you're doing smokes are nothing, and it is more epic than gears of war one. All you sony fanboys posting here get a life and stop trashing a game your cr@py system cant even handle. (for anyone looking at these reviews thinking about buying thisBest game ever made imo. its better than any game the ps3 could get. just to clear somethings up there is NO host advantage, if you know what you're doing smokes are nothing, and it is more epic than gears of war one. All you sony fanboys posting here get a life and stop trashing a game your cr@py system cant even handle. (for anyone looking at these reviews thinking about buying this game ignore all the 2's 0's and such they are just sony fanboys) Expand
  68. joeymcone
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    umm yea so i was looking for a game to get this xmas and i got a xbox 360. i was gonna get nba live but i heard it had a lot of glitches. so i was lookin for a game to get and i rented gears 1 a while ago and liked it. my brother got fable 2 so i decided to get gears 2. yoooooo this game is sick. way better than the first one, it cracks me up how people act like this game is worseumm yea so i was looking for a game to get this xmas and i got a xbox 360. i was gonna get nba live but i heard it had a lot of glitches. so i was lookin for a game to get and i rented gears 1 a while ago and liked it. my brother got fable 2 so i decided to get gears 2. yoooooo this game is sick. way better than the first one, it cracks me up how people act like this game is worse than the first one. they improved on everything, and horde mode is sick. i dont even play many shooting games, i don't like halo but i like this Expand
  69. SteveeRoode
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    I rarely give 10s but this game is just so enjoyable and I wan't fond of the first gears but this game totally lives up to the hype it deserves, its plot is dark and interesting, some parts are irratingly hard but after thinking what to do its ok but A very fun shooter and personally this is one of my favourates this years games and quite honestly my game of the year because it wasI rarely give 10s but this game is just so enjoyable and I wan't fond of the first gears but this game totally lives up to the hype it deserves, its plot is dark and interesting, some parts are irratingly hard but after thinking what to do its ok but A very fun shooter and personally this is one of my favourates this years games and quite honestly my game of the year because it was such a blast with fun online play Expand
  70. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    FAVORITE GAME EVER. ITS GEARS OF WAR 1 BUT BIGGER AND BETTER, the one thing that i ddnt like was the boss battles were 2d and more like a cutscene..jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  71. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I would have given this game a 9.5 if I could. I felt that Epic Games had succeded in yet another awesome game. The new horde mode is a great laugh. The online progression system is sweet and the maps are epic. Especially now they ave released the 'All Fronts Collection' (what an awesome deal). The online is deffinatlet better than the original. But the campaign however, seemed to lack theI would have given this game a 9.5 if I could. I felt that Epic Games had succeded in yet another awesome game. The new horde mode is a great laugh. The online progression system is sweet and the maps are epic. Especially now they ave released the 'All Fronts Collection' (what an awesome deal). The online is deffinatlet better than the original. But the campaign however, seemed to lack the 'feel' of gears of war 1. I miss the Kryl and Beserkers, I didn't feel scared in any way and the storyline just didn't seem quite as good as the previous and I still can't get my head around the fact that the lightmass bomb made the locust stronger? However that said the campaign did feel more epic with the large armies, and the updated technology meaning you can fit loads of enemeies on the screen. Skorge was definitely a better bad guy than RAAM and I was glad to see more of the lambant locust (except this time not just wretches). Overall, I'd say Gears of War 2 is a must have, it's an oustanding game both offline and online but the storyline just wasn't quite good enough for me. Expand
  72. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I'm not so sure if it tops the first one, maybe they're neck and neck, but it doesn't matter because it is fun. Everything that got your dick hard in the first game is back.
  73. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    I knew I loved it from the first time I saw it. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The only reason people hate it is mostly because of the sometimes laggy multiplayer. My main problem with the game is those hyper gamers that act stupid for no reason. Obviously, it's a game and getting hyper over a game is idiotic and ignorant. This is a must-buy. That's why it won a lot of Game ofI knew I loved it from the first time I saw it. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The only reason people hate it is mostly because of the sometimes laggy multiplayer. My main problem with the game is those hyper gamers that act stupid for no reason. Obviously, it's a game and getting hyper over a game is idiotic and ignorant. This is a must-buy. That's why it won a lot of Game of the Year awards. Expand
  74. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 2 I like to play this game because you have to do mission on there and you have to zombies on there, if you kill them you can get there guns on there. They are different gum on there when you kill the monster. It is fun when you play when you play two players on there. You have to work in a team if one you die in the game the other person has to do most of the work on there.Gears of war 2 I like to play this game because you have to do mission on there and you have to zombies on there, if you kill them you can get there guns on there. They are different gum on there when you kill the monster. It is fun when you play when you play two players on there. You have to work in a team if one you die in the game the other person has to do most of the work on there. If your partner dies on there you have to do it again and you will not like. This game you can play online with this game I like play this game with my friends and cousins. With this game there is more shoot on there and there is more blood in this game I like shooting games. Most people like shooting games because there is more blood and different guns on all the games. It is better to play you mates or which people are on line on Xbox 360 or Ps3. it a great game to play. When do some a mission I will get hard and they are different levels on the they is easy hard and very hard . you can pick on of them three but the game will get hard Expand
  75. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun even after 2 or 3 years after he multiplayer is still super fun and the campain tells one of the best storys iv heard in a shooter
  76. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Bueno este juego es lo mejor que ha salido en lo que va del xbox 360 por 3 simples razones.
    La primera es que la historia es muy buena y atrapa al jugador desde el incio.
    La segunda es que el gameplay es excelente y los botones se ajustan bien al juego. La tercera es el multijugador que aunque el principio fue malo ahora arreglado es muy bueno tambien. Comprenlo, rentenlo, pidanlo
    Bueno este juego es lo mejor que ha salido en lo que va del xbox 360 por 3 simples razones.
    La primera es que la historia es muy buena y atrapa al jugador desde el incio.
    La segunda es que el gameplay es excelente y los botones se ajustan bien al juego.
    La tercera es el multijugador que aunque el principio fue malo ahora arreglado es muy bueno tambien.
    Comprenlo, rentenlo, pidanlo restado; Da igual pero jueguenlo ya.
    Expand
  77. May 31, 2011
    10
    What can i say,even better than the already perfect Gears of War 1! With many aspects,tightned up even more,such as the cover system.& Graphics seem even more detailed,thanks to the newer Unreal Engine,& a much more interesting story,with more emotion with the characters.Also more suprises with the types of creatures your going to take on.Would've been nice if they made it 3 or 4 playerWhat can i say,even better than the already perfect Gears of War 1! With many aspects,tightned up even more,such as the cover system.& Graphics seem even more detailed,thanks to the newer Unreal Engine,& a much more interesting story,with more emotion with the characters.Also more suprises with the types of creatures your going to take on.Would've been nice if they made it 3 or 4 player Co-Op in the campaign,but at least it still has Co-Op,which i'm always grateful for,& Gears 3 is going to have 5 player Co-Op(Yes 5)!,to make up for it,so the trilogy is looking to go out well.Also,for number 2,it was good to see that they introduced the option to fight against bots in multiplayer,& with other players against the bots,as i sometimes like to just play a multiplayer,but with out the stress of playing against the those people that play NOTHING BUT multiplayer,which just isnt fun.I cant comment on multiplayer on the whole though,as that aspect of the game doesnt interest me particually & i've hardly touched it.Lastly,this game is still a shining example to those lazy developers out there,who use the lame excuse that their game 'cant do' campaign Co-Op.& cant do it Split-Screen,or Split-Screen without borders.Well if Gears can,with its(lets face it)top end graphics,then ANY game can.Simple as that! Great game on the whole though! Expand
  78. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    The game is nice in my opinion. Story plot is very nice and immerses you in. I don't understand why people would not enjoy slaughtering something a hundred times bigger than you, makes you look like a hero. The plot is very straightforwards but with a few side plots like Dom's wife Maria. Let's be honest we all want to know where the Locust come from but then we have Dom's wife who isThe game is nice in my opinion. Story plot is very nice and immerses you in. I don't understand why people would not enjoy slaughtering something a hundred times bigger than you, makes you look like a hero. The plot is very straightforwards but with a few side plots like Dom's wife Maria. Let's be honest we all want to know where the Locust come from but then we have Dom's wife who is just... she just didn't deserve the fate she had. If you understood how long Dom and Maria had been split from each other you'd understand why Dom is so determined to find her. Voice acting is also not too bad, with each actor making use of their talent to make a believable character, in a group there should be always two who hate each other, close friends and the one who's a newbie. Over all it's not a bad buy Expand
  79. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Great follow to an epic series! Things to note:

    Graphics: Not much improvement from the 1st one but still very well done Physics: Ability to damage your environment is a huge improvement and makes the game surprisingly more enjoyable. Could be take a little further, but very well done. Weapons: Don't expect much change but still a solid set to choose from. Chainsaw is still the greatest
    Great follow to an epic series! Things to note:

    Graphics: Not much improvement from the 1st one but still very well done
    Physics: Ability to damage your environment is a huge improvement and makes the game surprisingly more enjoyable. Could be take a little further, but very well done.
    Weapons: Don't expect much change but still a solid set to choose from. Chainsaw is still the greatest thing to come to shooters.
    Plot: Not one to follow the story line, but it's not difficult and somewhat interesting. The places it takes you is quite exciting. Game play: Easy to catch onto and their physics engine just makes it an awesome experience.

    Multiplayer: Loving the new maps. Mixes up playing style for if you prefer more open spaces or even closed areas. Good range of weapon possibilities.

    OVERALL: Great job on the 1st. Fantastic followup, and eagerly anticipating the 3rd.
    Expand
  80. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. Improves clearly in relation to Gears of War - chainsaw duels, refined multiplayer, meatshields. Multiplayer is awesome - Warzone, Execution, Annex, Guardian, Horde and the whole campaign (of about 10 hours) with a friend. It can't be compared to a book, but the history is well telled. Graphics are great - even more for a game of 2008. For me, Gears ofOne of the best games of all time. Improves clearly in relation to Gears of War - chainsaw duels, refined multiplayer, meatshields. Multiplayer is awesome - Warzone, Execution, Annex, Guardian, Horde and the whole campaign (of about 10 hours) with a friend. It can't be compared to a book, but the history is well telled. Graphics are great - even more for a game of 2008. For me, Gears of War is as big as Halo. I don't know why there are negative reviews - probably from Sony fanboys, but if you own an Xbox, you MUST buy this game. Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears of War 2 is even more thrilling than the 1st Gears of War. Probably the funniest and coolest part of the game is when the main characters go inside the giant rock worm and take it down by cutting its hearts out. Expand
  82. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Graphics:5 stars

    There ainâ
  83. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Gears of war 2 is one the longest and most massive campaigns I have ever played. There is just something about being in a large scale assault against flesh eating monsters with guns that brings out your need to kill in gruesome ways. The 8-10 hour long campaign never gives you time breathe as you shoot, explode, and saw your way through the Locust stronghold. The third person gameplay isGears of war 2 is one the longest and most massive campaigns I have ever played. There is just something about being in a large scale assault against flesh eating monsters with guns that brings out your need to kill in gruesome ways. The 8-10 hour long campaign never gives you time breathe as you shoot, explode, and saw your way through the Locust stronghold. The third person gameplay is fun with easy controls. Filled with returning Gears 1 characters and new bosses makes this game one of my favorites. Expand
  84. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    La accion, los personajes, la trama, la traduccion al español de 10, los mapas estan de poca, un juego muy completo, fallo en el componente multijugador online pero no es para bajarle calificacion, me brindo años de diversion..hominidos..se fue!! jajaja
  85. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Gears of War 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. This campaign is by far one of my favorites! The game looks great, plays great, and sounds great! The storyline is massive, and you feel like you are apart of a desperate D-DAY-like assault against an overwhelming foe. The tale of invading the Locust Hollows is a gritty, visceral, and intense. The expansion into the depth of theGears of War 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. This campaign is by far one of my favorites! The game looks great, plays great, and sounds great! The storyline is massive, and you feel like you are apart of a desperate D-DAY-like assault against an overwhelming foe. The tale of invading the Locust Hollows is a gritty, visceral, and intense. The expansion into the depth of the World of Gears of war was great. It was nice to explore Dom's character a bit more, and to finally understand the whole side story mentioned in Gears of War 1 act 2. This game is wildly addictive, and is extremely innovative. Great boss battles throughout the game, and there was nothing like hijacking the Brumack and laying waste to hordes of Locust in the last level. This game is one of the best war stories I have ever played. The suspense, mystery, and variety are totally cool! This game reminded me why I love this series. Way to go Epic!! Expand
  86. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I love Gears of War 2 this game is the **** Sure its multiplayer components were a bit tired after a year or two but this is definetly the game i have put in most hours to in count of multiplayer.
  87. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Awesome action, new guns, better graphics, Brumak rodeo, more enemies. This is what every fan or lover of shooter games was expecting. But talking about animations (not the CGs), they could be more natural and less robotic, and your character could carry that Mulcher you were carrying in that scene, and not the Lancer...Just making my point.
  88. May 29, 2013
    10
    This is a sequel that every Gears fan should play from start to finish! The campaign is great, especially with co-op and the MP is fun! Gears of War 2, in my opinion, is the best in the series!
  89. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    For its gameplay, graphics, campaign, epic moments, further improvements with respect to the first, a great leap in the series undoubtedly, is a real gem.
  90. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    in my opinion the best third person shooter on the x-box 360 even better then the other 3 games if you have not played this game yet pick it up great shooting action long campaign collectibles horde mode is quite fun also and the limited edition comes with the golden lancer witch looks awesome unlike the one from gears of war 3 the achievements will keep you coming back for morein my opinion the best third person shooter on the x-box 360 even better then the other 3 games if you have not played this game yet pick it up great shooting action long campaign collectibles horde mode is quite fun also and the limited edition comes with the golden lancer witch looks awesome unlike the one from gears of war 3 the achievements will keep you coming back for more so much replay value 1750G Expand
  91. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    When I think of what I love about GoW... This is the game I think of. It took everything from Gears of War (1) and made it better. The single player is decent, but this game ought to be purchased for the multiplayer.. That is where it's real value lies. Expect frustration at first... The multiplayer is very difficult to a newcomer. Don't expect an experience anything like CoD. This game isWhen I think of what I love about GoW... This is the game I think of. It took everything from Gears of War (1) and made it better. The single player is decent, but this game ought to be purchased for the multiplayer.. That is where it's real value lies. Expect frustration at first... The multiplayer is very difficult to a newcomer. Don't expect an experience anything like CoD. This game is like the anti-CoD. When you die, you sit until the next round. You don't have an endless combination of guns, perks, or anything that could give a player a disproportionate advantage. This is a raw gaming experience that I only recommend to people that understand the quote "Everything worth doing is worth doing badly". The multiplayer experience is infinitely rewarding, but is not for the casual gamer (go back to CoD). Expand
  92. takedat
    May 2, 2009
    9
    The campaign is much better than Gears 1. The levels are more thought out and make you feel like you are actually in the environment. I would have gave it a 10 if the online play interface was better. Also, it would have been better to have a actual boss fight. Maybe in the next game. Overall, great game ... no doubt.
  93. JodyC
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and better in every way...and for the most part it delivers. First, anyone expecting a big graphics upgrade will be dissapointed and while it does look a bit better than Gears 1 (which already looks incredible), the quality and scale / size feels the same even though they do a good job of tricking you into believing its a MUCH BIGGER, MUCH BETTER LOOKING game. Sound and Music are top-notch...the soundtrack is calm / tense depending on the situation and that creates a certain atmoshperic element to the game but the voice acting is a bit weaker this time around...its a little over-dramatic and eye-rolling at times (mostly the from Dom...Marcus's friend). The gameplay is basically the same with a few added moves and animations to make things appear more "fresh", but fans of Gears 1 will have no problems adapting its still a great "pick up and play" type game. Overall, Gears 2 is a step in the right direction...it is BIGGER, BETTER, and MORE BADASS than the original even if the "BIGGER" aspect feels more like an illusion...it still feels the same "size" as Gears 1 just busier things going on in the background. Anyway, the expanded story alone is what makes this game irresistable....as it was the ONLY thing missing from the first game...this Gears of War feels SO much more COMPLETE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Expand
  94. AnonymousMC
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    Overall it's a fun game. It has good graphics and the two player campaign it great even though it is a short. I cannot see how some people are giving this game a 0. It has its problems but all games do. Even though the multiplayer deathmatch mode is lacking it makes up for it in the story mode. I had fun playing it, and I think it is a good game.
  95. GrahamM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!! it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED
    FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!!

    it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out if you'd like
    Expand
  96. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. TheI was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. The Combat, basically being the same feels more refined, more effort put into. I still say that the game wouldnt be fun by comparison to co-op then just by yourself. I noticed the sound has improved alot aswell. I do recommend this game. But I wouldnt recommend playing it alone, there geniouenly is not much fun in that. Expand
  97. DesO
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by the fact that you can host a game with a few friends and fill the remaining slots with bots, or you can try to hold out against wave after wave of locust in horde mode. The graphics are a more refined than the first gears and thus significantly better. Overall a pretty solid package and well worth it's weight in gold. Expand
  98. JamesM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a bit of a let down but not as much as some people make out. yes the shotgun has changed etc.. and it's not gears1, if it was, that would be a bad evolution of the game. Why not just play gears1 if you want to own with the shotgun? This is a new game and new rules. get revving and let the blood flow through those metal teeth! anyone for toast? Expand
  99. CoryG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to it's fullest. Expand
  100. AndrewB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system and the new party system, a la Halo, for multiplayer matches. If you own and XBOX 360, you should own Gears 2. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.